Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hotel Alcyone This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Calle Dei Fabbri 4712, San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy

#290 of 310 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 2466 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    4.4

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    3.3
    Do not choose payment on arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Dusty and small room - Bloody sheet - Breakfast was ok, however their coffee service is not available for some guests while available for other guests not sure what's the difference. Conflicting. - We had chosen this hotel just for payment on arrival and settled for a price for an additional 20€. However 4 days before the stay they tried to charge full stay price without us knowing. After bank declining, they threatened us with cancellation saying that "promotion" is only available for a limited time. Very frustrating.

    + Location, close to Rialto.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    7.9
    Great location and convenient for all areas of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The reception area was quite basic. It is staffed 24 hours a day and were efficient. Limited space to sit and relax. However, there are so many bars nearby that was not really necessary.

    The hotel is in a very convenient area and you can get to all the main areas of Venice easily by foot. The room was very nice, quite large (we did pay for an upgrade) which was worthwhile with a canal view and indeed the canal was interesting, watching the gondolas go by and indeed with some musical entertainment at times. The breakfasts were continental buffet style and were adequate. The waitress (only one) got a bit hassled at times as she had quite a lot to do. Nice coffee. The cakes were nice.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2018

    5.8
    We would visit Venice again but would not stay at this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The roomwas very small and cramped. The coffee machine at breakfast was not working properly although the staff did use the machine at the bar to make fresh coffee. The room was so small there was nowhere to relax after a tiring day .The wi if would not connect

    The location was great.easy to access from the water bus

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    7.5
    Good location, close to landmarks. Easy to find your way back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The AC did not work. It just blew hot air. To me that's bad. But I only was there for one night so I just took it without complaining.

    The location was excellent. The complimentary breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    9.2
    Great value and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overall, we were pleased with our stay. Understanding the rooms are small wasn't an issue but the shower did surprise us. It's so small that it's hard to move around and we ended up with water all over the floor because the seal on the door wasn't adequate. If wifi would have been offered throughout the hotel it would have been helpful, but it wasn't a big deal as we spent so little time in the hotel. We were out enjoying the city, not worrying about luxury accommodations.

    The hotel staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. The cleanliness of the property was amazing. We never had to ask for anything and the room was always cleaned promptly. The location of the property was perfect. We had read some of the reviews prior to our stay and after experiencing the property we were very pleased. We didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel as we were more interested in exploring the amazing city. The hotel was definitely worth the price.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    5.4
    Great location, but there are tradeoffs...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No elevator and lots of stairs to get to our room. This didn't go over well with my elderly parents. Additionally, they left after us and the front desk argued about getting someone to help them carry their bags down from their room. The room was small but doable. The bathroom....well let's say I've seen bigger ones in travel trailers.

    The location was outstsnding! Easy access from the Rialto vaporetto dock and just a short walk to San Marco Piazza. Lots of good restaurants along the way. The HA wasn't all bad... though my elderly parents struggled over the luggage issue, I found them helpful and accommodating. The room was reasonably clean, though my wife is more the stickler for details. Honestly, I don't think you can be the price for the location. In the end I'd give it 3 out 5 stars.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    7.5
    We loved it and would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything was great. Maybe the evening clerks could have been more helpful, but everyone was wonderful.

    Hotels in Venice are usually small. this one used the space well.It was clean and we loved where it was located. We were in the center close to Rialto, so everything was within a 20 minutes walk for us.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    6.3
    Close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower too small. No shampoo and shower gel supplied. No fridge. Noisy rooms. Could hear other people upstairs and outside. Internet slow and only worked in lounge area downstairs.

    Close to everything.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    5.0
    If you decide to stay in this hotel, opt for a canal room for a truly Venice experience
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No lift and steep stairs - very glad that we were only on the first floor. No help available with suitcases etc. Mostly unhelpful receptionists, except for one and I wish we had taken note of her name, so she could be applauded. Not always space in the breakfast room, we once had to eat breakfast on our knees in the 'wifi' space. Wifi only available in limited areas and dropped out frequently.

    The only thing that make our stay in this hotel a good experience was the fact that we opted for a canal room. The fun and joy of hearing the constant action and the music and singing gondoliers on the canal below our window allowed us to ignore all the problems we found with the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    7.5
    Generally good staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Security for left luggage was lacking. When we thought something was missing one of the staff members was very unhelpful and obstructionist

    Generally good staff. Great location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    4.2
    Lumpy bed, tiny rooms, un-generous breakfast - disappointing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very uncomfortable bed - We had let the hotel know this was our honeymoon so we were hoping for a nice room but we got a tiny room on the first night which was like a cupboard. We complained so they moved us to a slightly better room which at least had a window. It had two single beds pushed together with a mattress which were lopsided and lumpy - very uncomfortable and my back hurt each morning after sleeping on it. No lift for luggage. The breakfast was poor and lacking so we ended up going out each day for a decent breakfast instead. The only thing we could eat was the croissants - other than that it seemed to be the same bowls of cereal brought out each day plus a few slices of cheese and salami and some stale looking cake. No fresh fruit or fresh fruit juice. Wifi only works in reception and not in the rooms. Our bathroom had mould. No iron or ironing board in the room. No tea, coffee or water available in the room. We were obviously felt dissapointed with all this when we arrived and I asked the lady on reception "is this really your welcome for people on honeymoon?!" she then gave us a bottle of prosecco which we thought was a honeymoon gift / gesture but they charged us for it on departure! In our opinion this is a 2 star hotel and the only good thing about it was the location. Also be aware even if your booking is pay on arrival they may try to take may try to take the full amount as a pre-authoriation before you arrive which they tried to do to us. I had to call Italy from England costing me more money... to try and sort it out. In they end they took 50% of the cost as pre-authorisation which was not ideal. Receptionists were friendly at least and would say good day and goodbye as you walked past - a small nice thing perhaps but at least something!

    The only thing to like about this property is the location - 3 minutes from Rialto Bridge.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    4.6
    Good location but hotel not value for money at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No WiFi in the room, bed and pillows very uncomfortable, bathroom tiny. No lift so we had to carry cases to third floor, hotel does not look like it does in the pictures.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2018

    7.9
    Hotel was in a great location only 5 minute walk to St Marks...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No lift(although we knew this when booking) , lucky for us we were on 1St floor. Handprints on the red ceiling need cleaning off. Wi fi only worked in small area downstairs but again this was expected from reading previous reviews. Very small rooms but then we were out all day and again expected this too.

    Hotel was in a great location only 5 minute walk to St Marks square and Rialto bridge. Staff were friendly. Room was small,but clean and very Venetian( all RED). Breakfast was plentiful although no variety for a five night stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2018

    6.3
    It is what it is. Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was no good and there is an odd smell in the hotel. Wifi only in lobby.

    Location is fantastic. Room is typical Venetian style and overall is value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    6.7
    Could have been a little bigger and modernize the decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The price was a bit high. No Wi Fi in room, only in reception area. The shower door did not work properly.

    Location was fantastic. It was clean and tidy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    5.8
    The only good thing is location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At first I don't agree that this hotel is 3 stars. The room is extremely small. There is no elevator so I had to take our luggage to the 3rd floor. The Wifi should be excluded from the list because there is no internet in rooms, only in the lobby. The receptioners change very often, which is also not so safe.

    The only good thing is location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2018

    5.8
    Breakfast was good position was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff lacked information , if you work at a hotel in Venice I feel you need some knowledge. Also we had to pay 35 euro extra a night to up grade our room from a shoebox to the room we felt we booked through booking . Com Disappointed.

    Breakfast was good position was great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    9.6
    Near to everything, for example Rialto bridge and St...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The mattress wan not confortable at all. The hotel need to replace the mattress with a new one.

    Near to everything, for example Rialto bridge and St Mark's square.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2018

    7.5
    Overnight in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was a little small.ok for one night and you would have to be fit to climb three sets of stairs with a case.

    The room was clean as was the rest of the hotel.Breakfast was ok for a three star hotel in Venice.Staff were helpful and the location was good for all the famous parts of Venice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2018

    7.9
    Ideal location to explore venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms and bathrooms are 'snug' to say the least. No lift so not suitable for those with mobility issues

    Location - just a few minutes from the Rialto Bridge or St Marks Square

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2018

    5.4
    Great location, walk 5 mins to St.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    we stay 2nd floor with 2 heavy luggage without elevator, room is so small, we have to open our luggage on our bed. safe isn’t secure, we have to carry value stuff with us during the holiday.

    Great location, walk 5 mins to St. Marco.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2018

    7.1
    Location fantastic, right near Rialto Bridge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Smaller rooms, shower cubicle so small you can barely move in it!

    Location fantastic, right near Rialto Bridge. Rooms are a LOT smaller than shown on the photos however air con is wonderful in the room. Nice, clean, well priced

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2018

    5.8
    Overall is good, But Only No Wifi Connection in the Room, such of Shame 🖐🏿
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Overall everything is ok, Aircon was not cool in my room, the bad things only No Wifi connection in the room, such of pity everyone only use wifi in the lobby, the wifi signal not even reach to the breakfast area, they should impove it, such of middle price, Everyone im sure need wifi ??? You Aggreed? 😀

    Location is perfect not too bad 😀👍

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing, Comfy and Cosy Rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reach of Wifi, could have been better, however this did not impact on our stay, as it was good to be away from interest for a day.

    The room was very nice, room had a character. The hotel was centrally located, close to the water bus stop and close to tourist spots (Rialto, St. Mark's Sq.), a lot of options for food and all kind of shops just around the Hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2018

    5.0
    Not much, location only
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Situated three double flights of stairs up and no one to help with heavy suitcases and no lift. Was ridiculous. Bed was the most uncomfortable we have ever slept on and air con in our room AND the room next door was so noisy it was impossible to sleep.... all in all a terrible experience.

    Not much, location only

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2018

    3.8
    The Worst Hotel I've Ever Been To: not secure, cheating description, not comfortable
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    First minor troubles started when we arrived: they where out of city maps, their toilet had broken door lock. When we checked in later (it was night) we noticed the room was smaller than it was on pictures. We came to the reception next morning saying we have single room instead of double one and shown photos of Standard double room on booking site. She said 'This room on photo is superior.If you pay 30€ more - I will give you this room. We don't have single or double - that's booking.com error'. But on their hotels site they have single and double rooms listed. She was rude while I came smiling(not to initiate a conflict) when asking for help. Also we mentioned we couldn't sleep as it was too noisy, although 'Soundproof ' was listed as a facility. So she said 'Venice is unique'.I could hear people speaking (from the 3d floor) as if they were right behind the door. WiFi was said to be in 'public places'- in fact it worked only in lobby. In addition, the bread for breakfast was stale - was hard like a brick(and I mean it!), and sausage was stinky and seemed like expired. One guest even said to her husband that she wouldn't give this breakfast even to her enemy. Security is another point of discussion. When we came to the hotel at night - the man(receptionist) was smoking outside and just told us to take our key. But he saw us the first time - we haven't been checked in yet! And of course we didn't know our room number then. So we were charged in advance for Double Standard room with a breakfast. But we lived in a Single room without any apologies or offers to change the room, with terrible breakfast, with serious doubts about our security and with unavailability to sleep well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2018

    3.8
    Stayed out of hotel as much as possible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room first told 3rd floor.then saw i requested low floor.due to no lift gave room on 1st great until. I saw it horrible small.so.then given 2nd floor left luggage in lobby and had to take it as fully booked . Mould in cupboards safe not easy to.use so didnt took.valubles with us . Bathroom not clean hairdyer the lead covered with black tape hanging out of wall not what you expect with hotel it was more like a hostel . Met a very nice couple who showed us their room huge clean bathroom bigger .

    We checked out at 5am nice man made us coffee and lovely croisants

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    4.2
    Actually Nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was chocking, informed the hotel staff immediately after check in they promised some one will come up at 8 pm to fix, no one turned up , we could not take bath as the water was spilling all over and could have went till carpet in the room. With such a high cost of stay and stars the hotel does not have any such facilities. Very poor Break Fast. Limited options, almost nothing , No WIFI in the room , only in Lobby that is also not good , does not come till breakfast table as well,

    Actually Nothing..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    7.1
    Small but fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was very, very small, but can imagine that's all on offer in Venice. Bathroom had small mould patches, and only 1 pillow each on the double bed. Wifi was only available downstairs in the lobby and even then connection was weak.

    Included breakfast was great, staff spoke English and were easy to understand. Great location near Rialto water stop and close to most attractions. Good value for money overall.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    8.3
    I would class this hotel as traditional and very Venetian.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff were not very helpful but were young and English not very good. No lifts Rooms were small but we didn’t mind as good location.

    The hotel location is excellent. 2 minutes from the Rialto water bus stop and 5 minutes from St. Marks square. Very quaint hotel. Room 203 was very quaint as it had steps out the window to a balcony, sadly no view thou.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    5.4
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When we arrived the reception staff were unpleasant, too busy watching TV. We were 3 flights of stairs up and had lots of luggage. They sat back down in front of the TV with no offer to help or show us where our room was. No lift. We had a problem with the door when leaving in the morning and again his assistance seemed above his pay grade. Thankfully the rest of the staff were nice.

    Perfect location especially if you have lots of luggage. 4 minute walk from Rialto Bridge water bus stop. Venice was amazing, easy to get around, lots of walking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    8.3
    Location was good a 10 min walk from the Rialto water bus...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only criticism was that the safe was not bolted down.

    Location was good a 10 min walk from the Rialto water bus and about the same to St Marks square. Decor is interesting utilising material wall covering and glass chandelier. Elsewhere was covered in marble.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    8.3
    Room and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room a bit small, tiny shower cubicle and Wifi only available in the reception; no lift

    Well located, friendly and helpful staff, seeing gondolas pass the window at breakfast; a nice compliment to the food on offer

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This Hotel is very well situated around a 3 to 5 min walk from St Mark's square an around 2 to 3 min walk from the Rialto Bridge, there break is spot on an it will get you going for the day very highly recommend this place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    4.2
    Not recommended if u r expecting a comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was too small for two person. However in photographs on the site it was shown to be too big. Hardly any space to move. Even bathroom was very very small. In addition, during our booking we have specifically mentioned for the the free wifi in the hotel, however it was only available at the reception and that too the wifi speed was very poor. Not recommended due to poor service.

    The location was near to the boat taxi point. So it was easy to commute anywhere in Venice easily.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    7.5
    We had a great time and everyone was pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioning was aimed in one area and not for the whole room. The bathroom was really small and cramped but it had everything we needed.

    We liked that the room had a view of one of the canals where the gondolas traveled. The location was also excellent for shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    4.6
    Very average and won’t be staying there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very uncolfortable bed, no wifi in the room, only in the lobby. Breakfast selection was minimal and staff prepared meats by hand (not very Huygenic). No elevator.

    Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    7.5
    Location made up for short falls
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was dark, bathroom extremely compact (I understand Venice is a small historically place, so space is an issue), the staff weren't overly friendly.

    Location was fantastic

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    4.2
    Bad, shoebox room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bedroom massive small, barely had space to open a small suitecase. Bathroom with cables out, mould, a hole on the bathroom door, broken shower hose.

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2018

    7.1
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was small (to be expected) and it seemed like the AC only kicked on at about 10pm at night and got really cold. The staff at the front table weren’t the most helpful. The guy checking us out at 5am had never done it before so that was a cluster.

    Great location. Right between the Rialto Bridge and San Marco square.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    6.3
    I was convenient to bus station using water bus
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was far too small for a double bed and I could hard move around. The breakfast was just ok.

    Location was good and staff were very very nice and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No elevator but ok on 2nd floor. Bed was not up to par needs to be replaced. Large framed mirror should be taken out it was to tight to get in and out of bed

    Location and clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    2.9
    If it is a hotel, toilet in my summer house is Buckingem Palace. Worst stay in 30 years.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything. The food is disgusting. The lady serving breakfast very rude and unfriendly. Tables are unclean. A broken chair in the tiny room replaced in 28 h.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    8.8
    All in all we were happy with our stay and would be happy to return and relive our Venice experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were disappointed in the breakfast Think it could of offered more choices with bacon n eggs and fresh tomatoes my husband said!😆

    We couldn’t fault the position it was perfect Staff were kind enough to look after our cases after checkout because we had a late flight.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    4.2
    Disappointing but in Venice you dont stay in your room for long!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cramped room, too many stairs, ok if your in your trentys. Cracked loo, very tight space in bathroom. Breakfast room too small for number of bedrooms, may have to queue for breakfast.

    Central location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    5.0
    Loved Venice, would definitely not stay at the Alcyone hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel !!! The rooms were small, the beds and pillows were hard. The decor in the rooms was bizarre to say the least, padded material on the walls, who in their right mind thought that one up. Everything in the room was dark red, making the poor lighting even worse. Watch out if you use the toilet for guests on the first floor, the lock sticks. I had to phone my son to help open it. He got the receptionist to help, when they finally got the door opened she walked off , no apology to me whatsoever. The continental breakfast was rather tasteless, obviously the cheapest cheese and cold meats were used.

    The location, easy accessibility to the main attractions in Venice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    5.8
    We enjoyed the position. Our experience due to the check in soured the first day completely!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in was deplorable. (Free!)Wi Fi only available in a small area downstairs, not even in the breakfast area. Stairs!

    Breakfast, Position and cleanliness

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    7.1
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No wifi. They claim to have it in the lobby but it's so slow it might as well not exist. No wifi at in the rooms. No elevator, but it's only a max of 3 floors up so not so bad

    Location Breakfast included (decent)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    3.3
    Only the location of the hotel was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was not up to mark hotel had no lift and there was no bell service

    Only the location of the hotel was good. No wifi available in the room. The room was smelling so bad we asked the staff to change the room and instead of helping she made note of the complaint

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    6.3
    Frustrating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room looks a lot better in the net that what actually is. The lack of staff to assist you to get to the place. Nobody to assist with the luggage on arrival

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    6.7
    Location Brilliant, Room Small
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I found the room we were given, was very small. When I say small there was about 30cms at the end of the bed to pass through to get to the other side of the bed which had a built in wardrobe half way down the side so you had to climb in the bed. I feel that the pictures online did not show how small some of the rooms are so was very disappointed on arrival. Also, the breakfast was very basic. I feel that the cost of breakfast did not meet the amount that is paid for it.

    I loved the location! I feel like the amount you pay for the hotel is based on its location as it is perfect, and not for the actual facilities! It is literally a 4-5 minute walk to San Marcs Square and a 2 minute walk in the opposite direction to the Rialto Bridge.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    5.0
    Loved the location wouldn't use hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was very outdated and the shower leaked, so badly it flooded the floor twice. The floor was consequently very slippery, which was hazardous. After the first night the staff hadn't even cleaned up the flood, nor the towels that had been used to mop up the flood. The room was very small, and there was barely any storage space, and the chair provided couldn't be sat on, as it was totally wobbly. While the location was ideal, the hotel was totally over priced for its standard. It should be two stars not three.

    The location was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    5.8
    Overpriced but well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room a bit small, tiny shower cubicle, shower door fell off on me, cracked wall tiles, toilet seat moving around, loose headboard, broken chandelier, Wifi only available in the reception, no safe in room despite safe deposit box listed in description. Price of equivalent stay also reduced by £50 per night on booking.com day prior to our visit but reservation was prepaid so no way to access lower price. Knowing about the discount made the hotel feel overpriced and paying less in the first place would've made the above less of an issue. No idea if either price was competitive for the size of the room as it was the first time staying in Venice. Wouldn't stay here again for £150 a night in a room of this condition.

    Well located, friendly and helpful staff, seeing gondolas pass the window at breakfast a bit odd at first but a nice compliment to the food on offer

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    7.5
    Good for a short time stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed sheets were dirty and make sure your remove fancy bed cover and see whether if its a twin or double(in case if you requested a double bed).bad smell in water and towels provided.no early checkin

    Location was superb.Good breakfast provided.Receptionists helped us on sightseeings.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    9.2
    Hidden Paradise in the Center of Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Vegetables were missing from the breakfast.

    The suit was amazing!kingsize bed, old furnitures, fresco on the ceiling, big terrace with a view to the canal. We asked one more twin bed to the room for our friends, and the receptionist (Rocco) solved our wishes. ohhh.... and the garden is beautiful with the palm trees!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2018

    6.3
    Great location.. Rooms to small, air con useless, catering staff grumpy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms are very tiny, and very noisy as you had to have the window open as air conditioning was useless. Not suitable for any large people or people over 5ft 11.. couldn't both walk round room together you had to wait until the other person got to one side and then you could move. Cramped!

    Good location ... girls on reception really helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    3.3
    A daylight robbery. Don’t waste your money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I felt cheated right from the moment I stepped in. This should be rated 2 stars at the most. I felt claustrophobic in that small stuffy room which was sold to me as a double but I can guarantee that there was no room for two ppl to stay there. The shower was small and water was so slow and weak that it took me 10 mins just to rinse me hair. I couldn’t sleep as the room was too hot and it gave me a headache. I tried to adjust the temperature but the thermostat wasn’t working. TV wasn’t working. I had to open the window to breathe ecause I felt like I had no air in that room but that meant that I had all the noises from whatever machinery was on all night (and we were on the 3rd floor) The mini wardrobe was broken, and so were the bidet and shower tap, they looked horrible. The bed was a queen size not a double and the mattress was old and saggy in the middle. The nice fish tank and the trendy sofa which you see in the pictures of the hotel website do not exist! Or better the massive tank is there but it’s empty and totally dark you cannot see what’s inside ( as per my picture) the sofas are covered by horrible white sheets, (as per my picture) not sure why!?!? Wi-fi only works right where the horrible sofas are, nowhere else. After I complained I was given an upgraded room for my last night which was the minimum I’d expected. The first receptionist I had to deal with was very nice and apologetic and she changed our room but the receptionist I had to deal with when I was about to pay my bill was so rude and unprofessional, a real let down. There are many other nice 4 star hotels on the same street which if booked last minute will cost you as much as this horrendous place. Luckily I am Italian and I can come back to Venice again if I wish but if I was coming from far away on a once in a lifetime holiday, these would have totally ruined my experience in Venice.

    Nothing at all

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    4.2
    Good location, man on night duty very friendly and helpful,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was tiny, for a double room my husband and I couldn’t even walk around the room. The door wouldn’t even open fully as it hit off the bed, a potential safety hazard. The pictures are so deceiving. The chair in the room was broken, the safe wouldn’t work, the window shutter was so unsafe I was fearful to touch it that it would fall off the wall, the light above the bed attached to the mirror was not secure and dangerous coming away from the wall. Many of the fixtures and fitting are broken or insecure for example let alone the dangerous light fitting, the bathroom door handle was held on by 1 screw not fully intact. The shower hose is a drift not connected to the wall hanging off. The bed was very hard and uncomfortable two sleepless nights. The bathroom had mould in between the tiles and cracked tiles. As I had a shower the shower basin filled up nearly causing flooding to which I had to stop the shower running to let the water run through and then continue my shower. There was no WiFi only able to connect in the lounge area which is a sofa and the connection was very weak. The lovely aquarium has no fish in it and no lights on. The satellite tv as it states has only 6 channels 4 of which are news channels. The breakfast was a tray of ham, cheese, about 10 slices of each fruit and cakes. They had bread rolls and some spreads. Nothing special no hot breakfast not even a toaster. Woman at the desk was very rude and not helpful whatsoever. My husband and I travel around many places and this hotel is by far the worst place we have stayed not worth the money at all very expensive for somewhere to just lay your head down as there is nothing else appealing in this place. This place needs a major renovation.

    Good location, man on night duty very friendly and helpful, no one else was.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    7.5
    Nice place in a good price. I would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very small room and extremely incommodious bathroom. Not really new place but rather clean (every day new towels, bed made, rubbish taken out). One thing - towels smell like a vinegar just a ittle bit which is not really nice to be honest.

    Perfect localization (just a few minutes walk from the water bus stop and St. Mark square and also lots of shops, bars, restaurants in the nearest area). Delicious breakfast (small wheat rolls, coruscants, jams, cornflakes, cheese, salami, fruits, yogurts) - sufficient choice like for a few days stay. In general I can reccomend this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2018

    6.7
    Decent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bedroom was dark and cafe facilities were limited to the morning. No WiFi in rooms only in lobby and a lot of the staff couldn’t speak English

    The location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2018

    7.1
    Hotel slightly tired but for a 3-night stay, acceptable and convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    TV in room didn't work. Some wardrobe decor had tacks sticking out to catch clothing. Shower nearly flooded bathroom as water didn't run away.

    Very comfortable bed and pillow. Excellent breakfast though poor coffee. (The one woman running the breakfast area, washing up etc, was amazing, nicest staff member of all. She deserves a gold medal!). Central for exploring.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    8.3
    Great base for a Venice trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was small and felt even smaller as very patterned walls curtains and bedding.

    Very central and convenient location. Excellent breakfast- fresh fruit, meats cheese bread and pastries. Very clean room and bathroom

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    5.4
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No WiFi in rooms, smell of smoke in room, noise from street all night, finish to rooms of a very poor standard. Not worth over £100 a night no way more like £50 a night.

    Great location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2018

    5.0
    The location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Read the Tripadvisor reviews as they give a more accurate description of the property. We rejected the first two rooms and settled for the last. It was very poor. Room was generally stained, very very smelly, furniture chipped and marked. We slept under sheets only as the blanket and bed cover were dodgey looking. We ended up with towels on top for warmth rather than risk anything else. The worst of it all was the smell from the bathroom which although clean made us retch. We kept the door closed at all times. The walls are fabric which held all the smells which was not pleasant at all! The windows opened onto hundreds of cigarette butts on a roof below. The light fitting had no shade, loose wires from the walls and the air conditioning unit was too noises and dirty to use. Breakfast was ok but a very helpful but stressed waitress was left to prepare food, wash up, clear tables etc. I felt sorry for her but she was the highlight of our stay bless her. She smiled, tried incredibly hard and got through an enormous amount of work. All in all I have to say apart from the staff, it was terrible. I would not recommend and would not return. I forgot the hole in the door!

    The location was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    6.7
    I probably wouldn't stay again but if you are on a budget then it is absolutely fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was fine but the room had paint falling off the ceiling and huge damp patches. The shower head was completely broken and flooded the bathroom every time we used it. The bedroom was absolutely tiny but what can you expect for these prices. The breakfast was ok.

    The location is second to none.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2018

    8.8
    Reasonably priced. Central and ideal for sightseeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room safe did not work and despite reporting it the safe was not fixed across the duration of our stay. Some disappointment that drinks or snacks were never on offer

    Location and 24hr opening pleasant staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    9.6
    the staff were very friendly and helpful,and You are right...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    no english language TV channels in my room....but then,you are in Venice...who needs TV? :D

    the staff were very friendly and helpful,and You are right in the heart of Venice! It's a fantastic little hotel,and I would recommend it to anyone!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2018

    5.0
    Cheap and good breaky included. Pleasant room but needed to open window, then got really cold!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff quite terse when I came a little early. Told to go away for half hour or please even more! Was cold out!! No foyer or anywhere to rest. I had walked hour to get there already - through uncaring pushy crowds. Felt something lacking in customer service & care. Felt I was in their way. Didn't feel special.....

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2018

    5.0
    Save your money and walk a few steps - AVOID!!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a mediocre to non-existent greeting when we arrived and our room was so small our bodies bumped the wall. I have stayed in Venice before and the rooms are small but not this small and our bathroom door was broken (handle came off every time you opened it) and our shower had ABSOLUTELY no door to it at all and the spray hose handle leaked water onto the already cracked tile in the teeny,tiny bathroom. Our breakfast was mediocre at best with a few meats and cheeses, but our bedroom was over what smelled like a toxic bakery. The nauseous smells began at 5 a.m. wafting into our room :( Possibly the worst coffee anywhere. Coffee - Italy?? Was so bizarre. While we were eating breakfast one morning a crack appeared in the ceiling and water dripped on the floor making the attendant slip as she was trying to work. My advice is to hire a proficient engineer to look at all the defects (including the non-lit hallways) which has to be a safety violation and close the shop for a few months to expand the rooms, charge more bc of your location and train your staff to be like Venetians. Warm, friendly and helpful.

    The only thing going for Hotel Alycone was there location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2018

    6.7
    Almost satisfactorily, but breakfast and the attitude of some employees were deplorable !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hostile and unattractive attitude of some employees, the unsatisfactory breakfast, the greedy room smell, the view from the room.

    Venetian-style rooms, very small center distance, dining room overlooking the canal, transportation nearby.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2018

    7.9
    All staff very friendly, helpful and lovely nature.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    As our room was the first on the first floor of the stairs you could hear people talking early in the morning however I love to hear them.

    All staff very friendly, helpful and lovely nature. My partner and myself were very impressed with the hotel style and the room was very beautiful. thank you hotelxx

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2018

    7.9
    good value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    towels smelled like vinegar, not enough shower gel, paper walls, noise from neighbours, offered restaurant was overprised, shower is too small

    fresh baker's ware, top location, price, breakfast,

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2018

    9.2
    Nice breakfast with good coffee.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were a bit sick, so a water heater would have been good, to take the medicines.

    Nice breakfast with good coffee. The hotel room was like an old Venezian styled room, it looked very cool. Felt like an easy going baron :) The room was rather small, but it is expected in the centre of Venezia.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2017

    3.8
    Would not go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Covers to the bed were so thin we nearly froze and the heating would not work that well. Also the bed was made up of 2 beds and every time we lay down to sleep they would separate and one of us would fall down.

    Breakfast was ok just not much variety. The way the hotel was decorated was good and lastly was easy to get to.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We reached around 10 p.m by boat and when we got off near the Rialto Bridge, we did not have any clue as to how to reach the hotel. And nobody around seemed to know as well. One suggestion is to have an access map - would really help.

    Excellent location - easy access to public transport, restaurants, shopping & St Marks Square

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Alcyone Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: