Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Albergo Giardinetto 2 stars

Via Massarenti 76, 40138 Bologna, Italy

#95 of 99 hotels in Bologna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1131 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    7.2

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    3.3
    No comment!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price charged was far too expensive. I appreciate that there was a trade fair on at Bologna at he time that we stayed but the exhorbitant price charged for a very basic room was well out of order! Perhaps we should have stayed at another town for those 2 nights but we did not know the area! Lesson learnt!!!

    No comment!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    8.8
    Nice small hotel, excellent value and handy for city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit small, but I don’t visit a city like Bologna to sit in my room, so this is not a big deal at all.

    Good location, room and bathroom were clean and well looked after. I liked the little courtyard and half-outside style of the hotel. Walking distance to city centre, very pleasant stay in general. Decent continental breakfast included. Staff were polite and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    20 min walking to the city center

    Very clean and the staff was kind and helpful to us. The room had air conditioning which is perfect if you travel in summer!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location 10 min walking to torre asinelli.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They should be more flexible with check-in specially for genius members. WiFi should be included. I truly suggest to change the shower gel and soaps that they provide cos it irritated my skin and eyes heavily. I had my skin itching all day long. Had to buy some shower gel at the market to wash it off from me. Also it was difficult to open, had to use my teeth.

    Great location 10 min walking to torre asinelli. Polite staff, nice standard room, basic but functional. The room was clean bathroom also. Paid thru booking 40€ hotel website ask 66.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.2
    Cute place, great staff and nice facilities!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff here were very friendly, the breakfast was really nice, good wifi, and quieter location just outside the city center. The room was smaller, but clean and the bed was comfortable. Room also had a small refrigerator and kettle for tea and coffee.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    This is a good value hotel;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a good value hotel; breakfast is plentiful and the rooms were clean. It is a distance (somewhat) to the city center however, the staff is quick to call a cab with pleasure and the wait is seldom more than a few minutes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    6.7
    Breakfast and coffee was pretty good, our room was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The furniture was not very nice (old fashioned), very cold floor in the room, and really small, oddly arranged bathroom (the shower for really small / thin people, sink right in front of the toilet?). Personnel did not speak English very much, the communication was very brief and during our arrival into the hotel it almost seemed like the Receptionist was annoyed to see us.

    Breakfast and coffee was pretty good, our room was very clean and even though the hotel is situated in a pretty crowded street and accross the street there is some hospital, we had a quiet stay and during the night we slept well :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.5
    It's a very nice and cozy hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a very nice and cozy hotel. The room was very nice and clean. We were surprised that breakfast was quite diverse: eggs, cakes, coffee, tea, ham, cheese, toasts and many many more. Everyone was very friendly to us and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.6
    Calm neighbourhood, and practicall location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to park in paid garage

    Very nice staff and everything was without any issues. Restaurant nearby (Vela Azzura) had very nice lunch menu. In walking distance to university and old part of town. Shops nearby

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    4.6
    It's nice having a breakfast included!
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need to improve their English. I sent an email asking how to get to the place from the bus station and they suggested taxi, when the bus stop is almost in front of them. They should answered better. The wifi doesn't work all the time.

    It's nice having a breakfast included! It's clean and easy to find. The bus stop is close.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    8.3
    Great Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only one person from the staff spoke English, which for hotel receptionists is very shameful, because I am working in tourism sphere. The breakfast was not very varied, but for the price we paid it was fine. Please keep in mind that on the day of your check out you will not have free Wi-Fi. The room was bit dark.

    Great place, the location is perfect. 10 minutes walking from the centre. The bus stop is right next to the hotel. Nearby there is a great pizza place for late night snack and as well big supermarket. The hotel itself is clean, tidy and very quiet and peaceful. There is a safe in the room and everything you may need. Wi-Fi is very good. Thank you very much! It was just what you need for weekend stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.2
    Excellent acomodation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a nice hotel, on a safe walking distance of 20 min from the center of Bologna. The room was comfort, very clean and cozy. The staff was very polite. I highly recommend it to anyone visiting Bologna.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.1
    Enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no free wifi. You have to pay 5 euro for Internet for 4 hours. No free breakfast, it is 4 or 5 euro.

    Clean and comfortable room. There is an air conditioner in the room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.8
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the reception staff dont know any english at all.

    It is close to bus stop and not far from city centre. Comfortable bed and spacious room. AC was perfect for the temperature we had .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.2
    Nice motel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only that it was a little out of the way.

    The motel was quaint, clean and staff friendly. Its a little out of the way but the bus stop is not far. Restaurant a few doors from motel which is fantastic. The room was modern with mini f idge, air con and all the facilities you would expect. There is a small garden area out the front of the motel with tables and chairs.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel at the right price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    May be the provision of shampoo bath shower on a daily basis.

    I like the friendly staff, the location, the many reasonable priced trattorias in the vicinity and the very easy transport to any area. The breakfast is plentiful and fresh. The rooms are very nice and extremely clean. It is my favourite hotel for my frequent short trips to Bologna.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    8.8
    Good location, nice garden, cheap hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was a little bit cold for me, and I couldn't control the heating. We ordered a double bed. It was two single bed though. No window. (Every other room had at least one) The walls are a little bit thin I think, beacause we heard other roomers.

    Really friendly staff, fast check in- and out. Good location, just outside the city gates and walls. Breakfast was good, but they should refill more often. Wide selection of teas. Good coffee machine. Bed was comfortable. The recepcionist speaks english (altough not too well and other staff members speak just Italian). The room was silent, couldn't hear the traffic. Water boiler in the room (plus tea filters). Warm blankets on the beds. (we stayed there in February)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    3.3
    The rudest guy at the reception that I have ever seen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rudest guy at the reception that I have ever seen. Completely not cultural - it is unacceptable that such a person is working in the hotel. He works during the night. Additionally the bathroom is not clean. I was afraid to use that. Localization has a big plus.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    5.0
    How small can a shower be?
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have never seen or had to use such a small shower in my life. 60cm X 60cm I should think. You have to open the shower screens if you want to turn round or bend down even a little bit. It would probably have been easier to stand in the hand basin or the bidet! Strangly the actual room was large.

    Quite, even through its close to the road.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    10
    the location is phenomenal and the host was great and helped...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the location is phenomenal and the host was great and helped us get to the airport at 5am.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Location was great, close to the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great, close to the old town. Good for a short stay- 1,2 nights.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Fine for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise of ambulance cars, hospital is over the road

    Distance from city centre, cleanliness, breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    6.7
    The lady was nice and the location (for the surrounding...
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much air/light in the room

    The lady was nice and the location (for the surrounding hospitals) was very convenient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    Good value.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No window in the room. It was ok for a business trip but for a holiday with my wife would not acceptable.

    Good value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    The brakfast , the room and the bathroom were much more...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The brakfast , the room and the bathroom were much more better than we expected

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price, location, Wi-Fi, amenities were great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.2
    enough good for staying for 2-3 night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there wasn't window in room. the staff speak only the Italian.

    not far from city center. clean room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    8.8
    Would go back again, in the Summer
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    cold room but time of year very cold

    Staff polite and place convenient quite and clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean and nice, but very small

    The staff was very nice and friendly and the location is very good, not far from main atractions

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    6.7
    Good value for money but not that clean and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    too much humidity. not that warm. old blankets

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    6.7
    Great price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, they did not speak english very well

    Great price

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    5.8
    Could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heater in the room, no extra blanket in the room and no wifi for free

    The bathroom and the heater in the bathroom

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    4.2
    Would not recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personnel is unfriendly. Room was at ground floor, no daylight. Walls are thin, so you could hear your neighbors walking, talking.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.5
    good for short stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    bathroom made noise all night

    position just in front of hospital

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    8.3
    Lovely hotel a 15 minute walk from Bologna centre
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If travelling by train it is a bus journey from the station

    Very friendly staff and a comfortable room. Great walking distance from Bologna centre

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    2.5
    I didn't like staying here at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't feel safe at all in this place,i even lost my rings that were so important to me:(

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    6.7
    Reasonable Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quiet, comfortable room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    6.3
    It is not too far from downtown by foot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had to pay for the wifi and it was very expensive.

    It is not too far from downtown by foot.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    clean room, best service, helpfull workers
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast

    clean room, best service, helpfull workers

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    8.8
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The structure of the construction with the inside yard.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    8.3
    The smallest schowek cabin in the world.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smallest schowek cabin in the world.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    7.5
    Average review
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other guests and shower

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    7.5
    Almost good
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cappucino made by a machine

    Shower

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    10
    Staff and management very helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff and management very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    6.7
    - Good location, 15-20 mins to center by foot and easy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - The worst thing about the hotel is that there is almost no sound insulation. You can hear what your neighbors are watching on TV or talking. You can hear the cars outside (most notably the ambulances, since there is a large hospital across the street) and the people walking inside the hotel. If you've got a deep sleep this may not be a problem, but beware, you might only fall asleep when your neighbors decide to do it as well. - There were foreign hairs on the blankets; ignore this if you're visiting during summer (the sheets were clean) - WiFi costs extra money but it may not work (sometimes it does, sometimes it doesn't); you'd better get a good roaming data plan if you really need an Internet connection, it was even cheaper for us

    - Good location, 15-20 mins to center by foot and easy access by bus to central station. - Breakfast is simple yet sufficient, if you wake up early enough to catch the most of it - Staff is communicative, despite some of them not speaking English - Good A/C

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    7.5
    The location was good and the room was quite clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The woman at the stuff was very nice, however, the man who welcomed us was grumpy. We were afraid to ask him about the wifi or breakfast. Therefore, I have no idea about them. It was not heated well, I was cold at night.

    The location was good and the room was quite clean. The beds were comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    5.8
    Very convenient location, easy walk to city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One staff member forgot to book taxi but no harm done. Room at side was quieter but traffic too loud to sleep with window open. Fine when closed.

    Very convenient location, easy walk to city

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    8.3
    Location, cleanliness, breakfast, very nice staff and I even...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I visited lot of Italian cities, this is the first time I pay 27 € city tax for three nights. That's quite a lot !

    Location, cleanliness, breakfast, very nice staff and I even got a bus shuttle to the fiera for free, something I didn't expect ...

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    9.2
    Location, breakfast, cleanliness, safety, good value for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel charged my credit card for the full amount of our stay even before we arrived, even though it says on the booking receipt that they charge only the first night in case we don't show up. That was strange. The receptionist said that some guests never show up (we came at about 5pm) and that they charged the full amount for four days by mistake?! So, the first impression was bad. Other than that everything was fine. However, they shouldn't have done that.

    Location, breakfast, cleanliness, safety, good value for money

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    3.3
    only outlook is ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    1. rude staffs One morning, I and friends come to the frontdesk to ask if we can print something by using their printer. The women said yes without mention us they will charge us money. But after printing she said 10 Euros!!!!! 2. the wifi is not free 3. nearly everything in the room you use will charge your money 4. all in all, they plan to charge you money everywhere, especially when you are not careful.

    only outlook is ok.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    7.9
    The hospitality of people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    They don't speak English.

    The hospitality of people.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    2.5
    NOTHING
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Worst place I ever stayed

    NOTHING

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    9.6
    All was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    All was ok

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    8.8
    Location, cleanliness, helpful staff and cheap and good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet access limited and costly.

    Location, cleanliness, helpful staff and cheap and good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    8.8
    We wanted to be close to the hospital and this hotel is...
    • Couple

    We wanted to be close to the hospital and this hotel is perfect! And it is 15 minutes walking from Bologna center.

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    7.9
    the personel,very friendly
    • Couple

    wifi free only tow hours

    the personel,very friendly

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2015

    4.6
    Just opposite S.
    • Couple

    The towels were kitchen towels!! The bed was hard and the room wasn't soundproof at all

    Just opposite S.Orsola hospital

There are also 41 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Guests also reviewed these properties: