Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Centrale 2 stars

Via Della Zecca 2, 40121 Bologna, Italy

#41 of 93 hotels in Bologna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1973 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location. I had a great night of sleep because the hotel was so peaceful and quiet. The staff were so friendly and helpful at all times. The room was clean, comfortable and had everything I need. I had an excellent time in Bologna and would stay in this hotel again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was a little weak in the rooms, but was good in the common areas.

    Staff was wonderful in guiding us to local transportation options for getting to Ducati, Lamoborghini, etc., as well as local restaurants and gelaterias.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing the hotel can control but can be a bit noisy if you have the windows open at nights. Living under a flight path with trains nearby at home this wasn't a huge issue for us!

    Superb location, very central. Breakfasts were more than adequate with huge selection of lovely fresh pastries, great coffee, fruit, yoghourt, cereals - even scrambled eggs and bacon for those yearning for non-continental fare. Breakfast room staff lovely and helpful. Room was comfortable with all you would expect for a 3star. We had a view over the rooftops. Bus 25(3 min walk to bus stop) to station then Aerobus to airport on same €6 ticket. Pedestrianised city centre at weekend was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was excellent, it’s at the heart of the city’s tourist destinations and shopping area. The room was big and comfortable. The ambiance of the hotel is pleasant and airy. The staff were very courteous and helpful. I would definitely consider this hotel again on my future visit to Bologna and would recommend it to friends .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The central location also has the drawback of being noisy well into the early hours.

    Good central location which is good for sightseeing only 10 mins from the center. Breakfast was good, plenty of choice for all although eating off paper plates is unusual.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was OK, but disposable plates, very 'basic' everything and breakfast room a little bit too small. The staircases and lounges could be cleaner and need a renovation. Some people of the staff could be more polite and helpful.

    Perfect location for the main sightseeings, room was OK, good bed! Room was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not staying there longer .

    The location was great. The breakfast was wonderful. Having tea making facilities in our room was very appreciated each day we came home from our sightseeing. This two star property was much better than three other three star hotels we stayed in .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC is hard to figure iur

    Was a last minute booking, great location and super helpful staff. It’s in the city and great location to explore the city. You will not be disappointed staying here!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs were difficult and the lift was not offered. The stair carpets were shabby. Our room(27) had an awkward step to the (excellent) bathroom. The only T.V. channels were American or France 24.

    Wonderful,central position- better than the hotel on our first visit. Lovely view of rooftops, though busy main road with traffic pollution. Breakfast generous with helpful,staff. Bed superb.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front door was closed at night, could nt work the key. This needs to be explained when you check in.

    Location - 4 minutes from centre. Cleanliness, friendly staff. Breakfast excellent. Good value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Liked it all.

    excellent value right in the middle of Bologna. Large choice for breakfast lovely scrambled egg. Helpful and cheerful staff who greeted us everyday. Bedroom looking over city centre could not be better. Very enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The overall friendly attitude of the hotel staff (especially but not only from the reception). Great location- only meters from Piazza Maggiore. Very good breakfast. Nice possibility for late check out and where to leave your luggage in case of late flight.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old, requires renovations. Smelly bathrooms. Poor quality bed. Not well isolated from the noise coming from the street, it was hard to sleep. Extremely low quality food at the breakfast buffet (e.g. old croissants). Bad service from the reception. We always felt not welcome and had the feeling that the hotel property was really stingy. We preferred to leave 1 night earlier that the booked time.

    The location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic staff, I felt so welcome and well treated and the infamous breakfast was indeed just wow!!! GREAT service, I have nothing bad to say at all. I had asked for a quiet room - I got a quiet room. I missed breakfast due to an audtion - they made it for me when I got back. I needed advice on how to get from A to B - no problem :-) Huge thumbs up from here!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i liked everything

    every time i visit bologna i stay in this wonderfull hotel 1 minute walk from piazza maggiore! basic/old fashioned furniture in the charming way interesting variety in breakfast so nice to wake up with a great view of bologna (rooms overlooking the main road have great views of the city)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    poor wifi connection and stability, bathroom smell, website misleading re refund, and payment policy, price more like three star as well located Palace Hotel and no way to cancel misleading web site reservation, value for money

    staff,safety, breakfast (luke warm eggs), bed,shower,view,location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very old furniture and windows, creaking floor, holes from some old devices in walls, dirty wallpapers, dusty. External bathroom was horrible, shower cabin and toilette added to a boiler room with plumbing pipes.

    Perfect, tasty breakfast; kind receptionist.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had no view at all. Overlooked the light well. Noise from building work on ground floor of building.

    Location, friendly staff, decent breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disposable plates/bowls at breakfast. Stained and falling apart bedside lamps.

    Great location. Comfortable stay. Ok breakfast. In room tea/coffee making facility.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very noisy from traffic and parties outside, so might be better to avoid if being a light-sleep person; it also had a mouldy smell (from wallpaper maybe), and it did not have such a good view as shown on pictures. Bathroom also has very thin walls and you can hear everything a person is doing in there - not so nice when booking a room for three persons to share. Also, in the first day we only had towels for two people, and only in second day of our stay received three. They recommend taking the key if returning after midnight because then the door of the building closes; we went back shortly after 10 pm and the entrance door was closed - luckily we've taken the key with us.

    Very friendly staff, option of gluten free items upon direct request, comfy bed, location in very close proximity to city centre. Breakfast was good, various options for sweets/pastries, a few types of ham, scrambled eggs, milk, cereals, jams, honey, two espresso machines, fruits, etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is on the 3rd floor, accessible by elevator or stairway. Location is excellent, just a few easy walking blocks from the main square of the two towers. If you stay over a Friday or Saturday night, the main street is closed to vehicle traffic and open to pedestrians. Rooms facing this street may experience some noise if you decide to keep a window open. The bed was very comfortable and clean and if you arrive before check-in you can leave your luggage. Breakfast was as is in Italy, much bread pastry and cake along with fruit and scrambled eggs. All in all good value for the money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is very close to city center. Room was very clean and also cleaning daily. Breakfast was enough with many Kind. Staff was very kind and helpfull

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Handrail going to rooms on upper level was wobbly and needs some additional support.

    Room comfort and linens exceeded my expectations.......breakfast food and staff were excellent and efficient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Being a central location near a main street inevitably means you will have traffic and general noise from people outside. The road is closed to traffic at weekends though.

    Really lovely traditional hotel right in the centre of the city. Easy access to everything. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Large bed was very comfortable after a full days walking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A minor point ...As others have said,a little decor refreshing would help.. eg our lampshades were badly stained ..and we might have enjoyed a larger room had we stayed longer than four days...good to be able to look out over the rooftops of Bologna,though .

    A busy hotel ..but reception staff always were prepared to help..recommend places to eat ,order taxis at a moment's notice...print boarding passes..a real bonus .In the breakfast room the staff were smiley and accommodating,and the choices including baked goods etc.plentiful and varied.It was nice to have a mini fridge and also a tea and coffee making kit ..another bonus . Our room was cleaned daily and our cotton bedding and towels replaced ..which we appreciated .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't understand why they have the air conditioning facility in the room but we are unable to use it ( no control provided). When I asked the lady at reception she said ' no aircon until May'. Are you serious? I told her I was really hot and couldn't sleep at night, because no air would come into the room. My room was at the back, with the view of the next building. Bad customer service, got to know how to be flexible. May doesn't mean it will be hot, lady, it can get hot in April as well. Probably family run business, so doesn't care. On that basis, will not return to this hotel.

    Good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It didn't bother us, but the hotel was open only until midnight.

    Very central hotel, just a few steps away from Piazza Maggiore. The room was spacious,clean and well equipped. Friendly staff, very good breakfast. Definetely more than we expected from a 2-star hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could hear noise from other rooms but I suppose it’s cos of the age of the buildings there in Bologna!

    The location was ok and the staff very helpful! They let me have my bag there after check out with no charge! I had a room with shared bathroom but with 5€ I had my own bathroom. It was outside the room but it was ok!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was really dated - dirty wallpapers, leaking shower, wifi worked only sometimes. Staff was friendly but it was superficial. When I wanted coffee (there is coffee maker near the front desk) and I was waiting for receptionist to end a call (he was in charge of coffee maker), he just waved on me rudely, making impression that I should go away.

    Comfortable beds, great location, nice view from the room. Breakfast mostly sweet but in Italy it's normal. You can make tea in the room. Room was quiet enough, so sleeping was comfortable. Amenities for two star hotel were fine. Overall not bad for two star hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are basic but functional. There is also a fair bit of noise from the streets below. This didn't impact our stay but it wasn't silent either.

    Amazing central location in Bologna. The was in close proximity to all the attractions and restaurants we wanted to visit. Made it really easy to explore the city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms feel a bit like a converted office building, including a ceiling with glow in the dark blobs (bit weird...). Breakfast was ok but could have been better - we liked the pastries but the 'hot' food was just scrambled egg and warm-ish ham.

    Room was clean and comfortable - view was great over the city! We thought the staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Bad Wifi, no lift to the rooms, very small bathrooms. The whole place needs a major renovation to freshen up the look & feel

    Great location for shops and day tour pick ups. 5-10 euro taxi ride from train station. Good start to walk around the city. Helpful staff. Daily room cleaning was really done well. Breakfast extensive.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi didn’t work at all.

    This is a comfortable nicely run hotel just minutes from Piazza Maggiore. The location couldn’t be better. The room was cosy. The bed was large and very comfortable. Breakfast was great, lots of choice and good quality. Would definitely recommend it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A great hotel. With a bit more attention to detail and cleanliness it will be one of the great hotels in the centre of Bologna.

    The location is fantastic and the staff very helpful!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is substandard, old and not worth the money. Street side rooms are loud and difficult to sleep. The worst part of this hotel is its miserable and disrespectful breakfast. Almost all the pastries were old and chewy, tasteless not the kind of stuff you'd expect in Italy or while travelling given the fact that you can grab a fresh croissant and coffee for really cheap somewhere else. You can as well skip it. Coffee is ok.

    Great location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Wi-Fi worked, but it was poor in our room.

    We were stunned by the view from our room. The windows of the room were facing Piazza Maggiore and, being located on the 4th floor of the building, we had an absolute view of all the impressive buildings of Bologna. The staff were friendly. The breakfast was great and diversified. The location of this hotel is great, being located exactly in the old center of Bologna (the name - Centrale - suits the hotel). The room had all the things you need to have a good stay there. Better than that, the room has a coffee or tea maker, with a variety of teas to choose. Also has a mini-bar with alot of drinks (soda, beer, water, wine) and some chips, M&M's and wafers. Clean bathroom and the hot water came right away.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Communal areas a little tired. Breakfast rather crowded and disorganised...but still a good breakfast. Unreliable wifi.

    Beds/pillows very comfortable. Excellent location for the centre of Bologna. Great shower! Helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think it is not an ordinary hotel, it is just one or two floors in a big building. The room was very small and the bathroom was a bit old-fashioned. The bed was really tiny and uncomfortable. Heating systems didn’t work very well at night and I had to sleep with pull over :/ breakfast was very poor and simple. I think this hotel is overrated in booking.com.

    The location was great, in the city center and really near to all tourist’s attractions. It is located 25 minutes on walk far from Centrale station, of course there is bus stop next the hotel. It has just a lift outsid (from ground floor to 3rd floor that hotel is located in this) and there is not lift for rooms but staff was really nice and bring my heavy loggage upstairs and down... the safe was really funny, it opend and closed by a key :))

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better security in bedroom there was no key in safe and it took 48 hours to get one . We had a lot lot if cash taken from us in a restaurant on our 2st night in bologna..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Less sweet things for breakfast. We enjoyed them but had 4 times more sugar than We believe is healthy.

    The reception attitude and help was imediate and very welcoming. Stair carpet looked as tho it needed a good vacuuming.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Doesn't worth it's money at all. No view, room is old, key is huge and really uncomfortable to carry on, elevator didn't worked, so it was pretty hard to go up with my hurting foot. It's really possible not to find table for breakfast from the first attempt - cause there are only a few tables...

    I really enjoyed breakfast: there was great choice of food and drinks. Nice location. 2 minutes walking to the center. Pretty clear room, but pretty old.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I booked the hotel emailed me to see if i preferred a twin bed or double. Being I was traveling with my 74 year old mother, I requested twin beds which they confirmed. When we arrived they said they did not have that and only had a double room available. Also, before we arrived I emailed the place multiple times to confirm the room and ask if they could make a reservation for us and they never replied. I had my friend who teaches Italian call and they said to email them. I emailed again and they never replied. The bathroom shower needs to be a bit updated so that the shower doesn't spray all over the bathroom. The reception were helpful but not friendly at all, except for one. When we checked in we were given no information or map etc. the guy that evening was much nicer.

    The location cannot be better. The room is spacious and safe. There is an elevator (I traveled with my mom who has a walker so this was good.) breakfast has a lot of choices and the women who work serving if and cleaning the rooms were very friendly! The reception also was helpful in terms of getting us recommendations at restaurants and calling is cabs. Also, there is one of the best restaurants in the city right next door -Rodrigo's! Went there 2x it was so good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room could have been a little bit bigger.

    The location is perfect for Bologna, just off Piazza Maggiore. Well positioned for restaurants, bars, etc. 20 minute walk from the train station. The staff are very helpful, and the breakfast is excellent. The room was a little on the small side, but we had a room overlooking Via Ugo Bassi, which is the main road leading to Piazza Maggiore.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel Centrale is in the city center, all the sights and the market are very close. The staff is very friendly, the rooms clean and the breakfast decent. For the purpose of our visit the hotel met the specifications.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be nice if slippers were not charged.

    Fantastic location, all main sights easily accessible on foot, bus stops within less than 100m, many restaurants and bars in the vicinity. Helpful and kind staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! It is a 2 star hotel so it wasn't luxurious but perfect for what we wanted....and clean!

    Room was a good size with a large bed and plenty of storage space. Very warm and the radiator could be adjusted as needed. Good selection of food at breakfast and tables available every day. Location was perfect - right in the centre of the city and easily accessed on foot from the bus station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We stayed four nights. Great location in the centre, we had a comfortable room on the 4th floor with kettle to make coffee/tea, very good breakfast and friendly staff. Railway station just four bus stops. I would come back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is just in the center, literally off the main road. The breakfast is just amazing, it was very varied, very tasty, all fresh ingredients. The breakfast ladies were very friendly and very keen on helping. The receptionist waited an hour for us to arrive as they usually finish by midnight and we arrived at 1am. All of them very friendly and helpful. The rooms are big and clean and has everything you can expect for a 3* hotel and it has only 2*. Great value for money!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's at the city center. So one should not expect it to be too quiet. But it was still not very noisy compared to its location.

    It was a nice cozy stay. The room was well organised. Very good for staying on a budiness trip. At the city center. Everything is well within reach.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was separated from our room, but it didn't bother us too much.

    Everything with Hotel Centrale was wonderful, but, especially the beautiful smell in our room will be remembered in future. And it was a nice surprise to notice that there were a water boiler with some teas and coffee. After a long walk in the cold, these and the comfort of the place was really perfect.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is perfectly situated, just round the corner from Piazza Maggiore. The reception is open till midnight. Unfortunately, our plane was late, so we came well past midnight. The administrator was very kind and was waiting for us. The room and bathroom are quite large, warm and very clean. Substantial breakfast includes eggs, scrambled eggs and bacon, cereal and fruits, yoghurts, cheese and ham, and fresh pastries. If we go to Bologna again, we will definitely try to stay in this hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom was very small and at first, quite dirty. We complained about this and they sent someone straight away to clean it for us. Breakfast was very limited and the room was tiny. Although the food was nice.

    Staff very friendly, rooms were fairly spacious and comfortable. Excellent location, couldn't be better.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not like that the bathroom was not in my room in case of any late night bathroom needs. Just strange not being able to shower comfortable and start your day with your bathroom IN your room. Our room was not as nice as it looked in the pictures either which was VERY disappointing.

    The breakfast was included in our stay and it was very nice met our expectations for a smaller hotel. The staff was friendly, not overly friendly but professional. I noticed how clean everything was which is extremely important to me. The location is absolutely perfect, not too far from he train station and right in the midst of the center of town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Probably the best good value for money accommodation I experienced in Bologna. Hotel Centrale is in a beautiful building right in the centre, rooms are super clean and spacious and the included breakfast is very good. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothin'

    Perfect place to stay. The staff is kind and helpful. Breakfast - exellent, a lot of sweets, croissants, even pizza :) Rooms are cool with big flat TV screen, everyday cleaning was a must for the staff. And at last but not least - the hoetsl is literally in the centre!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there was no problem at all.

    staff was excellent, very friendly, attentive and natural. We felt very welcomed. the breakfast was PERFECT. Croissants super fresh, great coffee, tea, cheese, fruit, omelette was orange - that how beautiful the eggs were. I will come back every time I will be in Bologna. Thank you

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent 2 star hotel in perfect location in the centre of Bologna. Easy to walk everywhere. Breakfast very good, staff friendly and helpful, bed comfy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the breakfast was satisfying. the location was just PERFECT!!!! the staff was friendly and helpful!they speak English which is quite important! all in all, a great choice for your stay in Bologna!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had to wake up every morning from 7:00am because the cleaners had their equipment out of our door..... The sound insulation was poor in general..

    Perfect location,clean room,rich breakfast!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was helpful and very nice. We arrived very early at the property and they managed to give us the room. Breakfast is awesome with a lot of choices. Location is perfect, close to the main square.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We've had the best room with the best view I think! (No. 18) It was beautiful as the sun rises. Location was great and the personnel was friendly. I'd like to stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom was cold, because there is no heating.

    Nice room with good windows (you couldn't hear the noise of the street). The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was good (mostly sweet things).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably, the definition of cleanliness is not the same as in our country. The bathroom looks not to be very good cleaned, I would simply take time and all possible cleaning equipment and clean it deeply up. It will really help. Now it looks terrible.

    The staff was really friendly and if we ask something, they were always ready to help. We find the breakfast very good - typical pastry and good coffee

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom wasn’t as clean as I would expect. The breakfast was okay but not great. The beds were okay but very firm (like most hotels). The main problem in our room (no 9) was that there was a bar on the street below that stayed open until 2am and played thumping music until that time. Add to this the traffic noise on weekdays and we returned home with fond memories of Bologna but very very tired!

    The staff were friendly. The location was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location a few streets from the main square. The receptionist was amazing and couldn't have been more helpful in telling us all about the city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I chose a single with separate bath. The bath was clean and nice, but will probably stick with ensuite bath in future.

    Terrific location, quite near main square. Breakfast buffet, decent WiFi. Operable windows, so could freshen room. Quieter than anticipated.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some people might think the rooms are in need of updating.

    Fabulous location and good breakfast choice. Kettle in rooms with a variety of teas. Quirky rooms lots of character.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi signal at our room was not very strong. But in the rest of the hotel it was working very well

    Overall the hotel was very good. Everyday the staff was cleaning our room and the hotel room was comfortable enough. I also liked the breakfast (it had a big variety of breads and pastries). The best thing about the hotel i think it is the location, 2 minutes walk from Piazza Maggiore!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The decor and furniture are somewhat out-dated but for a two-star hotel, we felt it was fine. The convenience of the location, friendliness of staff and great breakfasts far outweighed the standard of the furniture.

    The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and we loved the central location of the hotel. The breakfast were excellent: lots of choice from fresh fruit salad to scrambled eggs, cold meat and cheese and lots of pastries for those who like sweet things for breakfast! (I don't, but there were plenty of delicious rolls, rye bread and plain croissants.)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Wifi was poor in the room, I had to do some computer wizardry to make it work.

    Large room, nice bath room, comfortable bed. Great location, Nice view.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom should be cleaned better.

    We loved the location of the hotel. Our room had a splendid view of the roof tops of Bologna and the main shopping street. Breakfast had a lot of variety and was very good. We loved the honey and croissants. We got a baby crib in our room that was very well appreciated. Staff was very welcoming and helped us.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No suggestions - it was ALL good.

    It is a comfortable and well run hotel in a brilliantly central location. We will certainly book again on our next trip to Bologna.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location great, friendly staff plentiful breakfast. Rooms cleaned and bed linen changed each day. Very comfy bed and pillows. No sound from street once double glazed window closed. Would be more than happy to stay again. Loved Bologna

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location of the hotel was fantastic, about a 2 minute walk to the Piazza Maggiore, right in the heart of the city. The staff were very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture in the room was cheap looking and the breakfast was an insult, the only things we dared eat were pre-wrapped soft cheese and crackers.

    Excellent situation, big room, comfortable bed, relatively quiet for city centre location, helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Centrale traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: