Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Albergo Giardinetto This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Via Massarenti 76, 40138 Bologna, Italy

#88 of 93 hotels in Bologna

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1101 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.1

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Paid WiFi

    6.1

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    8.3
    Great location 10 min walking to torre asinelli.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They should be more flexible with check-in specially for genius members. WiFi should be included. I truly suggest to change the shower gel and soaps that they provide cos it irritated my skin and eyes heavily. I had my skin itching all day long. Had to buy some shower gel at the market to wash it off from me. Also it was difficult to open, had to use my teeth.

    Great location 10 min walking to torre asinelli. Polite staff, nice standard room, basic but functional. The room was clean bathroom also. Paid thru booking 40€ hotel website ask 66.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    9.2
    Cute place, great staff and nice facilities!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff here were very friendly, the breakfast was really nice, good wifi, and quieter location just outside the city center. The room was smaller, but clean and the bed was comfortable. Room also had a small refrigerator and kettle for tea and coffee.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    9.6
    This is a good value hotel;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a good value hotel; breakfast is plentiful and the rooms were clean. It is a distance (somewhat) to the city center however, the staff is quick to call a cab with pleasure and the wait is seldom more than a few minutes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2017

    6.7
    Breakfast and coffee was pretty good, our room was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The furniture was not very nice (old fashioned), very cold floor in the room, and really small, oddly arranged bathroom (the shower for really small / thin people, sink right in front of the toilet?). Personnel did not speak English very much, the communication was very brief and during our arrival into the hotel it almost seemed like the Receptionist was annoyed to see us.

    Breakfast and coffee was pretty good, our room was very clean and even though the hotel is situated in a pretty crowded street and accross the street there is some hospital, we had a quiet stay and during the night we slept well :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2017

    7.5
    It's a very nice and cozy hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a very nice and cozy hotel. The room was very nice and clean. We were surprised that breakfast was quite diverse: eggs, cakes, coffee, tea, ham, cheese, toasts and many many more. Everyone was very friendly to us and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2017

    9.6
    Calm neighbourhood, and practicall location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to park in paid garage

    Very nice staff and everything was without any issues. Restaurant nearby (Vela Azzura) had very nice lunch menu. In walking distance to university and old part of town. Shops nearby

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2017

    4.6
    It's nice having a breakfast included!
    • Solo traveler
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They need to improve their English. I sent an email asking how to get to the place from the bus station and they suggested taxi, when the bus stop is almost in front of them. They should answered better. The wifi doesn't work all the time.

    It's nice having a breakfast included! It's clean and easy to find. The bus stop is close.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2017

    8.3
    Great Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only one person from the staff spoke English, which for hotel receptionists is very shameful, because I am working in tourism sphere. The breakfast was not very varied, but for the price we paid it was fine. Please keep in mind that on the day of your check out you will not have free Wi-Fi. The room was bit dark.

    Great place, the location is perfect. 10 minutes walking from the centre. The bus stop is right next to the hotel. Nearby there is a great pizza place for late night snack and as well big supermarket. The hotel itself is clean, tidy and very quiet and peaceful. There is a safe in the room and everything you may need. Wi-Fi is very good. Thank you very much! It was just what you need for weekend stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2017

    9.2
    Excellent acomodation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a nice hotel, on a safe walking distance of 20 min from the center of Bologna. The room was comfort, very clean and cozy. The staff was very polite. I highly recommend it to anyone visiting Bologna.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2017

    7.1
    Enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no free wifi. You have to pay 5 euro for Internet for 4 hours. No free breakfast, it is 4 or 5 euro.

    Clean and comfortable room. There is an air conditioner in the room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2017

    8.8
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some of the reception staff dont know any english at all.

    It is close to bus stop and not far from city centre. Comfortable bed and spacious room. AC was perfect for the temperature we had .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2017

    9.2
    Nice motel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only that it was a little out of the way.

    The motel was quaint, clean and staff friendly. Its a little out of the way but the bus stop is not far. Restaurant a few doors from motel which is fantastic. The room was modern with mini f idge, air con and all the facilities you would expect. There is a small garden area out the front of the motel with tables and chairs.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel at the right price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    May be the provision of shampoo bath shower on a daily basis.

    I like the friendly staff, the location, the many reasonable priced trattorias in the vicinity and the very easy transport to any area. The breakfast is plentiful and fresh. The rooms are very nice and extremely clean. It is my favourite hotel for my frequent short trips to Bologna.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2017

    8.8
    Good location, nice garden, cheap hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was a little bit cold for me, and I couldn't control the heating. We ordered a double bed. It was two single bed though. No window. (Every other room had at least one) The walls are a little bit thin I think, beacause we heard other roomers.

    Really friendly staff, fast check in- and out. Good location, just outside the city gates and walls. Breakfast was good, but they should refill more often. Wide selection of teas. Good coffee machine. Bed was comfortable. The recepcionist speaks english (altough not too well and other staff members speak just Italian). The room was silent, couldn't hear the traffic. Water boiler in the room (plus tea filters). Warm blankets on the beds. (we stayed there in February)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2017

    3.3
    The rudest guy at the reception that I have ever seen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rudest guy at the reception that I have ever seen. Completely not cultural - it is unacceptable that such a person is working in the hotel. He works during the night. Additionally the bathroom is not clean. I was afraid to use that. Localization has a big plus.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2016

    5.0
    How small can a shower be?
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have never seen or had to use such a small shower in my life. 60cm X 60cm I should think. You have to open the shower screens if you want to turn round or bend down even a little bit. It would probably have been easier to stand in the hand basin or the bidet! Strangly the actual room was large.

    Quite, even through its close to the road.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2016

    4.6
    There are better places for spending your money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel charges additional fees for everything you need: wifi, parking, towels, etc. Breakfast is mediocre at best.

    The room was bigger than average, though it was undergound.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2016

    5.4
    Beds were comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They want extra price for almost everything. Breakfast is very poor. They dont speak english. We booked for 3 people but there were only two glass, coffee etc.

    Beds were comfortable

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2016

    7.9
    The location was good with buses only a few minutes away...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You have to pay for using pretty much everything in the room - towels, extra pillows, toiletries etc. The sign for this was only displayed in italian and as I don't speak italian was not helpful! The breakfast is poor, for €5 you don't get much choice. We went for our breakfast at 9.30 and there were no pastries left only stale cornflakes and cheap biscuits. Save your money and go to a local cafe instead!

    The location was good with buses only a few minutes away which take you to the centre of bologna. The staff were very kind and helpful. The room was well equipped, modern and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    9.2
    Fine for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noise of ambulance cars, hospital is over the road

    Distance from city centre, cleanliness, breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    6.7
    The lady was nice and the location (for the surrounding...
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not much air/light in the room

    The lady was nice and the location (for the surrounding hospitals) was very convenient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    8.8
    Good value.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No window in the room. It was ok for a business trip but for a holiday with my wife would not acceptable.

    Good value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    10
    The brakfast , the room and the bathroom were much more...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The brakfast , the room and the bathroom were much more better than we expected

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    10
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Price, location, Wi-Fi, amenities were great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    9.2
    enough good for staying for 2-3 night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there wasn't window in room. the staff speak only the Italian.

    not far from city center. clean room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2018

    8.8
    Would go back again, in the Summer
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    cold room but time of year very cold

    Staff polite and place convenient quite and clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was clean and nice, but very small

    The staff was very nice and friendly and the location is very good, not far from main atractions

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    6.7
    Good value for money but not that clean and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    too much humidity. not that warm. old blankets

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    6.7
    Great price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small room, they did not speak english very well

    Great price

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2018

    5.8
    Could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The heater in the room, no extra blanket in the room and no wifi for free

    The bathroom and the heater in the bathroom

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2017

    4.2
    Would not recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Personnel is unfriendly. Room was at ground floor, no daylight. Walls are thin, so you could hear your neighbors walking, talking.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2017

    7.5
    good for short stay
    • Solo traveler
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    bathroom made noise all night

    position just in front of hospital

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2017

    8.3
    Lovely hotel a 15 minute walk from Bologna centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If travelling by train it is a bus journey from the station

    Very friendly staff and a comfortable room. Great walking distance from Bologna centre

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2017

    2.5
    I didn't like staying here at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn't feel safe at all in this place,i even lost my rings that were so important to me:(

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2017

    6.7
    Reasonable Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quiet, comfortable room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2017

    6.3
    It is not too far from downtown by foot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had to pay for the wifi and it was very expensive.

    It is not too far from downtown by foot.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2017

    10
    clean room, best service, helpfull workers
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    breakfast

    clean room, best service, helpfull workers

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2017

    8.8
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The structure of the construction with the inside yard.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2017

    8.3
    The smallest schowek cabin in the world.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The smallest schowek cabin in the world.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2017

    7.5
    Average review
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Other guests and shower

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2017

    7.5
    Almost good
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cappucino made by a machine

    Shower

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2016

    10
    Staff and management very helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff and management very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2016

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was better than expected!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2016

    6.3
    Friendly staff, good cleanliness, average connectivity
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very few staff speak English, but can made do.... Very small shower cubicle

    Friendly staff, good cleanliness, average connectivity

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2016

    5.8
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2016

    7.1
    Beds, little garden outside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No free Wifi and a broken fridge

    Beds, little garden outside.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2016

    8.8
    To bad there is no free wi-fi, seems like a standard option...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    To bad there is no free wi-fi, seems like a standard option nowadays, but not in this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2016

    7.5
    The breakfast is quite good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is no free wifi.

    The breakfast is quite good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2016

    6.3
    I did not feel comfortable having to leave my passport at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not feel comfortable having to leave my passport at reception

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2016

    6.7
    - Good location, 15-20 mins to center by foot and easy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - The worst thing about the hotel is that there is almost no sound insulation. You can hear what your neighbors are watching on TV or talking. You can hear the cars outside (most notably the ambulances, since there is a large hospital across the street) and the people walking inside the hotel. If you've got a deep sleep this may not be a problem, but beware, you might only fall asleep when your neighbors decide to do it as well. - There were foreign hairs on the blankets; ignore this if you're visiting during summer (the sheets were clean) - WiFi costs extra money but it may not work (sometimes it does, sometimes it doesn't); you'd better get a good roaming data plan if you really need an Internet connection, it was even cheaper for us

    - Good location, 15-20 mins to center by foot and easy access by bus to central station. - Breakfast is simple yet sufficient, if you wake up early enough to catch the most of it - Staff is communicative, despite some of them not speaking English - Good A/C

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2016

    7.5
    The location was good and the room was quite clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The woman at the stuff was very nice, however, the man who welcomed us was grumpy. We were afraid to ask him about the wifi or breakfast. Therefore, I have no idea about them. It was not heated well, I was cold at night.

    The location was good and the room was quite clean. The beds were comfortable.

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2015

    5.8
    Very convenient location, easy walk to city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One staff member forgot to book taxi but no harm done. Room at side was quieter but traffic too loud to sleep with window open. Fine when closed.

    Very convenient location, easy walk to city

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2015

    8.3
    Location, cleanliness, breakfast, very nice staff and I even...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    I visited lot of Italian cities, this is the first time I pay 27 € city tax for three nights. That's quite a lot !

    Location, cleanliness, breakfast, very nice staff and I even got a bus shuttle to the fiera for free, something I didn't expect ...

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2015

    9.2
    Location, breakfast, cleanliness, safety, good value for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel charged my credit card for the full amount of our stay even before we arrived, even though it says on the booking receipt that they charge only the first night in case we don't show up. That was strange. The receptionist said that some guests never show up (we came at about 5pm) and that they charged the full amount for four days by mistake?! So, the first impression was bad. Other than that everything was fine. However, they shouldn't have done that.

    Location, breakfast, cleanliness, safety, good value for money

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2015

    3.3
    only outlook is ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    1. rude staffs One morning, I and friends come to the frontdesk to ask if we can print something by using their printer. The women said yes without mention us they will charge us money. But after printing she said 10 Euros!!!!! 2. the wifi is not free 3. nearly everything in the room you use will charge your money 4. all in all, they plan to charge you money everywhere, especially when you are not careful.

    only outlook is ok.

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2016

    7.9
    The hospitality of people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    They don't speak English.

    The hospitality of people.

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2016

    2.5
    NOTHING
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Worst place I ever stayed

    NOTHING

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2016

    9.6
    All was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    All was ok

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2016

    8.8
    Location, cleanliness, helpful staff and cheap and good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet access limited and costly.

    Location, cleanliness, helpful staff and cheap and good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2015

    8.8
    We wanted to be close to the hospital and this hotel is...
    • Couple

    We wanted to be close to the hospital and this hotel is perfect! And it is 15 minutes walking from Bologna center.

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2015

    7.9
    the personel,very friendly
    • Couple

    wifi free only tow hours

    the personel,very friendly

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2015

    4.6
    Just opposite S.
    • Couple

    The towels were kitchen towels!! The bed was hard and the room wasn't soundproof at all

    Just opposite S.Orsola hospital

There are also 35 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Guests also reviewed these properties: