Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Al Sole 3 stars

Santa Croce- Fondamenta Minotto 136, Santa Croce, 30135 Venice, Italy

#150 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 378 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    5.4
    Average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark room. 119 overlooking a dingy courtyard where staff were smoking. No bar. Poor breakfast buffet.

    The croissants are great. Good area. Lovely building.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.5
    hotel pleasant, with a wonderful view from our bedroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing to dislike really. TV didn't seem to work, but not a big deal.

    hotel pleasant, with a wonderful view from our bedroom. Staff very helpful and cheerful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.2
    Very convenient and beautiful location in Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The location combines convenience (very easy walking distance from car park and railway station) and enjoyment (on a nice canal and within 20 minutes' walk of Accademia and much of Venice). The rooms are nice and the staff very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little dated...had a hair dryer that was the old-fashion kind but everything was very clean and worked well. Great air conditioning which is important in the older buildings in Italy during the summer!

    Great location! Very close to the train station and it was easy to walk around Venice. The staff was very helpful and friendly!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    Amazing stay at an amazing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dont leave ur breakfast unattended as the pidgeons will try and get it.

    Best croissants i have ever had (and i have tasted many), location was perfect, staff super friendly & helpful and hotel was great, definately recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.1
    A great central location to stay and lovely comforts
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit small and no tea coffee facilities, wardrobe wasn’t big enough to hang clothes in , door then wouldn’t slide shut, no toast option at breakfast,

    staff so polite , very central ,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Great charming hotel at a quiet location yet near the train station, Piazza Roma, etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I f you can handle cooked eggs such as scrambled, etc, that would be an added plus.

    I was very happy with the location, We have been to Venice many times, and Al Solo is nicely furnished, the rooms are big enough, and the location--so close to everything yet off the main tourist walkways was the very best location we have ever had.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.3
    We really enjoyed our stay in Venice and would stay at he Hotel Al Sole again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was very cramped. I couldn’t stand upright in it. The coffee machine in the breakfast room was not as good as at other hotels we stayed at in Italy..

    Our room had a balcony with a wonderful canal view. The room was very clean and the bed comfortable. Very nice breakfast room with an under cover outdoor area to use if you wish. Hotel is a short walk to the train and bus stations. The main attractions are only about 25 minutes away on foot ( but there are several small bridges to cross so if you have any mobility issues you may need to use water transport) The area around the hotel has good restaurants and is not as crowded as the main tourist area which is a welcome relief at the end of the day. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could have been a bit cleaner. The everyday dirt is cleaned, but there are little mouldy places that are harder to reach and also some of the tiles in the roof looked like they need replacement. Also, it is such a beautiful building and a bar inside and space to sit in beautiful facilities, but no bar service. That's a shame

    Quiet location, beautiful building, inside and outside. Very high ceilings and a lovely garden. The staff is also very friendly and helpful. Came here for the 2nd time already and would always recommend it

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.5
    Delightful Venetian hotel in a charming location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    During the 9 days of my stay I was only able to access wiFi twice, and then only briefly. This is not acceptable in the 21st century!

    The location was superb on a quiet canal, not more than 10 minutes walk (and only two bridges) from Piazzale Roma, and about the same distance from the Grand Canal. The room (overlooking the garden courtyard) was extremely quiet and the bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.9
    Venice 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the day before we left we reported to reception that our toilet wasn't flushing. This was fixed but on the last evening we reported that the toilet was again not flushing. However we had to spend all night and until checkout without a flushing toilet because there wasn't a maintenance person on duty out of hours.

    The location was fantastic

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.5
    Staff was great Luca in particular -- set up great tours and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff was great Luca in particular -- set up great tours and recommendations -- The building shows age. Room was sparse. If you dislike noise get an inside room -- the street noise is loud if you are on a canal

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.8
    Perfect Venetian hideaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hotel booklet or information to remind you of check out times, facilities available in room. That really is it

    Loved the chocolate croissants and the bean to cup coffee. We were allocated a gorgeous room overlooking the canal (room 105) and there were complementary drinks in the room fridge. A lovely touch. The hotel were helpful and made a fantastic restaurant recommendation. Loved the location, away from the hussle and bustle of San Marco, but still enough bars and restaurants about that were reasonably priced.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    2.5
    Good business needs good people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Best Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldnt go to the hotel because of a sudden lost of a family member but the manager decided to charge us anyway. He was in his right but I would not recommend to go to such an establishment

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    8.3
    Not perfect, but we'd happily return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - the first room we were allocated felt damp and smelly (but staff re-located us without fuss) - being on the canal-side of the hotel, the noise carried from outside (5am street-sweepers, sometimes late-night passers-by)

    - the pleasant female Receptionist who spoke great English and offered us an alternative room which still had a splendid canal view - the breakfast area was spacious and comfortable - ideal location for visiting Venice (handy for airport bus and waterbus S Toma)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    6.7
    Lovely hotel gear location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That you couldn't get a coffee at the hotel Once breakfast was finished. Would have been good to have access to the coffee machine.

    The location was great. The staff very friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    The bed was super, the staff super helpful, the rooms are a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Best Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was super, the staff super helpful, the rooms are a venetian dream! The eye for details was fantastic and breakfast abundant. I couldn't recommend this place more, wether you're a businessman or a couple looking for a superromantic retreat!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    8.8
    Good breakfast, tea facilities in room, nice view of cana
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit basic for a so called superior room. Shower in bath not very user friendly. No bar.

    Good breakfast, tea facilities in room, nice view of cana

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    9.6
    Great location on ancillary canal but short walk to bridges...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was small but adequate for Venice.

    Great location on ancillary canal but short walk to bridges with access to shops and restaurants. Very walkable from train station with some luggage. Staff was very helpful and breakfast offered good quality and variety.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    5.4
    Near the station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Best Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No WiFi, room not well ventilated and staff refusing even supply of hot water after 9 pm to make tea inside room and with no kettle. Room is so small for the amount your pay for double room.

    Near the station

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.8
    Nice Room, great view, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Best Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not that good. Bad coffee, not what you expect in this category.

    Nice Room, great view, good location. Problem with Wlan was solved uncomplicated.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    4.5
    The room was stuffy and a little smelly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was stuffy and a little smelly. Could not open the windows as the garden was full of mosquetos. Room was hot but no air con as the locals think it cold in October they had only heating. Also very noisy generator on all night made it hard to sleep.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.0
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No internet connection at the hotel while we were there. Hopefully this was temporary as they did have free WiFi.

    We have been there several times and like the area. The reception staff remember us and give us a very nice room. Proximity to Piazzale Roma makes it easy to get a bus to the airport, or to catch a train or vaporetto. Much less touristy than the San Marco area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    Great hotel in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location - within easy walking distance from the station and water bus, although we got a water taxi to/from the airport directly to the hotel. About 20-30 minutes easy walk from St Marks Square so the area not too crowded.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.8
    A gem of a place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar was closed which was a pity because it had a lovely adjoining courtyard where it would have been nice to sit out with a glass of something.

    There was virtually nothing about this hotel that we did not like. The bathroom was a little tired looking but still spotlessly clean. Location and helpful staff more than compensated though.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.6
    Our second visit to this hotel, helpful staff, quiet location but good access to sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A set of luggage scales would have been useful as we were concerned our luggage may be overweight for our flight home.

    Very large quiet room with a lovely bed and a great bathroom

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel, with the friendliest staff, and in a superb location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Literally, nothing.

    This hotel was simply amazing. Me and my girlfriend spent two days in Venice at Hotel Al Sole and had an absolutely wonderful time. The staff was amazingly friendly and not only did the man who greeted us at the reception spoke the 5 languages we spoke, but he gave us great recommendations for either tours to book, restaurants nearby, and other things to do in Venice. The breakfast, included in our price, was served thoroughly from 7am to 10am and was fantastic value for money. The room, on the second floor, had an amazing view of the canal (requested), very clean bathroom, was spacious, quiet, comfortable and air conditioned (if necessary). The hotel is also very easy to get to from the train station and is superbly located in terms of getting to points of interest around Venice. 5 starts, absolutely recommend!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    7.9
    Friendly and comfortable hotel with a choice of bars and restaurants nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the room was clean overall, the window sills and tile borders and radiator in the bathroom were really dusty, and obviously not cleaned regularly (this lowered the standard of cleanliness). Our room wasn't cleaned on one day, so the receptionist had to find us clean towels when we returned in the evening.

    Overall a friendly and comfortable hotel, with easy access to vaporetti and station. Lots of bars and restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    Loved Venice and loved the hotel and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was spacious and the towels were gorgeous! Breakfast was lovely with everything very fresh and best breakfast rolls ever. Location was great for us as not too busy but nice bars and restaurants close by.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    Cosy
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed only one night. The room was clean and quiet and the breakfast very good. I like the terrace where you can eat outside and the old-fashioned furniture. The staff was very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    The hotel was right by canal and plenty of resturants around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was right by canal and plenty of resturants around. Beautiful garden. Great location, only 5 min walk to people mover which took us direct to port.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.8
    Very convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both wifi and satellite TV reception unreliable.

    Very convenient location. Room surprisingly generous by Venice hotel standards. Nice courtyard and guest lounge areas.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    6.3
    Great Location and character near a very quiet canal, close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower runs between hot and cold, no bar open, breakfast selection poor, fridge in room not very cold. Air conditioning not working consistently

    Great Location and character near a very quiet canal, close to shops and restaurants, friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    4.2
    There are better places in venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast and wifi keeps disconnecting..room and toilet not so clean and there was a leak in toilet chair, room not sound proof also

    Not far from main station and water bus

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.6
    Good breakfast buffet and a nice garden to sit and eat it in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast buffet and a nice garden to sit and eat it in. Lovely view from the front of the hotel and everywhere is air conditioned. Also very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.3
    Al Sole, a hotel and position to enjoy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I like the British tea and coffee making facility in your room but this does not seem to be the norm in Italy but hell, the lack of it wont spoil this hotel or Venice.

    Very good continental breakfast in the lovely courtyard/garden; a downside, you shared the garden with the pigeons, quaint but not very healthy I would think. The building is a beautiful 15c palazzo and has managed to keep its rustic, historical charm. very convenient for some good restaurants and a decent little bar next door. Just a 10 minute walk from the railway station and airport shuttle bus. go in with your eyes open and you will enjoy the Al Sole hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.6
    Good self service breakfast and a good variety of good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Having to shoo off the pigeons at breakfast in the courtyard.

    Good self service breakfast and a good variety of good restaurants very close. Especially Pizzeria Dolphin about 100m away

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    We were in Venice 5 years ago and loved Hotel Al Sole so much, we booked again this year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Personally, I would have preferred cut up fresh fruit as opposed to the whole fruit they offered and more of a selection, but that was a very minor thing.

    The staff was fantastic about giving restaurant ideas, helping to locate places we wanted to go, calling to make various reservations, etc. They knew us when we walked in the front door and were always very welcoming. They even knew what room keys to give us! The hotel itself is so charming, it's hard NOT to love it! We had a driver drop us at the bus station area and it was a close walk to the hotel. When leaving, the hotel arranged a water taxi for the six of us which picked us up right in front of the hotel and took us straight to the airport. This was a second stay at this hotel for us.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.2
    Location on a quiet canal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Location was excellent, not far to grand canal, train station and bus station to airport ... only 3 bridges to bus station and 4 to train station. Quiet and on a canal. Rooms with window onto the canal, bar next door for coffee and drinks, all good. Breakfast in the garden. Rooms ok and staff friendly and helpful. Great place to stay, recommend.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.8
    Stay in a palace! Great location, great staff , could improve breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be improved just by changing a few basics. Lots of choice but poor quality food and drink. Squash not pure fruit juice and poor quality bread/ croissants particularly spoiled it for us. It was noisy late at night with revellers but that is a risk you take with a canal view!

    . Staff were very informative and helpful, particularly as we were first time visitors to Venice. The recommendations we received were spot on. Location - 5 minutes walk from Piazza Roma and 15 from St Marks - perfect for us. Old characterful hotel if a little tired

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    7.0
    Worth the money, but not luxury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower water was totally unpredictable - at times hot, then within seconds, cold! Also, being at the front of the hotel we were awoken very early (around 5.30 a.m.) by the noise of things being off-loaded from working boats, be it rubbish collection, or builders' items.... I would opt for a room further back in the hotel given a choice.

    We have stayed in this hotel previously and when we mentioned this, we were upgraded to a superior room. The bed was very comfortable, both large and with superb mattress. The hotel is on a small canal and is easily reached from the Piazalle Roma on foot.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    8.8
    Staff, room size and location were excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed and pillows were hard and breakfast was limited, better bread for toasting would make a big difference.

    Staff, room size and location were excellent

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Best Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi can be better.

    My second stay at this hotel. The staff is great! They are really helpfull and very kind. The rooms are clean. The hotel is nearby the the train, bus and ferry station.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    7.9
    Good but could be fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    limited selection at breakfast Shower inconsistently scalding hot or freezing cold. Noisy bar next door

    Lovely building great location Nice staff Garden would be a lovely spot in summer

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    7.9
    Sunny Al Sole
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too hard! Far too hard and uncomfortable.

    Good location, 5 minute walk from bus stops. Many bars/restaurants on same street. Large rooms, very good heating (we stayed late November), good breakfast, very helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    9.6
    The prime room overlooking the canal was first class....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was a little limited...orange juice was just average...coffee machine was not at its prime

    The location was great; close to the train and bus station, and restaurants and shops were nearby

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    7.5
    Wonderful situation but left us feeling a little disgruntled
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Toiletries were not replaced when used. We were billed for drinks we had not consumed. Final price much more than anticipated as we had to pay in euros and sterling had devalued. Also shower very cramped

    Position was wonderful. Staff helpful. Breakfast plentiful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    10
    Peaceful Quiet Setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing not to like. Because of the electrical problem delay for a day, both our room in Hotel Al Sole and our room in Bellini Hotel were upgraded at not cost.

    Location was peaceful, quiet, and off the beaten path. We were given a room looking out over the canal in front, which was a very pleasant view. The hotel had an electrical problem on our floor, and put us up in the Bellini Hotel right at the train station for one night. Although the Bellini was in a very noisy area, it was a nice, comfortable hotel also.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    10
    Delighted with our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lovely staff and they were extremely helpful.The hotel is in a quiet part of Sante Croce. A delightful area to walk around with some lovely small shops. The station is within easy reach. There are several good restaurants nearby. The breakfast provided an excellent choice to cater for all tastes. The bed was the most comfortable of all hotel beds we have slept in and the linen was very clean and fresh. We would recommend it.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    9.2
    A lovely hotel in a lovely part of a lovely city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful reception staff, lots of good advice. Friendly and efficient chambermaids and breakfast staff. The water-taxi trip to Murano was a very welcome bonus. A nice quiet part of Venice but close to everything and, especially usefully, to the airport bus stop...

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    10
    The latest return to our favourite hotel in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just one slight observation in that the choice of food at breakfast is fairly limited compared to other hotels we have stayed at in Italy.

    We have stayed at the Hotel many times and will do so again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.2
    Fantastic hotel with lovely rooms and decor, pefectly located, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Hotel bar was not open during our visit and it would have been a lovely attraction.

    Great sized room with fantastic view, very clean and all staff were very polite & helpful. Breakfast was simple, but ample and good, Hotel Al Sole made our stay in Venice a lovely experience and we look forward to visiting again and we would not hesitate to stay at Hotel Al Sole.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Great hotel, comfortable rooms, location great for all travel options.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location, historic building, great breakfast, comfortable bed and very helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Return Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic location,wonderful staff,excellent breakfast ,our room overlooked the canal

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.2
    Great location,helpful staff ,adequate breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location,helpful staff ,adequate breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.5
    will be repeated if possible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wifi and hairdryer

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.5
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.9
    Venice Break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location - close to Grand Canal & bus station/rail station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Most welcome staff, helpful in every way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing.

    Cannot go wrong .Easy access from bus/rail station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.1
    Back alley view meant no reason to open curtains
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Back alley view meant no reason to open curtains

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    Great staff - very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great staff - very helpful. Wonderful room. The presence of an elevator was unexpected and really appreciated.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    Nice Hotell close walk to mainland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    cold room

    Nice Hotell close walk to mainland

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    4.2
    Very much a "take it or leave it" operation.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Best Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No service offer beyond reception and basic breakfast. Hard beds and pillows. Poor heating control.

    Location in relation to getting in and out

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.3
    Breakfast was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no kettle in the room. The room with a canal view is noisy.

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    8.3
    Courtyard was lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower pressure was terrible

    Courtyard was lovely

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.6
    Location,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Best Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pigeons at at breackfast area .

    Location, Breakfast, The front desk personal allways ready to help and very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    Amazing water view, Fantastic location, comfortable rooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing water view, Fantastic location, comfortable rooms and clean. Breakfast was good too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.5
    Nice place, excellence location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was not working for the entire stay.

    Great location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel for easy access from airport and access to interesting part of Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit a plain and bare.

    Location, nice terrace for drinks and breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable bedding cover

    Excellent staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    8.3
    Lovely staff and nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con wasn't working properly and neither was wifi

    Fab breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic location and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location and value for money

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    My fourth excellent stay at Al Sole
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff are absolutely great , a mine of helpful information they are always seeking ways to make your stay in Venice special.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.8
    Outstanding staff! Nice, comfortable hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, that we cannot take taxi to get there! Had to take water taxi and it's expensive!

    Room was great! Love the living room!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    8.8
    Value in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not much

    Location, location, location

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: