Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Albergo Ristorante Sonia 3 stars

Località Domio, 47, 34018 Trieste, Italy

#35 of 40 hotels in Trieste

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2027 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    6.9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    6.7
    It is more like a worker's hotel I do not recommend for couples.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is very basic, and the restaurant operates as a disco in the evening so the place is smelling from cigarette smoke. The whole place is a labirinth, difficult to find your way in the hotel... Parking is free in a junk yard style parking place under the highway on the other side of the road. Luckily nothing happened with our car :)

    The rooms in the new part are clean and nice with a great bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Short stay near Triest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First door did not open automatically,second yes,but you have to drop down your luggage to open first door,so afterwards there no need to open the second-both or nothing!

    Good hotel for price,near Triest,free parking,nice rooms,only one night,so okay,easy to find!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.5
    The person are friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pizza in the restaurant and the food in the restaurant doesn't deceive 15euros. Maybe 9 euros but not more.

    The person are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.2
    Perfect for a stop over. nearby Triest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there is a buffet restaurant. very crowded. special parkingplace behind the hotel but under the bridge. no guards. staff in the restaurant don't look as if they have a great job.

    perfect room. In the new building. Modern. Mixed with local people at the bar and terrace. a few parkingplaces in front of the hotel. Very friendly staff at the reception.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.6
    Grandé e bellissimo
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Plugs are stopped when you take aout the card, bad when you have your own fridge. Way to go from the beginning to the room, a bit long with lot of stairs but due to the work (so not finished yet).

    Nice room, good bed, very good bathroom, plugs were adapted. Very clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    A great get away in the Dolomites
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything and it is waking distance to the canyon as well. Lovely stay. Dinner is very good as well. Room has both the village and church view as well as the mountains view from the bathroom. Very nice and clean. Will visit again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    5.4
    Short and sweet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I knew that the location of the hotel was far out of town but it was still very close to the highway and the view was less than pleasant.

    I liked the fact that it was welcoming when we arrived late and the staff were able to speak English and help myself and family after a long and tiring day.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    5.0
    Not one of the best experiences
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was out of this world:full of mold and the shower was very dirty. The door used to cracke,as well as the wall hoover. The room, even if it was a non-smoking room smelled of cigarette smoke. The view is not definitely one of the best and the single beds were two different types.

    They have a good restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were in was facing the highway so it was noisy in the morning.

    Breakfast was amazing. Staff friendly, helpful and nice. Amazing hotel for people traveling far and in need for a place to stay. It's open 24h so really useful for those on the road and unsure about time of arrival.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    If you come by car, you are near Slovenian beautiful cities...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you come by car, you are near Slovenian beautiful cities like Koper or Piran, but you are also close to Trieste. I was expecting small motel by the road, and was quite surprised to see bih hotel with everything that you need. It has great breakfast, buffet with all sorts of pastries, ham, cheese, eggs, fruits..even soy milk for coffee or cereals. Nearby is grocery store. Wi fi is great..we stayed only for two nights but would always come back.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    Perfect if you travel by car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Don't look more: it is wonderful hotel. Near a motorway, but room was silent. There was 36°C outside, but room was cool. It was extra clean, but the best by far was the breakfast: natural red orange juice, and wonderful croissants. Wish all hotels were like this. Free parking is a good extra

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.6
    Very good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be difficult to find anything.

    We stayed in new part. Simple but modern design. Clean and comfortable. We arrived late, very hungry. We were offered dinner. For flat fee we could eat as much as we liked, drinks included. Breakfast good too, not only Italian but also continental version was available. WiFi was available as well as car park in the shade of highway bridge. If I came to Trieste again I would choose Albergo Ristorante Sonia for sure.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.5
    The hotel is being extended right now, works are being...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is being extended right now, works are being finished right now, and we stayed at the new part, which was nice. The bathroom accessories were still missing (nowhere to lay soap, shower gel,... in the shower)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.2
    Good place where to spend the night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place where the hotel is situated. It's a industrial region.

    A nice hotel, very clean with beautiful rooms. The breakfast was good with plenty food sorts. The dinner it was all you can eat buffet.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked it all!

    Loved the property, beautiful rooms in new section of the building, Parking. Dinner was excellent buffet for budget price. Excellent choice for breakfast. Hotel has a local feel which I love.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    8.3
    You are really get value for money here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed just for one night on our way to Croatia, but the location is just next to the highway. For us no issue, but if you want to visit the city center from here it might be

    You are really get value for money here. We stayed at the new part of the hotel, which was really nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    The best thing in Sonia Albergue is ristorante, so many and...
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The best thing in Sonia Albergue is ristorante, so many and tasty meals to eat. Highly recommend:)) The rooms are clear and quiet, have a nice and big bathroom, we love it. Marta & Wiktor

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.3
    Clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Theres not too much to complain about but one thing that we have been missing was a little fridge for drinks and food to store overnight. But otherwise it’s a great value and we had wonderful stay and staff was very helpful

    Clean New Air conditioning Modern Quiet Great value

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice, clean and cheap, but far from city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is further away from the city center, than we expected and from the beach too, but you can take the bus.

    The hotel's breakfast buffet was nice, as well as our room. It was very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable accommodation in rather dreary location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived a bit early and our room was not ready, so we had lunch in the restaurant. Afterward, when the appointed time for the room to be ready had passed, it was still not available. We were left for well over an hour with no information on what was happening. Finally, after yet another inquiry, we were taken by a rather convoluted route to the 'new part' of the hotel and shown to our room. It looked as if they had just finished construction and unpacked the bedding! Apart from the delay and lack of explanation, the room was fine. The restaurant was disappointing-- adequate buffet-style food but nothing special. There was a bus stop close to the hotel, but we were unable to find anywhere to buy the necessary tickets so we wound up driving into Trieste. The surrounding area offers little or nothing in the way of restaurants or entertainment. Our lack of good Italian made the stay more challenging.

    The room was comfortable and the air conditioning worked well, critical in the brutal heat and humidity. Except for our initial reception, staff were generally friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.6
    We stayed at the new part of hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No place where to put shampoo in the shower. Hard to find a room, but the administrator kindly helped us.

    We stayed at the new part of hotel. The room is made in minimalistic style with the system of "cleaver house". Perfectly clean, comfortable bed and pillows. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.2
    Very good accomodation for a reasonable price.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some additional shelfs or boxes for personal things could be helpful.

    The room was very clean and moderm. The bathroom is also very clean, big, modern and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    4.2
    Breakfeast ok,i missed some fresh fruits and vegetables.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfeast ok,i missed some fresh fruits and vegetables.,the room noisy from traffic because near one highway road, the room really small, in the night time cigarette smoke coming inside in room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    5.0
    It was clean, safe, and the staff was friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They listed that they had AC and WIFI technically, they did have it but neither worked. To make matters worse there is nothing but residential and industrial properties in this area so, no going to a cafe for WIFI. The other problem was the location. A cab ride from and to the train station cost more than nights stay. I booked for two nights and left early after the first without a refund.

    It was clean, safe, and the staff was friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    6.7
    The room was very nice, modern and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our sink stopper got stuck, the water was overflowing so it was hard to wash our hands. The shower mixer was faulty, my husbands hot water temperature kept changing. There was no mini fridge. We had the buffet dinner, it was awful.

    The room was very nice, modern and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.5
    Old facilities but very cordial staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AirConditioner control in my room was not working. The breakfast can be better

    Close to lots of eateries and shops. Easy access to public transport system. Quiet. Very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to find place, smart rooms with touch screen A/C, smart card entry into room, modern newly renovated rooms, very nice and helping lady at reception, free parking, high speed wifi, very comfortable beds, hd tv

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Great place to rest, newly renovated, close to bus routes, and with parking! Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Cleanness, newly renovated rooms, great breakfast, perfect location close to bus routes. Staff knowledge of multiple languages made any questions simple. Will stay on the hotel on my next visit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    Very good quality
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They still miss some directions internally in the hotel: in the new area we’ve been, funny to say, it was like a labyrinth and the first time was frustrating ... but nothing that can’t be corrected with some arrows here and there

    Very good quality

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.3
    An ok stay of yiu don't have any other choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi didn't work, the wall is very thin, so we can hear the next room very well.

    The reception is 24 hours. The room was still available for our last min search. A nice local restaurant near by.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    Choose the new rooms. :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Little bit far from center and close to industrial zone but with a car is OK. Please encourage the residential people to be more nice and patient. Tourism is bringing money.

    We had the room in the new part of the hotel and window faced to quiet street. At breakfast we received all our special requests. Very friendly waiter-cook team. Nice staff.Room were really clean and cozy. Good bed. nice bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.9
    We we there just for a night before heading off to Venice in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    During our stay there, there was a group of kids staying there as well. It was very noisy and crowded.

    We we there just for a night before heading off to Venice in the morning. The room was fine for a cheap one night stay. The toilet was clean though.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    5.8
    Not very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Not getting a restful nights sleep. Children running wild. A different route for staff for emptying their bottle bins and laundry, cleaning.

    Nothing. Loads of children running and shouting in afternoons and at night up to midnight not under control at all. Also when they get up early for breakfast it all starts again. I was in Room 16 a new room with excellent facilities. In the morning the staff used the fire exit for their cleaning and laundry trolleys bumping up and down and along the corridor as well as the kids running around shouting and banging doors. At midnight the staff rolled bottle bins outside and emptied them which was really noisy. I also noted that the breakfast were set out for the clients without fly covers and with flies buzzing around I decided not to eat there for hygienic reasons.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    5.8
    Overall I can say it was fine hotel location was just ok it is more preferable for travellers.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stay there 2 nights cleaning staff came once but they didn’t clean my room they just knocked the door I open it she saw me & didn’t come back for clean.

    I like the staff very friendly. Live music I enjoyed there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    3.8
    We didn’t get the room that we reserved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t get the room that we reserved. On your site they are offering a new room with new bathroom and we got an old room with too small,old,and on some places dirty bathroom. We complained receptionist that that isn’t the same room that they are offering on your site and she told us that they are fully booked. Then I show her that they are still offerring the same pictures,like a room that we reserved ,for many rooms for that day on their site. The thing is that we booked the room in their hotel (expensive offer )because of the new room. We travel a lot and this is the first time that we got something totally different of what we reserved. We also took a breakfast and the bread was old.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    7.1
    Accommodation was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The position of the hotel could be advertised with more information on its position, I found it to be very industrial. Suitable as we were only staying overnight.

    The room it’s self was lovely plenty of room and warm.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.6
    Stayed in the newly refurbished part of the hotel, really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee in the machine at breakfast was terrible! Not ideal if looking for central location

    Stayed in the newly refurbished part of the hotel, really nice and modern. Excellent shower! Comfy bed and spacious room. Breakfast was included and was good value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    6.7
    the Rooms were newer and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Alberto was so far away to do anything close by. WiFi was not available right away, I had to go down three times before it was available. My brother did not have tv for two and a half days. All they kept saying was we can move him. When I went and told the staff that we were going to leave a day early, that problem was rectified within an hour.

    the Rooms were newer and nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.3
    If price is a factor, this is worth the trade off especially since they are modernizing the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is located close to an industrial zone so do not expect the area around to be pretty but the fact that it is being renovated and the rooms are new and modern made up for its location. The trade off is it is cheaper than most hotels closer to the center and it feels quite safe. It is far from the city center but the convenience of the bus stop being a few meters from the hotel makes up for it. The smell of cigarette smoke in certain areas of the hotel particularly the older section can be disgusting for a non-smoker. I just hope they designate certain rooms as non-smoking and keep it that way. There is no refrigerator in the room in case you want to chill your drinks.

    The hotel is under renovation (they built a new wing) and we were lucky to be placed in the new area so everything was modern, clean and new. It is located close to the industrial zone in a generally quiet neighborhood which felt quite safe. I believe I picked this hotel because it was quite reasonable compared to the other choices closer to the center. The room was quite spacious and the beds very comfortable since we like firm mattresses. The glorious bathroom was spacious for Italian standards and the shower head was anchored above so you don't have to hold it while showering. Hot water was dependable. Towels were soft and replaced daily. The staff was helpful with information and friendly. Front desk staff that I encountered all spoke English but not the staff at the restaurant. We somehow managed with sign language however. Wi-fi in the rooms was dependable and consistent but it was ironic that it was so difficult to get a connection when you were in the reception area. Parking is just right outside the hotel and we were lucky because there was an available parking spot which we occupied until we left 3 days later. The hotel is quite a distance from Trieste center but it is close to the bus stop where you can get a ride to the center for 1.20€ (good for one hour if you wish to make transfers) or to Muggia for the same price. There is a supermarket close to the bus stop if you wish to get supplies to take back to the hotel. Breakfast is quite ample with a variety of the usual offerings - cereals, oatmeal, breads, coffee, tea, juices, cold cuts, etc.). They always have boiled eggs and other egg dishes (not the usual scrambled or fried). They have a great restaurant which we tried for dinner and the pasta was delicious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.8
    Very happy with my choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    English translations on the menu would have been helpful since the server did not speak English.

    I was completely impressed with my room in the new wing. Exceptionally clean, very modern and really comfortable. Also very quiet. The staff was very pleasant and my dinner was quite good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.2
    The reception staff was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception staff was amazing. My mother and I stayed here for 1 night, we reserved a superior and got one in the new part of the hotel. The room was spacious and modern with an comfortable bed, it was very clean. Will come again for sure !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.1
    Great value for business trips.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Highly tech rooms in the newly built hotel's section, everything managed via domo system. Available restaurant and bar at the basement which makes eating rather easy for late comers (dinner served till 9pm). Easy to be reached via car, especially through highway, but may be more difficult by public transports. Just 20 mins off town, so remember this if you're a traveller on vacation. Don't expect 5 stars, but rather comfortable, clean and tidy accommodation few km far from the border.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.5
    The room was clean and tidy, the staff friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really to dislike.

    The room was clean and tidy, the staff friendly and helpful. The restaurant on site was quite adequate and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    6.7
    Good value for money, but nothing special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Window view of the roadway was not really nice but I did not expect much more in this industrial area. Air conditioning was a little bit loud, so I had to turn it off overnight. Walls are really thin, so I regularly heard sounds from other rooms. At breakfast I missed a real Italian coffee. I was disturbed by the odd number of towels. Biggest minus happened in the middle of the night when I discovered there was no toilet paper anywhere.

    It was cheap and available at the last moment. I did not have to worry about parking, because of lots of safe spots to leave the car in front of the building. Staff was very kind, despite the late hour. Beds were comfortable. Large flat screen TV with lots of programs was a really nice surprise. Late check out allowed me to rest completely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    5.8
    The hotel is located far away from the center but the rooms are great, kitchen horrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was absolutely terrible, there was barely any choices. Stale cheap croissants and awful coffee, no fresh fruit.

    The room was great, modern and very clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Excellent value for money... :)
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Breakfast to be different in some days. I was able to find boiled eggs only 3 times during my stay on the mornings.

    It was excellent, especially the new build part on which we were accommodated, which does not look as a 3 star hotel but a 4 star hotel. If I will be travelling by car and visiting Trieste again I would choose Albergo Sonia Hotel again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    I highly recommend this hotel to everyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very good.Staff was friendly and helpful.The room was clean and beds were very comfortable.We were in newly built part and everything was more than perfect!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    6.3
    Good for short stay, don't expect luxury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking may be 100% full during night, so you'll have to squeeze your car somewhere among other cars. Fine during day.

    Good for short stay, don't expect luxury.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Absolutely amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The host is amazing! Everything was perfect, way more then we expected. I can highly recommend this place and I will definitely be back next tome. She even arranged our transport to the airport.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Clean and new room
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a technical problem with WiFi in reception zone.

    Clean, new, well eqiped, good restorant in the hotel with big meals, good transport availability, no problem with parrking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    4.6
    I would never choose this hotel again and do not recommend it to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We really did not like our stay at this hotel. The receptionists were rude and impolite, we've been hardly greeted when entering the hotel. A lady asked for our ID's when we checked in but we only received them back the day after, although we told her many times that we need them. Regarding the parking possiblities: the parking lot is a desolated, dark area behind the hotel right under an overpass. (you're not able to see your car from the hotel at all) It's just doesn't look safe enough. We decided to rather park our car on the street - it got fully scratched (most possibly with a key) to the next day. (and we did not park in front of a gate or on some private territory) Horrible. It is also VERY far from the city center - you either take the bus/es (which might come or not and it takes at least 20-30 minutes) or you go by car and look for a parking place for an hour or even more.

    Pretty much the only thing we liked about the hotel is that the room was clean enough. Note: there is a superb bakery very close to the hotel. ("The Daily Bread" - recommended!)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.8
    A good clean hotel with masses of potential and very busy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The receptionists weren't that efficient and one in particular made excuses for absolutely everything. Our TV didn't work for 5 days which, whilst not missed, had us asking Reception everyday and everyday a different reason it wasn't repaired, sometimes contradicting each other. On the whole the staff were pleasant enough (save the one receptionist) a bit haphazard and not averse to making mistakes. Kind of funny sometimes.

    The room was spacious and spotlessly clean. Fresh towels and bedding daily . The bar was a bit downmarket with lottery and machines used by locals but the restaurant offered well cooked food and lots of tables. Basic breakfast but it was more than enough. This place gets really busy. Excellent pizza and great coffee.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    5.4
    Croissants were the greatest thing here- served fresh and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff. We arrived with small kids in the middle of the night (staff was informed about that) but we had to wait quite long to be served as the lady had her own problems and hang on the phone most of time. We heard no excuse for that. The breakfast was one big mess...

    Croissants were the greatest thing here- served fresh and warm!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    Recently renovated rooms that are very modern and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WIFI was a little weak. The shower was good but the drain could not keep up so the water flooded the bathroom.

    Modern room with very comfortable beds and quiet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.3
    The hotel and the room was perfect and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't find spagetti within 10 km. I would recommend the hotel but if you would stay there for one or two nights, but not the area. Everything was far away.

    The hotel and the room was perfect and nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    8.3
    rooms excellent, staff and breakfast needs attention
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The customer-facing staff need training in customer service to bring them up to the standard of the new hotel. Breakfast was badly organised - adequate provisions but needs attention. Bread was pre-cut and therefore dry by the time it was needed. Fresh fruit available but not prepared. Toast was cold, croissants were sometimes available but not always replenished. Coffee machines kept breaking down. No fresh juice available only cordial (syrup).

    The block was recently built. The bedrooms were well fitted with excellent bathroom, shower and bed. Room spacious, clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    5.4
    Food in the resturant was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location of the hotel is just horrible. Right next to a busy motorway and other highly trafficked roads. We should have checked the map more thoroughly before booking. The area around the hotel seems a mix of residential and industrial. OK for sleeping one night, not OK for a longer stay

    Food in the resturant was good. Rooms were OK and quiet despite the traffic outside. Easy to get to by car.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    6.3
    good price, pet friendly in the whole accommodation...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor WIFI signal. Difficult to reach the hotel from the main rood. Almost nothing interesting in the direct neighbourhood. Quality of breakfast was not good either.

    good price, pet friendly in the whole accommodation including restaurant'area

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    2.5
    Dirty hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The slowest reception I have ever seen. If you ask something the answer is "I dont have time, Im working!" The room was soo dirty. I attached the photos. Must see it, you wont belive. The window has great panoramic view to the highway. It s just under your window. You can hear all your neighbours' TV from all direction. Normally its a restaurant also, but the breakfast was very poor, after seeing the bathroom, we had not a big apetite for eating something from that kitchen. The pillows appx 3 cm thin, imposibble to use it to sleep. One thing is sure I WILL NEVER COME BACK. And I dont recommend it to anyone.

    Was not!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.3
    It's new, clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's new, clean and comfortable. It's a very nice place to spend a holiday in Trieste. The rooms are well designed and food is delicious and not expensive

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    5.8
    A hotel for construction workers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is still unfinished, we had a view from the window of constructions. It is very hard to find the room because it's still unfinished. The personel is very strange, doesn't give a big deal about problems that we had. The ac was broken at first. And the room cleaners accidentally tried to go to our room for more than few times.

    The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the the hotel is not in the center. But if you go with car, it is no problem.

    The accomodation was very clean, comfortable. The receiptionist was very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    4.2
    Horrible nightmare-doorknob open
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Terrible night!!! We was sleeping about 01.00 night and someone is knocking on the door one time! Past 5 min knocking on the door again. We just waked up and start to listen who is? After 5 min they just tried to open the door!" at nigt 01,00 o clock?? We scared and call to administraator, she said we dont know nothing and cant understand english language. We heart two italiano guys speaked to eachother and left behind door. After that i but seat against door to close that. I wanted to sleep but we afraid. About 30min left and someone touched doorknob. This was HORRIBLE. My wife start to call police. In front of the hotell is casino and bar(many tatoos person is walking) We dont recommend, think before!!! I think someone just wanted to rob us, when we are a sleeping. Margus

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    7.1
    Breakfast was quite good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked quadruple room with preference of 2 single and 1 large double - we got room with 3 standart beds and 1 extra bed.

    Breakfast was quite good. You can choose from several kinds of meal. Also coffee machine for fresh coffee or chocolate, capuccino, etc.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    3.8
    Cheaper is sometimes too cheap!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where to start... parking is on the street and you are asked to reserve it during booking process, very basic room, not very clean, some stains on the walls, hair from provate parts on shower water mixer, some renovation work ongoing in hotel started at 07:30am?!? I will stop here and leave it to you to imagine the rest...

    Not much to like, basic hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.5
    The room we stayed in was brand new so it was all clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wi-fi was ridiculous. There was a 15-20 hour period where it didn't work at all. When it did work, it was very slow. The hotel is pretty far from Trieste centre and using a taxi can be very expensive. There is nothing around or nearby the hotel except one restaurant.

    The room we stayed in was brand new so it was all clean and modern. The bed was very comfortable. The restaurant has really nice food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    5.4
    Poor location, great restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were put into a room with no wifi, no TV and broken air conditioning. This was in the "new" part of the hotel. On booking.com it states that we would get all of the above, very disappointing. No discount offered by staff. This place is in the middle of nowhere.

    Restaurant was good, new section of hotel being constructed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    6.3
    Thin walls....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived on a Saturday night and it was quite a party at the restaurant downstairs. besides the noise from downstairs, people from the room next to us was also having a lot of fun in the night. In conclusion, the walls are too thin and not a good night of sleep.

    Free parking and free breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    9.2
    Very handy for ferry port.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little cool at night but that could have been because we were not acclimatised.

    Staff expecting us at 1 in the morning as we had told them we would be arriving by ferry. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.3
    Very clean,almost everything new
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better

    Very clean,almost everything new

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Dont understand Slovenian
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast! Very clean room

    Dont understand Slovenian

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Quick stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice double bed. Great buffet selection. Great night and day staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.6
    The apartment was spacious and had everything that we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The apartment was spacious and had everything that we needed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    I felt it was an excellent hotel, especially for the price and closeness to the highway.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pleasant staff, new rooms, nice amenities.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.2
    Well located on the border to Slovenia- excelent for tranzit
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well located on the border to Slovenia- excelent for tranzit

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Albergo Ristorante Sonia traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: