Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Alexandra 3 stars

Via Veneto 18, Via Veneto, 00187 Rome, Italy

#212 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1617 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Mini Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No amenities in bathroom Expected to have shampoo

    Staff was helpful and friendly Rooms were very clean and bed was great. Location to metro was great 1/2 block

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little beat up,

    Very nice hotel, close to TrevI and the Spanish steps. Several good restaurants near. Large room with very comfortable bed. The front desk staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a tad small but you cant have everything.

    Fantastic staff, very helpful. Awesome location. 10 minute walk to trevi fountain, 10 minutes to spanish steps. 25/30 mins to collosseum.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer service needs improvement. Had a room on the second floor and could hear staff talking at reception during the night.

    Great location. Restaurants and cafes walking distance. Lovely street. Beds comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Mini Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing to comment

    Hotel is well situated , room size is just right ,bright and comfortable.The staffs are very helpful and polite .we had a wonderful stay at this hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cramped room with a tired bathroom. The shower was the smallest I’ve ever experienced, about 60 cm wide! Excellent water pressure though.

    Fantastic staff, amazing spot, really good breakfast and lovely sitting area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For what we paid in a major capital city, very little. BEWARE of pickpockets on the underground. A vigilant local saved us, he might not be there for you!

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Hotel had some nice architectural features, good restaurants were nearby. Room was clean and what we expected for the price. Breakfast was good. Hotel was in a good location with attractions walkable [if you’re reasonably fit] and good transport links. Prebooked tickets for attractions are a must, saved us hours. Vatican garden tour was great and wouldn’t miss colluseum and Palatine hill.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were sliding forward when we sat on them, very annoying. The beds were not at all comfortable

    Location, free wifi and value for money for the buffet breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great

    Walking distance was great. Next to subway station.Hotel was very nice. Comfortable Staff was very helpful. Good breakfast. Easy to get a taxi from there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room decor was dated, the bathroom could do with an upgrade. Need to be able to have the air conditioning on when the weather is hot.

    The staff were friendly, helpful and pleasant. Clean rooms. The location was great - central to many attractions and eating places.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was small. Although It's normal since the building was a bit old since you are visiting an old city this is quite understandable.

    Excellent location, recommended for anybody who wants to be in the middle of everything in Rome.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I had reserved a queen room and we ended up with 2 singles pushed together and what appeared to be a mattress pad holding the mattresses together. This did not prevent a split down the middle and was pretty uncomfortable and disconcerting. I addressed the issue after the first night and was told this is all they have and it is the way they do it. A technician came up that afternoon and did manage to get the mattresses tighter together but only helped for a day. This really was not the way a honeymoon should be spent and I was not offered any other relief. I will not stay in such a bed again. If that is all this hotel offers then I guess I will not be staying there again. Breakfast was somewhat of a disappointment to me. Coffee, tea and pastries were fine but some of the meats were a little off flavor and they use what seem to be powdered eggs with absolutely no flavor. I'm told by my Fiancee' that the yogurt was good and the cheese was not bad. If I find myself back there I will pass on the hotel breakfast and eat fresh foods across the street.

    Excellent location and well within walking distance of almost all main sites. Cordial and very attentive staff. Most issues we had were attended to in an a reasonably quick time frame. We had a street side room on an upper floor and I was concerned about noise but it really was not an issue. We actually enjoyed hearing Rome come alive in the mornings and we slept in until 9-10 most days. We had coffee and tea in the room and it was stocked each day although I would have preferred more than 2 cups of regular coffee (one each). The hotel itself was clean and kept that way all week. Our room and bathroom was well cleaned each day. The hotel offers an add-on breakfast and may be fine if all you want is a robust continental style breakfast. I would certainly consider staying there again but would address/clarify some things up front with the hotel first. (see next comments)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downfall was mattress was quite hard however husband slept like a baby... probably from all the waking round rome! :) overall good stay would recommend

    Location fab! Staff seemed nice and helpful. Breakfast ok for price of hotel etc. Read reviews saying rooms small, stayed in lots of hotels in big cities I was expecting a postage stamp like london this wasn’t the case room a good size.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room size was too small for a double bed, barely 2 feet of walking space around our bed. That room should have only been for a single bed.

    The location was excellent, very close to Barberini metro station. Extremely close to a lot of major sites - Spanish steps, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A minor point, but the coffee at breakfast wasn't great; our children really enjoyed the selection of cakes on offer, though.

    The staff on reception were fantastic - very friendly, helpful and welcoming. The hotel is in a fantastic location - very easy walk to the Trevi Fountain or Spanish Steps, slightly longer but still easy enough walk to the Colosseum and Roman Forum. Our room was big enough for the four of us, and we had a lovely large bath in our bathroom. All in all we had a wonderful weekend break in Rome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was not good, although we decided to pay extra for having breakfast at the hotel so to start our day full the selection and quality of the food was very poor. Wouldn't recommended it. Also our room (family of 4) was too old should had been renovated; it looked very old and dirty.

    I liked the location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Mini Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had called in advance to ask about stairs due to our companions significant walking limitations. I was advised that there were only a few steps at the front of the entrance. However upon arrival there were approximately 20 steep steps to enter than another two flights to enter the room. Whilst on a few occasions they let us enter the building from the basement at street level this was not always available o forthcoming. We still had the two flights to our room which were often lined with laundry. I asked about an alternative room upon checking in but was advised that there were no other rooms available. Another guest at the hotel with a walking stick had a similar experience. This was disappointing for us in terms of our capacity to come can to our room throughout the day.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was courteous and efficient, but not extremely friendly. They were however, very responsive.

    Great value for a wonderful hotel in a great neighborhood. We walked to many sights. The hotel has old world charm but was updated and clean. It has a very European feel without being rundown. Will definitely stay here again. Easy walk to Pantheon, Spanish Steps, Basilica Maria Maggiore, Trevi Fountain, Piazza Naviona and so much more!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bed (single room) was quite small, when it was cleaned during my stay things were made to "look" clean, but were not properly cleaned...

    The hotel is comfortable, well located the staff is very healpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was stingy with the breakfast. They only brought out scrambled eggs or croissants when you asked the staff. They used canned fruits so it was too sweet. Most of their breakfast items were too sweet. No oatmeal. Drain in our tub was plugged and drained extremely slowly. No locks on the bathroom door or the bedroom door.

    The room was spacious for our family of four.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel was an excellent location for sightseeing. If you enjoy walking, bring comfortable shoes and you can walk everywhere from the hotel. The breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a few step at the entrance, but someone always there to help the guests.

    It was walking distance to almost anywhere we wanted go. Hotel stuff was kind and nice. Breakfast was quite cheap but surprisingly nice:)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were very very hard and room was small with no view.

    Reception staff very helpful and always welcoming, breakfast was ideal for the start of a busy day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room carpet could have used a shampoo. Not filthy by any means but a little shabby looking.

    Beds were very comfortable & clean. Shower clean and lots of hot water. Lovely fluffy towels & soaps etc. TV, tea/coffee making facilities good but we had to ask for extra teabags & milk. They were happy to supply these. Breakfast choices were excellent & staff really nice. Excellent location, easy to walk to major sights. Could have done without the rain and SNOW!!!!! Altogether a lovely stay & would definitely use this hotel again. Many thanks.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The selection of hot breakfast items were very limited and not hot at all.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful with suggestions on sightseeing. Hotel is right beside a Metro stop which was great and within walking distance to a lot of the major tourist spots.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were renovations going on when we were there. I didn’t like the location of our room. The lighting was a bit dark and room looked quite old than what our friend had. My friend’s room was newly renovated so everything looked new.

    The bed was comfy and the room was big.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air condition seems not perfect for us. Sometimes a bit cold but sometimes a bit stuffy. I don’t know how to control it.

    Breakfast is good, perfect location. Quiet. A supermarket and a metro nearby. 20% off discount to its restaurant, food is nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Eggs at breakfast was cold when we came down at 10am. Sunday not a huge offering of breakfast. Porters seemed extremely unhappy carrying out their jobs.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing a guest could have wished for.

    Cleanliness was perfect, the staff was helpful, breakfast was excellent and the central location of the place makes the hotel a great choice for tourists.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi quality is a bit on and off

    Comfortable bed, clean and modern facilities and spacious rooms Didn't have breakfast included but the location is good enough that's there are plenty of places within 5-10 minute walk to get a good breakfast. Friendly reception staff that have us a map and explained how to travel everywhere and places to go and visit as well as recommendations for food and shopping

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the rooms is very small. we got free upgrade and the room still was very small

    good breakfast, the stuff is very nice. the location is good, 10-15 minutes of walk to the center. metro right outside of the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is great. Nice staff, very kind. The room is big very comfortable. Nice bathroom. The breakfast started very early from 6:45am you can go to eat and you have a lot things to choose. Also the hotel has a near metro station. So in my opinion I suggest everyone. Thanks for all Hotel Alexandra

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel staff are the most pleasant I have known in my last 3 visits to Rome. They are very attentive and will do their upmost to ensure a guest is getting excellent service.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was great and the staff was lovely and helpful. The location is great- just a minute walk from Barberini metro station and Piazza Barberini, and a short walk to Via del Corso and Fontana di Trevi. The room wasn't the biggest but just enough for what we needed- a place to sleep and rest comfortably. The room was extremely cleen and of course, cleaned every day. The air conditioning worked great, the shower was great and the toilet facilities were brand new. Breakfast was very nice, typical roman breakfast with lots of great desserts. The lobby is big and filled with cozy sophas. There was one downside though: on the first two days the WIFI didnt work in the rooms. The staff said it worked at the lobby but I couldn't log in for some reason. BUT!!! The staff was very kind and understanding, and I got the genuine impression that they really do feel bad and are trying to find the quickest solution to the problem. I was even allowed to make a long distance call from the hotel phone, free of charge, because of the malfunction. All in all, I absolutely recommend the hotel. Great location and great experience for a great price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff were a little rude to deal with. Felt like a very strict hotel. Floors in the room were very dirty. Wi-fi didn't connect well in the room. Shower in bathroom is tiny.

    Spacious, modern room. Very comfortable bed. Wonderful restaurant right outside the Hotel (Alex Cafe) which had beautiful food! Walking distance to some attractions and great shopping. Just down the road from hop-on-hop-off bus stop and Hard Rock Cafe. Overall nice experience at the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Mini Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noise and the breakfast was terrible. The plates, glasses and cutlery was disposable and all foods was cold.

    Excellent location, very friendly staff!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit run down. The closet shook when walking inside the room, reflecting the fact the floor was not sturdy. The hotel was under construction so it was noisy. People staying next door we’re very loud so we couldn’t sleep well at night. But given the price we paid, I guess that’s as good as we got. Willing to pay a bit more for more comfortable accommodation next time. Location is great!!

    Great locatuon

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was very small, but that seemed to be fairly common at all of the locations.

    The staff was very friendly and knowledgable - the location was great - there were plenty of great restaurants right on the street.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was disappointing for the price of the room. The selection of food could have been improved. It started at 6:45am, and even when we came down at this time, the food was still cold.

    The staff were really friendly. The location was absolutely amazing - near the Trevi fountains and a fair walk to all other locations worth seeing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stairs at front a little hard to manage with stroller but minor point.

    Great location, good value for money. Our room was roomy travelling with 2 kids and whilst the breakfast is simple in the morning there is still a good selection. All over we had a great stay and would recommend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I thank the whole staff of Hotel Alexandra for making this a great city trip to remember ! The reception desk helped us daily with tips and tricks (restaurants, bus lines, booking admissions, taxi to airport). We stayed 5 nights / 6 days in the Hotel Alexandra. Our renovated room 443 was very comfortable with a nice bathroom. This hotel is very well situated close to Barberini, Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps. In fact the whole of the city center can easily be discovered on foot from here. At some occasions we took the metro (to Vatican or second late night visit of the Colosseo) or the bus (63 to Trastevere). Metro station and bus stop are almost in front of the hotel which is very convenient. If you want to eat out, try La Scala only 100 meter up the Via Veneto (and stairs) or Il Vineti just 50 meter down the road. It's better to eat here before walking in the tourist traps downtown. If you do want to eat close to Trevi, try Vineria il Chianti. Most adorable and my preference is I Clementini close the Colosseum (they serve fantastic sea bass !).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff were friendly and helpful and were always willing to help with advice regarding places to eat and attractions. The hotel is perfectly located for Metro and shops and very clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The junior suite we have received looked and felt outdated; it had an old wall-to-wall carpet with stains; shower had mold on the wall; and walls had cracks. The floor was vibrating - maybe due to the proximity to the metro.

    Very convenient location; near the Metro and in a walking distance to main sites. Restaurants and supermarket in vicinity. Staff was very kind and accommodating.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very old and falling apart. Our room felt like it hadn't been used in a long time so was quite dusty. The spa was huge but really dirty and areas of the walls falling off.

    Very cheap hotel in great location. Huge rooms but very dated.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are so wonderful it feels like home. The restaurant out the front is so convenient. Walking distance to Trevi fountain, Spanish Steps and shopping.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast needed more fruit choices, never any melon left 😢.

    Beautiful room with balcony. Fabulous, friendly staff. Close to the Spanish Steps and Trevi fountain and so easy to get to the airport.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much in the way of nightlife in the area. Our room was lovely and clean but the was a bit of a smell, but that may not have been the hotels fault.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Very close to the metro station and Trevi fountain/ spanish steps.Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I loved the location. The staff were so friendly and the room was very pleasant. This was our first stop after a 18 hour flight and the blackout curtains and comfortable bed made this place perfect to recover from jet lag.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed: two beds pushed together meant you woke up in a crack falling through. Showers took a long time to warm. If you arrived to the breakfast closer to end there were very few choices left.

    Gentleman on front desk upon arrival and throughout our stay was excellent! Very friendly and helpful. Location is great. Minutes away from Trevi fountain, Spanish steps, and plenty of bars and restaurants as well as seconds from metro which is essential.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor and not so fresh breakfast and i think coffee from the machine is not right at rome.

    Excellent location. Very very close to metro. Comfortable bed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything but specially the entrance of the hotel Since I am a big fan of the rugby it was a big surprise For me that they have displayed the rugby all diffident balls and an old photo for the old Italian national team and the owner was one of them .

    Amazing hotel and the room is perfect the the staff are professional and what a reception they do have I really wish I could extended my stay . I wish the hotel the very best .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The standard rooms are basic and lacked any luxury, other than the bathroom refit, everyone likes a nice clean and updated bathroom. Wifi was hit and miss and couldn't get connected most of the time - this is pretty inexpensive to upgrade so hotels should sort this out as it is expected that wifi should be usable for all. There wasn't enough wardrobe space for two people very limited hangers and drawer space was non existence. The fridge although was full didn't really give you any space to place your own drinks to keep them cold when we made some room our drinks didn't get very cold.

    The location of this hotel was perfect for visiting central Rome and a stones throw from the Metro and the Trevi Fountain. The Hotel was a bit dated in areas, our room was ok, and was very clean, the curtains were pulled over the window when we arrived only to find behind it not the greatest view - one clearly they wanted to hide. The bathroom looked newly fitted and very up to date with a lovely cubicle, all be it it was small. One person at a time small. Breakfast was good if you stick to the cold stuff, even the hot stuff was unappetizing and cold, staff looked a little glum. I actually thought the stay was a little expensive for what you got, that said I would stay there again as the location was key.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room we had, 101 , was a showing signs of wear and tear. It was very clean and daily maid service perfect, however it is in need of a spruce up. This is a minor issue as the hotel is going through a refurbishment which in time will bring this particular room up to standard.

    Great location for the centre of Rome. The staff are extremely courteous , very helpful in organising a 2 stop taxi pickup with another hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bathroom was extremely small. No room in shower for soap or shampoo! No toilet paper holder! Wifi very poor!

    Location is superb, breakfast with lots of options, reception help always very kind.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is nothing bad I can say about this hotel!!

    Hotel Alexandra was beautiful, and perfect for a couples trip in Rome! The hotel is right in the centre of lots of restaurants and amazing shopping!! The hotel itself has a connecting restaurant called Alex's Café and it was the best restaurant we visited in Rome!! Bonus the hotel give you 10% there too!! The hotel Is next to the subway station that can take you to all the main attractions! which are only a 20minute walk away anyway! The subway costs 14Euros for two people all day, it only takes coins we found though! The hotel is also close the hop on hop off bus route which is could for those who want to have a tour of Rome - which I recommend The hotel staff have perfect English! and were always soooooo helpful and had useful tips on getting around Rome, and tricks to skip the lines at the attractions! Room was lovely! Bathroom was clean and bed was comfy! We didn't have breakfast in the hotel, it only cost 5euros a day each if you did want to have breakfast there! I really would go back to this hotel if I ever visit Rome again!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpets in the entrance are very old and stained, that doesn't give a nice first impression. The room was extremely small, the shower was the smallest shower I have ever been in and the furniture was out of date. The internet in the room didn't work. We requested a changed of room because that room didn't look as the picture or site as the one I booked almost a year ago, but the staff informed us they were fully booked

    The location is perfect. The room was very clean and all the staff was very polite and helpful. Nice breakfast!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very minor fault and maybe it's me being picky but there was no Red Wine in the mini bar.

    Very close to the Metro Station and only 5 minutes walk to The Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain. Comfortable memory foam bed, refurbished room, quiet. Good continental breakfast included.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircon of the second bedroom was busted in the first day of our stay. Maintenance promised to fix it the next day but it was never fixed until the day we left

    We stayed in a family suite for 4 days and it was very comfortable. The bathroom was very spacious. The property was located 1 minute from the metro.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The first night we were given a room with two double beds even though the booking was for a suit. The second day this error is corrected. breakfast could be better.

    The location of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only thing was that the bathroom was a little cramped with the toilet pushed in too close to the sink. Although you could use it, it was not easy to access in this room. There was a bidet in the bathroom and it would be better to have this removed to ensure easier access to the toilet.

    The staff were very helpful both before our stay as well as during. They were very welcoming. The breakfast on offer in the hotel had a very good selection to cater for many tastes including cooked eggs, toast, fresh fruit, cereals, pastries, yogurt, etc, so a good start before setting out for the day. The hotel was in a great location for sightseeing and had a good choice of restaurants nearby. Although we walked everywhere the metro and various bus stops were close by.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More choice of fruits,cereals yoghurts at breakfast

    The hotel although central for the sights and staff very helpful could do with modernising Rooms a little jaded

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the 4th floor and found the wifi to be very unreliable, continually dropping out but it worked better in the lounge area on the ground floor

    Great location in the heart of rome, walking distance to most of the sites or alternatively its very close to hop on hop off buses and local train network both located in Barberini square. . Nice affordable resturants right outside. Friendly helpful staff as well and a great shower.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi wasn't working for most of our stay. 1 of the 3 rooms that we booked was not given until 3 hours beyond the standard check in time because the other occupant had not checked out yet. This was not good since we had just travelled 19 hours to get to Rome and would have really appreciated getting the room on time. Breakfast food was exactly the same for the 5 days that we were there. Would have been nice to have some variety between days.

    Nice cozy hotel in a great location. Staff was very accommodating and knowledgeable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Mini Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    you will be surprised of how 1 star can make such a difference. facility was not good at all. on the other hand what do you expect from 3 star. restaurant was so limited on the breakfast menu. over all not a good or even value for money.

    location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no bar in the hotel, although they are planning to have one soon and have a lovely lounge area.

    Excellent location on central leafy avenue, a few steps from Metro station, hop on hop off buses, public bus stops. Walking distance to many attractions as well as bars, cafes, restaurants, shops, etc.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit unimaginative

    The hotel reception staff were courteous. Nothing was too much trouble and kindly upgraded my room as it was a special occasion. This was my first city break and although the cost initially seemed quite expensive it was good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were initially put in a room in which the wallpaper was peeling off the walls and my partner, who is 6ft 4, had to bend down every time he went into the bathroom. The bathroom was very small and pokey. The pictures on booking.com and their own website were not a reflection of the room we were given. However when my partner complained we were swiftly moved to a much nicer room. Breakfast selection was very poor. Breakfast was served don 6.45 to 10.30. However when we went down most mornings at 9am the majority of the pasteries and fresh fruit were gone. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Junior Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost broken shower head splashed out waters. Since the shower curtain (just a cloth unwaterproof) couldn't keep the water in, the floor got all wet. We often heard something and felt the room shaken a little.

    On the nice and beautiful street, very close to the metro station.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    -Wifi only worked well the last night...Generally the connection was pretty bad in our room.(We stayed for 4 nights.) -No mirror inside the room only in the bathroom. -Bathroom sometimes has weird smell we don't know why but not a big issue. -Although they have elevator we still have to go through some stairs to get to our room. For those who bring large luggage might be a bit tiring.

    -Breakfast was very good, variety options and all delicious. -Staffs were all friendly and nice and provided us useful tour information. -The room we stayed was big and comfortable. -Close to subway. -10% off at their restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It rained one day God will have his moments on tourists.

    I liked the feeling of been on holiday not having to complain at reception , it was a great break.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast and the coffe are a little bit lower level comparing with rest thinks

    The staff is very helpful. I would like to thanks the receptionist for making our stay in Rome unforgettable! For sure this will be our hotel at the Rome. The rooms are clean and the bed is comfortable. Best location. The service is really good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This Hotel was not for us. We wish we had spent more money & used other hotels very close by. The rooms are shabby and there is no bar in the lounge although the hotel has a bar/restaurant next door. The carpeting on the stairways is very much in Need of replacing. On the positive side the rooms are floorboards throughout & we had a quiet room though very small.

    The hotel is in a good position. Close to Trevi Fountains & Spanish Steps. Metro just outside & City Bus just across the road. Lots of restaurants just outside the hotel. It is possible to walk to the Colosseum & main shopping areas but don't forget Rome is a big big city! The hotel has a modern lounge area. Staff were helpful. Breakfast was a typical continental affair so no grumbles there.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room got very hot at night. Just having a fan to move the air would have been great. Construction was going on for two of the mornings we were there.7am and with jet lag, that was a tough deal. But it will be better for future guests!

    Staff was amazingly accommodating. Cleaning people did a great job Location was great. It was Very easy to get around and walking to most sites is a big plus.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient relaxing room, very friendly staff, very good location The hotel fid everything to make our stay a wonderful one. As there was a little problem with our reservation for the 1st night, the hotel offered us a free private taxi ride to the hotel at the end of our stay as a compensation

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Mini Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steps going up to check in. Breakfast could be upgraded.

    The suite was large enough for 3. Tools are the safest. When we were going on a tour the made us a breakfast to go.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Alexandra traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: