Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Residenza Grisostomo

Cannareggio S.G. Grisostomo 5739/a, Cannaregio, 30131 Venice, Italy

#207 of 316 B&Bs and Inns in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 808 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.8
    Be aware from the beginning
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Basic Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host was very unfriendly. He was very rude when we wanted to check in 15 min earlier but he came to open the door 7 mins late. After that the whole check in procedures took 30 min because of his disorganised desk. Air condition in the corridor was leaking water. Another thing is there in no sign board on the building or anywhere, you need to look at the letter box beside the door to find the name of the guest house.

    The rooms are very nice and the location too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.8
    Highly recommended, the price is pretty good. Very nice host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom is old. It was very fine for me, but in case you have some problems climbing it could be difficult to use the shower. ;) (Honestly, I wouldn't recommend the bathroom for elderly people.)

    The location is fantastic, just around the corner of rialto bridge and just whithin the city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant stay, well located and lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not enough pillows

    The location is brilliant, we were couple minutes away from Rialto Bridge and about 15 minute walk from St Marco Piazza. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself nice and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    5.4
    Fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived Venice late at night, and spent over 45 minutes looking for the property. There were no clear signage at or near the hotel, ant the hotel entrance wasn’t on the main street and it has to be acessed via a narrow allyway which poorly lit. We have tried calling the phone no provided numerous times, but there were no answer. Even the locals haven’t heard of the hotel. They charged extra for late check in at night.

    Close to the Rialto Bridge and the pier

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.7
    Good room - BAD Service (WRONG PHONE NUMBER GIVEN!)
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service of the place (can’t call it a hotel really) was a disaster and not only did he not understand the English (and was very rude with the few words he knew) well but the phone number was wrong and we were left waiting for almost an hour until the man came to open for us because apparently they are not obliged to wait for us at the lobby?!? I would stay away if you are not up for bad service and 0 hospitality!

    Very close to main streets and shops(although the location is a bit scary inside a street), really good breakfast by the grand canal, good WiFi and clean room!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    3.3
    Penny-pinching, surly attitude and lack of service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service appalling, penny-pinching, rude and unhelpful attitude from start to finish Extra cash charge made for “early check-in” without warning or apology as well as for tourist the tax, but no receipt given No breakfast on site, minimal breakfast at nearby restaurant with equally surly staff No attempt at all to make our stay comfortable, pleasant or memorable except in a bad way No service or courtesy Room overlooked main thoroughfare so noisy with window open, location noisy, busy and crowded, much nicer locations a short distance away Room spacious but bare minimum, bedspread grubby, no little extras Communal bathroom not kept clean, bins not emptied, floor not kept clean, nowhere to hand your towel or clothes, no toilet paper, towel or soap in bathroom Avoid at all costs!

    NothIng in particular Location central but in a noisy and crowded area Many better locations a short distance away

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly staff, great location and spacious room full...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could do with cleaning more regularly since it is shared and it would be a good idea to provide each room with a bath mat to avoid the bath room floor getting wet and then full of dirty foot prints.

    Very friendly staff, great location and spacious room full of charachter. Good breakfast!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.3
    Convenient location, clean room & bath but budget mattress.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room faced walking street so super noisy at night, especially late night with drunk people. Not hotels fault, should have asked for an interior room away from street.

    Very convenient location close to ferry and Rialto bridge.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location near the Ponte di Rialto bridge, across from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just our bad luck to have a crowd of noisy folks come in after midnight. They took the key to the shared bathroom too . . . If one doesn't like crowds, not the part of town for you. We loved it.

    Great location near the Ponte di Rialto bridge, across from church, next door to Burger King. Quiet as in alley towards canal. We looked over the church. Wonderful concierge. Great quiet spot in back by canal.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.3
    Perfect for a short stay if you're on a budget!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My 6'3" tall husband had issues with the tiny bath...but it's not the first time we've traveled in Europe and understand that's sometimes what you get.

    GREAT location. Good price. Nothing fancy, but clean and spacious. Very helpful staff. We were provided with excellent directions to the property and had no trouble finding it. My luggage had been left in Atlanta by the airline and had to be delivered by courier the next day. The courier service would only call a local number so I couldn't get a notification of when it was to be delivered. If it was a missed delivery - I would have had to go back out to the airport to pick it up. The manager of the property made sure that someone was available to take the call and that someone would be at the property to meet the courier while my family and I were out sightseeing - so grateful for his help!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    Amazing location right on the grand canal, staff were lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central location means that outside is very loud and noisy throughout the early hours of the morning also, there were disrespectful loud guests staying in other rooms that were shouting and banging from 12-4am. An expensive price to pay for one night

    Amazing location right on the grand canal, staff were lovely and very helpful and let us check in early for 10 euros extra, very clean and tidy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.1
    I recommend this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.Not clear explanation where storage room is (or if it actually exists). 2. City tax- 3 per person. If I am not mistaken it should be lower for that type of hostels.

    Nice staff, great breakfast place and clean linens. We were told that there is a storage room available, however there was not(at least at the place receptionist was pointing out). Rooms are clean, but needs some refreshment. Overall: I recommend this place to stay because overall impression is good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.9
    It was good for what we paid. It was very well located. Consider you have to go up the stairs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hallway is very dark and narrow but you can't really expect it to be like those 5 star hotels. The private bathroom I believe is shared with one more room.

    It's centric, near to the pier. The host was great, very friendly and he explained everything in detail.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    All in all, a good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a fairly basic accommodation but it is clean and tidy (and as advertised) and is sufficient for a few nights stay. The location is fantastic - just a few minutes walk from the Rialto bridge - down a small alley off a busy street. If you carefully follow the owner’s directions, there is no problem finding it. The property will store your luggage after check out. Breakfast was included and served at a canal side restaurant just beside the Rialto bridge.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    3.8
    Room size
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is ok not that good Not even a kettle provided Breakfast at 9:30am at nearby hotel in urgency you cannot get the breakfast Really expensive. Better stay near train station

    Room size

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    4.6
    Average to poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom - shower area separator was falling.

    Location is good - behind Rialto. However need signs else difficult to locate as a narrow lane leads to the building

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    Great place to see the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff weren’t there when we wanted to check out so we just left the keys and went to catch our train. We were checking out at 9:00am when the latest check out was at 10:00am which was a totally reasonable time to have staff there.

    The location was excellent for seeing the city and the room was a good size with everything we need.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    5.8
    Very impolite receptionist
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist was very impolite when we arrived. He charged us 10€ extra for arriving before the check in just for leaving the packbacks, and he got so angry for waking him up (7:30 am), "this is not a hotel, you can't arrive at the houre that you want". Because of that, we began our trip in a bad mood. If we go again to Venecia, we won't stay there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    The stay was welcoming, easy, and organized. The coordinator was so helpful with directions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are big, but not very comfortable. But the pillows were great! And the ally that you walk theough to get to it is concerning at first glance. But it was fine.

    I don't know how we would have found it had the coordinator of the hotel hadn't sent us direct play-by play direction. He was so helpful and clear and we foubd our transportation from the airport, found the hotel, and checked in with ease.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    5.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    it was suposed to be two room apartment with one big bed in one room, and two small beds in other, olsou there was suposed to be toilet and sower in the room. By the fact it was a single room with two big beds, and the shower and toilet was the same fr us and other apartment

    Great location. reasonoble price. Great host guy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff could have been friendlier and more helpful - especially during check-in.

    The place was comfortable but hard to find the first time, but I believe that's a Venice problem. Excellent location. Very close to the best food and gelato joints.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.6
    Great value for money in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for early check-in, only one bathroom for several rooms.

    Useful and nice staff, confortable beds, closeness to Rialto, breakfast included, luggage storage.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    6.7
    The general impression is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The curtains can hardly stop the sunlight and it's pretty noisy in the morning. Besides, we cannot use the bathroom near our room so that we need to use another one.

    The breakfast is very delicious and the room is spacious. The location is near the commercial street. We can also leave our luggage there after we check out.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    8.8
    It was a nice experience which enriched our Europe trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No electric kettle. Breakfast was just ok ok.

    Andrea is the host and he is awesome. He gave us the map and told what to visit and how to do it. Though he doesn't stay there but can come at calls and is very cordial and humourous. Electric kettle is not provided there but once we asked him for it for tea he provided it for a while. Overall it was a nice experience and the hotel is good from inside and the host is the best. Best thing is it's location. Close to rialto bridge.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    6.7
    the room is large and the bed is comfortable.
    • Group
    • Basic Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It does not seem good to me that apart from paying for the room, you have to pay a supposed tax and it has to be in cash. why? I did not think that was serious in the booking ad it is not said that the bathroom is shared. nor does the owner tell you. we stayed 2 night and between the stay they never cleaned the room

    the room is large and the bed is comfortable. The hotel the hotel is in good place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.2
    Great location, very close to the Rialto bridge, easy to...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, very close to the Rialto bridge, easy to access from the airport and close to main attractions. Good value for money. A lot of options for restaurants and places to eat around.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    4.6
    it was okay to stay for a night. especially if you are there for party.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed during the Venice Carnival season. It was so busy on the street and was noisy whole night due to parties. To find this apartment we have asked many local shops but was quite hard to find the narrow street. Also, for check-in we had to wait outside until the receptionist could get to the apartment himself, although we had informed the the time of arrival.

    it was pretty close to center and main attraction of Venice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    10
    Short and sweet made even better by the service, communication, help and meet and greet provided.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    That we only had one night! We were stopping over in Venice following a skiing holiday in Slovenia. It was the best thing we did and consequently we didn't want to leave and wished he had longer.

    Communication, information, help and the meet and greet from Ottavia was first class. Ottavia was helpful, available to answer questions and offer advice and even met us at the waterbus stop to show us to the apartment. First class meet and greet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location, right by the Rialto bridge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the description states the accommodation is in a quiet area.. this is simply not true. the rooms face the main walkway through Venice which is constantly packed with crowds of people... there's noise and commotion outside all day and night, and closing the windows and shutters does little to stop this. Particularity annoying as the aircon wasn't working so we really needed the windows to be open at night but couldn't for the noise. while i expect noise in a busy area like this and its not a big problem for me... they should not falsely advertise it as a quiet area

    Excellent location, right by the Rialto bridge. the instructions provided to find it were excellent and we found the property quite easily. Check in was a breeze and luckily our room was ready early so we could go straight in!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    4.6
    Breakfast is great !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared toilet is only one ....need to wait for others... The room is noisy from the tourists outside .. The sound-proofing is bad...

    Breakfast is great ! The waiters in the restaurant are friendly and nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    The accommodation was lovely, as was the staff. Perfect for a weekend trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was right over the street below, a it was a little loud at night. The shared bathroom was a little inconvenient.

    The location was convenient for sightseeing around Venice, but also far enough away from the Carnevale events to not be too crowded. The owner was lovely and suggested places for us to see and dine.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    7.9
    Recommended if you're not too picky
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were uncomfortable, it was noisy outside the window, staff was never there

    The location is exceptional, just next to Rialto bridge. Everything important is in walking distance. Breakfast (sweet) was included. Rooms were clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    9.2
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting to the hotel was a bit tricky as you had to go down a small alley to get there but once you knew where to go it was fine.

    Good location, the staff we met were great and very helpful with tips on what to see and do. Good rooms with enough space for 3 people, good facilities and right down the road from a sweet shop.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    6.3
    location was good, the view of the street was ok, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no cleaning service during our stay, no trash was taken out of the room for 4 days, the reception was almost always closed, so there was noone to talk to about the cleaning needs, tv didn't work, one light in the room wasn't working, we were sent to a restaurant with apparently discount but there was no discount and the food was not good.

    location was good, the view of the street was ok, the heating was working and it was only the first floor to climb the stairs.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    6.7
    Doesn't worth its price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Compared to other cities the price is too high for the quality. Matress with springs was very uncomfortable, so were the pillows. We had private bathroom, but right behind the thin door to our room was a shared one - that made a lot of noise. In the main hall was some heavy smell of air freshener.

    The place is situated in a good location. Breakfasts are served on the opposite back of Grand canale, you'll have a great view from the table.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    5.0
    Location was good for getting to other parts of Venice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was in the front on one of the really busy routes of Venice, so loud till around 11pm, it had a cabinet falling of the wall and a metal pipe and no light on it above it. The breakfast crosisant, rolls and coffee of choice was 400 meters away through the crowds and over the Rialto bridge, at least it was a table on the Grand canal, where on my last day I tried to enjoy my microwaved croisant.

    Location was good for getting to other parts of Venice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable room in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    About the only thing we would have liked was a small fridge to store some drinks in. Shower was good and had excellent water pressure, though it was a bit on the small side.

    Property manager was extremely friendly and easy to contact for any issues or questions. Great location very close to the Rialto bridge. Good sized room so no issues with storage space, and very clean. Fully equipped bathroom. They're also happy to store your luggage for you if you arrive early which is great. We really should have stayed a third night in Venice and this would have been perfect for it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.8
    Problem with the room for the first night was solved by the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower water pressure was weak in the morning. Shower cabit itself was really small, hard to take a proper shower.

    Problem with the room for the first night was solved by the owner and we could stay in a nearby hotel, nothing major. Room in residence was of good size and very well clean. Location was a good plus.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.2
    Shared toilets, the heater in our part did not function, so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shared toilets, the heater in our part did not function, so had to go to another bathroom for shower. However, the staff acknowledged the difficulty and apologised for the same. But it was a bit difficult in the mornings, during rush hours.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    5.0
    Very disappointing stay bec of the grumpy & rude people that welcomed us. City was beautiful but to
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First, yhis isn't a hotel but looks like an airbnb type. We did not like Everything about this hotel, the location (upstairs after going thru endless alleys), the facility as described above and the STAFF was rude. It came with free breakfast but one of us had some allergies & we were asking for other food we were willing to pay but the owner was not helpful at all when the waiter asked.

    We requested to leave our bags until 4pm as our train doesn't depart until 6pm. "Odus?", the guy assisting us said we should pick up our luggages by 2pm as no one will be at ur property, to not use the restroom but just pick up our bags. We tried to explain to him that we have so much luggage to take with us while we are still finishing our tour, his reply? "Not my problem". A better response would have been to suggest the "left luggage" places by the train station. We are tourists and we don't know Venice. When asked if there was a "lift", his reply, if you go to "big hotel", instead of simply saying "No". We didn't need all his sarcasm. We did pay extra 10 euros for late check in for the inconvenience if that caused him to be grumpy. Our stay was not pleasant at all. The A/C unit was dripping, warping the wooden floors, we've tripped numerous times. The direction on the website to go to the foot of the Rialto is difficult if you have luggages. A better direction would be to go straight to the small alley ahead when you get off till you reach the square then make a left (this will skip the Rialto bridge steps). Sent from Yahoo Mail on Android

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.1
    The airconditioning works really well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff who met us at the door was quite rude. We arrived at the property late at night (we had been in contact with them through email so they knew our arrival time). The instructions were NOT to ring the doorbell after a certain hour and instead call the phone number stated on the email. We arrived with 2 minutes to spare so we thought that since it was already late, we will call the number instead. The man who met us at the door told us off for calling the phone number stated on the confirmation email and was annoyed that we did not ring the doorbell instead. He is the most unwelcoming staff I have met on all my travels. We had big and heavy luggages and unfortunately, there's no lift so we had to carry them up the stairs one at a time. He told us off for leaving the door open as we got through but we told him that we left some of our bags downstairs as we couldn't carry all of them at the same time. Then he got annoyed that we didn't know how the lighting system works at the property. Not exactly the welcoming we expected. Other than him though, the accommodation was really good.

    The airconditioning works really well. The property is just 15 minutes walk from the Rialto bridge (that is, depending on how much luggage you are carrying).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    6.3
    We love venice but probably wouldn't book this accommodation next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly the room smelt strongly of very strong floral cleaner or spray of some kind and we just couldn't shift this even with windows open ! It was a bit noisy too as there was a WC just next to our room which people were using at 3am so a bit of a sleepless night I'm afraid.

    It was very central and easy to get to other places if interest and the room was clean .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.1
    Reasonable price for staying right in the centre of Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is on one of the main routes from the station to the Rialto, so it gets pretty noisy in the street outside (we were kept awake on the first night by very loud drunk people). Strong air freshener in the room giving me a headache. Water not very hot in shower.

    Reasonable price for staying right in the centre of Venice. They let us leave bags on the last day too, which was handy as we had a late flight. Pleasant room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.6
    Staffs here are so kind and helpful, they provided really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staffs here are so kind and helpful, they provided really detailed information for us to find the place although the sign of the residence could be more clear. We shared bathroom with other guests however the bathroom was cleaned everyday and it didn't have any negative influence to our perfect stay here.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    6.3
    Big room, balcony, breakfast right next to the grand canal
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite shabby for the price, room was not cosy/welcoming and beds were very hard. Also quite a bit of noise from the street which disturbed our sleep.

    Big room, balcony, breakfast right next to the grand canal

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.9
    great location and room pity about the entrance amd shared bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Outside court yard was isolated. Entrance stairway was in need of repair. I booked a ensuite room but found bathroom was shared with other guests.

    Air con and quality of furniture

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    8.8
    Perfect location to see the Venice 'alleys'
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared bathroom. Some pig with long hair got water from the shower everywhere and all of the floor was wet. He also decided to play an out of tune piano for an hour in the next room.

    The decor of the room and air conditioning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    3.8
    Would not stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unpleasant staff. No friendly welcome. Was charged Tourist tax for my 13 year old child, although Italy website says under 16s do not have to pay - extra cash for someone then. He nearly gave me a map, then put them away again - so I had to ask for a map. Notice in room mentioned a free breakfast, was told had to walk to a cafe ten minutes away, but this was not mentioned on booking.com, so I thought it was probably some sort of scam. Notice in room said we could leave bags at the hotel on check-out day for free, but when I asked about this, was told NO - I could go to station and pay to leave baggage - I KNOW THAT. What was the point of the notice? Spent very little time at hotel. Thumping music in afternoon and next morning. Horrible bathroom. Piano in room was out of tune.

    Central location near Rialto Bridge.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    7.5
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Totally got ripped off taking a water taxi ($75 for family of 4 for a 3 min ride which was recommended by hotel). Ended up walking from hotel to train station on way back which was a nice walk. One shared bathroom between several rooms wasn't ideal.

    Excellent location. Couldn't get much better than this. You can see the canal from the front door. Large room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.5
    The room was satisfactory for what we needed and central to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the shared bathroom...as you don't always get considerate people who you're sharing with! The small alley way at the entrance to the apartment makes it hard to find without GPS or Google Maps.

    It was close to the Rialto Bridge. The room was very large.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    5.4
    The location was convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They dont have a kitchen or a boiler .... its a shared bathroom that the bath tube is retarded that i actually slip .. ouch!

    The location was convenient

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    5.4
    Not what we had booked!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had booked two quadruple rooms months ago. While already on holiday, I started receiving e-mails that it was not possible to have two quadruple rooms. Instead we could have a triple room or half our our party could stay at an unnamed hotel in the neighborhood. Both of our families have children, so this was not convinient for us. The lady did not give us a believable reason why our booking was changed. Later on she explained that there was a water damage in the second quadruple room. To me this sounded a bit strange, especially since she did not have this explanation in the very first e-mails. The biggest problem was with the man, a staff member, who was waiting for us at the check in. He was very rude and did not understand why we were not happy to have the second family room at a completely different hotel. There was no reduction in the price either. They had probably overbooked the rooms and forced to start looking for another solution for our two families. This was not what we wanted.

    The location was good. A bit hard to find, but close to many sights, shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.1
    Good for those looking for budget Venice accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is in a good location and we received great directions to get to the accommodation from the ferry. The staff were kind enough to store our bags on the day we were leaving as we had a late flight. The accommodation is clean and comfortable but you do not get a lot for your money in Venice. I would recommend the property for others staying a few nights and not requiring too many "frills". We had no complaints.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    6.7
    Fantastic location; fine to sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sheets and towels were not changed for the duration of my stay. To find the property is a bit difficult- it's down an unmarked allyway and there is no signage to say where the hotel is.

    The location in relation to Rialto Bridge is fantastic. The room was very large and I was lucky enough to have my own bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.8
    Great for a quick stop in Venice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I'm not a huge fan of communal bathrooms, but sharing it was never once an issue. There are a lot of stairs, so this would not be an ideal location for someone with a lot of luggage. The small alley that you must use to enter the hotel was a bit unnerving the first time, but we learned to love it once we realized it was safe.

    The staff was very friendly and showed extra concern for us. The location could not have been better. Definitely a good value for the price paid.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    6.3
    Ok I guess but I wouldn't come back
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You guys should really put a sign on the street or something,cause we spent a long time trying to find the place. There was no one at the hotel when we finally found it, so we even had to wait on the street for a while for the guy to come and open the door, even though it was 3 pm. Wifi disconnects and reconnects continuosly. Could feel springs through mattress.

    Clean and not too noisy. It was good cause we were practically alone, just the two of us and another couple. We almost didn't have to wait to use the bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    8.3
    Living in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee making facility in room

    Free breakfast was provided . Very close to Rialto Bridge and water taxi.In a side alley but good instruction provided to find the accomodation.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    7.9
    Perfectly located budget guesthouse in Venice. Would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    -obviously it would be better to have your own bathroom but we knew it was shared when we booked it! It was clean and fine for 1 or nights to share!

    -incredible location close to the Rialto bridge and lots of great restaurants, cafes & shops -spacious comfortable room -smooth and easy check-in by owner with good map provided -breakfast at riverside restaurant -clean room -quiet air con -excellent instructions on how to get there!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    4.2
    To avoid
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    This property needs to be totally refurbished, the common bathroom was just a joke and impossible to use for a child without any supervision , the narrow back street to go to the entrance was dirty and scarying without mentioning the ghastly furniture and the beds ( beds really ??). Noisy street and no double glazed windows . A pity seeing the great situation.

    just the smile of the receptionist and of the cleaning lady who were nice and friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    9.6
    a Short stay with a surprised Perk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect Location for the short Venice walk around. Greta, the staff who met us when we arrive was very helpful. As well the housmaid who cleaned our rooms were nice. We were surprised with a free breakfast offered along the Main Canal at Riva Del Vin Restorante (al fresco) which was not included in our booking. Ciao, Venizia, we will be definitely be back.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    8.3
    In an awesome location, close to the Rialto bridge and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was facing over the street which was a popular passage all hours of the day and could be very noisy at night. The 'double' bed (2 singles pushed together) would seperate and shift every time you moved.

    In an awesome location, close to the Rialto bridge and a good central spot to get to most sites. Breakfast was on the other side of the grand canal, but was very good and filling. The host was great with some useful suggestions.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    10
    Love Venice
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    loved the area...close to San Marco square and Rialto bridge....maps are good...but you'll still get lost ;) it's part of being in Venice...love Venice!!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    7.5
    Recommend for a short family stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is a shared not-very-comfortable bathroom, which is very difficult to keep clean at all times. Also, one night there were some strange noises coming from the pipes. But apart from that it was very quiet indeed. No view at all from the window, but we did not need that.

    Superb location. Very easy to find, close to Rialto and yet very quiet! Phantastic breakfast option, it came as a nice surprise, especially the location of it :) Good, comfortable clean beds. The room was very clean and tidy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    3.8
    Avoid this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon arrival was met by a man who took our full payment for 3 nights. He then came to the door to ask how many nights we were staying. Surely he already knew that as we had just paid him. He then gave us 2 sets of keys. One for our "private"bathroom and one for our room-we had to go outside our room and use another key for our "private" bathroom. He told us if we didn't keep it locked other people might use it. It was about 2.00pm when we arrived and the room was cold so we asked for the remote for the air con which was above a door. We told him we were cold. He told us there is an extra blanket. I showed him a copy of my booking sheet which clearly stated heating and air conditioning and he told us that it was only for certain months of the year. We would have left at this point but it was raining and we were tired, and the man disappeared (and we didn't see him again). On the last night (our third uncomfortable cold night) at about 10.00pm we went to unlock the bedroom door to go to the bathroom. It was jammed. It took about half an hour to eventually unlock the door which was fortunate because we couldn't contact any of the phone numbers on the booking sheet(including the 24 hour number). We slept with the door unlocked because we didn't want to get locked in again. Also we could hear everything going on in the next room. There is a difference between "rustic" and "dodgie" This place is "dodgie". Would never go back.

    It was close to the Rialto Bridge and many cafes.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    5.4
    Lost in the labyrinth of Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't receive any communication from them after sending a couple of emails asking how to get there. It's down a tiny little lane that has no street name on it so it took us ages to find the place, after asking several shop keepers . If they are tucked away in such a tiny place it is imperative they answer emails with explicit directions.

    The location and size of room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    7.5
    The cleaning staff was very kind even though they only spoke...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The man who greeted us seemed very confused. That was concerning. Our door key didnt work well. It also would have been nice to have 2 sets of keys for 2 people.

    The cleaning staff was very kind even though they only spoke Italian. Their kindness and patience was appreciated. The bathroom was clean and other guests were considerate. The directions to arrive were perfect! Fantastically close to shops, food, transport, and the canal!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    10
    Perfect days in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was great.

    Beautifull place in the center of Venice with private pier in the Grand Canal. Russian speaker stuff. Clean, big and nice room. There is included free breakfest in the restourant near Realto bridge.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    10
    Fantastic base to see Venice
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to climb up stairs to get to the place which wasn't clear on the booking page. However the staff were amazing and carried my heavy suitcase so it wasn't an issue in the end.

    Huge room and lovely modern bathroom. Great location close to Rialto bridge and lots of shopping, cafes and ice cream parlours! Very easy to get to from the vaparetto.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    8.3
    Perfectly matches the price
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Pretty hard to find, it would be great to place a more detailed instruction. We've recognized the place from the photo of door after 20 min of search.. As there was no sign anywhere near the door. 2. The only toilet is inside the shared bathroom. So if someone is taking shower... you got me. 3. Windows in our room could not be opened. So no day light and no ventilation. But it's not a big issue unless you are going to sit in the room.

    Perfect location for the price, surprisingly included breakfast, really spacious room, fridge in the room. Very good option for a couple of days.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    9.2
    I love here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is personal area and quiet and have breafas t hotel restaurant at river. It is really nice. I love here. Next time i will back to here. Thank you.

    Location is the best.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    10
    Value place to stay in Venice. Will be back if I could!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The small alley in front of the hotel is quite dark and scary, but it's not dangerous as I thought.

    The room was so big, comfy and clean. Shared bathroom was sooo clean and big. Wifi signal is excellent. Location is superb, rounded by many shops and mall. Easy to travel anywhere. Such a valuable place.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    6.3
    Bed and rooms were basic but comfy enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The presence of a plug in the bath to facilitate having a bath!!! The 15 minute walk to the restaurant for breakfast not before 9.30 !!!

    Bed and rooms were basic but comfy enough

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    8.8
    I like the hotel's proximity to San Marco Square and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No heater in the bathroom but there was one in the common bathroom.

    I like the hotel's proximity to San Marco Square and the Rialto Bridge. I also like the cleanliness of the place.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    6.7
    Great location, alright hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room had no windows. There was no soap at the sink of the shared bathroom. When we brought in a soap bar, and left it there for others to use to was their hands, the cleaning staff kept removing it.

    They had a deal with a restaurant by the grand canal for free breakfast. The view was beautiful. Location was great.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    7.5
    Recommended esp. for Groups or Families travelling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place is very close to the tourist attraction sites, the guest was very accommodating, we got lost on our way to the place and she came and met us.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Residenza Grisostomo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: