Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Albornoz Palace Hotel 4 stars

Viale G. Matteotti, 16, 06049 Spoleto, Italy

#12 of 25 hotels in Spoleto

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 443 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 34

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    3.3
    very disappointed with our experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Drab appearance and decor of hotel and room. No angle on shower made it difficult to stand under. Poor choice for breakfast artificial over-sweetened juice, poor bread selection, poor coffee, dog in restaurant on Sunday morning nearly helping itself to breakfast. Booking based on positive reviews didn't live up to expectation. We weren't surprised that the hotel was almost empty during high season.

    Allowed to check out at 15.00 hours because we were on our way home but this was because there were very few people were staying in hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    6.3
    Spoleto is a very, very nice place to visit. Highly reccommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The waiters are correct but on the other hand very boring. They don't give you a warm welkome feel.

    The City centre is easy to walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.9
    We liked the artistic vibe in this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The leak. Also breakfast was very average for such a plush hotel. For example a narrow choice of bread a yogurt was value brand from a local supermarket.

    We liked the artistic vibe in this hotel. Staff were excellent at helping us with a leaking bidet in the bedroom, but it remained a problem throughout the stay. The desk manager gave us a small discount to recognise the problem which was thoughtful and generous.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast 5 from 10 points

    Nice hotel. Good location near to center old Spoleto city. Could be more En speaking personal at reception. Restaurant could have better service and food. Breakfast could be more

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    7.9
    Totally inexpected. Off the beaten path and certainly lots of interesting art.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water had to be paid for. When the weather is warm it would be nice to have had it available at the front desk.

    Roberto was great. Staff in general very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    8.8
    Front desk personnel extraordinary, always at our disposal...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk personnel extraordinary, always at our disposal with a lot of patience , assisted with travel plans, maps Staff in general was very very good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    10
    Beautiful Experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A wonderful relaxing and inspiring stay in a beautiful location with very friendly staff, super breakfast buffet with great variety of foods. Big calm room with nice view over the city. Excellent free WiFi connection and garage! Hotel recommended! A great choice! I think this is also a great place for couples to get away from everything and relax. We had a very comfortable and fun stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    Eager to come back again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charming and quiet location. Comfortable and Spacey room with a large balcony and great shower, beds and sheets! Large and well-appointed bathroom. Fast Wifi connection that works perfectly! All the staff were wonderful and made sure that I had everything I needed. Including a tasty breakfast with homemade pancakes. Eager to come back again!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    7.1
    Good location to tour Umbria.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    General atmosphere. Most likely great in days with seminars and business meetings but less cosy for vacation. We were alone in the restaurant (but got taken care extremely well by the waiter though telling lots of useful information around food and wine)

    Underground parking.Location close to city centre and some great restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool not very clean and only opened until 18.00

    Breakfast was good value

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Amazing place Spoletto. The 3 subterranean walkways are a stroke of genius & saved tired legs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Restaurant over charge.

    Breakfasts great. Poisition good for entering town Staff exceptional & friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negative comments

    Excellent pool. Helpful staff. Fabulous location in a lovely lovely town. Very good wifi. Safe underground car park

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    Pool temp.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool temp. was 70 F. 21 C said pool thermometer. Was quite cold but I became numb, and then it was okay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.1
    Great place to stay for leisure but challenging if you’re there in business and require strong WiFi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor WiFi connection, very uncomfortable bed, heavy room key

    Location, helpfulness of staff, parking, breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.7
    The staff were quite unfriendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were quite unfriendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    10
    Great location, very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, very helpful staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    very good behavior of the breakfast staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very good behavior of the breakfast staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.3
    Fantastic location to visit beautiful Spoleto
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The decor was a little tired. Breakfast was very nice but it would have been nice to offer coffee refills.

    Location was fantastic

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    8.8
    Very enjoyable in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower head in poor condition

    Cleanliness of the hotel. Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    7.5
    Nice, simple hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice, simple hotel. Breakfast was a little limited. Pillows could be comfier but very good sized triple room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    10
    Professional staff, garage, wide rooms, decoration of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Professional staff, garage, wide rooms, decoration of the interiors, position.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    8.3
    A very different hotel with interesting decor, we would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was poor not much choice and only cold food, the coffee was good.

    The general location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    9.6
    Wonderful view, near road, easy walking to all the great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bar not being open except on request, hotel lacked ambience and character, no suitable reading lights and lighting levels in room generally very poor, sounded like a waterfall inside our bedroom walls when neighbours flushed toilets - right next to our heads when in bed.

    Wonderful view, near road, easy walking to all the great restaurants and bars in the old town centre, secure free hotel parking, nice staff - youngest breakfast waitor with dark brown hair was always welcoming and friendly. Price was fantastic good value.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    9.6
    The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and helped me...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and helped me with my transfer and other reservations as I didn't speak Italian. My room had a beautiful view. Great value

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    9.2
    Location was good, 10 minutes walk from the old town so nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was good, 10 minutes walk from the old town so nice and quiet. Spacious bedroom, very comfortable with lovely mountains view. Breakfast was copious with very helpful staff both at breakfast and on the front desk. Secure parking was an added bonus.

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    10
    The staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only really disconcerting experience was going down to breakfast one morning to find the breakfast room was reserved for teams of Italian footballers. We were obliged to share a table with a team from Verona who were probably as disconcerted as we were. Fortunately one gentleman spoke excellent English so we were able to break the ice and have a conversation. On the following day the dining room was made available to the other guests.The other disconcerting incident was our realization that a school party of Italian teenagers had booked in. Fortunately they were confined to the bottom two floors and they did not disturb us. Towards the end of our stay the garage became rather cramped but there was an overspill secure parking lot.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel was spacious with unusual décor. Our room was large with a balcony and had two easy chairs. There was a kettle so we could make a hot drink.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    9.6
    The attention to detail everywhere The...
    • Couple

    I did have a bad experience but it was nothing to do with the hotel !!!

    The attention to detail everywhere The "unexpectnes" of 'little' things......delightful surprises wherever you looked.....

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    10
    The modern look and art displays coupled with friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The modern look and art displays coupled with friendly efficient service. Great location just off motorway and a short walk to walled town

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    10
    The art in hotel is brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The art in hotel is brilliant

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    7.1
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast, facilities for dinner

    Staff

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    7.9
    Location, free parking, room size, breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Extremely small TV and many details not at a 4star level (regarding furniture, facilities, services, ecc)

    Location, free parking, room size, breakfast

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    9.2
    The property interior design is beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    More service required for breakfast

    The property interior design is beautiful

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    9.2
    Comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfortable room Friendly staff Good food

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    9.2
    Friendly helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything good

    Friendly helpful staff

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34

Browse Albornoz Palace Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: