Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Alfonso A Mare 3 stars

Via Marina Di Praia N. 6, 84010 Praiano, Italy

Review score

Based on 440 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    4.6
    I would not go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Be friendly, it is so simple, get people to like you for what you are and what you have If this place was handled properly it could leave everyone around them without business

    the hotel is located in a beautiful place that cannot be taken away but in this place there were some hotel stuff that did not do their proper job, like getting you to like the place. they scare you away to go find somewhere to eat for example by telling you that the kitchen is closed at 4:00 and it was only 4:02 Pm, she told us all I can get you it's a pizza, go down town because around here everything is closed, we went down the beach and found beautiful restaurant with nice food and service as we wanted.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Everything was great for our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing that was a slight challenge was reception for WiFi, possibly due to location between mountains. Phone worked fine, but email and text not always.

    Everything was great for our stay. Location, staff, wonderful restaurants and bars just steps away.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    Great time, great views, great food and wonderful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walk up the hill!

    Sophia at the front desk was fabulous!! The room was great, bed comfortable and the view fantastic! Food at the restaurant was great and the support staff were very helpful!0

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    4.6
    Beautiful location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were terrible and couldn’t care less! They were no help and had no local knowledge. The cleaner stole from our wallet so please use the safe! If you have heavy luggage you get no help up and down the steep hill (where in other places- even in Capri, you can do with similar price hotel). The rooms are basic but you get the feeling the top bedsheets could so with more washing. The bathroom kept falling apart. Do not eat at the hotel! It’s awful!!!!

    Beautiful location! So pretty but the best thing is to walk around the corner to the other restaurants and il parata.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    8.8
    The location is absolutely perfect, just in front of the sea...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is absolutely perfect, just in front of the sea and in a creek where you can ear the sea while you're sleeping or having your breakfast. Staff was very friendly and helpful and they provided us very good advices for our stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.6
    Very nice
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilets were a bit old-fashioned and the water did not go down very well in the toilet, and so did the shower. The wifi works better in the older building.

    We loved everything the staff was so kind and everything was perfect hotel located on the beach. We got two rooms one with a sea view and one without. The one with the view is new and small and the one without view is big and old.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.3
    Review
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking around this area was difficult. Had to pay 15-20 Euro a night on top of the price of the place if you have a car and it was very busy so difficult to park. Breakfast was quite basic. Air con wasn't working very well which made sleeping difficult in the summer weather.

    Location of the hotel was amazing. Really nice and peaceful. Tucked away in cliffs with a private beach. Nearby restaurants and bars were very good. Good variety without having to venture far from the hotel and 10% discount for hotel guests. Beach right in front of hotel was lovely. Staff were helpful and friendly. Great atmosphere around the place. Room was very spacious and clean. Would have loved to have stayed more than 1 night.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    5.4
    Water views, balcony, on the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff (reception) are unwelcoming and unfriendly, unwilling to help however I think this is just Italian culture towards tourists. When help was requested we were given the simplest low effort response every time. The restaurant staff were great however.

    Water views, balcony, on the beach

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    5.4
    Overall a great location on the seafront with fabulous family run restaurants all around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A couple of the Hotel staff members were exceptionally rude and unhelpful. The breakfast staff were super lovely and friendly. We stayed there for 7 nights and for some reason they don’t clear tables during breakfast service... making it hard to find a clean table to enjoy breakfast when they have great sea views. I think with more attentive staff and a more friendly general attitude this place could be beyond expectations.

    Location was great, rooms were clean overall and good size.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.5
    Great views, hotel basic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My children were given a room in the back of the hotel which was musty and very dark. Our room, which was sea facing had a lovely view but the accommodation needs an update especially the bathrooms. Very friendly staff and the position is excellent.

    The view from the sea facing rooms is excellent. Basic facilities, but clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    5.8
    Beautiful location but very disappointing over all
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of local information from staff and the air-con didn't work enough, beds weren't comfy, closed off dark room, toilet didn't flush

    That it was right on the beach

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    Its a great location in-between the two sides of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sunshine is only from about 10 to 4 pm then off to another beach near by ... boats coming in at all times of day and night and people are very loud, was woken up a few nights at like 4 in the morning....

    Its a great location in-between the two sides of the mountain right on the large pebble beach...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Great Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its a long and steep walk with luggage up to the bus stop.

    Beachfront location. Great breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff. Restaurants have good food. Nice and quite in the evenings, beautiful surrounds.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.9
    Alfonso A Mare is a little corner of paradise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room was located above the restaurant and somehow, food smell was lingering the entire day in the bedroom, what forced me to close the doors, despite the nice sea breeze. The bathroom is run down, a little renovation would be a plus. Regarding the beach, it is a pity that so many water taxi and boats stop non-stop in the right side of the beach. At some moments during the day, the air was so charged in fuel fumes, that it was difficult to breath and one tends to forget that is at the beach and not in the middle of the city getting polluted.

    Alfonso A Mare is a little corner of paradise. Deep down two cliffs, it has a small (pebblestone) beach with limpid clear crystal water. The hotel has the charm of the old, you feel like visiting grandma. The staff is friendly, relaxed, helpful. During the morning (until 11) and after 4:30 pm the beach will be in shadows (due to the cliff) and you can enjoy of a peaceful place. Between 11 and 4:30 pm it becomes an italian beach! The restaurant serves delicious food. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.3
    Amazing location, couldnt fault the views, we had to leave...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amazing location, couldnt fault the views, we had to leave very early to reach airpoty and the hotel supplied us with takeaway breakfast which was vey thoughtful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.3
    The location is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The woman at the reception was not friendly at all.. but the rest of the staff was ok. Breakfast is average..

    The location is great!! Perfect view to the sea and access.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.1
    The location was excellent, the beach was crystal clear with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast variety could have been better. Rooms could have been better with more accessories considering the location was fabulous.

    The location was excellent, the beach was crystal clear with 2 restaurants at the cove where our hotel was located. The staff was very friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom needs a renovation. Overall a bit pricey.

    Great location next to the port. We had an amazing dinner in the restaurant of the hotel, tasty food and very kind staff. The breakfast was really great, served at the restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.9
    Location location location....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a basic hotel so don’t expect to have luxury. It was fine for us as we expected this but the Rooms are very very basic. They are large though. Breakfast is ok. No more no less.

    Amazing location. Simply can not be beaten. Lovely local beach and restaurants with in easy walk. Great place to just relax and soak up the sun.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.3
    Amalfi coact has a natural charm and Alfonso a Mare ia a stunning setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    With the hotel being midway between Positano and Amalfi, using the bus service was the most logical. However, the monopoly SITA Bus company increased their fees by 25% from 2017, but not their service.

    This was our second visit to the property because we liked the setting and its position on the Amalfi Coast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.5
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was a little strange not feeling welcome by the family who lived here. The facilities however were ok and the location amazing.

    The location of the hotel is absolutely amazing. You are staying at the waters edge of one of the best beaches in the area with cliffs all around you. This was definitely the selling point for the stay and you could not ask for better. The majority of the staff were friendly however unfortunately some of the staff made it feel like we were intruding in their living room which was quite uncomfortable (you will see when you stay here). Quickly forgotten however by a swim and a look at your surroundings. If you want to stay in a place where you care more about where you are, and not so much how your hosts make you feel, this place will be good for you.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.8
    Praiano Sea Side
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the fault of the property, but we arrived in a total deluge, and had to walk through pouring rain to get to check-in.

    Wonderful view. Many places to eat.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.5
    The location is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were hit and miss. Air conditioning kept "shorting out" at switchboard. Wifi average. Would like option of fruit/veg at breakfast

    The location is amazing. Room and bathroom was nice. Good included breakfast, and restuarant/beach facilities good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.9
    The location was pretty exeptional in my opinion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt staff could have been a little more helpful in certain areas. For example, the hill to the hotel from where the bus drops and picks you up is a very steep, winding cobble street. With four suitcases no one was willing to drop us at the top for our departure. It’s litel a 30 second drive of a 15 minute walk with suitcases yet it was the biggest inconvenience for them it seemed. They managed to get another hotels staff member to asisit for the cost of €5 ( a 30 second drive) and he still wasn’t happy with that payment. No one seemend to really have any advice or information when I came to tourist questions, such as alternative options to get to Naples. Don’t get me wrong we were please I was just disappointed and felt undervalued when I asked for help, they really should have a shuttle bus for arrivals and departures considering where the hotel is located in a Gully. Wifi wasn’t perfect. Pre plans how to get to and from and if you’re catching the bus stop at the correct stop otherwise you’ll be doing a whole lost of walking. Another piece of information that really should be included in a pre arrival information, otherwise you’re just guessing. I found it the most difficult figuring out how to get back to Naples with out it costing over €100 euro. Bus to Sorrento and ferry to Naples was the cheapest and less hassle way without pay for a private car or taxi.

    The location was pretty exeptional in my opinion. I was worried when I booked because I hadn’t heard of Praiano but didn’t want to be to far from Positano but to close to the hussle and bussel either. The hotels location is amazing. Within a few steps to the beach, a buzzing yet relaxed vibe. There’s plenty of little lovely restaurants including our hotels restaurant which was nice, with a perfect view of the water and sunset, with reasonable prices (for the Amalfi Coast). The rooms are basic but still nice and tidy with a balcony and view for the price we paid. But if you’re okay with not having a luxury accomodation but great location not to far from Positano then you will be pleased. We took the bus to Positano and Amalfi, 15 mins each way with a bus stop nearby. It’s 1 euro each way which is cheap because taxis are ridiculously priced. Peak season I would imagine buses to be a nightmare but for June we managed pretty well. All in all I would stay in Praiano again I loved Positano also but for the price, convenience and location Praiano is a little gem in my opinion.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.1
    Great beach location, great views but surrounded by building work
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We awoke the first morning to the sound of the builders (4 to 8 men) renovating the room next door and this continued throughout our stay from 7.45am to 4pm. This meant that we could not use our balcony during this time due to either privacy or the smell of paint. On 2 days our door was half blocked by scaffolding and dust left on the floor, door and door handle. No explanation or apology was ever given or any offer of compensation.

    The view from our room was spectacular with a sea view from a small balcony overlooking the beach, the boats and the restaurants. The continental breakfast was very good and the service from the Waiters for breakfast. lunch or dinner was always very good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Clean, spacious and confortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Just one small suggestion regading the breakfast. It would be great to have some veggies added to the menu like cucumber or tomatoes to add a bit of variety.

    Clean, spacious and confortable room. All the facilities available. Iron was provided on request. The view from the balcony was amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    The Alfonso di Mare is a great family owned hotel where the...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Alfonso di Mare is a great family owned hotel where the family and staff go out of their way to help make your stay as pleasant as possible. The hotel's location on a small beach cove in Praiano, is the Amalfi Coast as it should be. Not overcrowded with tourists and t-shirt shops. I would definitely stay with them again in the future and highly recommend them for a convenient and relaxed holiday.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    2.5
    WORST ITALIAN EXPERIENCE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    BE CAREFUL !! My money was stolen from my room when I was outside and they couldn't do anything. When I reported it they didn't treat me seriously. Don't leave anything valuable in your room! The rooms are really old and dark. Problem with hot water. After cleaning room was not very clean, no toilet paper and still full bin. Staff not friendly. This makes you feel that you are not really welcomed by the hotel. No tickets available to catch a bus No info from reception I can't recommend this hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    Location was amazing, very easy to get to Positano, Amalfi...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel surroundings could be more tidy, I understand it is a fisherman’s village, but I wish it was cleaner and tidier.

    Location was amazing, very easy to get to Positano, Amalfi and others by boat, bus or taxi. The scenic walk to restaurants and the Praiano town is incredible. The hotel is located on walk distance from best restaurants in Praiano. The hotel beach and facilities are amazing, I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.5
    Paradise location which could be far better used :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1-in-1 shower/wc/bathroom (no shower curtains or anything) even if it has its charm Room a bit damp with clim heater not functioning You have to climb for bus stop : D

    Dream location !!!!!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    Sea is right in front of your feet, staff is very friendly,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bad was hard, room was very basic

    Sea is right in front of your feet, staff is very friendly, you hear sea waves when you wake up, breakfast is really good and it is not noisy, perfect especially for couples

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    3.8
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress was uncomfortable Wifii didn't work well The staff unfriendly The noise of the works to built another side of the hotel in the morning Never slept because of the people doing noise at 4 am outside the hotel due to the nearness to the disco

    The location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    Simple breakfast but all anyone needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit dated but very clean.

    Loved the view and the fact that it was right on the beach. Staff were excellent; let us keep our luggage there for the day as we went sightseeing. Great water pressure in the shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    6.7
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well,at the building where we stayed,there was the renovation process next door.Big noise from 7:00a.m,noone even made apologies or informed us,no compensation at all.Very disapoiting.

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.8
    Lovely family owned and operated albergo
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The vintage charm of the simple room reminded me of holidays when I was a kid. The bathroom could/should be upgraded to more modern standards. You pay for the location, not for luxury.

    Great family owned and operated albergo right at the little beach/harbor of Praiano. Boat trips start right there. Bus stop is a 2 min walk up the hill. Own carpark with video surveillance. The staff is outstanding and go to great length to help out, even made it possible to stay one night longer than booked. Breakfast is served in the seaview room and has good selection. Several restaurants within walking distance. I can recommend this place and would go back there. Very quiet and peaceful off season.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful scenery and forthcoming staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is more convienent for the travellers with a car, otherwise you have to walk to the city center on the road.

    The staff is very friendly and forthcoming.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.3
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was expensive at €15 a day which we hadn't expected. The boat trips were booked up so we weren't able to go

    The location is great. Lots of great restaurants nearby and your own beach

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.2
    Nice view with friendly employee. Convenient transportat. Make u comfortable to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel locate in a quiet canyon. The location is great with nice view. The transportation is convenience. You can take bus or boat to any hot spot "Amalfi, Positano, also Capri. The hotel's owner and employee are friendly and the room is traditional Italian decoration. Make you very comfortable to stay!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful little gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A nice little hotel. Fresh cake and cornetti for breakfast, the room was big and you have a little beach in front. Very good restaurants and bars around. Finding it is a chore though. The streets are narrow and even in the night there is lots of traffic... fortunately we could get a parking space, there are about six. It's family run and everyone is very nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    5.4
    Rare place with some shortcomings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower is in the middle of the bathroom and without any curtains, so everything is wet. The appliances really look dirty. A hairdryer is permanenty connected in the bathroom and you use it on a wet floor? Not so safe. The manager has a remarkable distance to the guests. No good morning, no smile, no arrivederci. Staff partly very friendly, partly like the boss.

    Of course the location is excellent. Also was the room with balcony. A fridge was available at the room to cool food and liquids. The Restaurant has a nice terrasse, beautyful views by day and night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    4.6
    The hotel needs renovation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are really old and need to be taken care of. They really need a good renovation. The photos of the rooms on the internet site are not showing the reality. Our room had only a small window just above the ground level which made our stay in the room quite depressing. Even if you are a customer of the hotel you have to pay 5 euros per person (that is with a discount) for the beds at the beach, plus you pay for the umbrella. This makes you feel that you are not really welcomed by the hotel. The staff is not rude but not very friendly either. They seem to have gotten really bored with their job. They don't really care about making you comfortable. It was ok for two nights but I wouldn't stay for a longer period.

    It is true that the hotel has a marvellous location just on the coast. You can have a nice romantic walk through the bridge until the night club nearby. Especially at night the view is really inspiring. There are a few nice restaurants and bars on this walking route.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.3
    The location is lovely, and the "walk with a view"...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has most definately seen better days, and our room had a quite funky smell unfortunately

    The location is lovely, and the "walk with a view" is amazing. There are some great restaurants along it as well! The breakfast was great as well

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.5
    A beautiful natural location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is out of the way and unless you have your own transport, relying on SITA can be luck of the drawer. Also, dragging your bags down and then (especially) up at the end of your stay (on the cobbled roadway) is quite a chore/physical workout. On the first night we had dinner at the restaurant which was very tasty but it was Euro 70 for 3 of us, and we could not afford to do that for every night. Amalfi Coast is AMAZING but it is hard to do it cheaply.

    A wonderful location on the Amalfi Coast. This "private" little beach is in a magical position and gives good access to other places (e.g. we went to for a day trip to Capri from the jetty)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    5.0
    Location is perfect, away from the chaos of Positano, Hotel dated but works
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Owner failed to acknowledge any guests & we stayed for 3 nights, staff were mildly pleasant but distant, only one girl was fabulous, she cleaned rooms & did breakfast service as well. It's a brilliant location, with massive scope for improvement, a huge restaurant that nobody goes to, it needs a revamp & new owners or complete change of attitude, it's an absolute gem of a location. I would stay again, but be aware, of the attitude.

    Location is fantastic

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    5.8
    Beautiful location, basic accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very basic. Some plug sockets /lamps not working. Very loud doors and thin walls - you could hear other guests comings and goings. Quite expensive for what it is, you really are just paying for the location.

    The beach is beautiful and location generally fantastic plus there is parking available - for a fee

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.8
    Location exceeded expectation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location exceeded expectation. Lovely small cove away from the summer crowds and close to many towns. In the cove were 4 restaurants and along a sea walkway another 4 restaurants so did not need to drive out at night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    5.4
    Average, not great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had one small window which faced a brick wall, and had almost no natural light, as shown in the pictures. The air con didn't work straight away and the wifi was weak in the room. We also were hit with an extra charge of €15 for parking for one day and £5 city tax which we weren't aware of. The car park was very small and on a slope so was really hard to get in / out of. The restaurant downstairs was ok, but quite expensive for what it was. It was the most expensive place we stayed in for the holiday, and was the least impressive for value.

    The location was pretty, but the small bay didn't get much natural light due to the high cliffs either side. Check out was 11am which was quite nice as it as it's later than other places. There's a really nice walk around the bay which is pretty.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.2
    Everyone should stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying extra for parking as a hotel guest I would expect this to be included within the price if they have a car park. The room has a smell, this was not there when I arrived but after I had a shower it appeared. I think this is a waste water issue.

    The hotel and restaurant are in a small bay, this is a great location. You can go for boat trips out or stay my the sea. I stayed here for one night but could have stayed longer. I also ate in the restaurant, the food was of a high standard. The staff are very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    5.0
    Rather stay in a hotel worth the money in positiano and make a day trip to alfonso if you have to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No transport to the hotel unless you pay 50/70 euro for taxi from a Amalfi No info from reception Understaffed Unfriendly Terrible food and terrible service Owners of hotel sleeping on couch in reception No tickets available to catch bus so had to walk for 30 mins before getting a ticket On arrival carry your own bags down a steep hill Bar fridge and aircon not working Bathroom drain stinks 2 star hotel at best Noise on beach throughout night till 2/3am

    View from hotel is amazing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    6.3
    There are a lot of restaurants nearby, setting is really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are incredibly uncomfortable. We needed assistance with finding the bus and a taxi, staff wasn't very helpful.

    There are a lot of restaurants nearby, setting is really beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent localisation and extremely friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the only con was no view = no window in the room . otherwise excellent

    Excellent localisation and extremely friendly staff. The rooms unfortunately have NO windows at all. The only natural light comes through the glass door.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    8.3
    Great venue to relax and explore Amalfi Coast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A room with a view would have been a bonus

    It is situated in a cozy little bay very close to Praiano with good public and private connections to the rest of the Amalfi Coast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    5.4
    The location is great and the property COULD be great with better service and a bit of an overhaul.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant is a ghost town... It's difficult to get served, and expect to eat your breakfast among 8 or 10 uncleared tables full of scraps and dirty dishes. Some rooms have no view other than a wall. Rooms are quite dated with cigarette smell.

    Most staff members were helpful and spoke English. One or two were not/did not

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    3.8
    Unprofessional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On our arrival at reception I discovered that my rooms rate had changed from my origional booking. I had to pay 85 euros more for each of the 3 rooms I booked with Booking.com. Additionally in the Booking.com description of the hotel there was no mention of a 15 euro per day parking fee also the reception staff was unfriendly even though we were courteous. I am expecting that Booking.com compensate me for their incompetence and for not giving me notice that my origional bookig had changed. Please credit into my bank 320 euros that I had to pay unnecessarily. Marco Vasington

    Geographical location was exellent!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.9
    The location, the view from our room was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying a lot of money for a 2/3 star room, very basic and no separate shower. At the restaurant there was not a lot choice if you did not eat fish, the house wine was not nice considering the area produces amazing wine and a a tad more exp than the other restaurants.

    The location, the view from our room was amazing.We had the best room in the hotel, we just opened our doors and there was the beach also very clean. The staff were friendly and very helpful. They helped us booked tours, enquire about tours, booked cabs, printed vouchers and helped with directions. The breakfast was nice. We only ate at the restaurant once and we both had the gnocchi it was nice, good size and OK price.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    8.8
    Scenic and relaxing - a fantastic place to spend a holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location right on the beach of the Marina di Praia - great for relaxing, water sports or taking boat tours or a water taxi to nearby Positano. The place has a wonderful, genuinely local vibe whilst also retaining a holiday feel. Staff were friendly and helpful (a special shout-out to Alfonso, who makes a fantastic Aperol Spritz!) All in all, really enjoyed my stay at Alfonso a Mare and would recommend it to anyone visiting the Amalfi Coast, looking for a lovely scenic location away from the craziness of the surrounding larger towns.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful trip to Cinque Terre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old world charm Historic building inside was a delight modern plumbing and amenities Close to the railway station for the train trip to Cinque Terre Lockable car park was a must

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.8
    Amazing view, stuck between the rocks!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic location and amazing view. The whole amalfi is a nightmare to drive around, but luckily they have a parking (not free, but you get a discount). Stunning view for your dinner although the food choices or prices could be better.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    7.9
    Amalfi Coast Hotel ON the Beach!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Actually yes, the croissants were the best we had! Great breakfast buffet, too. The location of this hotel, right on the beach, is what makes it so darn special. The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms a good size - we had a Superior room - and the bed comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    8.8
    Nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much at all really, SITA bus ride into Amalfi and Positano was challenging but it's what you have to do. We survived.

    Great location with friendy staff. Tail end of the season so quiet which was nice. Great restaurant, Bar Mare just opposite, Salvatore is the owner, highly recommend!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    7.9
    Superb location and lovely relaxed place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred separate shower rather than wet room.

    Superb location and lovely relaxed place to stay. Lots of places to eat with stunning views of the sea and central for exploring other places along the coast. Room had a balcony over looking the beach and it was a lovely start to the day to eat breakfast next to the sea. Good find and good value for this area.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    10
    Just couldn't make a better choice....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wonderful location near the beach with a stunning view and close to the marina for sea trips, kind people especially Marco, very comfortable room, delicious food... By the way...the best meals from all nearby locations...

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    5.8
    Some good, some not so.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not very welcoming (apart from Marco!). Intermittent wifi. Changes/omissions to dinner order without notice. Mysterious humming noise in the bedroom (it wasn't the fridge), which disturbed our sleep. Overpriced for the standard of the accommodation. decent breakfast. Dinner good although again overpriced.

    Good location on the beach.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    7.5
    Very romantic place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was stinky in the bathroom no air change... The shower was small

    The parking place in amalfi is very difficult...so the place of parking is necessary Very close to sea level

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    6.7
    Great location in Priano
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Driving there was manic to say the least. Anything you want (parking, sunbed, towel etc) was an extra charge. Also breakfast was pretty poor. Don't go and see the Green grotto (or any grotto for that matter) - not worth it.

    Located in an amazing cove in Priano. Bus stop right outside and was only 2 Euro to get to Positano

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    10
    Private, quiet, beautiful spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Location! Beautiful Clearwater at a small swimming g beach. Great breakfast buffet, restaurant with reasonable prices and a lovely outlook. Nice spacious room - we had a superior room - quiet and comfortable. Great spot! The Il Pirata bar and ristorante has exquisite views and good food. The local dive shop opposite the hotel and will take you for a dive on their boat with all gear for 100 euro. Would love to return.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.2
    Location was everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was everything

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    A place of great local character and scenic beauty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A place of great local character and scenic beauty. No huge crowds. Loved the walkway along the rock cliff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.9
    Great location and very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The steps😩

    Great location and very helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location & friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location & friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    4.5
    Great location- awful decoration of rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decoration of the rooms is old and horrible . Food for lunch and dinner awful.

    The location is great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.6
    Location and options of restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was abit outdated and and very small.

    Location and options of restaurants. Everyone was very welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was old Breakfast was very poor! Not suitable for families.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.9
    Awesome location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Awesome location. Nice people. Clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.2
    Location is excellent in small cove on the amalfi coast away...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is excellent in small cove on the amalfi coast away from the busier resorts .

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: