Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Alcide 4 stars

Viale Marconi 67A, 53036 Poggibonsi, Italy

#11 of 13 hotels in Poggibonsi

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 942 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike. The hotel, location, and expectations were as expected and very satisfactory and met our needs.

    Nice comfy bed. Good location for the purpose of our visit, easy walk into centre of town. Receptionist very helpful and friendly. Breakfast staff also very friendly and welcomed you into the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to complain.

    Very nice room, clean and lovely staff. Also very nice with my dog as they provided with treats for my dog and a bowl. Really appreciated.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel (furniture, bedrooms) is a old and should be renovated. All the rest was excellent, including the restaurant

    Close to the hospital, very nice staff,

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, I really enjoyed my stay.

    It may seem like a 4 stars hotel but the staff surely is trained like a 5 stars one. I loved how they treated me and I would definitely suggest it in case somebody asked me to say something about it. I would also recommend to try the restaurant, I had a great dinner at a good price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - The biggest discomfort is the upper fixed shower, I had to wash my long hair or put the shower cap which doesn’t protect 100% - Bathroom was a little bit small - There wasn’t enough light in the room at the evening, only one socket near the door (so we had to use the fridge’s socket in the room) - Our room was faced to the road and there wasn’t good noise isolation - I didn't like pillows (too thin) but it's only my opinion - The hotel didn’t inform us about city-tax (2 euro per person per night) even when we asked to reconfirm our booking some days before arrival. At the check-out they asked us to pay the city-tax but with the help of email-reconfirmation we didn’t pay it. - The electronic key didn’t work, but our room wasn’t changed and we had to ask receptionist or chambermaid to open our door every time when we needed it.

    + Spacious and comfortable room with fridge, hairdryer and air-conditioning + At the morning the room was full of sunlight (very nice!) but if you need you can close the jalousie + Good and various breakfast (sweet and salty) which you can have in the breakfast room or on the nice terrase + Reception 24 hours + Wi-Fi worked good but every time we had to registered + Free public parking near the hotel, but if you will arrive too late you should park about 100-200 meters far from the hotel (always free). + Very good balance quality/price (54 euro per night in the beginning of september)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking in nearby streets is difficult on Thursdays, when streets are being cleaned.

    Great location! 5 mins from shops/restaurants on foot. Lots of parking spaces.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really smelly (cigarette, mold, etc) outdated room, bathroom was not good. Breakfast was terrible: low quality coffee and bread. Only sweets had a larger variety, but all of them were bad. We booked 2 nights, but left after the 1st one for another place.

    The only good point was the location, near San Gimingiano and other countryside cities in Tuscany.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to complain.

    The room was very nice and very clean. The breakfast was excellent with a great variety of food with a lots of different home made cakes, fruits and lots more.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    On street parking information. We received parking fine. We were not informed that we could not have our car parked on Thursday between the hours of 6 am -10 am. I think it would be helpful to inform visitors.

    We didnt have breakfast , because we left the hotel each morning before 6am. We were Hiking in the hills of the region. House keeping staff did a fantastic job , on my room . each evening I returned to the hotel , my room was spotless clean and tidy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poggibonsi isn't exactly a tourist destination and hotel isn't in a very interesting area of the town. It's not too close to the train station, either - perhaps a 15-20 minute walk. However, we picked the hotel because of its price and because we needed to be able to get to both San Gimignano, and Siena, quickly.

    Excellent hotel in a working class town. Poggibonsi wasn't a beautiful town (we stayed there only as a springboard for visiting San Gimignano), and the hotel itself shows its age. Nevertheless, we were pleasantly surprised to find our room to be very comfortable, and excellent value, for the price. The hotel even had olive oil shampoo, body wash, and moisturizer! Breakfast was excellent and generous. The breakfast service people were friendly and helpful. The people at the front desk were also helpful and courteous, though they sometimes looked tired and overworked (and I can't blame them).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have been better. It was OK but nothing special, and did not have anything cooked.

    Good hotel, good location for our requirements near the train station. Only there 1 night, but met all our requirements and customer service was very good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little noise from the street, complicated wifi access

    Beautiful small town with nice city centre, super kind receptionist perfectly english speaking, amazing breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decoration a bit outdated Breakfast wasn't reinforced after a big group ravaged the place moments before so there was little left to eat or drink even if well before closig time.

    On overall a good hotel with spatious rooms and reasonable facilities. Private parking Near the main road

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    sometimes the buffet section of the evening meal could have been a little warmer.

    The location, the staff were excellent and the rooms were also perfect.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To early checkout

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only 5 minutes by walk from the train station of Poggibonsi. Quiet room. Really good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very few local restaurants

    Great location, 10 minutes walk to main station

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean...good location..friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly and professional staff. Rooms very clean and comfortable. Attached seafood restaurant served great food!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    air conditioning a bit noisy

    welcoming staff convenient position excellent value

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor of the room.

    Gluten free breakfast available.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, good breakfast, very friendly and helpful staff and clean rooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and warm owner with excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Owners family & staff were excellent. Could not fault them

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurant, old fornitures

    bed and kindness from cleaning staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    very good buffet breakfast served by a very helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness wasn't great. Dusty old duvets. average breakfast.

    Position was ok

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    cant say I didnt like it.

    the font desk women very nice, CHECK out time that women was a bit rude.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was very small

    Very good location, good value, nice staff, very very good breakfast and also dinner

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wlan i cannot use

    breakfast was super, parking no need to pay, price for this hotel top

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking space outside the hotel.

    Staff very cordial and helpful; facility very clean.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel need some refreshment, but it's still good.

    Good breakfast. Fridge in room. There is parking.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    all good

    hotel very friendly not far from motorway . terrific breakfast plenty to choose from top marks

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was very very limited The Hotel is old, it requires an update

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable bed and a good sized room. AC worked great. A good room overall

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surroundings, views,

    Good situation, close to Siena and san gimignano, no very far from Florence Good relation quality/ price

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old style hotel, good value for money and good location. Breakfast is ok, the staff is friendly

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Close to Siena, Florence, San Gimignano. Great place for making trips to Tuscany.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    /

    Free parking and friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    maybe access to a computer would be helpful but it was ok

    The location is perfect, the attention is good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Strange smell in our room, beds were not so good

    Breakfast, nice people at front desk

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Breakfast was good. Parking in front of the hotel. Good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Te information we were given at the desk was mostly inaccurate: e.g directions to station. Also told that there were two trains an hour to Florence. There was approx one every two hours. Much better to use bus which did leave frequently

    It was an easy stay

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2016

    • Solo traveller

    All was good, there wasn't anything I did not like.

    Very convenient location with easy parking, very good breakfast and very good buffet dinner for the price. Staff very helpfull and rooms comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    You can hear your neighbor very well. Doors open and close with sounds.

    Location is good, 5 minutes from train station.. Very nice view from window.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Group

    very old design and poor buffet presentation! maybe they should put more style in the restaurant buffet and new arrangements in the hotel

    the restaurant is great !!!

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the wifi didn't work so good in our room. (we were in this hotel for 2 nights once in the first floor and the other time- in the 3rd floor, still low wifi signal )

    good location great bed good room helpful staff great restaurant

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing really except to point out that there was no secure parking although that was not a problem to us personally.

    Convenience of the location, the informal efficiency of the administration and the excellent value for money.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff were friendly and very helpful. Room was spacious, and everything you needed was there. Not super modern, but clean. The food in the restaurant was fabulous, and breakfast was nice. We were allowed to leave our luggage in the room after checkout, which was very helpful, thank you for that!

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel can be described as Old World Elegance and Class. The staff at the hotel and restaurant were courteous and professional. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast and dinner were amazing. This gem of a hotel just outside Siena, Tuscany is a place we would recommend to our friends and family.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Unfortunately no control over the heating system. Left the window open (-3º C). Woke up with the radiator blazing hot. Gave me somewhat of a headache.

    Good atmtmosphere, friendly staff. Very good beds.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    kahvalti kotu ve odalar cok eskimis bad breakfast and rooms need to be refurnished

    konum ve personel personel is great location is very good

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Restaurant is over priced and over rated.

    Helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Had a corner room. I bit loud in the mornings

    Great restutant. Try their risotto it is fabulous

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Older building needs renovations

    Location close to many cities

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is a few minutes walk from the centre of Poggibonsi. The staff were most accomodating and helpful

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Professionali.cordiali e discreti .

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    How pleasant & available the staff were. Thank you

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no free place in the parking lot for our car.

    good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The cordiality of the staff and the confort of the room

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    A great place to visit wonderful towns nearby.The stufff is very kind,the breakfast is great.The parking is free and very convinient

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Fridge TV and air con didn't work properly.

    Comfortable clean . Nice place

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    friendly helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    great team and resturant. kind people. excelent service

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - poor breakfast - Wifi did not work in the room - old furniture in the room (the room didn't look like on the pictures)

    - lift

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    value for money

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A little noice of air-conditioning on roof.

    Fine staff and good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bad isolation of windows! You can hear trafic all night long. The hotel parking is not so big and you may have to park on street.

    Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A little noise from the street...

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great breakfast,comfortable room,good value for money overall. The restaurant serves a tastefull cuisine.

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: