Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Aldobrandini 1 stars

Piazza Madonna Aldobrandini 8, San Lorenzo, 50123 Florence, Italy

#285 of 384 hotels in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1305 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    I will return to this hotel to enjoy an amazing city full of treasures which will remain with me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The welcome - Ignatius, the owner, very easy to get on with, and helpful as to where to eat, the convenience to the city and sites. The room was basic but had all I wanted. Comfortable. Ideal for me. For the price well worth it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.1
    Really nice hotel staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had some prob with the A/C, but hotel contacted the maintenance to fixed.

    Really nice hotel staff. They were agreed to let us take a shower after check out since we had a night train after. Excellent location in Florence. When u go out from the hotel you are in the central city already. 5 mins from the railway station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.1
    The host was very kind and the hotel was clean and quite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although it was very well placed it was not that easy to find as the name is only on a small plaque on the wall.

    The host was very kind and the hotel was clean and quite appropiate

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    6.7
    Tedious find , followed tedious stairs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find at first. Reception located between level 1 and 2, need to carry luggage to overcome stairs. Reach reception , again stairs to climb up a tiny staircase with luggage , staircase is too small for 6 feet tall guy like me. During night time, the streets are still a little noisy until past 11pm as we are close to the pubs/ clubs. Otherwise everything else are fine.

    Good location , close to train stations and scenic places, good internet speed, clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    Located in walking distance to tourist attractions and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could be tricky navigating the spiral staircase if unsteady on your feet. Street signage was small and was hard to find.

    Located in walking distance to tourist attractions and the city square. This hotel was clean and comfortable without anything extra. Basic accommodation in a great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    👍👍👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was okey.. it could have been better but overall all was great! Would do it again

    Location is super/very charming place/vintage building and entrance/helpful staff/pretty clean/would recommend to anyone

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.5
    nice option in city center
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    No wc in the room, but I knew that before booking, so no surprises.

    The localization is amazing, just by Medici Chapel, in the city centre. Very nice and helpful man in the reception (the owner?). Small, sweet breakfast was for me ok. The room was very basic but for one night ok. Good WIFI. You can leave the luggage after check out.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    4.6
    Location was fine but the hotel itself is not the one I would recommend anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    too little bathroom with extra small shower cabin, poor cleanliness, poor breakfast with badly washed cups and plates (meh)

    Good location and friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    5.8
    The location of this hotel was close to all the main city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room, breakfast and service were all very, very basic -no extra touches at all.

    The location of this hotel was close to all the main city sights. You could walk to everywhere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    5.8
    I suppose you get what you pay for.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one at reception when I checked in, I had to call to get some one to come. Room was up a steep and narrow spiral staircase, a struggle with luggage. Toilet was filthy, stained brown. No curtains so I had to keep the shutters closed for privacy so I was in the dark.

    The location is fantastic & the price is cheap.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.1
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The breakfast was a bit limited and the cleaness of the room could be improved. The shower was a bit hard to maneuver sometimes and the hotel might be a bit hard to find, once it is on the first floor of a building. We noticed the stairs for a second floor of rooms that were very narrow, we luckily did not had to use them, like we saw other guests do.

    The hotel is very well located, really close to the cathedral and close to the train station. The room and bathroom were spacious and enough for a 6 night stay in Florence, where hotels are very expensive. Some members of staff were nice and spoke good english.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    4.6
    Tiring. Inconvenient room: wash basin within shower room. No towel holders.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to room via spiral staircase, very difficult with luggage. Not given help to carry up heavy luggage. Luggage storage without promised security.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Excellent location, friendly owner, good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a minor thing. It would be nice if a flexible hose is available in the shower ( present one is a fixed shower head above).

    I stayed for the first time in this place 2 years ago. Chose it again this time for its excellent location (10 minutes walk from Firenze SMN Station) and good price. All major sights are within walking distance. Many cafes/restaurants nearby. Owner is very friendly. Check in and check out very efficient. Room is spacious and clean. Although the toilet is shared, I never had to wait to use it. Wifi is good. Lovely hot water in the shower. Breakfast is basic Italian style, and I am fine with it. Could use it again next time in Florence.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect place in Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Such a nice place to stay in Florence. I knew that it was central but I was just amazed to see how close it really was to the heart of the city and the train station too. The room was so clean, tidy and comfortable. The receptionist was very friendly, welcoming and helpful. I really enjoyed my stay - I even wished I could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.3
    Location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small breakfast (croissant with jam, coffee, juice)

    Location is perfect. Less than 10 min from station Firenze Santa Maria Novelle. Opposite the hotel entrance is Capella Medici and 10 min to the famous St. Maria del Fiori. Supermarket is near and a lot of Cafes/Restaurants)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.8
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many things we didn’t like: Only one working charging point, no bath floor mat so it used to get wet everywhere after shower, creaky scary noise of the main door opening and closing (very much like a horror movie), no lights on all floors so had to use lift, room located between two floors so u have to carry luggage for a flight of stairs as lift would not stop at that level, no soap holder in the shower so it was so messy to get out of shower keep the soap on the basin and then get back in the shower.

    Excellent location. Breakfast was satisfactory. Staff were good. We were allowed early check in (our bags were kept safely), we were also able to use the common washroom before check in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    overall good value for cost
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Older and confusing check in process, no direction upon arrival. breakfast was only bread and coffee................. shared toilets shower was moldy

    Overall great location, staff holds your luggage after check out

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    5.8
    The check-in experience was a total turn-off!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon arriving at the hotel, the main door of the building was locked, later we figured out how to enter by pressing a button at the gate. But, there was a 2nd gate inside which is also locked. We waited patiently downstairs, ringing the doorbell of the doors at the ground floor. After roughly 15 minutes, somebody came down so the 2nd gate was opened, we entered but could not locate immediately the reception area of the hotel. After finding the reception area, there was nobody there, we kept on ringing the doorbell, knocking at the door, we waited for almost 1 hour at the reception area before the hotel staff or one of the owners came out of bedroom apparently she was aslept the whole time we were waiting at the lobby. 😕😏

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.5
    Clean, well-located, no-frills hotel that’s good to use as a cheap base to explore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was similar to a student dormitory. No kettle or the like in the room. (Other rooms might be different though.)

    The staff were friendly. The location is superb (ie near many sights and eateries). The hotel was clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    8.3
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is very central, but not easy to find, for it does not have a sign like other hotels. The room is clean and simple. The cylinder stairs going up to the upper floor may be a little bit difficult for old people. Overall, it is value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    4.2
    ...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is not that clean, the sheets were clean but in our room it was smelling strange and during the night in the room was smell like cigarettes because the stuff is smoking in the lobby , I did not feel that safe because you have to leave the key next to the front desk and everyone can take your key, they change the door of the room when we stay there, they clean the room and they left the bin on the bed!! We were left without hot water. The breakfast is too poor! In the bathroom it was mold!! On top of it we have the best decorations ever in the room an original spiderweb!

    The location was great and the manager was nice and polite stuff!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    7.5
    I really like the location of the hotel and the cleanliness .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't like the smell of the whole hotel because from the entrance going up to the room, I feel so suffocated since the hotel smells like cigarette's even at night time ... I dont know if its coming from the smoking area or from the reception.. Im all night awake and need to open my window even the temperature outside is so cold

    I really like the location of the hotel and the cleanliness ..

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    9.6
    The receptionist was really helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist was really helpful and friendly. The location is great - a 5 minute walk from the station, and right in the square with outstanding Medici Capella.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.6
    Good location and polite staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I can only think of the bed wasn't comfortable, too narrow and hey I am skinny. One thing though, somebody was smoking and the smells get inside the room through the space between the door and the floor. I covered it with a pair of jeans at night. It helped. I didn't have a view from the room but who cares, you go out and see the city!!

    The location is very good! 10-minute walk to the Ufizzi and plenty of restaurants around. Massio was very nice and gave on the spot information. Big towel, sink and shower inside the room. Good working heater and extra blanket in the closet for those that get cold. I left the window slightly opened because I like a cool room. The breakfast was simple but breakfasts are simple in Italy, do your research and don't complain!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    8.8
    Everything was ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room has just one power outlet.

    The hotel is located in the near of the main train station and the bus station. Also, it is near from the Cathedral and the most important places in Florence.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.9
    Not the Ritz, but it was OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This was a good basic place to stay. Room was small but adequate. No frills. Breakfast was served on-site and consisted of a croissant and rolls with butter/jam and juice. There was a coffee machine that let you select what you wanted and you could go back for more. There is 24 hour staff on duty. There is an elevator but it stops short of the entrance, so you still have to climb some stairs to get in. Location is excellent for getting to all major sites in town.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    3.8
    This hotel is in am amazing location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are no smoking signs everywhere but the employees smoke outside with lobby window and the entire place smelled like an ashtray. Breakfast was stale croissants. I did not like that we had to leave our room key there when we left for the day. All of the keys were in a place where anyone could have grabbed any key they wished. If we have to leave the room keys, at leave have them in a place that isn't accessible to the entire hotel. Behind the desk, maybe? But the the hotel staff would have to actually talk to you. None of the staff seemed to care one way or the other.

    This hotel is in am amazing location. The sheets were clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Good Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heater in our hotel room was not working and it was quiet cold there.

    Excellent Location. Very friendly Staff & Super value for money . Must Stay for budget travellers

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    3.8
    The location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything. From the beds to their customer service to the breakfast and most importantly their HEATING! All they could do was shrug and while refusing to hand us a remote for the AC to warm up the room. We had to sleep in an extremely cold room that night. Breakfast was small and extremely plain (two croissants, small jam and nutella packets and a cup of cold tea). Paid 80 Euros for the worst night.

    The location was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.5
    Basic, cheap hotel for a short stay in the middle of Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't expect much for the money, so we weren't surprised that it was really spartan. I guess this is a good choice if you want a cheap place to stay for a night, right in the centre of Florence.

    The location is just perfect, right in the city centre, and for the money a bargain. For those traveling by car, there's a garage right around the corner, and even if it is not cheap, it was ok for us. We had a private room with clean private bathroom, so it's still better than a hostel. There's an elevator and the staff was extremely kind and helpful. Internet was good, breakfast was included even if it was as basic as it can be. All the touristic attractions are very close (the Dome in less than 10 min walk)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.1
    Ascetic conditions but unbeatable location with affordable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom outside the room and not working properly.

    Probably the best possible location in Florence. Capella de Medici is across the piazza from the entrance to the hotel and Duomo reachable within 5 minutes walk. Close to the train station Santa Maria Novella, to the shops and markets.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.1
    Clean, good location, simple breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is difficult to arrive here, to find the hotel for the first time. Late breakfast - from 8 to 10. A grumpy lady haunted every day the hotel halls. In October it was too cold in the room. Noise from nearby building under construction Without curtain at the window, so the workers look in my room

    Clean, good location, simple breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.8
    Great time in Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -Have to walk some stairs before reaching the hotel -Main door was controlled by the reception, you had to call their staff to open the main door every time, and they off work at 1am

    -Helpful and friendly staff -Very close to main station, around 10 mins walk -Located at city centre -Many shops and restaurants nearby

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.9
    Cute hostel at fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit narrow staircase to reach the next floor can be tricky with a lot of baggage, but it's worth it.

    Small and cute hotel located in the heart of the city. Friendly and helpful staff. Small and cozy breakfast. Had a very charming single room with my own shower.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    4.6
    Do not spend your money there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    a. air condition although promised - the owner didnt want to operate it. b. we had 3 noisy nights and we approched the owner about it right after the 1st night asking for another room and got NO as an answer. c. The smell of the room as we 1st entered was terrible. d. the owner didnt seem to care for his gueats

    wifi and location works great

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.8
    Centrally located, five minutes easy walk from the Duomo in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Street noise, construction noise

    Centrally located, five minutes easy walk from the Duomo in a 15th century palace. Basic, but very clean rooms. Very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast included.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    Great place to stay, highly recommend! Easy to find... look for the BIG door in the photo!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing!

    Great location! Close to the train station, and only blocks from the Duomo. Great little place to get a bite to eat and coffee on the corner across the street just feet from the entrance to the building. Very clean and quiet room. Owners and staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was tasty!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    5.0
    simple breakfast no eggs
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the awful smell of tobacco generated by 3 heavy smokers [attendants] very small television high on the wall, the very narrow spiral staircase the 2d floor ,impossible for older clients .

    simple breakfast no eggs

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.6
    I had a wonderful stay, the staff was great and I couldn't have hoped for a better location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The shower in the shared bathroom is weird. Basically the whole large bathroom becomes the shower. The floor drain is slow so the whole place gets wet

    Fantastic location in Florence, the staff is really friendly and helpful. The room and public areas were very clean and nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    5.8
    Florence is a nice city to visit and this hotel is conveniently located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I called before. Heck in but the lady couldn't tell me exactly where they were located and as it was late at night, we couldn't find the place. We finally checked in but it wasn't a warm welcome - the whole place stank of cigarette smoke. Disgusting. The smoke went right upstairs to the rooms and was like this every evening of our stay.

    The location was good and wifi worked well. Room was clean and cleaned daily.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.9
    Friends stayed for 4 days
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very modest breakfast (croissants not fresh). The shower didn't work well. Had to lift our luggage by spiral ladder (one floor) as there wasn't an elevator.

    Located in the city centre, close to Santa Maria Del Fiore. Very nice staff, speaks English! Room was cleaned daily.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    4.2
    Would never stay at this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is very basic, with an entrance foyer on the first floor of large tenement building, off which is a long corridor - none of which is air conditioned and therefore stiflingly hot and smelly in summer. The proprietor smokes and each morning you are woken extremely early, around 6.30am, with the sound of her coughing loudly, noisy conversation, the smell of tobacco smoke filtering into your bedroom and the banging of cabinets, doors etc. as they presumably get the hotel ready. The breakfast is appalling; dry roll, dry croissant, jam in packet, self serve coffee from a machine and when we asked for an orange juice, we got a diluted orange squash in a paper cup! The bathroom served approx. 8 rooms and was a very large wet room, which flooded when you showered, causing you to wade across to the toilet at the far end and, at one point, we watched water running out from under the door down the long corridor. There was a soap dispenser next to the basin which ran out the day we arrived. Three days later, despite our requests, it had not been replenished and eventually they handed me three sachets of shampoo to wash my hands!! You had to leave your key on vacating the room each day, which is perfectly acceptable, but the keys are all hanging on a cabinet in the middle of the foyer with no security or positioned behind a manned desk, so anyone could potentially walk in, pick up your key and enter your room. To enter the building you have to ring a door bell, which causes a phone to ring inside the foyer upstairs and the door is opened for you to enter. However, this "phone call" rings across the whole foyer, and can be heard in all the rooms, right up to midnight or starting very early in the morning, when people want to get in the building. Stayed three nights and couldn't wait to leave. Should have read more reviews.

    Central location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.5
    Location excellent, Staff were helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location excellent, Staff were helpful. It is what it is. a budget hotel / hostel and the value for money was there. The location is excellent for both the city and the train station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    8.8
    I could book it again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some shampoo more

    Very friendly people Very nice breakfast It was close to the center of the town They offered to hold the luggage without more payment

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    10
    Expectations Far Exceeded at Aldobrandini
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing that could be improved (which is very minor) are the directions with how to get up to the Hotel. It was a little confusing but only took a couple of minutes to figure out.

    The hospitality we experienced at Hotel Aldobrandini was the best in our entire 2+ weeks in Italy. The staff was friendly and extremely accommodating. Breakfast was a standard issues Italian breakfast with three different types of bread and an assortment of spreads. The coffee was also a little better than most places we stayed. We were able to check-in a little earlier and leave our bags at reception after checking out so we could explore town before our train left. The shared bathroom was the largest we've seen in Italy and very clean. As a bonus, you can also see the Duomo and Bell Tower from the toilette ;).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.1
    Very close to amenities, art galleries, museums, etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast was extremely limited- croissant and roll with butter or jam. The building across the lane was being reworked and the construction noise was loud and started early in the morning (5 am one day!).

    Very close to amenities, art galleries, museums, etc.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It doesn't have a hand shower and for me it is very helpful.

    It is a great location, the main attractions are few minutes away. There is a lot of restaurants near by. The breakfast was really good. And the staff helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    6.3
    Near to the main train station (Florence SNM)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very basic breakfast, one croissant for each guest and some package toast with jam/butter/nuttella and hot drink.

    Near to the main train station (Florence SNM)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.2
    It has a shower facility in the room despite single room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is a bit tricky - it is at the plaza, not in the street where Google Map indicates.

    It has a shower facility in the room despite single room with shared toilet. Good location from Firenze S.M.N Station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.5
    Budget accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness of the room. A sense of insecurity that to put the room key in the open area (opposite to the reception) while going out.

    The location that it is within walking distance to main attractions.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    10
    Amazing .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy at night due to a phone or buzzer going off , however I would definitely stay there again on my next visit to the amazing florence

    Friendly and amazing location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    7.1
    Chose a better place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access to the room was by a narrow spiral stair. The room was basic but there was at least a functioning aircon. The breakfast was very basic. The sink was placed in the shower cubicle, something I have never seen before. There was quite some noise until late night by the neighbouring restaurants. I would not book this place once again.

    The hotel is within walking distance to the Main Railway Station as well as to the most sightseeing attractions. The mercado is "just around the corner". The staff was very friendly and helpful and gave some good advise with regard to the most scenic spots to be seen in town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    8.8
    Unique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't a problem for me, but there is a circular staircase that you have to climb.

    The man at the desk was very friendly and helpful. The room was perfect. It was a little different. The sink was in the shower. This was a perfect location. It was close to the train station but in the center of the old city. I could walk to everything. I am glad I chose this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    9.2
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud construction close by in the morning but this could be temporary.

    Staff was absolutely amazing. As soon as you check in the show you on a map where you are a rend how to get places. They speak English perfectly and have a good sense of humour.The property is close to everything and great restaurants and bars. The rooms are large and the shared bathroom is clean. Shower in the room which is very convenient. I would highly recommend this property to anyone staying in Florence.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    7.5
    The hotel is in a perfect location just beside the duomo and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is outside the room and share with other people and the shower is without the box so the water is going to go everywhere.

    The hotel is in a perfect location just beside the duomo and close to the station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.2
    Love this Hotel!
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There isn't really anything. The front door is on a remote and makes me laugh every time I go thru. Seems like you're entering a. Ase!

    I have been staying at this same hotel since 2000. I love the location. It is an easy walk from the train station. The Medici Chapel is 20 feet away. The leather market starts at the end of that block. The restaurants are good. I can see the Duomo from the hotel window. The manager is the nicest, kindest man ever and has been there all this time. The rooms are modest but very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    4.2
    Bad stay, couldn't wait to leave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Horrible place. Spiral staircase to get to the room with suitcases. One of the staff members was nice, the other one rude. Room is outdated, nothing is in the room - cups, water, you name it.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.3
    Great location. Clean but basic amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can be noisy with tourists walking and talking outside from early in the day. Very basic breakfast but sufficient for our needs. Shared bathroom a bit of a walk down the hallway but seems we were the only room without a bath/shower in our room so it was usually clean for our use.

    The hotel was very central to everything being based in the middle of town. mini supermarkets were nearby so this was handy for getting bottles of water. Everything was within walking distance. Florence SMN station was only 5 mins walk away. Staff were helpful and delightful despite our lack of Italian.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    4.6
    Book as last resort !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor quality of breakfast - all too sugary and no choice at all ! No fresh toast or bread / rolls etc

    Good location for Florence sight seeing if only for a day or two. Breakfast not acceptable . Very poor quality considering what we paid £90 for the night. No tea / coffee making facilities in the room . So again not good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    10
    Location Location Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 15 nights

    No mini bar. No refrigerator. No room service.

    Great breakfast coffee and croissants. Lots of hot water in the shower. Lots of cable TV channels. Maid service does great job cleaning room every morning. Host very helpful with suggestions for tourists.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    9.6
    It's a clean small hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a clean small hotel... if you want the Hyatt, then go to a different place. If you are ok with motel 6, then this is perfect for you. Wifi was good. I don't understand the reviews that say it is hard to find... it is not hard to find and it's 6 min walk from the Main train station. You just buzz in, at the entrance and keep waking up the stairs...

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.5
    The location is near train station and famous spots.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant is under the property, it might have some noisy in the night if your room is located with street window. Air condition is not work so it might have lack fresh air if you keep close the window.

    The location is near train station and famous spots. You can easily reach to places where you want to go.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    8.8
    Perfect localization
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great localization. From Aldobrandini you may walk to all parts of Florence. Very near to the railway station, what means very good to visit cities nearby. Open your heart in Florence!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    7.5
    Excellent location but a shame about the comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We visited in April and the night time temperature was 7 degrees but the owner refused to put the heating on. At 1.00 hours I went to the reception desk and the receptionist had a blanket around him trying to keep warm

    Excellent location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    9.2
    Definitely stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs to the upper bedrooms looks unsteady but made it up and down each time, this is just a fore warning.

    About a 10 min walk from the main station, this place is centrally located. Two streets away from the Duomo and most of the other sites to see in Florence. Breakfast was simple but great. WiFi access was brilliant. Couldn't ask for anything more.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    8.3
    Great value in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a bit of street noise from the restaurant/bar opposite but the hotel can't help that. It was a bit difficult to find as the only sign is a small one on a large door. You have to buzz for the door to be opened/then a gate and stairs or lift up.

    I liked that the staff were friendly and helpful. It was comfortable and good value for money. It was only 10 minutes walk from the train station and very close to the Medici Chapel and market.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    4.2
    I recommend this hotel only for its location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff was definitely unhelpful and rude. We asked why room stinks and no internet connection on wi-fi. The owner and her brother behaved like everything is ok. We eventually requested to change the room but they blatantly advised us to change hotel if we like. Staff smoke every part of the hotel that's why everywhere smell like you're in 20's texas pub. I recommend this hotel only for its location.

    only location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.6
    Brilliant location. If you like Cinderella and The Sleeping Beauty you'll love the hotel entrance..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My son would have liked a toilet and a small fridge in his room. I think for the price and the location it was excellent value.

    Quirky building in brilliant location with charming, helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    6.3
    Strange
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The amazing tall and heavy wooden entrance door had NO connection to what was going on really in the hotel. Not even one hanger for towels or for a piece of cloth. The sink (placed in the shower tube, together with the mirror) was plugged after 5 secs of running water. Not properly enough space on the sink. I asked for a cup of hot water to make my tea in the room but that was ''difficult''. The access to the rooms was through a spiral staircase quite narrow (quite uncomfortable for suitcases heavier than 15kgs….). Very noisy room (was given one in the back side facing another building, on a narrow street). No idea about the breakfast as I had to leave at 5am. Quite a strange experience I would say.

    The location of the hotel is amazing, exiting the building you have in front of you the San Lorenzo church. The wooden entrance door. That the owner helped me to book a taxi for 05:15am. The mattress and in general the bed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    Best budget hotel in florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast could be better.

    Amazing staff, so helpful! Rooms, bathroom, halls all were extremely clean. location is great, so close to train station, so close to duoma, to porto vecchio, to michalengelo square.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    8.8
    Nice simple place to stay in a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only minor inconveniences. Had to buzz in at the front door to the building every time, and sometimes it took a couple of minutes to be let in. Shared toilet was down the hall, but it was clean.

    Simple, clean, cheap room. Great location near everything. Desk and wardrobe in the room. Also get a sink and shower, though the arrangement was strange. Breakfast was good. The man who runs the place was friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    8.8
    Probably one of the hotels with the best cost-benefit in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The one bad thing in this hotel was the private "bathroom" in my single room: a very, very small cubicle, barely a square meter large, also with a sink inside.

    Probably one of the hotels with the best cost-benefit in Florence. Had a pretty nice breakfast, slept in a comfortable bed, and could go to any major touristic spot in a 10 minute walk. I would surely stay at the same place again!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    5.4
    Bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not worth the price paid. Could have got far better hotel at this price. Not at all suitable for aged people. Won't recommend at all

    It was a basic room not worth the price at all. WiFi was out of order.First they blamed my ipad, phone.Then admitted not working, so no WiFi Breakfast was very basic.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    8.3
    Perfect loction in the heart of beautiful Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Well actually there is nothing I didn´t like but if you don´t like sweet breakfast than this might be a point you would dislike. Breakfast is basically a Croissant, a bun, butter, marmelade and Nutella as well as coffee.

    The Location is just perfect, the staff is really nice, rooms are simple but you have everyting you need and they are quite clean. There are quite good restraurants near by which are not too expensive!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    5.4
    Very cold treatment to the guest not helpfull in giving travel tips
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast very poor the staff just did the minimum required not even that nice! Ask for some travel tips but they were not very helpful and also hardly speaked English . Just an very very average kind of service.

    The location was good and thats all

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Aldobrandini traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: