Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Al Cappello Rosso 4 stars

Via de' Fusari, 9, 40123 Bologna, Italy

#6 of 99 hotels in Bologna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 792 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    9.6
    La Dolce Vita in Bologna!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    n/a

    Location was excellent - a two minute walk to Piazza Maggiore. Staff were friendly and helpful on all occasions. Hotel style is boutique in a quirky way with each room individually decorated. Facilities are designed to make you feel at home - comfy sofas in seating area, hot beverage machine, delicious cold water dispenser, biscuits (cookies) and homemade cakes available.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant location with lots of great restaurants and bars nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you're taking an early morning taxi from the hotel make sure to leave 15 minutes or so as their system seems to only allow them to call one taxi at a time! Taxi rank nearby if there is a real problem.

    Very comfortable hotel - a little quirky but that's fine. Nice pillow menu.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    7.5
    Good location and relative ok establishment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There were to many stairs in the apartment which could cause a safety issue. The kitchen could have been better designed and given the price of the room breakfast should have been included.

    We booked an apartment which had plenty of room, you could open the windows to provide fresh air, there were two bath rooms, the coffee pod selection was good, the soft drinks in the fridge were free was and there was a lift.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    10
    Very clean, comfortable hotel and staff are outstanding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NA

    Everything is exceptional. The location is ideal to the center of the city. It's very comfortable, very well maintained and a part of the Italian experience. The breakfast in the morning have lots of choices and wines were exceptional.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    8.8
    Memorable first time in Bologna!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real information provided about the facilities or the hotel in general, just how to get in and out, would have liked a bit more detail or perhaps a brochure outlining all the benefits of staying in the hotel so that we could read in our own time. Things like bike rental and room service which may or may not be offered but we would still have liked some info!

    Nice spacious rooms, great air conditioning and Smart TV in our upstairs bedroom which meant we could watch Netflix. Hopefully this will become standard! Great location and proximity to everything!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Wonderful apartments in central Bologna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel upgraded us to a larger apartment. It was beautifuly decorated with great facilities. Even though we were right in the central part of Bologna the apartment was very soundproof (to the extent that you couldn't hear a thing outside), the blackout shutters meant it was also very dark, and the air-conditioning worked superbly. The result was that we slept incredibly well, and perfectly refreshed to walk the streets of Bolgna.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    5.0
    Good value but somewhat quirky and not up-to 4 star rating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inability to regulate air conditioning from room so that we woke at 2am almost frozen with cold and then could not turn it off. It turned out that only reception can control the a/c Better more fun and cheaper to breakfast at local cafe in the Piazza de Celestini

    Central Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Fantastic central hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I dined twice at the hotel restaurant and found it disappointing which is a shame as the hotel is so good and Bologna is renowned for its food - the markets are full of wonderful fresh meat, fish, fruit and veg. Not taking any points off though as there are lots of restaurants nearby - and an excellent trattoria round the corner in Via Battibeco.

    Lovely hotel and very friendly attentive staff. Beds and pillows (you can choose from 7 different pillow types) very comfortable and rooms delightful. I would definitely stay there again and highly recommend it for a city break - so nice to have the rooms cleaned early so that one can pop back for a mid-morning rest after some sight-seeing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    Unique boutique hotel with top-notch service
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The ladies who were with me mentioned they should have arrived at breakfast earlier since the choices were low closer to the finishing time. However, they still were able to eat something for breakfast.

    Upon arrival, we were greeted by professional, friendly staff. This is a unique, conveniently located and comfortable boutique hotel. I was blown away after I learned that they also offer 6 rooms catering to female travelers. From a silk kimono robe to a weight scale to skirt hangers, it was an added treat. They have so many other special amenities and touches too. Only a very short walk to Piazza Maggiore too! I'll definitely be returning to such a great hotel that exceeded my expectations!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.9
    Clean but ordinary.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very off-hand breakfast staff, limited breakfast choice, ignored by manager, mixed decor. In sum, a clean hotel in a good location which cannot quite decide what it wants to be and is expensive for what it is.

    Cleanliness, friendliness of reception staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Location excellent with easy access to major sites, restaurants and shops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant tried to sell us a very poor bottle of wine and when just a little later we decided to reject it for another changed us for both. Tried to take advantage of the tourists!

    Location, reception staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    You can‘t beat the location as it is right around the corner...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    During our stay we didn‘t come across anything that we missed or didn‘t like.

    You can‘t beat the location as it is right around the corner from piazza maggiore. Loved the art in the building and the room, which made the place really unique. The rooms were cozy but did the job for our stay and the bathrooms had all the amenities we needed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.3
    Hotel had one of the best position in the city just steps...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet in Hotel was not working during 2 days of our stay ( not working at all ) and staff was not at all preoccupied about it . It was obviously that internet in Hotel office was working, but for clients it was dead . Traveling a lot and all around the word it was first Hotel ( not in the mountains or remote island, but in the center of big city ) in some years with completely no internet available during 48 hours .

    Hotel had one of the best position in the city just steps from main attractions and restaurants.Room is average size ( can be bigger for 4 * but ok for us Very comfortable and secure private parking of Hotel - expensive but really secure

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    A very nice hotel, with great staff in perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The location, right in the heart of the historic centre, is absolutely perfect for exploring all the major attractions of beautiful Bologna. We had arrived by train from Rome, and were very glad we didn't have to deal with driving into the centre, negotiating a maze of little medieval one-way streets. It is a very walkable city, and a car would be a liability. The staff were very pleasant, and particularly efficient. We asked at the last minute for a large car or van to take the 4 of us (suitable for 4 adults with luggage) to Bologna airport on our check-out day as we were picking up a rental car there. This request was speedily arranged with no fuss. The front desk staff were very good at suggesting many things to visit, having first asked what we were interested in, and enquired at the end of each day what we'd seen, what we thought and if we'd enjoyed ourselves. A very comfortable hotel, with excellent breakfast. Our rooms were quiet, nice bathroom, well equipped & with good lighting for a change! The WiFi dropped out for a while on our last day for no apparent reason, but it wasn't a real problem.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.6
    Room was amazing .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Internet was down during our stay 2. staff at front desk whilst helpful, were sometimes a little unfriendly

    Room was amazing . Well decorated , modern and comfortable cafe / breakfast next door was superb.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.1
    The location was very good and the staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The airconditioning was complicated...too hot or too cold which made for a poor night's sleep.

    The location was very good and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I can not say any single negative word about this property. Only Bravo to the mind who established this hotel with all this excellent design , service and staff.

    The apartment was excellent. The location was excellent , right in the heart of historic center. Extremely clean. Very quiet even being in the center of the town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.5
    VERY GOOD LOCATION!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Its location is excellent, right in the center of all the attractions of the city of Bologna. The breakfast is good and the staff very kind. Although the room is very small, it is comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    A perfect hotel for a lovely short break
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved it all. Nothing negative

    Loved everything on arrival. The staff so helpful on arrival and we had an upgrade to a lovely room. Everywhere spotless, can’t praise high enough.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    we would go back but would probably opt to stay in the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartments are located in a building around the corner above retail. After hours, the courtyard was a bit dark and isolated. There was an espresso maker in the kitchen but no coffee pods for it- odd that Nescafe instant coffee was supplied in a city with such great coffee options! We had breakfast in the hotel restaurant. It was disappointing: uninteresting buffet with limited a la carte options, poor service, expensive. We did not go back.

    Fabulous historic location, very helpful, friendly staff. Our apartment was well equipped, spacious and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Exactly what we needed in Bologna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    This hotel was great, beautifully situated in Bologna, very central, beds and rooms comfortable, staff very helpful and breakfasts great. In addition the restaurant is open at night and has a great traditional menu. I previously reviewed this hotel incorrectly, received so many requests for reviews from booking.com on my return from the trip that they got mixed up. Sorry Al Capello Rosso, you were great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    Location, location. Staff at reception very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had dinner in the hotel restaurant on the first night. Don’t bother extremely disappointing.

    The location is excellent + room size very good + well appointed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful, family-run hotel in a beautiful seaside town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small points, I found the room a little light at night and had to fiddle with the airconditioning a lot to get the room cool enough. Although the room has a bar fridge it is not stocked, which was not a problem but perhaps this should be made clear in information on the hotel.

    We really enjoyed this hotel, staff were wonderful special mention to Vivianne on reception who was full of helpful information and sightseeing tips. We had drinks every evening downstairs, a lovely touch was the beautifully prepared and tasty canapes, thank you to those staff and I'm sorry I don't know all your names! Breakfasts were fabulous, good selection and great coffee. The hotel is in a great situation, easy walking distance to the centre, pretty gardens and beautifully appointed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location, beautiful staff and a great value stay make this a top choice in Bologna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception was super friendly, readily provided recommendations for restaurants and we felt anything we needed during our stay would be accommodated in a friendly manner. Parking our car (which we'd reserved ahead of time) was relatively painless given the narrow streets and limited options available. With a superb location, beautiful staff, if we were to return to Bologna (which we'd certainly love to!) we'd easily return to this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    Very nice hotel with a perfect location (quiet and very close to everything)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to complain about

    Fantastic location (quiet and close to everything). Interesting theme decorations of the rooms (they differ a lot). Very good bathrooms. Helpful staff etc etc. In short they deliver on every point. Breakfast is good for being in Italy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Perfect location and spacious modernly equipped apartments.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    n/a

    We stayed in two comfortable apartments in the next building from the hotel itself and just around the corner from Neptune fountain and Piazza Del Duomo. Location was perfect and our stay was wonderful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Supurb Customer Service. Great Locatiy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!

    From the moment we arrived we were greeted with friendly and helpful staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Superb customer service. The Location was excellent and very near to the centre, although at times could be a little noisy. The room was spotless and attention to detail. Would most definitely recommend

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful surprize for our last night in Italy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    I emailed explaining we were driving in & what time we would arrive. The front desk explaining I had not requested parking, so they would add. We absolutely loved the hotel - location was fabulous, good breakfast and everyone was so helpful & friendly. Great stay!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable and clean rooms, high attention to details
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    a bit noisy from the nearby buildings but this is to be expected with old buildings in the city center (ear plugs were provided in the room should you need them)

    excellent location right in the heart of the city very clean room with all amenities, including all toiletries needed should you decide to travel light good breakfast staff was very polite and helpful daily chocolates on the bed were a nice touch

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    Very convenient central location and very comortable despite quirky room decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No room with a bath available on the first night we stayed. Then moved to a much better room.

    Excellent location, helpful staff tea making facilities in room and good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.6
    Culture supporting Hotel in the heart of Bologna
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were no vegetables for breakfast.

    The room was full of comics made by some BilBolBul artists and there is a book crossing in the hotel, so you can find a lot of books on every level. This among the most culture-supportive hotels I have ever been.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    6.3
    Great location - hotel and staff dissappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bar not open at night Staff not welcoming or friendly with one exception Decor in room (Cheap), carboard boxes very arty but definately not to our taste

    Good Breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    8.8
    Relaxed and comfortable .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a toothbrush but I think they should add a toothbrush and toothpaste in place of some of the other barroom toiletries.....the extra tissues are not as necessary.

    The hotel was super stylish and cosy for a cold January.....the location was perfect to get around Bologno.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing to complain about this hotel

    Excellent location, beatiful and comfortable rooms, excellent bathroom for a size of this hotel, very pleasant breakfast cafe setting and rich breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.2
    Great location, just can not be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked the garage place in the hotel via Booking.com (sent the reminder twice) but they did not pass the request to the hotel, luckily the garage was still available as we were only staying one night. No glasses in the room.

    Great location, just can not be better. Rooms are very stylish with high seilings (while rather small in size). Very comfortable bed and all required facilities are available in the bathroom.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Perfect location and lovely hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was lovely!

    Very comfortable stay in a lovely room. Hotel was in a great location, by the Piazza Maggiore in Bologna. We organised a taxi to take us to the hotel from the airport with reception via email, which was also excellent and very convenient as we arrived at night.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    7.5
    Great hotel. Snobby staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was extremely snobby! They were not helpful and all. Every time we asked a question or needed anything, we were treated like it was an imposition for them to take the time to answer.

    The room and location were great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful location, wonderful staff!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaners came into room whilst we were in breakfast so we had to ask them to let us in to get our stuff for the day.

    Staff really kind and friendly, great atmosphere.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.9
    Clean, centrally located hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel should invest in better windows - you can definitely hear the noise in the streets and we couldn't fall asleep until the restaurant next to the hotel had finally closed and the people had gone home. It was like being in the bar! We asked to change rooms and we could with no problem, but the second room we were given had exactly the same problem!

    Clean, centrally located hotel. Friendly, helpful staff. Smallish rooms, but comfortable bed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    10
    This is my second stay in this hotel in the same year, and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unlike on my previous visit in spring, really nothing this time. The room and service were truly perfect.

    This is my second stay in this hotel in the same year, and the experience is incomparably better than first. As a returning client in a low season, I was upgraded to a perfectly spacious, impeccably quiet and cozy room, that looks inside the internal yard instead of the outside street, like my - quite noisy - room on the previous visit. The reception staff was very helpful and kind this time, especially the lady who arranged both the check-in and the check-out in a most professional and elegant way. An extra-10EUR breakfast might haven't been luxurious, but was entirely decent in choice and quality served in a pleasant room. A bit unusual but cool design inside the rooms shining with cleanness, stylish corridors with bookshelves, amazing bed and pillows, nice coach, great lighting and heating, a tiny but pretty balcony with a table and chairs, perfect bathroom with a generous number of shower items, cozy bathrobe and slippers, and even...scales to measure weight have all left a very pleasant impression and the best guarantee that I will stay here on my next visit. Again thanks to the hotel staff for the generous upgrade and impeccable service!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Would definitely recommend this hotel, very central location with great shops and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The decor is individual to each room and this quirkiness extends to the hotel foyer which is lovely. I liked having the multi lingual editions of Vogue to peruse at my leisure and the large bowls of delicious liquorice sweets. The breakfast bar was pleasant and we popped in for a coffee and pastry most mornings which we paid for at the till while other guests preferred a larger meal and had obviously booked bed and breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.6
    Great location, helpful staff, and quirky, whimsical rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints at all!

    Great location, helpful staff, and quirky, whimsical rooms. We had the comedy room, filled with cartoon drawings that were fun to look at. Though small, the room was well-appointed, the bed comfortable and the bathroom luxurious. We would absolutely stay here again!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    Would definitely recommend this hotel and have done so already. Book it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location. Loved the uniqueness of the rooms. Excellent choice at breakfast. Nice to have robe and slippers provided. Clean sheets and towels daily.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.3
    Great place to base yourself in beautiful Bologna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a nice room but view of a brick wall. At least is was a historic brick wall!

    Great location and friendly hotel. Rooms are nicely done by different artists.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful & Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    We chose not to have breakfast at the hotel but outside. Hotel was in a great location - very central. Room was perfect, bathroom well equipped with beautiful bathroom accessories ie the shampoo & conditioner & the facial cleanser were amazing. Staff were friendly & assisted us with information we required. Cleaner was a wonderful lady (I accidentally bumped into her when i needed to go back to my hotel room to get something) Restaurant staff were wonderful & friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.3
    Location is perfect but overall could have been better for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The original apartment that we were assigned to was not good. We had to move. One female member of the staff was not pleasant to deal with after we spoke to the manager First impressions during check in to the hotel is not so nice

    The manager was excellent and did his best to rectify our original problems The location is excellent We loved Bologna!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Unique & Beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My husband & I made sure Bologna was on our list of cities to visit for our trip to Italy; not only for their amazing food but to also visit some Museums (Ferrari & Lamborghini). The location of the hotel is amazing. We only took a taxi to and from the train station (including when we visited the museums), everything else is within walking distance of the hotel. Rooms are extra clean, new and uniquely beautiful, bathroom & all. We will definitely stay here again if we visit Bologna in the future.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.2
    We enjoyed our stay and would book again if traveling to Bologna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good.

    Excellent location. Room and facilities very comfortable. Staff gave good maps and an informational book about the area. You do need to book a taxi if arriving by train.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.3
    Staff were very friendly and accommodating and the overall...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were very friendly and accommodating and the overall decor was fresh and nicely done. Location is fantastic... right off the main plaza and near many restaurants/sights. The room, tho small, was comfortably appointed. Howevever, the air conditioning had already been turned off for the season so we had to open windows to get a breeze. This would have been fine (the weather was wonderful) except that our quiet-seeming street turned out to be incredibly noisy as late as 2am, due to the presnce of nearby cafes and bars. Given that we had to leave at 4:30am for a flight, (and to be able to exit the center of town before the Pope's arrival) we got virtually no rest. Shutting the windows helped a bit, but the streets echo all sound. My other pet peeve (as with many hotel) bathrooms is having a bath/shower combo. This tub/shower had particularly high sides to it (in part to accommodate the glassed in shower portion) and it was a VERY tight fit next to the toilet. I am fit yet had difficulty getting in and in fact, banged my leg on the sharp edge of the tub., cutting my leg and giving me a gigantic bruise.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.3
    Staff were very friendly and accommodating and the overall...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were very friendly and accommodating and the overall decor was fresh and nicely done. Location is fantastic... right off the main plaza and near many restaurants/sights. The room, tho small, was comfortably appointed. Howevever, the air conditioning had already been turned off for the season so we had to open windows to get a breeze. This would have been fine (the weather was wonderful) except that our quiet-seeming street turned out to be incredibly noisy as late as 2am, due to the presnce of nearby cafes and bars. Given that we had to leave at 4:30am for a flight, (and to be able to exit the center of town before the Pope's arrival) we got virtually no rest. Shutting the windows helped a bit, but the streets echo all sound. My other pet peeve (as with many hotel) bathrooms is having a bath/shower combo. This tub/shower had particularly high sides to it (in part to accommodate the glassed in shower portion) and it was a VERY tight fit next to the toilet. I am fit yet had difficulty getting in and in fact, banged my leg on the sharp edge of the tub., cutting my leg and giving me a gigantic bruise.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Excellent weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The apartments were superbly equipped and spotlessly clean. They are situated in the middle of the city centre and just a few yards from the main square

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    4.2
    Do not book the apartments
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked three apartments on the basis of their website photos and reviews The apartments are NOTHING like the hotel The apartments were situated along the street but not together Two were in one block and the other in another block When I asked if we could be together the the reception staff were not interested in helping at all To enter our apartment you had to walk through a smoking area of a cafe. Inside the block it was smelly and dark as the light switch can not be found easily The lift was old small and dirty The apartment was basic with dated decor The air con was so loud that we could not keep it on There was no long mirror and the bathroom bin was broken The cafe noise could be heard till late and the smoke could be smelt in the room The rubbish bins were put out at 6am with all the noise associated with opening the cafe below The next day I complained to the manager that the apartments were nothing like the hotel rooms decor but he was not interested The whole experience was very very disappointing

    The location was very near to the centre of the town

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    8.3
    Amazing city, completely bamboozled by all the art, culture, visual colours and 50% sales.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedroom was a little cramped but to be expected for the price of the accommodation. It was the main Italian summer holiday period (2 weeks in August) so the hotel's kitchen was only open for breakfast so there was no evening dinning in the hotel. (This was not a problem for us personally)

    Wonderful location very close to all the main tourist attractions.. for the cost and the excellent location I would definitely recommend this hotel. The staff were very friendly and had good English. The breakfast was from 7 to 11 am which was a bonus. It was a good time (24th-26 August) to be in Bologna as there were 50% sales in most stores. So we did some damage!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    A real masterpiece in the heart of Florence, in line wit the image of the city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Elevator : although a work of art (2nd oldest in Florence), it is less practical.

    The decoration, the furniture, the spaciousness, the service, the location of the hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    9.2
    Great short break location in Bologna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing springs to mind although some of the arty decor may not suit everyone.

    Great location a few steps from Piazza Maggiore, local restaurants and most city Centre attractions. Hotel staff were extremely efficient, friendly and helpful. Airport was only 15 minutes away and reasonable fare at under 20 euro. Air con in the room was very efficient which was a god send in 35 degrees heat. Bed was very comfortable and a nice touch was the pillow menu allowing you to choose from a variety of pillows.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    9.2
    This is a very good hotel with all the facilities you might...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of anything.

    This is a very good hotel with all the facilities you might want and some small but very useful extras. The location is excellent, a 2 minute walk to the Piazza Maggiore. We found the free city guide helpful and enjoyed the breakfast 'restaurant'.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    Very cool place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We reserved two standard rooms and were thrilled that both turned out to be uniquely decorated Bilbolbul rooms. Beds were super comfortable and the rooms were clean and quiet. Location was truly perfect - right in the center of town. Easy walking distance to all the places we wanted to see, plus free bikes available which we took out one day for a longer ride around town. Breakfast at the restaurant was very good. We loved just sitting in the lobby and enjoying the books and magazines, as well as free coffee. The hotel staff were very helpful and gave us great recommendations for restaurants and things to see. Would definitely return.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    A great stay in Bologna and a lovely hotel to rest up in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I know the hotel was in the centre of the city, but I would have hoped breakfast would have been included in the room rate. Breakfast was 10 euro per person but there are lots of cafes within 10 minutes walk from the hotel where you can get coffee and a croissant for about 3 euro.

    The hotel is only a one minute walk to the main Piazza and two minutes to the main shopping streets. In spite of that it was really quiet at night. Nice extras - free coffee and cake. Room was lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful position, lovely hotel with very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant attached to the hotel was not good but the there are many eating places in the area that are good.

    We were upgraded which was a lovely surprise. Our room had an artistically themed décor, very cleverly designed using cardboard boxes! It was beautiful, very comfortable and I would highly recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.6
    A little gem like Alice's wonderland hidden behind a green door.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps another comfy chair in the kitchen/diner.

    Apartment away from hotel but a fabulous space to explore the local area. Two floors of excellant accommodation. Both with own bathroom/ shower rooms. A lovely place to head back to after a long day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.6
    Every visit has been fantastic - a GREAT hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cash desk should be open at all times. I was unable to pay for the room at night as I wanted to make an early exit in the morning and avoid any queuing etc.

    This was our third visit and as always the staff were friendly, the room was pristine, and the location is fantastic everything within walking distance of all attractions and eateries. Wouldn't think of staying anywhere else!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    8.8
    Good central location a few minutes walk from Piazza Maggiore
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Annex apartment: coffee pods, fridge stocked with non alcoholic drinks i.e. various juices, tonic water, bottles of water, replenished each day. Good aircon once set properly. Not advised prior to visit only realised it was inclusive at point of departure ??

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    An unexpected hidden gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The rooms were a good size and well appointed. Reception staff excellent. The Osteria which is part of Hotel Al Coppelo Rosso was a an authentic Osteria with simple food highlighting good quality produce. Loved it. Location of hotel is excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    8.3
    Perfect place to stay in Bologna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Hard to think of anything I didn't like

    Good air con, nice sized room, helpful reception staff. Brilliantly placed for seeing Bologna and eating out.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    Excellent weekend break venue
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very little

    Great hotel in an excellent quiet location. Spotlessly clean and very friendly staff who made every effort to make our three nights stay a pleasure.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    Would love to go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked it all

    The apartment was designed with clever use of space. It was equipped with high standard, modern appliances and furnishings. It was was centrally located, clean and had excellent wifi. The staff were very friendly and well informed of the area and restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    8.8
    Amazing location with comfortable rooms having truly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, we had a very nice stay

    Amazing location with comfortable rooms having truly exception air conditioning! Staff were polite and the breakfast was wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    8.3
    Quick stop in Bologna. Nice and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It wasn't obvious to us that we had to reserve parking ahead. We did find street parking in the end.

    Great location, just off the main plaza but in a small alley so very nice and quiet at night.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    9.2
    Fabulous location and comfortable rooms, we were absolutely...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    One particular receptionist wasn't very helpful when we asked foe the best sightseeing and said we should have done our research! Was quite surprised by that

    Fabulous location and comfortable rooms, we were absolutely delighted.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.8
    The staff were extremely helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was a little noisy until midnight - but it was fine and it is a city centre location and it was Saturday so it's to be expected.

    The staff were extremely helpful. The location is excellent for visiting central Bologna. The bathroom was very clean and the bed comfortable. There was free tea and coffee in the room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location and well run hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We didn't take breakfast as buffet looked limited.

    Well equipped room and helpful reception staff who voluntarily gave us a lot of local tourist information.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Must be the best in Bologna in this price category!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    NOTHING, although some people might be irritated by the fact that the TV channels are only Italian and that the breakfast buffet sometimes took some time to be replenished. Also, there was some street noise but that didn't bother us at all.

    EVERYTHING! Location is top!! Personnel friendly and helpful. All kinds of small extras (coffee/tea facilities in room, coffee machine in lobby, cosy setting, fresh cappuccino or other at breakfast, free bookmarks in lobby, complimentary water in lobby,....). Bathroom was one of the best I have ever encountered: not very big but really well appointed. I'm sure it would be hard to find a better hotel/location in Bologna.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    10
    Great hotel, great location, great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing!

    Hotel was spotlessly clean and well maintained. Staff were friendly, helpful and professional. The location couldn't have been better; a two-minute walk to Piazza Maggiore, surrounded by lovely cafes and restaurants, lots of unique shops, and within walking distance of so many sites. This is a boutique hotel that offers everything at a reasonable price. We would not hesitate to stay there the next time we are in Bologna.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful boutique hotel in the heart of Bologna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They could have better coffee and some complementary water wouldn't harm :)

    The location is great. This was a really cute hotel. The decor was witty and funny. All the rooms have different themes what makes them kind of uinque and speacial. Really great bed, bed sheets and bath robes. The room was very spacious and had super high ceilings. Super luxurious bathing products from Etro. Good and complete breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    10
    A dream fulfilled.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The downside of a city centre hotel is the intrusive traffic noise, this hotel was far better than most as the location is on a side street, but the roller gates on the car park of the Hotel Roma opposite are very intrusive in the middle of the night. A spot of oil and grease would not go amiss.

    Huge bed, great choice of pillows, very clean, good restaurant with friendly relaxed ambience, brilliant location to access the medieval centre in a few minutes.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Al Cappello Rosso traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: