Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Albergo San Domenico 4 stars

Piazza Rinascimento 3, 61029 Urbino, Italy

#10 of 18 hotels in Urbino

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 496 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.9
    superb location opposite main square
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The outlook of bedrooms and the lounge/dining area is to a central courtyard that has great potential but needs some TLC especially the planters and outdoor furniture which are in a state of disrepair.

    superb location opposite main square

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    5.0
    I would never stay at this hotel again - not even if I were offered free accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The horrible screeching springy bed; the bath tap that dislodged entirely from its fitting, the badly designed shower that flooded the bathroom; the horrible rattling air-conditioning that was not adjustable and turned on and off of its own accord.

    Everyone seems to rave about the position but frankly, given that the centre of Urbino is so small, its position next to the Palazzo Ducale hardly makes up for the overpriced broken down fittings

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location, easy on-site parking, quiet large rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hard beds, poor television reception on most channels, poor wifi internet connection. 12 Euros to park for one day. Breakfast is 11 euros - we didn't have it.

    Excellent location, very large quiet room, friendly helpful staff, easy on-site parking,

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    Amazing location, service and room. Perfection!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel is in the very center of beautiful Urbino, located in an amazing building right in front of the Cathedral. The room was spacious, furnished with style, very comfortable, quite and warm. The service was perfect. My stay at Albergo San Domenico was simply perfect.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    5.4
    Great location, in a shabby hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The unavoidable extra charges which made a out of season stopover more expensive than it warranted.

    Excellent location, the unavoidable add-ons after booking were annoying

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.2
    The very perfect place to have chosen for our visit... the Ducal Palace within 100 metres!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As English people, we would have loved to have had tea-making facilities in the room. What is life without tea? The breakfast tables could have been replenished more quickly. But these are small things.

    We liked most of all the friendliness of the reception staff, and their easy willingness to go the extra mile to solve a problem. Fabricia and Eleni (if I have the spellings right) are boons to this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.6
    The best location in Urbino
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was really noisy to close the door, you had to bang it with all your strength. I always thought it might disturb the other rooms.

    This is a fabulous hotel. Very classy, the very best location: right in front of the Palazzo Ducale. What more can you ask for? The room was HUGE!!!!! plus I loved the super comfortable reclining chair. Decorations and furniture were a bit outdated but everything was very clean and worked well. The view wasn't great but taking into account that we looked to the parking lot, it was pretty quiet. We didn't have breakfast included nor we used the restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    6.7
    Too hot for comfort : could not recommend! You
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities dated and not sufficient for number of rooms. Public areas lacked in comfort. Deluxe room was large, furnished adequately with older furniture BUT the air condioning was totally inadequate and controlled by the front desk who can shut it off at any time but while we were there never went below 26.3 : far too hot to sleep comfortably. An impossible night.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    5.8
    Location in the town of Urbino.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Facilities are pretty basic and need updating. We never were able to successfully adjust the temperature in our room.

    Location in the town of Urbino. Parking at the site and access by car very convenient. Reception staff friendly and helpful and identified two great restaurants for us. This is a functional, clean hotel, but not special in any way that we discovered.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.5
    Right in the middle of beautiful Urbino
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was quite hard. Air conditioner was noisy and could not be switched off. Luckily it was so cool outside at night, that when we opened the window, room cooled so much, that the machine shut down itself. Then we slept better.

    Location in the middle of the Old town was perfect for short stay and hotel staff gave good advice on sights and opening hours and restaurants. Breakfast was very good. Good and easily accessible parking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    9.6
    Large room, luxurious appointments.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a former monastery. In a mountaintop city one expects impressive views. As a monastery this had NO outside view. There was a view of courtyard/parking lot and some sky. There was no coffeemaker in the room.

    Large room, luxurious appointments.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    6.3
    Disappointing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked and expected a four star hotel with an a la carte restaurant and a beautiful garden in which to have breakfast and dinner. The restaurant is no longer operational and the garden non existant. We paid for a 4 star establishment but it is really only a bed and breakfast.

    The hotel is well located. The room was comfortable and well serviced.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.8
    Well worth choosing but expect it to be dated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Desperately in need of updating - it has such potential it's a shame that it is so old-fashioned.

    Best location with parking. Staff very friendly. Large room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    5.0
    unbeatable location, quiet and spacious rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    room temperature can't be adjusted, we got roasted overnight, staff very detached and verging on the off-putting

    unbeatable location, quiet and spacious rooms

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    9.2
    Just by the Ducal Palace to admire Piero della Francesca's
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the location on the beautiful square facing the Palazzo Ducale . the parking in situ, very convenient fir visiting such a interesting Rennaissance tiwn!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    5.8
    An austere and expensive hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furnishing of bedrooms is very plain and utilitarian. Beds are extremely firm, and mattress 'toppers' unheard of. The room had a shiatsu chair, which didn't work, and was too uncomfortable to use as an ordinary chair. To stay in a converted convent is fine, but at over 200 euros per night, a much higher level of comfort should be offered

    Perfect location beside the Palazzo Ducale and the Cathedral. Our room on the 'de luxe' floor was large and airy.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    5.8
    Perfect location but an overpriced hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room facilities were adequate but not brilliant - I hate having a shower attachment in a bath, especially with a plastic shower curtain. The air conditioning cannot be changed in the rooms, you have to speak to reception and get them to set the required temperature. This makes it awkward if you want to change the temperature in the middle of the night. The safe in our room appeared to be broken - we didn't need to use it but it was a minus point that it was not working. My husband was not overwhelmingly impressed by the breakfast - plenty of cakes but not enough healthy options.

    The location of the hotel is absolutely excellent, right in the heart of Urbino and less than a stone's throw from the Ducal Palace. The receptionist was extremely helpful in suggesting places to eat and drink for lunch and supper.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    5.4
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a four star property, poor facilities and poor common areas. It should make more of an effort.

    Great location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.9
    Location incredible and also quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed hard as a rock! Pretty basic for a four star rating - but absolutely clean and fine.

    Location incredible and also quiet

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful city, best location to enjoy all the city has to offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was expensive and for the room, the price should be included.

    Great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced and dirty Booked a suite and received a room BIG RIPOFF

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel in the heart of the town, spoilt by lack of properly-functioning air conditioning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    But our stay was spoilt by the badly functioning air-conditioning

    The hotel is in a brilliant location, in an historic setting

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    Great location ... worth four stars??? Not sure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gentleman at check-in was unsmiling and unhelpful.

    The location and the room were good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location in wonderful town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds a little hard

    Fabulous location in a wonderful town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    10
    We’ll be back to Urbino and would stay at Albergo Dan Domenica again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Location and room quality

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.5
    We'll come back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air-conditioning only on demand

    The location and the quiet place

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Location to city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location to city center.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location, beautiful building, very quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location, beautiful building, very quiet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.1
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very hard and uncomfortable. Wifi in the room was very weak.

    Lovely building and breakfast was great. Location right in the old town area.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    8.8
    Location, size of room, size and comfort of bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with updating a little...

    Location, size of room, size and comfort of bed

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    8.8
    Amazing location in the heart of Urbino.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Amazing location in the heart of Urbino. Secure parking. Friendly and helpful staff. Wonderful breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    5.4
    Not a 4 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not responsive to requests

    Good breakfast, poor coffee

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    9.6
    Fabulous location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost impossible to find but right in the heart of all you want to see

    Staff very helpful and pleasant

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant not available. Air conditioning not able to be controlled from the room.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    7.9
    A GOOD VALUE MEMORABLE STAY
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    UNDERSTANDING AND CONTROL OF BEDROOM AIR CONDITIONING.

    EXCELLENT LOCATION, HOTEL CAR PARK, BREAKFAST MENU.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    7.5
    The reception staff were very helpful and efficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The reception staff were very helpful and efficient. One of their staff, an lovely lady gave us very useful advices on good restaurants in Urbino, which we enjoyed very much.

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2015

    9.2
    Nice breakfast,eggs made to order.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nice breakfast,eggs made to order. Hotel located close to good restaurants. We parked our car In the beach parking lot walked about one kilometer to the hotel, pretty level walk along the water. Make sure you have only one small bag on wheels. We left the rest in the car three days.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    7.9
    Location on the top of the hill across from the Ducal Palace...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spotty wi-fi. Room was clean, but a bit worn and old looking furnishings. Beds were hard.

    Location on the top of the hill across from the Ducal Palace was wonderful. Staff very friendly and helpful. Very clean. Secure on-site parking.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    7.1
    Hotel is very well located in the center of old town Orbino.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel facilitaties need update and does not give 4-star experience.

    Hotel is very well located in the center of old town Orbino. Large room and tasteful breakfast. Good parking facility.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    7.9
    Location, size of room (we paid for a "business...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi was terrible, staff (except 1 girl) were not friendly. Very expensive considering breakfast was not included.

    Location, size of room (we paid for a "business double"), air conditioning and very good parking. Just steps away from the ducal palace. All rooms open on to a central courtyard and are quiet.

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    10
    The warmth and friendliness of the staff, the luxurious room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not a bad experience, but I think the ancient printer attached to the perfectly acceptable PC should be replaced now!

    The warmth and friendliness of the staff, the luxurious room, the excellent breakfast

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    10
    This is one of my favorite art cities: the hotel is an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    tour groups are noisy

    This is one of my favorite art cities: the hotel is an ex-convent, with a courtyard,a view of superb renaissance bldgs. central location, friendly help…..all good! great recommendation for restaurant "Stella," we went twice!!!!

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    9.6
    Close to our daughter who attends the Urbino University.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi was free but not working in our room so we had to use it in the lobby. no biggey!!

    Close to our daughter who attends the Urbino University. Room was lovely. location great. Parking on site.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    7.5
    Great location/parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Overpriced and out-dated.

    Great location/parking. Helpful and courteous staff.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    9.2
    Great location, friendly and helpful staff, spacious room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, friendly and helpful staff, spacious room and generous breakfast. Also secure parking in a traffic restricted town.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    9.2
    The location is fantastic and the hotel is tranquil and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The location is fantastic and the hotel is tranquil and relaxing. The building is ancient and beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Browse Albergo San Domenico traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: