Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Albergo Ristorante Paradiso 3 stars

Via Garibaldi 36, 19025 Portovenere, Italy

#2 of 8 hotels in Portovenere

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 284 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 70

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is nothing which we did not like.

    For avid sailors like us the view onto Portovenere yacht harbour straight from the bed is absolutely priceless! Portovenere centre is within a 3 minutes walk, the local shops are very neat and retained a sense of originality. The (sea)food in the local restaurants is authentic and fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom. Very noisy in the night. You can hear everything from outside and next door rooms, like for example snoring or even normal talking. Very slow service at breakfast not much to eat. Waiting for coffee or even cups takes a lot of time.

    Rooms are with old furniture but clean and excellent view from the window (not balcony). Breakfast could be better. Bigger choice. We had better breakfast in pensions then here in the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had was pleasant enough but for €200 a night I don't expect holes in the bedspread and a soft, sagging mattress. The shower room was adequate but very small. Access to the room was by going outside...as was the case for several rooms. Not necessarily a problem unless the weather is bad. WiFi access did not function in our room . It only functioned in the public areas despite being advertised as available throughout the hotel.

    Excellent location. Hotel public areas very smart. Possible to park if there at the right time...two garage spaces and one off street space. Hotel restaurant was very good , lovely food and the staff extremely pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was regular (like mostly in Italy), also the smell of detergent or softener for the bed linen was too strong. Even though, the overall stay was excellent.

    Amazing view from the window, staff, comfy bed, garage.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like .

    The property was absolutely perfect ! The owners were so accommodating and wonderful to us. We will return to this perfect little grm.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing could be better. Really.

    Seriously good restaurant - I had one of the best meals of my life in the restaurant - and great breakfast. Room was comfortable and well appointed, good shutters, quiet at night. Staff were wonderful, helpful, friendly. Views amazing from the room and from the terrace.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The decor was very dated. The air-conditioning was not sufficiently strong.

    Nice location along the water front and nice views from the breakfast room and terrace. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room is very hot in the mornings, they could have offered the terrace and the guests could have some fresh air at least. Also the breakfast lacks of variety.

    The hotel has a perfect location. It is very clean. You have to pay 10 Euros per day for the parking place in the street. As we have so many luggages, the hotel let us park for in front of the hotel which was very nice of them. The rooms at the -2 level have separate entrance which is nice. The staff is very helpful and nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit expensive, compared to other places nearby with same/better rooms.

    Nice hotel with great view of the Portovenera Bay. Nice breakfast with fantastic view from the terrrasse. Near restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It seemed a bit pricey for a basic room. The restaurant was usually empty and we did not see many people in the hotel spaces. We actually enjoyed exploring the town, the cathedral on the cliffs, and eating out in the evenings.

    We were steps from the sea and the walkway along the harbor. It was a great location, quiet and picturesque. It was comfortable and clean and we were given 2 rooms side by side for our group of 5 adults. The breakfasts were good and the service at breakfast was excellent. The town of Portovenere was our favorite town in that area and we enjoyed our time there very much. The BEST restaurant was Il Timone!! (closer to the main harbor and by the sea)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much of an atmosphere in the place and the dinner we ate in the restaurant was only okay.

    The room was very comfortable and clean. You could open the full length windows like doors and lay on the bed looking at stunning views of the sea and harbour. Breakfast was all you could eat from large selection of fresh fruit, yogurts, cereals, freshly made tarts, juices, bacon and eggs, croissants etc. Perfect for visiting Cinque Terre. Portovenere itself is a really gorgeous place to visit, really glad we chose to have this as our base. We got ferry to Cinque Terre from here, gorgeous way to visit them. No trains from Portovenere, you have to go to La Spezia to get train to Cinque Terre.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air-conditioning was extremely loud and didn't work well enough so we ended up too hot. The breakfast was pretty poor with stale bread and the staff polite but inattentive. On my second morning nobody was even attending the breakfast area so I ended up without a coffee and this was in low season (mid-May) when they had very few guests. This would all be fine if the price wasn't literally the same as an infinitely superior four star hotel I stayed at in Portofino (although that one didn't have the view). This is definitely not good value for money. They ought to drop their prices by at least 30%.

    We had a sea view room on the second floor and the view was absolutely stunning. The rooms were also very clean and the bed was comfortable. The location is also excellent as it's close to many restaurants and bars and the main town area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    TV no satellite tv in rooms. (Minor point) Can't really think of anything else.

    Beds comfy, quiet at night, staff helpful and friendly and views awesome.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location with a stunning view from floor to ceiling Windows and friendly helpful staff. The hotel is quiet, clean and with an authenticity we really enjoyed. Family owned and managed.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints. Would definitely go back

    We were made very welcome by the helpful and friendly staff. Parking is a bit limited but the owner went out of his way to find us a parking space very close to the hotel. Breakfast was good. Excellent location and great views.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very thin walls and a noisy gate beside bedroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing view! The location is also reat

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All ok

    Wonderful dinner and breakfast. Super gluten free choices.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the best views I've had from any hotel. Excellent location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in particular

    Beautiful views across the sea and coastline, clean rooms in white (goes with the sea), decent restaurant also with sea view

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice and helpful staff, clean accommodations, nice room, hotel location was close to town center and the marina.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the terrace is just magnificent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very difficult to park in the town.

    All rooms have sea view. One of the best located hotels in the area for the view.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Situation and oulokk over the bay stunning

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the beautiful view. The complimentary breakfast was delicious

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the more expensive 3-star hotels I have ever stayed at but a great view, lovely location and very friendly staff make up for it!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not try the hotels restaurant

    Walking distance to town

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all itbwas perfect

    The place and the staff all very good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfect view on the marina..!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The owners were rude!

    The staff was amazing! It has the most beautiful view!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is poor

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Breakfast very average. Cold fried eggs and not always replenished.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and view

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great breakfast, fresh products, genuine Italian croissants, very helpful staff, excellent WiFi connection.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The vew of My room...it was very nice!!!.

    The breakfadt it was very good and the bed it was confortable too.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of pool

    Breakfast was excellent. Homemade touches. Also v helpful staff. Helped with parking

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast

    Great location with beautiful views over the water front. A very basic breakfast but otherwise good overall.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, nice room with a view, lovely staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Super comfy bed ! Stunning view over the bay of poets !

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast,lovely views.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location, just a short walk to the centre of the harbour. Very classy town. Lovely view from bedroom window. Staff helpful. Stunning view from breakfast room.

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    . Nothing!

    Spacious room.Comfortable bed with good linens. Openable window onto fantastic view. Small but perfectly formed bathroom. Lots of hot water. Great breakfast buffet. Excellent restaurant. Friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Paradiso was amazing -- the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was fabulous. The view from our room was spectacular. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly (and funny). Breakfast was much better appointed than expected and really delicious.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was a very noisy hotel, we could hear water running down pipes and noise from other areas.

    I loved the size of the room and the view we had even from the bottom floor. Breakfast was great and always plenty there.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Absoluting nothing. Everything was perfect

    The friendly staff. You need to go and meet our new friend Luigi... He is the best. Everyone very helpful. The view is to die for.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff had limited fluency in English. Communicating directly with the hotel was difficult. Hotel was not staffed full-time so entry had to be arranged.

    Clean, comfortable room in a good location for meeting a cruise ship.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Room rather small; service patchy at breakfast and indifferent in the bar (sometimes slow, tables not cleared promptly); for tea you need boiling (not just hot) water; relatively limited breakfast buffet considering the cost.

    View of sea and island; clean white bed linen; availability of hotel minibus;friendly receptionist; location quiet but very near town; comfortable bed; view from breakfast room.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stefano and his sister Desire were absolutely wonderful hosts. Everything about staying at this hotel was great. Luigi was very entertaining, Alex worked hard and Tonya prepared awesome meals. I hope to go back some day.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was all pretty great, would recommend. A little pricey as our room was quite Spartan, but last minute in August you can't expect much else in the area.

    Great location, excellent breakfast, drinks and good staff.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This place was a little gem. I loved the location (two minute walk to the heart of Porto Venere) so it felt quieter. The staff were lovely and helpful and the room was always so clean. The views while having breakfast were its highlight. Great location to travel to The Cinque Terre from also. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing, only good to say for this hotel

    Very friendly and helpful staff, delicious food in restaurent. Beatiful view from terrasse. Free parking i garage offered (otherwise 2 euro pr. hour in public areas!)

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room we were in was at the bottom of the hotel by the water and there was a damp smell in the room, but this is probably no problem in other rooms higher up in the hotel. The floor in the bedroom was sticky, should have been cleaned properly... we had to use our flip flops to walk around the bedroom:)

    This is an ok Hotel, with a very nice view from the breakfast table.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was average and the room was a little small, but overall very good.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was plentiful and the bed were comfy.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    close to restaurants, etc.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location. Wonderful breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The stuff was really friendly, room was silent, clean and with plenty of space. Beautiful view and great location

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location was perfect to view the islands.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great location, friendly staff - delightful!

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very bad room, the price is too high for such a facility

    the location is excellent and the view of the restaurant is beautiful

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly and helpful staff, location

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location - close to everything. All the staff were welcoming and very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The view. Loved it. Simple uncluttered room.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location for getting to Cinque Terre. Lovely staff, in particular Stefano and Luigi

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Interior decoration to be improved

    Great location

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Overprized

    The view

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    great staff & location

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Amazing views! Really close to such a pretty place!

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast was average,the meal at night-time was poor but service waiter very good

    position excellent

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolutely marvelous, my wife and I were so comfortable and the staff, location and facilities were excellent, highly reccomended

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 70

Guests also reviewed these properties: