Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Massimo 3 stars

Via Palestro 35, Central Station, 00185 Rome, Italy

#697 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 382 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 50

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really thin walls I felt like I was in the room with the family next door I could hear their conversation that well. Also the fact you need to check in with the hotel next door. Didn't find that out until I had gone up 3 flights of stairs with all my bags to press an intercom only to be told to come back down and get the key.

    Location was very good. About a 5 minute walk to the main train station. And there is a really good supermarket about 2 minutes walk away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The amount of stairs wasn’t made aware of this. Also having breakfast served in another hotel not massimo. No hotel sign outside that was prominent.

    Area was quiet at night, and good location for getting about.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The communal areas need some maintenance.

    The hotel is part of the hotel Galileo. The staff are absolutely lovely. The rooms are typically Italian - basic but ours had air con and a safe (both no extra charge)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast is something can get better they have to alert guests that check-in is in another place PRIOR to getting up 3 floors with all of your luggage in the room there were mistaken info about wi/fi cnx

    excelent location clean room silent room kind staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    No kettle in room.Room quite dark. No tea or coffee facilities. Building work in progress. Have to walk through main road to go to the reception and daily breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The off part was that the hotel was on third floor. There are two hotel which share the same reception. You have to reach the third floor through a small lift , which barely fitted two people at a time. Otherwise it was good.

    The room were decent. The bathroom were also nice , but the shower area was very small. The staff was good, they were very receptive. The kept our luggage one day prior to check-in as we had to visit sorrento, but could not have carry extra luggage. So they were nice enough to keep our luggage.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Maybe a little more diverse breakfast, but even so, it wasn't a problem because we had enough options.

    Helpful and welcoming staff, always smiling and ready to answer your questions Maps of the city at the front desk Delicious breakfast with flexible hours Nice rooms with spacious bathroom Housekeeping cleaned the room everyday Close to the main interest areas of the city Terrace for breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are small, the bathroom facilities are not working properly, the elevator that you should take in order to arrive to the 3rd floor where it is located the hotel, is a very old one, but more or less for 1 night if you don't find nothing better at this price you can choose this hotel.

    The hotel is in a good location, by foot you make around 10 minutes from Termini Rail Station

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was fine since we only came back to Rome for our flight, when we were there visit we stayed in another hotel with a much better location. Also, it is not very safe to walk in the area at night especially for two girls like us, even Italians told us so! The place is very clean, it is calm and the service is great!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A room safe that was not broken. Glasses or beakers (plastic would have been fine) in the room. Unstained toilet bowl - it was clean just stained.

    The breakfast was very good although we did have to go to the hotel next door. The staff were very obliging. The only negative was the artificial tasting fruit juice. The set up (several hotels on different floors all using the same main hotel reception, breakfast room etc) was a little strange but otherwise a place we would certainly stay in again whether for business or leisure.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small cosy lifts starts from 1st floor. So I have to carry my stuffs to first floor then take 1 by 1 to reception which is on 6th floor. :(

    Good to stay

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-fi didn't work in our room.

    Can't say much, because we stayed there only for few hours - used as a resting place for one night, we had plane aroud 6am. Checking-in was interesting experience, because you have to go to other hotel to check-in :) But staff was really friendly and funny :) Good location - 15 min by feet from Termini, supermarket aroud a corner and nice pizzeria just by hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small shower.

    Very nice and helpful staf, good breakfast, good location - close to termini stadion, metro, everything enough for short trip with family and friends :)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A real trap. The rooms are located in the third floor of a dark and old building. NO RECEPTION AVAILABLE AT THE FLOOR OR AT THE BUILDING. You have to ring a bell that conects people in the reception of another hotell, in another building. In case of no answer from the bell, You have to make a fone call and ask for instructions (suppose the trouble for a tourist from abroad who has moblile phone not available!!!!) After instructions, You have to go down to the ground floor, and walk to reception, make checking and get the kees. Very poor bed, blankets and floor. I do not understand wy Booking.com deal with a trash like that. Besides that, the hotel site is note so clear and do not inform correctly all about the real conditions to be faced by a guest.

    Good people in the reception of the hotel Galileo who "attends" the Hotel (????) Massimo.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel could have better signage and check-in instructions - you actually have to go to the Hotel Galileo next door to sign in and breakfast is also served there.

    The complimentary breakfast was excellent - a good spread, with delicious chocolate croissants and a nice selection of coffees. The free WiFi was a bonus and the downtown location made it easy to get around. The Hop On/Off bus stop was only a few blocks away and a lot of the major attractions were within walking distance. The hotel also arranged a car to take us to the airport. This no-frills hotel is clean, secure and gives great value for money.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Confusion re Massimo being part of the adjacent hotel, and having to find how to get into it! After cramming into the lift with luggage and finding a locked door to the hotel..... well, more could be explained on the website!

    Very quiet, nicer area than right near the station. Coffee very good at breakfast. Reception staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money was not there. This was advertised as a three star at it was most definitely a two star hotel. I would have rated better if in actuality the hotel was a two star. Breakfast was bland. Staff was pleasant and helpful but only if really pushed to assist. Location was fair and accessible to termini. Room was tiny. Television was tiny. Little room to stow away your suitcase.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff didn't pick up a delivery for me, while 5 other hotels I mailed agreed to pick up if I make a booking. Breakfast being in another place is a bit overwhelming.

    Apartment style hotel on the third floor. There's a lift hopefully. Using a nearby hotel's breakfast facility.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception was downstairs in another hotel which is a little irritating after going up with luggage and then learning I had to go back down. Otherwise all was great.

    As a hotel in Rome I was not expecting anything too elaborate especially knowing hotels in Rome. It can be very difficult to find a clean hotel with private bathrooms. Finding the hotel is fairly easy to find and close to termini train station. Although I missed the entrance at first but when I did I went to the third floor only to learn that the reception is ground floor round the corner in another hotel. This sounded strange at first and very inconvenient especially when I had a heavy suitcase to carry. Also first two steps to the lift makes it inaccessible to anyone who have accessible issues. I am not sure if another way is provided so do call the hotel to confirm. Also has free WiFi in rooms which works great. Once checked in then I figured out that the building has at least 3 hotels in one building sharing the same reception. The staff was very pleasant to help, well mannered and ready to sort out my requests. The room was what I needed to be. Very clean, cosy, air-conditioned and with its own private bathroom. I enjoyed my stay and slept every well. Breakfast was basic but more than enough for me. The hotel is pretty central...in less than 6 hours I walked to the main famous spots I.e.: fontana di Trevi, Spanish Steps, piazza del popolo, piazza Navona, pantheon, piazza venezia, colloseum and had the time to find and eat at a great pasta place called "Pasta Chef" walking back to the hotel. Do wear comfortable shoes. I highly recommend the place and would reconsider it upon return.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The WiFi was so weak, we had to go out of the rooms to connect. We had two rooms, in which the situation was the same. Moreover, we saw other people going to the sitting room to find wifi signal. At the breakfast room and the reception the signal was strong. No air-conditioning at the commanly used rooms. Our rooms were in a different building (than the reception). So, every time we went out and got back, we should ring a bell and show to the camera our key/card, in order to open the door (there was a second door with electronic key, too). The shower cabin was very inconvenient: it was very narrow and the shower spray was only on the top (without cable), so you should wash your hair every time and you could not even catch the soap from the floor. VERY inconvenient!

    Very clean rooms, very comfortable beds. Fantastic breakfast (all kind of coffees were included)! Very close to Roma Termini railway station (so easy to take Metro, Bus, taxi or train to everywhere). The staff was very polite and helpful (they speak many languages). They gave us useful information about sight-seeing etc.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - The room was small, but good enaugh for two people.

    + Location of the hotel - on 5 min. walking from Termini station and on 3 min. walking from metro station + Very clean rooms and comfortable beds. The staff is cleaning and linen change of the rooms on daily base. + Very good breakfast, despite is servicing at the "next door hotel" - Galileo + The hotel has an own family restaurant and providing a free transport from the hotel. + Perfect value for the money.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find, no warning of works happening pre 8am 2 mornings in a row

    Central to station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The inviroment is not good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Modern, clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditionnig did not work

    Near transportation

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was not consistent. Broke down on 31st night

    I was upgraded to hotel galileo. It was very good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel and the staff was okay, the price however too high with respect to the quality

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Blocked bathroom shower

    Quiet área though easy walking to main attraction for reasonably fit people

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very small and water was not confined to the shower so the floor became very wet.

    The locale was ok.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small bathroom and shower

    Location near train station

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room is very dark, better to add more lighting. breakfast is on another building.

    walking distance from termini station. helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the reception was in another hotel....

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice decor and pleasant service.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi didn't work and the shower was not clean.

    The location and staff were great.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was in a sister hotel

    Conveniently situated for access to the usual tourist sites

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find but wort it. The sign is small. Only had four steps

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    .Wifi at room is not good.

    Quiet location, tidy room, good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a breakfast in another building.

    The location is very good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    -

    Very good and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could have been better.

    I liked quality of the room and staff friendliness.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was like a stone

    Perfect area close to Termini but safe part and the stuff was super friendly and sweet!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is rated as a 3 stars hotel and in fact is a 2 stars. Overall, the general conditions are not best value for money.

    The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tile missing in shower room. Beaker broken in bathroom and black marks on ceiling. Unsatisfactory arrival to a small brass hotel sign and a lift to room. Weren't told it was like an annexe to hotel next door.

    Comfy beds

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The person in charge, when we arrived was not profesional the room was very small, to enter I needed to go to another hotel to let them know to open the door

    The location was very close to evrything

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    no reception service in the afternoon/ evening for hot water at the breakfast you have to pay 10 cents!!!!! no internet point.very noisy and no safe area near the train station.very little bathroom.

    kind front desk staff

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the breakfast is served in the building next door.

    great breakfast, nice location and a cozy comfortable room.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower very small

    Great location, good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location (5 minutes walk by Termini Station)

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Beds very soft, otherwise room ok

    Location, Decent Breakfast, Price

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 50