Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Alinari 3 stars

Largo Fratelli Alinari 15, San Lorenzo, 50123 Florence, Italy

#305 of 384 hotels in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 483 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was a great, simple place to stay. No frills but clean and have everything we needed

    Location was great! Price was fantastic in comparison to others. Good breakfast too!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Jacuzzi could have worked.

    Great looking room, pleasant colors, good large bathtub, large bathroom. Good air conditioning system. Very quiet and clean. Beautiful little courtyard.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location and good breakfast! We are staying a room for 4 person. It's neat and comfortable. If we don't need to take stairs to reach that floor, it's definitely perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was not clean. There were hair strands near the shower and used soap inside the toilet bowl. There were no tissue paper. The bed is actually 2 single beds that were put together. The receptionists are very old people, not that i hated it. It's not really a problem on my part.

    The location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were extremely thin, could hear everything going on in the hallway/other rooms. On top of that, the bed was pretty uncomfortable, very firm.

    The staff was very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There seemed to be some confusion about whether we needed to leave our room key with the front desk when we left the hotel, as one member of staff asked for it, but no one else did. A little consistency would have been better. Also, there was someone practicing the piano (I think maybe in the floor above us?) We could hear it very clearly, and it was actually rather pleasant. Luckily it stopped at an early hour otherwise it could have been a bit more disruptive than it was.

    Great staff, very friendly and helpful. Excellent breakfast, and the staff even made us proper macchiati.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little bit cold in the room and in the bathroom and we couldnt heat with the fan coil. So take a pyjama if you go in autumn or winter. :)

    For us the hotel's location was excellent, 2 min walk from the Firenze SMN station, we came from Pisa and must went back to the airport there so that's why we choosed this hotel. Anyway the Mercato Centrale was 5 min walk, you shoul eat there!! Amazing place! The downtown was 10-15 min. The breakfast was very good! The room was big.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit dated, but it adds to the charm.

    Brilliant Location with the walking distance to both a railway station and the city centre. Comfortable bed. Reasonably big shower. Amazing view from the windows at the breakfast hall. Good and stable wi-fi in the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit noisy outside as they were doing some works on the opposite building but quiet in the night.

    Very friendly and available staff. Great price. They let us check in early and the owner took time to check museum prices for us!Short walk to city centre and train station. Good breakfast and coffee!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Looks a little scruffy from the outside if you're not used to Historical European Cities, but very clean on the inside. Used mainly by Italians so English spoken only slightly - but if you're cool with some pigeon English/Italian and a bit of pointing it's fine!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We needed to prompt staff to provide breakfast crockery, teabags etc. I would have liked to the staff to do this as a matter of course.

    Clean and spacious room, helpful reception staff, good range of breakfast items.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The showers were very small.

    The location by the central train and bus station is excellent and also within easy walking distance of the historic parts of town.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is a very basic hotel and very expensive. It is a hotel of lower than one-star. I was not satisfied with the facilities. The value of money is very low. I do not recommend this hotel and I will not stay again.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a problem for us but we could hear the sounds of the cafeteria in the morning, so if you like to sleep till more than 8:30, be sure your room is not underneath it. Over all it was great

    The recepcionist Carlo was very kind and welcoming. The room was very nice, and the breakfast very complete.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some members of the staff were rude. Bed sheets were not clean, although were changed when we asked, but first night was sleepless because it was to late to ask for the service and there was a bad odor from the sheets and pillowcases, not to mention some stains and hair on the sheets. Hotel is basically 3rd and 4th floor of the old building, no entrance from the street. Shower is smaller than on the cruise ship, you can barely fit in it, there's no way you can move in it. Price varies, everybody was paying different amount, our rate was at least 20% higher than for some other guests. Breakfast was OK, but nothing healthy. Wi-Fi was not working in the room, only close to the check-in. We had a last minute change of plans, if you can make reservations in advance, I am sure you can do much better.

    Location was excellent, very close to train station.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    micro tv, leaking water from the shower until inside the room, tissue like towels, thin pillows and most of all the people in the reception is rude you can't ask anything they answer in a bad way.The cleaning staff is nice by the way.

    breakfast is so good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good, but the croissants were not fresh.

    Excellent location. AC worked very well. They keep your luggages as much as you want. Free food at reception was the best :)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - nothing, we were happy with our stay.

    - Very central and good location, close to train station ( which was important criteria for us) and walking distance to all attractions - very nice and friendly staff - great that they had coffee/tea, waffles and cakes all day long - it was one of the cheaper alternatives we had close to station

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattresses were so hard! Wifi was more out than in in our room. AC kept going off.

    Very close to the train station and the historical area. Everything in walking distance. Good breakfast. Helpful staff. Zara at breakfast is a beautiful lady.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no complain

    To Italy to live most of the cost of the hotel, very good luck, met a very good hotel staff. Return to fiorentina, will choose to live here.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can not tell about breakfast. no time to me so I couldn't get it. just I saw the place for breakfast. It seems also really good :)

    perfect location. just few mins from station and easy to find. kind staff. small but really organized well room. clean and quiet.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too congested of an area.

    Service and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fly’s in room

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room size is too small

    location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed. It was only single bed kept together.

    Good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stay was incredibly good value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are comfortable,foods are abundant and tasty!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bath towels where too thin, and the room had not a very good sound insulation.

    Very good breakfast, huge shower box, clean bathroom, wide wardrobe.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    temperature control

    location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    old building and smelt old

    nice breakfast nice hotel workers

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude staff

    Likes that the hotel was central

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't sleep. Falling Waters at bath all night. No blank, no AC.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.9
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff knew little english and the hotel was in one floor

    Location was perfect

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is very good. Famous sights at walking distance and also the train station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was amazing and went the extra mile. Best place I stayed in my 3 weeks in Italy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location near the train station. Only a short walk to the main attractions in Florence . Close to many cafes and Resturant in the area

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eggs

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad towels

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location and excellent staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of alinari is excellent near the train station and 6min walk to duamo ,clean ,delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Handy location to everything. Snacks and coffee available during the day

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    OVERPRICED! I booked several weeks before my stay through Booking.com. We paid 175 EUR/night. When arriving, I realised that the standard rate in June for a double room was just 110 EUR/night and majority of other guests stayed for prices ranging 59-85 EUR/night. When I asked the manager why I was paying more than double, he said that he varies his price and the demand was high when I was booking... Well, it just does not feel right to be ripped of in this way. I should have used the "Best price guarantee" of booking.com, which I did not as I did not realise I was about to be ripped off (to use the Best price guarantee, you need to contact Booking.com in advance...). Oh, I should mention the other negatives: the room did not feel at all like a 175 EUR/night one. Small with outdated furniture. On the first night, there was no soap nor proper towels given to us. I had to complain twice to receive them the next day. The door was very poor - it did not insulate from the corridor noise and since none of the doors had auto-closing system, we were hearing and waking up to doors slamming on the corridor every 30 minutes during the day and once an hour during the night.

    Location is fantastic - 5min walk to the train station and 5 min walk to the main sites

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were very friendly and helpful.coffee and cakes on arrival, and as we were waiting to leave.Great location near the rail station, luggage storage available at no cost.wifi in room, no English tv.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was very firm and wasn't conducive to a good nights sleep. Older folk need to sleep on something softer. I am always astonished by the fact that hotels the world over pay so little attention to the comfort of the beds they provide, given the fact that sleeping is the main activity carried out in the room by most people. The breakfast was very poor. There wasn't really anything healthy or with any goodness being offered. Great if you like cake and pastries !.

    The location was great for sight seeing and eating out. The room was a good size and very ornate. Our room had a nice view over the roof tops. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A/C heating not enough for colder days & nights, old furniture.

    Great location, near the town main railway station and close to the most important touristic objectives to be visited.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There were ants in bathroom and if next room is noisy you can hear everything.

    The room, the location, the breakfast were all quite good for the price. Minor problems didn't effect me much. Also the staff is nice. I will definitely come back again.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Cheap with last minute deals - amazing breakfast included for two - beautiful gardens, great room, jacuzzi tub in bathroom, friendly staff, easy parking in neighborhood, great area - great restaurants in area... will be back!

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no parking so we parked on the outside of town and took a tram. The hotel was right by the train station.

    It was very clean. Very near the city center. Staff was helpful. You could walk to everything you wanted to see. Wonderful hotel and town.

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The sound of other rooms at mid night!! Really terrible!! Not good wifi ( very kind staff on neiberhood hotel) they helped us to warm our food. There was no food heating system on Alinari

    Kind staff, good location , breakfast so so( acceptable) . Remember we used to carry 1 floor by steps 4th to 3rd

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff - nobody ever smiled and only one was ever pleasant or even interested in the guests. It must be a miserable place to work. Breakfast was poor - coffee tasteless, bread hard and not fresh, most choices were not available after 8.45 (breakfast from 7 - 9.30)

    Location - close to everything of interest and the station

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    - Thin pillow and hard mattress. - Value for the money and small room. - Tricky to find the first time. (first right after entering the alley next to Amsterdam French fries Burger joint). - Hotel in 4th floor and rooms in 3rd, you need to take the stairs down (with baby stroller).

    + Great Location 100 yards from S M N Centrale train station. Walking distance from all attractions + Great staff (Leonardo fluent in English and very helpful) + Fast Internet + Double windows block street noise + breakfast was ok

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room clean but in need of updating, especially the bathroom. Breakfast staff not really friendly but this may be due to language barriers

    Continental breakfast was a nice selection. Nice view from the small terrace. Good location from train station and main sights.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the bed(s) hadn't been made up as requested so we had to do it and in so doing we found the bottom covers probably hadn't been washed for quite a while. the plug mechanism in the sink had collapsed and the toilet seat was loose. the armchair had seen much better days as the upholstery was worn and dirty. all this gives the visitor the wrong impression upon arrival.

    very convenient as was close to station and only short walk to cathedral piazza, uffizzi gallery and other attractions. the hotel had a lovely rooftop terrace where you could sit, have breakfast and listen to the bells. air conditioning was good and noise was reduced significantly by double glazing/shutters. we enjoyed using the quaint lift.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast is not good. Very little thing to choose from. Most of the breakfast is sweet. The wall is thin so we can hear a lot of noise from outside or next room. The shower is very small.

    Location is very good, close to train and bus station. They don't have drink in the room but you can get for free from their kitchen. Just ask the staff then they will give you.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Trying to check out in a rush was difficult. I had 15 minutes to catch my train and the staff was nowhere to be found right after breakfast. I think if you have an EU passport, you can just leave your keys and go, but with a U.S. Passport they hold onto it...I finally had to run over and find someone in the breakfast room and then sprint for my train.

    So close to the train station!!

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We booked the hotel via smart phone only 20min before arrival and got a luxurious huge 4 people family room (we were 2) for a great price. The hotel is furthermore located close to the very city center in a street full of bars and great restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff posture as we were travelling with a baby, luggage and baby trolley and the receptionist didn't even open the door for us, let alone help us with the bags.

    The location is excellent, very close to the bus station and to the historic center. Breakfast was very limited but satisfactable. Wi-Fi worked great.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Got ANTS in bathroom on the floor, wall, mirror and around the sink. The worst shower towel I had ever used, poor material with full smell of camical. Pos machine was not able to connected when I check out, had to go out and get cash myself to make the payment.

    Good location.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Couple

    The towels are horrible they feel like you are using sheets to dry

    Very nice staff, flexible, amazing location

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    rooms shabby and old. Plug sockets not working , small shower...

    Not much to like ...

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    very closed to the Station. But quiet for all day. Hospitality is very good. Hot water and strong shower!!

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The place is perfect.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    • Couple

    Staff aren't awere of each other and rude! There were noise at lobby always..

    Only location!

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    no clear sign of the hotel entrance

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    everything

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Easy to find the place and the staff are accomodated...

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Confusing access.

    Very good breakfast, excellent location.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi signal in room.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staff were lovely, room was spacious, quiet and very clean. Overall I would recommend this hotel and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    some cloths are provided as the substitute for bath towel

    location,staff

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hard to find as signage of hotel is not clear. Otherwise location is very central.

    Staff r very helpful n friendly.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Awesome place to stay, will definitely come back!

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The noisy street, tiny tiny bathroom and poor breakfast selections.

    The hotel had an elevator.

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    My room was very nice with 3 side opening and facing the Doumo.

There are also 28 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Alinari traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: