Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel La Certosa 3 stars

Via Marina del Cantone 23, 80068 Massa Lubrense, Italy

#11 of 22 hotels in Massa Lubrense

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 99 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 19

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked food excellent!! Waiters , not bad either 😊😊😊

    Too many stairs if slightly infirm Didn't get room we wanted(as usual) - paid for a two bedded room, got queen size bed. No toilet seat on restaurant toilet, quite weird, Meant had to go up loads of stairs to use own bathroom!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only difficulty was taking luggage up to our room without help from staff. Everything else was perfect!

    La Certosa is a wonderful, terrific, family friendly place to visit. The owners and Corrado were so helpful, kind and welcoming! It is in a fantastic location, right on the beach, and there a many choices of restaurants nearby!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful part of the world. Hotel was lovely and authentic, family run, restaurant was great. Walking distance to the great beach. A very relaxing holiday.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude and abrubt attitude of the manager/owner. Here you have a 15th century monastery turned into a hotel, it should check all the boxes but then you have to ask yourself why the hotels around it are all booked up, but there is space in this one. It's small things that smack of laziness and anti guest sentiment. Would we stay there again? Nope, but next door we would!

    Food was excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking cost are 15 euro per day, but if you have a small car you can park in the garden (if not top busy)!

    We had a great time at the family hotel la Certosa. The hotel is located at the beach and is based in a former monastery. The rooms are traditional, but hygenic and large and in the morning you get a nice small breakfast with fresh cappucino. We had a great stay at this romantic place and recommend it to anyone!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I was expecting some stairs but not that many!....just a pain when you have kids. Changing of sheets could have been more frequent, only once in 6 days!

    The location is quite pretty, with a pebbly beach and crystalline water, yet don't expect too much more than restaurants and a jetty for local boat trips/tours to Amalfi and Capri. The hotel restaurant staff were good, always helpful and "Chef" cooked up some great meals at very reasonable price.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff were just about polite, but not friendly or welcoming. Beach didn't have a cordoned off area for swimming away from the boats.

    Location and cost

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Paying 15euros a day to park.

    Great spot to watch the world go by, away from the major tourist towns. We loved watching the superyachts from our sunloungers, which were always available. Food was excellent wherever we chose to eat,albeit a little pricey, and the atmosphere very chilled and friendly. We were made very welcome by Alfonso, Alexandro, Enzo, Francisco and all the family, and are looking forward to returning soon. Thank you all so much for a fabulous holiday. "Great!" (Ben, 13)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not being able to speak Italian so we could get the know the locals better as it seemed to be more for Italians than other tourists...which is what we loved too!

    The location of this little hotel is excellent especially for family with young children. Being right on the beach (pebbly but fine) it was great to be able to walk out our room and straight onto the beach. The hotel provide deck chairs FOC for their guests. Their restaurant providing all meals (breakfasts included in tariff) was very good home cooked and tasty. The hotel is an old monastery building so definitely not flash but comfortable enough. the ladies in the laundry were amazingly helpful and did washing for us. There are many really good restaurants all next to each other along the beach front so just a few minuets walk to each. It was so easy to get a delightful skipper and his boat at the jetty by the hotel to take us on a boat trip to Amalfi and Positana for the day so all up most convenient place to stay. Highly recommend for young families...maybe not for young couples alone!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was literally just a bed and didn't even have enough room to walk around the bed fully. Also we are not the biggest people but we had a very hard time fitting in the shower (I am 5'8" at 145lbs and he is 5'9" at 185lbs). The shower head wouldn't stay up and needed to be held up in order to wash your hair. More like a prison cell than a hotel room. My dorm in university was nicer and bigger.

    The hotel is right on the beach and the umbrellas are free with your room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff weren't friendly or welcoming but seemed rather sullen

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very poor wifi and telephone signal

    location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gorgeous little family place, on the Sita bus route

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast & fresh Crossaints were great. We enjoyed the fresh seafood as well & it was reasonably priced. The location is fantastic!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was perfect for the price paid.

    Great location. Fantastic restaurant. The perfect package.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Family with young children

    The service and friendliness I received made me feel relaxed as if I were at home (children friendly). The food was freshly cooked and it was absolutely delicious. The location suited my purpose i.e. by the sea , one couldn't get much closer, our room faced the sea, therefore we could hear the sound of the sea-waves and look at a beautiful view.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No tea/coffee making facilities in room. Wifi erratic. Pricey restaurant prices for portions served

    Stunning view from our room with balcony. Comfortable room with fridge. Off the beaten track.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff was friendly and answered our questions. The hotel itself was nicely situated on the coast and had dock with easy connection to the other towns/Capri. The hotel was quaint and had a nice charm.

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Location

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 19

Guests also reviewed these properties: