Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Amalia Vaticano 3 stars

Via Germanico 66, Vatican City - Prati, 00192 Rome, Italy

#376 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 705 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.6
    Amazing location, staff was great and welcoming, room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We skipped the breakfast as we found it a little expensive (however I dont know if it’s worth the money) and the shower was VERY small, so if you have a larger frame you would probably want to upgrade above the deluxe/standard room (which is only 10€ a night, so it’s ok). Also, the interior and bathroom is very dated - some people might think it’s part of the charm, which I guess it is as it’s an old building, but a fresh coat of paint and some new amenities in the bathroom wouldn’t hurt :)

    Amazing location, staff was great and welcoming, room was very clean and spacious (+ a ton of storage) and the bed was very big and comfortable. Excellent value for money and the drinks and snacks were same price as in the small shops, so you definitely don’t feel like they are trying to make money off you. Also, the receptionist was very kind to tell us which restaurants to avoid because they charge overprice etc.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.8
    A good budget hotel, amazingly located
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All that saved this trip from becoming a nightmare rather than a very pleasant experience to was that I use my special toiletries (Shampoo, Bath gel, Toothpaste etc etc) so I travel with them, they were not available in the room, well shampoo sachet and a soap was, but looking at them I would not use them. So someone who doesn't travel with these they would have to buy it from the many shops all around which are close early in the night, so like my flight was late and it could become a problem. Like I chose not to pack aspirin and I couldn't find any. So I have to do the night with a headache and get the medicine in the morning.

    A good budget hotel, really authentic Italian culture feel, friendly staff, restaurants all around the place for blocks after block, you can walk into Vatican well within 5 mins and a little over to Tiber. Also if you wanna explore, a lot of attractions are very close, so walk around a bit and explore the city.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    Good breakfast, nice room, everything was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our plane was delayed and we arrived at night. We couldn’ t get in, the door was closed and the phone was busy. But 5 min later it was ok.

    Good breakfast, nice room, everything was clean. Location is also great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very close to the Vatican city , area was fairy clean and safe. hotel owner was very good to us and very honest person.could maybe have showers a little larger and cleaner.. But this is Rome most hotels are small.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.6
    Bed is comfy and a 3 bedroom roomis perfect for family of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast hallway is too small i think it can only accomodate 10-12 pax& food is quite ok

    Bed is comfy and a 3 bedroom roomis perfect for family of 3-4 pax. Toilet is clean & big. Location is very near to vatican museaum & st peter basilica church 8-10 mins walk only

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.7
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room has only a small window to the interior yard. dark even in day time. shower cubicle too small. building is not a dedicated hotel, Evening staff do not speak English

    location comfortable room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    The room was spacious and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was spacious and clean. Location was terrific, right next to the Vatican and the metro station. Plenty of great places to eat nearby. Staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    Overall it's a good stay at a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom and shower is so small and narrow . Bad view from room and noisy

    Great location. Very close to Vatican square. Restaurants and groceries nearby, and the metro. Nice breakfast spread

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    I only booked it for my wife but I ended up loving my stay in Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hot water was extremely slow coming but then was good & hot. Just be patient.

    It was exactly what I wanted for Rome - quaint old place well maintained and in a great location. Restaurants and shops starting outside the door. Easy walk to the Vatican and Rome. Tram line just around the corner. I'd stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.5
    They were really friendly and gave us recommendations for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was overall nice, the shower was a bit old and my husband had problems fitting in it 😂 WARNING about taxis: if you’re arriving to the airport the taxi drivers will try to rip you off. They were charging people between 60€ and 100€ from the Ciampino airport when it’s supposed to be 30€, they just didn’t care, shrugged it off and said do you want to go to your hotel? I would have taken public transport into the city but we arrived at midnight and all public transport was closed. Next time I would arrange a taxi with the hotel to pick us up. ALSO: have breakfast where you see other Italians having breakfast bc so many places will overcharge for it. There’s a good breakfast place near the hotel but ask the hotel for recommendations please!

    They were really friendly and gave us recommendations for restaurants and etc. Its location was close to the metro station and we used the metro a lot. ADVICE about metro: use exact change or the machines will keep it. We saw so many people waiting for change and never getting it. The hotel is really close to the Vatican - 10min walk and we enjoyed walking to the city center from the hotel as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.9
    Location location location: A short stroll to the majestic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location location location: A short stroll to the majestic St Peter's square and the Vatican Museums. Ottaviano Metro station is just round the corner, which is always handy. Plenty of Gelato options in the vicinity! Try Lemongrass.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.1
    Poor hotel ,should be 1 star rated , good location , will NEVER use again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic hotel , reception on ground floor but rest of it seems to be 4th floor and above. The only common area is the smallest breakfast in the world. Tiny tables , capacity is about 12 persons very close together . Workmen used lift to carry bags of concrete to lower floor so we couldn't use it some of the time. Paper pealing of bedroom wall . Night porter shouted at my wife for asking for help due to 4 th floor access door locked .

    staff are great, but the night porter is not nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Best hot
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was for a larger than normal person. I would lose weight for this place! It was excellent.

    Breakfast was a good value for 7 euros per day. Neighborhood is excellent for shopping and 3 blocks from the Vatican Museums entrance!!! Would suggest a room with your own bathroom. Great booking.com results yet again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.8
    Good stay in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We would have appreciated coffee/ tea making facilities. There is enough space to add it. Pillows a bit soft and flat.

    The room is nice and big. Staff very friendly. Having a lift in an old building was a bonus. Very close to Vatican city, metro station and lots of shops, restaurants nearby. We were able to check inn early, which was very nice after a long flight. Thank you very much. We enjoyed our stay and would stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Very big and nice rooms, huge matrimonial bed, great bathroom (plenty of space, hot water all the time). The rooms were cleaned daily, including sheets. The personnel was very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.6
    Really good short stay in Rome - great hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only gripe was the lack of plug sockets - we only had one working in the room to charge phones from etc and we had to unplug the lamp to use that one!

    Location is excellent - close to Ottaviano Metro station, excellent restaurants and shopping, and literally a stone’s throw from the Vatican Museum and St. Peter’s Basilica. We ate all the gelato we could but be sure to try Lemongrass (two locations equidistant from the hotel) as it’s the best we found! Really nice that on arrival the room was ready for us even though we were five hours early and that they’d upgraded us to a view of St. Peter’s.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Very pleasant with excellent location. We would definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only small negative was our room was first in the hallway, so early in the morning and later at night it became apparent the entry buzzer and cleaning closet were on the other side of our bed headboard. So anyone being buzzed in woke us up.

    The Junior Suite was perfect for us, traveling with our college aged daughter. It gave us extra room and separation without needing to book 2 rooms. Breakfast staff were exceptionally kind as were the cleaning staff. The various people at the front desk were also kind and helpful with local information and assistance booking transportation to and from the airport.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    6.7
    Very good location to metro station, Vatican museums and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. Poor breakfast, not a 3*! 2. No sound insulation 3. No charging! at night period.

    Very good location to metro station, Vatican museums and shopping street.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    6.7
    Indifferent stay.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was so small, you couldn’t bend over to pick up something you dropped. Breakfast served in the same hall as rooms makes it noisy starting at 5:30 am so don’t stay here if you wish to sleep later than that. Renovations going on next door meant hammers and saws going at 7 am.

    Huge room!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.2
    Saint Peter Basilica from the window.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was too small. The hairdryer was too old and slow.

    Friendly and helpful staff. The location was great. The cleanliness of the room. We could leave our luggage for the whole day after we checked out.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    10
    Amalia Vatican Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little more wardrobe storage would be welcome.

    Central location just round corner from Vatican City. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms spotlessly clean. All facilities, transport, metro etc, shops, restaurants, bars nearby.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent, the most beautiful city I have ever seen, in my opinion knocks Edinburgh out the park
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weather, wet as wet, but that’s just the time of year, no ones fault.

    We rented a slightly higher standard of room compared to our friends which made a difference, room was excellent, spacious and airy, with a large comfortable warm bed. Breakfast is continental with a good eneough choice. Location is excellent for the Vatican City, literally only minutes away, other sites such as the coliseum a bus ride or fair walk, but a good walk, so much to see that you might miss On the bus or taxi or whatever. We will go back and would use the same hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.8
    Basic stay in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no tea and coffee making facilities in the room. We really missed this especially first thing in the morning or after a long day of sight seeing. It would have been nice.

    The location is excellent, there are restaurants and shops on the street and it’s just a 5 minute walk to the Vatican museums and less than 10 minutes walk to the basilica. It’s a very safe area. The hotel is very clean, the room is small with big windows and it was cleaned daily. Shower was lovely and warm. Bathroom was small but it was just fine. It’s a lovely old building with air conditioning in the room. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Ideal if you want somewhere basic and in the centre of the city.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    10
    Great place to stay for a trip to Rome. Close your Vatican City and easy to get to. Would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee facilities in the room which is something my husband and I like to have so we can have a coffee before bed and when we wake up.

    Very friendly helpful staff and only a very short distance from Vatican city

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    3.8
    Bad. Do not book this hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was small, not clean. no windows and smelling bad. I asked to change it. even with the new room, the bathroom is very old, broken shower, no mini bar, staff does not speak english well, so not a good choice and I regret it

    only the location, 5 min walking to the Vatican city

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    4.6
    I will definitely find another hotel next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were tiny and without windows as the actual windows could be opened into a brick wall with terrible smell. The room was very stuffy and there was only one option -to open the window facing the brick wall with sewage smell. The walls were not sound proof and you could hear every sound in the hotel. The reception area did not have even a chair.

    The location of the hotel was convenient and in close proximity to many places of interest

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.5
    It was a few steps away from the Vatican.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room we got was a little too cramped for a family of three. I don't know what's up with booking.com but if you book a room for 2 adults and a child they will only book you a hotel room for 2. Most of the hotels were surprised to see that there were actually 3 of us checking in. Though the hotel offered to transfer to a bigger room the next night, we opted not to since it would be too much of a hassle to pack and unpack the stuff for a 3 nighter.

    It was a few steps away from the Vatican. Lots of shops and restaurants around the area. The rooms were okay. Tiny fridge and a safe were useful. The bathroom was clean and somewhat has a few modern amenities. The staff were really nice despite the language barriers of some.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    4.6
    We were not happy with the accommodation at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was very disappointed with this hotel, considering the price we paid. No Reception area, just a small room. Bedroom was quite large but certainly not welcoming and the bathroom was very small, awkward getting in and out of shower. No proper plugs in bidet and hand basin, so couldn't hold any water, until we notified Reception and it was rectified. Thought price would include breakfast but didn't, had to pay 7 euros extra. Went to dining room but very little breakfast choice. We were extremely disappointed with this hotel, bearing in mind this is our first trip to Rome, and the price we were charged through you per night was certainly not cheap. We have used Booking.com several times now, but will definitely be reconsidering for our next trip.

    Not much really, although location quite good, and I think that was what we were paying for.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.6
    Good value, excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast is very basic, but it's there if you don't want to venture out early. If I went again I'd try the cafe over the road. The reception desk is just a little office and the hotel appears to occupy one floor (the 4th) of the building, and I think they also have some apartments to rent. On arrival it doesn't look very glamorous! Also in one of our rooms a ceiling lightbulb was flashing on and off and then died. Another bulb didn't work at all. But everything else was fine and the rooms are big and elegant and clean, and bathrooms fine. It would nice to have some English language tv stations!

    The hotel is ideal for the Vatican and 10 minutes drive to all the central sights (Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps etc). It's in a nice area, not overrun by tourists, with an amazing foodstore next door and several good trattorias a few minutes walk away. The staff are fantastic, Leonardo and Maria and Rudoph arranged several trips (including an excellent Vatican tour), booked restaurants, taxis etc. They couldn't have been more helpful. There is very good wifi. The rooms are big and beds comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    The staff is very kind, helped us with all the required...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing

    The staff is very kind, helped us with all the required information, with the transfer from the airport, with travel tips. The hotel is very close to the metro, the bus station, the Vatican Museum and St. Peter's Basilica. We appreciated the cleanliness (changed our sheets daily and made daily cleaning), the size and comfort of the room (25 square meters). The bed was very confortable. The hotel has a lift. Near the hotel there are many good and cheap restaurants. Good continental breakfast with great capuccino and natural juices. We have been in 18 trips so far, three times in Rome. We consider the Amalia Vatican Hotel as one of the best value-for-money hotels we have stayed in. Thank you for a great stay! We recommend you to visit the Vatican Museum (book online with a small additional fee, otherwise stay in a queue for 4-5 hours regardless of the season), St. Peter's Basilica (go in the morning or otherwise stand for a few hours), Gallery Borghese (you can only visit it with online booking we recommend you collect the tickets one hour before the time on the voucher to avoid crowding. If you are not late, it is one of the most beautiful museums in the world) , Capitoline Museums (full of ancient statues and famous paintings), San Ignatio di Loyola Church, San Luigi dei Francesi Church, Santa Maria della Vittoria Church, Santa Maria del Popollo Church, Sant Pietro in Vincoli Church, Pantheon, Colloseum line avoid the tail), Traian's Column and the Roman Forum, Navonna Piazza, Fontana di Trevi.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    The staff were very friendly and English speaking. Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator was very old and limited for the weight it could handle. Not really a problem for us. There were 4 of us travelling together and we used the elevator 2 at a time.

    Great location, within a 10 minute walk to the Vatican City. We had the breakfast included, continental style breakfast, fresh buns, yoghurt, cereal etc., very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    3.8
    DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is by far my most unsatisfying stay. I have never encountered staff members who would mess with my stuff. In the morning of my second day of staying in the hotel, a cleaning stuff opened the door of my room without knocking. Then later o, after I came back at night, I noticed that all the shirts that I put on the bed were thrown onto the floor. And a teddy bear that my family brought along was torn, with its eyebrows torn apart. THIS IS SUCH A VENGEFUL ACT. After I brought the issue to the hotel, they did not admit doing it and found some excuse of replacing the table. Would cleaning stuff tore apart your teddy bear and throwing all your clothes onto the floor to replace a table??? This is such an awful experience.

    The location is ok. But the whole stay is really unsatisfying.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.6
    A lovely little hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived at the hotel,we were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded,to a suite. Our room was on the 5th floor,which required being buzzed in by reception. When you get to the corridor entrance. This and the fact you can't enter the hotel without going to or passing he 24 hour reception,made it feel very secure. The room consisted of a living room with a sofa,desk and chair and a tv and large wardrobe. On one side was a large bedroom with desk chair ,bed draws bed,tv and aircon.unit. on the other side of the living room was a large bathroom,with a bath/ shower. Toilet beset and wash basin. It was all very Italian,well decorated and clean. Breakfast was served on the 4th floor . The room was on the small side, The younglady making thd hot drinks and preparing breakfast was friendly,breakfast was gge usual continental Italian,with a mixture of bread rolls cakes and pastries,and cooked meats and cheese. Again clean and everything fresh. The lift was interesting. It looked like something out of an Agatha Christy series. Although the cage it was in fit in with the era of the building. The inside was completely modern. We got 4 people in there,so it wasnt as small as I first felt. The Hotel felt like it was from another time, yet was modern and up to date. A most enjoyable place to stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.6
    Great location to stay and very clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is great. Only 10 minutes walking distance. Metro Station 5 minutes walking distance from property. Yo can even walk to the other major attractions, This property is in an excelent location from restaurants, grocery store is clise to the Hotel. If I ever return to Rome I would stay in Hotel Amalia again.Thanks a lot to all the staff of this property!!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.3
    Great location near the Vatican Museums and many small shops...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic breakfast.

    Great location near the Vatican Museums and many small shops and restaurants. Friendly and helpful staff. Clean and comfortanle accommodation.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful rooms in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee wasn't that good at breakfast but not bad. Just disappointing for Italy!

    Fantastic location for exploring rome. Vatican is right on the doorstep and even the colleseum is only 2 miles away so we walked there which was a great way to see some of the sites. We stayed in the junior suite and it was lovely and spacious and quitessentially Italian. A fantastic local restaurant just round the corner which served amazing food and excellent value for money. Go out of the door take the first street on tje left and then turn down the next street on your left and it's about twenty metres down there with lots of room to sit outside.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Positive review.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was fine but the shower area was very outdated and not very comfortable.

    The hotel was small but comfortable. The staff were helpful and the info to the best restaurants locally was spot on..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.6
    Excellent 30 hours in Rome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't much i didn't like about the hotel. There are a lot of trees on the streets, so there isn't much of a view, but since you're not really in your room much of the time, i wouldn't let that denture me from staying here again if I came back.

    The hotel was very clean and convenient to all the places you want to go and see in Rome. It was walking distance to Vatican City and quick Taxi rides to places like the Trevi Fountain, The Pantheon and of course The Coliseum and since we basically only had a day there it made for major convenience!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel x fantastic city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room was very small x the cheese could of been fresh x not processed

    The bed was really comfortable x room very clean except 4 the night porter Al staff were lovely x helpful very quaint hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.5
    Good location for visiting St. Peter and Vatican
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Oldish furniture Small breakfast room

    Very kind and helpful staff - allowed us to check-in way before the official hour. Tasty breakfast, good coffee Clean location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    5.8
    Not as good as we expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked superior room but wasn't great. Pictures not very accurate. Bed very firm. Minibar was empty apart from two glasses. Bathroom had 1towel, 1 small hand soap and a shampoo. Ok but definitely not matching photo advertising. Room was a bit shabby. Lift was a little old one -a bit scary. Took 2 trips to get our luggage upstairs. Rooms were in a corridor behind a fire door. Had to buzz reception to open corridor for us every time We went to room. Breakfast not great. Photo showed nice dining room with fresh fruit. Small room with 5 little tables. Croissants and cakes but cereals were cocoa puffs or cornflakes. No fruit or toast and only non sweet bread was small bread rolls.

    Position was ok for Vatican. About 5-7 minutes walk

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    5.4
    Meh. Don't go here to try to save a buck, not worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Besides the location there was nothing great about this hotel. Spend a little more and get something better, it's worth it. Room was very uncomfortable , there was mold on the walls... and seriously I'm not one to be picky. They "upgraded" my room, I'd hate to see what the non-upgraded room looked like. I had a late check out and they came and took all of my towels while I was at breakfast and had no towels to shower before heading out.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.6
    Perfect for exploring Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Spacious, clean and comfortable room. Friendly and helpful staff. Very easy to reach from Ottaviano Metro station and just a couple of minutes walk from The Vatican. Very nice area. Perfect for exploring Rome.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location, clean and comfortable hotel, secure, polite and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee making facilities available but we took our own anyway. No restaurant in hotel, although does show picture in brochure (may be that's for special occasions) not a problem but may be would be an advantage if you didn't want to go far for a meal. Breakfast area very clean etc, a bit compact, always lovely and cool though and still very nice. Possibly a few different options for cereal and fresh fruit would be a good option for the hotel to consider. But plenty of places to buy fruit nearby if needed.

    Comfy beds. Air con. Friendly staff. Very good English, so no problem with getting help and advice if required. Leonardo and Maria epecially very helpful. Felt secure in the hotel. Very clean; towels changed every day and bathroom cleaned everyday. Luggage storage available. Fridge in room. Taxi transfer can be arranged with hotel for pick up and return to airport . Close to Vatican, Basilica, Castle etc. Plenty of shops and pizzerias etc nearby depending on what your requirements are.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    9.6
    Good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very weel​ located near off a lot off restaurants, very close to vatican and the staff is excellent and the room/acommodation have very high quality.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.2
    Hotel Amalia Vaticano -- THE place to stay in Rome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The view of St. Peter's basilica dome from our room was that of a lifetime! Within only a few hundred yards of Vatican walls, Hotel Amalia Vaticano is ideally suited for touring all of historic Rome. Located in a wonderful neighborhood, wonderful restaurants are also only a few steps from the front door. Staff is very friendly, helpful, very caring / concerned, and English-competent. For us, it was a wonderful place to stay and one we'd return to happily if or when we visit Rome again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    5.0
    Larger bed, refrigerator in the room, AC worked well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower is very small, toilet leaked, the lobby is hard to find and very small not like any hotel i have stayed at. The location is good for the Vatican but far from all the other sights

    Larger bed, refrigerator in the room, AC worked well.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.1
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Something other than croissants and cake for breakfast would have been nice, but then I suppose that's a continental breakfast, there was no facilities to make drinks in the room and no iron available.

    Friendly staff. Bed was comfortable, room was clean. Hotel was within walking distance to Vatican City.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    7.5
    Junior suite is lovely and big.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast, though good, is very basic. Lift is outdated and does not function optimally.

    Junior suite is lovely and big. Room is cleaned daily. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    9.6
    Perfect place for Rome exploration
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast offer could/should be wider. There was wide sweet choice, but I would prefer more cheese/salami/eggs etc. On other side, directly on other side of Via Germanica street is restaurant offering breakfasts (we didn't tested) and in near neigborhood definitelly lot of others.

    5 minutes to entry to Vatican Museums, 7 minutes to Piazza San Pietro, 4 minutes to Metro Ottaviano - tell me better position for Rome (and especially) Vatican sightseeing :-) Very welcoming staff, even we arrived later evening. Nice room just big enough and comfortable (for me it means harder) beds. Some other reviews criticise bathroom & especially shower - bathroom was quite big, and even shower (for normal sized person) is big more that enough :-)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.2
    Nice place!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was really small. The bed was a little hard.

    They had a nice breakfast every morning. The room was nice and spacious and the bathroom was a good size.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    8.3
    Wonderful trip! Can't wait to go back ❤️🇮🇹
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no coffee or tea making equipment in the rooms so be prepared before you head back to hotel as all the shops near shut early evening. Buy water or snacks if you aren't out in the evening.

    Friendly staff, clean and great location. Hotel reception extremely helpful and helped us with direction, safety measures to take when out and booking taxis for us.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    10
    Old world charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee was horrible!

    This was a great old world charm hotel. Bed was very good, and breakfast was great! Very close to the Vatican. Easy to get around!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    6.3
    Wonderful position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ventilation was not very good, making the air stuffy. Wi-Fi never worked on my laptop. Room and bed are a bit small, but this is understandable in Rome.

    Wonderful position. Walking distance to the Vatican City, and even shorter to metro. Room is very clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    6.7
    Overall, it was a lovely quaint hotel in the Vaticano district with great access to the Metro and ad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower cubicle was too small The floor was a little dusty The breakfast was too bland, needs more variety

    The room was spacious The location was great The staff were nice

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    7.1
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and pillows were a little hard. The breakfast room was bijou with tiny tables.

    Quiet but convenient location near to Metro station. Staff were friendly. Very close to the Vatican.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    7.5
    Good basic Italian hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was very small and shower head was loose with impacted water pressure. A few things needed cleaned as there were dirty glasses and dust around. No tea/coffee making facilities or iron. Wallpaper was coming off and TV didn't work. Quite noisy aswell (could hear next door chatting and their tv).

    Staff were extremely friendly and helpful, authentic Italian hotel aswell. Great location once you found your bearings and found hotel was exactly what we needed for the type of holiday we were on.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    9.6
    Great location and friendly - very repeatable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was cramped and very compact. A larger person would be unable to use it.

    Staff friendliness, hygeine, comfort and size of the room. The location is under 10 minutes from the Vatican. Overall great value for money.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    7.5
    If your preference for sightseeing in Rome is The Vatican, this is a perfect place for you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The place designated for breakfast is tiny with very few tables situated in a way that makes it difficult to get in and out of the chairs. The actual breakfast is adequate although there is not a great variety probably because of space. Staff is very pleasant and helpful.

    Location. Handy to restaurants, shopping, taxis, metro and short walk to Vatican.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    7.9
    Great location for easy metro or pedestrian transport to tours and sights of interest
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could barely fault this hotel. Included breakfast was very basic but we were already out on day tours by the time breakfast was served.

    Wonderful location, near and in sight of the Vatican. Close to public transport. Smart, modern bathroom. Opening windows with curtains and shutters. No restaurant so couldn't make Cups of tea except during the day. Excellent housekeeping service

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    9.2
    Convenient location and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was quite large and included a large couch however the shower was laughably small, perhaps 2ft by 3ft. If renovating the bathrooms is in the plans I hope they see to providing a larger shower.

    The location is great if you're visiting Vatican City. We were only in Rome for a day and the location was conveniently located between the metro and Vatican City. The staff was helpful and attentive.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    9.6
    A great little hotel in a very safe, nice area of Rome...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A great little hotel in a very safe, nice area of Rome (Prati) very close to the Vatican. Handy for Ottaviano metro stop and the line A that goes through the centre of town. Lots of good restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    6.3
    Not bad exeprience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no drinks prepared in the mini bar. room is comfortable enough but definitely not a 3 star hotel.

    location is amazing, near metro and vatican. bed was so much comfortable than i thought.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    7.9
    Great Location !! Nice Hotel !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only Italian channels on TV. Really small breakfast area, small tables and very small food variety at breakfast.

    We had a Junior Suite. The room was fantastic and very clean. Great, huge bed ! Free WiFi , safe in the close and a small fridge. The Vatican is only 5 minutes away on foot(!!!) so you can visit it too early! Two minutes away from the metro station! There is a bank nearby and many choices if you want to eat something!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    8.8
    Near Vatican City
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free breakfast was a waste of time. The 2nd morning we are breakfast elsewhere.

    2 blocks from the Vatican City! Great Italian ristorante opposite side hotel called Da Vito & Dina. Best spaghetti carbonara I've ever had!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    5.4
    Perfect location if you want to spend time in Vatican.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is outdated and not well kept. I had allergies and was not able to rest well. Heating does not work.

    Perfect location if you want to spend time in Vatican.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    8.8
    Great location and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room on 4th floor is a little small

    Excellent location with metro and Vatican only 5 minutes away. Restaurants, shops and off licence are adjacent to the hotel. Office for Vatican tour is only 150m away on same side street. The hotel is basic but clean and comfortable with a friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    7.9
    After changing rooms everything was fine: the Vatican...
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had to insist on changing the room, because it smelled bad, and the window didn't face the street but some stair landing. The wardrobe (and I assume the safe inside) was closed for a key that was not provided. There were plastic hangers on a rack for a change. To crown it all, you could hear the music and voices from the room next door.

    After changing rooms everything was fine: the Vatican Museums and the metro are very close. Bed linen is impeccable and gets changed every day. The hotel even survived the earthquake on October 30!!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    10
    Excellent Hotel, Excellent Location, Excellent Price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast room is a little small and cramped.

    The bed was really comfortable, the curtains were proper black out curtains and the area was quiet despite being a 5 minute walk from the Vatican.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    4.2
    Great location, disappointing hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is tired looking, bannisters were loose, some fittings were taped together. Our first room had a badly repaired and mouldy shower. The air conditioning did not work. We complained and were given a different room, which was better, but it is clear that the hotel would benefit from investment. Breakfast facilities were tiny, inadequate for the size of hotel. The man serving breakfast was rude and unfriendly. Customer service was distictly lacking. Overall we were disappointed. We expect much more from hotels these days.

    The location was good, especially for Vatican City, but we found all the main attractions were within walking distance. The bed was comfortable. The lady who dealt with our complaint was sympathetic and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    7.5
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had to change rooms as the one we were first offered had some cigarrette smell. The shower had some mold too. Once they gave us a better room the day after everything was good. The breakfast could also be better with a nicer selection of cheese and ham, at the very minimum.

    Location, location, location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    Staff at reception doesn't speak English.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at reception doesn't speak English.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    This hotel is family business.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is family business. Very helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    8.8
    A nice stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A great location! Close to the Vatican and close to bus-stops that take you to center of Rome.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    I will always come back to stay in this Amali Hotel becasue of so many nice shops and and reasonable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    none

    as travel agent I have been recomending to my clients and friends to book at Amalia Hotels while in Italy

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Amalia Vaticano traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: