Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Altavilla 2 stars

Via Principe Amedeo 9/B, Central Station, 00185 Rome, Italy

#892 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 954 hotel reviews

6.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.2

  • Comfort

    5.3

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    5.4

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    6.2

  • Free WiFi

    6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is super small, you can hardly fit in the shower If you have the door of the bathroom open you don’t fit inside. The beds were super hard and the room super small. Don’t bring too many suitcases cause they wont fit. The hotel is very old and the breakfast was horrible. We ate breakfast outside every day cause the breakfast was not edible. The front desk service was horrible they were rude. The only people that were nice was the cleaning ladies.

    The location only

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old furniture in the room, bathroom with very old water tap at washbasin.

    Very well position, we was able to reach almost all Rome attractions without any public transport - and we was with 2 kids. A big 10 for the lady who give assistance for guests durring brakfest.Like a conclusion...if you are not to exigent and you are not looking for to much self confort it's a good place to stay for maximum 3-4 days.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is very uncomfortable. TV close to the ceiling, but the room is so small that you cannot watch it from any decent distance, so you have to keep looking up, or lie in bed. The bathroom could not have been much bigger than 2 square metres. Very difficult to regulate the temperature of the water in the shower. It took forever to become hot and then it was too hot.

    Location is good. I had to be near the station as I was spending the night and had to be early at the Termini station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dark and damp, the bathroom and toilet are not clean, the hairdryer was broken, and breakfast was poor

    The location was near only within walking distance to Termini station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I requested for Wheelchair Accessible room. Was not provided. Inspite of declared amount they charged 6 € as special tax, by threatening me of police. Will request Booking.com to take this seriously.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't expect much from a budget hotel but this place is at the bottom. The toilet was in the shower. The hair dryer ran whenever the bath light was on. Ceiling fan was to noisy to sleep and had 1 bare bulb hanging. The floors were filthy ( you should see my white socks). The worst was finding a bath towel in between the sheets!!! Complaints at the desk got a shrug as he suddenly didn't understand any English. The same guy that checked us in.

    It was close to the train station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the receptionists is very rude. He gives unclear information and refused to talk to me. Another receptionist, however, was very friendly and more than helpful. So good luck! The breakfast is very basic and the room for breakfast can't accommodate everybody at peak times. You are served one very good coffee/cappuccino per breakfast, a second seems a bit too much to ask for. There is mint tea, but I could not find any black tea. The lady who takes care of the breakfast is very, very friendly and does her best to please everyone, but has not much possibilities and is too busy as she even has to do the dishes at the same time she is making coffee and setting the tables. My room was very tiny, although it was meant for two there was just enough space for my little trolley.

    Cleanliness.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in the private bathroom was very small and often switch between hot and cold water by itself.

    Breakfast is very filling. The lady at the bar at breakfast is very funny. All the staff is friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was a bit chaotic when crowded. Heating did not come on until late so the room was a bit cold.

    Comfortable beds. Good value for money includes breakfast. A very cheerful lady in the breakfast room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath was small and the shower was barely working. The hairdryer wasn't working at all.

    I liked the location. It is very near Termini train station and very close to Colloseum.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was really cold in the night, no slippers and the floor is also very cold, air con is not for free despite mentioning it in the facility list

    Excellent location, friendly staff, comfy bead, low price

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Me and other rooms in the floor have complaint about another that was having a party all night long for two days. The last day there was not hot water in the shower. There was not wi fi in my room, only in the lobby...

    Best coffee I tried in Italy. The lady preparing it is very kind and is an expert.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was so hard and there was no shower just a bath which was fine for 1 night. You could smell cigarette smoke right through out.

    The location close to termini station.Reception was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty and tiny and noisy. Almost no facilities! We were informed that breakfast will be served until 10am. When we come down at 9.30 am, no food was left and we have nothing to eat. We can't sleep and eventhough we paid in full for 2 nights, we had to book another hotel for the 2nd night.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    only the weak water but overall it was a good stay with them.

    receptionist are nice.special mention to vito and ms.simona for catering us upon arrival.she didnt let us wait for a long time and yet told us to proceed in our room😁

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is an old hotel, so please don't expect an extravagant room. If you plan to travel on a budget, this is a great place.

    You can't expect a lot for a 2 Star Hotel....but, for Altavilla... you can expect a very good and warm hospitality from them. Make sure that you too initiate the kindness and respect and they would be very well exceed your expectations. My family and me were very very happy to have stayed at the hotel. it is worth the money, which is very very cheap if you are travelling with 3 children, and the room is comfortable. It is really close to Roma Termini station and food is easily found anywhere. I big and warm thanks to the hotel staff especially the very nice lady taking care of our breakfast in the morning. She will great you and make you feel at home. My family loved the hospitality very much. The hotel staff at the reception are nice and understand the needs of travelers with family, such as checking-in early, check-out and deposit your luggage, inform you of surrounding places, etc. Most importantly I think, to show them kindness and respect first, then they will treat you in kind.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no heater in the room, my children froze through the night, the beds were as hard like a rock. We moved out the next day to another place.will not recommend this place.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had problems with the bathroom,so we asked for another room,they gave us a better one.They didn't have blankets so we were cold at night.

    The stuff was very nice,location is extremely good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi does not work Hidden City Tax to pay cash not with credit card or you will get addition fee to pay that tax with credit card

    Small room If you will rely on WiFi at the hotel for any particular reason, this hotel is not your place to stay at. Great location, less than 5 min away from Termini, Rome main train and bus station

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was basic we only went once for breakfast and nothing left.

    The locations brilliant staff very friendly and helpful Hotel organised taxi from and to airport brilliant stress free thank you

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole hotel needed refurbishment. Very old and worn out. Hard beds, no working sink plugs, no safe deposit, broken draws, no kitchen, cold breakfast only, only one lift for 5 floors. I would have moved if I had not been with a large group of friends.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean, old and graffitied. Didn't look anything like the pictures and so not worth €140 a night. Bathroom was horrible and sheets were dirty.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet is slow and hard to connect. There is humidity smell in some areas. Our room was facing the street and was very noisy. Breakfast is limited to drinks, bread butter and jelly.

    Eccelent location. The rooms, bathrooms and linens were very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    BEWARE: IT IS NOTHING LIKE IT SAYS IN DESCRIPTION AND PHOTOS (as of 09.2017) Bathroom was extremely small and dirty (due to the building being really old). Walls were made out of paper and you could easly hear guests from other rooms especially noises from the bathroom (all of them). Wifi was almost non-existing and due to the fact that most rooms face the inside of the backyard it was really dark even at 9 in the morning. One of the rooms had constant buzzing sound coming from behind the wall and we had to change it after first night. It felt dirty, old and unhealthy. Oh and the big 3 persons room had only 2 power plugs. One of them being in the bathroom. We were considering cancelling the rest of reservation but it would be extremely pricy solution. Breakfest was served by nice lady but the selection of food was awful. Old bread, cereals, small jam and not enough space to sit.

    Location and great staff. Thats about it

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold breakfast. Dirty toilet facilities. Toilet inside the shower. Filthy walls. Hot water not working in shower. The sinks and taps were unclean.

    Location was perfect. Near the train station

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small room and bathroom

    We missed breakfast, so cannot comment. Staff were really nice. Room was extremely small, bathroom was also, but for location and friendliness, a great place

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything except the location. Even so, the quality of the accommodation and attitude of staff were not worth the low price and good location. First, there was no hot water. We suspected that the tap was turned off because when we tried to turn from cold water to hot water, nothing came out. When there was no hot water, the water was not only freezing cold, but the pressure was also very low. A group of fellow tourists complained to the receptionist but he did not do anything to resolve the problem. On the first night, the receptionist said that it was because too many people were using the boiler at the same time so we let it go. And on the next morning, he said that the city government was messing with it. At times, hot water did come back. It felt like a miracle and everyone was rushing to shower fearing that it would be gone again. Second, there was no internet in room. If there was, the connection was super slow. Only one or two gadgets could be connected at the same time. Third, the lighting was horrible. Our main light went off on the second day and we had to live with side lamps for the next two days. Fourth, there was no airconditioing in the room. The receptionist told us we had to pay 15euros per night for that. It was ridiculous because it was stated on the website that there is airconditioning. Fifth, the complimentary breakfast was horrible. Even the coffee from the vending machine tastes better than the one you get from the free breakfast service. Breakfast was simpler than simple. In short, do not expect anything similar to those shown in the picture.

    The location is great - 5 minutes walk from Roma termini and near many tourist attractions.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was very small, not very clean, the WIFI didn´t work on the room.

    The location of the hotel is very close to the main station and close to restaurants

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower doesn't working properly. Aircon is for money, fan too noisy, you can hear everything around the room (when someone is washing in another room in the night, for example).

    Good location near central railway station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was smaller than the pictures depicted. Bathroom smelled bad. Little to no water pressure. The breakfast was bread or pastry if you were the first one there. A/C was extra. Was supposed to get a fridge but they never brought it to the room and every time I asked about it they said talk to their colleague. On top of all of that the last night we were there my wife got bit 30+ times by something while we were sleeping.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice people, smily and always available to help you. Honest fair prices & comfort room. Super location, close to Termini the central station (easy access to trasportation) and safe quite at the same time. Value for money definitely.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - No wifi and if any just in the lobby and barely working - Beds are not comfortable at all - 2 nights out of 4, there was no hot water and when asked the reception they said maybe other rooms are using the water - First night spent in a humid room with bathroom leaking water and when asked to change the room, they said we have to wait until morning and that i was our fault that we did not come early. When we asked for our money back and that we need to leave (after 30 minutes only) they said that they have to charge us for one night and it was around 11 pm so it was too late for us to find another hotel at that time - Staff were very rude - They charge you 10-15 euro per night if you want to use the air conditioner - We left our luggage for 50 minutes after check out and they charged us 8 euro for small bags - They took 3 euro city tax per person per night

    - The price compared to other hotels in the same area and in Rome in general. But i will not compromise on my comfort another time. - Location is great walking distance from Roma Termini Stazione, Metro, Hop on Hop off points etc.. - Breakfast was good compared to the hotel experience

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Was loud on my floor from 6am in the mornings, seemed like furniture was being moved and people were talking very loudly.

    There are many bad reviews about this property, but it is not bad at all as the reviews suggest. The hotel is in a safe location, good for solo travellers. Good wi-fi signal in the room, very clean and tidy room. Breakfast was good, staff friendly and helpful. The location was excellent, less than 5 mins walk from Termini, many restaurants, shops nearby, close to Colosseum (20 mins walk).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Old and partly damaged funiture, old room decorations. The wool blanket provided was really old and had some holes in it. The breakfast was bad (poor variety of food, the food is not tasty at all). The coffee was terrible (which is quite surprising for Rome where coffee is great everywhere).

    Nice staff, excellent location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Size of room was very small and bed was not comfortable.

    Hotel is located very near to Rome termini station about 5 min walking from station.Many popular attractions colossium ,palatine hill are on walking distance from hotel.Staffs were quite helpful and nice.They provided detail information about city and public transport.Good option if you are looking for budget hotel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simonetta at breakfast just made the whole hotel experience comfortable by her warm and friendly welcome. I normally do not book hotels much i hate the cold and miserable atmosphere that exudes from the staff especially at breakfast or any other dining times. But simonetta brought a smile to our face! I would stay again just for her.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had mold in our bathroom and by the windows. We booked a quad room and it was definitely not actually a quad room. It did have 4 twin beds; however, one was placed under the refrigerator, where one of my kids hit their heads. Also, that bed was placed right by the window with mold on it. We only stayed 2 days, and all felt sick after. We ask the front desk if could be moved because of the mold, but they said no.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed should be upgraded with a better ones! ;-)

    I have read so many negative comments about this hotel hence I decided to book with them on my recent Rome trip. I found that it was great value for the money that you spent. The room is spacious enough for me with attached bathroom and shower. Housekeeping were done daily. There is an elevator to each floors. Staffs was friendly enough to answer questions regarding Rome etc. Location wise was great and easily accessible with the Metro A and B line, city buses, regional trains as well as buses to the airport. It is even located 10mins walk to the city centres and all the attractions. Breakfast was average with selection of pastries and coffee/tea but the breakfast lady who handled the session was very chatty and informative. Makes you feel welcome at home.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel has only a good looking out-gat everything els was very old and not cared of. The bed Matraz has a groov in the middl. The bed was i think 110cm in spite of that i have choosed 2 single beds it was even not a double bed! !!! The walls were with mold. The window needs repair i could not open it the Handle was defek. There was no certain! There was also a camera attached to the tv!!!!!! The door of the Toilet was also broken you can't lock it . The Hair dryer was only a tube!!! and the room was not really clean. The Photos that we see online were not the real photos of the Hotel. I will never come back to this hotel or recommend it. I have talked with tha reception if we got an other room he can very bad english he couldn't explain the problem to me in English he has talked a little bit english and the rest in Italian what i don't understand! But i could understand that i have to accept the room because ther is not an other one available. I have called the reception also from the room and no one answered!!! I can surly give the hotel -1 stars

    I don't recommend the hotel

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    hardly any wifi signal in room and very uncomfortable mattress. Very limited breakfast. Bathroom towel railing was rusted.

    Very friendly stuff and central location.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room heating on timer - not on during day and possibly alternative hours at night. Very cold room on tile floor. Staff were not helpful in regards to poor room heating. Limited options for breakfast.

    Location - very close to train terminal, and city. Walking distance to city centre tourist attractions. (Only needed metro ticket to Vatican on one day). Good WiFi.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    close to the train station so easy to get to and leave rome to go to other places. the location its self is good as walking distance to many sights or if you need close to the metro , trams , buses. good restaurants and mini marts nearby for food etc. room was a good size .

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough heating in the rooms for winter. No shower curtain. Door didn't lock properly. Some bedlights didn't work. One of the beds felt like it was broken

    Breakfast was nice

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The breakfast is poor - more wide selection is appropriate and definitely in need of more staff during breakfast to change tableware and prepare for next guests.

    The location is excellent - close to Termini station so once you arrive, it's a 10 minute walk to the hotel - no hassle

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel definitely needs updating. During our stay: the lift didn't work, the key lock in our door broke and the heating was poor at best! Given that it was winter, we would have appreciated warmth indoors or at least a duvet but all we had was a flimsy blanket. Complaints and requests fell on deaf ears! Staff were unwilling to concede that the lack of heating was unacceptable and it took about 4 hours to find one extra blanket!! Breakfast was very basic and wifi was only available in the cold and tiny lobby downstairs. There was also no fridge in the room despite the info online and request for one. We were refused any sort of compensation for shivering indoors!!

    Location is the only positive really. Very central and easy walking distance to most sights

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wi fi connection was on and off. Breakfast is not good. City tax was not mentioned here in Booking.com which was 3 Euro per person per night. Keeping us informed about this would be a good idea. For keeping the luggage for few hours after checkout, we had to pay money.

    Liked the Location. Some of the Staffs were good

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was a bit disappointing, juice and coffee were from a machine and no black tea. Bread was very hard and there isn't much selection if you cone later.

    Great location, next to lots of restaurants and walking distance to the main termini train station. Staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The disgusting hotel

    Filthy smelly bathroom. In one of the bathrooms the toilet was actually in the shower cubicle so when you used the shower the toilet roll got wet. No WiFi signal. Rubbish breakfast. Would never recommend to anyone

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Toilet and shower room tatty ,flaking and broken fittings.Lack of natural light in bedrooms ,gloomy.Reception staff not very helpful .Very basic breakfast.

    Excellent coffee,nice lady organizing breakfast.Closeness to the train station.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic room with older furnishings - definitely could use some updating. Our next time in Rome, we'll spend a little more and stay elsewhere.

    In a decent location if you like to be walking distance to the train station (as we needed to be). Staff were pleasant and it worked for us to have 24-hour front desk.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic rooms and bathroom No water pressure and hot water in taps and shower Very basic breakfast (better off eating out).

    Right near the central station and only short journey to major sights. Decent WiFi in the rooms

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was to small for four people . One bed was put in front of the wardrobe so it could not be used . Shouldn't be advertised as a four person room. Shower head broken told staff nothing done

    Location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Generally hotel above average, great location about 3 minutes from metro, young man in reception was very helpful, room was clean in 75 %, nice bathroom, anyway good quality for good money.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very run down and noisy didnt get much sleep the beds were very old and extremely unconfortable the worst ive ever slept in. shower was broken too and kept losing water pressure

    location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Less than helpful staff mostly, only one person during my 6 day stay smiled. Poor shower pressure, noisy exhaust fan. Uncomfortable bedding

    You get what you pay for. Good location to transport. Room clean

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Photos are extremely misleading. There was no double bed as per by booking, TV didnt work and no air conditioning either. Also Wifi only worked intermittently due to there not being sufficient capacity to meet demand.

    The location was close to the station.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is shut down in the room between 1:00-5:00 in the morning. Hairdryer, safe was broken. Small choice of breakfast. If you want to store your luggage after Check out, you have to pay a little fee. Fresh towels was not clean.

    Okay for a short stay. Good location, very nearly to Termini. Nice Service staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was terrible, was not clean all the walls of the room were very dirty also the bedroom is not as the image that are in the description. This hotel is very expensive because is very ugly. The people that work there are not gentle the only person nice was the lady that serves the breakfast. The internet sucks. And they have a policy that you can not keep the key when you leave the hotel

    The only thing that I like in this hotel was the lady that serves the breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Untidy, smelly room.... Bathroom standard very very poor. WiFi poor and we were told that it is limited ..... Well to start with the owner of the restaurant and the front end customer service needs some manners in talking. I wanted to enquire why do I need to pay for the air conditioner...for which he basically started to shout. So other people joined in as well to say we can't do it as we have to do it for all....although when booking with booking.com it did mention free air condtioner....I was not alone , pretty much everyone were complaining about the excess charges... In all at least some manners and customer service would help....

    The only friendly person was the lady doing the morning breakfast...

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quadruple room was much smaller, than it was on the photos. Toilet and shower rooms have screens instead of doors, so you can hear everything from the toilet. Breakfast is a joke! Had problems with wi-fi, even staff couldn't get his own email.

    Location is great! Having your hotel around the Termini station really helps a lot.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many things: Staff was not freindy, specially one of the recption guys (the indian guy),moreover he was very rude. We checked in without a hello! (He was talking to his family on phone) !!! No clean towels and no room cleaning everyday, only you get some cubes of solid soap per day! Uncomfortable bath room, poorly connecting internet, broken remote control for tv, non-responding reception to phone calls, very old refrigerator. Small area for breakfast, and the quality of breakfast is not what you see in the pictures.plastic tables and chairs. And just one worker for providing the breakfast. see my uploaded images.

    Just the location! Access to station and historical city center.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very bad hotel staf and I paid 15 Euro more to be able to use the A/C in my room. the bad and room is very small and the toilet is very old and dirty

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charged me more than what they advertised, I paid cash in full for my stay on arrival, I was advised that was it and I had nothing more to pay, however I was charged again on checking out. Crooked! 😳 On this basis what appears good value actually isn't. Far better just selecting a hotel room or apartment that you like, even if it appears more expensive, it might be a better option in overall value for money and be somewhere that your actually comfortable staying.

    Location was very good, that was the only thing that was good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pay extra for air con & facilities in room & bathroom either didn't work or not very good. I.e. no shower curtain & some lights didn't work.

    Location & staff good. Breakfast was ok & all you need when pizza everywhere

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning needs to pay 15 euro per night but it shd be included in the price Got bite in the hotel and it's still itchy now Not reli recommend

    Air conditioning is good after u pay for it Location is good

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a nightmare! The toilets were in the shower. One of the bed was like a camp bed, the mattress was so damaged that they had to add a little foam one on the top. No wardrope or fridge. Noisy because of poor sound isolation inside the hotel.

    The location of the hotel is good, near train/bus station and 10 to 15 min walking from interesting touristic places. The staff is nice and smiling.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra charge for air condition. The stuff was rude, not helpfull and always frowning. The rooms and the hotel was old. And no stairs to take it only the elevator to get to the rooms. So each time need to wait for 5 minutes to take the elevator.

    The location is near the tirmini. Easy location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you want to use air condition you need to pay 15 euro one night,but the information if room says the hotel has prepare air condition,is not the real!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty laundry in hallway all day while cleaning. Old decor and quilt not so clean. Charge extra for air con when we arrive and rooms aren't that cheap. You can get better value for money in the area. Walls we're also dirty and stained in room

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV was not working... Room was not nice..... Air conditioner was not include......differently from reservation... Luggage store cost 4 Euros. definitely not a good quality/price deal

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking said my room had a fridge which it did not. The room was small and dark and run down. Bed was not comfortable

    The lady in the breakfast room who made coffee was amazing

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of room

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness and badly needs a remodel!!

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photos are tricky, has just enough to sleep.

    Good location. the breakfast girl very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room humid smells old old old bathroom not clean toilet Needs upgrade big time

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Altavilla traveller photo gallery