Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Ambasciatori 4 stars

Via Roma 111, La Kalsa, 90133 Palermo, Italy

#38 of 75 hotels in Palermo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 569 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    10
    2 nights in Palermo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I cannot say i found anything negative. The staff were pleasant and helpful--and there was an endearing character to the hotel.

    Breakfast was plentiful and varied. Good choice for all tastes. Beds were comfortable and bathroom facilities fine. Some pleasant and relaxing sitting areas. Roof terrace superb.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    10
    I booked on a recommendation by friends who loved the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I booked on a recommendation by friends who loved the rooftop terrace. It was stunning! The room was an added bonus as it was huge, clean, quiet and had a small balcony. Staff were super friendly and helpful. Location was very central, we covered a lot of ground from this location. It's right on a busy street (easy to find) which was pretty non descript but go down any street leading off the main street and you were immersed in everyday wonderful Palermo.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    7.5
    Great location, easy walking distance to various sites
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quite noisy sometimes but it is in the city so that’s to be expected The breakfast was quite a lot for what they had on offer but it’s easy to go elsewhere

    Great location, easy walking distance to various sites Helpful staff on check in and checkout they also arranged taxi to and from airport The room had a really comfy bed

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    7.5
    Very pleasant, accommodating & clean hotel on a main street in Palermo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower stall very small. Need to climb flight of stairs for terrace dining. Tour buses cannot pick-up in front of hotel.so need to walk to train station.

    Pro: Size of room 305 very spacious.. terrace dining on top floor overlooks city - beautiful at night & great food. Con: Only 1 small elevator. need ro climb flight of stairs for terrace dining.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Great value
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator too small and doesn’t stop when it passes your floor. It doesn’t start at the entrance level and doesn’t go up to the roof restaurant.

    Large charming room (superior standard), roof restaurant

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    THE place to stay in Palermo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were impressed by the competence of the staff: it is rare to see such an approachable, well trained, client focused and smiling team from the front desk to the restaurant as well as maintenance and cleaning teams. We enjoyed the newly renovated contemporary design of the bedroom in a traditional looking hotel, very dark and quiet at night which gave us a nice recuperating sleep well deserved after our full touring days in Palermo. The view from the rooftop at breakfast and aperitif time is breath taking. The quality and choice of the truly continental breakfast buffet was really good; the cocktail menu nice and well priced considering the rooftop situation. The hotel was in the perfect location for what we wanted to achieve: 500m from the bus/train station, 200m from the historic centre.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    6.3
    The location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities are bit old style and rooms would need a refurbishment to get o today’s standards. Breakfast (12€) is too expensive value for money: fruits were scarce and cakes were just ok.

    The location is perfect. Really close to central station and main touristic attractions. The terrace is amazing: great place to have breakfast with a great view.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.1
    Overall, it was a good place for a one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room wasn't ready when we arrived and it was 17:45!!! They offered a courtesy drink at the terrace, though. There is only one elevator and it is slow and small. I'm glad our room was on the first floor as I found it quicker to take our suitcase up the stairs.

    The terrace, great place to relax, have a drink or enjoy a good breakfast while overlooking Palermo

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.3
    Great location, Great views, old style charm - would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower was a little on the narrow side; and I am not a 'large' person either, but still was OK. Only other thing was that we had a couple of rain showers and there were not enough parasoles on the rooftop restaurant to cover everyone, especially if you could not get moved inside...they could do with a couple more, but again it was OK.

    Central location and of course the roof top restaurant. Great for having breakfast and admiring the view. Room's are very clean and although old style charm, I liked that. Aircon good and could also open windows.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.8
    Excellent hotel, very central, super good food at the roof top terrace!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent hotel with a beautiful roof top terrace for breakfast & dinner. Super good dinner and excellent breakfast which even had vegan croissants (in addition to fruit, cereals etc!).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    6.3
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the reasons we chose this hotel was because it says it has parking. Do not be mislead, it has two reserved parking spaces around the corner. With a 5 storey hotel there was no way either of these were going to be available, so we had to park our hire car in a rough looking, questionable garage which charged fifteen euro's for the night. Fortunately, on our return the next day the car was fine with no scratches, but this was not what we had been led to believe when booking. Also, the hotel is not well advertised or sign posted along the main road it is along and so we had to drive up and down the road several times before finding it.

    My husband and I had a one night stop-over here en-route between Cefalu and Scopella. Check-in was efficient and there is a lift to take your bags to your room. Room was clean, spacious although not much character to it. There is a rooftop bar on the fifth floor, which we had read such great reviews about. Nice enough to have a drink, but again compared to other rooftop bars and views we experienced whilst travelling around Sicily we found this to be very average. All in all, I would say Palermo is worth a visit, but if you can visit without staying over in the city then do so, much prettier places along the coast to stay at.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.9
    The location and rooms were decent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't family friendly at all. If travelling with a baby I don't recommend staying here. Not very accommodating.

    The location and rooms were decent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.6
    What a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a bit on the small side and air con wasn't working properly.

    Absolutely fantastic restaurant on the roof with views that won't be beaten. The food was excellent and staff very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    8.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    parking space is far away from the hotel. You need to walk app. 5 minutes to reach the parking area. And you need to pay.

    Good location, really center. Terrace view was good. For some drinks or breakfast. Restaurant menu was good and affordable. Staff was really friendly and nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.2
    Romantic Palermo
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Older furniture, can use some restyling

    The view on the rooftop is AMAZING. Sunset over the mountains and to see how the city goes into the night will be one of my best memories of Palermo. The rooms are clean and it's easy to get to hotel as it's on the main road.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.8
    The restaurant on the roof of the hotel has a magnificent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant on the roof of the hotel has a magnificent view. It is recommended for breakfast. The room was tidy and the location is very good for sightseeing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    don't expect too much for the price you pay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. breakfast - if you can afford to serve customers food which does not look fresh it means your staff does not care ... which is not good for a 4* hotel ... 2. double bed is made of 2 single beds ... you are in danger of waking up on the floor - again example of hotels management does not care of guests comfort ... it's SO simple to fix 2 beds together so they don't move ... just 2 metal clips which cost a few cents each ...

    location and view from the terrace ... view is amazing ...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    The view from the rooftop was fabulous, and worth the stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The view from the rooftop was fabulous, and worth the stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and were able to help us organise things like car hire for a day we wanted to go visit Mt Etna. The room was spacious, and had a safe for our personal belongings. The hotel also offered us a complimentary flute of prosecoo up on the rooftop which really was the finishing touch for us - a really special stay!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.1
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast and dining space was small and you must climb up a long flight of stairs to get there. I gave breakfast a miss since I use a walking stick.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.3
    Incredible view from the rooftop restaurant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was not very helpful and the parking ,location is very poorly signed. The hotel is on a busy street which makes very hard to find a spot to park the car even temporarily. If you have a car it can be a bit of hassle. Room was a bit small and it had a tiny shower.

    Incredible view from the rooftop restaurant! Breakfast is served there (decent) and it is also possible to have lunch/dinner (don't need to be a guest at the hotel). Food is very good and the service is high quality. Well located close to the city center although is located on a busy street.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.2
    Amazing rooftop bar!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service upon check-in could have been a little more helpful. After staying in lots of boutique hotels during our stay where the staff would go above and beyond to explain things about the hotel and places to visit in the city/area the service here was lacking that a bit but we still had a lovely stay here and people were still polite and pleasant.

    Nice hotel, the room was perhaps a little dated but very comfortable and had a nice modern bathroom. Despite being located on a busy road the room was surprisingly quiet and peaceful. The rooftop bar and restaurant was amazing. We had a drink here before heading out for dinner and it was absolutely stunning to watch the sun setting from here, the view of Palermo and the surrounding mountains is beautiful. The location of the hotel is excellent, very close to the main areas of restaurants and bars only a short walk away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    6.7
    Would not stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The first room (room 102) we were given was absolutely dismal even though we had booked a superior room. It was dark and the bed was like lying on a board with lumpy pillows and a bathroom so small you could hardly turn around in. Due to the fact that a large party of cruise ship guests were staying we had to wait until next day before being given a new room which was slightly better, but still no view (room 107). The staff arrives very early and then has lengthy loud conversations in stairwell which echoes and we were woken up by this every morning. This is certainly not a 4star hotel, more like 2 star and it needs a desperate update in bathrooms and furniture. After cruise ship guests left the hotel was almost empty and we do not understand why we were not given a room with better facilities and a view.

    Location is great, very central and walking distance to all main sites. Roof top terrace is best feature of this hotel but food is very expensive without being extra amazing (it's good but not special). The Restaurant is not part of the hotel so you can't add meals to your room bill.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    The location and parking service were ideal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms are small, breakfast was a bit costly

    The location and parking service were ideal. The rooftop view is spectacular and a wonderrful spot to relax and enjoy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.3
    Minimally acceptable as part of a group tour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overall cleanliness from flies in the entrance to badly dated facilities common for deferred maintenance in Italy and Sicily.

    Absolutely smashing view of the City on its top floor terrace. This is Sicily, so having supporting desk staff help was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    6.3
    The rooftop is absolutely amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Ambasciatori could do with redecorating throughout. The bedding and the bathroom felt a little dated, but clean nonetheless. Despite the double layered windows there was still some noise from the Via Roma below

    The rooftop is absolutely amazing. Worth visiting for an evening drink even if you are not staying in the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    Room was a great size with high ceilings, very comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleaning staff were a bit too noisy, chatting to each other loudly outside the room door - before 9 am. They apologised when I asked them to speak more softly.

    Room was a great size with high ceilings, very comfortable bed. The rooftop bar area was stunning with great staff. Great location. just minutes away from the train station and the squares with restaurants and bars, a short walk to the old town and the cathedral.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    Great rooftop view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from the top is really nice. We had a nice large room with a comfortable bed. We were only there for a short time so didn't get to explore a lot of the city but the location was good for some walking around. Parking is a bit of a walk from the hotel but is to be expected in the older part of the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.8
    A home away from home at an affordable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing of importance.

    The hotel has 7 floors and is much higher than other buildings in the vicinity. As a result, it commands excellent and unobstructed views od the domes and roofs of the surrounding. The restaurant which is located on the 5th floor includes an outdoor open area is an excellent place for meeting friends. All in all a winner in the 4-star hotel category.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    6.5
    Disappointing , mix of indifferent experiences.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception functional rather than friendly.We asked for quiet room, high up , were allocated room on third floor next to lift and facing onto busy and noisy street.( the hotel was far from full which hardly helped the mood) The lift was funky and frustrationally slow. We did not eat there so no comments on that aspect. The price we paid was disappointing as the price on the nights was substantially cheaper.

    View from rooftop terrace

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Very good hotel. Excellent location. Breathtaking view from the terrasse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Better lights for reading in bed

    The location is very convenient, in central Palermo. Also there is a stop of the free historic city shuttle 50 meters form the hotel entrance. The view from the terrasse is breathtaking and it is a daily pleasure to have breakfast in the morning or enjoy the night view with an aperitif (we were in Palermo in January). The staff is friendly and helpful. They indicated us a parking place close by so we could leave our rental car while we were in Palermo.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel for a visit to Palermo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower temperature was sometimes variable.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Buffet Breakfast on the roof terrace was very good quality and offered a wide variety of food with great views over the city. Hotel organised competitively priced local rental car that was delivered to the hotel. Easy walking distance from all major sites and the historic centre. 5 minute walk to station and Airport bus.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.5
    Very good. Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Towels were a little rough.

    The rooftop breakfast was very good and scenic. The hotel is only a few blocks from the central train station and airport shuttle drop off. I took the 6 euro shuttle and walked and my husband who came a day later took an 8 euro cab straight to the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.1
    breakfast was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - although it says it has a lift, there is a flight of steps from the entrance up to it, and two storeys of quite steep steps up to the restaurant for breakfast. (no lift). the view compensates - but not if you have any mobility difficulty, and I don't think this is made clear enough. you can ask for breakfast in your room, but that would negate one of the great assets of the hotel. - the restaurant doesn't operate year-round except for breakfast. again, not clear enough in details

    breakfast was excellent. rooftop view spectacular

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    10
    Staff were very helpful and were still available at 11.30 at night for check in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Lifts are old school and will only work if the person before you have closed the doors correctly

    There were some good Ristorantes close by and the Hotel is not far away from the action if you do not mind a bit of a walk (10-15 mins). Highly recommend the Sevens Restaurant on the Roof top for breakfast & dinner and the view from the Rooftop is second to none. Rooms were very roomy and ours had a great view as well (5th Floor)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    6.7
    Old fashion hotel in the center of palermo
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi not working Room is very dark inside, quiet depressing ambiance. No view at all from our room, but great roof top view.

    Location & roof top bar

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    Good. Sweet staffs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi in my room is really weak, maybe dipends on the position of the rooms. Anyway not a big deal.

    Just a few meters from the central station, 5mins from the quatro canti, the terrace breakfast is really comfortable, and I have to say that their staffs are the best!!!! Really helpful, friendly, willing to help you all the time, and no matter how many times!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.9
    Great location but without high speed internet I would think twice about staying at the hotel again
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was simply awful!!! Our room was small but adequate. The bathroom was extreme small with no vanity space

    Staff was friendly and the restaurant comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.2
    Thanks for a lovely stay x
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are a little dated but spacious & clean.

    The roof top terrace is to die for - make sure you go up the steps to get the full 360 panorama.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.2
    A luxurious stay in a beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the breakfast was sufficient I think it was a little over priced as the bacon and scrambled eggs were often cold.

    The roof top terrace and bar was a lovely location for breakfast and a drink in the evening with amazing views of Palermo. The staff were friendly and efficient at all times.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    Great for a short stay in old Palermo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    While the rooftop area is great, the food for dinner was just so-so. Have a drink and go elsewhere - there are loads of good places nearby.

    Rooftop bar / restaurant / breakfast area is fabulous. Our room was a very good size, comfortable and quiet (to the rear of property on a busy road).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.8
    A jewel in Palermo's crown..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing below any standard was the lack of a reliable wifi connection.

    Location, the room and bathroom were above a four star hotel. The five star status goes to the roof top terrace and breakfast...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Excellent location, very nice rooftop bar overlooking the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing wrong about our stay!

    Excellent location, very nice rooftop bar overlooking the city, clean and comfortable room and friendly staff. I highly recommend this hotel if staying in Palermo. And hey, vegan options at the rooftop restaurant were a massive plus!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    8.8
    Very good location, fantastic view from the restaurant,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast serving hours could be extended during the summer months.

    Very good location, fantastic view from the restaurant, helpful staff, big and clean room, would definetely recommend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.2
    Nice stay at the heart of Palermo
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing special

    Roof top terrace was excellent with magnificent view worth of all. Room was clean and spacious.hotel is closed to all main attraction points of Palermo

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.2
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit pricier than a lot of other places but it is so well located for the station and the main sights in Palermo.

    This is a clean, comfortable hotel, very well located in Palermo. It's a 5 minute walk, over the road, to Quatro Canti, the fountain and Piazza Bologna. The view from the rooftop bar (with complimentary Prosecco) is something else. The restaurant looks good but do book in advance.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    10
    Brilliant place in town centre with fantastic view and food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit difficult to find, especially at night. View from the roof top restaurant is amazing, the best I have seen in Palermo. Food was fantastic, sea food offering is good and it seemed very fresh! Room is huge even when they sold it as standard. Staff helpful- I could not find the parking as it was somewhere behind the building and the receptionist jumped in the car with my husband and took him to the parking. Property located on Main Street very close (5 minutes walk) from all the attractions.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.2
    Good location with nice personal, great value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The selection at breakfast could have been better. Typically Italian with alot of sweet pastries

    Peaceful and quite room. Breakfast was served at the roof top with stunning wiew over Palermo, very romantic!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    6.7
    Good location, but really a 3 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tiny lobby and few services. The service at the rooftop restaurant and bar was clueless and haphazard.

    Nice location and comfortable rooms. Incredible view from 7th floor bar /restaurant. Excellent complimentary breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.9
    Good location and impressive view - but there is room for improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a lot of noise from other rooms and the corridor - throughout the day and in the evening - including from staff simply trying to do their job. Soundproofing would be a very good idea. Staff in the restaurant on the roof were not very welcoming and people walking through the hotel just to eat at the posh restaurant appeared irritated by paying guests. Finally, the room we stayed in requires a new madras - preferably on which fits the bed.

    The location was great and the room was large. The view from the roof was impressive.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    5.0
    Not a nice place, the view is great, but you are better off with a different hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service could be improved A LOT! The staff at the hotel seemed constantly distracted by something ( and I just hope they were distracted and not rude ... ). At most places we have visited in Sicily we get a map and some kind of an explanation or a verbal "tour" of the city, here we didn't get one and we were rushed to our room. Not very welcoming ... The parking was not convenient - and I blame booking for that, it's awful that you allow hotels to write that there is a parking nearby and people would actually trust this. It's like giving the hotels the opportunity to write that there is a Jurassic themed park in the hotel, when truly it's 100 kms away ... So the parking wasn't very convenient - a 5 minute walk and when you go to pick up your car you have to navigate through tight spaces in a dark garage with your side mirrors tucked in, because you are 2 cms away ( literally ) from all the other cars. Fun times... The hotel has a very special elevator, which can carry up to 3 person ( yeah THREE! ) and the elevator being really old brings some charm and style to the charmless hotel. But really it's mostly inconvenient - the doors should be opened and closed manually ( and there are 3 doors ), so imagine what happens at breakfast :) when everybody is rushing to the top floor. Also the roof terrace ( where breakfast is served ) doubles as a restaurant, so that means in the evening the elevator is mostly occupied by clients of the said restaurant. Hello 6 flights of stairs, but hey it's a good cardio after all :) Let's move the room - we got the standard option - and the view was something to behold :D See the attached photos. To be honest I didn't care about the view at all, but the central air conditioner, which our room was next to was really noisy and annoying.

    The only upside to this hotel is its location - it's fairly central and the view you get from the terrace. But that's about it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    7.5
    A perfect location to take in the sights and get the 'down town' experience of Palermo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is noisy depending on which side you get a room. The shower and toilet can be very small , again depending which side of the hotel you get a room. The old but reliable lift is an experience.

    This hotel is in the centre of Palermo, close to the train station. It has a really good roof -top bar with beautiful views of the city; a must for drinks at the end of the day. Staff are very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.8
    Amazing stay in Palermo!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The standard rooms are really tiny , not big enough for 2 checked suitcases .

    The view was spectacular and the staff was incredible, thank you Carmelo for an amazing stay!! ! If you are lucky enough to get a room with a view it is picture-perfect ! If not, there is always the rooftop terrace that makes up for that. If you are lucky enough to get parking behind the hotel (public) , it's free. The superior rooms are quite nice and spacious . Breakfast is a must , as it is served on the rooftop terrace overlooking the city.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.5
    A terrace with (what) a view!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is extremely basic (the bathroom is the best part of it) and comfort not the highest.

    the terrace! Beautiful enjoying your breakfast with such a view! The receptionists were very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    The rooftop terrace restaurant was delightful with views...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooftop terrace restaurant was delightful with views across the city. Good food. Convenient central location for visiting all the sites. Getting to the hotel from Palermo Airport was a bit challenging as our satnav wanted to take us down side roads with market stalls and some roads that were too narrow for our car!! However, once there we really enjoyed our stay. Hotel provided secure parking. Would thoroughly recommend visiting Palazzo Conte Federico and also the Palatine Chapel. Wandering through the food markets was fascinating and we had excellent food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.3
    Location was excellent just a couple of streets away from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air Conditioning unit was not up to the job

    Location was excellent just a couple of streets away from the old town of Palermo but nice and quiet. Coming from the airport on the airport shuttle to the hotel couldn't have been easier, the bus passes the door of the hotel and stops at the central bus station about 400 Mtrs past at the top of the street.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    5.4
    Wouldn't stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was tiny and the shower was the smallest ever only 500mm x 500mm, forget picking up the soap if you drop it or even raising your arms to wash your hard was cramped enough. Noisy. Old clunky lift holds 3.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    5.0
    Bad value, definitely not a 4* hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cons: - according to the booking confirmation, check-in should be possible from 11:30. The receptionist told us that this means rooms are ready some time after 11:30, not at 11:30 and that it is the fault of booking.com that it gave us wrong information - rear rooms have little to no daylight, they are like a cellar - avoid room 602 (no daylight and noise from roof terrace) - unfriendly attitude of staff

    Pros: - location - within old town, walking distance to two of the most important markets and to the central train station from which the bus to airport departs - rooftop terrace with a beautiful view

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.3
    Fabulous roof terrace vista
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is helpful but not particularly friendly. Also they made an error on my bill and were apologetic but insincere

    The view of Palermo from the roof terrace is stunning and the cakes and pastries at breakfast are not to be missed.Be sure to have cocktail there as well.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel with amazing rooftop terrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe I would renovate some room furniture, but it was overall very good

    The rooftop terrace is amazing, both for an aperitivo and for the wonderful breakfast they prepare in the morning. Room is spacious and quite. Location is really convenient (city center and near all attractions) and there is a parking nearby (not included in hotel fees)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Nice hotell with wonderful roofterrace
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some noise from street traffic, but slept well.

    Nice hotell, good rooms, friendly, helpful Staff . Breakfast and restaurant at the roofterrasse with a wonderful wiew. Free City bus close by. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.5
    perfectly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little dark in the room , no Parking, Sometimes Wi Fi in the room was long connected

    Friendly staff, very good Breakfast, convenient location, large room, possibility to leave bags before/after check-in/check-out

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    7.5
    Good place,good rate pric/quallity,I would recommand it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In sipte of my loving of old lift,the one in the hotel is a bit small and unconfortable when stopping!!

    bed very comfortable in spite we asked for twins bed but I did'nt make that option when booking.Very nice terrace for brekfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel centrally located for seeing the historic sights of Palermo
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk staff were gracious and helpful. Rooftop bar was great. Buffet breakfast at the rooftop cafe was beautiful and well worth the extra Euros. Hotel is an easy walk from Central Station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    5.4
    Great location, basic hotel though.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't much choice for breakfast & eating dinner was also poor as the menu wasn't great. Don't take anything from the fridge in your room as they will charge & it's expensive (didn't tell us that it's chargeable). They'll also charge a tax for staying per person (4 euros a day). Staff weren't that friendly, especially at breakfast!

    The view from the restaurant was outstanding & location was perfect as it's a short walk from the main central station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    3.8
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooftop terrace did serve refreshments until 5.30 pm . No coffee or milk in room . Staff at reception were very non informative and not helpful, wouldn't recommend !!

    Rooftop terrace

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    Loved the rooftop bar where we enjoyed an aperitivo and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved the rooftop bar where we enjoyed an aperitivo and a great breakfast the next morning! Location very convenient and used the free tourist bus outside the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.9
    Go straight to the roof for sunset!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nothing was lacking.

    The rooftop restaurant and bar made the simple furnishings all worth while. The floor and service while both great were still overshadowed by the 360 view of the city both during the day as well as lit up after sundown. And there's and almost secret perch higher up that gives you a romantic view of Palermo and a bit of piece and quiet. Our room was large and although the furnishings were a bit shopworn, everything was clean and worked and the ac unit would go down to 18 which is 4 degrees cooler than most places.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    5.8
    Good location but there must be better places to stay in Palermo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were placed in a room over a main street--during a food fair that created noise until 2AM that was so loud it disturbed our sleep even with the windows closed. Room and bath were both extremely cramped and dated, bed was uncomfortable. We ate in the in-house restaurant the first night but it was so bad we dined elsewhere for the rest of our 5-day stay.

    Breakfast was adequate and a rooftop deck was available for it in good weather. Staff provided a city map upon check-in. Shower products were very good quality. Location was great, close to must-see sights of town.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    9.2
    A Hotel with Character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The headboard rattled if you put your pillows up against it and then you turned over in bed. The curtain pelmet had been re-positioned at some time and the original holes had not been filled back in then painted over. The breakfast was adequate but could have had a bit more variety in the fruit and pastry area. Due to the hotels location if you get a room facing the main road it is quite noisy.

    The roof terrace and the very old fashioned but very efficient lift which added a touch of style to the hotel. Hotel staff were all very helpful and efficient. We would certainly stay there again and would recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    10
    Good location, easy walking distance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Arrived by bus from the airport, only a short walk from the station,very manageable with a suitcase. Comfortable room, beautiful breakfast terrace, with stunning views across the city. Staff very helpful and friendly. Breakfast plentiful .

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    8.3
    Very nice Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower cubicle was very small. Difficult to get in and out of the narrow gap between the doors . Although the shower unit itself was very efficient.

    Very nice Hotel. Independent in style with some nice cosy seating areas. Bonus is the rooftop terrace with fabulous views over the city. Breakfast is served here and you can sit inside or out. There was a good selection for breakfast. Although had the Hotel been busier the space around the breakfast area would have been a bit tight. Good location for railway station and major sights. Pleasant staff. We had a lovely 3 night stay here and would recommend to others.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    8.8
    Good hotel in a central location for a 4 day visit to Palermo
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was disappointing (there has been no reaction to the earlier comment regarding cold scrambled egg!) but the view .............

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The view from the rooftope bar / breakfast area is very nice. The bars and restaurants in the area behind the hotel are very good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    10
    This will become my hotel in Palermo!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The roof terrace was absolutely incredible! Good to have a bar there too for tea or drinks. Restaurant in Summer. View of Palermo 360 degrees. Position perfect, we walked everywhere. Staff courteous and helpful. Breakfast wonderful

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    6.7
    The location was fairly convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking was a real bummer and was not made clear to us until the second day that we had a better parking option. Also, we were on the top floor for a quiet room but the floor above us had the restaurant and people walking in heels most of the night and early morning.

    The location was fairly convenient. The rooftop restaurant had fabulous views. The staff on the second day was great.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    8.3
    The location: close to the Main Station and the main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing unfavourable comes to mind.

    The location: close to the Main Station and the main attractions. A Lidl store 200-300 metres away (towards the station). The staff was friendly and very helpful. Breakfast on the roof terasse a big plus. This was my second stay at the hotel. I will book there again.

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Ambasciatori traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: