Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of San Montano Resort & Spa 5 stars

Via Nuova Montevico 26, Lacco Ameno, 80076 Ischia, Italy

#9 of 179 hotels in Ischia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 265 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    9.6

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Such a beautiful hotel in a beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only spend one night here - wish we had stayed longer. I would definitely stay here again!!

    Such a beautiful hotel in a beautiful setting. Loved the location and all the pools. Very clean and comfortable and the customer service was top notch! Breakfast was great too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.1
    Location is superb and views are really breathtaking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was expecting much more from 5* hotel :( Restaurant staff not professional as others. Squeaky old pot at the breakfast where they stuff eggs and sausages together. Chef does not know how to make eggs Benedict (what I received it was a big disaster, just toast which was not toasted and overcooked "poached" eggs, which is very shame on the chef in 5* property) - no option actually for à la carte breakfast at least they did not offer to us. The reconstruction work around the property which we were not informed about (I would not stay otherwise) Due to that, place should be clean more frequently. Wedding at the weekend which we were not informed about. Shuttle service - we were informed is only till 10 pm but on the website is until midnight. Over all, mostly we were disappointed about cold approach from restaurant staff. They were so many of them and still we did have to constantly ask for everything. The feeling that they were looking down on us, stayed in my memories :( I believe that they should not favouritised any customers and have exactly same approach to all their guests.

    Location is superb and views are really breathtaking. I recommend a room with a see view. Rooms are not very big but bed is very comfy. Staff in reception and in the bars are very professional and delivering high quality 5* service. Thank you Marco (reception) for great welcoming.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful, Relaxing and Attentive Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    San Montano Resort sits atop a hill with 360 degree breathtaking views. The staff was very attentive to every need. The spa services were amazing. My daughter had asthma brought on by allergies and the Dr. there helped her greatly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Amazing hill top spa resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasn’t as good as some other hotels in the area but I’m just nitpicking.

    This resort is in an excellent hill top location and has a number of perfect spots from which to watch the sunset (we were allowed to drink bubbles in the jacuzzi whilst watching the sunset one evening and it was spectacular). The staff at the hotel are all very friendly and helpful and will go out of their way to make your stay as pleasurable as possible. Dinner in the restaurant is not to be missed (the prosecco risotto was amazing!). We all had an amazing stay and are looking forward to returning soon.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    The web site does not capture how beautiful the location and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The web site does not capture how beautiful the location and property actually are. There were about 5 or 6 hot spring pools on the property, so we didn't have to go to another location for this.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.8
    Impressive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although staff do everything they can to help out wheelchair access to many areas is not possible without help to hand (which mainly they were but restricts independence). Prices seem heavily inflated for some onsite drinks. We had a top room and it looked a little tired. Toilet seat was broken, light fitting loose, shutter wouldn’t stay open, bulbs out.

    Views, facilities, food and staff are amazing. The staff cannot do enough for you. Pools are simply awesome. Local town is very welcoming and a great place to visit, eat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.8
    The place is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the period we were there, there were works outside, which wasn’t very pleasant, because of workers just next to your relaxing place, the sea water pool wasn’t working and there were some construction material exposed to guest. I was slightly disappointed from breakfast, from the hotel on this level I would expect wider choice.

    The place is amazing. The view and the atmosphere really outstanding.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    This property is stunning!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, the walls are slightly thin and the tile floor (while beautiful) echoes. It was often noisy and woke us up earlier than we wanted. We would still return again though as everything else is fantastic here.

    This property is stunning! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and can’t wait to visit again next year. Everyone was abundantly kind. The views are breathtaking. Thank you San Montano!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    The best way to end an amazing vacation at Amalfy coast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non

    One of the best SPA hotels I have ever been Amaizing views, big and excellent room with a balcony and bay view The breakfest and dinner were excellent Staf was extraordinary

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    Total relaxation with exquisite views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were professional. Marco at reception was the height of professionalism. Intuitive to all our needs. Arranged shuttles whenever required and took care of our travel arrangements (ferry and train tickets back to Naples/Rome). Breakfast selection excellent. Amazing mountain, beach and sea views. Lots of quiet areas to retreat to and laze about. Bed was incredibly comfortable and linens soft.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    Incredible stay, wish it could have been a few days longer here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Honestly, nothing in my opinion. This place has it dialed in.

    The service was top notch, the breakfast was incredible, and the pools of varying temperatures were perfect for any time of day. The lunch and dinner were also outstanding at the in house restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.2
    The wonderful San Montano resort in Ischia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    People smoking constantly by the pool is very annoying and should be banned .

    Amazing location private beach wonderful spa and swimming pool fantastic breakfast and very polite and helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Cannot wait to go back to San Montano.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The weather one day - it rained.

    The service and staff go out of their way to assist. It is paradise! The pools are all fabulous. The spas are great. The location is great (on the top of the mountain!)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    The facilities are great, the panoramic views exceptional...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the entire experience, would not change a thing.

    The facilities are great, the panoramic views exceptional and the service superb. A truly classy place!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    San Montano exceeded our expectations !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were under the impression that there was a private section at the beach for the San Montano clients, which is not the case ! It is public access and the day we went down to the beach (Saturday afternoon), we were on top of each other, mixed up with the residents of Lacco Ameno ! For beach lovers, might not tick the box ! I have also asked for a quiet room but we were on the 1sr floor, just under the reception area and it was quite noisy at night ! I would definitely avoid rooms on the 1st floor

    The breakfast is spectacular ! Our waiter Luca was an absolute star ! The shuttle service running all day until midnight is fantastic, the drivers are all very nice and smart ! There are 7 pools all around, the pool area is great and can be busy (be friend with the lifeguard :-)) The view is amazing, the hotel is beautiful and everything has been well thought to make our stay unforgettable ! We are 30s and love peace, relaxation and luxury and this place ticked all our boxes ! We had an amazing time and We will be back !!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    Paradise in Ischia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't fault the hotel Asia hard as I might try.

    The views are absolutely stunning, the thermal pools excellent, the staff attentive and friendly. The island itself is a dream. We used Ischia Review to arrange all the transportation from Naples and return. The highlight for us was the number of thermal pools and the views at the hotel, there was no need to go anywhere else. For dinner we loved taking the reliable and friendly taxis to Forio and Sant'Angelo.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    Relaxing location to celebrate our 22nd wedding anniversary. Romantic and Breathtaking views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My husband and I celebrated our 22nd Wedding Anniversary and enjoyed relaxing by the 7 different pools and taking in the breathtaking views from above.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    9.6
    The split level suite, with its own Infinity Pool, was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite with Sea View - Split Level
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When you are on your 'private' terrace, you are painfully close to your suite neighbours, which could be off-putting, at times. The air-conditioning could have been a bit stronger/cooler (even after adjusting it).

    The split level suite, with its own Infinity Pool, was divine! All of the meals and menu options were lovely, with gorgeous, panoramic views of The Bay and surrounding areas. Very nice Spa and gym. The staff were so friendly and helpful - especially, Marco, The Concierge. I hope he is on the Fast Track to Management! It's a bit long to get there from the airport, but worth it, once you arrive.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    Beautiful Ischia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Naples airport is very congested. Could do with an expansion. Car hire arrangements are all offsite. We experienced a long wait for the shuttle bus and ended up walking to the car hire (10 min).

    Staff were very helpful. Marco in particular was very helpful when we had an issue with some travel arrangements. The setting is beatiful with long reaching views along the coastline. Sunsets are amazing. Recommend room 120 for extra privacy and stunning views

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    7.9
    Stunning view, awesome breakfast, fantastic pools and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a triple room but the bed for the third person was definitely not up to the standard of a 5 stars resort.

    Stunning view, awesome breakfast, fantastic pools and professional staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    10
    Surpassing In Every Aspect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    That I could not stay longer.

    Of course the location is incomparable; but the quality of the experience is one of generosity in every respect. The hotel architecture and amenities, every inch, astonishing quality; the food which is outstanding, in every detail; but beyond, beyond, even these things that cannot be surpassed, is the service. The service is extraordinary. Now I know what it feels like to be the Queen. This is our favorite place.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    8.8
    Wonderful place, maybe needs a bit of a shake up - some new ideas needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View - Split Level
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to fault it, but details sometimes missing. Eg no paper coasters under glasses and when you have a cold drink on a hot day they are necessary. Cushions on the chairs on our terrace weren't replaced after they were soaked in the rain. All staff wonderful, but had a sense they were all a bit tired... For somewhere so expensive I guess I expected perfection. A hint that it is from a previous era, prefer something a little more modern.

    Fabulous views and terme pools.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    10
    excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We liked everything.

    We liked everything. The staff are exceptional: highly professional, discreet, always friendly and helpful without being intrusive.The hillside location (5 mins by car from Lacco Ameno centre w excellent shuttle service) and hotel layout provide spectacular panoramic views - the sunsets are particularly stunning (& perhaps best enjoyed with a pre-dinner Negroni on the bar terrace...).

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    10
    The best hotel I've been to
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. But please note it is far from Ischia porto, so I advise on renting a car.

    Incredibly good hotel, the best I've ever been to. To keep the story short, everything is better than excellent - the views, staff, services, pools, breakfast, restaurant, bars, food... I couldn't have asked for more.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    9.6
    A wonderful stay at a gorgeous hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really hard to say. Maybe that we didn't stay an extra couple of nights?!

    It's very rare that I write a review for anything, but felt it necessary this time. Everything was excellent, and we were looked after from the moment we stepped off the plane in Naples. The hotel arranged airport transfer for us, and the driver purchased hydrofoil tickets on our behalf (and bought us some wonderul pastries for the journey!). The bedroom (208) was clean, of a decent size, and the view was gorgeous. The many pools (all but one heated, all but the spa pool is saltwater) and hidden corners mean that you can always find a quiet spot to relax. It's incredible to see just how calm the place feels. Every member of staff was excellent, and nothing was too much bother; they happily booked tickets, transport and tours on our behalf. We also had a lovely massage at the spa, and although I was initially suprised at the price (€50 for 30 mins), it's absolutely worth it - I've never felt so relaxed. I got the impression that many guests return year after year, and prefer to stay in hotel rather than venture into town (I can't say I blame them!). The breakfasts and lunches are wonderful, but we didn't eat dinner here, preferring to explore the restaurants in Lacco Ameno and neighbouring towns. Lacco Ameno itself really is a lovely town. It certainly isn't the liveliest of places, but there are enough restauarants, bars and beaches to keep you occupied for four nights. We travelled as a couple (both 25) and at no stage were we struggling for things to do or places to eat/drink/see. Also bear in mind that the island itself is relatively small, so trips to other towns and beaches are easily arranged. The Hotel also operates a free shuttle from Lacco Ameno to the hotel (there's a very steep hill leading up to hotel, we didn't even attempt the walk) and we never waited more than 10 minutes to get picked up. Overall, it was an excellent stay, and I look forward to booking again in future.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    9.6
    Best location in Ischia on a little hill offering a 360...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View - Split Level
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best location in Ischia on a little hill offering a 360 panorama . Very relaxing with an amazing spa. Excellent staff with very high professionalism.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    10
    Couldn't have asked for a better start to our vacation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't have asked for a better start to our vacation...and. Marco at the front desk was the most helpful and super nice ....always pleasant and there to help us The views were also spectacular in the hotel

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    9.6
    Probably the best hotel in the world
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't rate this place high enough. The location/views are truely unique. Perched on top of a hill with 365degree views of the island and bay of Naples, watching the super yachts come and go. The staff played an integral part of our holiday. They really went the extra mile to organise dinners, transport and activities during and even after our stay, all without expecting anything extra from us. They are truely a credit to the hotel. One thing that I don't think they advertise enough, is the fact they pretty much have all the features of the speciality thermal parks on site and accessible to guests. Large selection of thermal pools all different in temperature, natural cave sauna, full day spa with even more pools and Turkish baths etc. All this with much better views and its exclusive to guests.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    To quite for young couple, it’s good for elderly people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To quite for young couple, it’s good for elderly people

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Best Spa hotel i have ever stayed in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff were amazing, outside pools were amazing, location was beyond stunning

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    great location with lots of varity of pools and Spars
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was bit plain but ok

    the location and pools

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Best location and value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Best location and value Excellent staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    JUST PERFECT
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.6
    The location was fantastic and our suite had the most...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little formal for a full week.

    The location was fantastic and our suite had the most incredible views.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous would recommend 100%
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View - Split Level
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive massage spas

    The rooms and view were fanatastic

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.8
    The hotel upgraded us to a suite fantastic sea view and pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very professional and friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    The views and hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices - 9 euro just for a vodka, then you had to buy the mixer seperate... obsurd prices

    The views and hospitality

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    Location, views,pool area, friendly staff - everything...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location, views,pool area, friendly staff - everything excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    We will come back every year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    Incredible staff, food excellent, the location and views of the hotel are incredible. Best hotel ever!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    A wonderful hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    What a fabulous place - the views, the pools, the staff, the beaches, the breakfast... I could go on! I can't recommend this place enough!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel, amazing staff and lovely breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel, amazing staff and lovely breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Great service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great service!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    9.6
    A must-see
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a kind of poor

    The position is unique indeed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    The views from the hotel are breathtaking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The views from the hotel are breathtaking

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Hot spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Hot spa

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful & relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More information in English, for local excursions & travel plans

    Pool attendant great, always there at the right time, always smiling

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Awesome relaxation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Everything was excellent, absolutelly nothing to complain about. Definitelly comming back next year.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    9.6
    Luxurious stay with incredible views and excellent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was fantastic and the staff went out of their way to make our stay as easy as possible. The pools and views were also incredible.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complimentary water daily in the room and food at the pool bar.

    Beautiful hotel with very good service and facilities

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.8
    Fabulous service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner overpriced. Air conditioner not functioning. Wi-if problems

    Fabulous service. Food was fine.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    10
    Excellent staff, great facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff, great facilities

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    10
    The staff, property and service were fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The views were beautiful!

    The staff, property and service were fantastic!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    10
    Perfect honeymoon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steam room was in need of attention

    This hotel is perfect from the staff to the location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    9.6
    Italian paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly expensive

    Unbelievable views

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    9.6
    Location - fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Menu at dinner could have been a little more extensive

    Location - fabulous Pool area - incredible Staff - super friendly and efficient Room - two balconies, two bathrooms

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    8.3
    The staff were exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beds were a bit hard and the decor in the suite was a little bit dated. Pool bar service a bit inconsistent at times. (Lifeguard was excellent at looking after everyone around the pool though).

    The staff were exceptional. Beautiful restaurant with views. Food was good. Pool areas were very good. Spa was ok - not the best I've been to. Taxi service to beach and town consistent and efficient. The staff make this hotel a 5 star rating.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    9.2
    The location is incredible with views everywhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is incredible with views everywhere. The staff was very helpful and courteous. Food was delicious. Breakfast buffet had extensive choices. Dinner was fine dining with a 4 course menu option. Swimming pools were clean and well maintained. We didn't use the spa because the outdoors was so nice.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    7.9
    The staff and service was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The spa was not open during the day. The lady at the spa desk was not helpful at all in explaining treatments or booking a treatment. Did not get any treatments.

    The staff and service was excellent

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    9.6
    We stayed here for the first part of our honeymoon and was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    there wasn't a huge amount to do in the local area in the way of of casually wandering around and eating and as the restaurant is expensive if you are bed and breakfast I would certainly recommend going full board (we ate in the restaurant twice and there was a great choice both times and the food was fantastic).

    We stayed here for the first part of our honeymoon and was wasy the best hotel we stayed in. The staff were lovely and very helpful, the shuttle service was great and they even dropped us off at Ischia Port for our return trip at no extra cost (and would have picked us up if we had let them know our time of arrival)

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    9.6
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Dinner is very formal.. And expensive (€50 not including wine).

    Everything! The place is gorgeous. So many pools and places to relax with a book and the great views.. I'm celiac, and the staff were fantastic, always providing me with gluten free bread and menu options. Also the spa treatments I had were lovely. I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    10
    The best hotel we've ever stayed at.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The soundproofing between our room and next door wasn't great, but this is a small quibble compared to the standard of the hotel as a whole.

    The best hotel we've ever stayed at. Amazing service (the staff all seemed to speak French, English, Russian, German...). Wonderful pools. Fabulous spa. Lovely food in the restaurant. 360 degree views of Ischia and the Mediterranean.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    8.8
    The Location was very good, also shuttle bus was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food & service in the restaurant in the evening was very poor , I felt that the staff were not sure what they should be doing, Head waiter was not up to the job , he looked lost would

    The Location was very good, also shuttle bus was very helpful t

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    10
    Ideally situated overlooking both the bay area and behind...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi could work a little better.

    Ideally situated overlooking both the bay area and behind the hotel a private beach with crystal clear water. The Hotel itself provided so many delicious pools both hot and cool that actually leaving the facilities to go to the town seemed to be a shame. But having said that Ischia itself offers both quaint villages and cultural points of interest - A wonderful experiance.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    10
    Loved everything about the hotel - amazing pools and views...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loved everything about the hotel - amazing pools and views over ischia, very helpful and friendly staff who couldn't do enough for us (from recommending and booking restaurants to arranging boat trips and transport). Shuttle service is very convenient and provides access to the beach as well as nearby towns, the restaurants and spa are both excellent too. Will definitely go back and would recommend to anyone!

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    9.6
    Very friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Free wifi difficult to use and a bit slow (although was not really required)

    Very friendly and helpful staff Beautiful pool, bars and restaurant Relaxing atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    9.2
    The hotel has great facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food and beverage service was very slow at the restaurant (specially for dinner) and at the pool bar. It would be nice if the waiters could come around more often to the pool area and take orders. No wifi in the rooms, only at the reception, and even there the connection was really poor.

    The hotel has great facilities. Lots of different swimming pools with fantastic views. Room was spacious and comfortable. Really nice bed and pillows. Super helpful staff at the front desk, always ready to give tips and accommodate our needs. It was very nice to have the shuttle service to town and to the beach free of charge. Reserved beds at the beach with towels also free of charge. Lovely spa, with pool and sauna. In the afternoon we were offered popsicles by the pool, which was a nice touch in such hot summer days. Overall very pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    9.6
    The hospitality was extremely pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only thing is that the dinner was a little costly for what we received. Nevertheless it was a good meal.

    The hospitality was extremely pleasant. Kudos to Marco and Vince. I must also say that the GM was excellent as well.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2015

    10
    The garden and pools are just amazing, the view is stunning,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The garden and pools are just amazing, the view is stunning, and the staff really helpful. As soon as we arrived we have completely disconnected with the world and we left this paradise fully relaxed.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    7.9
    position is good and view is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    some people staff not so qualified

    position is good and view is good

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    7.1
    Breakfast buffet, good options
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Evening buffet far too expensive & very poor selection of snacks/ poolside lunches

    Breakfast buffet, good options

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    10
    All very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All very good

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    10
    Excellent service Thoughtful staff Good food Spa facilities...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent service Thoughtful staff Good food Spa facilities very good Drink prices reasonable

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    10
    Staff were fabulous and thermal spa pools a delight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were fabulous and thermal spa pools a delight. Gorgeous views too!

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    10
    All round amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All round amazing. Actually better in real life than in advertising photos, which is pretty rare!

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse San Montano Resort & Spa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: