Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Mediterraneo 3 stars

Via Rosolino Pilo 43, Ruggero Settimo, 90139 Palermo, Italy

#45 of 72 hotels in Palermo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2525 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Economy room has a very good price-quality ratio, but it has a very tight shower. Lamps have little trouble in supplying.

    Excellent location, very clean, discretion from the staff. Breakfast is varied. I had no problem during my stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel, is way overpriced, it is touted as a 3 and half star. It is a 2star. The room we had, had no ventilation, was dark, not the cleanest, and bloody small. The bathroom was not too bad, even if they have tablecloths as towels. I would not stay here again. There is too much on offer, for similar prices and reasonably just as close. The city is not that large.

    This hotel is extremely close to all the sights and features that Palmero has to offer. The staff were fine, helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel defintly need renovation and deep cleaning. Only one person on reception seems to be overloaded - during check in and check out hours should be 2 persons.

    Location and parking (really tight, but still it is worth to pay 15 eur to get any parking place in palermo :)) but in case of parking reservation is needed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot hot hot. If you like hot humid rooms that stay that way despite the air being on for 12 hours then this is the hotel for you. Not just my room but everyone complained.

    Zero

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Night staff on the desk ...after 10pm are unfriendly and unhelpful...totally unlike the day time Reception staff who are very good.

    This is a good central hotel which is quiet enough for us....two people who hate noise! It has no frills but does the essentials well. Breakfast here is OK in a country where the meal is usually poor or awful. It is just around the corner from Politeama where the airport bus stops so very convenient if, like us, you arrive from Stansted on the Ryanair flight which does not get in until after 9pm.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed, horrible view in a back yard where the smell of thw kitchen was released.

    Half of the bed matress was full of lumps and gave me a back pain the next morning. Poor breakfast without any vegetables.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is just off the main street, so in walking distance to shops and to most attractions. Car parking is underneath the hotel and is charged for.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Perfect location in the centre of Palermo. Great value for money spent. Comfortable bed. Good breakfast. Hotel parking lot was a real bonus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • People with friends
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water, room was with old furniture and decor and mostly is that they advertise parking and NO Need to RESERVE, when we arrived to make check in we were informed that they don’t have any free space in there car park. Just after we arrived and had this parking problem we heard another 2 customers that had just arrived and had the same problem of NO PARKING SPACE AVAILABLE. This hotel is Totally NOT RECOMMENDED

    Only the location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception staff was indifferent - not rude, but just indifferent.

    Very good and quiet location (which is a rarity in old town Palermo), room was actually huge (easily 60 sqm) and the beds were very comfortable (and large).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Palermo is not the cleanest place in Sicily and Dog Poo is not scooped up as in UK

    Breakfast, the location near to the shopping and pedestrian areas and good variety of restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    12 of us booked in. none of the rooms came close to resembling the photos on your site. our room was small & cramped. no good opening curtains, facing another wall & window not 3 metres away. free toiletries were 2 sachets of shower gel and some soap. 2nd day down to one, had to ask at desk for more. breakfast, this the 1st time ever (and you can see from your records that we travel a lot), that we've found a breakfast bar that did not have a single slice of bread (or toaster). just rolls and mounts of croissants-definitely NOT extra flaky. the selection was very poor indeed, coffee was vile. there appears to be a bar but never saw it open.

    location, very central

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The employees of this hotel discriminate people. I came by car from Catania (rent-a-car) and 10 days prior to my check in I specifically asked if they could provide parking for just one night - as I was not sure whether I could make it till 10.00 pm and bring the car back to the airport. The answer was as follows: "Good afternoon from Mediterraneo Hotel Dear Sir Following You email below we inform You that is not possible reserve parking place. Thank You Best regards Hotel Mediterraneo" Anyhow, I managed to bring the car back well within the working hours of the car rental company and came to the hotel without the vehicle. When I was checking in, there was an old German couple in front of me. They had come by car and when they asked the receptionist whether they could park - the answer was "YES" So Germans could park cars in the underground garage of the hotel and we Bulgarians cannot! The hotel itself is very outdated, rooms are pretty shabby, reception staff is not as friendly as you would expect. When I checked out, the receptionist asked whether I had cash as he could not charge mu credit card due to line failure of the terminal. I refused and he made a copy of my card which he said he would charge later. In a nutshell - the hotel is outdated but fairly clean and conveniently located - one cannot expect miracles for 55 Euro for a double room per night...

    The hotel is conveniently located in the perfect center of Palermo, 300-400 meters away from Teattro Massimo. Breakfast is fairly OK, rooms are fairly comfortable but that is just about as much of a positive review as I could give to that place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a hotel this size, it will be nice if they have bell hops. I have to drag my luggages by myself in my room. Breakfast is served from 7 am to 9:45 am. It will be better if they extend it to 10:00 AM, and add fresh fruits and vegetables like tomatoes, sliced cucumber, fresh bananas, kiwi, and oranges to the breakfast. It will be nice if they also serve bacon and scrambled eggs. 😁

    Nice size room and big bathroom. Front desk staff nice and helpful. Maid room cleaner did a good job cleaning and tidying the room and bathroom. They served good breakfast, and good WiFi connection at all times.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking was a bit expensive , it was written 7 euros per day but they charged me more .

    Room modern and nice, The hotel is in the heart of the city centre . 2 min walking from the streets where all the shops are. Breakfast was very good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a studio room with kitchenette, which said included utensils, however there was no kettle, no washing up liquid, and not even a dish cloth to wipe the cupboard and the kitchen ware! When asked they said they do not supply them! Do these people really expect tourists to take washing up liquid and a dish cloth with them on holiday, when on the other hand they supply shampoo conditioner and soap? As a matter of fact the cups and a saucepan were put away in the cupboard dirty! We were informed at check in that cleaning was on Monday, Wednesday and Friday except on Public Holidays, that was fine but at least would have expected they change the towels and arriving on a Friday, I would have expected a clean floor! We stayed for 3 nights Friday to Monday and had to ask to have the towels changed! Staff was very helpful though!

    Excellent location and staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entrance is great but somewhat cold. The breakfast room lacks aesthetics. And the quality of the breakfast needs improvement.

    The location of the hotel is privileged, in the city center. It also has a parking area. The rooms and bathrooms are refurbished, spacious and very good. I will re-evaluate it when I come to Palermo

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel would better be renovated. Breakfast is strange: from one point, food was OK (ham, cheese, yoghurt, fruits, flakes), but the drinks... The juices were artificial (in Sicily!!), cafe americano was just awful. BUT! Here are the lifehacks. 1) Coffee: brew espresso or lungo, they are good! If you need americano, add water, and add milk if you want milk. 2) Juice: there is a bowl of stewed fruits, and you can takes water (compote) from there :) Dilute with water if you need (it's rather concentrated).

    24/7 registration desk! Real! Privat parking good location next to the Theatro Massimo

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even if we booked the superior room, which was relatively new and nice, the hotel gives overall a feeling of cheap. Many details could be improved in terms of proper maintenance and well keeping: detached wall panting in the shower, the washbowl almost blocked, cleaning of carpet in the stairs, the organization of the breakfast. I would definitively recommend more care for details.

    Very central location!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was large and the bed very confortable. For an extra payment you could use the kitchen fully furnished. The location in the centre of Palermo is absolutely fantastic.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was quite old (few rusts on the walls) and a little cold.

    The location of the hotel was great! We could get to most places within minutes on foot. The staff were friendly and helpful. The airport shuttle had a stop few minutes away from the hotel. The breakfast was quite good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar closed, even at Christmas and Christmas eve. Not getting drinks and small eat. Not antcipated at Christmas. Even not Christmas articles in dining-room. Breakfast simple. Not extras with Christmas and not hot breakfast parts.

    Location, every clean towels and clean up bed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Average breakfast. Parking nightmare. Daughter had a reaction to sm bug bite possibly frm the sofa beds. Staff dont speak english.

    Location! Value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being woken at about 7am by VERY noisy garbage collection with people shouting and mechanical noises. The hotel should do something about this. Breakfast ok but rather basic.....tinned fruit not nice and not necessary given all the fresh fruit around in Sicily

    Location is really excellent and the rooms are OK if a little basic and dated

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air conditioning didn't work, so we had to sleep with the windows open. It was noisy and mosquitos ate us alive. There are 3 parking spots in the "regular" parking lot around the corner from the hotel. They were filled every day. The other parking is on a hill, reached by a curvy one lane dirt road, and it is not fun trying trying to back out of the parking space (and avoid falling off the cliff) to turn around and get out of the lot.

    Very friendly staff. Clean and comfortable rooms. Great bar with a beautiful terrace that has a vew of the sea. Nice location, right next to the funicular to go up to the main part of town and right across the street from the beach.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very mediocre overrated hotel. Not friendly, arrogant and very slow staff. Dirty old carpets all over the floors. Bad soundproof. Problems with check-in in proper time.

    Nothing positive.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Dreary public areas including dining room. Décor uninspiring.

    Large bedroom and bathroom, spotlessly clean. Bedroom had all necessary facilities but looked bare and dated. Breakfasts were plentiful with wide choice of pastries, but otherwise limited. Excellent central location on a quiet street.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    More politeness of staff' . The hotel itself- corridors, dinnig room a bit shabby

    Breakfast was poor, staff not always polite. Exellent location. All together was good .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1.I called the hotel many times for the information about transfer my group of 13 persons. The staff just say no transportation without any advisory. It's our first time to Sicily, imagine how worry should it be whilst our flight will be arriving at Palermo at 9:00pm. I asked about the restaurant near by the hotel that we will have a dinner after very late arrival and check in. The staff just said no idea. When arrival we saw some restaurant near by still opened, luckily but we should not be stress like that if we have the right information. It would be up to normal service if the hotel would make reservation for us instead of no idea.! 2.My room was Ok about size and cleanliness but, other 4 rooms of my clients in other wing of the building are terrible damaged, dirty and unfinished painting ceiling. I was so upset when getting a big complain after checking out and I saw the picture of those rooms. why they are same price as mine but totally different size and quality???

    none

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls were thin so noise came through easily from above (clicking of heels) and service staff talking early mornings (though I wore earplugs to counter). Hotel Bar wasn’t open when we were there (incl. in evenings) though I did manage to get a drink made on request. Wi-fi a bit sketchy initially and dependent on where your room’s located in the building.

    Location excellent, walking distance to Teatro Massimo + shops & other tourist sights. Whilst not as polished or modern as some hotels, it’s full of character & quirks, large rooms & clean bathrooms, All you could really want for a few days exploring in Palermo.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WiFi was problematic. In the presentation of the object, it was mentioned that it is a studio "with fully equipped kitchenette" but the text failed to mention that its usage incurs an extra fee of 10 Euros/day.

    Good position, friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked for a room with a kitchen, but we found out that we had to pay 10€ per days to use the kitchen (that was dirty at some place). The decorations were ugly and old. A few things needed to be fixed in the bathroom and the temperatures of the water from the bath's tap wasn't hot enougth. The bed uncomfortable. Clearly a real deception. Doesn't deserves those good rewards.

    The only thing good was the balcony.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Shuttle from airport wasn't good as it didn't drop us at the advertised place - which caused confusion, but local people are helpful with directions. Traffic very busy in Palermo until you reach the pedestrian areas and can relax.

    Breakfast was good. Room was fine, if a little warm for October! Staff friendly and helpful. Very central. Railway station 30 minutes on foot or 10 minutes to the bus stop for the free bus around the historic areas.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Let me start by saying that by mistake I booked an economy room but after checking out the other rooms, they all are pretty bad. If economy means no AC, dark stairways, windows without screens, no easily accessible electrical outlets and worst of all I had bug bites on my legs then economy and this hotel makes sense. The first person who checked us in was useless and did not even care of changing our room or assisting with parking. The hotel had no on-site parking and we had to park blocks away. I would NEVER stay here again. The room was too hot at night and if you open the windows, it was way too noisy. We were told AC has been shut off for the building. The room was even noisy with windows closed. There were no window coverings but big holes where the drapes would have been. Finally there are no electrical outlets accessible by the bed so you cannot charge phone etc.

    The location was good but that is all the good thing I can say about this hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Soundproofing is terrible - every movement of furniture in the room above is transmitted and you can hear the chairs dragging on the floor. There's no carpeting to muffle the sound.

    Bed is comfortable. Shower is a decent size for Italian showers. Room is spacious. Location is convenient to the old town pedestrian street. 5 minute walk to the airport bus stop. 20 minute walk to the central train station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff were ignorant, no information available. The bar was never open,wifi service was a joke. Everyone I came across felt unhappy with the hotel.

    The location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't appreciate the extra £3 fee that we were charged upon arriving, think this was a rort, but any way, you're stuck so have to pay it. Also be wary of concierge, as they want to keep your passport for 30mins only to "photocopy" it. Don't see why the concierge wanted to do this, as their was no one else checking in or out, thus no rush. Also, double bed that turns out to be two singles, this wasn't what the booking ad had originally stated.

    Liked that it was closest to the Politeama Theatre where the Airport shuttle bus departs. Premises is fairly well kept, we stayed in the older building, stairs where good, the kitchenette was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I shared a triple room for the first 2 nights however room was too small for 3 adults. There were also stains on my bedsheet the first night but i simply covered it with my own personal bedsheet. No extra pillows for the single bed also until i had to ask. Also, breakfast was too simple and there wasn't any hot food. For the remainder of the week i stayed in a single room which i had to ask to change because the first single room on 1st floor was very noisy until midnight - i could hear other guests and staff outside of the room. Then when i was given a new single room on 4th floor it was less noisy but the shower was smaller than the previous single room- why? I struggled to shower everyday because it was such a small space.

    The staff who worked in the breakfast room was very polite and the hotel location was great

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Garbage truck came two times (at 7 and 7.30 a.m.) and it was so loud that me and my partner woke up. Last time I stayed here, this horror was happening each day at 6 a.m., that's why this time I specified that I want the room without such noise (but I was ignored). Coffee from coffee machine on breakfast is really horrible, and it's amazing (it was only once - here - that I tried coffee in Italy that wasn't tasty). WiFi is really poor, and staff don't want to fix this problem (half a year ago it was the same). The speed of connection is really low, and in our room it worked only if you stay near the door.

    I really appreciate the breakfast with canollo. Other kinds of food, such as ham, cheese, muesli, were various and also good. Staff was helpfull and with good English. Hotel is located on the main shopping street near Massimo theater and approximately 20 min walk from Central Station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a disaster having had two previous booking.com reservations cancel on us. We then booked a twin room at Hotel Mediterraneano. Just when we thought our problems were over, when we got to our room it was horrific - it was in a separate part of the hotel and looked like it hadn't been decorated since the 60s. It had a kitchenette and a very old fashioned bathroom and no balcony. Nothing like in the photos on booking.com. We complained - I showed the receptionist the photographs on booking.com. We were then shown to a new room which was lovely. Do not accept a room in the old part of the hotel, which are dated and overpriced. The bar was not open. The hotel facilities are quite basic, it doesn't have swimming pool etc.

    The staff dealt with the complaint regarding our first room very quickly and were very helpful. Our (second) room was lovely and was good value for money. Very modern with a balcony and a gorgeous bathroom. Very comfortable beds. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location was great - right in the city centre. Breakfast was good - a big selection. Though the bar wasn't open, the receptionist let us buy drinks from the bar to take to our room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not lovers of continental breakfast. Would have liked option of fresh hot breakfast. The bed was comfortable and big but the pillows proved too firm, softer pillow option would have been preferred.

    The lobby was well air conditioned so very cool after the heat outside.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We stayed for 6 nights in a twin bed room. The general impression is that it's an old hotel that could become a nice place to stay if it was renovated. - the beds were small (1.9 m long, not very wide either) and the mattress was extremely soft so not very comfortable for tall people/people with back pain/issues. - the breakfast was ok but it's the same thing every day. Juices and coffee could be better, sometimes a queue was formed at the coffee machine because only one of the 2 was working/was switched on. - the room was clean but the hallway carpet looked like it hadn't been dusted in quite a while. The elevators were small and sometimes only one of the 2 was working. - Wi-fi wasn't very good in the room

    - good location, within a 2 minutes walk from Teatro Massimo and the restaurants/shops area and ~7 minutes from Politeama bus station - room was cleaned and towels were changed every day - helpful personnel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    They accomodate large groups of teenagers, who run along the corridor, shout at night, and throw out things out of the window. When they are in, it's impossible to use wi-fi. Some receptionists were unfriendly.

    Rather comfortable, spacious rooms. Good breakfast. Close to many sights. A supermarket in 5 min walk and lots of shops and cafes nearby.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't be better !!

    I loved every second of every minute of every hour of our three nights wish I could afford to go there every month !! I loved every thing even due it was very hot out side !! Palermo is a very beautiful city lots to see from A to Z

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The familyroom was large and modern and clean. The doubleroom (152) was old, small, not fresh with a tiny old bathroom. Too expensive!!!

    Close to the centre of Palermo

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel was listed as one of the suggested hotels for a conference I attended at the University of Palermo. Unfortunately, the staff didn't have any information about public transportation to get to the University (I discovered later that the bus stop was across the street). They only suggested taking a taxi which would have cost me 40Euros extra/ day. The wifi was very slow from my room. I needed to go to the lobby for a faster connection.

    Very clean hotel. Staff available around the clock for late check in. Very nice staff at the breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel. The staff was extremely helpful and the location was excellent. A value for money place to stay which I highly recommend!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff just didn't seem to be overly friendly or helpful

    The location is great and the Hotel itself is what you would expect from a 3 star, unfortunately the staff were not overly friendly or helpful, but overall an Ok place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old furniture and cleaness could be better

    The location was excellent . Actually the hotel is a few meters to the main interesting places to see and close to the restaurants area too.Breakfasts was not bad including local Sicilian sweets.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was filthy, with walls covered in dark marks (but the main corridors of the hotel are the same), chipped window cell and furniture. I was appaled to see holes in the bed sheets (pictute attached) and they were not changed during a week-long stay - every day the bed was made but the same holes remained. I went to the reception to complain about dirty walls etc. as soon as I saw my room and the receptionist reacted with "is that a problem?", so it's probably not on purpose, I assumed they just have a low standard then. But I am confused how they have those stars when everything in pictures lookes new but run down in reality. The breakfast is so-so, the beds are okay-ish in terms of comfort. We booked the hotel last minute since we had to transfer from another city due to unexpected problems so we didn't have many choices anyway but for ~60€ per night I would expect at least clean walls and bed linen with no holes.

    The location of the hotel is definitely nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a bit disappointing, little choice of continental breakfast, mostly sweet pastry

    The best thing about this hotel was its central location and we loked the small fridge in the room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Airconditioning is a joke - works only as a noisy fan! Temperature in the room +27C. We changed the room, there was the same in other 2 rooms. Breakfast medium quality. Underground parking with difficult access, very small, no lift, for 13€/night. You have to leave car keys at the reception to repark the car if needed.

    Walking distance to city centre.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect location to explore Palermo on foot. While hotel offers private parking in hotel garage - dependant on availability and accessed via a pedestrian area - we returned our rental car prematurely at airport as driving in Palermo is taxing :-). Easy to get to/from hotel by airport shuttle (closest stop within 5 minutes' walk @Euro 6.10 one way) or taxi (negotiate a flat rate!). Friendly reception, fab room upgrade, good breakfast. Perfect on all counts for us.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not as friendly or helpful as we had been encountering, especially the night staff.

    A good basic hotel, good location for airport bus and eating out.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I loved the location and the value for money. Don't let the public space and it's out-of-date appearance fool you; the room is very clean, modern, and very good value for the money!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very strange bar never had staff Limited English spoken by reception staff. Limited breakfast.Awful coffee and orange juice

    Excellent location Quite street Very clean towels and beddin Excellent shower

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was fine and good renovation. Location was very good for traveling for citytrip. All shops, restaurants, transport located in a short walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen could have been cleaner and better equiped

    We were upgraded to a bigger apartment when we pointed out the limitations of the original one offered. Staff were very helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was terrible. The reception looked surprised when I turned up even though I emailed the property to inform them my time of arrival. And then asked me like if I was stupid if I was sure I had booked. The staff was unwelcoming and generally Not helpful. The room didn't even have a bin! Nothing extra in the room just the beds and a dirty balcony with dead insects. The breakfast was mediocre with good pastry and terrible coffee. They should be ashamed to serve coffee like that being in Italy. Definitely will not stay again and do not recommend it. Thank god we were only there for 2 nights.

    It was clean enough and the location is okay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hairdryer, got one eventually from front desk but it didn't work properly; Otherwise no major problems and overall ok for Italy and rankings

    Location is excellent, very close to all objectives and the room I stayed was pretty clean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rubbish bin hadn't been emptied in the kitchen and the shower leaked onto the floor. The room was not serviced for the three days we were there. It was supposed to serviced every second day.

    The view of the street

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Everything was fine.

    I recommend this hotel for it's location close to major tourist attractions and sights. Lovely quiet streets. Bed was very comfortable and room space and storage was good. Staff very friendly and spoke good English. Outside there was a Bistro close by and lots of shops.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not use the Wifi . The location is excellent near everything and good transportation. The street of the hotel very quiet and has a nice restaurant also a cafeteria.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is very good, close to stop for airport bus and 24 hour reception was very good. Room was good size and quiet. Breakfast included was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel is in a very central position and yet quite. Overall it needs some tidying up but rooms are very clean. Air-conditioning was not effective enough as it was quite warm during the night especially. Staff is very helpful. Cafes and restaurants are numerous and some of very high quality. We enjoyed ourselves.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One incident,Power went off during our stay.

    Staff is very helpful. Room is very big and in the city centre. Bonus of kitchen which can do a simple cooking for those staying for a week.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the hotel and the room was not very clean, the rooms + beds were cleaned in a very minimal way, the breakfast was ok at first, but became less good during our stay.

    the man at the reception was very friendly and helped us a lot with finding our way in town (restaurants, supermarket, etc).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Horrible experience. Hotel staff was awful. The cleaning guy was always dirty...more so than the room. Avoid this hotel, especially the studios. They were probably employee guest rooms converted into "studios". See the attached images.

    Nothing to like.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stuff omg I never seen that unfriendly people ... when I arrived i was waiting 15 min till the reception guy finish conversation with friends than he talk by phone 10 more min and than he told me ahh you are from booking you have to wait after 14:00 and 14:30 I got my key for the room.. I ask for two keys cause we are 2 people and one of the guys told me like NO YOU HAVE ONLY ONE KEY than I told him that we pay for double room and I need 2 keys and he answered me I don't care it's not my problem... I was in shock...the guys from the breakfast was same I can't believe what experience was that .. otherwise hotel is perfect my room was amazing for the hotel 10 points for the stuff -10

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were groups of young people in their early 20'ies (Italian and others) staying at the Hotel so there was the usual noise associated with such! But not unbearable.

    Location - very near bus stop of shuttle bus from airport, and bus stop to train station. Massimo just round the corner. Spacious rooms.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is more than a little basic.

    This a conveniently located hotel near to the historic centre of Palermo. It offers really good value for money. The superior rooms are spacious, quiet and pleasant. I have now stayed here several times.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    hotel room was a bit drab/anonymous.

    excellent location with shops and restaurants right nearby. friendly staff, very clean room and bathroom. fine for the price.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    While rooms were clean, the bathrooms have much to be desired - one of two showers completely flooded and were very old and in poor condition.

    Great location, helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although there was a lot of choice, the breakfast wasn't that good, coffee disappointing considering Italy is known for good coffee.

    The staff were really helpful, recommended restaurants to go to and we were not disappointed!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Underground parking is available but very expensive. Most rooms overlook the narrow inner courtyard. Elevators old-fashioned very tiny and a little dangerous because the door closes when they want.

    Very good location. Rooms very comfortable and the bathrooms well equipped although a clogged sink daily.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Mediterraneo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: