Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Albergo Ristorante Madonnina 3 stars

Largo Lanfranco 1, 21050 Cantello, Italy

#2 of 4 hotels in Cantello

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 291 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing I disliked. Our only disappointment was that the restaurant was closed the Monday evening that we were there, but we will return for certain.

    The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful. The building and the history of the building was incredible. We were given a suite, which was very large, warm and comfortable. Breakfast was magnificent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There isn't very much to do in the area

    Lovely quirky hotel. Very helpful and a wonderful place to stay. The modern building was very surprising and the rooms spacious

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quaduple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is great but not included: €10 per adult, children free. This was not completely clear upfront.

    Very nice old building restored in a modern style. This relates to the red building close to the hotel. Swimming pool with great terrace and great view to the mountains.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The renovated hotel ist very comfortable, and creatively decorated. The restaurant ist marvelous and has a nice atmosphere. Breakfast also, very good and qualitativ!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quaduple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Its 8.00am on a Sunday morning in August and I'm on the rooftop, basking in the warmth of the rising sun, watching my 9 year old daughter practising her new found diving skills in the pool of the Madonnina Albergo. The light hitting the peaks of the Swiss Alps in the distance, the sound of the village below waking up and of course the massive smile on the face of my youngest child makes this a very special moment indeed. The Madonnina Albergo Ristorante is strategically located only a few minutes from the Autostrada but feels like its in the middle of the countryside. In many ways this is the perfect hotel, with a perfect atmosphere and while its by no means pristine this doesnt matter at all because its completely overshadowed by how comfortable you feel as a guest. As many know, its quite a responsibility finding a hotel that will suit a family, yet also be somewhere which you will enjoy and be able to relax, sound in the knowledge that everyone is happy! The family rooms, with AC, are huge, ours didn't have much of a view, but the layout provides for two sleeping areas and works well. The restaurant, the service, the quality of food, the prices, were all spot on. We stayed for two nights (far too short) and despite being tempted by the restaurants around Lake Como (30 mins away) we opted to eat al fresco both nights in the hotel, firstly in the courtyard and then in the garden. The local chilled Gavi is a joy, as is the fresh pasta. It was wonderful to see so many families, as well as couples, enjoying an evening meal in such idyllic surroundings, quite unique. The Limido family have owned the hotel for many years and the sense of 'family' is so clearly reflected in the product they offer. They and their staff all work very hard for long hours in high season but this commitment really pays off. Our big regret was leaving!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quaduple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really although the main courses for dinner were slightly too pricy.

    We got a free upgrade to an older, very spacious and clean suite which was a beautiful mix between classic and modern. In addition, the hotel was clean and had great facilities such as a restaurant on the ground floor with a nice outside terrace and a swimming pool on a roof-terrace.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't have enough time :(

    We had planned to stay for one night only, but this is a truly magical place....from the artist-owners to the roof-top swimming pool and jacuzzi to the fantastic restaurant on the property. Dinner was simply incredible....breakfast was very nice too.....all the staff are super nice...the owners are always around to attend to one's needs and wishes. We decided on a room in the newer part of the hotel, a former textile factory turned hotel....WOW! Lots of reclaimed materials, old things mixed with loft-style rooms with a bit of industrial look...with modern art. An incredible combination. Our room was comfortable, a good size. the private terrace overlooking part of the village was an added bonus. You will not be sorry to check it out and stay there. We will definitely be back!!! Thank you, Madonnina.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The menu is only available in italian but the waiters gives you all the help you need to understand it.

    The Staff is very friendly, most of them speak good english. The cuisine is outstanding! At nice weather you eat outside in a charming garden with its walls coverd in flowers.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The garden restaurant is great. However, we came during spring, when this region is known for its asparagus. We were offered an asparagus menu, which was good, yet not exceptional. Considering that some people need meat to every dinner, the purely vegetarian style of the menu was not my taste. It would have been nice to have at least one alternative dish or beef, fish or poultry as a main course (secondo piatto).

    This is truly a special place to stay on the way from northern Europe to Italy or on the way back. Situated not far from the Swiss-Italian border on the one side and the greater Milan area on the other, you get the best from two worlds - nice food and a typical Italian style fine accommodation. The place has a lot of history to offer as the landlady will be happy to tell you. It's been an old post station in the 17th century and hosted probably not only then but also later interesting people on their way from and to Switzerland. One of them was apparently Edda Ciano, one of the daughters of the Duce, on her way to take refuge from Italy in WWII. The room/suite we stayed in was nicely renovated and had all the amenities that you need. There was plenty of space, a nice and comfortable bed, good bathroom (though it took us a bit of time to figure out how the taps worked . . .). The best of all, however, is the nice garden restaurant. Breakfast was good continental standard and the Italian coffee was of course excellent. All in all a very nice start into a journey through the Bel Paese.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three Connecting Double Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner and staff were very accommodating with our last minute reservation. We enjoyed a taste of the local cuisine in the restaurant, white asparagus was in season. The 3 bedroom apartment was perfect for a large family. The large rooms with high ceilings were charming and comfortable. It was an overall relaxing experience and we would love to go back and spend more time!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were so kind and helpful, went out of their way to help. The breakfast was excellent, the room very large, spacious and clean, the bathroom was massive and very well equipped. We wished we could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quaduple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outdated rooms in the main building/ house. The dirty lift, would need a thorough cleaning.

    The staff and food. Very kind owners. We were offered breakfast due to a small inconvenience we had in the room. Cozy restaurant and excellent food. Nice service at dinner. They have a recent building where you'll be offered modern rooms. We would have initially stayed in a "family room" in the recent part but the hotel was almost empty due to the winter season so they offered two twin bedrooms in the main building.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quaduple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some people might not like having to walk between the two buildings which are only about 50m apart....we were in the building that had the pool on top and then had to walk to get the car and across for breakfast to the other building - not an issue for us but for others perhaps...

    The pool was great. The hot tub lovely. The menu at lunch was gorgeous. The breakfast was varied and so tasty.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quaduple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower door was broken, the cover on the bed would have been nicer if it was a thin cotton quilt over the sheet. Still loved our stay though.

    Loved this hotel. Fantastic room with big double beds. Loved the pool on the roof. Delicious breakfast in a pretty restaurant. The staff were so friendly and helpful. We arrived very late but they were ready to greet us. We stayed another night because we liked it so much.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quaduple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The other guests were all families with small children. At the swimming pool and during dinner this made it very hard to enjoy our stay.

    We were welcomed by the owner. Because we liked the rooms in the old part so much last time, we got an upgrade to two separate rooms there instead of one room in the new part. The staff are very helpful and kind. The rooms are beautiful and the beds comfortable. The restaurant is not cheap, but the food is great. Parking is easy and just across the street. A great hotel for a stopover on your way to the South.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Three Connecting Double Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was way too many which way like

    The family run this hotel were very good people and make our stay very convertible thanks for them. It was way too many which way

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were really lovely. They were accommodating at every level, and nothing was too much trouble. The food was exceptional, both dinner and breakfast. I had the homemade cod ravioli. It was sublime ! The stay was an exceptional one and made the beginning of our stay really super. Thank you and arrivederci !

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quaduple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is always room for improvement, so this is what I would suggest as possible improvements: * information packet (in multiple languages) with hotel and restaurant information and some short background on the history of the hotel. * provide a small fridge in the rooms * provide a small safe in the rooms

    This hotel is a surprisingly refreshing blend between modern/design and traditional/historical. The room was comfortable, the staff treated us very kindly and were very accommodating. The restaurant offered great food and traditional, formal but also very warm and kind service. The blooming jasmine all around the building was amazing. We enjoyed dinner, breakfast and lunch in the hotel/restaurant. Our late (lunch time) check-out was no problem at all. We enjoyed the roof-top pool for a bit in the morning!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved the jacuzzi on the balcony of our room, and the flexibility of the staff!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Spacious rooms. Good breakfast. Nice atmosphere.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quaduple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Swimming pool.

    Full with art (modern and old)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pool area

    Restaurant, breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quaduple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to see in the village

    Big rooms, children in the same room, very clean and quiet

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quaduple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a wonderful time at the Albergo Madonnina. The kids loved the pool, the breakfast was great and the hotel staff is really friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendliness, food, service,value for money: all excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and views were beautiful. Staff were so helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb restaurant and rooms Roberto could not be more helpful!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food generally

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We loved the service, very friendly staff and owner, especially very good restaurant which we recommand a lot

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quaduple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Totally surprised from the briliant service and atmosphere in this place. Freindly stuff, delicious kitchen, great spaces! Simply top! Thank you!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quaduple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No amenities nearby

    Great rooms for families

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Three Connecting Double Rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place, very helpful staff, amazing dinners

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quaduple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have been told that the hotel is well known, however the glory days have passed away....

    Very frendly staff Nice restaurant in the garden

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three Connecting Double Rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Super place, GREAT food, lovely staff, cool swimmingpool on the roof garden

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quaduple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice location. Excellent breakfast with fresh fruit. .

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quaduple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great restaurant and pool with a view.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quaduple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Love the modern rooms in old building, nice swimming pool on roof, very nice quiet aircon, good wifi, very nice restuarant

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Quaduple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A relaxed atmosphere, helpful staff, flexible service, delicious breakfast, a family business.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff is very friendly and also the owner really cares for the costumers. Breakfast was really good and also they have a magnificent fillet for dinner. We went there with a 9 month old baby and it was all fine for us.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very helpful and friendly staff and what a refreshing change to have breakfast served at your table. Location brilliant - perfect for A14 and Swiss border

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    This place is a real delight ! It is a fantastic mixture of the old-grand buildings with stacks of history ,combined with real cutting edge arcitecture where ever appropriate - huge expanses of glass , marble , old and new artworks. This worked really well. The rooftop pool is bigger than it looks in the pictures , and the terrace with a hot tub overlooks mountains and all were immaculately clean. The dining room is beautiful, high ceilinged ,yet still atmospheric with efficient easygoing service that allowed my teenage children to mix and match different bits of the menu The food at dinner was authentic and delicious. Breakfast ,similarly was easy going , substantial , good quality and value.Eggs and bacon are cooked on demand ,fresh fruit ,yogurts ,biscuits and delicious hams and cheeses are served, with unlimited coffee hot chocolates etc. We were a short drive from Como ,Lugano and Milan. Fox town retail park and an excellent water park /multi pooled spa surrounded by mountains was a short drive into Switzerland . We stayed 4 nights , and we're really pleased not to have stayed around the overpriced ,over touristed Lake Como .

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I booked a larger room, but got a quad, and no discount on price. Wifi did not work in the room (K-13), only downstairs in mosquito-plagued terrace with broken furniture and trash. Restaurant was unimpressive, in a country where it is hard to find a less than wonderful meal.

    Staff member very pleasant at checkout, and told me a bit of history (wish I had talked to him at the start instead of the end).

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I booked 3 connecting rooms for 2 nights, which I think is an apartment for 6, since we were planning to meet friends, then later added a first night in a quad room, but just got the latter (K13) for all 3 nights. There was never anyone at the front desk to talk to, and it was very unclear who worked in what capacity. Feels a bit like a great hotel gone completely to seed; interesting art placed oddly, and disused furniture and trash stacked in various odd places. Bottom floor of annex could be nice, but for trash & mosquitos. Pool area not as inviting as pictured, either. Breakfast off-putting, with no menu or buffet, and cost extra. Shower door difficult to open from inside (making one feel trapped inside). Perhaps if I could have talked with someone earlier in our 3-day stay, some of these things could have been fixed, but solicitude for guests was not in evidence until after check-out.

    A lot of history in this place, evidently, and maybe sometimes it looks as presented in pictures. One of the staff members has some very interesting stories, but I didn't hear any until *after* I had checked out.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing!

    Great pool area, very nice room with large balcony. Dinner and breakfast are fantastic! Perfectly located as overnight stop to travel from Belgium to Tuscany ( or vice versa). Friendly staff!

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We stayed at this hotel for one night to travel to the South. Super nice place for evening dinner and food was delicious. Breakfast was also very nice.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the owners truly love what they do and took incredible care of us. Breakfast and dinner a delight and the recommendation in town for the Monday night did not disappoint. the room (2 double beds, plus one single bed, very large balcony) was more than we expected and was situated in the annex overlooking the garden. The roof top pool, with ample space for lounging, was one floor above. Quiet, restful sleeps.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Stayed one night in this beautiful hotel on my way to Tuscany for business, however, It quickly felt like the first day of a holiday. The room and bed were very comfortable, and the hotel staff were a pleasure to speak to and more than happy to answer any questions. With the warm weather, I took an evening swim in the refreshing rooftop pool that boasts stunning views of the local village. They have a restaurant on site with some of the best food I've had in Italy, and at very reasonable prices. To top it off, they offer fast, free WiFi which allowed me to skype my partner overseas without any issues. Hope to have the opportunity to stay here again!

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    We had gotten a large room. Also the bed was large and was very comfotable. The wifi had a good signal. Another plus was the restaurant which also belonged to the hotel. The food was very good! The owner is a very nice person who also gives personal attention to his guests.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We have visited this hotel many times because of the relaxed atmosphere and good food. unfortunately this time diner was a bit disappointing

    Large rooms, pool on the roof, relaxed atmosphere , breakfast

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The outside didnt show off the beautie of this place, dont make a mistake, this has more to it, a pool on a roofgarden a serre that ive never seen before a great kitchen all made with love and a lot of art and special surprises, if you want to get married in a beautiful special way, your at the right address!

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    I loved the room and the huge bed but the mattress was rather firm and there was one pillow each.

    We got an upgrade to the suite which was amazing!! : ) Very large room, separate lounge and a big terrace with antique furniture to suit the building. Huge bed, double bath and the largest shower head I have ever seen!

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely old building and grounds, well maintained Set in a tranquil village Delicious dinners, and elegant gourmet continental breakfast Clean and sizeable rooms

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Lovely place to stay for one or several nights: Nice rooms with authetic details combined with modern comfort. Try the additional breakfast, you will be surprised !

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very pleasant stay Staff was extremely kind and helpfull arringing a table for a new year gala (wich was fully booked!) Thanks a again and see you!

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We had to leave

    What a gem in the rough ! Family run, with their heart and soul

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Really loved the wonderful treatment we got from the stuff and owner:-)

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good restaurant, nice location

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Needs new paintjob here and there.

    Charming historic albergo from around 1900. Top restaurant. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the beds parking the reception,polite & hvery helpfull decoration

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Clean large quiet rooms, rich breakfast and vary friendly staff. The owner was very helpfull.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Fantastic welcome, great food and a beautiful room

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant, our room (the Orson Welles suite), garden setting

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Guests also reviewed these properties: