Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Rigel 3 stars

Via Enrico Dandolo 13, 30126 Venice-Lido, Italy

#16 of 35 hotels in Venice-Lido

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 934 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bad hotel.not clean, very very very small room, impossible to put the bags. the air conditionaire not good and it is very hot at the room. there is stairs to the hotel and the elevators.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed and pillows too hard for me. Large group of American teenagers arrived for 1 night - thought they might be a bit noisy but need not have worried.

    Short distance from all amenities, ate breakfast on the terrace, nice room overlooking quiet street, pleasant staff, very clean and tidy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor was a little dated but for the price and quality of everything else it’s no big deal.

    The breakfast was great and kept us going for the day. The room was clean, the bed was comfy and the staff were friendly - couldn’t ask for more really

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was to soft, building old not in a good condition, elevator terrible etc

    Nothing special, but the price for night in this period is 300% up because biennale... For this or little bit more 200€ per night me and my friend stayed at hotel with 4 stars in Venezia... ferry is 41-45€ one direction by car and 2-3 persone in the car. 30€ is two day ticket for waterbus sooo lido is not going to see me again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The furniture in the room is to old and have not very good smell.

    Lido is a perfect place to stay in a quite atmosphere in the same time not far from crowded Venice. The hotel situated on the sunny, quite street with a good location to Vaperetto station

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door to out room didn’t block much sound so we could clearly hear people in the hallway. Which turned out to be an effective way to know when to wake up.

    The staff were lovely, especially the breakfast staff! I recommend eating breakfast outside if the weather is nice. The location was perfect. It was nice to escape the busy chaos of central venice. Lido is lovely. It was clean, convenient and inexpensive. I will certainly be back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing

    close to waterbus and located in a quiet and lovely neighborhood. lido beach is not so far away. ideal place to visit Venice and take a beach experience. travel to the Biennale but enjoyed Lido lifestyle.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As a tea addict, it would have been nice to have had an electric kettle in the room, but the staff heated up the water for my thermos any time I asked so it wasn't really a problem in the end. If you're a very light sleeper you might be woken up around 6:30 by the garbage collection truck - it's not actually so loud, it's just that the street is usually so quiet that even the slightest noise stands out. I liked getting up early to see Venice before the crowds came in anyway(highly recommended!), so that wasn't much of a problem either.

    The staff was very polite, professional and accommodating. The bed was comfortable. The air was of a better quality than Venice proper (lots of trees in and around the street). The location was excellent - far away enough from the crowds that you could hear birds singing, but close enough that you could go from your room to Piazza San Marco in ~20 minutes if you caught the vaporetto just right. Breakfast was great, good variety. The croissants were of an excellent quality and still warm. The view from top floor rooms is pretty nice. The bathroom was very clean, and cleaned daily. There's a restaurant just down the street, and a supermarket about 5 minutes' walk away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing!

    Lovely comfortable room with french windows and Juliette balcony, that was not overlooked. Spotless , fully tiled bathroom with shower, kept immaculately clean. Very friendly and helpful staff and, as others have mentioned, the continental breakfast was superb! , taken on the terrace listening to the birds singing. I have stayed on the Lido before, and love the beautiful relaxed style of the place I would definitely stay at the Rigel again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of hotel I knew that it is on the last island from Venice but I couldn't expect that traveling by Water bus could take such much time.

    Great wide selection of items served during Breakfast time. Very kind and nice hotel workers. Room was clean and cozy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV placed too high

    It a simple pristine place, not too sophisticated, but meet all the needs for a short stay. Very clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. Wi-Fi works excellent, TV programs ok

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Really very good location. Only 35 from railway station and about 15 minutes from S Marco. I highly recommend to rent a bicycle (in the hotel) and explore Lido. I also recommend Lido for beach holidays.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a very good experience nothing extra ordinary. The boat ride from Venice s. Lucia station to lido takes approx 45 minutes and it’s a 5 min walk from lido station. We knew this earlier but felt like spending too much time traveling back and forth for visiting places.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's only one thing I'm not sure. We asked the front desk if the cleaning lady will change our towels and he said yes. But when we got back to the hotel, it seems like she just fold all the towels but didn't change them. Thats the only unpleasant thing happened during our stay.

    The hotel looks classic and I just love this kind of old fasion decoration. The breakfast is simple but delicious. The location is at Lifo island. Although it's not close to the city center, the restaurants and environment of the island are just great! I love it! For this price, I'm very satisfied with my stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The elevator door handle was quite sharp and I got a small cut on my finger

    Staff were very friendly, room was comfortable, facilities were great, breakfast was decent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked the island of Lido but to bring a car across was expensive on the ferry and then we had to pay 13 euros a day to park at the hotel.

    We enjoyed this hotel it was comfortable and the breakfast was very good. We liked the boat service from the island and for 20 euros you could just transfer from one boat to another for a whole day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisey in the mornings, walls paper thin, could hear people from rooms next door, having showers, talking, running baths, flushing of toilet, hair drying etc. Breakfast as expected but a bit of variety & more hot options would have been good.

    Staff very friendly, hotel nice & warm, great location for the boat taxis/ferries

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything!

    The hotel was peaceful and quiet. Away from the crowds of Venice but still easy to get to by water boat. ‘A few pastry shops in the area if you are keen on sweets! The Lido S.M.E station is about a 5 minute walk from the hotel. I enjoyed breakfast too. Many options to choose from. I enjoyed my stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even when the heating was set up on maximum it wasn’t warm enough for what I’m used to. Couldn’t say it was really cold but all the blankets had to be used at night and I still would have liked 1 or 2 degrees (Celsius) more... the heating is electrical, using air con and is a bit too loud when on maximum at night. However that is just a small issue and wouldn’t stop me from coming back.

    Good location, great breakfast, nice staff, reasonable size rooms. Great value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Traces of mould between the tiles inside the shower cabin. Heating (by aircon unit) was slightly noisy during the night, but for me it was not a big problem.

    Very good location, a short walk from the vaporetto station. Nice staff, smallish but comfortable single room. Breakfast was excellent, with fresh fruits, boiled eggs (peeled, halved and seasoned), and small pre-prepared yoghurt cups with cereal. Apart from a nice selection of pastries and tarts, seasonal pastries (made during the carnival) were also offered, which I appreciated.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff members are few specially in breakfast time. It would be great if they had airport shutle.

    The old style of the decorations, also the 24 hour desk for any help. The place was so clean and the size of the room (standard double) was perfect for our stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Single room is rather small but OK for one person. The drain in the shower cabin didn't work well so there was a puddle for a while after taking a shower

    Good location not far away from vaporetto station, 5-10 minutes walk to the beach and restaurants, two supermarkets nearby. Tasty breakfast without hot dishes but with freshly baked croissants and fresh juice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very slow and there was no iron board or any facility to wash. Laundry is not available . There is no restaurant . It’s only BF.

    The property is in Lido island which is very beautiful. Reaching the property from the metro station will take 40 minutes by Boat. But reaching to the mainland of Venice is only 15 minutes. One need to cross Venice mainland to reach this property . It would be very difficult if you have to catch a morning flight from here

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing!

    I have stayed here before and really enjoyed it. The staff are lovely and polite, really helpful and will help you with directions in the area. I will stay again in a few years for the Venice Biennial!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Loved the room, especially the balcony. A great place to have a glass of wine at the end of the day. The hotel was very close to the vaparetto stop, grocery store, shopping and numerous restauarants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bed not comfortable at all, I had back pains after 2 nights in it. The taff did not supply soap and toiletries, I had to ask at reception. But the staff kept forgetting. Very poor and shabby room, although clean.

    Very good washroom. Close to Vaporetto. Breakfast: muesli, corn flakes, bread, butter, cream cheese, hams sausages, cheeses, baked goods, jam, juices, coffee. Also tea, but the water is not hot, just tepid. Milk.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location.close to transportation, quiet Staff very accommodating .. Came in early to make brf..older hotel with spotless bathroom with old style charm

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would of been nice to of been offered a cooked breakfast during the week and not just at the wknd as continental after a couple of days can be boring.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Reason for the visit was to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary which we didn't tell the hotel. The day we celebrated on our return to our room was a bottle of Procecco plus glasses & a note from the management congratulating us. Housekeeping on seeing our cards must of informed the management. What a lovely gesture.Hotel is also well positioned for water taxi into Venice and also a very short walk to some good restaurant. Will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was room 102 really 'superior' room ?! wouldn't have liked to see the others in that case ! Décor was tired (c1985 ?!), shower/bath poor and room was small - couldn't open up suitcases easily

    Staff were helpful, breakfast was plentiful, location was good being a short walk to public transport and centre of town

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet place, value for money, friendly multilingual staff and very good breakfast but but limited choices of cooked meal.. Within easy reach of transport; boats, buses.& Lido beach. Hotel Rigel has restaurants available nearby. Hotel could do well with easier door locks and tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we felt that the hotel had loads of potential for further options - an evening dinner for example or evening entertainment. There were lots of communal areas that were lovely spaces to share experiences and meet other guests.

    The property had a vintage elegance, the staff were welcoming and helpful. The location was ideal for hopping around the islands in the lagoon. Breakfast was varied and well presented.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was rather small.

    The breakfast was really nice and included fresh fruits If you ask for a cappuccino you will get a freshly brewed one instead of the pre-prepared coffee.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Venice is quite costly so no bargain but price seems fair for the location

    Lovely Lido hotel, standard Euro-decor, Marble floored foyer with tinted mirrored surfaces but rooms were air-conditioned, clean and fresh with cute balconies and good big bathrooms. Breakfast is continental buffet with plenty of fruit and wide array of breads, cakes with some ham and eggs. WiFi reliable and fast enough to stream.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reception area and breakfast area are a bit jaded but the bedrooms themselves have defintely had a makeover!!

    Very close to vaporetto for Venice. Big rooms - we had windows on two sides so plenty of light. Staff very helpful - printing boarding passes etc. They also have their own bikes for rent. Also 5 minutes walk to local restaurants and 10-15 minutes or so to the beach.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel in not well maintained and the room was pretty dirty. We had stains on the bed sheets, dust in the room, mould smell in the bathroom.

    The breakfast and the location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - some of the furniture and the overall air of the room is a bit dated

    - great atmosphere of an old style boutique hotel - very friendly and helpful staff - breakfast in the garden is great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Happy with everything

    Comfortable friendly retro hotel with a relaxed atmosphere . In a peaceful location a very short walk from bars and restaurants . Lido is very relaxed and low key after and is a lovely place to stay in the summer if you're visiting Venice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    My room was pretty tiny. Decor is a bit dated. AC is functional, but takes quite a while to get going.

    Relatively good value for expensive Lido. Easy location close to the boat landing with plenty of restaurants and businesses nearby. It's a an old-school hotel, but very nicely maintained, so it's not "faded". The staff are very classy, with uniforms and so on. Breakfast was nice and quite varied.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would have appreciated more flexibility with the check in time. I arrived early and had to wait till 2 to access my room.

    Very charming Hotel with a wonderful garden. Just behind the busy main street.The location gives you the comfort of choice. Dive into the buzz of the city when you are up for it and find peace and quiet when you need it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed there mid to end of May and the temperatures were getting up into the mid to upper 80's F and their air conditioner is not turned on until June. We were however able to open the two window/door to outside to bring in the gentle breeze that always seems to blow on this island.

    The staff was very helpful in giving us recommendation for restaurants in area and also what sites were a must see. We didn't spend a lot of time at the hotel since we only had 2 days in Venice but enjoyed accomodations when we were there.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Given how much I paid, I have nothing to complain about. I only wish I stayed a few more days.

    I love the garden and I love how helpful the staff is and I have been going to Venice every year since 2015 and this is the best part of Venice for me, away from it all. I had no idea Lido is so charming and I didn't even get to see the seaside, the part facing the Adriatic.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had to leave very early from the hotel and the take out breakfast included only crackers & jam and a juice. For the price of the hotel it could have been better. A bit expensive, 80 € for a small room

    Quiet street and room, in Italian standards a bigger variety at the breakfast, friendly personnel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being able to get dinner at hotel, but supermarket and restaurants very close by.

    Very easy to find from boat stop. Lovely staff and cute, neat single room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We can't recommend any improvements, because to us there simply wasn't anything that could be improved. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this charming Hotel. We sincerely hope it will stay as we found it this time. Hotels like this are a dying breed, it has a face & character unlike most chain resorts & hotels we have seen a lot of in the past. Hotel Rigel was such a refreshing change.

    We loved everything about this beautiful, very Italian Hotel. All staff members we encountered during our stay were very courteous, helpful & genuinely caring. We found the room to be well appointed & immaculate - not just upon our arrival, but every day after a long day of sightseeing. We particularly enjoyed the tranquility of the garden & found the classical music playing a charming addition to the sounds of nature. Breakfast was top notch! When we return to Venice one day, we will stay in this little gem again. The location of the Hotel Rigel is great - close to everything in Lido, like shops, bars/restaurants & the public beach (15 minute walk). Venice proper is only a short vaporetto trip away, the public transportation station is about a 10 minute walk away from the Hotel. We found Lido to be a very agreeable place with plenty of Italian charme. Two nights out of our three night stay we enjoyed dinner in Lido. Great food for much less than we would have had to pay in Venice. Lido really worked for us, as we are not into crowds 24/7. We enjoyed the peace & quiet after a day in spectacular Venice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was perfect, very close to both the beach and the boat facility and also bars and restaurants. It was quiet and chilled. Breakfast was good value for money and it was nice to sit outside. Room was spacious and clean and it was nice to have a balcony.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was delicious, the staff couldn't be more accommodating and so very friendly. Our second stay here but will definitely come back again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old. The walls between the rooms are too thin and you feel yourself like you are together with the people in the next room.

    Perfect location. Relatively cheap.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My booked a single room and it was actually a little bit smaller than my expectation, but as a solo traveller, this doesn't matter much to me.

    The hotel is located on the island of Lido, very close to the waterbus station. If you don't mind travelling from and to the main island of Venice (I actually quite enjoyed it) in less than 30 minutes and save quite a bit for your budget, this would be a good choice. (But take into account the costs of public transport - I spent 22 euros for a 3-day pass as a young person, and a single ticket would be 7.5 euro.) It's comfortable, quiet and much less tourist than the main island. Breakfast is standard-Italian-hotel style, so can't complain.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was truly abysmal. I have never in my life had "coffee" as bad as what came out of that machine. I guess it was trying to fake crema, but you basically get a piddling drip of instant coffee with half a cup of foam on top. Aside from that, there was barely any fresh fruit - mostly just canned - and no vegetables. Even the bread was dry, and there was no margarine or olive oil. Seriously, don't even attempt the breakfast, it will ruin your day. Go to a café for a real coffee and pick up some fruit from the fruit store.

    The location was fantastic. Down a residential street and tucked behind some trees, it is a lovely quiet place to relax, but it's also very close to the bus terminal. The staff were very helpful and kind.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like.

    We had a wonderful stay at Hotel Rigel. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Nothing was too much for them. We would definitely go back and stay there again. Thank you!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra beds were not the best. No fridge.

    Super nice staff. Very clean. Perfect location to visit Venice. Quiet neighbourhood. Close to shops, bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for 6 nights and would have liked a bit of variety in the breakfast! And why is there no fresh fruit when it's so abundant and cheap...? Italian oranges outside in the shops are just €1 for a kilo and it would have made a welcome change from the tinned fruit. And a different pair of cheeses from the daily hard cheese and Camembert would have been appreciated too but it was all still very good! The machine coffee isn't particularly tasty but customers can pay for 'proper' coffee. The TV in the bedroom was very high up in a corner so it wasn't particularly comfortable for watching but we weren't in the room very much!

    The plentiful cold breakfast was excellent - various types of wholesome bread, hardboiled eggs, cheeses, cold meats, cereals, plain yoghurt (as well as sweetened ones in individual containers), prunes, tinned peaches, cakes. We had to report our shower head as faulty and a bathroom light too but they were both repaired while we were out during the day. Nice quiet location just a few minutes' walk from SME vaporetto stop and the main Lido shopping street and slightly further but still not far from the beach.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The savoury section of the breakfast bar was quite minimal. There is not a functioning restaurant attached. I could hear people in the next room. No tea/coffee making facilities in the room.

    Very kind and helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Walls too thin you could hear from the other room. Could have really used a kettle in the room. Water pressure was a little low and took ages for the hot water to come.

    Room was very clean. Bathroom ok. Breakfast was good with lots of variations. Property has a lift too. Service was excellent. Location was only a few minutes walk to the boat/bus station.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the hairdryer was a little bit too old!! ;)

    Breakfast was good and enough, the staff very friendly - they recommended a really delicious restaurant close to the hotel. It was also quite clean and the comfort was okay. I liked the quiet and cosy area of Lido and the Hotel. I would stay again at this Place :)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We could not fault anything in this hotel, it was a very enjoyable stay. The staff were very professional and very welcoming. We would not think twice about staying there again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I didn't like that I booked this in June for October and I asked for a front room with a balcony. No way! I also noted that a special rate of $50 something was posted on line for my stay. I asked about an adjustment and was told there was no room for negotiation. There was also a problem of the soak and wet rug in front of the window in the room adjacent to the bed. The clerk said that they had a bad rain storm and the person on duty could not possibly check the windows. The mattress was damp as a result.

    The location was on a quiet street. Clean. The waiter at breakfast was truly a gem.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The double room was extremely small - just enough space to stand between the bed and the wall on each side, but the bed was very comfortable/clean and the bathroom, though small, was spotless with an excellent shower.

    Breakfasts were excellent with good service from the waiter. Reception was always efficient. Everywhere was extremely clean.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing as such, could be few more options in breakfast

    Location isn't bad to goto city center and enjoy the day there Room is okay Staffs are very good

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our small double room should have been a single and would still have considered it small. Breakfast time chaotic due to lack of staff, felt sorry for the 1 waiter who was trying his best.

    Location and the charm and original Venician feeling of the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice if there was a pool but quite close to the beach anyway

    Very helpful staff who went out of the way to please. Good room with balcony and very plentiful breakfasts, choice of cereals , meats, eggs, croissants, bread rolls, fresh fruit tarts and yoghurts. In a quiet street just a 10 minute walk from the water bus station to either St Marks square, Burano, Airport, and several other locations. Lovely each morning to sweep into St Marks square on the water bus and when fed up of the crowds to retreat back to a quieter island. Water buses very frequent 5-10 minutes and also a night service (although less frequent) so able to come back very late. Also near main road (5 minute walk) with lots of restaurant and only 10-15 minute walk to the beach. Came to this hotel about five years ago and enjoyed it so much came back with my husband who was also impressed with it.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was good. So was the location. It was near both a public beach on the east side of Lido and the water bus stop on the west side of Lido. Also, the staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I never write a complaint but this time the service was so inacceptable. One of the receptionists was just yelling at me as if I was a dog... I was paying the city taxes cash, and it was not going fast enough. I paid with coins which clearly they dislike, please make sure you hand over a credit card if you want to be treated properly. The situation was just unseen and ridiculous ! The breakfast was a big mess. Finding a clean table was just impossible, getting coffee the same, the so called "continental offer" a big joke and tasteless. Service during breakfast was slow and uninterested into its customers. Rigel is an old hotel that needs investment, bed is uncomfortable, to take a shower in the bathroom is just unpleasant. The pictures they show is certainly not reflecting what you will find. I wonder if the description of this hotel was written by the hotel itself. Booking.com please go check again !

    Lido is a nice location to visit Venice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there wasn't a bar fridge in the room and a lack of coffee / tea making facilities

    Great location. Central to everything, the beach and shops. Good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were really friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good and lots of choices were available. The location was perfect for the beach, local shops, cafes and also the Vaporetti. The boat ride into Venice itself was very quick making it an easy day out.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location. If you want to stay away from the messy crowds in Venice -> Lido island is a good choice. The hotel is close to the 'boat station' and is easy to get to.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was not very comfortable.

    The breakfast was delicious and on a gorgeous patio. There were also a lot of different options for breakfast. The staff was very kind and helpful. There were bikes to rent to tour Lido.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Funny smell in the room, "old vakuumcleaner" smell. No glutenfree alternatives at breakfast.

    Great location with a short walk to vaporettostop. Nice and clean everywhere. Breakfast good, but same every day. Could be nice with a few more alternatives, Good service in the breakfast area. Friendly staff. Bicycles available at the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Room a bit small but fine.

    Nice garden to have breakfast in. Dark room with shutters. Air conditioning fairly quiet and worked well. Bike hire only 5 euros for the day. Balcony with chairs.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast in this part of the world can be fabulous with wonderful fresh fruit, parma ham and a variety of bread and muesli and nuts but unfortunately not here.It was OK but not what I have experienced elsewhere and nearby.

    The staff are great here - always ready to help. I love the location out on the Lido, a destination of interest itself, with great restaurants, lively cafe's and a welcome retreat from the craziness that is the tourist hub of Venice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cleaner argued with us. Broken bath very old bathroom. Very old deco and dated. Poor breakfast for and Italian hotel. Don't change towels every day. Luck of reform.

    Friendly and helpful receptionist lady. Location peace and quiet.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely hotel in a quiet location just minutes from the vaperotto. Air con a definite plus in the hot weather. Staff helpful and friendly. Lots of nice bars and restaurants within walking distance. 15 min stroll to the beach too.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were dated and pretty small but clean.

    Location was quiet. The breakfast buffet and outdoor eating area were lovely. Nice spacious lobby. Pretty and very nice neighbourhood.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was not a fridge in the room and no water boiler with some coffee or tea. We missed a drying line for our wet bathing stuff.

    The breakfast was very good, staff helpful and the location and surrounding of the hotel was excellent (quite and relaxing). The journey with the ferry boat to the island made the vacation more expensive but it was a great experience and the view from the island towards Venice compensated the extra time and costs. It took only 10 minutes to make a trip with the vaporetto to Venice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel could use a tiny bit of refreshing in the main areas and the rooms. Although I suppose it adds to the old world charm of the hotel.

    The front desk guy was always nice and helpful. The hotel is walking distance to the water taxi, the cute main strip and the Adriatic Sea! The hotel was also very comfortable and clean. Loved the free breakfast! I also was charmed by the old fashioned key system. Hold your real key (not a plastic card key) while you're at the hotel and leave it with the desk while you are out.

    Stayed in June 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Rigel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: