Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Algilà Ortigia Charme Hotel 4 stars

Via Vittorio Veneto 93, Ortigia, 96100 Siracusa, Italy

#7 of 45 hotels in Siracusa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 641 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.6
    Excellent. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bottom of the door jammed and dragged on the floor. Definitely needs attention. But some of these old building are not perfectly squared and it must be really difficult with doors and windows.

    The staff is wonderful. Super helpful and pleasant. The room was great and had a fabulous view of the see. Breakfast was very good and comprehensive. Can't wait to go back.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Wondeful hotel set in an amazing place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing!

    Breakfast was exceptional. Choice of cooked to order &/or buffet included in the B&B rate. Staff friendly and helpful. Our room was great, the deluxe with hot tub was delightful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.6
    An excellent choice in Ortigia, Syracuse
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service at breakfast is poor. On the first day I wasn’t given a menu or told about the cooked breakfast and made do with a below par buffet. They have hardly any staff after 9 pm and I had to go into the kitchen to call someone as my room key was not working.

    Incredible boutique hotel. Terrific room and gorgeous building(s). The cooked breakfast is a treat. The lounge has free snacks, tea, coffee and white wine on ice. The location is perfect and the reception staff are very helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    An Oasis in Siracusa
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That one could not sit out on the roof terrace unless staying in a suite!

    Good location..great staff..great breakfast..a perfect place to stay to explore Ortigia/Siracusa

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.5
    The location is amazing and the whole hotel is beautifully...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was great but if anything the place was a little lacking in 'soul' - hard to put your finger on it, but there was never many people about.

    The location is amazing and the whole hotel is beautifully renovated and designed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    2.9
    The hotel is run down with bad ordor.
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The customer service was terrible.

    The hotel is run down with bad ordor. Plus we only booked only 1 room and cancelled the 2 room, but still try to up sale.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.3
    The property is cute and quaint, and it was worth upgrading...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms can probably stand to be updated, especially the bathrooms. While the design is part of it's charm, it might be time for a few updates here and there.

    The property is cute and quaint, and it was worth upgrading our room for the view! We loved the location and overall were happy with the hotel. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    Great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was insane on the island, and when you inevitably couldn't find a spot, their garage parking was €25 per night. I don't really blame them, but its still a downside. Though, I'm glad they had that option as a last resort.

    Great hotel. Amazing breakfast and location. The staff were extremely helpful. Comfortable rooms, they had a charm to them with old furnishings.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.6
    Amazing hotel and fantastic service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect. The building is very beautiful and decorated with taste. The personal was very friendly and very attentive to every request. Profesional and service oriented. Rare to find in touristic locations! The restaurante was also excellent!! Had the best linguine alle vongole I had during my stay in Sicily. The rooms for relax and common areas were also very beautiful. Thanks Algila team for making our stay an excellent one. We will come back!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    This hotel was fantastic from the reception staff, to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything about this hotel

    This hotel was fantastic from the reception staff, to the chamber maids all were very helpful and professional, we were on a bed and breakfast board and we looked forward to our breakfast in the morning the selection was amazing we would definitely recommend this hotel and definitely return if we are in this area again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is absolutely charming and the renovation has been...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is not much to fault at all. Perhaps the aircon could be a bit cooler but it was extremely hot when we were there so its understandable that it was working very hard. Overall would come back in a heartbeat.

    The hotel is absolutely charming and the renovation has been sympathetic to its original design. I loved staying at this hotel as it has a small and boutique charm about it. The breakfast buffet is superb and probably one the best we had throughout our whole trip through Italy. The staff are very helpful. It was so hot when we were there but there is a private and public swimming places not too far from the hotel and I enjoyed swimming in the sea every day.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.5
    We stayed 3 nights at the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed 3 nights at the hotel. We found the breakfast to be average, because much more emphasis was laid on the quantity of food, rather than the quality of food offered for breakfast. In short - quality sacrificed for quantity of dishes for breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Liked all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked all. In particular, comfortability, cleanness, design of interior as well as facade of building, friendliness of employees, their availability and readiness to help, excellent breakfast. Personnel is very professional!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.6
    Sassy Siricusa
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing I didn't like was the loudness of the aircon

    The staff were excellent. We asked to change room and the night porter showed us a room immediately. We then got shown a room the next day again. Beautiful hotel. Beautiful location. Excellent breakfast. Yes the aircon was a bit loud but would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.8
    Staff, location, breakfast and overall charm of all great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning didn’t work in my room or my travel companion’s room and we both had to move. My room initially was very small as well.

    Staff, location, breakfast and overall charm of all great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Elegant hotel in Ortygia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite requesting a double bed , we were provided with 2 twins badly pushed together, so that one or other of us would fall between them during the night . Compensation immediately offered , but it was most disappointing- of you run a good quality hotel you need to concentrate on the important detail , or someone else will .. None of the maids knocked before barging straight into the room ( this happened several times)

    Excellent breakfast, lovely accommodation in a beautifully renovated house . Very private.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    4.0
    We were not happy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The elevator was not working and we were on the third floor. The area was generally dirty with garbage just thrown on the streets. We would not return. We left a day early leaving a room already paid for in advance.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Absolutely lovely place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The scent in the room was a bit strong but I’m very sensitive to any scents.

    Absolutely lovely place to stay. Beautiful hotel with friendly, attentive staff. The Room was very pretty and breakfast was the best I have had in Italy! Everything was fresh with abundant choices and eggs made to order!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    6.3
    Overpriced overall product disappointing room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was disappointing and lack of any outdoor area and the public area's were also disappointing

    Breakfast was excellent and on one night when my wife was ill a senior member of reception staff was very helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel, very quiet location near sea. High standard of decor and bedding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Very comfortable and no penny pinching with drinks provided free. Rooms cleaned to high standard daily. Huge choice of food at breakfast and more then enough to eat. Hotel situated in a quit area but not far from marina and piazza.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.5
    Charming hotel, but quite pricey for what you got. Wouldn't go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No communal outside space, eg terrace, lounge area (pics on website refer only to those who have booked suites), no tea/coffee making in rooms (but you could go down to bar and bring it up yourself), aircon could only be turned on / off by reception staff (but they did provide blankets for when it got too fierce and we didn't want to call down at 3am!). Paid about €315 per night. All these could probably have been ascertained before we made the booking, so something for others to be aware of in advance

    Helpful smiley staff, excellent breakfasts, fabulous location, charming decor. Our room (Classic Double) was pretty small, but when we queried this, they did offer us a couple of others to choose from.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    Lovely location from which to you Syracuse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room (63) on ground floor was small and could not open the window as it was a French door to the street. Bathroom shower so designed as to soak most of the floor.

    Staff attentive. Location excellent. Breakfast very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.3
    Seven nights in early May. A warm sunny lazy break, with lots of pottering around Ortigia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Limited storage space in the bedroom - a big old style wardrobe with lots of hanging space, but on the other hand, limited drawer space for folded clothes. Breakfast - a good varied cold selection, but pretty limited hot selection (no hot buffet, so it has to be ordered). Loved the pear and ginger jam though. And fresh orange juice. Breakfast - drinks have to be ordered, so you need to flag down a waiter to get a refill. Also, as usual in Italy, they don't do the long thirst quenching coffees that many Brits and Americans are used to.

    The location, within a few minutes walk of the centre of Ortigia. Nice room with good ensuite and balcony over the street. Just within view of the sea. The decor - classy without being glitzy. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Location was great, right by the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit small. We had a classic double.

    Staff were very helpful, self service buffet for tea,coffee and wine in the afternoon after a long day sightseeing was brilliant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Great hotel and city that met our high expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location! Beautiful hotel and facilities. A plus that had valet parking at the hotel. Beautiful view from room. Excellent staff with helpful recommendations for dining and other assistance as needed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic spot in ortigia. Would return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing breakfasts! Location is fantastic right by the seafront in the heart of Ortigia but in a quieter part of town. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful, elegant pricey but worth it hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night

    The kitchen was unable to provide any food for the puppies, stating it was a policy.

    Beautiful hotel, with large terrace and rooftop hot tub. They were exceptionally considerate for the puppies we were travelling with.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Value for money. Amazing dream hotel and location. Stunning!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillow could have been better.

    Parking facilities, breakfast, everything! People were super nice and friendly. The building is stunning, we would love to go back one day!,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    Lovely location on the front in Ortygia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buzz from the hotel air conditioning. They told me they couldn’t turn it off because it was hotel-wide. I.e it’s not possible to control the air conditioning in your room.

    Lovely restaurant staff. Nice quirky room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.9
    a pleasant surprise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Suspicions about Charm being inc in the name of the hotel were unfounded. The newly restored building across the road from the main hotel was really lovely. Staff super nice. Very comfy bed. Reception seemed genuinely concerned about a couple of issues we raised after our first night, which one might call snagging in such a newly completed refurbishment - probably remedied by now; I hope so, I want to stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    A wonderful finale to our tour of Sicily!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Absolutely nothing - we could not have enjoyed our stay more.

    Great location with wonderful sea views and easy access to the delights of Ortigia. Beautifully renovated property with extremely comfortable public rooms. Very helpful and personable staff. Excellent room and a very comfortable bed. Complimentary soft drinks in room, and free coffee, wine, and nibbles offered. Complimentary telephone calls. Good breakfast with eggs and omelette's cooked to order.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    10
    I have never been to a hotel where the staff so much went...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too bad the a/c was turned off for the season, but management provided us a fan.

    I have never been to a hotel where the staff so much went out of the way to make you feel as though you were part of their family and that your comfort and convenience was what made them happy. Excellent staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Very nice hotel , ideally located to visit Syracuse: main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice hotel , ideally located to visit Syracuse: main sites at walking distance. A lot of charm and personal very attentive. We had a wonderful stay,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    8.8
    An excellent location in Ortigia which is in the quiet and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    An excellent location in Ortigia which is in the quiet and quaint part of Syracusa. Clearly the best part of town to stay and this hotel is a front runner.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.1
    Nice but could do better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location is quite noisy, didn't like hot and sweaty memory foam mattresses much, no dressing gowns, no tea and coffee facilities in the room, communal free bar didn't have any red wine, no explanation of how it all worked. The shower flooded the bathroom and the bedroom on our first morning and staff really had no conception of what had happened and had to be asked twice before responding. Nice but expensive, I am happy to pay for an exceptional hotel but this really isn't, yet.

    A lovely hotel with very nice staff, but for the cost I really did expect more. The room was a good size and comfortable, breakfast is wonderful, but there is certainly room for improvement. The location is convenient.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    A really superb hotel with lots of character and charm in an idyllic area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Opted for the classic suite which was huge. Hotel in a perfect location and staff could not have been more helpful or professional. Definitely going back next year. A true jewel in Sicily.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    A first-rate luxury hotel well located in the heart of a spectacular Sicilian city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was extraordinarily helpful, especially Marcello who went the distance in every way to accommodate our needs. We loved that there were bicycles to borrow and free minibar water and soft drinks. Ortigia is a must see city and Algila a great place to stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    My husband would rate the property six stars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My husband would rate the property six stars. Everything was wonderful. The only extra was the City Tax. Minibar, refreshment center and free international calling included. We wondered the whole Island and walked back from the sites in Siracusa.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.3
    Very nice hotel that could be 10/10 with a bit of managerial support
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at breakfast was chaotic Nespresso coffee pods in Italy?! Sliding door in bathroom did not slide

    Front desk service was outstanding Absolutely beautiful architecture Excellent location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.6
    Breakfast was good, lots of choice, the hotel has two...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel parking is 20 EUR per day, but go for the self-parking which is 250-300meters down the road from the hotel which is 10 EUR per day. Then you can walk back to the hotel which is only 5-10 mins max. room only had partial view of the sea, and a great balcony but unable to sit outside. Hotel a little hard to find because the signs aren't too visible, so had to circle around a few times to find it. All the building colors look the same

    Breakfast was good, lots of choice, the hotel has two buildings, if you're not in the main, then you have to walk across the street which is 30 seconds away. In the secondary building the lobby area has a nice foyer to chill with free wine and water and nuts.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.8
    Facilities an location were quite good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff seemed a bit overwhelmed at high stress check/out times. As a result, they failed to do several things they had promised (dinner reservations, cab pick up). Hopefully this will improve in the future.

    Facilities an location were quite good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    Excellent, would definitely go back there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to criticize, even the public parking (€ 10 per night) was walking distance from the hotel

    Excellent location, beautiful decoration of hotel and rooms, faboulous breakfast and last but not least wonderful service, the hotel staff went beyond themselves to make our stay pleasant. We stay at 4 star hotels when we travel, the Algila exceeded our expectations

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.6
    Magical
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room service in the day time for food, but not really an issue because of all the choice around the hotel.

    A wonderful hotel full of luxury charm with friendly staff. Ideally placed for roaming round! A truly awesome experience will be back soon!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    Best stay in Italy, absolutely amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Best stay in Italy, absolutely amazing. Rooms fantastic, breakfast 10/10. Free wifi, and phone calls, mini bar . All included. Location amazing ,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    I can't say enough about this property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I can't say enough about this property. We were traveling with another family and all decided to cancel our next hotel and stay here two more nights since it was so fantastic. The staff was accommodating, the breakfasts were amazing... they even had a little table set out all day with snacks, water, pastries and CHILLED WINE! Who doesn't love to grab a glass of vino before heading to the room or heading out on an adventure! Our room even had a free mini bar, which is so convenient to grab bottled water for our walks through the city or at night when kids get thirsty and you don't want to leave. It was superb. The location is perfect. Will go back here again, guaranteed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.2
    Surely the best hotel in Syracuse
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking a bit expensive (20 euro/day), but worth the price to avoid having to try find a park on the island of Ortigia.

    Great staff, fantastic location. The hotel has been really nicely updated keeping much of the charm from the old building. Got upgraded to a Superior Deluxe which I think would be worth the extra price, much more room and great sized bathroom. Really appreciated the free mini-bar and snacks in the lounge. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    10
    I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NOTHINGI have no hesitation in recomending this hotle

    Lives up to its title "charme", lovey hotel with very helpful, friendly staff. Great location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    8.8
    Great location!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would be good to have an iron and iron board for guests to borrow. Especially for those who travel for business.

    Location was really great and wonderful breakfast! Staff was also very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is simply stunning. Our room was spacious, and the breakfast is perhaps the best I've had in a hotel - good quality and choice. The staff were always friendly, helpful and willing to accommodate. Overall, a fantastic stay, highly recommend for its location too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.6
    Best hotel I've stayed at for a long time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was brilliant - loved every minute. The staff were super helpful, the breakfast was the best hotel breakfast I've eaten in a VERY long time with fresh omelettes and eggs made to order at no extra cost and the location, quiet and cleanliness all excellent. The free international phone calls to landlines was also a nice bonus alllowing us to ring home.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    8.8
    Lovely Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and welcoming on arrival. This is a very busy hotel and it was often difficult to ask staff on reception questions about the area etc if they were very busy with checking in and checking out guests.You felt that there heads were always down busying away We think it would be a good idea to have the tourist information on display in a prominent position away from the reception were guests would be able to see it.

    Hotel in a superb location on ortigia island the best place to be in Syracuse. Room beautiful and very clean lovely shower fluffy bathtowels and lovely bed linen. Breakfasts excellent.The car was parked safely for us in the garage. We thought the drinks and pastries in the corner of the dining room for guests to have a drink during the day was a lovely idea and very welcoming back to the hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.6
    Classy hotel for a great visit to Ortigia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price point is a bit high but it is very good quality.

    Clsssy, comfortable hotel with excellent amenities. Very close to all major attractions, restaurants and cafes. Superb breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.6
    Superbly appointed Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was in opposite building. The windows in our room were very high(as was ceiling). It gave it a Dungeon like effect. However there were lovely well appointed sitting areas in the entrance. There are a lot of rooms with views etc(luck of the draw). This is a one off. This is a very good hotel so don't be put off

    Beautifully presented Hotel. Excellent breakfast. Overlooks Ioanian sea. Short walk to restaurants shopping etc

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.1
    It was far too expensive and the room was quite cold at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It was far too expensive and the room was quite cold at night. We were in an annex room and I think a room in the main building would have been better. Compared to the other hotels we stayed in it was poor value.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    Perfecto stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people that work at this hotel are some of the friendliest and most genuinely nice people I've ever met at a hotel There is a understated elegance at this hotel which makes it peaceful and relaxing. The location is perfect for walking and near to everything. Yes the rooms are on the smaller side but outfitted with beautiful linens nice decorations and a lot of character

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    9.2
    very attractive setting for pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very attractive setting for pool. Small fitness center (but only hotel in Sicily we stayed that had one). Excellent breakfast buffet. Quiet setting but really needed the hotel shuttle (stopped early evening) or taxi for trip to town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    10
    4 star hotel with 5 star amenities!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautifully renovated buildings, great waterfront location in historic area of town, well designed room and public spaces, VERY FRIENDLY HELPFUL STAFF, nice breakfast, our room had a huge terrace with water view which we loved, free international calls, free snack bar... they thought of everything!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    9.2
    good hotel in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is horrendous.There is fortunately space to stop to unload outside the hotel but it was well worth 20e to have them park the car in their garage especially as I did not need it to go around Siracussa.

    Convenient for all attractions on Ortygia and not too far to walk to archeological park. Hotel was comfortable with a nice bar lounge to sit and read.The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.8
    Lovely peaceful stay at Algila Ortigia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing really. I would say I was a bit disappointed that the room we were given looked out over the back of the hotel (over roofs). I thought I had booked a sea view - at £1400 for a week I thought that was what we were getting. Nevertheless the room was beautiful and the bed sooo comfortable.

    Staff were very friendly. Especially the staff that served breakfast - Arianna who served breakfast each day was particularly friendly and helpful. She made us smile each morning with her various anecdotes.! The hotel was well placed on Ortigia - close to restaurants and shops but far enough away to be very peaceful. Parking was easy as we just handed the keys to hotel staff and they parked the car for us or collected it for us in the morning. We didn't use the restaurant but the breakfasts were amazing. The free buffet in each of the hotels was lovely to come home to each afternoon.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    10
    Beautiful Hotel in Ortigia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom though nicely outfitted was a little tight. After showers the water would be all over the floor. I ended up using the hand towels and bath at to dry it every time. It was an annoyance, I think poor design of having the shower floor the same level as the room.

    Our room overlooked the water. We stayed in the 'annex' across the street from the main lobby. Our room and the whole hotel was beautiful. Comfortable bed and nice towels and linens. The best part was everything except parking was included. A delicious full breakfast, water and soda in the room, phone calls, wine, coffee & tea in the lobby. No extra charges. I am used to the $5 bottle of water in the room, so this was a nice surprise. Location is great, we walked the entire island, it's not that big. We were there for three days and didn't leave the island. I would go back and stay longer to have time to see Siracusa.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.2
    Charming hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Really, nothing wrong. Perhaps a little quiet for those wanting some buzz.

    Charming hotel. Huge room. Friendly staff. Good location. Excellent breakfast. Free WiFi and water.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    Everything was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was wonderful. The rooms are small because it is an old, renovated building but the charm and amenities make up for the smaller size. The room was quite comfortable in spite of the size. We had a sea view which was lovely. My husband wasn't feeling too well and when we asked if the restaurant chef could make him a soup it was not problem. And the soup was delicious. Breakfast is a combination of buffet and menu and was very good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    7.9
    Lovely view, but expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite expensive, but the room was very small. Smell of aroma diffuser was too strong. Parking fee was not included in the rate.

    Location is good. Sea view from the room was lovely. Breakfast was delicious and fresh. Parking space is just across the road from the property.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    8.8
    A great place to stay in the heart of the best part of Syracuse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    A bit pricey but hey........ Could be very hot and very busy in the peak period over the summer (but we didn't experience that :-)

    The breakfast is excellent and is included in the daily rate. The bed was massive and comfortable. The staff were friendly. The location was great. Ortigia is full of places to eat and has lots of interesting places to walk around though a little quiet in February which is when we were there. It is a very historical area and you can easily walk to all the places to visit including on the Syracuse mainland such as the Greek and Roman archaeological parks and the fantastic coin and jewellery exhibits at the Paulo Orsi Museum. Then there's the gelato !!!!!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    10
    Nice and very clean property,friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nice and very clean property,friendly staff.While highly rated hotels today are trying to earn more and more money on extras,these people are offering many extras free of charge.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    6.7
    sea view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    location was great . wifi unbelievable fast and super connection better than Paris or New York. so possible to enjoy the vacation and work at the same time .

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    9.6
    The hotel is simply wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's absolutely nothing to complain. Everything was perfect, except the fact that we had to leave the city ( and so, the hotel!)😌

    The hotel is simply wonderful! Beautiful antique building, renovated but kept the orignal charm with modern facilities, we stayed in junior suite, which was just splendid! Wonderful bathroom, the shower is incredible good, Bulgary amenities, super comfy bed and linens, you have an iMac in the room to your use! Free minibar, the decor either the room and the hotel are gorgeous! The breakfast was excellent! There's absolutely no complains! The best hotel in my whole trip to Calabria and Sicily, no doubts! If you go to Siracusa, stay there, and have dinner in Macallé bistrot, just around the corner. ( suggested by the hotel). It's a 4 stars hotel, should be 5, for sure!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Junior Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything. The room was comfortable and elegantly furnished. The facilities and service were great. A touch of class, thoroughly recommended.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    9.6
    Great place to stay! Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was meant for a single traveler,and we received it by mistake......could not open luggage and still move around the room......

    Yes, the eggs at breakfast were worth the visit alone! But ALL was great

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    10
    The hotel is very stylish.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very stylish. We got a room upgrade which was a great convinience as we travelled with our 5-year-old daughter. We also enjoyed the close panorama of the Ionian Sea and the proximity of the town's historic centre. The restaurant serves great food.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    9.2
    Stunning Hotel in best, quiet location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff at reception seemed a bit "tourist tired". Not too friendly or helpful

    Location was fantastic in the old town. Beautifully restored buildings with excellent furnishings and comfortable suite with plenty of room for family of 4, with kids in a separate, but large room which closed off from our bed room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in Noto
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Converted from two old buildings, with excellent furnishings and decor. Bulgari toiletries, an excellent shower and very good towels. The breakfast options were also particularly special. A nice treat is that a man delivered delicious almond macaroons to our room every day.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    9.2
    Cozy standard bedroom, amazing breakfast, very nice reading...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little accidents occurred in our bathroom: we ended up having the shower in a single room the concierge provided us with.

    Cozy standard bedroom, amazing breakfast, very nice reading room in the nearby club house.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    8.3
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice continental breakfast. Beautiful gardens. If you book far enough in advance, ask for a view of the valley of the temples from your room. The restaurant is also very nice and allows you to relax.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    8.8
    Lovely hotel for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not a very big bedroom and could do with a little more storage, but OK for short stay.

    Lovely old building sympathetically restored and in a good location. Good breakfast, friendly staff, what more could you want for a short stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: