Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Albergo San Giovanni 1 stars

Via Cerretani 2, 50100 Florence, Italy

#296 of 392 hotels in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 568 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    7.9
    A beautiful building in prime location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing in particular. Mattress was fairly 'thin', my friend said he could feel the springs.

    Right on the Duomo square so prime location. It's a really old building so it has lots of character. Service on arrival and exit was great and they kept our bags for a few hours too

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    10
    The location of this hotel was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of this hotel was perfect. The staff was great and the room we got was huge!! It was nice and clean. I would definitely recommend this place!! 👍

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    4.6
    It's like staying in a shabby shabby old hotel only for the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything other than the location is bad 1. Extremely tiny elevator (had to take multiple rounds to take our bags and ourselves up to the floor) - it even opens up on the stairs making it an even bigger task 2. Staff practically non existent and non helpful (ask them about places to visit in Tuscany and he would reply saying Florence is the best why go anywhere else) 3. The room is just big but is very very old. Some might say that's the charm of the place but hey, the tiles are coming off, at least fix those 4. DO NOT visit this place during summers. A very tiny fan to keep you cool is just a joke

    Location is perfect. In front of the Duomo. everything is closeby

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    5.0
    Central location and great view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We're not very friendly when coming to payment and couldn't pay the city tax by card which was inconvenient

    Great view and cosy old fashioned room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    4.6
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pictures on the webpage look amazing, but have nothing to do with the room we had or the entire rest of the "hotel". Our room was standard size, no precious guise at all. One(!) old and low-level shared shower/toilette for a couple of rooms, which can be really nasty if u want to use it to frequent hours (e.g. 8am). The appartment is DIRECTLY at the Duomo with view from the room, which is obviosuly nice. However, this also means you have trouble and noise basically all the time, as the masses of tourists and all the accompanying hustle starts 8am in the morning and lasts till at least midnight. So, here u have to see what you need.

    nice historical elevator

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    Perfect location, friendly staff, cozy rooms for affortable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was fine. We haven't got any issues.

    We stayed in the Room number 5 and the views were amazing! The location is superb, it is right near Duomo and 10 mins walk to train station. The staff was very helpful and our room was cleaned every day. If you looking for a central location this hotel is just right for you!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.6
    The property is very clean, spacious and in the very centre...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi can only be used from the “common area” as it doesn’t work in the room.

    The property is very clean, spacious and in the very centre of the city. The staff was friendly and welcoming. Nice view through the window!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    Close to everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the street. The bathroom we had was soo hot from the water heater being in there.

    The room we had was lovely and spacious. The location was perfect! Right in the city centre. The view was amazing too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    4.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms were unclean Room was outdated No air conditioning and fan barely worked Could not sleep at night... stayed here in August and it was unbearable In the room

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    5.8
    Great atmosphere and views with double aspect looking over...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hottest room in the building with no air conditioning and overlooking the square with lots of noise at night until about 3am so trying to sleep with the window open was impossible. Also the private bathroom is across the hallway

    Great atmosphere and views with double aspect looking over the piazza were great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.1
    Great location, good air-con
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We ask for a double room and instead of a double bed, we got a two single beds. One was really uncomfortable. I read some reviews about a bed where people almost fall down from it and I'm afraid it's true. My aunt almost fall down, the bed leans towards one side and the reception guy didn't do much to change or fix it. There were many stairs to climb to get to the hotel. One day the room wasn't hover, neither the cups were cleaned.

    The location was great. The room was nice but old. It had a decent space to move around. it's good to have a kettle. The portable air-con was really helpful for the hot weather.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    5.8
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi doesn’t work in room. Bathroom and toilet is separated. No air condition - too hot in the summer. Noisy.

    Location. Staff was friendly and accommodating

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.3
    Not in summer, and they've got some things to fix before we can recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    HOT. No air conditioning, and the fan barely helped in the boiling Italian summer. Broken floor tiles (quite many of them), only one bathroom and toilet, overall feeling of an old, under maintained place. Sometimes the tap only had hot water so it wasn't possible to refill drinking water

    Next door from Duomo, 10 minutes from train station, big bed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Amazing view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a bit noisy and there is no air con. Needs a bit of refurbishment. But this is no deal breaker. Go there - it is great!

    I have never been in a more central hotel, with a better view. It was incredible. To wake up, open the shatters and see the Duomo is unforgettable experience. Great value for the price! The paintings on the ceiling, the old and charming furniture, the tall ceiling transports you back in time and compliments nicely the overall experience in Florence. This place is a well kept secret - go there before it raises the prices or gets fully booked! The view is worth it!!!! Also, there is kettle in the room, hairdryer, fresh towels and toiletries. You can leave your luggage after check out for free. The staff is nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful old 700 years old building with a pretty high...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If having Wi-Fi access inside the room would be a perfect addition!

    Wonderful old 700 years old building with a pretty high ceiling which makes great comfortability! We stayed in a triple room has a window of the landmark _ Bell Tower! The location is so convenient and centrally located.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.8
    Good staff & perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    House is also history. Some people said it is good(in my case) but some people dont like it(they can say it is just old house)

    Good staff & good location. He(host) is really kind. House is also history!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.5
    A really central place for budget travellers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a broken tile or 2 on our floor just where we walked. No access to a tap for drinking water that wasn't the shared bathrooms Extremely squeaky floor outside others room on the way to the bathroom.

    The accommodation was very well located - right next to the Duomo. The noise wasn't too bad in the late evening. Ear plugs if you have problems with noise. The lift was small but great for tired travellers and luggage. Shared bathroom clean. Coffee and tea and jug in room😊

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    5.8
    Great location, friendly staff, very tired with limited facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This really is not a hotel. A more accurate description would be a guest house. It is very tired - flaking paint everywhere in bath room. Extremely small shower. Power point in bedroom loose off wall. No air conditioning. Uncomfortable bed. No room refrigerator.

    The location is excellent and the staff helpful and friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is unique and located in the middle of Florence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is unique and located in the middle of Florence. The room was very spacious, clean and beautiful with fresco. The location is simply perfect!! Highly recommended!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    8.3
    OK for a few night stays
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    internet access at rooms was weak but it was good in lobby, elevator is very small

    good for basic needs, perfect location, this building is a living history, very spacious room (room4).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.1
    Strategic location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It doesn't have aircon and the kettle a bit dirty, Wifi only available at common area

    Strategic location, infront of Florence Cathedral, few min walking distance to reach the convenient shop

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.3
    Great location, work on your wifi guys! :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a little bit rusty, it is a very old hotel. I loved it but someone might feel like it is a little bit outdated. Wifi was very poor.

    Great location!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.8
    Great place with great view, comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The separated room and bathroom but that’s something normal in this cases.

    The location is excellent and the view is beautiful. Everything was super clean. I recommend it 100%.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Beautiful room with frescos.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful room with frescos. Views to the piazza and il duomo. Staff were very helpful. Close to all major attractions. Definitely recommend it. Great find. Thanks to all staff for making our say very comfortable. And to Alessandro for recommendation of il mercato for dinner. - it was excellent!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.8
    Location was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could do with some updates. The windows could do with some attention and the coverings need updating.

    Location was amazing. Bed was comfortable and the room was enormous

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    4.6
    Central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carelessness of the owners. Their card payment machine didn’t work and they made us wander through the city to get cash out. They didn’t even check with their bank what was happening. In general their carelessness was also present in the room. They offer a kettle but there’s no way to plug it in the room. They offer WiFi but it does not work in the room, the toilet has a lock but even when it’s locked it can still be opened from the outside, etc. Not the kind of service you’d expect from a hotel at this price level.

    Central location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.9
    Very centrally located, just at the doorsteps of Duomo!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy - but one can expect that when you have your windows looking on Duomo, the square is very crowded from early morning till night. Be prepared to overpay for everything you buy in vicinity, which is also predictable due to super central location.

    Very centrally located, just at the doorsteps of Duomo! All the sights are at a stone throw. A very nice and friendly English-speaking host. The hotel is located in the old building, which is very atmospheric. If you like all these antiques and the feeling as if you travelled in time for a century back, it's the right place to stay in. Quite spacious room. The shared bathroom and WC are quite decent, but clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in the middle of town, just down the street...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only that I couldn’t extend my stay because the hotel was already fully booked!

    Lovely hotel in the middle of town, just down the street from the Duomo. Easy walk from the train station. I had a private room with a shared bathroom down the hall. I may have been the only one using the shared bathroom facilities though, because it was always perfectly clean and i never had to wait. The room was simple and comfortable with an absolutely amazing view. Building is old and charming with a great little elevator. Perfect instructions for checking in after reception hours. Thank you!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    One word.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing that I dint like. One of the best places I stayed at.

    One word. Perfect. The location will bring happy tears to your eyes. It is right beside piazza del Duomo. There is no 24hr check in but I had a conversation about my late arrival and was provided by the property with clear, precise instructions on how to get in. Worked like a charm. The rooms were clean and warm with a comfortable bed and a great view. The decor of the house is great. We had no issues with shared bathroom, which were very clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    8.8
    Central location, it's all you want in Firenze
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In the era of technology, perhaps more sockets are needed. And the drainage system should be improved. Otherwise only good !!

    Located in the corner of San Giovanni square, the rooms of this albergo send you in time and space in a medieval Firenze. The building, as the entire historical center, hides historical stories. If you did not come to Firenze to get into the history of Tuscany, see the level of art of those times and not the level of comfort, then look for a 5 star hotel. Because Albergo San Giovanni is in front of the Duomo, near San Giovanni Baptistery, behind the Chapels Medicee. What if the parquet makes noise or the door of the room does not ensure perfect sealing? How do you think it would look like a historic building with thermopan doors! Very high room (about 5 m) but well heated and well lit thanks to the window. After a day of visits, you can socialize online with wifi that goes well even in the room. You are in Firenze and you enjoy this sanctuary of the great Italian artists ....and it's enough.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    4.6
    The property is in an unbeatable location right in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cracked and loose tiles in the room. Shared bathroom was not clean and the shower drain was blocked on the last morning we were there.

    The property is in an unbeatable location right in the centre outside the duomo.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.6
    Everything about this laid back comfy hotels is lovely, we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything about this laid back comfy hotels is lovely, we woke up by the sounds of bells by duomo, it is literally next to it. The wifi was a little pain, but everything else was just lovely.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    8.3
    Really lovely. Great place to just stroll round...so much art.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only thing that could be better was how to get to the place from the bus stop from Pisa. We arrived in the dark and thought it looked near from the map but we went the wrong way so it took longer. There weren't any taxis. Also we found it hard to find the actual hotel when we arrived in the square. Once we had found it there wasn't any problems at all and it took us 15/20 minute walk!

    The location was great and the accomodation was fine,(basic). Very clean and we could use the kitchen to make tea/coffee and snacks overlooking the square. The owner and cleaner were very helpful and spoke good English.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    8.3
    The hotel staff is very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    the wifi signal in the room is not good. most of the time couldn't connect to wifi/internet. There are couple hairs on the shower bath door.

    The hotel staff is very friendly. He help me to book a taxi to the airport. The room size is really big! the view from the room is amazing!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.5
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Building was old, and the room was relatively small. It was quite nice if you like traditional style.

    Umberto at the reception was extremely helpful with storing our luggage and printing our tickets etc. He is the main reason of our accommodation being smooth. The hotel was 1 minute away (walking distance) from the city center, but it was surprisingly quiet. Private bathroom was a plus! Despite our check-in check-out times, we had no problem accessing the building because Umberto had given us the access codes, so even after check-out we could go take our luggage and sit quietly on the sofa for a little-while after a day's walk, before we leave Florence.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.6
    Local! Good distance from the tain station and a lovely quiet room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really, for a short stay it's perfect.

    The Annex rooms are round the back from the main round and on a square. You enter by a huge wooden door. The room we had was in the annex (loft) and was very cosy. Everything you need and light and airy and very local! We were right next to the church and walking distance to everything. I'd highly recommend this place as it's so close to the train station but enough away from it, that it feels like you are in your own world. Lovely staff and all :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    6.7
    Pleasant overall.
    • Group
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although hotel was supposed to be with aircondition, there was no remote control in room to switch it on and we were told that it is the practice to remove it on 1st October! Asked for it and was provided to us the next day. The facility should be available throughout the year irrelevant of the season we are in! Also we booked in a hotel, or that is what we thought, however we ended up in a flat with a room rental. Was not so bad overall but misleading.

    Location was excellent, overlooking a square and very central.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Unforgettable experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unforgettable experience! We loved absolutely everything: unique atmosphere of the authentic old building (built in 1300s), friendly and helpful owner, fantastic views out of the window! You should definetely go there))

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    5.4
    The position is very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t think they change the sheet everyday because it smells awful. They cleaned the room first day, but didn’t the next day. Also, they have a small shampoo and soup in the first day, but didn’t the next day.

    The position is very nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.2
    I loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a private bathroom, but you need to go out of the room, not catastrophical, you know what you take. The bathroom, however, is small, you need to know this too. The parking is a little bit too expensive - 27€ per 24h, but is at 4-5 min walk from the hotel. No breakfast included, but some cookies and tea/coffee are in the room. A little bit too noisy, the city noise is understandable, but neigbors that talk too loudly on the phone or weird russian neibors that were trying to break our door in the night (we were trying to sleep after 12h ride in the car), because they thought that it was their room - not good. But nonetheless we enjoyed our stay and the hosts are really kind and caring!

    Loved the atmosphere, like in a museum, the view is fantastic and it’s in the middle of the city center! Wow! Towels, tea, coffee, cookies are included.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.3
    Romantic, historical, special, in the middle of the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Communication could be better. For us we tried to reach them about parking, but they didn't pick up.

    It's a very old historical building in the middle of the centre of Florence. Would defiantly go there again, feels like staying in a fairy tail.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.5
    Affordable accomodation in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was uncomfortable and you need to empty the water in the air con every couple of hours for it to continue running.

    Awesome location! Right near the Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    5.4
    Great location, lots of restaurants nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a strong smell of pot that lasted for two days. You need internet and a phone line for self check-in. Probably a good value for backpackers/students but not recommended for couples or families

    Great location, lots of restaurants nearby. They allowed bag storage after check-out

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.9
    Lovely staff, we left our bags in the place when early and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con in our room and fan broken half way through the night, it was very hot!m.

    Lovely staff, we left our bags in the place when early and when checking out early. Rooms a good size everything exactly how you would expect it for the price. Directly off piazza duomo, very central great location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    5.4
    Owner is nice. location good but nosiy. dangerous elevator, common restrooms which I would avoid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Private bathroom options should be explicitly mentioned for Bed and Breakfast B&B selections on booking.com do not give any clarity . out of 4 all 3 had common bathrooms which we did not like.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.6
    Charming accommodation in the center of Florence. Will be back for sure!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you have a lot of luggage be aware that the elevator is very tiny. It is an old elevator that has two doors that need to be carefully closed if you want it to move. Often people did not bother to close both of them so if you are calling it and it does not come you know this is the reason. The room was nice but somewhat noisy. If you are a light sleeper, bring your earplugs and you will be fine. The weather was very hot when we arrived but the room had a fan and a portable AC. The AC works well but makes a terrible racket. During the day it is not a problem but, again, earplug during the night are a must.

    We were given a three bedroom accommodation that had a bathroom inside. The room was gigantic and you could see that the bathroom (just shower, toilet and sink) was newly done/remodeled. The room was sparkling clean and we found basic refreshments inside like tea, coffee and cookies. We found the room very charming with the old wooden floors, high ceilings and old frescoes. We had a bathroom but we also saw the shared toilets and showers (also clean) so I think that not all the rooms have this feature. The location is superb, impossible to beat. We were right in the center. It was just a walk away from the train station. I saw that some people complained there was nobody waiting for them at their arrival. This was also our case but we received a very detailed description beforehand on how to get inside so I don't see this as a problem. All in all we enjoyed the stay and will keep it in our list as a place to come back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    10
    Amazing location!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location!! This place is located right next to the duomo, truely in the heart of Florence. The accomodation is great for the price and amenities. It was so amazing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.1
    Great location, right next to the duomo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con had some issues, but worked just enough to cool it down.

    Great location, right next to the duomo. Everything in walking distance. Room is basic and it's quiet at night even though it's very close to duomo. Bathroom was small but fine!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.2
    Perfect location, beautiful spacious room, self-check in is available
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a bit annoying to have to cross the hallway to get to the bathrooms, but it is as listed.

    You can't get a better location, it's absolutely perfect. It's right next to the baptistery, tower and the duomo. We loved hanging out the window and watching the crowds. The train station is walking distance as well. Plenty of great restaurants around. The room is enormous, and beautifully decorated. Self-check in is provided, which is just perfect if you're arriving late.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.9
    Great location, but beware the stairs!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stairways up & down were dangerously dark. In fact, my daughter sprained her ankle when she missed a step. Ask where the light switch is for going down (we found one when coming up) or bring a flashlight! Also, we thought we had a room with air conditioning but we did not.

    If you want to be close to the Duomo, this is great! We didn't use any public transportation after arrival, the Duomo is right outside & there was a great view from our room! We walked to the Uffizi & Galileo & to the Academia.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    5.8
    Good position, not great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was really noisy and the persons who were there were quite impolite. People also shouted the whole night. The furniture was poor.

    The position is really good. The hotel is located in the real centre of the city.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    6.7
    Good location for good price with drawbacks of living in the flat.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little bit noisy. One day we had no electricity. The rest is OK.

    Good location. The personnel is good too. Check Your e-mail before You arrive, if Your time of arrival is out of reception working hours!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful, spacious, historic room centrally located by Piazza del Duomo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was designed more for looks than function as it was impossible not to splash water all over the floor, but the manager was easy to find and got us extra towels. I think the room would have been very hot in the summer time as there didn't seem to be much air conditioning, it was a bit warm. Also because of the central location the street outside was very loud and the bells from the cathedral woke us up very early in the morning.

    This room was enormous compared to what I was expecting, much larger than a hotel room in the U.S. It felt like maybe it used to be a small studio apartment. The bathroom looked newly renovated. Bed was comfortable and the room was decorated with lovely antiques and even a gorgeous partial fresco design on the ceiling. The extravagantly tall windows opened literally right just above the piazza del duomo! The location was fabulous for walking around historic Florence and within walking distance to numerous restaurants, shopping, churches and the campo de' fiori. We only stayed here one night but I was very impressed with the location and beauty of the room and the friendliness of the staff. They even helped us book a taxi the next morning to get to the airport.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    5.0
    you start your day when il Duomo rings the bells, it is exciting!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the price doubbled (we were here twice some years ago) and is now equal to booking.com proposal for 4-stars hotels, the lift is not comfortable at all, it is risky to step in and out, all furniture and walls are dirty, the floor has awful holes.

    two main advantages: - you see and hear il DUOMO !!!!!! - the tiny room with two holes under feet becomes more spacious because of the very high ceiling

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    9.6
    Great place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    If I could say something that may be improved then it would be a small part of the floor near by bed :) nothing more :)

    Fantastic view (!) The room was accesible earlier - thank you! We had common bathroom but it wasn't a problem at all

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.6
    A touch of history and romance in the centre of the city.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No wifi in the room, did not try it in the common areas where it is said to be ok. This was not a problem but might have been if we'd had to work. Everything else really great, I'd stay there every time.

    Beautiful old building with charm and character. Paintings on the ceiling and lovely antique furniture. Friendly helpful staff and stunning location. Huge gracious room with a view of the Duomo. Private bathroom with key and everything working well. Peaceful with no tv, like a wonderful sojourn in the past, romantic really. Tiny lift for luggage, coffee and biscuits in the room, everything clean and nice. The ground floor doors work with entry codes which are easy and convenient.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    7.9
    old building with character, good price, great location but you may/may not get an ensuite bath...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I had booked an ensuite bath, but when I checked in was given a room with the bath across the hall from the room...however, they did reduce the price. Tiny elevator but that is not unusual in Europe.

    property is right next to duomo and perfectly located for walking the city center. Room was huge and still had some of the original fresco on the ceiling. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    8.3
    Great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I had an issue with was that since the windows needed to be left open because there isn't air conditioning the streets were really loud so you didn't get much sleep. Also bring an Italian outlet for your phone charger.

    The view was amazing, the restaurants next to the hotel were great. The hotel was easy to find and close enough to the terminal. The wifi worked in our room since we were in the main lobby.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    9.6
    Nice place for a tight budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The place is difficult to find. There are no boards, so it's difficult if you are not using Google Maps. The address on the booking is of their office which is on the second floor of a building. Rooms are located in another building behind the office, but this is not necessarily a negative. The furniture is a bit old. The chair in my room broke the moment I sat on it!

    The location is perfect. Very close to the duomo, in the heart of the city. En-suite rooms provide a high level of privacy. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    7.1
    It was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unfortunatly building was under the reconstruction and our windows have beed coverd with scaffolding. So there was no view at all. More over every early morning Builders had their noisy job started. That is why we had now chance to sleep very well. But we lived in historical building of 15 century. and what to do!? Reconstruction was nesseseary. Strange that there was no any information about it in advance. Location is the best!!!! Everything is very clean. As foe bathroom , there are 3 bathrooms on the froor however usually only one of them was open. And we couldn't visit the toilet room white someone had having shower(( Cleaning the room and changing towels was ussualy on time . Thanks for that=) As for the rest we had very nice recommendations about the restaurants and cafes and also about hop on hop off bus. Thanks for very nice rest! Hope to visite magic Florence again!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    7.9
    good for traveling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived at late night. So we need to do the self-check-in, however, they have provided a thorough information to us. The location of the hotel is very close to the Florence Cathedral. I would say it just right in front of the hotel, and also close to others top attractions.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    5.8
    This is all about location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main part of the hotel is covered with scaffolding so it was hard to find. I was in the Annex which the manager took me to and explained the codes, elevator etc. The room was cold and no way to change the heat. Also, the wifi did not work in the room.

    The location is the best. A few steps from Duomo and right next to Basilica San Lorenzo. The person who checked me in was very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    9.2
    Price/Performance ratio is excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is the best! Just next to the Piazza del Duomo. The price for a double room was really affrodable and we had an amazing, big and nostalgic room. The staff was friendly and helpful. If you don't expect a premium offer, go for it, definetely recommended.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    5.8
    Ok. Location is the only bonus
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom had hairs all over it and there was a poo in the toilet bowl waiting for us. The room itself was nice but noisy so take ear plugs and also chilly. Pack some warmer clothes if staying here in winter. There is no breakfast included. The lift is tempramental so if travelling with lots of luggage keep in mind

    Location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    7.1
    Nothing fancy, but a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building works/scaffolding obscured our view of the Piazza del Duomo and the bathroom facilities were a bit ropey.

    The location of the hotel is brilliant, just off the Piazza del Duomo in central Florence. It was one of the cheapest hotel options we could find in the city.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2018

    8.3
    Location couldn't be any better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location couldn't be any better

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    10
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location - room with the view to Duomo. Very clean, kind stuff - just perfect!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    9.2
    Location next to Il Duomo is the best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    AC struggled to keep room cool

    Location next to Il Duomo is the best.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    8.8
    Private bathroom is in the corridor but was opposite room so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Private bathroom is in the corridor but was opposite room so not too bad

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Location just in the heart of florence
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tricky access by car... expencive parking..

    Location just in the heart of florence

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.4
    Location is perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is extremely outdated and really small rooms

    Location is perfect

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    Location was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a very basic hotel but comfortable and good value for money

    Location was excellent!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful accommodations and location walking steps from the Plazza and Duoma.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could hear noise /talkingn the Plazza which was expected but until 4am.

    LOVED THE LOCATION.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.9
    The location was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside was loud every night.

    The location was perfect!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    I wasn’t expecting such a great place, and it made my time in Florence that much more special
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building was older so the floors creaked, but that was also part of its charm.

    The bed was comfy and the view was amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Albergo San Giovanni traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: