Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Alla Giudecca 3 stars

Via Alagona 52, Ortigia, 96100 Siracusa, Italy

#21 of 45 hotels in Siracusa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1112 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit dark but if all window blinds and balconies were open it was lighter.

    Historical building, nice location and surroudings. Not too touristic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wow, the history of this place is incredible! We did the tour of the mikvah and it was unbelievable - I bought the book as a memento as we couldn't bring cameras down to take photos. The B&B is centrally located in the Guidecca and right near the sea. The restaurants nearby are fantastic (try Timilia - a 5-minute walk away...amazing!). This was a great find in a beautifully historical area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked a double room to be used as single occupancy. I ended up with a small flat with two bedrooms, kitchen etc - not cosy for one, great for a family. The bedrooms and bathroom were accessed by a precipitous staircase - I never took my suitcase upstairs.

    The ground floor of the hotel is very atmospheric with wonderful sitting areas and a grand piano which one morning someone played beautifully. The staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Stairs

    This was our second visit. We treated ourself to their best room and were not disappointed. This is a great base for exploring Siracusa. Plenty of great food close by and fewer crowds than properties just a few blocks away. We will return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access down the laneway is poor. Little assistance from the front desk. Poor restaurant recommendation.

    The location of the hotel is both good and bad. It is located on the island of Ortigia but on a non vehicle lane way (described as a street but it is a walkway). The hotel arranged a valet service for the car which was essential. The room was in fact a one bedroom apartment with a kitchenette but no cooking or serving equipment, so it was unusable. Breakfast was good (by European standards). The hotel was an old building in excellent state or repair. The downstairs "museum" was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The visit downstairs, at 5 Euro, to the private Jewish bathing area, is a little pricey as there is really only one room and two small annexes to see. This "business" may not be owned by the hotel however. I think the worst thing was having to wait and then ask for coffee each morning and when it did come it was very weak and almost like hot milk with a bit of brown colour attached. The hotel is a little tricky to find and when I mentioned this to the receptionist, she seemed to think we had a problem. The number on each street are not found on most maps of the area and there are 4 parallel streets with similar names so it is difficult to find at first.

    This hotel is in an excellent location, sort of half way along the island of Ortygia, which makes it ideal for all that happens on this marvellous island, the "centre" of life in Syracusa, Italy. We had a lovely room with views over the rooftops to the sea, a great balcony for relaxing or drying clothes, a lovely lounge room with a kitchen in a cupboard - very, very useful, and a delightful bedroom and ensuite. It would appear that most of the rooms have small kitchenettes which is excellent. The breakfast is really good although a quality coffee machine would save on staff and everyone would not have to wait for their morning drink. A great place - we will return!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleanliness borderline. Bathroom unpractical, hardly any space to put any toiletries including shower cabin. Guided tour to the jewish bath at the hotel's location and noise from the hourly tours in the room. View from the room was either interior or no view which was however ok and is partly owed by the historic surrounding.

    Excellent location in historic surrounding. Very spacious room which is actually a suite / small apartment with separate bed and living room with a small kitchenette (which we did not use however) on the 1st floor of this historic building. Wi-fi worked well in our room in the main building. Good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no soap, despite my request for some, no tissues and just a small bottle of shampoo and a shower cap provided in the bathroom. There’s no help with luggage and no elevator for people staying in the courtyard. The office/breakfast didn’t open until after 8am.

    Location. The space was large.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower pressure was a bit weak if you use hot water.

    The rooms were spacious and clean. Good breakfast. Within walking distance of all the main attractions in Ortigia.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issues

    Staff went over and above our expectations for service For example, when my partner fell near reception he was assisted in every way. The hotel is designed and filled with museum quality furniture and fittings A delight to stay there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise and dust of the early morning building work

    Building work with angle grinder starting at 8am right outside our room. Staff did not tell us there would be noise and disruption. Breakfast was very busy and we had to wait for 25 mins for a coffee.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I breakfast room was plain and uninviting and the breakfast itself was far too basic for the price we paid for the room.

    The hotel's common areas are beautifully decorated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedrooms could have been as delightfully decorated as the reception and courtyard areas. A missed opportunity to make it a truly wonderful hotel rather than just a delightful one.

    Comfy rooms and beautifully decorated throughout.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed. The breakfast was also poor I'm afraid. The waitresses were uninterested and it took time to get their attention to deliver a frankly hopeless coffee (particularly this being Italy). There was nothing cooked (e.g. eggs) and generally there was little love in the whole affair.

    The main reception area above the Jewish Baths of old (hence, the Giudecca area and the name of the hotel) was attractive and the reception staff welcoming, helpful and pleasant. The room, however, was disappointing, being outside and around the corner and two flights upstairs. The bed was unusually hard and the so-called kitchen area was so ill-equipped to be useless. But I liked the quieter side of the island where this hotel is located. And of course the baths themselves are certainly worth a look. But the hotel looked very little the main picture in the Booking.com website.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing it was amazing - the breakfast could have been better but only because i have special dietary needs everyone else in the group loved it

    Loved this place would have stayed longer if we could

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lady responsible for the breakfast was not the best ambassador for the hotel, but that is a minor thing

    Fine location, nicely restored building, very roomy apartment

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Impossible to sleep, heard every cough, every footstep, etc. Very surprised this was not mentioned in prior reviews. Also blood stain on comforter, shower was stopped up and slow draining.

    Spacious room, lots of historic charm, pleasant and helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi Fi in the room did not work

    A old building with very think walls and high ceilings that had been restored. But incredibly was build on top of a 2000 year old Jewish ritual bath (Mikvah). Definitely take the tour and descend 40 feet into the past!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn't work in some of our rooms

    Pretty courtyard, allowed us to use breakfast area to celebrate a birthday Very cool history regarding Mikva

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of storage space in our apartment. No drawers at all and very few coat hangers.

    It was a very pleasant surprise to find that there were two bedrooms, a sitting area and a kitchen area. The kitchen is not well equipped but it’s nice to be able to boil a kettle & so on, & there was a fridge too. The whole apartment was very spacious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are spacious and comfortable. It's an amazing building with the Jewish’s purification baths underneath it. Nice common areas. The staff is gentle and professional. The surrounding is amazing. Really worthy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After 9pm there is no one availavble and unbelievably no contact info is provided in case of any emergency. Do NOT leave the key at the hotel or accidentally leave it in the room... you will have to find alternative sleeping arrrangements for the night.... Fortunately emergencies bring out the best in all kinds of people so... all is well that ends well.... BUT... the Management needs to address this potentially very thorny issue

    Fantastic location and elegant space

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only challenge is that the shower stall is quite small and the water pressure was iffy but it's an old building!

    Loved the history of the building (the Jewish Baths below are incredible), the antiques, the rustic decor and the location. Our room was lovely with a patio, comfy bed and open space. The staff were very helpful and nice. Breakfast was lovely. It's a special place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't get wifi in our room - this was being fixed, but not before we left. On our last morning we noticed some water on the bathroom floor - this had just appeared and staff were very apologetic.

    The hotel is right in the middle of Siracusa - a perfect location. The receptionist, when we arrived, was friendly and welcoming, and gave us lots of information to help us plan our stay. The rooms were beautifully decorated and very comfortable. 'International' style breakfast with lots of choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on a third floor with no lift... unfortunately we had a huge luggage with us 😉!

    The location is perfect, our rooms were very big, the common areas beautiful, the building very interesting!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The building itself has a lot of potential. It is old, beautiful and steeped in history. The inside however was rather meagre. The rooms were not very inviting. The best part was the bedroom, the extra sitting area was sparsely decorated en very cold, it added nothing to our stay. The kitchenette is located in a large closet and not suitable for cooking. If you are specifically looking for an appartement, this is not an ideal place. Neither is it a hotel - there is a daily cleaning service, but the reception is staffed until 20:00 or 21:00. The rooms are distributed across the property and might be somewhat away from the main building. Our entrance was in a side alley. The breakfast is ok, but not spectacular. Skip the coffee, it is cold and not very tasteful. There is the usual assortment of bread, yoghurt, milk, muesli, fruit and some cakes. Wifi; The walls of the property are rather thick, therefore you are largely dependant on wifi to get access to the internet. The wifi was ok in our room, but it was not password protected. A completely open and unprotected wifi network is rather naive in this day and age. We only used it in case of emergency.

    The location is superb. You can go anywhere in Ortigia on foot. The accomodation is located in the old Jewish quarters of Ortigia. This area is not run over by tourists yet, unlike the other side of the peninsula. Siracusa is not far off either, you can either walk from the train station or take a local bus. There is a direct bus to Catania airport in front of the bus station or you can take the train from Siracusa to Catania. Parking is difficult in Ortigia, we recommend public transport. The building itself is very old and rich with history. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The site is misleading as they imply that there is parking on site. What they mean is that they have a TINY courtyard and if you have a small scooter you can manhandle it up the 2 stairs into the courtyard. We have HUGE motorbikes and when we got there in the evening after a days riding only to discover that they don't have onsite parking and offer paid parking in 2 REMOTE garages which are hard to find as the streets are a warren and some are really narrow. The first placce they suggested was closed and we wnet back to the hotel. They called a second place and eventually we found one place and it was an underground garage with a VERY steep ramp and cost €10 per night and you have to leave the bike unlocked and the alarm disabled so that they can move it around if necessary!!! If you don't know how to handle a big (expensive) motorbike this can be a problem!

    Not much :(

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, at no point during our 4 night stay did the WiFi work. The lighting in our sitting room felt a bit institutional.

    The building is charming, the staff were helpful, the breakfast was good, and the location ideal. We were surprised by how large our room was (number 1)!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The kitchen was not very functional. No wine glasses etc.

    Room with significant place and nice furniture. The terrace was really nice. The main building is really cool (even if you can't visit the bath unless you pay an entrance fee)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was delicious, staff super helpful and accommodating, attention personal, location and accommodations stunningly beautiful, conveniently located. Overall incredible.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The B&B was offered as a cancellation alternative. The staff member was excellent at dealing with our booking and very helpful. The property itself is lovely and the breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was in Ortygia for work rather than leisure. I am in the travel trade and was there to inspect some hotels in Sicily. The internet connection in our room was extremely poor and non existent in the bedroom, very frustrating when trying to work. There was no telephone reception at all unless I stood in the street. Secondly my husband was travelling with me. He had been very ill and was unable to go out much in the evening as he needed to rest. So I had been careful to book a property with internet and TV. We reported the TV as not working on our arrival and although we mentioned it on more than one occasion over our 2 days and 2 nights no one came to repair it. The response in reception was just very limp about it. I do realise that TV may not be considered of prime importance generally to tourists who are there to explore etc, but in our case we needed it. If a facility is offered it should either work or the fault should be rectified (or the TV replaced). It shouldnt take 2 days of inaction - only then to be told that it was going to repaired after our departure, which was no help at all. For the cost of the room I do expect things to function properly, or prompt action taken and it was an irritation. Though the location was charming, our own accommodation was just ok. Our room was rather sparsely furnished with rather a mish mash of furnishings that didnt quite work; the plywood wardrobe was just tacky. Breakfast was fine but not sufficient seating for the number of guests. All in all, I wouldnt take one of my groups there.

    The location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only challenge is to find a parking place, the staff is helpful, but if you don't find a proper place on the street, you need to go to the big public car park for 10 eur/night, which is not too close but walking distance. It's not possible to enter the street of the hotel by car.

    There is an old mikveh under the hotel. The area is nice and calm, close to the sea and the old city center. The staff is nice, the breakfast is good, there are two big rooms with nice hard bed...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from air conditioning or heating or bathroom fans from other rooms that disturbed our sleep during the night.

    The location and the way that the old building was tastefully restored.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little bit warmer rooms - but probably this is normal in Italy in October. A little bit bigger bathroom .

    The location was perfect. The staff was very friendly ! The breakfast room was beautiful - and the breakfast itself was also very good, the home made orange jam was great. The rooms were apartments on 2 floors, very big and quite beautiful. Only our bathroom was quite small.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They were great...our refridgerator was leaking, and they tried to amend that.

    The staff was well informed and helpful. The property and accommodation fabulous. The location was wonderful,easy walking distance to all important sites. Pleasant surprise to have a small kitchen with utensils and plates/bowls. Breakfast was delicious and breakfast room lovely. Staff helped with carrying luggage.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having provided a kitchenette (fridge, sink, 2 electric rings) there was a slightly random set of utensils etc. So there were pans but no frying pan, chopping board or strainer and crucially no knives other than for eating with. Still my husband manfully cut everything up with the table knife and we enjoyed a lovely mixed seafood stew!

    Location in old town meant you were in the heart of Ortygia. Parking available in public car park about 10 mins walk away or valet parking available. Reception staff very helpful. We liked the fact there was space to relax and a kitchenette which we used having been to the local market to buy fish, salad etc. Breakfast staff friendly, choice fine and Granny’s marmalade very good. WiFi reception no problem in our apt(no 5). Beds comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dreadful beds ( we swapped rooms). Limited breakfast. No ‘hotel’ facilities e.g bar, place to have a coffee etc.

    Ortigia is beautiful and the property is located one street from the sea. It is very old and the building itself has been nicely restored. The room was spacious - a self-catering suite. No view - windows opened over internal courtyard. For £80 a night it was an adequate bed and breakfast. The beds, however, were awful. Two single metal framed beds pushed together which rattled like Marley’s ghost every time you moved. There was a huge hole in the base of my partner’s bed where planks had been removed. We spaced them out to make it possible to lie on it! Mattresses were rock hard. Worst three nights sleep in a hotel ever. They need to invest some money in the beds and the furnishings in general. It’s a reasonably cheap place to stay in a delightful town. If you go expecting more you will be disappointed. It’s not a hotel - it’s a group of apartments.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wifi connection in the adjoining bedrooms.

    The building was historically fantastic (1300?) and an important part of the Jewish quarter. The Jewish people were expelled by the Spanish in 1492 but the house(s) were beautifully restored and had a very rare historical feature built 18 Metres under the hotel in the rock. The decor was superb, artistic and the breakfast just right with superb choice, especially the available fruits and their own special orange marmalade. The hotel was 1 minute from the sea and 2 minutes from the main areas of interest and the excellent restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toiletries; one roll toilet roll hardly enough for few days.

    Excellent location; right on the shopping street. Centrally located and ease to most places of interest.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchenette was very poor equipped, not even cleaning equipment provided Breakfast was quite small of choice and not very comfortable breakfast room Almost no daylight in the apartment and the breakfast room

    Very close to the sights in Ortigia Spacious Apartment

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a place to stay! Situated in the heart of Ortigia, this hotel was a great find! This is an old renovated house with a lot of inner space and atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very sparsely furbished and was in fact a disgrace to the beautiful room and building. Tables in the breakfast area are out of plastic. For this price level and actually beauty of the building a proper table and chairs should be possible

    very nice building and courtyard!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a nightmare... took 1 hour driving and walking around to find free parking... did find paid parking available on public lot 10 minute walk away for $10 euro per day but machine only took eoro coins and we did not have enough coins. No one at reception desk when we arrived to advise on parking.

    Location, breakfast, common areas on property very tasteful and interesting.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was dark and not well lit. The windows looked out into a small alley space that was full of construction. There was a step between the bedroom and living area that was not marked or easily seen, resulting in us tripping several times. The mattress was hard and not very comfortable.

    The hotel has a historical and charming character. Our room was large, with a separate sitting area and a little sideboard kitchen. To get to the room, we had to walk through a lovely courtyard with blooming bougainvillea and cacti. The breakfast was varied and ample. Some of the staff were very helpful. It was just a few steps to the seaside promenade.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Propriety doesn't have elevator or private parking. Some rooms had a bad smell (of things that were kept close for a long time). The internet speed was medium-low and you need to use it at the reception because it doesn't work in the apartment.

    Breakfast was excellent and room is very spacious. We arrived earlier and the rooms were ready to the check-in. Shower was spacious too and with good quality/temperature

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As the hotel was not cheap the breakfast should have been better. Rather disorganised and every day the fruit was rock hard and inedible. No mirrors in bedrooms. Wifi did not work in 2 of our 3 rooms.

    Building was old and very full of character. Beds were comfortable. Staff were pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very ancient property with good accomodation joining history with modernization , helpful staff with good recommandation for the city facilities and restaurants, good location near the sea and the touristic landmarks in Ortigia

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the place did not correspond to the picture, it was more like an air b and b experience without charm. Moreover, there was no access to the Internet which is an oddity now.

    Location was great

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staircases might be difficult for people with mobility problems. It's a distinguished old building which has been tastefully designed for modern use.

    The staff were outstanding, particularly as we had a spectacular thunderstorm when we were there. They were quick to clean up, see to our needs, and were unfailingly polite and helpful. Interesting artworks throughout.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air conditioning was in the living room, which meant that the bedroom, which was separated, didn't cool down enough for sleeping at night. The breakfast was good, but could be a little more diverse.

    Beautifully restored accommodation. Lots of space, wonderful large four-poster bed, kitchenette, bathroom separated from the rest of the living area. The receptionist was very attentive, giving us a lot of tips and advice. The location was fantastic, just metres away from the lido.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in narrow street that cannot be reached via car so if you have lot of bags and if you're an older person or have problem with walking with heavy bags consider this.

    unique Property in the heart of Siracusa with archeological tombs under the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The ceiling in our suite was low in some places and I am tall so that was awkward.

    The room was quite spacious and the bed was comfortable. The location was great, right near the main swimming area in Ortigia and a bit off the main Piazza. Overall a very nice stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was chaotic. Two out of the four mornings we had to wait a significant amount of time for a table to become free. On each of the four mornings we had to ask for cups or bowls or cutlery. There were not enough waiting staff so asking for a coffee (or the missing cutlery/crockery) was difficult and the staff were harassed and not particularly helpful. It was frustrating because the answer was obvious - almost all the tables in the breakfast rooms seated four, almost all the guests were couples. A few less 4-seaters and a few more 2-seater tables and one extra member of staff (and I suspect a better more efficient dishwasher) would sort it!

    The hotel is in a beautiful old building in the Jewish quarter in Ortygia. There are a lot of the original features in place but the rooms are large, modern and comfortable. We had booked a double room but this turned out to be a spacious suite with large living area with cooking facilities (albeit limited - double ring burner and fridge). Although there was not much natural light in the room, I could forgive that as being part of the charm of the hotel. If you want bright, light rooms stay in a modern hotel!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little hard and nothing to clean the dishes with as we had a mini kitchenette but overall a beautiful place to stay

    Breakfast was great especially the croissants and grandma's jam !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in the "annex". It is an outside walk of 3to 4 minutes from the hotel where breakfast is . TV did not work, toilet ran all night, fronts a major road, people in other apartments in the building very noisy. An annex is an addition to a building not a separate building as I understand it. The attitude of the main staff man was like it or lump it as we are full. Finally he agreed to let us out of the last two nights. The annex is only 2 star at the best.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel was value for money breakfast was basic continental staff were help full organised the parking for you for €20.00 a day in private car park I would stop there again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The worst staff we have ever encountered at a hotel. It is a real shame because the hotel is beautiful, the building itself is stunning and very centrally located, but the staff are all terrible. No welcome at reception and even the cleaning staff gave us a hard time when we wanted to use the bathroom before they started cleaning. Breakfast is not great either. We didn't think this was very good value for money.

    Location and building itself is beautiful. Lovely courtyard too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointing, the facilities fall far from our expectations... Beds are old and uncomfortable. The door of our room was broken - didn't lock- and no one tried to find a solution or change our room. We woke up to a huge cockroach in the bedroom, but appart from a "sorry" and excuses about works in the hotel, no gesture shown about the incident. Even the garden, who looks so beautiful in the pictures, was disappointing.

    Very Good location. Nice staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very humid in the room and smelled of humidity, there were small insects and it just didn't feel clean Had to leave

    It's pretty and charming as a location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As a 3 star hotel there were a few things that could be easily rectified eg lights/ light fittings/ air conditioning in 2nd bedroom not working/ great to have a small kitchen but there was no basic kitchen cleaning items eg tea towel, detergent etc. / more attention could be paid to cleaning - limited pillows.

    The restoration of the hotel and décor in common areas is amazing. Breakfast was adequate. Staff were very helpful, efficient and polite. The history of the hotel is fascinating and well worth a visit to the Jewish Baths underneath the hotel (5 euros)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a challenge - but we were in peak season. There is large parking lot, but I advise dropping off your luggage first. Beds were a bit hard, but this seemed to be a trend everywhere we went

    Location: you're in the heart of Ortigia, wonderful to walk around the narrow streets with the surprise of the large piazzas which open up every so often Hotel: very well taken care of, extremely courteous staff; loved our room (which was actually a mini apartment) Fabulous breakfast room and breakfast offering (Appreciated immensely that they had almond milk available); The overall ambiance is delightful. Will return here in my next trip to Siracusa

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing that I did not like about this hotel and I would highly recommend it.

    Although the pictures were exactly like those of the courtyard (which were fantastic), the rest was a very pleasant surprise. Our room was spectacular, so unique. The wood on the ceiling, doors and windows was beautiful. We had steps leading up to our bathroom and our own private terrace. Our bedroom was so romantic and the bed very comfortable. It was in a perfect location with great restaurants and a beautiful view of the sea a block away. I wish we could have stayed longer. Staff were great and very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Late check out

    The spacious courtyard is delightful ~ a lovely place to sit ~ you would need to choose a room outside/just to the side of the hotel!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lift available, and steep stairs up to the room on 3rd floor, without any offer to help carry up luggage. Inaccessibility of cars to the road where the hotel is located.

    Personal service. Great breakfast. Small hotel ambiance with big hotel service.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't like anything from the moment we arrived, in fact the soon we got there we understood that our room was not inside the hotel, but in another building or annex next to it, although we were not advised of it in any manner while booking. Besides being apart from the hotel, the room almost had no natural light, as the windows were to an alley and the building in front was under work, so we could not open the windows nor the curtains. When we got back to the reception asking to change the room, and in despite that we had arrived early around lunchtime, we were told that we could not change as some big group was arriving later that day and the hotel would be fully booked.... At that point we just thought 'what a stupid explanation to give to a customer....' and we just left in order not to create some even worst memory of our staying in Ortigi. Later on we went to check the 'bad reviews' on booking.com and we found out with no surprise that almost all of them were related to the same problems we had, and most of them even referring to the very same problems we were experiencing. Just for the record, we also went to re-check, and our room was not depicted in any photos within the site, nor in booking.com... So, overall furniture was poor, breakfast was average and the staff were in some bad mood, so definitively very bad when you think of the price you pay for it. All in all, we felt cheated and that's one of the most unpleasant feelings you may have when on vacation...

    In fact, the only thing we liked on it was the location, but there are others nearby.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking was on street and was a bit far from the hotel.

    There was a mix up in our reservation and we ended up with a superior room, which was an upgrade. We stayed in the room that had a rooftop terrace with a sea view. We offered to move for the second night or to pay for the difference. They acknowledged their mistake and insisted we stay in the room at the rate we were quoted on Booking.com. The hotel was amazing in character, quite charming and quiet for good sleeping. It was close to the sea to take a late night walk! Loved it!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was uncomfortable. We are a couple and we had two singles combines which was uncomfortable. The service from front of house should have been better

    The location was brilliant, right next to the sea and surrounded with quality bars and restaraunts within a walking distance. The courtyard next to our room was amazing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Otopark; is a problem but itis not hotel's problem it is a problem for all Ortiga. Breakfast; it is good enough but is nearly all sweet, there is no eggs, omlets, meat,hot foods. Olives grow in Sicily but very bad quality in the hotel's breakfast

    Location is very good, rooms are clean, the hotel is decent, Furnitures simple and chic, Coffee is good. Jessika who works at the reception is very helpfull she makes our holiday very nice. We would like to THANK you Jessika.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe more storage space if you stayed for more than a couple of days. It wasn't a problem for us but could be with small children - stairs and no lift.

    The staff were very accommodating and helpful. It was near everything but very quiet at night so no problem sleeping. A very historic site was basically underneath the hotel but all visitors to it were very respectful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was decent enough although the wifi was down and we had just a large room. It was nicely decorated but the photos made it look better than it really was. Was also amazed that we had to pay to go and see the Jewish baths below the reception, even as guests of the hotel. Very nice hotel, but not worth the price.

    Lovely bed, great shower, very comfortable and the air-conditioning kept us cool. Fantastic location as well.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The reception staff were particularly helpful, especially Jessica and Federica, recommending excellent restaurants and finding out train schedules. The breakfast staff also were great at coffee making! The continental breakfasts were extensive with a wide variety of seasonal fruit. We appreciated the kitchenette in our rooms and spacious living area as well as decent size bedroom and bathroom. The historic Jewish ritual baths under the hotel are well worth a visit and the hotel's proximity to the sea meant we could easily have a dip off the rocks, although as we were leaving, scaffolding was being erected there so perhaps swimming will be banned. We thoroughly enjoyed our weeks stay there.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we were really pleased with our stay at alla giudecca, we got an upgrad to a really big room with a kitchen and a living room. We didn't order breakfast in advance and they were very nice about allowing us to have breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No discount for guests staying at the property for touring the Jewish baths

    Not a hotel in the classic sense. Much more like a larger bed and breakfast, which is fine if you understand that is what it is.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi was poor

    We had a room overlooking the rooftops of Origin, the ancient part of Sircacusa. The ocean is a block away, and the lovely tiny laneways made for some fantastic walks at any time of the night and day. The food around Via Cavour is some of the bestsellers I've had, and this is great town to just get lost in.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Alla Giudecca traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: