Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Aldrovandi Villa Borghese - The Leading Hotels of the World 5 stars

Via Ulisse Aldrovandi 15, Villa Borghese Parioli, 00197 Rome, Italy

#71 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 873 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    A great hotel, great location, wonderful staff!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much

    The hotel is quite beautiful and in an excellent location. A true five star hotel. But the best part is the staff. They were quite professional and excellent Everyone we dealt with could not have been better at their respective job. From the minute we pulled up, the valets, front office, concierge, housekeeping, management....all top notch!!!! Bravissimo!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    Of all the leading hotels in Rome this one very average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Television and phone not working in the room on arrival had to wait for room on arrival to be checked? Electric blow on repair telephone not corrected at all

    Superior hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    Just spent 2 nights at this beautiful hotel, very clean,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just spent 2 nights at this beautiful hotel, very clean, friendly and helpful staff, comfortable bed, great facilities, lovely spa, delicious food. We really enjoyed our stay well done to all the staff and the way they upkeep this hotel... highly recommended

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.3
    I was motivated mostly by very good room rate (cost) . Generally very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was a bit noisy but stll nice but it was Sunday lunchtime.

    The staff were excellent and very kind. My room large and great air onditioning and quiet. The staff were very kind and helpful. Great value for money

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.3
    The staff were amazing so helpful, the hotel is beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, it is far from the center around of the hotel there is no restaurant no bar nothing and so quiet also no so good for a walk,

    The staff were amazing so helpful, the hotel is beautiful and comfortable and clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    An oasis north of the city; lovely staff; great for pool-side afternoons; convenient tram/bus stops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Food and drinks are - of course - expensive (12 euros for a drink by the pool, 25 euros for the buffet breakfast), but then it is Rome! Many of the rooms (including ours) overlook a busy main road so unsurprisingly traffic noise can be heard - but convenient if using certain buses and tram routes. We felt very ripped off by Booking.com because a glitch in their computer system meant we were charged immediately for one of the two rooms that we only wanted on hold, and Aldrovandi refused to refund/amend to a hold even though the request was made immediately, so we ended up having to use that hotel in the end. It meant we probably paid £1000 more for a four night stay in Rome than we would otherwise have done. So we had to enjoy it! And we did.

    Attentive and polite staff couldn't do enough to help us, even making us picnic lunches for our train journey when we left. Comfortable rooms and lovely facilities. Swimming pool in the oasis garden was great for afternoon relaxation after sightseeing. Gym is small and not really for serious training though! Hotel is some distance from the historic centre and there seem to be few restaurants in the local residential area, but buses and trams do stop right outside and the hotel van or golf buggy shuttle on the half hour takes you to and from an area a couple of streets above the Spanish Steps (must be booked in advance each way).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Away from the madding crowd
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a little away from the main “sights” however they provide a shuttle that drops of and picks up from the Spanish steps It’s a beautiful hotel , there’s an internal courtyard with restaurant and pool , very relaxing after a days wanderings . The rooms are very well appointed and comfortable . All in all very nice .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Superb Rome location adjacent Borghese Gardens which offer great views of Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are so many things to like about the property. The in-courtyard pool and surrounding hotel gardens. The staff were very attentive and polite. The one Michelin star restaurant yet other good dinning facilities. The hotel bikes and helmets were offered free of charge and much better than the yellow oRide rideshare heavy and cumbersome ones you see littering the streets!

    Superb location high above Rome so cooler and adjacent to the wonderful Borghese Gardens from which you have wonderful views of Rome.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room with Pool and Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was almost impossible to be reached by phone. Endless global operators and waiting, while we wanted them to change on reservation for a museum tour

    Great location, peaceful and beautiful hotel With professional and friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.2
    Luxury hotel with attentive staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor sound insulation between rooms (common problem in Italy). Expected better standard on this front.

    Wonderful staff. Superb breakfast and good restaurant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.9
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We chose this hotel for peace and tranquility in a bustling city. We got that plus all that you wish for attentive staff ,clean and comfortable and excellent service from the staff at all times Highly recommend from a fussy traveller

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Loved our stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a little tired...but did not detract from visit as we were out most of the day and ate out in the city at night.

    Staff exceptional. We liked that it was not in a tourist area and we were glad to get back to the tranquility of the hotel after a long day. Pool and garden area were an extra bonus and not many hotels in Rome , if any, offer this facility. Used the shuttle service which took you nearer the cityevery day which was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel in a lovely location by the Villa Borgehese and park. Easy walk access to the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room with Pool and Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were looking forward to the restaurant but found the menu unappealing and very expensive. Difficult to get a drink by pool and it would have been good to have a great lunch/pool snack menu as the main restaurant with the garden terrace menu was too ‘haute cuisine’ for lunch (admittedly very early in year but incredible weather so pool area normally not fully open in April). I would expected for a hotel of this calibre to have a Nespresso machine as I like a coffee first thing in the morning and don’t wish to get up for it!

    Comfy bed, lovely room although a little small (prestige with pool view).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay and would recommend this place very highly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outstanding staff and a beautiful place to stay. Deborah on reception was superb and Terese our housekeeper kept our room spotless during our nine night stay. The entire staff team were brilliant!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    5.8
    An okay hotel near Villa Borghese
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superior room was small and musky, property is dated and breakfast was just okay, restaurant recommended for dinner by concierge was a disappointment

    Staff were friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent facilities, perfect location, great staff and a relaxing trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic noise can be a little excessive at certain times if you have a road facing room.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Perfect location on edge of park away from the chaos of the city centre but pleasant 15min walk in or 5min courtesy shuttle in.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    However, the rooms are not worthy of a 5 star hotel. The interior design of the hotel is not very nice. I was disappointed and I asked to change room but all the rooms are the same. They upgraded us for free and still the room was disappointing.

    The hotel is very nice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant luxury hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    None

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Trust their recommendations regarding the restaurants / tavernas. You will miss some great food places if you won't follow their advice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    8.8
    The staff were very attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower over the bath flooded the room on the first morning as the shower screen was ineffective. Difficult to control room temperature so slept with window open.

    The staff were very attentive. The room was clean. The hotel is in a mainly residential area but a pleasant 15-20 minute walk through the Borghese gardens to Piaza di Popolo. There is a transit service to the Spanish Steps which runs regularly but we preferred to walk.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    8.3
    Expensive luxury, probably worth it for a longer stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sandwiches at bar were expensive and nothing special. This hotel is on northern edge of Villa Borghese Gardens but there is not much else within easy walking distance in the immediate area. Therefore, likely a long hike, taxi, bus or tram journey to most of the major tourist hot spots of Rome. There is a complementary shuttle service to and from the hotel and Spanish Steps area. This occurs 1/2 hourly from 1030 though I think it should start sooner (say 0800ish?).

    Luxuriously appointed rooms. Prompt and attentive service. We visited for only one night so did not have enough time to appreciate all the facilities. However, sufficiently impressed that we would consider staying here again if on a longer visit to Rome, especially in summer when the inviting outdoor pool area would be a welcome place to relax and cool down.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    10
    This is the perfect place for vacation in Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the perfect place for vacation in Rome. Everything is clean, beautiful; staff was very nice and supportive. I felt very comfortable and I really liked this wonderful place.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.9
    The room is very clean, provided six different kind of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's no air condition with cool air, therefore when we open the window to get some cool air, the traffic is quite noise outside.

    The room is very clean, provided six different kind of fruits everyday. There's a good shuttle service to the city centre which is convenient. The nice garden with a pool is wonderful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    10
    Divine!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Leaving

    An outstanding and beautiful property, get staff, great facilities, great bed, real privacy - understate elegance and no hip hop music in th lobby!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.1
    It is good to have the shuttle bus which is convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is good to have the shuttle bus which is convenient. Staff were friendly and helpful. Facilities are a bit old. The worst part is I don't think the cleaning lady cleaned the tub at all. I actually needed to clean it by myself before I used it. for 28 Euro per person, the breakfast was the bad and actually the worst among the four hotels we stayed in this trip.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    8.3
    Almost superb ;-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I think spending for a memory foam bed should be a good long-term investment and guests will surely appreciate that.

    Almost everything wonderful, we had a very good stay but I think the property should a little bit modernize and restore some rooms of the hotel as well as the introduction of more technology such as the way to communicate with the staff and the key of the rooms.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    a kind of 'heaven on earth'
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very friendly staff; excellent (michelin star) restaurant); nicely situated in Rome, next to Villa Borghese; shuttle service to Spanish stairs; great breakfast. nice welness-facilities. a lot of effort to make yout feel welcome

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    9.6
    Wonderfull!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think maybe they have to improve the shower, because when you get a shower it is imposible do not wet the bathroom.

    Thanks for everything! We went to Roma to finalize our honey moon, and all the staff was very nice with us.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Wonderful stay in Rome
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was perfect !

    This is a wonderful property with the most amazing staff. They go out of their way to help and ensure you have the best stay. The spa is wonderful. I will definitely be coming back.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    Excellent service, beautifully located, and 5 stars all the way! Would return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice hotel with a great accent on the service. Staff goes above and beyond to make you feel special. Beautiful location steps from the villa borguese. Would definitely return!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    8.3
    A lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Wish the restaurant and the bar were not so expensive, especially since there were no other places to eat in the area.

    Luxurious hotel. Staff very helpful and accommodating. The shuttle was most helpful to get us into the central part of the city. The shuttle drivers were fabulous.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    8.8
    Luxury a bit outside Rome centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit high prices, especially expensive restaurant (and not so much alternative restaurants nearby). Distance to the city centre may disturb in a longer visit.

    Excellent facility, especially nice is the swimming pol in the hotel garden! Big park area nearby. Free transport to the Spanich Steps (i.e. closer to the city centre).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    6.7
    Nothing special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room with Pool and Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lobby is closed at the morning. Breakfast was poor. A little bit unexpected for a five star hotel was that at the arrival you have to buy a bottle of water from your minibar (at the price 5 times as normal) because there was no drinking water even as welcome.

    Staff was friendly and fast when help needed. Hotel itself looks impressive. Free shuttle between downtown and hotel was nice surprise.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.9
    Great position if you like to walk through the Villa...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioning is off during Autumn-Winter months.

    Great position if you like to walk through the Villa Borghese park. Staff is helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    It was divine!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was immaculate! We had staff outside our room always asking what we need. The bed was always made to perfection. They gave us a quiet room, although it was around embassies, so the vicinity was over all quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Very restful and comfortable stay. Nothing was too much trouble for the wonderful engaging staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our first room was noisy from the street traffic but we changed rooms and were very satisfied .

    Fresh fruit in our room daily the bathroom was spacious with an excellent shower and bath. The bedroom was extremely comfortable and the pool and gardens were beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Just central enough to be convenient but just at enough away from the throng to be relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There really was nothing to fault as you would expect of a hotel of this class.

    It was our anniversary and they were great - champagne in the room ...say no more

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    5.0
    Beautiful spot. Lovely staff but extremely noisy at night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we booked looked nothing like the room in the pictures. It was tired looking. The carpets in the hallways were stained and old. Our room overlooked a dingy parking area. We changed rooms at considerable expense to us. An upgrade to a beautiful room in another part of the hotel. Unfortunately they only had much more expensive rooms available. (300 Euros more per night!) This room overlooked the pool and gardens. It was however very noisy at night. There was a band until midnight on Friday and Saturday and people partying below are window until 1:20 a.m. On Saturday night one of the adjacent villas started playing loud music complete with blue strobe lights at 4 in the morning morning.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    But hotel lovely and staff great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast too expensive for 2 $28€ each dearest we have struck and not good value for us as vegeterians . Would be great to be able to make a cup of tea in the room .

    Rooms staff hotel we did not eat or drink at hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.2
    Lovely for a Rome break in a good area and beautiful hotel, but very expensive!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a bottom floor junior suite and very spacious, two separate rooms but the tram which ran in front of our window was incredibly noisy. It goes until after midnight and starts about 6am. Also, drinks at the bar are very expensive, even just a coffee. The cafes in the historic centre are cheaper! Seems a bit over priced.

    Toiletries were very nice, penhaligons and the bath towels and robes were extra fluffy. Really good quality :) lots of room space, two TVs and beautiful spa. Treatments very good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Overall, I would highly recommend the hotel and would stay there again ina heartbeat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was excellent but a little pricey. The breakfast buffet was delicious but I felt it too expensive.

    The staff was incredible, they were helpful and went above and beyond to meet our every need.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.8
    Building and gardens are spectacular.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little noisy given tramway in street below despite impressive windows... Shuttle service to Rome city center fills up quickly at peak times so taxi ride required.

    Building and gardens are spectacular. Swimming pool, restaurant and gym impeccable. Nice proximity to Villa Borghese park.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.3
    We had a wonderful time in Rome and the hotel met our needs except for that one incident.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had one bad experience with the maitre'd at the evening poolside restaurant. We had not finished our first course when the second course came out. Maitre'd started to clear our table before we finished so he could place second course. We even had forks still in hand. We felt very uncomfortable being rushed as this is not the norm in Europe. We did not eat there again because if this. Other restaurant were very friendly and we felt they were uncomfortable with his actions too.

    Very clean. Mostly very helpful. The pool was very nice on a hot day.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel, excellence & luxe in covering the tiny...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms are small.

    Great hotel, excellence & luxe in covering the tiny details. Extremely family friendly: distributes water at the entrance, bikes, umbrellas, shuttles. And full kid's facilities in the room: cribs, full toilet set including bathtub and baby toilet seat.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    Luxury hotel with lovely staff and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I understand the restaurant has a mitchillin star, however the food was very expensive, and out of our price range. €28 for breakfast per person per day and a meal by the pool rounghly €30 per person

    Luxury hotel with lovely staff and facilities

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    3.3
    The amazing restaurant and the friendly and professional...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are so far away from a 5 stars hotel. Old and not totally clean. We finnaly change the room for a junior suite but the bath room was old and small. There is mold in the silicon who surrounding the bath room. Absolutely unacceptable in a 5 stars hotel. A realy bad experience. You can have so far away better for the same price in Rome

    The amazing restaurant and the friendly and professional staff in the lobby

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Pleasant luxurious stay in Roma
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    they could add a menu for the lobby for example... near the bar area. They can create a new restaurant really... but it's just an opinion.

    We didn't want to be in the centre of the old city as it was a hot period. So the fact that the hotel was on the edge of villa Borghese was perfect. The pool area is very pleasant. There is a shuttle service for free to the Spanish steps. Each time we wanted to head to the centre. Rooms are spacious, we had a connecting room with the kids. There is a tram that runs around but it didn't cause any nuisance. Highly recommend it if someone wants to relax and not to only visit the city. It made our trip a pleasant one as we had this place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    8.3
    Want to comeback
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was noisy, but they were kind enough to provide a change for a better use. The manager was very kind. Alex, a blond guy from Romania is also very nice giving rides to guest to the city center accross Villa Borghese.

    Service was impecable. Swimmming pool and gardens are a must see. Soa is also very nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    Brilliant position
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was in the front of the property and I could hear the trams until very late and very early in the morning

    Loved the pool and gardens and the location was excellent -

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.2
    Book it without delay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really except maybe the Poolside dining was a little over priced for what it was.

    Amazing bed, great showers, the best breakfast - all essentials but notable as they were delivered to the best quality Loved we could lie by the pool during the heat of the day, then explore Rome by night.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.9
    Justifiably expensive, but wouldn't eat at restaurant and they shut the pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shut the pool at short notice for a private party, despite the eye-watering rates to stay here. Big no no. We need a pool on holiday. Obsequious staff. Breakfast was hugely expensive at 28 euros each per morning. Restaurant Food was overpriced and while meat was good the accompaniments were inedible for both of us.

    Luxurious. Shuttle service to and from the Spanish steps very useful. Breakfast had a good choice and view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    Perfect hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Prestige Double Room with Pool and Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A Little oasis in the middel of Rome. For hot summer months, this was a perfect combination of site seeing and then returning to the hotel to enjoy the beautiful pool and peaceful garden/cafe. We truly loved this hotel. And the staff were all exceptionally friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful boutique property - feel like royalty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist at the Spa wasn't very helpful when the hotel directed us to use their changing rooms after checkout. Reception at the hotel saved the day. The pool is noisy with kids around 3pm - so avoid it then. The vegetarian club sandwich at the poolside was sad and took a long time to come - the service was much quicker the next day and the nicoise salad and calamari was good.

    Beautiful property and location near the Villa Borghese. Great shuttle service to Spanish Steps and well trained service oriented hotel staff. Even though room wasn't ready, we had a great time by the pool - there are locked cabins and full changing rooms by the pool - and were made to feel welcomed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    7.1
    Lovely hotel - just need to improve beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No city view from our room - trams woke us up each morning. Room was small and the bed was the most uncomfortable I've ever slept on. Service by the pool was slow

    Staff were extremely helpful and were recommended lovely restaurants by the concierge. Loved having the pool to relax by after a busy day is sightseeing. The shuttle service into city centre was brilliant too as it is too far to walk if found a full days sightseeing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.6
    A Royal place with excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don't serve any sandwiches or food before noon at the pool! And this is very weird! Why? We could not order any croissant or ham and cheese toast with our cappuccinos. This was the only thing that was annoying

    I loved the hotel so elegant chic and clean . The personnel is extremely polite and cooperative . The food is excellent too. The location is a bit far from the center but the shuttles helped a lot and even in taxi the distance is max of 10 minutes . I would stay there again this for sure!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Absolutely superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - all wonderful

    Beautiful hotel, excellent facilities, fabulous breakfast, wonderful gardens and pool. But it is the staff who really make this hotel special. Absolutely every member of staff we came into contact with was friendly, gracious, and went out of their way to make us feel like valued guests. This level of customer service does not happen by accident, and it was obvious that 'customer first' is the driver behind everything the hotel does. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and hope to return again. We would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    10
    My favorite stay in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their professional & friendly staff, the cleaniness, the outdoor seating garden ( loved it ), their courtesy car to get around the town, My experience was great! i will definitely stay again in aldrovandi villa borghese when i visit Rome again

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    9.2
    Hotel with flowers and beauty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Our stay did not begin well however. I and my husband were celebrating our 70th and our 60th birthdays. We booked and paid fully for the 7 nights 7 months earlier. There is no direct flight between Reykjavík and Rome in March. Our flights were delayed again and again, and we arrived at the hotel 27 hours late. We were exhausted and sleepless and tired. We were asked at the reception why we had not phoned them. They had already booked our room for someone else. We did think of ringing, but then in waiting rooms or waiting in busses on airstrips our phone charges ran out or there was no connection. And nowadays there are no public telephones anywhere. Ringing from Barcelona a day late would probably not have saved the day anyway. And every hour before we took off we were led to believe that the flight was about to take off (Vuelling). The same in Barcelona (Iberia). It took the hotel 3 hours to find us another room and we drank coffee and had a meal while they did so. At our cost I should add. I must admit, I did not expect to lose the room I had already paid for because of flight delays. But then I am not a very experienced traveller. The hotel people are professionals, they must have experienced flight delays even if I have not. The room was in the end marvellous and we loved it. We paid for city view but we got none but instead a view of the garden which was probably better

    This hotel was awesome. The decor and flower decorations were gorgeous. The breakfast was served in a beautiful ballroom with all the best food available. There is a minibus from the hotel every half hour which takes you straight to and from the Spanish steps. All you had to do was to arrange a place on the bus in advance. Worked beautifully. My hubby lost his bag in a restaurant downtown, and the minibusdriver organized and saved the day getting the bag back for him.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    10
    A Fantastic Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Prestige Double Room with Pool and Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    The room was clean, spacious and had everything I needed. It overlooked the gardens/swimming pool and so it was very quiet. The staff were welcoming and very helpful - nothing was too much trouble for them. The concierge service was amazing and the free shuttle service to the Spanish Steps was handy. We ate a delicious pasta lunch in the gardens and the breakfast was excellent. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    8.8
    We will definately be returning!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room with Pool and Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Heaters on the patio would encourage more customers to drink outside. Pillows were too firm, but softer ones were provided upon request.

    We liked; Location, Suite (upgrade) Staff, Hotel, Pool, Gardens, Restaurant, Breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    7.9
    Free shuttle to Spanish steps
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Prestige Double Room with Pool and Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad housekeeping! I've found the somebody's glasses in the pocket of the bathrobe!! The city view rooms are very noisy because of the tram !

    Free shuttle to Spanish steps

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel near Borghese Gardens
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large room with a very nice bathroom and a lovely living room. Perfect for us and our son who was traveling with us. The lobby was beautiful! Great pool! Nice spa with steam room, sauna and hot tub.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel for relaxing weekend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cleaning lady coming a bit too early to ring the door on the weekend. Otherwise all was great.

    The hotel lobby is really nice well decorated, the location is in front of the park that you can enjoy walking though about 20min distance to main shopping/ restaurants area. You can also take a bike at the hotel. Free shuttle is every 30 min to go / come back if you are tired or coming back late. Breakfast was excellent with very friendly staff! Dinner at the restaurant was great too.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    8.8
    Good hotel, good quality, very professional and friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing spectacular about the hotel. Rooms are ok. Need taxi to get to the center.

    Good hotel, good quality, very professional and friendly staff. Very good concierge. Located just near the park and the zoo.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    9.6
    Excellent would definately return and Rome is a stunning city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The Hotel is beautiful , Staff are excellent , Room was lovely , Breakfast was super and plenty there .. Shuttle in to the City as complimentary was excellent. Bar food was beautiful , highly recommend the "Club" Sandwich :)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    10
    Amazing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was in a beautiful location - the rooms were to a very high standard. The hotel was beautifully decorated, the staff were over and above 5stars - they upgraded my room and made my stay a magical one.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful hotel for a special occasion
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive food and drink (but I do appreciate it is a 5 star hotel!) The location of our room was on the "noisy" side of the hotel where the trams go up and down until the early hours. I was emailed prior to the visit to ask for any requests and I did request a quiet room away from road traffic but still was given this room. It didn't ruin the stay as everything else was so nice but to make it perfect it would have been better to have a room at the back of the hotel.

    Staff are extremely attentive and would do anything to make your stay perfect. Rooms are immaculately clean and housekeeping do an amazing job. The buffet breakfast was excellent and the cocktails at the bar sublime!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    8.8
    My vote for Rome
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Exceptional breakfast, very friendly staff and a great overall ambiance from this hotel. Highly recommended to all seeking a comfortable, luxury hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyable! Love it! Would definitely stay there again while in Rome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Honestly, it is a little bit far from the city centre, a trade-off for its quite and safe neighborhood.

    After we spent 3 days in Malta and back again to Aldrovandi, the staff could still recognize me by name! And the welcoming fruit plate was a huge surprise!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful service and one of the best breakfasts anywhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room with Pool and Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and particularly the bathroom was quite compact.

    The staff were extremely friendly professional and efficient. Breakfast was excellent. Lovely bar and communal areas. The hotel provides a shuttle service to the Spanish Steps. Very quiet as room overlooked the pool.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    10
    The perfect hotel for the perfect holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There is nothing to complain about.

    Perfect hotel for the perfect holiday. No kidding everything was perfect. Even late check out till 1700 at no extra charge. From the rooms to the breakfast and other services all performed meticulously.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    9.2
    Nice comfortable place in Rome with very friendly reception staff but disappointing restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The so called gourmet restaurant were disappointing - it was very expensive - (menu145€ excl wine), but the service was not professional - the put the first dish on our table without presentation of the dish and before we even got the wine card and had selected a wine. No individual service and care - waste of money and time.

    The room service and maintenance were very sophisticated

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    9.6
    Great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet in the room was a bit old. But that's a minor detail and everything else was lovely.

    Really professional staff. Evident that they care about their job and customers.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    10
    Lovely luxurious hotel for your stay in too
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike, all comments are positive

    We had an excellent stay at this hotel, a little further out which we preferred. Only a 20 min walk to the Trevi fountain through a lovely park, or the hotel offers a free shuttle service every half an hour, which is perfect. Hotel staff very attentive and always happy to help. Breakfast was delicious, a good choice too. Room luxurious and very quiet. Would definitely recommend and will come back if we visit Rome again

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    8.8
    Beatiful traditional Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Close proximity of old noisy tramline which vibrated the Hotel each time a tram passed. We stayed at the back of the Hotel overlooking the Pool so were protected from this vibrabion a little. If we had stayed at the front of the Hotel we would have asked to be moved away to a quieter location

    Decor and cleanliness of Hotel Service - excellent ; friendly Staff The room The Spa We were pampered from start to finish

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    7.9
    I had a great weekend. The hotel staff were very accommodating and dealt with queries swiftly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Shuttle bus could have dropped us closer to the town centre i.e. Piazza del Popolo. Breakfast - fantastic range but the eggs were always very cold.

    Concierge was fantastic.

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Aldrovandi Villa Borghese - The Leading Hotels of the World traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: