Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Albergo Vello d'Oro 3 stars

Via Fazzello 2, 98039 Taormina, Italy

#59 of 71 hotels in Taormina

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 209 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    7.2

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    3.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 71

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked the room at around 11 pm and got to the property a little bit after midnight. The receptionist could not find our reservation and had no means of getting in touch with someone who could have confirmed we had one. He was lovely and still gave us a room. We sorted the check-in out when we checked out. It wasn't a big problem, but it'd be great if you could ensure that hotel staff receives all booking confirmations right away.

    Lovely property, friendly stuff, Great breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast. At 9 there was no food left. ”Sorry Signora/ finished. ” Not friendly staff in the reception who spoke poor english. No air condition working.

    Good location. Nice roomwith seaview.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At this time and age, having a hotel with the wifi only available in the reception and roof bar is not acceptable. The Hotel room amenities are in dire need of refurbishment. Otherwise all good.

    The room was really clean, and the location is splendid. A good parking space for our car was reserved as requested in our booking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had been recently renovated and appeared quite student to the photos, though not in a bad way, however I feel they spent too much on unnecessary fussy bathroom fittings and could have put that money to use elsewhere. Room was a bit noisy from street and in the hotel itself. No fridge in room Wifi only works in the lobby, not in the rooms Bathroom was clean but the "disco" light in the shower unnecessary and made it hard to see. Staff took away our glasses, bed cover and extra pillows/cushions after the first night. Not sure why. No where to put our luggage but on the floor. Value for money was only in the view. If you are not staying in one of the front view rooms I'd question your decision.

    The view! Best view in Taormina from the front rooms on the 4th floor (also the bar on the 5th). It is the main reason to stay here. Breakfast, staff and cleanliness all fine. Good location in the centre of town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wonderful situation in the old city of Taormina. Good public areas esp. the roof-top bar with views across the bay towards mount Etna. Interesting décor. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel has main entrance at 4th floor , but there exist also a second entrance at 1st floor that is used by the tourists to go directly to main pedestrian street. We first found this second entrance, but no reception and no sign for direction to the reception exist in lobby. You have to ring many times till somebody from reception come to bring you. Secondly, we didn't received welcome drink as our genius reservation stated.

    Position of the hotel, close to Corso Umberto!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needed a fridge and wifi access. Whole hotel could do with a face lift

    Property is in an awesome location right on Corso Umbertto. Walking distance to all the local attractions, bars, restaurants and shops. Pay a little extra for a view and try to get a room on the 3rd or 4th floors. Terrace bar has ridiculous views. First timers to Taormina may find it hard to get to the hotel from the bus station, about a 10min walk but a little tricky.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no wifi and mini bar in the rooms. The breakfast is a little weak.

    The view of room and service are excellent. You have to experiance this hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is really an issue. There were days where there was some concert in the town and even all public parks were full. Air conditioning does not work 24 hours a day. Wìfi is present only in the loby and in the bar. The staff is civile but not too helpful.

    Location is good. The upper terrace with tbe bar us very pleasant and has a great view. The whole place is clean. The breakfast is good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi doesn't work in the room

    Excellent location. Rooms are nice, large and clean. The view from the terrace is amazing. Good breakfast. In taormina is not easy to park, but the hotel has few parking spot you can use.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and the general facilities (no internet, very poor air conditioning). The staff at the check in desk was not very helpful.

    The view and the cleanliness.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was large and clean with a large bathroom. The room had a beautiful balcony with a wonderful view of the town and ocean.The room number was 419 directly next to the lobby.I had no problems.The hotel was very quiet and I had no trouble sleeping.The hotel staff were friendly.The only thing I would like to have seen to make the stay more enjoyable was a vending machine to purchase cold drinks in the lobby area. Thankyou for the nice accommodation.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We travelled many cities and stayed in different hotels in europe but this was the least comfortable one in terms of especially room facities. Very little and bad bathroom, very very uncomfortable and old bed (my neck hernia went bad after 1 night), no refrigirator in the room, 37 inch tv (i havent seen since 1990), plus unwelcoming staff and a hundred stairs to the hotel. We paid 94 euro and regret every cent. The fromt desk is on the 4th floor and the rooms are on the 1 2 3 floors. I would not recommend.

    Nothing. I am sorry.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was quite poor and there is no wi-fi in the rooms.

    The biggest bonus of this hotel are the wonderful views from rooms with 'sea-view' and the roof top bar! The staff is very helpful and the rooms comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is just situated above the place de April 8th which is the center of town. The trick is to use always the elevator which bring you immediately to the 1st floor which is just over the Place. The lady with glassed in the reception has been very helpful: she answered to all our questions and print one page for us!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our veranda was tiny and there were no facilities to make tea/coffee and the noise from a near venue meant that every night we could not sleep for the music the hot water was off for nearly a day

    The staff were extremely helpful at all times there was no complaint re breakfast or up in the bar the cleaners worked immaculately

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee at breakfast not great.

    We have stayed here before and really enjoyed both visits. It's a slightly quirky hotel, with lots of art all around. Location is perfect for Taormina, and there is a lovely outside bar on the top floor. Views over the bay, and to Etna are magical. If you stay here, make sure you have a room with a balcony

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower curtains in a bath shower, don't really work. Bathroom was kind of flooded afterwards. Also hotel is quite difficult to reach, and has no parking. Parking garage at 15 minute walk was doable, but not with the suitcases.

    Very nice rooms, with balcony and chairs. With a nice view of the sea. Breakfast was oke. Read a lot of bad reviews, luckily we didn't have any problems.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Lady receptionist needs to develop people skills, very rude and not someone I would want at the cold face of my business. Breakfast offered no variety.

    Comfortable, clean hotel. Fantastic location. Value for money.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having paid a lot of money per night - the most expensive by far in the 4 places we stayed in Sicily - the rooms should have WiFi, a fridge and tea/coffee making facilities at least. We had clean towels everyday but in the 4 nights we were there the bottom sheet was the only part of the bedding that was changed. We had to ask for the return of our bedcover which was taken away after the first night. I celebrated my 70th birthday here and overall was very disappointed with the hotel.

    The location was good and had amazing views from the roof top bar. On level 1 there is a door leading to the main street, but first you need to negotiate many steps, tables and chairs through a restaurant. This place has live music every night which finishes around midnight. Our room 304, was on the corner, so we had a wrap-around balcony with fabulous views from both windows. The young waiter at breakfast was the best member of staff in the place. Breakfast was adequate - certainly not great.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Staff are absolutely atrocious.......stayed in room 401 for 1 night (fortunately). The room can only be likened to that of a prison cell, in fact, I would have rather stayed in an Italian prison cell for blocking traffic whilst unloading baggage from our hire car.......furthermore, I would have enjoyed a better breakfast. As we were robbed of any sleep whatsoever, mainly due to being directly next door to the reception and having the phone buzz every 5 minutes, I decided to ask for compensation. A VERY bad mistake, the manager was called over, a podgy mafioso kind of man, who proceeded to tell me he would call the police if I didn't pay and that the rate was the rate. My problems were not heard for a moment. So I caved in and just paid the sum of 106 euros to experience the worst night of my life......it threatened to destroy the trip and only the lovely Taormina saved it. Don't even think of booking here, location is great but it's not worth it, trust me. Oh and if you see the rude old b*stard of a manger.......tell him to f*ck himself for me please thanks.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unhelpful staff, noisy area with music past 12 am, lack of update in public areas and rooms, no wifi in rooms except for lobby with very fleeting connection

    Location near main street

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No WiFi except in public areas, so having paid for the great views we had to spend lots of time in the lobby making travel arrangement...inexcusable at this price point!! The airconditioning did not come on till 3pm!! Maybe it's a city council policy? When it did come on there was no remote ....just a trickle of cold air.....also inexcusable for this price

    Fantastic views including Etna and the ancient forum, comfortable room, great balcony

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in the rooms, only from reception or bar area. Was a little difficult to find the first time because I walked from the main street below. But it was worth it in the end!

    I was staying in room 407 which had a balcony with a 180 degree view of Mt Etna, the sea and cathedrals. Absolutely stunning. The hotel had friendly staff, a clean and well sized room and good breakfast options...great hotel all round. Would definitely recommend to friends.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    had too many steps to climb to reach the hotel. Air con switches off at 3 am when fast asleep, not good. Breakfast starts only at 7:30 am, needs earleir than that if we need to go on trips.

    Sea view room

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No WI-FI in the rooms. That is ridiculous in 2018!

    The big room with a balcony. The best possible location!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No spaces in the car park.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    rooms not with WiFi . WiFi only at reception area. no ventilator in room. no sound proof glass

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was very poor

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor WiFi coverage (not in rooms)

    Great view from the hotel's terrace (and rooms with balcony)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    perfect view、perfect location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Brilliant terrace bar with views over the bay and Etna. Lift goes down to within yards of the old town centre.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in the room.

    Good views from the room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk staff were not helpful

    Great Location and outstanding view

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WIFI is only available at reception and bar

    Location and view from room

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No wi-fi connections in the room

    Room number 303 great view from the terrace

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I book a room with trace ( that room's pictures were shown on booking) but when I went there they said my room was the standard one. So I had to pay extra money for the room I saw in booking.

    especially room 412 has a great trace and view. It worth everything

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I didn't like the staff, unhelpful, unfriendly.

    Nice room, nice view, and when the roofed leaked on our bed, we were moved to an even nicer room, once we insisted. Good location.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No major complaints. We had a great time in Taormina. Lots of nice little shops and sidewalk restaurants. Lively at night, without being wild.

    Our 3rd trip to Italy. Nice facility. Clean and modern. Room larger than average. Our room had a large, wonderful balcony with a view of Taormina, the Med. Sea and Mt. Etna. The breakfast was standard level for Italian hotels.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I did not like my room. It was very dark with a small window looking to the inside wall of the building. The staff including the general manager were very very rude people. They were not helpful at all.

    Nothing to like about this hotel only the cleanliness was good.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some of the staff especially at the reception were rather grumpy. Air conditioning was not available on demand. Hotel is old ; furniture is outdated and needs a good overhaul.

    Location just off the Corso. Staff at the breakfast room were most kind and helpful. Breakfast was continental and it was also very good

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was really average. Internet connection was only available in the lobby, and still poor connection. Old looking rooms, but clean.

    The balcony

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No information before that you could not park or get to the hotel by car. Staff were very unfriendly and did help for anything, that was a shame as the hotel is quite nice. Great views from from the balcony

    The views. Breakfast was great

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    While during booking it mentions that the room is air conditioned and wifi is also available this is to the contrary. There is an AC in the room but they fail to mention that this is switched off during the night and operation is very limited and centrally controlled. Wifi not available in room

    Location

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    No wifi in rooms and medium breakfast.

    Great view over the sea and Etna. Clean rooms, central location, very polite staff(including the cleaning lady) and the design.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A bit monotonous breakfast !

    We loved our stay at the Vello d'Oro. Situated in the heart of Taormina, we felt like we were close to everything :) Just a 10-minute walk or so to the cable cars which took us down to the beach(es) in no time! :)

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I called to the reception desk for WiFi password. The man told me that WiFi is not working (even if i had a good range) und hurry us to check out. We had almost na hour to check out.

    Location, Style, Comfort

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A singer/guitarist would start playing every evening outside at the restaurant below us. He continued to play 'til midnight, getting louder and louder, and singing (shouting) off key, especially after 10:30pm when he really started to deteriorate. Several other guests were upset by this, especially when they arrived late after a long journey and wanted to sleep. Not the fault of Vello D'Oro, but perhaps they can persuade the restaurant to tone it down a lot in volume and length of playing. Wi-fi is not available in the rooms, only in the lobby, which can be frustrating at times, especially with people needing to Skype or make phone calls for everyone else to hear.

    We splashed out to have a top floor room with large terrace, and incredible views over the Ionian Sea. We could easily see the Greek Theatre on the left, Mt Etna on the right. Excellent breakfast, helpful staff. One can have breakfast inside, or out on a large terrace with spectacular views. The top accommodation floor (4th) is at street level, and an elevator takes one to 1st floor, where a side entrance immediately takes one into the heart of the main busy Corso Umberto. Big, powerful A/C. Almost a museum-like hotel, with many artworks on all floors.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No service on the terrace at breakfast. No wifi in the bedrooms. Room by the elevator very loud!!

    Great location, everything is pretty average- not matched by the price of the hotel

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room is not nice but clean. Luck of fridge. Brekfast is terrible - nothing hot and/or fresh BUT if you dream to have a balcony with a miracle view on the see, Taormina end Etna you will like the place.

    Great localisation in the center of Taormina but for people able to walk and to climb the stairs (you must climb a lot of stairs to come from the main street.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    no parking at all. But it is more city problem than hotel. Please leave your car in the entrance of city.

    view from the room is fantastic. the same view during the breakfast. It is the valuable thing.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi available only at the hotel's lobby

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    Excellent hotel, lovely views, centre of town, staff helpful and smiling, lovely breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is no Wi-Fi

    The location, the view

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is great, personal also. Room with balcony is amazing.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was very poor!! the staff also in the breakfast not so friendly

    Location in the center of Taormina !! the view from the terrace

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff was unfriendly and unhelpful except for the waitress

    View and decor

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Solo traveller

    No Internet in the rooms.

    Excellent location, beautifull view, very clean and quiet.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of fresh fruit.

    Location and Right in the Middle of the most interesting street in Taormina.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel view is stunning! you can see both Etna and the see!

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No wifi anywhere but the bar on the top floor

    Optimal location, great view

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Decor...a bit grim.

    excellent location, balcony

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    So central

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The shower from the bathroom. Too small

    Everything perfect except our room was too little but the view for the balcony was awesome

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Location View from room balcony& hotel terrrace

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Great location. Spacious room. Great balcony with great views.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Poor internet. Loud music every night till midnight. Bring ear plugs.

    Great location, cheap room, great view.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    noisy, old, no airconditioning

    center of the city

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We had a triple room but the single bed was little more than a camp bed. Not that comfortable.

    Overall, v happy. A stylish place

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The room was spacious with a huge terrace lovely hotel to stay

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No negative.

    Location of the hotel is just perfect.

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 71

Browse Albergo Vello d'Oro traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: