Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Albergo Miramare 3 stars

Piazza Giardini 12, 08022 Cala Gonone, Italy

Review score

Based on 290 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.1
    Staff were Incredible and very accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs some renovations in the rooms. I could barely fit in the shower. Breakfast could improve too.

    Staff were Incredible and very accommodating. Locations is the highlight.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Staff very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very helpful. Position couldn’t be better. Large terrace shaded by beautiful trees for eating breakfast, overlooking the beach below. 2 minute walk down to the town beach with a lovely walk along the seafront to more sandy beaches. Our room was very comfortable. We loved staying there.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant stay, comfortable beds, heating in room, bad weather.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Would have liked to have hot drinks available 24/7 We wanted hot drinks on arrival and first thing before breakfast when leaving to catch early bus. The tv in the room did not have English channels, would have liked to watch the news etc We came too early in the season for excursions hotel needs to put trips, bus timetable etc on the noticeboard. Staff did help with this. No welcome brochure with information, tel. nos. etc Nothing to do in the evenings no entertainment suggestions

    Very good chef tasty meals but not much variety Staff always very helpful and courteous Location central convenient

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.8
    Classy old hotel in a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Price was little bit too high

    Probably one of the oldest hotel in Cala Gonone (Built in 1955). The interior is a little dated, but rooms and balcony are huge and convenient enough. The location in the center of Cala Gonone is perfect! The city beach and the port is just 5 minutes walk away.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel with friendly staffs in a very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were travelling with a little one and there is no water cooker in a room, we needed to go to the bar everytime we want to fill up the bottle.

    The location is very strategic, opposite the beach, close by to the restaurants, cafe, bar. The family room is quiet large, nice beds.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    4.6
    Has put us off ever returning to Sardinia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were miserable. We got engaged while in Sardinia and when we told them they shrugged. We didn't finish our breakfast one day but when we tried to take our leftovers with us so as not to waste food they demanded we give it to them as it was 'against the rules' to take any food away. On further questioning the waitress admitted that they would throw it in the bin but still wouldn't allow us to take it, which we would wasteful and disgusting. On another occasion we decided to have a pre-dinner cocktail on the hotel terrace: our aperol spritz cocktails came to us served in glass beakers with red and blue children's birthday party type straws in them... All in all just very very disappointing. Terrible management and truly below par staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    An excellent hotel and location for a family break or for couples having a long weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, really.

    The staff were very well informed about the various boat trips, excursions, museums on the island. The restaurant, for a hotel restaurant, was a complete surprise; excellent food and very good prices.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    5.8
    The main recepcionist was great, spoke great english and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The AC did not work (but we have received the discount at the end) and the person working in the afternoon did not even try to send somebody to check. The room was old, hot, no view... Not worth the price at all.

    The main recepcionist was great, spoke great english and really helped us a lot.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    8.8
    Great location in a great town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Gaia on reception was really helpful and pleasant. Breakfast on the terrace was very nice each morning. The boat tour organised through the hotel was great. We loved having a very large terrace.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    7.9
    The hotel is located right at the boulevard with a view on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room are outdated and need some renovation. Bathroom had not the best smell.

    The hotel is located right at the boulevard with a view on the harbor and the sea. We stayed for 2 nights and rented a boat in this harbor for a day trip along the beatiful tiny beaches in the Golfo di Orisrei. Highly recommended and unforgettable experience! Breakfast on the terrace outside was a pleasure every day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    8.3
    It's all about the outdoor restaurant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a very generic hotel, not much charm or style. The noise carry grantly in the corridors. Our bathroom was so tiny. I think the seaview option rooms must be much better than the economy ones , very basic.

    The lovely restaurant outside under the trees for breakfast or aperitivo, also great pizzas. The total dark room thanks to the blackout blinds.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    5.4
    Noisy, an not very confy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - The room was very noisy! i was on the third floor the room next to the elevator, so every time people pass on the corridor to access the elevator I heard them. moreover the room was not in front of the sea (individual room it is always like this, why because your are alone, systematically you have to enjoy less than a group, a familly or a couple), and the street is very very noisy!!!!! - few fresh fruit on breakfast and all was not ready to eat!!!! - There was some hair from previous personn in the shower :(

    the location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    10
    Great, great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is so minor but the tree in front of our balcony had rather grown up and obscured quite a bit of the view. Please trim it back?

    The location was perfect. We had asked for a sea view room and I'd been (politely) informed that would be unlikely. However, when we arrived there was one available. Hooray! The room was delightful, large, beautifully appointed, with all the mod cons. Gorgeous balcony with view of the sea. We ate dinner both nights at the hotel restaurant bc it was good, we could sit out on the patio and it was so easy & convenient. Staff were wonderful and helpful. Loved our stay!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    7.1
    Nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - wifi did not work in the room, only accidently - room's furniture was outdated, need some fresh update

    - location - terrace - breakfast - staff friendliness

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    5.8
    Suggest paying more in Cala Gonone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had issues with wifi and the shower. Maybe we had unrealistic expectations in a summer destination in August but we didn't see our stay as good value. There was apparently some issue with the wifi just on our floor, which meant it was inaccessible. We struggled to maintain a good internet connection anywhere in the hotel, which was frustrating given my wife had to spend a day doing work. We had a few cold showers. The manager assured us there is a large solar hot water system, but for whatever reason there was an issue with ours.

    Good location close to the harbour. We struggled to find quality value accommodation in Cala Gonone - this place was okay and staff were friendly. If you must be in town, this place looked as good as any of the hotels, but if we went again we would probably stay outside Cala Gonone.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    8.3
    Would definitely recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The nearest beach was closed during our stay (although people were seen bathing there anyway). However with next beach only 2 minutes walk away, and further beach up the road, no harm done.

    The food in the hotel was exceptional. Also staff would do anything they could to help or advise, eg whether it be a bus trip to Dorgali or organise taxi to and from the airport. Thank you for a lovely holiday.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    9.2
    Everything I needed in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the wifi signal was not strong enough to use in my room. I had to go to the lobby or patio area to use it. If you have a car you have to find street parking or pay a little daily for municipal parking a short walk from the hotel.

    A full breakfast was served daily on the large shady front patio with a sea view. It's centrally located but quiet. The staff are friendly and ready to help with any questions about the area.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist was excellent. She got us a car park booked a boat cruise very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Hotel on the sea front
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right on the sea front. Pleasant hotel. Kind staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.9
    Amazing position for a fair price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee was not the best! Maybe just bad luck.

    Great position, nice morning breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    8.8
    perfect location near fantastic beaches
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very nice location, quiet spot close to the beach. Friendly staff, nice breakfast. Overall really nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.2
    Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.8
    Top room in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good!

    This room with its spectacular views from 2 balconys was an absolute delight to stay in - room 405!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.8
    Sweet stay in Cala Gonone
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit old-fashioned

    Friendly staff, nice breakfast terrace, clean and calm, close to everything

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    8.3
    Central Location in Cala Ganone
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I regret not paying a tad more for an ocean view.

    Breakfast was fabulous!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful sea, beaches scenery and restaurants a short walk from the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking was on the street but hotel was helpful in providing a parking pass for €5 a day

    Lovely room and fantastic sea view and balcony

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay. I definitely recommend it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking available which made it tricky and inconveniant. Fridge not cold enough.

    Very helpful staff. Great breakfasts and location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Amazing location! Would 100% recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    location, staff, breakfast in the terrace overlooking the sea is a wonderful way to start the day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    7.9
    Good value, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quiet Location adjacent to beach

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    8.3
    Amazing location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The single bed was a little bit narrow.

    Amazing location! Rooms really clean and staff really helpful and nice!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, clean and friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    8.8
    Well-located and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, helpful and kind staff. The room was clean and comfortable, even though a bit 'rustic'. Breakfast was okayish.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    8.8
    Agree with all positive reviews.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Agree with all positive reviews. The hotel and the staff are all committed to hospitality. Hotel is east west and my single room was on the "back" which gave me sunset over the mountains, and i was just a few doors away from the roof terrace for sunrises. (And beach gear dries on the sunny balcony. ) Delightful breakfasting with the giant fig trees, and hello fried eggs and toast! I missed you while consoling myself with Italian sweet cakes. Also liked being in the middle of the beach after having stayed at the port. Still quick access to boat trips down hill, while all other services are closer.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    10
    Excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location!! Cala Gonone is by far the best area I've seen in Sardinia and I've seen almost all of it! It's a must to do the minicruise alo g the coast! It's simply stunning! Also if you take a car ride towards Baunei the views of the mountains are absolutely amazing!! The staff at thehotel arr cery nice, great breakfast nice big rooms and we also had a free room upgrade!

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    10
    I loved the perfect location (for taking boats to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Garbagemen making noise while collecting and breaking bottles at 5 am = terrible!

    I loved the perfect location (for taking boats to the stunning beaches or taking a walk along the beach), the beautiful terrace with the trees (loved having breakfasts there) and my lovely sea view from the balcony (I probably had the best view of all rooms = sea + trees). The staff were kind and the breakfast was good. It is a very calm hotel (I didn't hear any noise from other hotel guests) and you can sleep very well.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    8.8
    Great location and views over the sea from balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    WiFi a bit variable during our stay

    Great location and views over the sea from balcony. Rooms very clean and well prepared. Staff very helpful during our stay arranging breakfast in our room for an early start.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    6.7
    Good location close to the harbour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Although they were not supposed to charge me before arrival, the hotel charged my card immediately after booking. This made it difficult for me to make changes in my reservation, even long before my free cancellation time limit had expired, and it cost me a good amount of money. They did not apologize or try to make up for this in any way, which disappointed me. Most of the staff was not very welcoming either. WiFi only works in the reception.

    Good location close to the harbour. Nice room, ok breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    5.0
    Good and helpful information at the reception, nice view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is out of date and needs a new spirit. The price/performance ratio is not justified. WiFi connection was often not provided, breakfast offerings are minimalist (two times there was hairs on the buffet). Coffee is pitiful for the italian conditions.

    Good and helpful information at the reception, nice view from the terrace to the harbor and seaside. Located near the beach and restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    9.2
    Fab location for boat trips to beautiful beaches in National...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fab location for boat trips to beautiful beaches in National Park area. Superb room and en-suite and lovely large balcony with wonderful views. Central location with easy access to bars and nice restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    10
    Hotel has best location in Cala Gonone and very close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Parking could be difficult and you had to pay but rates weren't too bad

    Hotel has best location in Cala Gonone and very close to excursion boats to beaches; staff spoke English and was very helpful

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    2.5
    Location on the waterfront.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Location on the waterfront.Room was small, very clean, decent shower. breakfast was served ouside under trees,very pleasant.This consisted of yoghurts fruits,meats,cheeses,croissants,cakes & great fresh breads,juices,tea,coffee.Staff friendly especially the female with glasses,she helped organize the bus time tables,thankyou very much!!Nice hotel to stay in Cala Ganone.

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    8.8
    The staff were super friendly, helpful, hands down amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although it says in the hotel descritpion that the wi-fi is available throughout the property, it only really works in the restaurant and lobby, in the room it was pretty unstable.

    The staff were super friendly, helpful, hands down amazing. We enjoyed our stay so much that we even prolonged it for 2 more nights. Where Miramare falls a bit behind (mostly wi-fi), it makes it up for with the excellent location and great people working there. We'll stay there again for sure.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    10
    Wonderful helpful staff particularly Gaia on the desk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Wonderful helpful staff particularly Gaia on the desk. Our room was on the top floor with views all along the coast from the huge balcony. Well worth the extra money for this room - no 405.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    10
    great location and the staff treated me as family - nothing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    great location and the staff treated me as family - nothing was too much trouble for them. Great advice about the local area, activities and bus times etc. Excellent value for money. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    10
    The staff were super nice and helpful, they made a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were super nice and helpful, they made a reservation in a great place for dinner for us, gave us great recommandations ... The room was clean and comfortable with an amazing view!

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    9.2
    Quiet, but just enough going on for a relaxing break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quiet, but just enough going on for a relaxing break.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    8.8
    Location and staff are great, beds are good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food for breakfast could be far better considering the local produce.

    Location and staff are great, beds are good. Excursions offered are great.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    8.3
    good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Doors very noisy when closing. Wifi very inconsistent

    good location. Ocean view room great terrace. Staff very helpful

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    9.2
    near to the sea, big rooms with terrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    a bit out of date

    near to the sea, big rooms with terrace

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    8.8
    lovely staff, very welcoming and organized :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    maybe the cleaning ladies should knock a bit later, or at least after breakfast :) but very sweet girls!

    lovely staff, very welcoming and organized :)

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    10
    A really personal service, excellent location and a lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A really personal service, excellent location and a lovely place to stay.

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51