Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Albergo Terminus 4 stars

Lungo Lario Trieste 14, 22100 Como, Italy

#25 of 29 hotels in Como

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 748 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    6.3
    Pleasant hotel & staff but soured by the unauthorised debit to my credit card as I already prepaid
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They did not take the payment from Booking.com as they should have and preferred to charge me without telling me they had done so. The unauthorised payment is to be returned including the additional charges.

    Better breakfast selection than the hotel in Milan.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.9
    A nice hotel very close to boat terminal and attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot buffet breakfast left too long in heat trays and only Luke warm. Wine and beer expensive.

    The hotel is very centrally located. Room was a little smaller than average but big enough with a beautiful lake view.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.2
    Excellent quiet luxury in the centre of Como.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst I wouldn’t criticise the food, it could have been better and the bar was closed one night when we returned from dinner just after 10pm. The helpful, friendly staff did bring us one simple drink each which we drank in one of the public galleries but i was surprised it had closed so early.

    Excellent, central location, beautifully clean and maintained. Our suite exceeded my expectations and having breakfast (and dinner) on the terrace with a view of the lake was lovely. Also, surprisingly very quiet room. Despite being on a busy road our room was very silent and peaceful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.1
    was a very small room, but I have no choice because it was a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    was a very small room, but I have no choice because it was a busy weekend with the F1 race in Monza. I would have paid for a bigger room if they have one available.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    Lake Como is lovely, relaxing and slower paced. Hotel is quaint and very distinguished.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The last night we were there, outside our hotel room there was entertainment in the community square right in front of a restaurant. This was actually a perk because the gentleman was very talented and we were able to hear right from our room.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Found out it is a family owned with other properties. Exceptional convenient for our needs. Was able to walk to meet our tour for Bellagio as well as the incline for Brunate. Our room included breakfast which was wonderful. It actually exceeded my expectations. Much variety as well as fresh fruits and danish. I wish I could remember the name of the petite staff member. She very sweetly explained about “grandma cake”. Which is apparently a local favorite.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.6
    Best location in Como
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It didn't have a pool but you could go to its sister hotel if you wanted too.

    Location. Right on Piazza Cavour walking distance to Cathedral and furnicular. Rooms very comfortable and breakfast on the terrace lovely. Also has onsite parking but at a fee of €25 A day.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    Como Gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing! We are looking forward to our next stay at the Terminus when we return to Italy.

    Albergo Terminus was OUTSTANDING! From the moment that we arrived, the staff was helpful and professional. We had special needs because my husband requires the use of a walker but the hotel managed all of our requests with aplomb. The front desk staff made reservations for drivers and other things that made the stay special. The restaurant recommendations from the staff were superb!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.8
    Centrally located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The standing shower made of clear glass in the room is totally transparent so it's bit embarrassing to use it when another person is in the room. Perhaps the glass wall can be painted or coated in the middle portion to provide some privacy.

    Centrally located. Lake view. Very nice breakfast. Restaurants nearby. Very close to ferry.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.1
    Position and great restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was small and a little overpriced, however the location made up for this.

    The location and view were fantastic opposite the lake and short walking distance to everything. The breakfast and wait staff were great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.1
    Disappointed with the size and practicality of the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Despite the room being refurbished, it was small.

    The staff was very helpful. The room was small for the price. Top choice for breakfast. Good restaurant. Perfect location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Great Location and Very Spacious
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location was excellent being right next to the square where everything else can be found. We stayed at the Sofia Suite for 3 persons and found it to be very well arranged, the beddings, etc. Very spacious indeed even for 3 adults d the room was very clean. Bathrooms were well lit as we it had a rooftop window. We had our own balcony overlooking the square and a view of Lake Como itself. The breakfast buffet was just enough to keep you going the rest of the day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    Room and bathroom were recently refurbished and were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The superior rooms were advertised as overlooking an internal courtyard. This is not internal to the property but a service road for a variety of restaurants and bars. Noisy with bins, deliveries, glass collection.

    Room and bathroom were recently refurbished and were lovely. Bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.7
    Great location, get onto the lake and enjoy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Italian 4 star (and most 5 star) hotels are always somewhat limited in what they offer and deliver. Small bedrooms, small bathrooms, lack of space and mirrors for getting ready

    Great location, very clean hotel, well maintained - staff were helpful and friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.5
    NICE
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room #500 a superior one this was a room with 2 floors: the bathroom in the entrance and the bedroom itself upstairs- not convenient at all and not suitable for people with mobility problems even though there are curtains - it doesn't block the light completely

    location the lady at the reception - ELENNA was so kind & her service was excellent, she tried to find a table for me in fine restaurants and made so many calls but it was holiday and everything was fully booked - thank you the breakfast was ok and it is nice to eat in the garden infront of the lake

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    The room was amazing, perfect size and huge bed, that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff on reception were a little rude and unhelpful and the breakfast was average, considering what I was paying I don’t expect to have to pay for eggs and bacon

    The room was amazing, perfect size and huge bed, that bathroom was fitted with a jacuzzi bath and the view was simply stunning

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    Excellent position, good breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was too small, and the room was pretty noisy. If the reason for the cost was the fact that most hotel were booked due to a fair, ok, but the room in which I was lodged was not value for money. At least in less busy time that particular room should be sensibly cheaper. The rooms of my colleagues were nice rooms and more or less the same price.

    Excellent position, good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.2
    Clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a music noise on evening but i do not know if it was from outside or inside.

    Location is so nice. Clean and i really like the decoration. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.6
    The bed and pillows was super comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WiFi although free is not reliable and not fast. I would rather pay for a good WiFi than have a poor quality WiFi.

    The bed and pillows was super comfortable. The towels are fluffy and excellent. Everything is clean and the staff are fantastic.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.6
    Thoroughly recommended as a place to stay.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Three of the five rooms I booked didn't have the correct bed combination which meant that some changes had to be made on the spot. Signage to various locations in the hotel could be a little clearer.

    Very friendly staff, accommodating quickly to the changing needs of a large group of colleagues. Made me feel that nothing was a problem. Professional but personal attention with unobtrusive background service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    10
    Excellent location, staff and restaurant.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given a room with a wonderful view as an upgrade. The restaurant is one of my all time magical experiences. The manager was incredibly gracious. The young staff was just wanting to do everything correctly. Without us asked no, they even quickly brought our little dog water In a porcelain jeweled dog dish. The food was the definition of wonderful Italian. Perfect in every way. Thank you.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.1
    The Location was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast - the hotel has some amazing rooms, however the one were breakfast was served was very dissapointing. Aditionally we had to pay 10 Euro's for an omelette, which first of all took over 20 minute to be prepared and on top was very poorly made ( I dont think a cook did it, but rather someone from the staff) - not at al satifying. Paying 20 Euro's for parking while being an hotel guest for one night (we arrived at 7:30pm.. and left the next morning) was also not service orientated. Adding these sums up to our hotel room - the price we paid is too much for what we were given

    The Location was amazing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    7.1
    Amazing breakfast and nice location - Small rooms though
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed and room appear bigger on the pictures, in reality it was very small. I didn't like the entrance to the area of the hotel. It was quite ugly and full of cars. Saturday, around 11pm we, a group of 6 women, arrived back to the hotel and we wanted to have a drink but they didn't want to serve us. All in all it was nice, but we they could have done it a bit more special.

    I loved the breakfast. They had options for those that do not tolerate lactose (they offered lactose free milk) and even fresh fruit salad (juice was not naturally squeezed, it was from a bottle).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    8.8
    Great central location, easy parking, nice sized room (on...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can be a bit pricey for what you get - especially for parking (€25 per night)

    Great central location, easy parking, nice sized room (on this occasion) and great, friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    Very comfortable stay in Como
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Spent 3 nights. Comfortable room, very friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast buffet. Fast internet which is very important these days. Fantastic location on the lake front at Como, and walking distance to both train stations and bus station.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is just in front of the lake and near the train station Como Lago. The decoration is very beautiful and the room is confortable and silent. The staff is very nice, specially in the breakfast room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel, nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a very nice hotel in a great location. Bit annoyed I booked my accommodation about 2 months in advance, but my children ended up in the 'Tower room', and was no where near our room. The breakfast is simple but very good quality. Service at breakfast was excellent. Service and knowledge of the check-in staff was a little average. I was told the bar would not open for 2 hours, but went up there anyway and sure enough it was open.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Sweet boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very hot and couldn't adjust air conditioners Did request a interconnecting room with our kids, they said they never received that request from booking.com They were therefore not near our room

    Across the road from Lake Como Easy walk to train

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.6
    Loved, loved, loved the outdoor terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One of the staff challenged our complaint about the initial room, but the hotel made up for that staff's curt behavior by upgrading us the next day to a larger room.

    The room we were initially booked in had been upgraded but was too small for our tastes. The staff gave us an upgrade the following day free of charge.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.9
    Happy to return again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They try to give us the worst room in the building (room 500),when we refused they said nothing else is available! Only when I ask to cancel the booking ,suddenly they find a good room! Surprise surprise!

    Excellent location,walk to everything ,breakfast was good ,convenient parking . Good restaurant at the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.6
    Very special... felt looked after and the charm of the original fittings made the place unique.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff super lovely. We were on our honeymoon and not only did we get an upgrade but they made dinner reservations and told the restaurant too.... who provided a lovely surprise

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    4.2
    As pretty as it is - do not stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The last night there, the hotel management decided it was ok to have a very loud party in the restaurant with live music. No notice, it went to midnight. They decided that paying guests at the hotel that wanted to sleep were not a priority. It was bad enough that I was refunded a night with little trouble (they kept saying sorry and you are right) Why they did it in the first place is beyond comprehension. (at breakfast the next morning it was a topic of angry conversation amongst the guests)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Hotel was fabulous, beautifully decorated and staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No faults

    Hotel was fabulous, beautifully decorated and staff were excellent..i would happily live here if I could. We also dined at the restaurant food and service were great . I give this hotel 10 out of 10 ..loved it

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.6
    Lived up to its reputation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a smart 4star hotel and lived up to its reputation, excellent position, excellent service from reception and dining room. Car parking a bit pricey at 25euros a day but good safe parking

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.5
    Location perfect base for exploring the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been a little better presented. The room it was served in was not in keeping with the elegance of the rest of the hotel.

    Location perfect base for exploring the lake

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    3.8
    Terrible service, poorly run hotel, overpriced, largely uncomfortable except for the bed itself.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The first room was boiling and looking like a filthy hostel. The stairwell and halls were gross, the staff was rude and unhelpful. I was also tricked into staying here, as Booking promised I could change or cancel it but both Booking and the hotel immediately charged the card and I was stuck no matter what I did. When I needed an eye dr, they said there were none -- in a town on 100,000. They handed me a map to the hospital (I couldn't see). Finally I told them to call another hotel and get names. (They did.) But they didn't lift a finger to help. The room was poorly designed, and there was construction early in the morning and lasting all day -- in high season. I'd never recommend this place to anyone. The food at the restaurant was inedible.

    The second room we were moved to was renovated and clean. The espresso was good and the kitchen staff were extremely nice; so were the bar staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.9
    We enjoyed the restaurant and the view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet was poor in our room

    We enjoyed the restaurant and the view. The hotel was within walking distance to everything. The staff were very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful terrace room overlooking the Lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant quality for dinner and restaurant staff seemed to be the low point of the stay.

    Beautiful terrace room overlooking the Lake. Fantastic breakfast on the terrace and friendly staff and clean facilities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.3
    Atmospheric villa evoking the golden age of Italian Lakes tourism
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The air conditioning in the room was not powerful enough.

    Superb lakeside location, close to the historical centre, the train station and the boats. Beautiful Art Nouveau features. Breakfast served in a lovely courtyard.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    6.3
    With price it should have more
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all the booking says lake view, where as all Delux rooms have partial lake view. There is no full lake view in delux. The building is very old so its renovation be kept more good so it gives a comfortable feel. We stayed in delux rooms and going there till end in 424 room feels not easy and comfortable. The roof gets further down and asditional 8 steps come before that.... which for my elderly father in law was not comfortable. Staff instead of arranging or setting our AC was debating that its all fine.

    Its location is very good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    9.2
    Attractive hotel in central lakeside location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paintwork in rear corridors in need of some maintenance.

    Great location:- central, lakeside, near ferry hub yet set back a little way from road so traffic noise minimised. Lake view from room. Garden area to front for sitting in and watching activity on lake. Attractive art nouveau building and interior.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.8
    Top location and certainly 4 stars worth
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    little room with small french bed

    Very hugh breakfast. Hotel is very well located with a beautifull interior and ciew over the lake. Restaurant at hotel was also very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    7.1
    Great location, misleading booking details
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com indicated breakfast included, so disappointed on arrival to find it was extra. Room mostly clean, but under the bed was very dirty, not what you expect when paying that sort of money

    Great location, staff very professional and helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.6
    Excellent staff; high level of comfort; central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Heated towel racks would have been nice.

    Restaurant is excellent with superb service and pleasant Italian touches like fresh cherries in a bowl of ice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Romantic, relaxing and fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was amazing!

    Fantastic location close to the center of everything with a spectacular view of the lake!! Great shopping and dining all around. Directly across from the pier which made purchasing tickets for boat rides to places like Bellagio so easy and convenient. We stumbled upon a hidden gem while looking for a restroom. Went to the Loft on the top floor of the Coin department store and had the more amazing view of the duomo. We ended up staying there and having dinner because the view was so amazing on the rooftop.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    2.9
    Very bad....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing the same with photos, they gave us a standart room on the first floor but it seems like a room under the ground; we look at the tires of the parking cars from a very small window.The room was so small and very old fashioned..the room was dirty,dusty and moisty...We had a 10 months old baby.The baby cot was dirty and so old that you can see yellow spots on it...And with all this disadvantages, prices are very expensive...I had been in Italy for four times and stayed in many hotels but this hotel is definitely worst of all...

    The location and the breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.1
    The hotel was in an excellent positon, right by the old town...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was the most dismal I have stayed in for a long time, my heart sank when I opened the door; not only was the decor dismal but there was a smell of either old carpet or damp, the curtains wouldn't close properly and the shower was small.

    The hotel was in an excellent positon, right by the old town and by the lake. There was ample parking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    7.1
    Very expensive, even given the great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Deluxe Double Room with internal view
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Rooms were extremely expensive and very small, but comfortable, so therefore the price for the rooms was not commensurate for the location or quality of hotel. I would have expected better £225 a night.

    Reception staff were very helpful and courteous, however the restaurant manager needs to brush up on his interpersonal skills as they were none existent and my wife thought he was very rude!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    8.3
    Very enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff could be a bit more friendly. Wifi was poor.

    Excellent continental breakfast with quality products. Lovely room (junior suite) with nice linens and wonderful views.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location, great staff, good accommodations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid for the room with the lake view; we had a window to the lake, but couldn't exactly see the lake...

    Excellent location, great staff, good accommodations

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    10
    Superb location - wonderful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing really. We loved everything about the Albergo Terminus in Como.

    All the staff - and in particular Beatrix, Sara, Ester, Claudia, Rubel and Grace - were outstandingly helpful, friendly and very professional. Also the location of the hotel - on the edge of Lake Como, near the Duomo and all the other facilities and within an easy walk for the Funicolare to Brunate - made this a superb place to stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    Best hotel in Como.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet wasn't very powerful and kept dropping out in our room.

    Beautiful hotel in the centre on Como. Spacious rooms with a view of the lake and the Piazza. Friendly staff and amazing breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    9.6
    Delightful Albergo Terminus
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Liked it all, but additional seating for relaxing in the garden area in front of the restaurant would be nice.

    The hotel is just over a 5 minute (level ground) walk from the Como Nord Lago Train Station, pretty easy to manage with a suitcase, and is situated very centrally on the Lake with just a road separating it from the shoreline. It is set slightly back from the moderately busy road with the entrance and Reception at Ground Level through a small Car Park/Courtyard (some splendid upmarket cars to see each day in there!) The staff at Reception are friendly and welcoming and soon had us checked in, although our rooms were not ready until around 13:30. It was easy enough to leave them at Reception while we began our initial exploration of the area. We were allocated fabulous spacious rooms on the 3rd floor (there are 2 small elevators, or for the more adventurous, a lovely staircase which leads through a beautiful salon) with great views overlooking the Piazza and Lake-shore, although the former can be a little sociably noisy on an evening as restaurants are situated below. It didn't worry me though and I even slept with the window open some nights. A small hallway leads firstly to a separate large Bathroom (you need long legs to get in and out of the deep bath!) with shower over the bath, a washbasin, toilet and Bidet. A good strength hairdryer too. Then the hall opens into an area with a lovely glass fronted walk-in wardrobe with (usually my biggest bug-bear) an ample supply of hangers and hanging/shelf space and Safe. Wonderful. Then the good sized bedroom with twin beds set together. The crisp fresh bed linen and soft towels were changed every day. Excellent, and refreshingly quiet, air conditioning too if needed although the window shutters, if left closed during the day, kept the rooms nicely cooled without the need to switch the air conditioning on. A small, but lovely, breakfast room on the Ground Floor which opens out into a courtyard (nice if you can fend off the cheeky sparrows from stealing your breadcrumbs).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    8.3
    Nostalgic hotel at a very convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The size of the room and bathroom is small and very tight.

    The decor of the room and the general nostalgic atmosphere of the hotel. Its very good location near the lake promenade, railway terminus and heart of the old town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    4.6
    Despite my misgivings about the hotel, the staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked a "standard double room" thinking it would just be a bit smaller than the other superior rooms. It turns out, they only have standard rooms on the ground floor, situated right next to the car park and entrance outside. I stayed awake the whole night hearing every car door opening and closing and other noises. Moreover, had to keep the curtains completely shut the whole time for privacy as the bathroom was too small to get dressed... The room itself was extremely dated and it looked like the carpets and curtains had not been cleaned / replaced since the hotel was built a few hundred years ago..as such, the room didn't really feel "clean". The bathroom was also quite dated and only allowed for an awkward shower with water spilling all over the floor outside. I do recognise that some rooms are priced cheaper than others which is fair. BUT there should be a minimum standard of convenience offered to every customer. What the hotel markets as a "standard" room belongs to a 2 star hotel. Right opposite our room door was a glass door with construction material dumped outside..it felt like we were living in the old servants quarter of a big townhouse. We did have the option of paying more to upgrade to a "superior" room but wasn't sure how much better that would have been given our initial experience, so decided to cut short our trip and return home a day early to enjoy a good night's rest and a comfortable shower! It's was a shame because Como itself is a beautiful town and I would have loved to explore it more.

    Despite my misgivings about the hotel, the staff were friendly and allowed us to check out a day earlier than originally booked without any hassle, so thank you - it was highly appreciated. Breakfast was basic but good enough.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel on Lake Como
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is it even really a criticism, but there is one small elevator in the hotel. We only use that when we had luggage. Other than that will use the beautiful large staircases from floor to floor.

    Service was great. The hotel is small enough that you got attention from the staff. It is a very quaint old building that has been remodeled with modern conveniences.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.2
    Very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel from the set of Hercule Poirot. Very polite and helpful staff, very good breakfast, clean rooms etc. I will definitely stay in the same hotel again when in Como for the next time.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    4.6
    Shower didn't work adequately.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower didn't work adequately. Sink drain stopper missing after first day. We booked lake view. We don't consider room 205 with a lake view.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    7.1
    Location , every day linen change, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Deluxe Double Room with internal view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a poor breakfast - to charge a child who has just a portion of cereals 25€ is a bit strange, no vanity kits available.

    Location , every day linen change, friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    7.9
    Good, but could be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) The water (a flood) on the floor in the bathroom after having a shower. Possibly to have just a bath without using a shower. 2) The free bottles of water (in plastic) appeared just in last day of our stay. 3) In checkout in the bill were edded 3 bottles of water (in glass) more. I checked the bill and they made a correction, don't know who's this fault, I hope they will find the guilty. It's not too much money more, but it's not acceptably.

    Good room (except the shower), the good interior of a hotel, friendly staff, perfect location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    8.3
    The position of the hotel was central to the main shopping...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The position of the hotel was central to the main shopping precinct and old part of town. It was close ferries and train station. The hotel had an old world feel in accordance with their advertising.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    7.5
    A lovely hotel that could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be charged €25 each for breakfast was poor show, particularly considering the cost of the room. The room was small and there was insufficient room to store our suitcases without them blocking access. The bathroom was small and the door and shower door clashed. Water would run under the shower door and flood the room unless we used a large towel to prevent this happening. Guests were allowed to smoke in the dining area and common parts of the hotel which made it very unpleasant when trying to enjoy our time dining etc.

    We did not use the fitness centre.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    7.9
    A beautiful hotel in the best location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival the staff didn't seem sure what to say to us (perhaps a language barrier) which made us a bit uncomfortable. However we were shown to our room by Samuel I think and he was so lovely and kind. The lady who checked us out was also great.

    Amazing location, breakfast and comfortable bed with beautiful views when facing the lake.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    8.3
    The location is on the lake and near to everything and the parking is available and for free
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rooms need to be re- decorated

    The staff are so helpful and the location, the breakfast options was limited but the taste of everything served was 10 out of 10, I have asked to change my room and directly they changed it for me, so I liked how they treat their clients

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    7.5
    Uneven
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Deluxe Double Room with internal view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The common rooms were gorgeous, elegantly-decorated stuff from a previous age--really stunning. Unfortunately our bedroom was tiny, the breakfast room windowless, and in general though things were done expensively they didn't ncessarily feel comfortable. Our experience with the staff was not great; there always seemed to be one or two staff at the desk whose job was to tell you to wait for the third person who apparently was the only one who could do check-ins, check-outs, etc. An odd system. The check-out was bizarrely slow for this century--we stood around waiting to check out while that special third person stood around waiting for their system to print the receipt for the people checking out before us... who were standing around waiting. Meanwhile the other two people at the desk asked us to stand around and wait. What? Is their billing system a squirrel with an abacus? When my wife tried to hurry things along (in English), Person Three complained about her in Italian to the other guests checking out. An unfortunate moment.

    If you pick a hotel by the bathrooms, it's a go. Spacious, marble rooms with a bidet and shower. Very nice. The building and the setting are mpressive as well; a real feel of "belle epoque" luxury.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.2
    A Quiet, Stylish Hotel to Remember!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfectly located within minutes of the Lake Como ferry to Bellagio. A handsome, once private historic home with palatial decor in the public rooms on the first floor. Rooms are modest but comfortable with all amenities and if you're lucky, book a room facing the lake, splendid to wake up to and also to enjoy in the night light. Short taxi ride to the City Center and recommended restaurants, for wonderful Lombard cuisine. Great value for the price during low season.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    4.2
    The room they gave us was dirty: towels were dirty and the...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room they gave us was dirty: towels were dirty and the bathroom was not cleaned. Later on we found somebody's shoes in the room hidden beside the curtain. At the balcony we found somebody's cigarettes. The staff changed the room with not a single apology. The breakfast was also terrible. For a 4-star hotel it was simply terrible. Would never-never-never recommend this place to anyone.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    An real Italian villa!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First of all the localization of the hotel is perfect - our room had even a partial view of the lake. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. And they have extrusive knowledge about the area and places to go to eat etc. Rooms are specious, done in the old school style that might not be my esthetics but my friend who is into that stuff said she loved it. Breakfast has good variety but I would put on the menu more warm dishes. However it's better choice then most Italian breakfasts.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    8.3
    Perfect location for a week end stay in Como
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More lighting to expose the beautiful interior of the hotel.

    Nice traditional classic hotel in prime location,basically in the heart of town with secure parking facilities and a nice little restaurant with terrace overlooking lake Como. You find the boats opposite the hotel and all shopping facilities, restaurants, etc.. less than 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Staff is friendly and happy to assist. Pictures in website do not do justice to the real feel of the hotel. Will return.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    7.9
    Potentially the best, but feels a bit robbed over small stuff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    25 EUR for a breakfast is ridiculous, especially when you can go out for dinner for less. 25 EUR per day for the car park is even more ridiculous, especially off-season.

    Location is the best. Felt like a boutique hotel, very clean and a great bed.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent hotel !! Very well located right in front of the lake and in one of the main squares of the small town of Como. We paid a bit more to stay in a superior room and the hotel even made another upgrade that put us in room 324, very comfortable room in did. The common areas are beautiful and the staff very cooperative. Thanks to Mattia for the allways present sympathy. Breakfast is quite satisfactory as well. I deffenitly recommend.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    9.6
    Lovely art-decco hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a bit faded, but don't let that put you off

    We loved the location which was really central and also loved the art-decco style and sense of history for the hotel

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    7.5
    Good hotel, good location, good breakfast! But pricey evening meal and rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy outside, hairdryer didn't work, sink plug didn't work. Parts of hotel were looking tired which reflects on the price!

    Breakfast was nice and staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    9.6
    Home in Como
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment - Penthouse
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    Very good location, on the lake and close to the city center. Very helpful staff. We took the 3 bedroom apartment and it was a lovely large apartment will full amenities, well furnished, and delicious breakfast. try the dinner at hotel restaurant we had delicious food there. Thank you to all the staff working at the Hotel Terminus, they were very courteous and helpful and made us feel at home.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    7.9
    Great Place with a Nice Lake View
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 1 night

    Heater was not working or was working at a certain time only (morning at around 8 to 9). It was not enough to warm up the room. So we slept in a very cold room.

    We got a small deluxe room with lake view and the view was very nice. Hotel is clean and receptionist are friendly and helpful. The lady that showed the room to us was not friendly though. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great location. Outdoor terrace with amazing breakfast buffet. Friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Albergo Terminus traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: