Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Paradiso Sul Lago 3 stars

Via Giacomo Scalini 70, 22034 Brunate, Italy

#7 of 15 hotels in Brunate

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 637 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the room was a bit small for 2 persons. Thanks for the Balcony for accomodating us whenever we are in room.

    The staff are very helpful and customer oriented. They offered us alot of assistance specially droping off to Funicalar station.The hotel location is amazing with a distinguished panoramic view of Como lake. The pool was temperature controlled which is amazing given the weather temperature in Brunate : ) I dont think any other hotel can offer a such experience with a view. We highly recommend this hotel and we will definetly come back one day...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Whats not to like? The Hotel is A1!

    We were made to feel so welcome, the rooms were clean and bright the view was second to none no need for a car we later found out as the funicular rail takes you straight to Como. It is an ideal retreat for anyone whether young newly weds, family or anyone who wishes to just get away, its perfect! So tranquil with stunning views of the lake and the advantage of fast access to Como only a 6 minute ride down the mountain on the funicular rail way and Roberto available at any reasonable time to drop and collect you from the station. Great selection of drinks and freshly prepared food available and a breakfast that is second to none and completely fresh. Gina is a great cook and happy to prepare whatever you would like as long as they have the ingredients. Her cakes are home made and her chocolate soufflé is wonderful, my wife would go as far as to say "to die for." A fantastic, totally family run hotel with such a wonderful feel and personal service, you could not go wrong! Thanks for a great holiday, Jeanette & Martin

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was fine but the selection was not to big.

    Beautiful environment, nice view. Practical cosy room. Good and tasty (but not cheap) food. Silence and bird twittering in the morning. Como is only 7 km far but the road is not for beginner drivers.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic Views across the lake, with sea planes and clouds below you. This hotel is all about the view, and the family run atmosphere. The staff are all so friendly and and happy to help you. They also provide a free shuttle service to the cable car, 7 mins down to lake Como. I had a hire car and wasn't expecting a 25 min drive uphill to get to the hotel which is very high, but it was fun and the views as you go up are breathtaking. I would say this hotel is ideal for a 1 - 3 night stay. We chose to stay here on our last night after spending a week in Garda, it was well worth the visit, thank you to all the staff, and thanks for my free beer before i went to bed. Also we had a small balcony which we could stand out on and watch the sun go down.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road to the top of the mountain isn’t very wide so we had to stop and reverse often to let other cars past. But it is totally worth it when you see the view from the top. You can also take the funicular up the mountain to get to the hotel.

    The staff were amazing. So friendly. The food in the restaurant was also very good and the view from the property was incredible!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The views of Lake Como from almost every window in the property are amazing, I could have sat by the window all day. Our room was small but comfortable and very clean. The hotel restaurant is 5*. We ended up eating here both nights and everything we ordered was delicious, authentic Italian. Would go back just for the food! Alessandro was a great host.. he picked us up/dropped us off at the funicular whenever we needed and was very accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is not so easy to get to the hotel because it is on top of a mountain about 15km from city. If you want to go out late at night, the only option is taking an Uber

    The view from the hotel overlooking at the lake is amazing. Also the hotel staff was very friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms were basic, pool and hot tub area not usable in May

    Very friendly family run hotel, good restaurant, beautiful views over Lake Como, lifts to and from the Funicular

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was good; a very good espresso and cappuccino, also. They prepare some excellent pasta and ravioli, with their recipe. It is also an excellent tiramisu. The personnel is very kind and ready to make you feel welcome.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about at all

    Fabulous experience from the moment of check in; nice clean room, gorgeous views from the balcony, transfer to funicular, lighthouse a short walk from the hotel, great breakfast, etc etc etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit cold inside

    The view is fantastic And the location, touch the very small roads to the hotel is also very good However this hotel have a lot to offer, but only in the summer half year In the Vinter it’s value is falling

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not free and the room was kind of small.

    I had a room with a view of the beautiful Como Lake. I loved overlooking the lake from inside my room. Parking was free of charge.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the fact that my credit card was charged when I specifically choose the hotel based on the fact I could pay at the property as I wanted to pay cash. It was a huge issue when I requested my card be refunded and I pay cash. The owner gave me a lecture on using Booking.com and it was a real fight to get my card refunded. Not a good ending to an otherwise pleasant stay.

    Great location and excellent views

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think what we paid for 2 nights was steep for a pretty basic room and property.

    Great little family run hotel. Great views. Easy to get down to Como town on cable car. Delicious Polenta restaurant nearby. Great hikes nearby.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very friendly. Extra bonus was the drop-off and pick-up from the funiculor station. The light-house near the hotel offere spetacular views.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better, but I noticed it is a general Italian style breakfast. Why don't you like big breakfasts Italy? 😁

    The view is stunning! Try to book a lake view room. Coffee is so delicious too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That view!! Unbeatable. So peaceful and quiet. Lovely family run hotel. They were all so helpful and accommodating. Would definitely go back again. Drinking wine in the hot tub looking at the view was a highlight.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As the room floor was of tiles, it gets really cold. We would make sure next time we have room slippers.

    The hotel provides excellent view towards Lake Como. It offers great comfort and excellent breakfast (menu is simple and straightforward, egg was very well cooked). Staffs were really friendly, they offered transport to and from city's elevator so we could travel conveniently to and from Como downtown.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drive up from Como was treacherous for tourists. Shower / bathroom needs updating. In general, facilities need updating.

    Friendly staff. Nice view of Lake Como from lobby & outdoor area. Good food nearby.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in is at 4 pm, ckeck out at 10 am and it costs 155 euro...When you're ready to swim at 5pm in, it is late and water is not warm enough. Than you must check out the next day at 10. This is a bit disappointing.

    The best time to stay here is during the summer. We spent a great time swimming in the pool and enjoying the view. Breakfast was great. Overnight stay is enough. Go to the very top of the mountain, just 100 meters away and enjoy the sunset.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were very accomodating picking us up and dropping us off at the funiculare and very friendly. The view from the terrace, where you can take breakfast / apperitivo or dinner, is absolutely spectacular. Great walks in the hills behind, and cute little restaurants around.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing!

    Room was clean, breakfast was delicious, the staff were very friendly and the view was just exceptional! Overall, we had a great stay! Would definitely recommend! :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable, clean, friendly and warm welcoming staff. This hotel is in a fantastic location over looking Lake Como from a great height! Great views from the hotel and also whilst driving up to the property

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are a little outdated, the furniture was new but the tile flooring was not so cosy and the bathroom was old.

    The view from the back terrace was beautiful, the breakfast was very good and the staff very helpful and nice. The hotel is located in the top of a hill, you have great view from there but getting there means going with the car up for 1 hour on really narrow streets and turns only for experienced drivers. We loved the free service that takes you down/up with their car to the funicular station so you can go down to the city of Como and back up without using your car. We also loved the silence surrounding the hotel at night, and the pizza at "IL Farro Pizzeria" nearby was perfect.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad to say aboit the property but the climb up to Brunate nearly broke my Fiat Bravo but this was half the fun to be honest and worth every steep blind corner we took.

    The staff have good english and great sense of humour. We were made to feel at home upon arrival. The views are incredible and the food in the hotels restaurant very good. We had storms when we visited but enjoyed the lighting show over the lake from our bed. The lighthouse only 200m away is a must for even better views of Como and the lake. Parking right outside made a check in check out very easy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely friendly and waited on us constantly. They offered free lifts to the funicular down to Como. The views were spectacular and the house wine was fantastic!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Please bear in mind when reading this review, that it has been written by an experienced traveller that knows that a 3 star hotel does not have to be this bad, as long as service is ok and prices are reasonable. Although it qualifies as a 3 star hotel, this accommodation more feels like a self-service apartment as in my view the staff is not service oriented. For example, to have breakfast on the terrace overlooking the Como lake can be very nice, but it would help in terms of service when staff would be available there as well. Be careful when sitting on the toilet as when you move, you would have the chance to fall aside with the complete toilet as it is not fixed to the ground. This is what almost happened... No air-conditioning or fans in the rooms, so to cool down you would need to open the windows which provides a nice opportunity for the mosquitos.

    The view from the terrace is very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely Family run hotel all staff very welcoming, room was very comfortable for a family of 4 children were aged 6 and 4. The pool and hot tub were a bonus with views of the lake. Delightful walk up to the lighthouse amazing views. Food at the hotel was lovely if you want to try traditional local food 3 other restaurants just a few steps outside hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms don't have AC and in this season (summer) it was too hot, difficult to sleep cause doesn't cool down at night. We asked for fans but they didn't have. And will be good if they offer bottles of water in the room as complement.

    We found this hotel cause we were looking for a hotel with parking, we were so lucky to find it. The location is excellent, Brunate is a very small beautiful town (the road is a bit narrow). To go to Como, the staff of the hotel will bring you and pick you up from the cable car station for free. Breakfast is simple but very decent, includes coffee, tea, juice, bread, ham, cheese, eggs, sausage, cereals, etc. The hotel has an amazing view, with a small pool to refresh and enjoy the view. This hotel is run by a family, they are all very friendly and helpful, definitely very good service. In Brunate, there are very good restaurants, so you don't even need to bother to go to Como to have an excellent dinner. Highly recommended for families and couples.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms would be a bit more comfortable on an evening if they had air conditioning.

    The views were absolutely stunning. It was great to be able to relax by the pool and enjoy looking over como! The staff were also very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super friendly staff, they made everything that we had an enjoyable stay at the hotel. Good breakfast, stunning views... could't be better, couldn't wish more. The best customer experience - ever. Thank you!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    11 Euro return cable car fee to get up and from Lake Como but this is nothing to do with the hotel. No hotel faults.

    Staff were exceptional and very helpful. The view is one you won't experience anywhere else. Unreal. Staff took you to the cable car to get down to Lake Como and picked you up whenever you needed which helped.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing.

    Staff were very helpful and friendly. The views were fantastic. Hotel clean . Breakfast lovely to have looking out over the mountains and lakes. Good walking from the hotel. Good to have the option of being picked up and dropped off at the vernacular as a fair uphill walk to the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road up and down the mountain is very steep and small the first time a little scary but worth it for the hospitality and the views!

    What a wonderful place to stay! The owners and their family were wonderful and very welcoming. Our kids enjoyed the pool and ping pong table as well as the kids games that were available. The hotel drops you in brunate at the funicular that takes you to como or pick you up if you don't drive up the mountain! We loved it!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was very cold despite hotel claiming that it's heated. The drive up was nerve wracking to say the least with a lot of hairpin turns and small crash barriers. Not for the faint hearted. Ascending takes a good 30 mins. However, we were pleased when we reached the hotel at the top. No local places for supplies unless you go down to como on funicular / drive back down.

    The hotel had a fantastic view, with local links down to como and very accommodating staff who will give you a car transfer to the funicular anytime, to 10pm. The staff were very friendly and approachable and, when asked politely in Italian, had a good knowledge of basic English which aided communication for us. The breakfast was the best we had on our travels with Cooked food alongside continental . Very nice indeed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a family business which showed in the friendliness and accommodating nature of the hosts. The hotel is located on the hill above como, you can access via car or cable cart (5 mins from hotel). Hosts would take you down and pick you up as required. the view is absoluting spectacular! The breakfast spread and the resturant is fantastic - some of the best italian home made food we had in italy. Great for families. M

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A brilliant family-owned hotel with friendly treatment and amazing care. It's not a luxury-type facility and the equipment is pretty simple and standard. However, it's all made up for by the atmosphere and hospitality.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The facilities are quite basic.

    Hotel is located in a beautiful part of Brunate, on top of a mountain overlooking the lake. It is a very quiet location in the nature, so it's perfect if you are looking for a relaxing time. The view from the rooms as well as from the terrace is just amazing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely difficult to get to due to narrow twisting roads but not fault of hotel. If had to stay more than one night would not enjoy exploring area by car.

    View was great. Staff very nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    It was the best part of our trip. We really enjoy the hotel. Both the view, the location and places around the hotel is perfect. I am sure if we will travel to Como again, we will stay in this hotel. If you have a car, this hotel is the best place to stay. It is so comfortable with an one year old baby. Staff is perfect.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault it

    Well worth the drive up the narrow winding roads, stunning view of the lake, food excellent, friendly and very helpful staff. Pay the little bit extra for a lake view - walking up to the mountains and lake view in the morning, you can't beat it

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, all perfect

    The best hotel we stayed in Italy on our 7 days trip. Great staff, more then welcome, we felt like at home. Stunning views. We will be back next year. Would reccomend to everybady

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road up to the hotel is twisting and a bit daunting, however the owners do their best to reduce the problem. Don't let it put you off

    This an excellent family run hotel with wonderful views over Lake Como from high up on a hill. The best way to the bottom of the hill is via the funicular train. The owners obligingly take guests to the train and collect them. Our stay was made by the dedication of the family.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were so helpful , room good for the hotel rating. The breakfasts were very good but evening meal menu a little limiting but the chef did all she could to meet our needs. Thank you guys Tip book lake view room if poss.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not many restaurants up there, but that was a choice because of those views.

    Little hard to get there, but after all very lovely place. Hotel staf carry us from the funicular to the hotel and allways also when we wanted to go down from the mountain. Great views and good place for relaxing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no welcome drink nor dinner in the restaurant because we got there a bit late, not for Italian standards though. The room was ok, amazing view from the balcony but a horrible mothballs smell. I was very unhappy with the fact there was no water pressure nor hot water in the shower, not even after we called the reception. This wouldn't be ok not even in a small and cheap hotel, which wasn't obviously the case. The breakfast was ordinary. We were unhappy with the experience and the view doesn't justify the prices asked.

    The view is really amazing, but is even better from the lighthouse, 2 minutes walking. A good restaurant right in the square up front.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's basic so don't expect luxury and you'll be fine.

    Roberto and his family run the business and their care for it and their guests show. The view is amazing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drive up the mountain

    The staff was very friendly and spoke really good English which helped a lot as our Italian is very poor. The view was spectacular, and the food was really good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the location is hard to reach, Roberto was very helpful in picking us up and dropping us off to the tram. However the price was little expensive.

    The staff, the view and the breakfast. We really enjoyed the place and we liked the friendly owner family. I think I will be back in future

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite small and basic and the drive up the mountain was really stressful. Next time Id stay by the Lake itself.

    The hotel was really special as far as fantastic views of Lake Como and the staff were very nice. It's a unique experience.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big heating panel on the wall in the bedroom which was not so child friendly.

    Staff were super helpful. Views were amazing. Adventure each day getting to / from hotel with feniculore. Great breakfast. Homemade dinners available most nights. Amazing pizzeria next door.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of areas for improvement... location is difficult to get too. Very, very windy and steep road - around 20/30 mins from Como. Facilities have aged and pool area in reality does not look like the pictures. Value for money not great.

    The staff were friendly and the rooms were clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pool was very cold ! We were on a romantic trip to lake como, and they give us room with punkbeds, we had a big bed but the room was very very uncozy! we askt another room but they told us they were sold put but booking.com had free rooms at the same price and when we told them that they told us we had to pay 30€ more than booking price. hotel is old,but view is good :).

    Breakfast was good, location was good if you dont want to go to the city more than once in a day. the view was amazing ! ! !

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff we're all brilliant, but they are relative laid back so you might find yourself pottering inside to order drinks. But that's no big deal :-)

    Loved our stay here. We had a car but opted to use the tram to get up and down from the lakeside. The view is to die for and you'll never get boarded of it! The best part of the day was sitting on the terrace with a glass of wine watching darkness fall. And the best breakfasts of our holiday!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls are pretty thin and we were able to hear the others in the rooms around us. We are deep sleepers, though, so it wasn't a major problem. The drive to the hotel is NOT for the faint of heart.

    The staff was extremely helpful. When we arrived they pointed us to a great pizzeria next door for dinner. The room was clean and tidy. We didn't have time but the owners offered us a free ride down to the funicular which takes you right into Como. Typical European breakfast was good and well stocked.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool and hot tub were unavailable as we went out of season but in all fairness he did say we could try the hot tub if we wanted. But he was right... it's a little chilly when you're 900m above sea level!

    Worth every penny just for the view! Great staff..:. Simply ring the hotel and they will collect you from the funicular station whenever you like and drop you off too. Lovely breakfast and a great selection of food and drink in the restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Polenta dinner could do with some improvement, but still nice. Wi-fi connection unstable on iPhone.

    Great hospitality, very friendly staff. The view is just amazing! The road leading to the hotel is a great experience in itself!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some dust bunnies on the bathroom skirting

    Location is amazing, 600 metres over lake Como. But that means a tough, narrow drive up the hill. Staff good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the rooms are old, dated and very tired...the hotel needs a modernisation

    The view from the terrace was stunning, the staff was so helpful, they were great.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    The friendliness of the staff team and the feeling that nothing was too much trouble. Everything that is needed is provided by the staff team. Transport and advice on getting the best out of the area. Food at the hotel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better bed and shower, not much water pressure.

    The family that ran the hotel were so friendly and helpful everyday! They always took us down to the town to be able to get to Como, and would pick us up as well!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small. Had a queen bed and bunk beds squished into a regular size room. Shower was with cold or very hot not a warm. Think because I used Booking.com was given a "low end" room.

    Great views and friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    its not the easiest hotel to get to due to the location but well worth the views once there and the hotel offer a shuttle service between 8am and 10pm

    amazing views over Lake Como from the terrace, restaurant and also from our room. Its worth booking a lake view room. The staff were excellent, very friendly, nothing was too much trouble. This is a family run hotel and it shows in the attention to detail and positive attitude of the staff. we also ate there twice for dinner and the food and wine were really good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fact that we had to leave! We loved this hotel so much.

    We loved everything about this hotel. Great for people travelling with a car (who aren't afraid to travel a few kms of winding, narrow roads) as the view is breathtaking and the staff are more than wonderful. We had staff drive us down the road to the train station and pick us up, always with a smile. Having a few drinks on the balcony is a great way to start the evening. We will definitely return.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The grounds are very nice but not exactly like they appear online. The grassy area is AstroTurf and the pool is not an infinity pool but more of an above ground pool. I do not believe this hotel has AC. We stayed in August and leaving the windows open worked fine for us.

    We stayed in this hotel for 1 night after flying into Milan. It was a beautiful location. The owners were very hospitable and even offered rides into the town below. They serve a wonderful breakfast with eggs which is not common in Italy.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Pool was a little cold (we went in June) but I am sure this got warmer and I am a bit pathetic with outdoor pools. More guidance on the breakfast options; staff couldn't answer all of my questions.

    The staff were very helpful. Facilities were clean and to a great standard.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to drive a (big) car up the very narrow streets, especially with incoming traffic A bit expensive and breakfast not included (extra cost)

    Amazing scenery Very friendly staff Free ride to/from funicular Lots of parking

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be more diverse.

    Perfect view over the como lake. Very friendly staff and good reception. Staff offers to bring you to the trainstation and offers a pick up which is excellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Way to the hotel was unexpectedly scary - but if you are used to mountains and serpentine roads it's fine. Rooms are small and very simple. Swimmigpool is mostly useless as it is cold outside, restaurant works for few hours. Breakfast is super simple.

    Place is literally a heaven - with lower temp than near the Como lace, breathtaking view and rich north Italian nature. Well located. Nice food in the hotel restaurant and in the next door restaurant. Hosts kindly make a free transfer to the funicular and back. Hotel is kept by a super nice Italian family

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing no to like in my opinion

    The view was fantastic rooms nice and clean breakfast very tasty. Roberto and his family made us feel very welcome they run the hotel very professionally and made our stay lots of fun. Great place to stay if visiting como.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we had a nice stay @ paridiso, very kind family that runs the business. very nice to take the jacuzzi in the evening with stunning view over the lake como

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool was freezing and we had to fish out a few insects. I got the impression from the photos when we booked, that it would be bigger. You have to pay extra for jacuzzi which is a shame- we would have liked to use but not at 10 euro per person The room itself is a little basic

    Staff were wonderful- very helpful, friendly. Its a family run hotel. Happy to drop you to the funicular to Como and collect. Always smiling. Dinner was nice- we ate here twice- menu is a bit limited but good traditional Italian pasta's. View from top is spectacular and why we chose to come here

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that could improve things slightly would be tea and coffee facilities in the room .

    Location is stunning and the staff were absolutely brilliant . They couldn't do enough to help and were very generous with their time in assisting us..

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cleaning staff was very rude and did not even allow 30 minutes extra for check out. It is understandable that for next check-in room needs to be prepared but in our case the cleaning lady was just adamant that she wanted to clean earlier. We had two rooms and we requested her to at least give one room so we can pack and leave and she was not happy. It is very hard when you have small kids and we have never faced such a no care attitude.

    The facility is at a very good location. Clean rooms. Few rooms have very good view and in new building but others are not.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is a bit small and basic, would be nice to get complementary shampoo, toothbrush etc. we didn't really took anything with us but in the end we asked the owners and got all we needed. For breakfast there could be a bit more veggies and dark whole grain bread - but other than that it was perfect!

    The location of the hotel is just amazing! Owners of the hotel always very helpful, smiled and ready to make your stay there as pleasant as possible. Loved the outside pool on the tarasse and the view of course. Around the hotel you find many charming restaurants serving excellent food. All in all, if you want to escape the crowds of Como and enjoy truly magnificent views and calmness, this hotel is your choice!

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Paradiso Sul Lago traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: