Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Alexander Museum Palace 4 stars

Viale Trieste 20, 61100 Pesaro, Italy

#17 of 35 hotels in Pesaro

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1015 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 42

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.3
    Lovely staff, good location. Fine for a sunshine holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Alexander Museum Palace Hotel is both a hotel and a contemporary art gallery. I felt that worked very well in the public areas but perhaps not so well in the room decor. I liked the quirkiness of the door designs but I felt the comfort of the rooms was sacrificed to continuing the artistic theme within the room. The room furnishings were quite basic and lacked a good standard of finish. Everything in each room was painted. I also found the room and bathroom to be cramped though the bed was good. Parking was provided in an underground car park at an additional fee each night.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. Food at the hotel was excellent and the location directly on the beach is a big plus. It is also within comfortable walking distance of the Centre of Pesaro. All the rooms in the hotel have sea views.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    5.4
    Perfect location near the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although its excellent location, we did not enjoy our stay at all. You can hear everything: toilets flushing, water running, slamming doors, children screaming and crying in other rooms, vacuum cleaners and even when we had a card at our door ‘please do not disturb’ staff or other guests held a long discussion in Italian in front of our door. Our first impression was of nostalgia but we think the rooms need an update. There were pieces of the ‘wall art’ in our room just lying on a chair. We do not recommend this hotel if you are looking for a peaceful and quiet stay.

    Perfect location near the beach. The hotel has no private beach as they are privatised but you can pay per day for a seat. The hotel itself is very clean and the staff is friendly. We used the hotel’s garage to park our car, which is €20/day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.5
    Good location for overnight stop on way to Ancona.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very noisy, especially in the morning when everyone gets up, bangs doors, drags suitcases along corridor and vacuuming starts.

    Lovely view from rooftop. Very good meal, but a possibly bad shell fish made me ill overnight and for the following day which kind of spoilt the stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.9
    Really interesting March stay in a light and quirky hotel next the beautiful beach at Pesaro
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom smelt of smoke.

    The hotel is wonderfully situated next to the beach. It is light, white and fabulously decorated inside. The staff were helpful and responded well when we mentioned that we had been kept awake by a group of noisy guests by giving us a strong espresso before we left!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    Relaxing and restful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Rooms are amazing—it’s fun to walk through all the floors and see how different artists have responded to the challenge of designing a room. And the beach was just lovely

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    Relaxed pleasurable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We love it so no downsides!

    Great artwork throughout the hotel - even in the garage. It was our second trip here and the staff remembered us from last year which was nice. Staff all very pleasant and helpful. Bicycle hire on site an added bonus

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.5
    Intersting artwork in bedrooms and very good evening meal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a long way off, on street. Swimming pool didn't have a lot of sunloungers but you could use the roof top terrace to sunbathe as well. We were surprised to find we had to pay 25 euros a day for sunbed and parasol hire on the beach, but have now discovered that is the norm for Italy unless you find a public beach. So this was a bit disappointing especially as the pool was in shade after about 2.30pm and we had taken 2 days out of a busy city sightseeing trip just to relax around pool/on beach etc.

    Evening meal was delicious and great value. Took coffee and liqueurs after our meal on to roof terrace which was lovely. Great location in terms of proximity to beach. Artwork in rooms is a real quirky touch, as are the painters overalls worn by all the staff! Lots of other interesting artwork inside and outside the hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    6.7
    Very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the beginning as we have genius status on booking, it was written that we going to have greeting drink. Noone offered it to us))) Terrible wifi; Very poor breakfast - only one hot dish - scrembble eggs. All the rest - bakery and fruits; Really very bad coffee; Rude kitchen staff - may be the problem is in amount of staff, only two waiter girls for all of the guests during the breakfast. We were never asked (during 10 days of staying) for coffee, however waiters were asking almost every table) we were coming and asking it by ourself every time) very strange and random system; Also once during the lunch, we asked the man-waiter do they have a pizza, he said "it is not a pizzeria, it is restoran"... May be for Italy it is a normal answer, for us it was a shockingly rude; Chargeable dry washing, even we twice (to make sure) asked to a different concierges, is it free of charge or not. TWICE they told to us - "it is free". However, at the end another concierge told us "I did not tell you that, so please, pay"...))) Bad lightning in the rooms; Uncomfortable tiny bathroom; In general, it seems that owner had ambitious plans, but after sometime abandoned the hotel(

    Very clean Great view on the sea One good sincere concierge (the man in glasses)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.3
    Hotel Alexander Palace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking tax in hotel was too high and also place on the beach was too expensive due to expensive prices per price of the room.

    Breakfast was excelent. Restaurant had some afternoon meals excelent quality but another poor quality. Beautiful interior of rooms. Nice view to the see. Every day cleaning was very very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    5.0
    Quite nice staff (smiling, but not responsive).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You have to ay 18€ on the beach to have a transat. For the hotel : it is not worth a 4*, quite old. They never answered to our questions beforehand. I asked how much the parking would be, they did not answer (although they indeed booked a place for us). When paying the bill, we discovered it was 20€ per day (so 60€ for 3 days). The last day, we wanted to let the car 1 or 2 hours more in the parking, the answer was "no, the parking is full", when we left, it was 3/4 empty. With the genius status, you can ask for a late check-out, which we did because we had a wedding on Saturday evening. Same situation: no answer beforehand and when we asked again in the hotel, the answer was "no, the hotel is full". I can understand for July, but it was a special situation. And the other days the cleaning lady would come only around 2pm to clean our room, so that we could have stayed a bit longer without disturbing her job.

    Quite nice staff (smiling, but not responsive). Good to have the pool to leave our stuff while swimming in the sea nearby. Breakfast was ok, although not exceptional (which you would expect from a 4* hotel). Art and different doors for each room in the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    7.5
    The staffs were wery helpfull
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel doesn't provide the umbrellas on a beach It was extra cost for a third party company 170 for two umbrellas for 7 days If I know I should book the nearby Hotel

    The staffs were wery helpfull

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    4.6
    Beach, Bars/Restaurant around the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough parking places. Car need to be parked far away from the hotel - in case the garage is full. Restaurant was fully booked on arrival day. No chance to get a table as hotel guest due to external guests.

    Beach, Bars/Restaurant around the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.1
    Excellent beach location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When i look for a hotel room i need 3 boxes ticked before i begin to look any further - internet, private parking onsite and airconditioning. The Internet here was unusable. That was annoying for me and if I had known before how useless the Internet was I wouldn't have stayed here. The private parking is great if you have a motorbike or a smart car. It is so tight you need someone with you to guide you and would be extremely difficult to get out of the car if you were a larger person or disabled.

    The receptionist Andrea was so friendly and helpful - the nicest receptionist we've ever met ...and we travel a lot :) The location of the hotel was perfect for us as we wanted to spend our days on the beach. The sunbeds on the beach are perfect too. The hotel has a beautiful infinity pool which I intended to use but the Adriatic was more attractive to me. The hotel also has a small gym which was perfect for me as I had it to myself every morning :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    7.1
    Great staff but breakfast a bit hit and miss.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was a hit and miss affair. The produce was good, but they don't restock the items so well, so if you arrive after 9am don't expect to get a good selection. Also they start clearing away before the 10am deadline.

    Helpful hotel staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.8
    Maybe triumph of style over use as hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Minimalist style with no room instructions for use of tv, aircon, hotel facilities.

    Great location for beach and old city centre. Good restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    3.3
    Don't stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This "arty style" hotel boasts 4 stars but hardly worth 1 star! Overpriced, poor location, wrong end of town, lousy beach, shady lap pool and austere quaint rooms now very dated.

    Not much

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    6.3
    Beautiful location but noisy. Three star quality
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy place. Due to the poor quality doors one can hear every little sound on the corridor. Also due to poor insulation you can hear what is going on beside and above you. The staff however polite are really not attending to sole travellers as I got fairly ignored I would'nt rush back to have dinner there. Good heating and black out in the room but otherwise simple room with poor appliances and plastic cups, certainly not a four star quality. It has been brushed up with an 'arty' image but is really more a three star due to quality of furniture ( 1980's plywood wardrobe and bedside table) and bathroom ( the toilet seat was cracked and the old fashion over head flush didn't flush properly and also took ages to refill). By the way, booking.com offers 'perks' for genius members but I didn't receive any.

    The location at a long beautiful beach. Clean room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    9.6
    Beach at door
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon noisy but room was hot without it. Door to deck nice to open but train line then noisy. Wifi weak in room.

    Artwork of the rooms a quirky touch. Room comfortable. Great price with access to beach, easy walking path to get to where restaurants are closer to town

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent artwork throughout. Great bicycles and fabulous beach. Really nice staff and spacious rooms. The town has a really relaxed feel and this hotel is definitely one of the best .

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    9.6
    Awesome time in Pesaro!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea/Coffee was laid out for guests to help themselves one day but the second day it had to be ordered from staff and this was time consuming.

    Loved the idea of a beach hotel. Great views.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    6.7
    Location on the beach was good although city center and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was nicely decorated but it seemed that the new paintwork ("art") was there only cover the fact that hotel was quite old and not in that good shape. Air in the room was very heavy and smelled of paint.

    Location on the beach was good although city center and restaurants were not close.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing. great hotel

    location. friendliness of all staff particularly Andrea on reception

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    Very nice weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personnel extremely kind. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    9.2
    Very nice experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was slightly cold.

    Original and beautiful place just on the seaside. Very enjoyable breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    7.5
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    Beauty, view on the seaside and great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ants in my toilet.

    Beauty, view on the seaside and great breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    Super hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Balconi

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.6
    Very nice artsy boutique hotel right on the sea front and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room I got had no balcony and limited sea view.

    Very nice artsy boutique hotel right on the sea front and close to all the activities

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    place .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    near railway

    place .friendly staffs

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    4.6
    The charged 140 eur more
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The charged 140 eur more

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    7.5
    It was not informed that one must pay extra for the parking.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was not informed that one must pay extra for the parking.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    7.5
    Location, arredamento
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, arredamento

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    10
    Great value.... interesting hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very unusual, but terrific in every way!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    9.6
    Great location for our stay - local wedding - very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing

    Balcony- sea breeze Good breakfast Novel décor

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    6.7
    The hotel itself is very particular
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive and parking costs 20 euros a day. Way too much

    The hotel itself is very particular

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    7.5
    We liked the price, that they are promoting art and artists...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They should be sure that if people do list with pets they do not leave them alone in the room for hours at a time. When we stay a dog barked for 4 hours or more as owners were out.

    We liked the price, that they are promoting art and artists and the location.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    2.9
    perfect hotel, quiet atmosphere, nice view at the sea,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    perfect hotel, quiet atmosphere, nice view at the sea, breakfast is super (fresh fruit ...), swimming pool near the sea, the staff is friendly .... I've been here 3 times and will come back. Pesaro is a nice small city, you can also visit Urbino, Ancona, Rimini, walk along the sea ...

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    5.4
    The staff made the experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The position was a little remote away from most of the action. We arrived on a Sunday afternoon,with all facilities closed and no catering options.

    The staff made the experience

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    9.6
    Best shower I've ever had
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Best shower I've ever had

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    10
    Art environment
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Art environment

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    9.2
    i stay there often
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    i stay there often always welcoming staff at hand very close to the beach and a 10 mins walk to the town centre

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    9.2
    location, the staff, the breakfast, rent a bike
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    noise of the toilet from the neighbours

    location, the staff, the breakfast, rent a bike

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42

Guests also reviewed these properties: