Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Alla Fava 2 stars

Campo de la Fava, 5525 Castello, Castello, 30123 Venice, Italy

#158 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1686 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was tiny, with a single small window, which opened to a tiny patio with renovation in progress and lots of construction dust. Moreover, half of window was blocked by concrete wall. No light, no fresh air, no views. Bathroom was also tiny (probably added relatively recently to already small room). Could not get coffee in the lobby because of machine malfunction.

    The hotel is located in the heart of Venice, close to main attractions - Piazza San Marco and Rialto bridge. 3 minutes walk will take you to boat stations on Grand Canal. Entrance is at a small square with a church, bridge and canal, which was lovely. 24 hour reception helped us with directions, and also had a fridge with drinks at reasonable price. You might like traditional textile wallpapers. Bed was OK. Overall, good value for money (mostly for location).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I had not expected the room to be so small and narrow with the beds end to end rather than side by side. It is a property that has not had money spent on it and is not value for money in my opinion.

    The location is fine but Venice is so small that many places are close to the action. The staff at reception were very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I hated having to share a toilet and shower even though we paid £396 for 4 nights which in my opinion was way too expensive to not have a bathroom of your own. The cleaning staff were rude and made you feel as though you were doing something wrong when you had to leave your room in the morning, in your pyjamas to use the toilet or shower. The shower changed from boiling hot to freezing cold in about 2 seconds and left me jumping in and out of the shower every 5 minutes.

    The property was in a good location, the staff were very friendly and the beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Power of the shower (but I've been in worse!)

    Location was fabulous: 2 minutes from the Rialto Bridge and 6 minutes from St Mark's Square. Room 107 was spacious with a canal view (just a backwater though) Staff very accommodating Very good value for money we thought.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was actually 2 beds pushed together, the shower would trickle hot water when another room flushed the toilet.

    Excellent location! Quiet area, but good walk to all the sights.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower alters between very hot and very cold. Avoid the neighbourhood restaurant Antonio Trattoario, it is a complete tourist trap with lousy food and extreme prices.

    A charming old hotel very close to the Rialto bridge, but still rather secluded and quiet. The staff is very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very few facilities available, more a hostel than a hotel. Small bedroom and bathroom area. Poor sound insulation between rooms. A comfy chair would have been nice, but alas no room for one.

    Very centrally located, easy access from Rialto Vaporetto stop. Our room looked onto an internal courtyard so no night noise from outside. Clean and tidy, good quality beds, bedding and towels.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked some laundry facility, there wasn’t any way to wash clothes and the hotel really didn’t offer much assistance.

    We had a lovely room with a view of the canals. It was great. Once we were more used to the layout of Venice we realised the location was fabulous, very easy to get to the vaporetta and Rialto,. We were very happy with our stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the room was not reflected at all in the pictures, it was a lot smaller than expected. The bathroom left a lot to be desired - if you gave a shower at the same time as anyone else in the building the water goes to a dribble and you can’t control the temperature. Also our shower door was broken...

    The staff are friendly and helpful, our room was very clean and the bed very comfy. The location is excellent however if you’ve not been to Venice before please bear in mind it is quite small so very easy to get around if you are fairly fit and able bodied. We walked to the south of the island within about 30/40 minutes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed 2 nights. The first night, we had a room with no A/C and with a group of very loud people outside our door at 1am. We could also hear everything through the walls. I listened to someone snoring in another room most of the night and then heard someone having sex closer to the morning. The second night was much better in a room with A/C and was a lot quieter.

    It was close to the grand canal

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we first walked into the room there was a really strong smell of mould. Fortunately, the big widows helped and we aired the room. Then, there was always a bad smell from the drains in the bathroom. The blanket under the cover could have been cleaner(found some hairs) or replaced with duvet because there s no way it gets washed regularly. The rest of the room was clean. New bathroom. The mattress was not comfortable. In the morning you can hear everything, doors opening and closing. Oh well, Venice is fantastic it didn't ruin our trip.

    Excellent location, very friendly staff and helpful. Very good price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is old, but as i already mentioned, it makes you feel the mood of old Venice and it is not a big disadvantage. Although some things in the hotel can be updated. Sometimes it was a bit cold in the room(we stayed in March). Anyway I will return here with great pleasure!

    First main point- location! The hotel is situated in the centre of Venice near famous Rialto bridge, 3 min from vaporetto(water bus) station Rialto! So it is close to all landmarks! Second-the rooms have own bathrooms, cause I couldnt find many options with own bathroom for reasonable price! So the third point- good price for Venice! The halls with red carpets, old furniture make you to feel the mood of old Venice! it is really cool and romantic!The service is ok, the cleaning is good. Really nice place to stay !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel looked a little tired, our beds had a wooden bases and we're very squeaky (shared with my friend and every time one of us moved it would wake the other) we were unable to open the window due to building work. but saying all that would recommend it because of location and the staff.

    Staff really friendly and helpful the hotel is in an excellent location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great beds , clean , friendly staff high ceilings old world charm . This hotel is not high end but is it is priced very reasonably . We saved our $ for the great food and shopping.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's no parking. We thought perhaps it would be on the edge of Venice where we could drive but no. They just told us to use one of the parking spaces and catch the ferry like every one else. It was impossible to find. The maps address isn't correct. We called to ask for directions and they were super unhelpful. We finally found it after wandering around in the cold for like an hour. When we finally got there the staff were dismissive and vaguely rude. There's no elevator!! After dragging our stuff around we had to carry it up two flights of stairs to get to our room. The cold! It was freezing all night. There was ducted air conditioning but it didn't seem like they turned it on. It snowed overnight so we ended up wearing jumpers and jackets to bed to stay warm. It smelled bad. Other reviews have said the same and I have to agree, the while place smells like an open sewer or something. Tiny bathroom. If I was any taller i wouldn't be able to sit on the toilet because my knees would hit the wall. There was no view of the canal as advertised. Just the wall of another building.

    Well, it was in Venice. That's just about all the good things I can say for this property. The room decor was cute.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really would do with a kettle in the room.

    Fantastic location - very close to Rialto bridge, vaporetto and alilaguna stops. St. Mark's square easily reachable. Quite comfortable room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small room, but we was out most of the time so not so much of an issue. I cant imagine many rooms being very big in Venice though TBH

    Room was very nice, great location, friendly helpful staff. Sports bar reasonably priced 100 yards from hotel. Great price

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is great but before finding it I walked a bit around, as it's not on the main road (which is good, so it's quiet at night) but for that reason you have to look for it..

    The hotel is very nice and the location is excellent, just a couple minutes from Rialto. Since it's Winter the rate was very good too (double room for 40 euro/night)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room temperature is controlled from the reception as it is an old heating system but to tell the truth we never needed any adjustments in this regards. Moreover, if there is the need to vary the temperature setting, you can always call the reception and they will happily adjust it for you.

    With a 24 hr reception makes it very easy to arrive at any time you like, especially if you have a flight landing in the evenings. The staff is very nice and couldn't ask for a better location. Room temperature was very comfortable and you will find the room already warm when you come from outside.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress and pillows were a bit hard to sleep on, but this is more of a personal opinion. Breafkast for 12€ maybe a bit high for guests, but as all of it in Venize.

    Very friendly and helpful staff!!! I was expecting to be a little bit rusty and in fact, it was cleaner than I expected for the price and location and the fact of being only 2 stars hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first time it was kind of difficult to find but it is really close to a ferry station, also walking distance to piazza San Marcos. Big room with big bathroom unlike other places in Europe. It was clean and they let us in as soon as the room was ready.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice place near the Rialto Bridge (San Polo district) but not so close to the central bus station. You can get there by vaporetto or on foot (it takes about 20 minutes, do not try it without GPS  ). Our room was very quiet but a little bit smaller than we expected. Moderately clean and cozy(like in a music box ;) ) but the main problem was the window which almost entire covered. All the time we did not know is it already in the morning or maybe still night. Cafes/eating places/groceries stores are just around the corner (you should try breakfast in Farini!) Same as the San Marco square which is about 5 min walk from the hotel. In our opinion if You came to see Venice and You do not plan to spend a lot of time at the hotel than Alla Fava will be a good choice !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing wrong to say about the hotel. While travelling we do not expect any superb conditions. Comfy bed, location and clean bathroom is enough to spent great time at the destination city. It met our expectation especially in terms of location which is 5 minutes walk from San Marco and Rialto. I would strongly recommend to everyone.

    - excellent location - very nice staff - positively surprised with size of the room - comfy bed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kettle was dirty.

    Location, comfort of the room and the atmosphere was great. The canal view was also great. Staff were friendly. A very vintage/antique style hotel, which was eye capturing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Perfect location between Rialto Bridge and St Mark’s square. Only 15 rooms in the hotel so it feels cute and homely. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee or kettle.

    It would be nice to have a kettle in the room to be able to make tea or coffee. Otherwise a pleasant stay, with very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms were small, so found it a bit inconvenient as we were teavelling with a small kid.

    The location of the hotel is good, it’s near to Realto waterbus stop and close to the landmarks. There are good restaurants around the hotel. We did not try the hotel breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are very thin, you can hear all conversations from next door.

    Very good location, 2min walk to rialto bridge and 5min to san Marco square. Cleaning services every day. Comfy bed. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom tiny and hot, air con really old noisy units. Facilities extremely basic. There was no iron available in the whole hotel which is not ideal when you are on a business trip and need a shirt that's not creased

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a musty room and the walls were so thin that it was possible to listen the guests on the following room.

    The staff is helpfull. It is very centric.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location, just walking distance from the main attractions in Venice. The staff was friendly and helpful.The room was clean. Excellent price with breakfast included.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing stay as good as you are

    Good comfort beds good location and in a very quiet square but very near all the important places to visit and Staff exceptionally helpful Also I really appreciated the information sent to me prior to my trip location and mode of transport and access to the address etc I have never had that from any of the many hotels I have used thru Booking .com before

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only grievance is if there were more pillows when I slept, but that's a personal preference and not quite relevant.

    The friendly staff, the well heated room, clean facilities and a great location - close enough to the tourist spots but far enough away to enjoy a good nights sleep and escape

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the location is close to realto bridge and st marks square. their is no parking period in venice. it is a city on water. you park your car at a garage at the beginning of the city and take a water taxi to the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I misunderstood the description so we ended up with a shared bathroom. That was a little weird, but I will say that it was always clean and I never had to wait to use it. Having said that, the shower was very small. There is no elevator and you must go up a flight of stairs in order to get to the rooms.

    I loved the location. The breakfast was very good and the staff was friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had two single beds pushed together which is definetly not the same as a double bed. We kept falling in the gap between beds. Also the shower was very tiny.

    The property was in a perfect location and the hotel staff were lovely. We were also able to check in early which was nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was hard to find. Google maps did not work while walking in streets and no taxis so it would have been useful to have been sent a map of the area when confirmed booking but that would be the same for any hotel in area. The tiniest shower I have ever been in and all old fittings and furniture, but that is same in lots of places in area. The air con was not adjustable in room and so either on or off. It was way too cold for us to keep on.

    The lady on the front desk was amazing. We were really nervous about airport water taxi the next day and she helped to reassure us and remove our fears.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walls were paper thin, could hear everything going on next door & in the corridor, only three pillows provided .

    Staff were very friendly, good location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite hidden away so difficult to find the hotel and you need to leave the key and pick it up each time you come into the hotel so you have no freedom or privacy if you want to have visitors. Great for couples and families, not for singletons.

    Great location to explore Venice from, nice and central to all the main tourist spots with lots of great bars and restaurants very close by.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast cost was high for what was on offer. So much so that we chose not to take it and had breakfast outside of the hotel each day.

    The staff were fantastic and very very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charged me 250 euros immediately after booking the hotel. On booking.com, it was clearly stated that I would give the money directly to the hotel when I arrive there. Because of them charging me early, I had no money for 2 whole weeks.

    The location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the walls are really thin hence you can literally hear everyone from outside the door and next door talking clearly. So if you would like a quiet room or place to stay, then this is not for you. It could be really noisy and annoying. The room only has 1 floor so no lift.

    good price the staffs are nice and nice bed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was dirty in the streets and a lot of people trying to sell you things all the time.

    It was a different experience, having no cars, walking lots and canals everywhere.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location on a small side street two minutes from Rialto bridge. Friendly helpful staff and good sized clean room. We booked with canal view which was lovely watching gondolas and delivery boats going up and down canal. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom facilities at the property weren't great - we knew when booking it didn't have a private bathroom but there is no lock on the door so anyone can really come in when you are showering - not ideal.

    Great location. typical accommodation for venice and we were only there for one night so was fine for what we were after. No frills and as described.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel did not look very nice from the outside when we arrived but as soon as went in it was much better. Realistic photos on their website unlike some places I've stayed! It was noisy at night on the 1st floor with the water taxis going past the window - some playing music after midnight.

    Big room, very helpful and friendly staff. Excellent central location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facade of the hotel itself is quite disappointing though it's only rated 2 star,the room is big enough but the bathroom is extremely small,can hardly move in it.When you get in to the room there is this worrying smell must be the old carpet smell but thr room looks clean.They need to upgrade the room..

    i like it that it is close to everything especially the attractions to see & experience.The front desk staff is helpful.the breakfast is excellent and the person that prepares it is very friendly.I recommend their breakfast as everything is freshly made.even bread & pastries seems freshly baked..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel does not have an elevator and we had to struggle with out luggage to get to our room because there was no staff that could help with the luggage. The room was ok and clean but really a bit overprized for the included services.

    The hotel is easy to reach and the hotel staff provided good instructions about how to reach the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not very helpful staff, some damages in the room, not clean at all, hot shower run ofter telling the staff, noisy air condition (possible to switch only after telling the staff), far awy from parking lot

    near the main attractions, atmosphere

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air con wasn't all that powerful so the room got a little bit stuffy. Bathroom was quite cramped and the shower regularly switched between scalding hot and freezing cold.

    Absolutely perfect location. Just far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the crowds, but only about a 2 minute walk to Rialto bridge. Interior of hotel looks great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very small, wifi signal comes and goes, water pressure in the shower is very low and sometimes water just stops running at all for a few minutes, airconditioning is operated centrally and is either turned off at night or very noisy when on.

    Very good location near Rialto and a 10 minute walk to the San Marco Square, perfect for exploring the city, quite at night and just 1 minute walk from a vively shopping street, helpful and friendly staff, decent breakfast, small detail but very useful is the anti-mosquito-plug provided in the room. There are some minor downsides to the hotel, but for this price at this location I would certainly recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was greeted. with a team of a very unpleasing staff and it basically ruined my experience at Alla Fava. 1. Location The location is horrible. Finding it is near to impossible. I kept reminding myself to go into the small pathway next to the Disney store. 2. Staff (1) I arrived at the hotel early and had my luggage taken care of before checking in. I had to use the bathroom because of an unexpected period and asked the receptionist if I could use it. She said all of them where in the rooms so I couldn't use them. Then after a few hours, I checked in and went up to the first floor. The first door I see is written WC. Thinking of the panic I went through... !!! 3. Staff (3) The second receptionist I met was on the phone. He didn't hang up and went on talking. I don't know about the service manners in Italy, but from where I come from, this is extremely rude and unimaginable behavior from a hotel employee. He gave us the keys and the check in happened really fast. Later I realized that the man had not even properly expalined that we have to leave the key in the lobby when going out. Maybe next time he should focus on his customer rather than his phone call (or at least ask for an excuse) and expalin things properly. The hotel itself was soso - I wasn't expecting much because I know hotels in Venice aren't that great compared to what people pay in general. So of course, the bed sheets weren't crispy and rather humid as I had expected and the shower was horrible. I could deal with that. But the three receptionists I met were all so unfriendly that I would never want to visit this hotel again.

    The hotel's hallway was pretty and it was near the center of the city.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Badly maintained facility, dirty + broken shower stall, blood stained bed sheets - terrible place !No breakfast.

    This is place is centrally located - that's only +ve thing about this place.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is situated close to the St.Marco Square. City map was provided at the reception:) Helpful personal, possibility to leave suitcase at the reception after check out (if you need).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's somehow hard to reach the hotel, most probably it's a problem in Venice at all or the location not 100% accurate on booking.com, i prefer to provide a bathroom with a way to remove water from the ground. WIFI was bad so and the signal inside the hotel was weak so we need to put one of our phones on the window & used it as hotspot to use other devices.

    staff was great, room is clean & cleaned every day, security box available & easy to use

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Our room was so small (Around 6 sqr meters). - Tap water stream (for bathroom) was not stable, it was not a huge problem, even we didn't tell to staff.

    Staff were awesome, kind and helpful & location is fine too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower is a nightmare. The cold water comes and goes, and it is only dripping. The room/bathroom are small.

    Very good location, between Pza San Marco and Ponte Rialto, close to everything. They have air conditioning !! They also offer a (small) discount for the parking outside the island. The personnel is nice and helpful. There are beer and soft beverages available at the reception for a small price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room smelled like mould. The A/C is controlled centrally and was thus on all night, which was loud.

    Nice room, though very small, but for 2 persons for a few nights perfect. It has A/C. Small Italian breakfast, which was tasty. Location perfect.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shower water pressure varied.

    Located near the Rialto Bridge and vaporetto station on a quiet campo and a canal, this charming hotel is in a perfect location to walk nearly everywhere you most wish to visit. The rooms are clean, quiet and well-appointed, with firm comfortable beds and good ac, important in August. The breakfast is quite varied and good. But it is the staff who really make this hotel outstanding. The hotel staff is multilingual, efficient, thoughtful, and very helpful. They sent us a detailed map and instructions on how to find the hotel. They guided us throughout our stay, solved several problems for us. They gave us good recommendations and sometimes stepped through the door to point the best direction to go when we went out. They even brought my husband a lovely surprise on his 65th birthday – it really did make his day. We'd love to come back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No water to have a shower, it didn't matter what time of day or night there was no water pressure. You could not even fill up a water bottle in the sink with out it taking over 2 minutes. Room was very small. We booked a double bed but just got 2 singles pushed together. The window in the bathroom and main room were over look by the building next door. So had to keep the shutters closed. Very different to the photos!

    Location. And that is where it ends :(

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water in the shower did not work properly at certain times. The room was a bit pricey, although the city itself isn't particularly cheap.

    Breakfast was outstanding.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place was the best during my trip to Europe,well located,comfortable, extremely clean (and i'm really crazy over it) and the staff was really helpful and friendly, in special a recepcionist named Alessio, he told us where to go for dinner.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was difficult to have a shower without the water temperature and pressure fluctuating drastically in the morning. It's best to shower in the evening when fewer people are having showers!

    Nice hotel with helpful staff, and a decent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our quadruple room was huge! Great views of the canals from our room and amazing location, very close to the Piazza Centrale and all the important sites.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We threw the carpet in the room out in the corridor on arrival after we discovered it was infested with ants. There were more in the bathroom.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little to no air conditioning. The air was limited when we arrived and then in the middle of the night it was turned completely off while we were sleeping. It made the night very uncomfortable for which we were not able to sleep. We opened the windows but then we had to deal with mosquitoes/bugs and the noise of the water taxis. We couldn't wait to leave.

    Location was good. Accessible to everything.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As much as we loved the room and the staff, and would love to come again... some issues forced us to classify this hotel as a "will not come back" 1/Hardly any water ! For 3 days we had to shower with mere drops coming out of an empty piping system. 2-3 min after starting the flow even stopped completely, requiring to shut down for a minute then a few drops came out again. Each shower needed over 15 min... Issue reported on day 2 but did not get fixed. On top of this the tap of the bathroom sink was completely clogged with chalk which made the tap sprinkle the little water available all around the sink, but not in it (your pants get wet) 2/ Wifi repeater near our room was completely down from day one. In short : no wifi at all. we suggested to just reboot it but I don't think it was done. Wifi was only working near the reception. 3/ no room cleaning after 1am so we found our room undone at night because we left after lunch. It would be worth telling guests ahead of time to avoid this 4/ TV signal was not good and half of the channels come out blur or scrambled 4/ Something one needs to know : most room look over a very narrow street (less than 2m) which is one of the marked paths to San Marco. So people pass by all day and night, many of which are pretty loud and the narrow street amplifies the noise in a scary manner: no way to open windows at all unless you wear concrete ear plugs 5/ Toiletries down to a minimum. Not even a plastic cup.

    Large spacious, well lit, and clean room with high ceiling. Good matress and bed. Fair breakfast despite lack of fruits and ham. Kind staff (which unfortunately did not solve any of our issues: see above)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pressure / temperature of shower is very changeable, probably when some other people are using water. When the pressure is low, the water was so hot that it was impossible to use. You need to call the reception to start / stop air conditioner, and the air conditioner is quite noisy during sleep - though we did not have any problem contacting reception, even late in the night.

    The location is amazing, right in the middle of all touristic places and about 5 minute walk from the nearest boat stops to/from the rail station and the airport. The breakfast had a lot of choice. The rate of room was one of the lowest in Venice, among reasonably well-reviewed similar hotels. Room was small but clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the cold water at the bath was not always availabel.during the shower you had to wait that the cold water was coming again.

    location very good .only one minute to rialto bridge and ten minutes to st.marco.staff was very friendly.breakfast was nice .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a terrible cigarette smell in the room. Shared bathroom meant bathroom shared with the entire floor. One of the beds broke and my husband had to move his mattress to the floor and sleep on the floor. When taking a shower, the water would not remain at a normal temperature -- it became scalding hot.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having waitress cleaning her ears with her fingers during serving of breakfast wasn't inspiring. Room expensive for what you got, it was a very small room.

    Convenience of location. Helpfulness of receptionist.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We booked a room for 4 nights with city view. We had a room with no view at all: there was a wall instead of a window. Room was very small, no internet (because of thick walls..). We were told there was no other room available. The second day we got a much better room... but the shower didn't work, no pressure on the water, so sometimes no water at all... Room on the first night was not ok and we still were charged for a normal room with view...

    People at hotel were very friendly, location of the hotel is good, breakfast is good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom Plumbing was Italian(!) Shower was challenging - low flow & twisted shower head holder.

    Nice simple hotel 5 mins from Rialto Bridge. Easy walk to St Marks & pretty much anywhere in Venice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was awful. It was very difficult to have warm water, most of the time it was burning hot. The hotel was noisy in the early morning so it was difficult to sleep. There was not a single fruit at breakfast which was too bad. The cleanliness was not perfect, there were some hairs in the bathroom when we arrived.

    The location was just perfect and the staff friendly. The decorations in the room were nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    shower was small, but I'm quite tall so this is the case in most hotels in Italy; found the breakfast room to be a little small for the number of guests in the hotel

    good breakfast; great location, 30 minute-walk from Santa Lucia station, close enough to Piazza San Marco and still close to some less touristy areas of Venice; staff was helpful and very polite

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Alla Fava traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: