Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Alla Corte degli Angeli 4 stars

Via degli Angeli 23, 55100 Lucca, Italy

#4 of 33 hotels in Lucca

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 791 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.8
    A small but very cosy hotel .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really .

    A small but very cosy hotel . Surprisingly modern comfort and very beautifulliy decorated rooms. Placed in the center of Lucca. A helpfull staff and easy parking. Getting there by car is a little complicated ,but a friendly policepatrol helped us finding our way.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    Location and comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee maker in the room

    Very comfy room. Spacious light and airy with a big bed. Big bathroom. View of side street. Very quiet and only a few steps away from main street. Lovely to have freshly squeezed orange juice for breakfast and fresh honeycomb honey.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel, worth a visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wasn't crazy about my dinner at the restaurant. It wasn't bad but I wasn't super impressed.

    The hotel is easy to find (with Google Maps) and the staff was welcoming and kind. I only spent one night during a 8 day stay in Italy. I loved Lucca and I would definitely come back to this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    5.0
    Not value for the price paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room only had a view onto a side street although the Booking. com site said all rooms had a beautiful view. There was very little hanging space for clothes and the only draw space was particularly old and smelled musty so wasn't used.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.3
    Overall a very good hotel with excellent breakfast, well situated inside the beautiful walled town .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view from bedroom. Slightly stuffy room.

    Excellent location. Attractive traditional styled hotel with outside courtyard. Friendly, helpful staff. Wonderful breakfast, with juicing machine and fresh honeycomb.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Clean, comfy, great food, good location and someone at reception 24/7.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was clean, comfy and spacious. Breakfast was excellent. My caffe latte was just as I like it and always hot. The restaurant is an excellent choice for dinner. The standard of the food is very high.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Perfectly wonderful stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast buffet was magnificent. The room was immaculately clean. The staff were kind, friendly & helpful. The location couldn’t have been better & the hotel had a private parking lot just a few steps away. The bathroom was terrific as well. Very upscale, well run hotel. I can’t recommend it highly enough.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Comfortable and Charming Botique Hotel in a Good Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are driving, make sure you contact the hotel ahead for instructions.

    Very charming botique hotel, breakfast included, with restaurant and excellent chef. A shout out to Paolo, who guided us expertly over the phone to the hotel once we were hopelessly lost in the narrow streets of the city due to following google maps through the walls. Hotel is around the corner from the main thoroughfare sporting fashionable shops and interesting restaurants. It is alspo a short walk to the oval shaped wall enclosing the city that one may either bike or walk. It's set up like a lovely tree lined walk in the country with park benches and playground for children. Staff was very accomodating and helped us find tables to play cards in the evening. Below is pictured Paolo, "our hero" guide over the telephone and the breakfast room/restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Nothing was too much trouble for the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. They were very helpful. Beautiful breakfasts and the most wonderful restaurant with an outside area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    This is a charming hotel in a charming city. We would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room itself was small, but to be fair, we did book an economy double. I am guessing that there are larger rooms. It was not a big problem.

    A charming hotel in a great location. It is located on a small quiet street in the town center, close to everything. The bathroom was spacious & had everything we needed & more. We loved both the hotel & Lucca.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    Excelente room, very large with shower and bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No have elevator.

    Excelente room, very large with shower and bathroom. Very friendly personal. Location is very good close to historical center and main shopping street.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel- friendly staff- highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The tub/shower was hard to get in and out- my roommate did not get in because she did not feel safe standing in the tub without a handrail.

    The rooms were beautiful, tastefully decorated and individually painted with their own mural of the Tuscany countryside. The bathroom was updated and clean! We also ate at their restaurant and loved their meals. The chef even went over the menu with us- personal touch appreciated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    6.7
    Very nice people but hotel needs refreshing and modernising.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not great comfort for money. Pillows were very hard. Shower cubicle was too small to use comfortably. Quite a lot of wear and tear. Old fashioned televisions and radios.

    Gorgeous big bath tub. Fresh orange juice at breakfast. Very friendly welcome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    A delightful, quirky hotel in a perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Ready prepared fruit would have been nice for breakfast - a very minor detail. Other than that no other minus points!

    A good sized bedroom with views painted on the walls. The bed was very comfortable and the water in the shower was always hot. The breakfast was delicious especially the freshly squeezed orange juice. The dinner in the evening was excellent, and very good value. Charming staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.5
    Nice, large, comfortable rooms. Cool decor! Difficult to access by car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very, very difficult to get to by car.

    Very nice rooms - clean, large, nice jacuzzi tub. We had a triple and our son had a nice single bed separated from our king bed. Breakfast was great. We loved the juice press and the ability to boil our own eggs to our taste.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    Lovely boutique hotel :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice boutique hotel with very cute rooms, just a step away from where the all action happening... specially if you love Italian fashion and you would like to taste food from tuscany and their natural products. the staff are very friendly and super helpful. The rooms big and very comfortable , I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.6
    Great!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little more fresh fruit at breakfast would have been nice, but otherwise everything else was fine. Should you be tempted to eat at the Ristorante Pizzeria K2... choose somewhere else. Service was fine, but food was disappointing and ambience was dismal. I should have listened to the bunny on the bike at the entrata...

    - All staff super friendly and helpful - Easy and close parking - Very close to the main city area - Hot shower - Comfortable bed - Quiet at night Had dinner at the attached restaurant.Good service, but a limited menu, but food was fine,but a bit on the heavy side. Lucca is a lovely little city. I would stay here again certainly!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Bellissimo!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s impossible to find what you don’t like. You would love everything!

    Amazing place in an amazing city of Lucca. This is one of the beautiful places that before leaving a review you debate to yourself would you really others know about this germ 😊 Ideal Perfect Magnificent. The room huge, the bathroom huge! The location cannot be better. The owners are lovely kind welcoming HAPPY people. The hotel restaurant has michellen stars. The breakfast is the best we ever had! Definitely coming back in summer!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    6.3
    Disapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beware of this hotel and its ratings. Go threre only if you like this kind of "design" - old, worn and uncomfortable furniture, old-fashioned tableware, narrow stairs, almost no inner and outer sound and smell isolation. Breakfast is disappointing, there is not one single warm dish served, only eggs which you have to cook yourself! Plenty of packed (i.e not fresh) things. And the breakfast "room" is just some kind of small passage where all people checking out are rolling throuth with their suitcases.

    It was in the very center of the city

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.6
    Lucca is simply beautiful and our New Year break at Hotel Corte degli Angeli was just wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is a delight! The food was exceptional, the staff were charming and helpful and the location couldn't be beaten. My only tiny complaint would be that i'd asked for a double bed, and had received confirmation from the hotel that that's what we would have, but in the event we were given a twin room with the beds pushed together. That aside, everything else was wonderful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    A perfect short break in Lucca
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Lovely hotel,comfortable accommodation. Excellent breakfasts and dinner in the restaurant outstanding. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is centrally located for all of Lucca’s shops and attractions. We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay at this hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    10
    Utterly delightful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The fact that we had to leave... :(

    Liked everything!!! Our stay was utterly delightful; the hotel is very intimate and cosy, the rooms are decorated with beautiful murals (and have excellent temperature controls - bathrooms wonderfully warm and bedrooms warm up in an instant when required, what bliss; very few hotels, incl. luxury hotels, have this aspect handled so well) and every single person working at the hotel was a delight to interact with. Such warm, helpful, kind and friendly people, they could not do enough for us. The location is perfect, right in the wonderful old town of Lucca - which is a gem. Can't wait to go back .... :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.8
    Restful stay in old historic building and area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Streetside rooms noisy late at night and early morning...certainly did not need an alarm clock. That was disappointing since I had specified a quiet room at my booking. Lucca beautiful and unhurried.

    Breakfast amazing...loved that I could make my own juice from fresh vegetables each day. Rooms beautifully decorated. Staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    We loved it and are repeat customers. Dont miss the restaurant but you must book
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Driving in Lucca is a challenge!

    We love this hotel and have stayed several times. Great staff, lovely room with every comfort and fine location. Probably the best breakfast ever and the restaurant is fabulous, real Tuscan food beautifully presented.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Beautiful classic B&B in the heart of Lucca...Perfecto!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    what a find in Lucca! Location-Great!, Room-Great!, Restaurant for Breakfast- Fantastic!, Service-Great!, Value-Great!...We loved this B&B in the heart of Lucca...they were incredibly welcoming and friendly!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    If you're staying in Lucca, this is the place to be!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely amazing staff who went out of their way more than once to go the extra mile to make our stay so wonderful. Breakfast was excellent. In a great position. Overall fantastic.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.5
    Problem with truth in presenting what you are booking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beware - we were unaware of rooms that were accessible only by stairs - one of which we were given AND being told that there was no elevator when actually there was! but only for some rooms. That we were not told when booking that we would have to go to the 3rd floor to get to our room is a very poor business practice. We would never have booked there had we known about the stairs- VERY difficult for older folks. This should be noted on their listing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Lovely city often overlooked by travellers to this part of Italy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Lovely hotel accommodation and very centrally located. Very helpful staff. Quiet position in little used road. Within walking distance of all the major sites of this lovely city. Easy to walk everywhere. Beautiful old buildings particularly churches and museums. A walk around the old city walls is a must.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.3
    Lovely, atmospheric hotel in a lovely small city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was very hi-tech but a bit too complicated - the shower needed written instructions to be able to operate it!

    The hotel is lovely - interesting building and spacious room with separate seating area. Breakfast was excellent - good range of fresh fruit, yoghurt, cheeses, hams etc. Really enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.9
    Hotel in a good spot to explore Lucca.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and bathroom were a little more tired than I expected. We were in the back of the hotel and the kitchen extractor fan was very noisy until it was switched off at midnight.

    Staff were very helpful and breakfast variet good and plentiful. We didn't eat at the hotel but would have had we stayed for longer. There is a tiny cute courtyard which we enjoyed a glass of Chianti in.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.2
    Better than I expected for a very central location in a tourist spot. The hotel felt authentic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could have used an extra cover or blanket for the bed.

    They had an indoor place to keep my bicycle, the furnishings were pleasant and the atmosphere relaxed. The staff were helpful and friendly. The room was quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.8
    A unique experience in Luca
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had no real windows you could see out of and the AC struggled. On a hot night a problem but in September not a big issue after it cooled off outside.

    Great location inside the City walls in an historic building.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    8.8
    Good central location, fair value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Original booking was incorrect. I asked for September and was confirmed for June. Then they had only 2 of the 3 nights available. Then was charged more for the stay. Room was noisy first floor when I asked for quiet top floor.

    Bed was great, super location:

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    Excellent stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a little smell in the yard due to unusually hot weather. This is not the hotel's fault, it seemed to be a city sewer issue. It was not a big deal though and if you are too sensitive you could eat your breakfast inside.

    I liked everything. One of the best places we stayed in during our trip.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location with wonderful staff!
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that we did not like. But we were puzzled that in a Catholic country and Catholic city, the hotel does not know daily Mass locations and times. We were given incorrect information. Although these things happen, it seemed strange that these would not be know, checked, and verified for guests, as all other services and information regarding other things were.

    Friendliness and helpfulness of staff. Food was very good. The staff went out of their way to be helpful!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.6
    Peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a thing!

    The room was beautiful! It would be an excellent hotel for a honeymoon couple. Very romantic. Travelling alone is a lonely business but for the first time I enjoyed sitting in the restaurant having dinner.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist recommended a restaurant that was mediocre at. Eat, they cooked my ravioli in a microwave and the creme brûlée was scrambled eggs with burnt sugar on top. When I told her this she said "Oh, you didn't like it"! Completely ignoring the point. She probably gets free lunches!

    Location was good and most of the staff were excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    Amazing stay in the heart of Lucca
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were excellent, comfy bed, beautiful fresco in the room and beautiful bathroom with spa bath and shower. Sadly no view, or bacon at breakfast, though fresh squeezed orange juice and honey from the comb made up for it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    10
    The best little hotel in Lucca
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were spotless and very beautiful and comfortable. The bathrooms had a shower and a huge bath tub and nice bidets. The breakfast spread was amazing and included a fresh orange squeeze and vegetable juicer as well as lovely breads, cheeses, meats, yogurt, fruit, and eggs. The location was perfect in the eye popping city of Lucca.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    We will certainly stay there again when visiting Lucca
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast but apart from fresh oranges all the other fruit was tinned. Such a pity when in Italy in high summer where there is an abundance of fresh fruit

    Fabulous location right in the heart of the city walls. Delightful room with a very large bathroom. Beautiful little courtyard where breakfast and dinner is served.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    8.8
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and spacious rooms, nice bathroom with bathtub. Very central location close to shops, restaurants and sights. Great and different breakfast! You can make your own fresh orange juice, boil your own eggs and press your own fruit/vegetable juice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel in a fab location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast, whilst sufficient, lacked a little in style. Cereals were very limited and there were many packets of biscuits. The toaster took a little working out. In our room we had a Jacuzzi bath which my wife could not work. I managed to get it working on one of the evenings. I called reception to see whether the mini bar was included in the rom price. I was told there should have been a price list in the room. There was not.

    The hotel's location was superb. The mural painted in the room was a delight. I certainly would recommend to a friend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    10
    Unbelievable amazing people can't to go back there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We cannot fault this hotel

    The rooms are absolutely fantastic we have stayed many times and it gets better every time we just love this hotel what more can I say Breakfast excellent great variation of food and we always looked forward to the next one Beautiful !!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.5
    Great location, really convenient car parking, efficient air...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast firmly self service - squeeze your own juice, boil your own egg, guard your toast from other guests while you wait, fill and boil the kettle for your tea, and carry the cup, milk and teapot out to the terrace yourself. Not a great selection of fresh bread either. Don't get me wrong, it is a perfectly nice breakfast, but I expected more at the price. Staff more on the efficient side, than the friendly side. Perhaps this is a North/South Italian thing?!

    Great location, really convenient car parking, efficient air con in room. I loved the painted walls and ceilings.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    10
    For a hotel it felt very homely , especially the leisurely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a hotel it felt very homely , especially the leisurely breakfast in the quaint little courtyard, served right til 11am! All the staff were very friendly and extremely efficient . Loved our stay here!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic hotel in the middle of Lucca, off a side street, pleasantly quiet. The rooms are artfully decorated, spacious and very clean. The breakfast, absolutely wonderful, so much to choose from, the cappuccino, delicious. 5 stars for this amazing hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.6
    Great city, great accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great, don't know what the arrangements would be if you had a car. You would need to ask, however as the walled city is very small, I am sure it would be easily solved

    In the center of Lucca, great location, great restaurants and bars everywhere. Good breakfast, perfect place to stay

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.3
    Central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cute hotel right in the thick of things but not noisy at all. Hotel has murals up the wazoo... depicting the Italian countyside... thought it a little kitsch at first but learned to appreciate them by the time our stay concluded. Staff were really accommodating and helpful. Old town Lucca is beautiful. Be prepared to walk though. Getting to the hotel for the first time I strongly recommend getting a cab or airport transfer (60 Euro from Pisa when booked through hotel - June 17) as navigating the tiny cobbled and paved streets and alleyways would have been a nightmare on foot with suitcases in tow. A little on the pricey side but worth it given the location and that the property has a elevator.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.2
    Attractive and well located hotel within the Lucca town walls
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked a complimentary bottle of water in the room

    I liked the individual way each room was decorated and furnished. The bathrooms were equipped with good quality fittings. There was a quite a wide choice of items in the breakfast buffet. The wine tasting in the evening (extra charge) was informative with a good choice of excellent wines.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.6
    Central, friendly and the best staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    The staff were the highlight of the hotel: so very friendly and helpful. The hotel now has an excellent restaurant attached but you are also right in the centre of Lucca and surrounded by very good eating places and the main shopping areas. Short walk from the walls (do visit the Columbard restaurant there), railway station and bus terminals. Perfect.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    7.9
    Great Stay in Lucca.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room servicing was a bit patchy!

    Very pleasant Hotel in a quiet location, but still close to the city centre. Very helpful staff. Good-sized room. (Paulina). Excellent breakfast, especially the coffee.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.2
    A true little boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Getting there with the car is a challenge --> if you arrive by car, reach out to the hotel BEFORE you enter the center of Lucca to make sure you know how to get to the parking ground (50m next to the hotel, in a pedestrian zone but accessible once you know it :) )

    - a very lovely place - nicely decorated and high standard facilities - staff speaks well English and is friendly - nice breakfast and really good service

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    9.6
    Quiet and cozy sanctuary, yet middle of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Provide written instructions in the room for how to operate the jacuzzi tub, please.

    As others have noted in their reviews, the breakfast is amazing here - never seen anything like it and it was so cozy. I loved the fact that the room included slippers and robes. The jacuzzi tub was huge - would have been helpful to provide instructions on how to turn it on. I figured it out, though. Located in a quiet neighborhood yet still close to the middle of town. Lucca is a great place to get away from hordes of tourists.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.6
    A little treasure in the midst of a fabulous town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Such a great little hotel. All the rooms are named after flowers. We were in Paulina and it was very pretty. The restaurant was great and the chef also did a wine tasting session with us which was really interesting. The hotel is located within the walls of Lucca and was very close to everything worth seeing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    9.6
    Lucca Great Location & Friendly Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is perfect, very close to the best shopping in the area. Excellent restaurants nearby. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Driving to this location was fairly simple, that is if you are ok driving in very narrow Italian streets. Parking was very close and secured. I would stay here again for sure! Loved it!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.2
    Absolutely wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Corte degli angeli is about a 15 min walk from both the train or bus station of lucca, right in the beautiful center of town. Because it's in an alley, there is no rumours however, and you overlook some greenery. Staff was absolutely very friendly. Restaurant is delicious with a fine chef. Breakfast is also very diverse (you can even boil your own egg to desired temperature or squeeze your own fruit/vegetable juice!) Our room was on the third floor (elevator available) with two doors to lock which felt very secure. Beautiful frescoes on the wall - also in the rest of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    10
    Lovely stay in Lucca
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very charming hotel, small, built in the 1700s. Right down the street from great shopping and delightful restaurants. All the walls in the hotel have painted frescoes

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    8.8
    The staff in this family owned hotel could not have been...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The decor of our room was a little quirky and it had no view but the air con and bathroom were excellent and it had all the expected facilities. A complimentary bottle of water on arrival would have been nice.

    The staff in this family owned hotel could not have been more helpful. The breakfast catered for most tastes with one or two nice touches - real honeycomb for toast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    9.2
    The Hotel is very nice, in the centre of the old town-...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel is very nice, in the centre of the old town- perfect location. Our room was clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fresh and tasty.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    10
    Excellent boutique hotel in Lucca.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast buffet had a great variety and was excellent quality. When driving to the hotel you need enter the walled city from Santa Maria gate only. Make sure you call the hotel before you enter the walls so you can get directions.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    5.0
    Not what you think.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel appears far more charming in the enhanced photos than it does when you check in. Our room was small, it felt like people with dogs had stayed there, and the hallway had an off smell that lingered for the two days we were there. We cannot recommend it. Be warned.

    The staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    9.2
    a welcoming hotel in lovely lucca
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i found nothing to complain about and will willingly return

    the hospitality of the staff especially at the reception desk They went out of their way to give us help us even allowing us to repark our car in the reserved area two days later The fact that the rooms are named after names of flowers is an excellent idea we stayed in Pervinca room very comfortable

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    9.2
    A cute hotel within the city walls
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hallway outside the lift and into my room. Although it's understandable because it's in an ancient building.

    The breakfast was first class, with local products and genuinly top class foods. The bathroom was large with space for my own beauty and everything was new and working correctly! The bedroom was beautifully affrescoed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    10
    Delightful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could have been better, but if you don't like a bit of noise outside your windows this is not the hotel for you. Worth a couple of lovers kissing good night to be in the centre- otherwise stay in some anonymous place with sealed windows on the outskirts.

    A lovely little hotel in the historic centre of Lucca, near Piazza Antifeatro and the Renaissance town wall. The bedrooms are delightful: the walls are painted with frescoes of the Luccese countryside. Friendly proprietors and a great breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    9.2
    Will stay next time we visit Lucca. Worth the extra cost of staying here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was beautifully decorated with a great bathroom & separate shower. Breakfast laid out on large table included beehive honey, homemade pastries, apple pie, eggs etc

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    10
    Perfect base for exploring Lucca.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, friendly and welcoming, and one of the best breakfasts anywhere - every detail thought through. Very good dinners - traditional Tuscan with a twist. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    7.5
    Lovely hotel in lovely Lucca
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There seems to be a problem with their drains: we noticed and odour in the stairwell and from our sink plughole

    Charming staff, great location and comfortable room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    7.9
    Quaint little hotel in Lucca
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bad shape and pokey, not at all like the photos on the web There was no view from the room

    Staff were all friendly and helpful Very good breakfast Plenty of good quality toiletries supplied Comfortable bed, good bedding and linen

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    10
    Atmospheric boutique hotel in central Lucca with parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Street light outside the window of our room. No block out shade.

    Best buffet breakfast we have seen. Fresh oranges to make your own juice. natural honey comb, etc. Fabulous!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    8.8
    Charming small hotel within the Lucca walls
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is expensive and, for the price, is starting to show some signs of wear. There were a number of wall scrapes in our room, for example, that could have been easily maintained.

    Our third time at this charming boutique hotel located within the Lucca walls. The setting is gracious, the decor thoughtful and the staff, especially Daniella, very helpful. Breakfasts, in particular, are quite unique, sumptuous and remarkable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    10
    As charming as we remembered.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A little more storage space (shelves or drawers). Found shower inconvenient - difficult not to flood bathroom while getting right temperature.

    All round first class hotel. On arrival help with parking and taken to our room. Large bed in spacious well equipped room. Nice decoration. Good bathroom with jacuzzi. Wide range of foods at breakfast including honey on the comb.On a quiet street but within short distance of centre. Easy to reach with car once route established. Use Porta Santa Maria and not any other gate suggested by sat nav.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    10
    Fantastic hotel would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only very very tiny issue was they perhaps didnt clean the floor as much as they could. But it wouldnt stop me going and i always wear flip flops in hotel rooms anyway :)

    Nice and close to everything. On a quieter street. Staff very helpful. Breakfast amazing. Excellent room. Would recommend this place :)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    10
    Comfortable and cool
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reckon you have it all worked out

    General ambiance of the hotel plus every person we dealt with was always charming and so helpful. Breakfast was always excellent. The air-conditioning was a pleasure to have and helped for a great nights sleep.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    8.8
    Beautiful hidden gem in the middle of Lucca
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has expanded since our previous visit and so now offers more rooms and although the room we stayed in was superbly equipped, all new with shower and jacuzzi bath the hotel itself seemed to have lost a little of its charm and friendliness which is a bit of a shame. Also, it was quite noisy - both from the street below and the room next to us.

    The location is great, within the old town walls of Lucca so perfect for wandering on foot. The hotel's own car park is close by and only 15 euros per day. The decor is lovely, painted murals in each room and trompe l'oeul makes it special. Lovely smelling complimentary toiletries. The breakfast is delicious, excellent coffee and a great spread.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    10
    Highly recommended to travelers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything. Nothing to complain about here. Great, helpful staff (we don't speak Italian, so it was greatly appreciated). Location is great, right in the center of it all. Being able to park as well is welcome.

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: