Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Alla Posta Dei Donini & Spa 4 stars

Via Deruta 43, 06132 San Martino in Campo, Italy

#1 of 3 hotels in San Martino in Campo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 260 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant altogether
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant service too slow. Breakfast could be better and outdoor service could be in a more pleasant place than a patio enclosed by uninspiring sides.

    The quality of massage in the spa ranks with the best anywhere if not better.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful hotel but not a dream location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - We thought we had booked a hotel in the middle of the country side but we ended up in the middle of a small not glamorous town. It was quite a disappointment. - The restaurant is expensive and really not that tasty (especially after one month travelling around Italy) - They organize weddings and on both nights we were there there were weddings. The second one was rather quiet but the first one made the whole place very loud until 1 in the morning.

    - The beds are large and very comfortable - The bathroom is very nice and chic - The breakfast is really delicious - The hotel in itself is very beautiful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.8
    Romantic hotel with history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The neighborhood is not consistent with the hotel.

    Nice hotel with history and beautiful park. Large, romantic rooms with tall ceilings which gives you an aristocratic feel. Excellent wedding venue! On of the best beds I ever slept in!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.3
    a nice place to stay centrally located allowing us to visit Umbria's main towns and wine cellars
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The aircon doesn't have the possibility to be regulated, only on or off by opening the windows which is rather uncomfortable and leaded to get bitten by mosquitoes Other guests had dogs and let them bark from early morning...

    We were treated to an excellent breakfast, served in a nice pool garden! The breakfast and pool area are connected and inserted in a beautiful property garden with tall trees and abundant shades, having our breakfast there was a wonderful way of starting our days.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    This hotel is just great: great staff, wonderful location,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    This hotel is just great: great staff, wonderful location, quiet, tastefully decorated and comfortable rooms, great breakfast buffet, lunch snacks possible around the pool. We are definitely going back!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.5
    Good rooms but if you want a spa very expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What don't tell you on booking is that the spa costs 25 euros extra per person for only a few hours. Not included with the room. Breakfast is simple. Prices of drinks and food relatively high.

    Room was big, comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.6
    Relaxen in een prachtige omgeving
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You immediately feel comfortable when arriving.Very beautiful setting in an amazing park.The rooms are like in a palazzo, ancient style, very nice. Breakfast buffet was very good , possible to eat at the terrace with view on the pool and garden

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.1
    Nice outdoor pool area and gardens
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room 103 Fridge did not work , air-conditioning very poor practically non existent . Black sun loungers got very hot to sit on. No lunch is served at hotel and nowhere in hotel to buy drinks during day a big problem when hot outside, you have to go to reception to ask to buy water . I have never stayed at a hotel that does not serve food and drinks during day .

    Nice outdoor pool area and gardens Large room . Self serve breakfast good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    Excellent breakfast, very nice grounds, personnel was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking spots sometimes were all taken, but hotel staff always helped by offering to park a car.

    Excellent breakfast, very nice grounds, personnel was very helpful both on reception desk and in the dining room. Location is close to the local highway so it is convenient to utilize the hotel as a base to explore Umbria. Grounds are beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.6
    The staff was exceptionally helpful and delightful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff was exceptionally helpful and delightful! It would be a pleasure to stay at this property on another trip. Beautiful grounds that made you feel so tranquil and peaceful. Loved it!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.8
    Relaxing haven with onsite spa and restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival, we were informed that the pool in the spa was closed for maintenance - as the spa had been one reason for booking this hotel, we were slightly disappointed.

    Very relaxing stop on our journey from Rome to Rimini - old style hotel Free soft drinks in mini bar Lovely restaurant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Must do this again / Da rifare
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing that I disliked. Everything was perfect, charming and idyllic.

    I loved the breakfast, but everything else was also equally fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing bolt hole in beautiful Umbria
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bathroom was a little old fashioned and quite dark. Fantastic second swimming pool on site that is not available for guests - occasional use for wedding parties I think. Great shame as it would add an extra dimension to the hotel.

    Stylish and relaxed. We loved the restaurant, lunch under the trees, the cute little spa and the understated but comfortable bedrooms. Staff were amazing and overall great value for money. Nothing was too much trouble and we liked it so much we extended our stay. Could be a little noisy and cramped round the pool if lots of children but it was quiet when we were there. Pick your time I would say.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    10
    Quiet and fine atmosphere!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The peace, the freedom, the cosiness, the staff, the atmosphere, the beautiful garden, the breakfast, the room, the swimmingpool ... we have had a great holiday! Thank you all so much!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    beautiful relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing negative to say. information on booking that you pick up the key elsewhere is not correct.

    Very nice rooms, great airco and comfort. Authentic accommodation in an old park. Everybody on staff very friendly, accommodating and helpful, you do not find this easily anymore. I had a request while booking - and they just took care of it and gave my family an upgrade for their room! beautiful bathrooms and super clean. plenty of spaces to sit and relax in quiet spaces. Restaurant was very nice. new wellness center.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful garden and pool area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lunch menu was a bit dull and could have offered more Italian specialties. Would have been nice to have fresh orange juice and vegetables at breakfast buffet.

    Wonderful garden and pool area. Big, light and comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.6
    A very pleasing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant wasn't up to the standard of the hotel and was overpriced.

    The property and the gardens are beautiful. St Martini is close enough to Perugia, Assisi, Gubbio, Spoleto, etc to make it an ideal location for visits to these cities in Umbria.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    9.6
    A gem of a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like about it. The only comment we would make is it could do with better signage. It's not clear it is a hotel.

    The most beautiful gardens and swimming pool A real gem of a hotel would definitely go back,

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    This is a beautiful hotel with lush,perfectly manicured...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a beautiful hotel with lush,perfectly manicured grounds. There is ample parking for guests.The staff was friendly and helpful. We couldn't have been more pleased with our stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.8
    The ambience, the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The village (no place for walking tours), no turn down service

    The ambience, the staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay in a relaxing and elegant atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The place is palatial with a nice park. Elegant rooms and décor. Excellent food and service at reasonable price.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.2
    Food was extraordinary.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Garden needs maintenance

    Food was extraordinary. Rooms beautiful like whole settong is.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    Amazing place, well maintained.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, the place is really worth to visit

    Amazing place, well maintained. Restaurant is really good with a great selection of wines

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    The stunning hotel building, the gorgeous room, the awesome...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stunning hotel building, the gorgeous room, the awesome spa, the beautiful grounds, the peacefulness

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    A lovely relaxing and tasteful hotel with attentive staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much internal communal sitting space

    Fantastic staff and ambiance. Delicious food. Attractive and characterful building

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.6
    A real retreat and quality accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked tea and coffee making facilities in room.

    Staff were VERY helpful at all times.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    9.6
    Class hotel situated close to Perugia with wonderful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Class hotel situated close to Perugia with wonderful parc/garden. This time around we also had dinner at the hotel's restaurant and were pleasantly surprised by the excellent quality

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    9.6
    Fantastic stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was not comfortable. May seem like a like moan but the stay would have been 10/10 otherwise.

    Fantastic stay. Great location, if you have a car. We used the hotel as a base to get away to many different places. Staff were superb and could no do enough to help, they helped us to organised several trips.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    8.3
    Excellent breakfast, great place, comfortable living rooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were rude and unpolite. We asked to look up at the dinner account and they tried not to show us. Unnecessary.

    Excellent breakfast, great place, comfortable living rooms and gardens.

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2015

    8.3
    Beautiful hotel, great food at the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We asked in advance for a secure location to store our expensive bikes. We were told this is no problem, a very secure storage is available. But this wasn't secure at all. This storage was located after unlocked/opened gates. These gates were opened all day and we were able to take our bikes in 2 minutes, and noticed no supervision! We eventually stored our bikes in the hotelroom.

    Beautiful hotel, great food at the restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    8.8
    Spacious room, bath fixtures were real good quality...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only issue I had with this hotel was the musty smell in the hallway to our room. It's not that bad but it could be improved. The facilities and location were close to Perugia and 30-minutes from Assisi. So our 2-night stay at Alla Posta was restful. Breakfast was good, but was charged extra for my 2 cappuccinos each day. Bathroom was a bit small compared to the spacious room that we had.

    Spacious room, bath fixtures were real good quality stainless. Staff were accomodating (we checked in very late) very quiet area away from Perugia and Assissi. Gardens were lovely!

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    3.3
    Breakfast was lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Booked the property based on the photos, which looked very beautiful. In reality, our room wasn't in the main building, which wasn't mentioned anywhere. The large windows in the corridors are dirty. The elevator smells of pee. The rooms are old, spots on the furniture and dirt on the walls. The smell is unbearable. The bed and pillows are uncomfortable. Not enough light in the room. Tiny bathroom, the door smashes into the bidet.

    Breakfast was lovely

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    8.8
    Staff, quiet garden, classy location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Just a bit too quiet around the swimming pool, i was not at my ease with small baby making always lots of noise

    Staff, quiet garden, classy location. Easy to explore Umbria from there

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    8.3
    Friendly staff especially in Restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only fault I found was with pool towels. Left mine for exchange in sink to find the very same towel had been hung in room for re use- obvious due to a small stain.Restaurant menu could have got repetitive if we had stayed longer

    Friendly staff especially in Restaurants. Peaceful.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    4.6
    The WiFi as we were in our room in the evening.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Strange place with shocking reception staff. The hotel does not have a bar, they use the makeshift breakfast room as a 'bar' which gives you no where to go in the evening as the nearby town has nothing in it. Rooms look nothing like the pictures you'll see.

    The WiFi as we were in our room in the evening.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    7.5
    Beautiful garden!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    As I was staying here for a wedding, I needed my shirt washed and ironed. The shirt came back to me on time, but ironed only. The staff claimed it had been washed, the main argument being the fact I'd been charged for both cleaning and ironing (!). Finally, I got it washed and ironed properly, but it meant I could not wear it for the wedding. This was very unprofessional for a 4-star establishment. My junior suite room was nice, but the A/C would carry all the smells from the hotel kitchen right into my room. While the smells weren't bad, they gave me a nausea after a while. Average breakfast.

    Beautiful garden! Rooms have a nice decor.

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    5.8
    Room comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    On arrival the hotel was quiet but on being handed the room key the member of staff could not be bothered to show us to our room or explain the available facilities. The outdoor pool was full of vegetable material . There was little choice of alternative places to eat in the vicinity.

    Room comfortable and clean. Breakfast good choice. The restaurant food was reasonable. The gardens were well maintained.

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2015

    5.8
    Very bad bed, quality of towels, bad breskfast and pls pass...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Very bad bed, quality of towels, bad breskfast and pls pass your way for the restaurant of the hotel which was a disaster, being in italy and having such bad food is incredible, no one in the restaurant understand the menu !!!!! And it is a modern cuisine !!!!! Pls change the Chef

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    10
    The staff were very efficient and friendly, very helpful for...
    • Group

    The staff were very efficient and friendly, very helpful for my friend who wanted special food products. Can definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    10
    everything about the whole Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    everything about the whole Hotel. Beautiful grounds, nice room, friendly staff..what more could one want?

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    7.5
    Reception and garden look very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was very small and square, nothing special at all.

    Reception and garden look very nice. Breakfast was very nice as well.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    9.2
    very good staff and restaurant,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    spa only for >14 years old

    very good staff and restaurant,

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    7.5
    The garden, the breakfast, the associated restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Limited complementary access for guests to the SPA.

    The garden, the breakfast, the associated restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    10
    A great hotel for its quality and proximity to Perugia and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A great hotel for its quality and proximity to Perugia and other historic towns of Umbria

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    9.6
    Clean,friendly staff, very beautiful building and park, kids...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pool is very small and busy

    Clean,friendly staff, very beautiful building and park, kids and pets friendly

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    10
    Nice building en beautiful garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    poor wifi-coonection. More or less ok in room but almost no connectrion in the bar and at the pool

    Nice building en beautiful garden

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2015

    10
    Restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2015

    9.2
    The hotel entrance very welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The spa needed a bit polishin up and the masseurs very young and not too great.

    The hotel entrance very welcoming.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Browse Alla Posta Dei Donini & Spa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: