Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Alessandra 2 stars

Borgo SS Apostoli 17, Uffizi, 50123 Florence, Italy

#70 of 384 hotels in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 535 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That we didn't have more time to stay!

    Friendly staff always ready to help. Large clean room with very comfortable beds. A spacious bathroom, excellent shower head and pressure. Breakfast buffet delicious and the best coffee. In a fabulous location close to everything but pleasantly one road back from all the action and noise. Yes there are stairs but they are no problem especially if you don’t have large luggage and there is a lift after the first floor if needed. There is a lovely roof terrace where you can relax in the quiet of the evening.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no wifi access within the hotel rooms !! Guests must sit in the corridor on level 1 or in the breakfast room to use wifi. Furthermore, guests are limited to 45mins of wifi access per day, requiring log-in with a unique number and password. This is unacceptable in my opinion, especially for business travellers.

    Central location, not far from the train station. Didn't bother with breakfast, just wanted to get of there...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Basic Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed is a little too firm for my comfort. Lift is on second floor although the hotel staff will very kindly get your luggage to the lift for you if you can manage stairs without the luggage.

    Good location-in the heat of the City-close to Ponte Vecchio, Ufizzi, shopping district. Short walk to Santa Maria Novella, and Duomo. Excellent staff-very helpful with must see atrractions and restaurant recommendations. Nice breakfast room and a good breakfast although limited for those who need Gluten Free.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Espresso at breakfast was pretty weak - surprising in Italy. And be aware that there are a good number of steps once you're inside the building before you get to the VERY tiny elevator to take you to the lobby - so tiny we often just decided to continue taking the stairs the rest of the way up rather than the three of us squeeze in.

    Great location literally around the corner from Ponte Vecchio! Wonderful, friendly and helpful staff! Exact directions and map to parking and recommendation to go there first, then walk to hotel were spot on. Very comfortable beds and full size shower - one of only two stops on our recent five stop tour of northern Italy that we got to enjoy those two amenties. A selection of bottles of wine and beer available at regular retail cost rather than inflated prices next to front desk and theres a great little rooftop patio where you can relax and enjoy it. Really can't recommend the Hotel Alessandra enough - a thoroughly enjoyable stay!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Very friendly staff and fantastic location. 5 min walk to all main sites. Receptionist made the stay very enjoyable. Looking forward to going back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The top shower head did not work, the bathroom also leaked water onto the floor. The standard european 2 pin did not work on the socket and therefore we needed to borrow an adapter and therefore only had 1 working plug between us.

    The gentleman at reception was extremely friendly and the location was excellent. Good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only difficulty was that you had to walk up 30 steps to reach the elevator. That is beyond they control. They must be considered if you stay here. We're in our 60's and are no worse for the wear and it would not keep us away. It is too great of a place.

    It was quiet, clean, old-style but updated. Every staff member was really welcoming and helpful. We had been there 13 years before and Andrea and the Signora greeted us like family and gave us our old room and were extremely helpful with great recommendations and ideas. (Loved that they offered us a welcome drink!) There is a second Andrea aka Monte who also is fantastic and friendly, caring and entertaining. He's a perfect addition as the late evening front desk person.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly staff and the hotel is right in the middle of town. Perfectly placed for seeing everything in Florence. Breakfast was good but choose your time to go as it gets busy in the breakfast room. WiFi was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Perfectly situated in the centre of Florence. Walkable distance to all the major sights and restaurants in town. Big room. Plenty of options for breakfast. Everyone working there was very kind and helpfull in all situations.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Basic Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    How to get into the hotel from the street- maybe instructions on the net when booking.

    Very central located to get to Duomo , Ponte Vecchio, train station and the River Arno. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's a climb upstairs to the hotel. The elevator is very small, about 2'x3' and when you enter the building there's a foul smell in the stairwell which makes the immediate impression offputting, but once in the hotel itself you can't smell anything and all is well.

    I appreciated the cleanliness of the room and large bathroom. Although we had the lower end/smaller room the view of the courtyard was quaint/nice and I loved how the windows opened like french doors for fresh air, and how they shut to completely block out the light at night. The location is wonderful...central to every attraction.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything

    We were warmly greeted, staff was excellent and helpful in directing us to local restaurants and sights. They also helped us with our bags and calling for a taxi. Also, the breakfast selections were great and they made us cappuchino to order. The room was spacious and comfortable with extra blankets and pillows. Location was terrific and close to everything we wanted to do. We plan to return and will stay there again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel style it's very dated ( old) and you have to be prepared to walk tons of stairs to get to the hotel because it's in a tall building.

    The concierge was very very helpful he give me a lot of great tips about the city, about where to eat and whether go, the breakfast was good and the location was close to all the attractions

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. The location is perfect. Right in the middle of the main attraction area. There is a grocery shop just near the hotel, which is a plus. The breakfast is amazing: bacon, eggs, bread, pies, croissants, you name it!! There is also a sink in the room, which is a sweet touch. For someone who cannot go up stairs, the first flight of stairs to the small lift might be a bit tedious. The bathroom was down the hallway, as it is explained, so some might find that uncomfortable, but personally, I didn't have a problem. Awesome place to stay!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are extremely nice and helpful, the location is unbeatable, all places of interests within few minutes walk. Room is large with high ceiling, well maintained. Worthy the price. Highly recommend!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When you enter the hotel there was a strong sewage like smell, very strong. Elevator is starting from the 2nd floor. So if you have 1-2 suit cases you need to carry to 2nd floor. Bathroom is small and water was not draining in shower. No exhaust in bathroom, so you can imagine how a family of 4 survived. We found mosquitos in the room. On the side table there was a device to fume away the mosquitos. Leather seat was totally worn out, you feel uncomfortable sitting on it.

    Breakfast was OK.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast was excellent and the service was excellent. For the number of people in the breakfast room at one time, I feel the hotel places far too much work on the one person serving. She was cheerful and responsive and always efficient.

    Cappuccino was one of the best I had in two weeks in Italy. Thank you to the excellent breakfast service. The room was spacious, beautiful and charming. So quiet at night, and the location was off the touristy area, but easily walkable to every major attraction.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a foul smell in the building stairway. The very small lift did not go all the way to get he ground floor.

    Very friendly and helpful staff directed us to good restaurants and shopping. Nice breakfast with many pastries, good capuchiino etc. Location near Ponte Vecchio was ideal.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I understand that there is some general law that prohibits each room for having an iron to iron your shirts, but as a business traveler it should be easy to get your shirts handled or iron in a shared area.

    Breakfast was very good as well as the location. Staff very friendly and service minded.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I would recommend to pay more attention to the food consumption at breakfast. We have stayed for four days, and every morning (09-15) there was a lack of beckon or eggs or bread, because others guests ate them already. Sometimes American coffee was cold. Somebody needs to supervise the breakfast process. The smiles of stuff do not substitute the food, sorry.

    It`s ok, friendly people.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything for the stay was lovely, but as a heads up, the hotel is in a lively part of town, so things can get loud in the wee hours of the morning on a weekend. That being said, would still recommend!

    The staff was wonderful-- always very happy to assist with anything needed. The breakfast was delicious! Perfect location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I cannot say enough good things about this lovely hotel. The staff and location are amazing and the breakfast was wonderful. Would highly recommend this hotel and can't wait to come back!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a great place to stay - so central yet quiet. The staff were really helpful as we were in town for the marathon and they went out of their way to accommodate us with an early breakfast. I would really recommend staying here, great location and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had reserved a suite but this was changed to a regular room. Because of this, our 3-year-old daughter had to sleep in the same bed as us.

    Extremely good location and very friendly and knowledgeable staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are air conditioning units are in each room but they are controlled centrally at the reception. So if you want the temperature changed or switch it on/off you have to call the reception. Seriously? (we were lucky to be there in November, so we didnt really care) No coffee/tea making facilities in the rooms. Early checkout time. The entrance of the building had a weird gas like smell all the way up to the second floor where the reception is. No it wasnt a leak it was just always there. The hotel can make some effort and add air fresheners/perfume diffusers in the common areas of the building to help this problem. Finally, if you have a lot of luggage- the elevator which starts after you have climbed a flight of stairs is just big enough to fit two mid sized people. For comparison, my office desk has a larger surface area.

    Pretty good breakfast, great location. The rooms were fine - being in the historic center the building is old, the hotel grows on you from the second day onwards. The staff is the highlight of this hotel though - they were excellent throughout. On the day of the checkout the guy at the reception offered to take our luggage to stow it in the common room (he wasnt expecting tips- he was one of the main guys manning the reception), asked if we would like an umbrella since it was raining.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The combination of stairs and elevator to the reception and rooms is a bit inconvenient , but there is really no alternative in the building. Other hotels in the area seemed to have ground level lobbies, but at higher rates.

    Hotel gave us detailed instructions on driving our rental car to the garage they use. It was challenging, but it worked. Certainly driving in and out of central Florence is not recommended by the hotel, but we did not have a choice and their help was excellent. Room, bed, and breakfast were all excellent. Desk staff VERY helpful. Stairs and elevator to reception were less than ideal, but manageable. Location without peer.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stairs to get up to the elevator with our luggage when checking in.

    The staff was especially helpful. Christoff helped us find our way around and gave us great restaurant and gelato recommendations.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Didn't like that you had to get up on a bench to see out the windows. Hated the flight and a half of steps to get to the lift to just reach the lobby. We were fortunate to have our room on that same floor. Hauling your luggage up those stairs and climbing them after a long day of site seeing is just exhausting.

    Lovely buffet breakfast with personal service of coffee, cappuccino, espresso. The staff in this establishment was the friendliest, most helpful group we experienced during our 3 week tour of Italy. We were thrilled with their suggestions and recommendations when we asked for them. We loved the size of our room and large windows; plus the bathroom had both a lovely bathtub and shower.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe rooms are due for a slight refresh or modern upgrade but they are still nice and have a certain charm.

    Great location, right in the main area of Florence. Staff were welcoming, friendly and always helpful. Rooms are big and clean. Breakfast is good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit noisy from my room at night due to the location being so central.

    Breakfast very good and staff excellent ... first time in fifteen days and various accommodation around Italy I had encountered professional hotel staff who happened to speak brilliant English.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our big disappointment was when we checked in the guy told us we needed to pay the taxes in cash...which we did. When we looked at our reservation we saw ALL taxes were paid at time of booking...he ripped us off!

    The room was very comfortable, the breakfast was outstanding! The homemade croissants were to die for. The owner was very helpful with advice and calling our cab.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Basic Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast- quite basic and hot dishes not replenished very quickly. More fruit and variety of hot savoury food would have been welcome.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Room comfortable. Excellent location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lift is small and doesn't operate to the ground floor, so you need to carry your bags etc up to the first floor, before accessing the lift to check in. Its not a major issue as long as your bags aren't too large or too many.

    I loved the quaint old world charm of this little private hotel. The staff are really friendly, cooperative and professional. I would have loved to stay at this Hotel longer it is so conveniently located for all that you could want to see in Firenze, so you can head out after a nourishing breakfast for a few hours and then return for a quick siesta, and then once refreshed return to the streets below to stroll and explore further.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great central location. Round the corner from Uffizzi, Palazzo Vecchio and Ponte Vecchio. Great breakfasts and friendly hosts. We went for a Junior Suite - a really large room with seating area and air conditioning. Really good value for Florence

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    medieval buildings not made for easy access, but we didn't expect that anyway !!

    great location and river view and being in a place built in the 1500's !!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old hotel and very bad for anyone staying with suitcases! Despite having a small elevator to carry your bags, you must climb a long ladder until you reach the elevator! The elevator can only be used for suitcases, and guests must access the floors by stairs!

    Hotel very well located

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The private bathroom was down the hallway. They were very clear on this when booking so I wasn't surprised, however I would probably pay a little more next time to have a room with a connected private bathroom.

    The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. It was also in a great location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice and excellent service. The reception staff were very helpful and suggested a number of great places to eat that weren't full of tourists. Our room was spacious and quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Two flights of stairs before reaching the elevator. Access to the parking is difficult, cannot double park in front of the hotel

    Perfect location to visit Firenze, just a few hundred yards from Galleria dei Uffisi and El Duomo.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only downside was the initial climb to the elevator, it could be a bit of a struggle for someone with heavy cases.

    The front desk man was wonderfully inviting and funny. He also was ruthless in finding us room in a tour booked only the evening before and booking an early morning taxi. The hotel was in an excellent location, walking distance from all the main sites. The room we had had a nice river view and the room itself was nicely appointed, roomy, comfortable and quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There are 2 flight of stairs to go up before the lift, so if you are older traveler with heavy luggage then this may not be for you. It wasn't an issue for me.

    The staff were just wonderful...from the owner to every staff on duty..professional, sincere, accommodating and patient. Property had the best location, 4min walk to the uffizi gallery and 2 min walk to the water, each morning i watched Duomo outside my window. The streets were quiet enough but fast access to the busy tourist street as well. The property is kept in top notch shape and cleanliness considering it is a heritage building and no smell!! at all of a heritage building, it was amazing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Basic Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything!

    Breakfast had many great choices - scrambled eggs, hard boiled eggs, bacon, toast, apple flan & strudel, 4 types of cereal. Staff at any time of day were marvellous! So friendly. Dining room quickly cleaned & prepared for the next guest to eat. Location is less than 1/2 km from Ponte Vecchio.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't stay long enough !

    The room was more like an apartment . There was 3 of us and we had plenty of space and more . Highly recommend for families . The staff were amazing ! Monte was a joy ! Location was perfect ! Everything was walking distance . I highly recommend this hotel ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! However, if you had mobility issues, then access would be awkward, they have a lift, but it's quite tiny.

    Booked a family room. It was huge. Room itself basic, but when you've got all of Florence on your doorstep, you're sorted!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Basic Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had two rooms and in one room aircon was very noisy it sounded like a hammer drill and the second room was way too hot. All that manager said was "oh we have a problem with the aircon when it's on full so just turn it down" about the second room he said "but it's a larger room". A male receptionist (didn’t get his name) up on 4th level was very unhelpful. Couldn't care less about my questions re water taxi and I had to ring him back for the price that he told me that he would find out etc etc a trip to reception and 3 phone calls later taxi was still not confirmed. Building is nice so are rooms nice and ckean (- noise &temperature issues) but I would not stay there again. Very poor breakfast for 4 star hotel.

    It was clean and comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Basic Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing that wasn't great about this hotel was getting up to our room. There is no elevator between the first and second floor (the elevator goes from the second floor up) which was a little tough when carrying our luggage.

    Hotel Alessandra's location could not possibly have been better. It is walking distance to many of the popular tourist destinations in the area, as well as a huge selection of great restaurants. Additionally, the staff was friendly and helpful, especially when providing tips and suggestions for what to do in the area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were really very welcoming and friendly, not like in large hotels. I had missed my phone charger. They very kindly allowed me to use their computer for charging

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, the stairs. But, the view from the upper floors and the history of.the 500+ year old building made up for it.

    Staff was tremendous - from front desk & office to the breakfast servers who put happy faces on your morning cappuccino. Every recommendation from dining to activities to transportation were spot on.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very welcoming and helpful. They provided us with an early check-in, helped us with taxis and restaurant recommendations. The day we left we had to leave at 5:00 a.m. and they gave us a bag of breakfast treats to take with us. Excellent service!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a big climb up several flights of stairs to the lobby and the elevator (for moving suitcases) was cramped. Also it would have been better if the electricity could be kept on in the room when no one is in, so that we could have charged our devices. (When you leave, you take the electricity on/off key with you.

    The staff were extremely nice and helpful. The location could scarcely have been better: hotel was only one block from the Ponte Vecchio, yet the street was quite quiet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing actually.

    Where the hotel located is extremely convenient to travel to most of the sites in Florence. The staffs speak good english and will provide information on traveling advices.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was extremely nice and accommodating. Monti always had a cheerful and funny greeting for us. They gave great recommendations and were very helpful!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was warned about stairs from other reviews - they do warrant a mention. Compact bathroom with low ceiling height, but included all the things you would need.

    Large, spacious room. Friendly staff with a warm welcome. Close to Train Station - an easy walk even with luggage. Adequate breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Basic Family room could use a bit of an update and more comfortable furniture and place to sit other than the beds

    Great Location, great breakfast, friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Monti checked us in and made us feel right at home. We upgraded to a room with a king size bed and It was totally worth the 10 Euros. Since we were only in Florence for one night, Monte gave us an iitenerary of how to maneuver around the city. We followed his advice and fell in love with Florence. Monti sent us to a less touristy place of the city that was beautiful and quaint. We were able to see a Michaelangelo sculpture up close with no big crowds.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This little hotel is absolutely amazing! I found it on the map after checking into my not-so-great Airbnb and I could not be happier with this place. All the reviews talking about location, service and breakfast are correct. I second all of that. Location is amazing, right next to the river and 10 minute walk to the train station and about 10-15 walk from all the major city attractions. Central location is big when you want to drop things off throughout the day or take a shower (which in the summer you may want to do a few times:). Everyone is very nice at the hotel and made me feel like home. Breakfast is excellent for such a tiny place. The food stations may seem small but they constantly refill them and there is really everything you may want to eat: pastry station, three types of cereal, hot eggs and bacon, fresh fruit, yogurt, orange juice, coffee and tea station (or they can make espresso or cappuccino for you). I had a single room with a twin bed so it was pretty simple but just enough. Bathroom was great though, shower where you can raise your elbows without hitting the walls:) good water pressure, everything works. AC keeps the room quite cold and it's centrally controlled, so I did ask them to make it a bit warmer and to turn it off at night. All staff is very accommodating. And as a bonus, there is a little terrace with a few tables where you can have some wine at the end of the day or just sit and enjoy the view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stairs can be killer.

    The service was wonderful! Such a happy staff and definitely wanted to make our short time there as nice as possible. They gave us a map with great recommendations for a restaurant and the best gelato out of the milliions of gelato places around.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to walk flight of stairs with the luggage. There is no porter but we managed to get help from receptionist.

    Very accommodating and friendly staff, convenient location . Junior suit was very nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The super narrow elevator starts only after a flight of stairs so you need to be ready to pull your luggage for about 20 steps.

    Very customer friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The steps up to the lift were harder than I thought, especially after dragging my luggage from train station. I took a taxi back

    Great location. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing we did not like. I have already told them that we would have liked more fruit at breakfast. The thing to remember it is a 2 star hotel and sometimes you may have to wait a couple of minutes to be let into the building. The other thing is that there are quite a few steps to climb to get to the hotel, but if you don't want steps don't go to Florence.

    The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The room was excellent with a comfortable bed pleasant bathroom and the cleanliness was first class. The breakfast was good and staff lovely. The hotel is situated about 150 meters from Ponte Vecchio, 300 metres from the Uffizi so the location is excellent. We would definitely stay next time we are in Florence.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    A 2 star property with 5 star service. Very good breakfast. All the staff are helpful to provide answer to your questions which makes your stay enjoyable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff was went above and beyond in making sure our stay was comfortable. The breakfast was very good and the room was clean. The hotel has a lift which was appreciated as this is a walk up accommodation.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The 20 stair climb to get to the lift to get to the 4th floor reception area. Breakfast end time not very flexible we are slow starters in the morning.

    The room was kept clean and the air conditioning worked well despite it being very hot outside. All the staff were very helpful whether it was helping with luggage to getting boarding passes from their computer.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Basic Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Miserable bed and hazardous bathroom steps, fairly shambolic breakfasts and inflexibly controlled from the centre air conditioning.

    Position and obliging staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really can't think of one thing, except they should allow smoking on the small roof top terrace.

    The character is a little dated, but in a good way. Has some charm that makes you feel very comfortable. Close to Ponte Vecchio, Conad, and easy to walk to the other side of the river and get away from some of the tourists.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The scrambled eggs weren't very good. They were dry and tasteless. The baked goods were excellent though.

    Staff was wonderful. They were friendly and very accommodating. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly, helpful staff who spoke some English, helped arrange an evening gondola tour, taxi etc... generally just very pleasant and welcoming. Excellent location for walking tour of Florence and great restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the furniture was old but it didn't bother us.

    It was spacious and comfortable. It had everything we needed. Quiet. The breakfast was good,especially the cappuccinos with smiley faces.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was great and staff very friendly and helpful. Great recommendations for restaurants and location was excellent, we were right around the corner from Ponte Vecchio and The Uffizi Gallery was 100 metres away at the end of the street.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing. It was all good.

    Many will rave about the Hotel Alessandra's location, but my wife will tell you the real reason to go is the fresh croissants each morning (in fact the whole breakfast was excellent). Our suite was huge, with comfortable beds, and an inspirational view of the Arno to start each morning. The staff was especially nice and helpful; we felt at home from the moment we arrived. We look forward to staying here again on our mandatory return trip to Florence.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I mentioned in an email a month before I arrived that we needed to leave early morning for the airport. Upon check in, the front desk had that information already set up and followed through by setting up a taxi pick up at 5am without me reminding them. They just took care of it for us!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely fabulous service at Hotel Alessandra. Immediately upon arriving the helpful staff booked me a reservation at the Uffizi for the next morning. I was only in Florence for 2 nights but my stay was lovely- I didn't want to leave! I had to leave before 5am for my flight and the staff even left me a breakfast to go. Great location, close to everything. Can't recommend enough.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The steps leading up to the lift were a problem with our luggage. Maybe if someone came down to help get the bags to the lift would solve this problem.

    Monte at reception and lovely young lady who was in charge of breakfast room were exceptionally helpful and friendly. The breakfast was the best I've ever had in a hotel. It was very quiet and in a quaint street.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Andrea and the other responsabile person are the most hospitable people that l have ever seen. Because of my friend illness they interested with us and always asked me if l need something..The location of the hotel is situated on the center.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Alessandra traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: