Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel American-Dinesen 4 stars

Campo San Vio 628, Dorsoduro, 30123 Venice, Italy

#45 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 880 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel located in a fantastic spot in Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful hotel located in a fantastic spot in Venice. Easy to get to and well located to get almost anywhere within 15 to 20 min walk. The hotel is in an area that is a little quieter but still easy to walk around everywhere, which was actually nice in busy June / July. The staff are friendly, with excellent service and amenities. The room included buffet breakfast is surprisingly good with great variety of hot and cold foods and breads, cereals, cheeses and juices . Nice cappuccino as well. The room we stayed in for family of 4 was lovely and spacious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location, charming hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a bit musty and smelled a bit moldy. The environment is very humid and the hotel seems older so it makes sense but my son has asthma and he was coughing a bit.

    Location was great. Just far away from the crowds in a beautiful section of Venice. The breakfast was small but satisfying. The front desk was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location and view of a picturesque canal from our balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a bit small, with interesting decor, but this is Venice!

    The location for this hotel was perfect walking distance to everything we wanted, and on a quiet picturesque canal, and we were lucky to have lovely balcony overlooking the canal. That is hard to find at this price of hotel, so well worth it. The staff were very friendly and helpful and breakfast in the morning was quite generous, lots of options. We had a lovely stay here. We were able to walk to the Academie Gallery ( 5 min) , The Guggenheim ( 5 Min) , and Piazza San Marcos ( 15 min) quite easily from our hotel. We even walked to the Rialto bridge and back one evening, which was a lovely walk.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel on a canal
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing to not like about this hotel. It was an amazing place to stay and we would return if we go back to Venice.

    This is the perfect location in Venice because it’s close to everything, but away from the crowds of San Marco and Rialto bridge. The best part of the hotel was the staff. We left knowing everyone by name after two nights. I recommend taking a water taxi right to the front door of the hotel. Also, if you plan on going to Murano, have the hotel set you up with the tour. They send you on a FREE water taxi ride to a cool factory. The tour is free (and trust me here), you will end up buying something from the factory. The hotel has an amazing breakfast. For dinner, you may want to try the small restaurant right outside the hotel. Great food there too. Enjoy!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Better than expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better than expected. A last minute booking due to an AirBNB not working out. The hotel upgraded our room. Staff were friendly and helpful. Marked as traveling with family, but it was a 16 year old and myself. Cannot say as to how hotel is for younger children. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    Perfect short break in the heart of Dorsudoro
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfect location, near to vaporetto (Accademia), Guggenheim collection and bars, shops and restaurants. We particularly enjoyed Enoteca ai Artisti for dinner nearby...Room was spacious and well appointed with a large modern bathroom. Reception Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast had plenty of choice. Hotel has boat dock so you can be dropped at the door directly by water taxi from the airport.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.6
    After the hellhole Domus Ester in Rome, this was bliss.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is excellent for waking to most important attractions. The breakfast was nice, but not extravagant. Our room had a balcony overlooking the canal...lovely. One morning we had to leave early before breakfast. They went above board to make us a breakfast, before the kitchen was open. In general the staff was friend;y and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Loved the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like. It was great.

    Loved the hotel. Very beautiful. I’m a 300 pound guy and could still fit in the shower I consider it a win. Wonderful staff. In a very quiet part of town. If you’re young and looking for a fun and active spot maybe not the best but everything is very walkable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    A great location , easy access but out of the center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    this is a lovely small hotel in the Acedemia area. It was on a quiet street out of the mayhem of St Mark's. The room was very comfortable and the air conditioning and the open windows made for a great sleep. There was an excellent breakfast and friendly staff to deal with all your needs

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    Very good location with easy access to main attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower door needs fixing, something that the cleaners must have noticed beforehand

    Excellent location away from the very busy and crowded areas but with easy access to them

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic. We loved your Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Hotel exceeded our expectations, it was beautifully decorated, the staff were super efficient and looked after totally. They organised disabled water taxi (amazing), they made restaurant reservation on our behalf. Delivered a complimentary bottle of Prosecco on my birthday. The breakfast was super delicious, it had everything we needed and more. I would definitely return to this hotel and recommend it to my friends.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.2
    It was a wonderful stay. We would definitely recommend it to others, and stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have loved a canal view, but wasn’t in the room long enough to enjoy it anyway.

    Room was clean and comfortable. Staff was welcoming and informative. Breakfast was delicious. We arrived early and were able to check into our room as soon as we arrived.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    The view and being on a quiet side canal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is abit of walk from the main area however this means it's quieter at night for a good sleep. Plates ran out quick at breakfast if you went any time after 9am. Bathroom is really small but in general rooms size is okay

    The view and being on a quiet side canal. Buffet breakfast lots of variety and good coffee. Close and easy walk to Vapretto stops. Worth staying if wanting a view of a canal

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.8
    Excellent breakfast, great hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lady at reception seemed a little cranky. Not so helpful compared to other hotels stayed at.

    Breakfast was amazing!! Boutique style hotel with great location and very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel at great location !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have been upgraded to a suite, that was adjacent to the original hotel. The suite was newly built, modern and in excellent condition. My kids loved the rooms, we enjoyed our stay. I will definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    Quality hotel in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything 😊

    Great location. Just away from the really busy areas but walking distance to everything. Really clean and pretty rooms. Ours looked over the canal with a balcony which I highly recommend. Good breakfast with lots of choice. Quite pricey but most places in Venice are. Nice little outside area to sit in the sun too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    Thank you for making our Venice vacation even more memorable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were lovely, breakfast was plentiful, and a private dock for water taxi service made all the difference in the world for my mother. However, I saved the best for last. Each night, we made our way downstairs to the very small but cozy hotel bar/lounge area for a nightcap. The bartender (he also works breakfast solo) went above and beyond to make sure our nine year old was included, making her delicious hot chocolate served with cookies or savory snacks...each night. Upon checking out on our last day, he sent us off with fruit and cookies for our kiddo to enjoy on our long train journey. Talk about going above and beyond! Thank you for making our Venice vacation even more memorable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.2
    You won't regret :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing negative, really! Everything was amazing!

    If you are staying in the "Annex room" of the hotel, I can assure you: no regrets! Very cozy and nice. Room was HUGE and the bed was SOOO comfortable. Very quiet outside, we couldn't hear a thing. Bedroom and bathroom very clean. It is possible to be completely in the dark during the night (not really possible in so many hotels nowadays) - and for us, it was really important. Very close to main attraction... 15-20 min walking to Piazza San Marco. At the reception, they were always very nice!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.6
    Loved it !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful view of canal from property. Staff was wonderful. It was our 10 th anniversary The staff sent up a complimentary bottle of champagne. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    Amazing, didn't want to leave x
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was beautiful and looked exactly like the pictures. The breakfast was outstanding, lots of choice! The location was fabulous and the staff we're so friendly! I will be returning to Venice and I will be staying in this hotel, I couldn't recommend it any more x

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    7.5
    Handy. Pretty. Close to a vaporetto stop. Good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit cold. It was freezing whilst we were there but more rugs maybe and thicker duvets for winter might be nice.

    Great breakfast. Included in room rate. Loads of choice. Spacious family room. Comfy beds. Quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Great location, very comfortable and spacious rooms, super breakfast and friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A double bed would have been a better option than a sofa bed in this large room.

    We had a family room on two levels. The room was very spacious but the sofa bed was very uncomfortable for adults.The breakfast was excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    8.3
    Our second stay, would unhesitatingly stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On this second occasion (unlike the first) the bedroom did not contain any comfortable seating, merely a couple of desk chairs which disappointingly made the bed the only means of relaxing after a slog round the Venice lanes.

    It was our second stay at the excellently located American-Dienesen which again proved as comfortable, immacultely decorated and maintained. Wide and good quality breakfast selection (again with the minor exception of the budget orange juice!). Welcoming, courteous and helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.8
    Overall very happy with stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Explanation of parking options in Venice and relation to access for hotel.

    Very pleasant staff. Very quaintly decorated. Location to boat stop excellent. I looooove an 11 am checkout. A lovely breakfast spread.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable hotel in excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the annex building and our room was not quite as luxurious as other rooms shown in the pictures. At the rate we paid it also turned out that breakfast wasn’t included, which set us back an additional 30€ per night.

    The location of the hotel is perfect. Comfortable hotel in a nice neighborhood.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    The location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was perfect. We went in December so there were not many crowds, but it was so close to many points of interest and activities for Christmas. Everything is within walking distance. We were escorted to the annex part of the building where we were shown how to work the code and keys to operate the temperature settings and doors. I think we must have been upgraded because we had a 3 room suite that was lovely, with 2 tvs that provided english translations.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    8.8
    Great area, very clean and quiet with easy acess to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room Selected at Check In
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Morgenmaden burde være inkluderet i prisen.

    Great area, very clean and quiet with easy acess to everything in Venice. I would choose to stay there Again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    At calm and cocooned, in a bustling city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing to report concerning the structure. The city can be, and is, very stressful to visit (long queues and crowds) and quite pricey (transports and restaurants). But it is spectacular and well worth any efforts!

    Excellent position: you can walk almost anywhere and, in case, there is public transport nearby. At the same time, place is calm and has less a touristy feeling than many others in Venice. Staff is helpful and very kind, providing good advice on restaurants and local attractions. Rooms are clean, comfortable (temperature can be set autonomously) and decorated in modern Venetian style. Rooms overlooking the canal have nice, small balconies. Good breakfast, with large choice of artisanal bakeries.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel with great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    First room a bit noisy by restaurant but they moved us so no complaints.

    Loved the location, close to many main attractions and not as crazy as San Marco area. Good restaurant right next door but don't want your room at that end of the building. We had a twin room which meant they separated the beds so no mattress cover and could feel the mattress pattern but still loved our room with a canal view. Huge variety for breakfast with some of the best pastries of our trip.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    we feel at home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing, this place is perfect!

    We have been coming for years! clean, pretty, so close to everything but quiet. Reception friendly, helpful. Great breakfast, Larry is the best, he even remembers your taste on coffee! thanks to all!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.6
    A very pleasant memorable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was great! Right at the Accademia boat stop in Venice. Quiet but very close to all the major sights. Staff was great! Excellent breakfast. Very nice large room with balcony overlooking the canal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Charming room, beautiful view, well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was awkward to lift suitcases up and over the stepped canal bridge to get to the property from the Accademia stop. We left via Zitelle as there was a ramp over the steep steps where you could roll your luggage.

    The room was traditionally appointed, clean and had a small sitting balcony overlooking a canal. Friendly and helpful staff. It is convenient to the Accademia and Zitelle vaporetto stops.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.6
    Location is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room is small, but the two of us made do. We were excited to have a tub/shower, but the floor of the bathtub is curved and molded so it's hard to stand on when showering.

    Location is great! Quintessential Venetian canal just off the Grand Canal. The Dorsoduro district is quieter and not as touristy. Water taxi stop is just around the corner from the hotel and there are great shops and restaurants also close by. Staff is friendly and very attentive. Full breakfast buffet is delicious and abundant almost too much so....Need to leave room for the pizza and pasta!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.9
    The hotel was in a quiet area along a small canal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Needed to change room twice and to be upgraded. The last room was spacious and wonderful but no longer a bargain

    The hotel was in a quiet area along a small canal. Some rooms were wonderful, others not so.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    A memorable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Love the property and great location by the Guggenheim and Accademia museums. Beautiful room, great breakfast and super staff made for a wonderful experience!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    6.7
    A great break with pals, lovely located hotel. Venice lived up to and exceeded expectations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were very hard, I know you can't please everyone though! Some of the reception staff could learn to smile and improve their hospitality skills a little. The ladies in the double room were a little cramped by comparison but it is Venice and space at a premium,

    The location was fantastic, only 15 min walk to St Marks Square. Breakfast was good as well. Our room a triple, 206 was a really great size with a generous bathroom too. A couple of the reception staff were very helpful and booked water taxis and a trip to Murano for us.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.2
    LOVED THIS HOTEL!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exclusive Double Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing that we didn't like was the beds...the were VERY hard. (but im sure some other people loved that)

    I loved this hotel! The area was perfect! very close to everything and easily accessible by boat transfer from the airport. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.2
    Made Venice even more special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing boutique hotel in a perfect location in Venice. Everything is within walking distance but it's not in the touristy/noisy area. Beautiful room, friendly staff, great breakfast. Look forward to staying here again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.5
    This is my favourite location in Venice. Near the action but quiet and serene.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was tiny and looked out to a wall. Water pressure very low. Had to plug the kettle in on the floor. If they made the bar nicer and put some tables outside I am sure they would see a significant increase in spend from their guests.

    Breakfast was great - simple fresh and good!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    We would definitely recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was robust with many choices. We had early water taxi departure and the staff allowed us to eat earlier than the scheduled time. Staff booked our arrival and departure private water taxis for us. Location is away from the major tourist area (a definite plus), but within easy walking distance to everything you need. Quiet area of Venice with many restaurants close by. Email correspondence from staff prior to arrival was timely and informative. Very clean, terrific bathroom and shower.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.6
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing organised by the hotel in the way of concession tickets or any tickets for the main attractions. The hotel is split over many levels across 2 buildings, lots of stairs and doors.

    Lovely setting, not too much through traffic, great staff in bar and at breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.3
    Loved Venice and all it had to offer and would stay at hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing overall very good.

    Location was excellent, based on other reviews we chose one of the newer annex rooms which was very quiet and peaceful but no canal views which was not an issue. Hotel organised a free taxi ride to Murano and glass factory tour. Easy to walk to main piazza and St Mark's Basilica. Supermarket and good restaurants and art galleries nearby.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location Good facilities Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little bit more money than we would usually spend but it was extra special.

    The location was absolutely perfect. The hotel was beautifully presented. The staff were all very helpful professional and friendly. The choice at breakfast was superb.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.9
    The location is great and hotel staff was friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Was chilly at times and heat did not work. Fan would come on but air was cold no matter which setting was selected.

    The hotel is located in a great location close to public water taxi stop ( Zatterre) but far enough away from St. Mark's Square to avoid the crowds. It was a short walk to the Square with great shops and restaurants in between.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    Superb location and friendly service. Will return again next year!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I found my mattress to be too hard for my liking and housekeeping did all they could to make it more comfortable.

    Breakfast was excellent as usual (stayed here a year ago) The little roof terrace on the back is nice in the evenings. Location is great with several good restaurants near-by. Aliguna boat stop at Zattere which gets you from the airport or cruise port is only a short walk to the hotel with one little bridge with short steps. Perfetto!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.8
    Everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was perfect. Staff were friendly, room was incredibly clean, breakfast was continental with a small amount of hot option, one morning we even got a visit from Pablo the resident Labrador! A very charming hotel in what we thought was a wonderful side of Venice - busy in the day but lovely and quiet - local even - at night. Once you get to know Venice, St. Marks Square is approximately 15-20 minutes walk and the nearest Water Bus stop is about 5 minutes walk. You should have no hesitation about booking this hotel! Thank you for a memorable stay

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.2
    The ideal hotel to stay in Venice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many stairs, there is an elevator only to the main building. The wi-fi is a bit slow.

    Perfect breakfast, coffee included, high quality and fresh food (fruits, cheese, ham, many different croissants), only missing: fresh orange juice. Strong air-conditionning in the room, well-equipped bathroom with many cosmetics, big and super comfort bed. Nice view to the canal, very quiet area but not isolated, only 15 minutes to Piazza San Marco.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    Brilliant place to stay and we'll be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything about the hotel was good. Great location away from the crowds but well located for a short walk into the centre. Lovely rooms and especially the canal facing rooms with balconies. Next door restaurant great and popular but not enough so you couldn't get a table.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.2
    Venice is beautiful, hotel was great but a bit of a walk
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the hotels fault but a twenty minute walk from the train station or a 70 Euro water taxi ride...so be prepared but we would say woth the effort.

    The hotel was lovely, friendly staff and a great breakfast. We arrived early in the morning after travelling overnight and they gave us the facilities to freshen up and looked after our bags which they then put in our room before we returned. Also a late checkout which was nice. After a long days sightseeing drinks on the terrace were much required and a great restaurant next door for dinner

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    5.0
    Deception with substandard hotel annexes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room Selected at Check In
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They have multiple “annex buildings”! The main little hotel may be 4-star, but annexes lack much of what you would expect from a 4-star accommodation. Moreover, there is a total lack of security in annexes. My room was in the attic (no lift) with slanted ceilings and light-bulb on a cable spanning the entire room horisontally. The bathroom did not have any ventilation. Two of four bathroom lights did not work. The shower was in near darkness. One plastic chair in the room did not fit my expectation of a 4-star hotel at that price. The odds are that the hotel you pay for is not what you will get.

    Skillful excuses for polite deception as they have more beds in “annexes to the hotel” than in the hotel they advertise. I paid for accommodation in their 4-star hotel but they “respectfully reserved the right” to put me in the attic of a nearby building which they call their annex. They kindly informed me that it is an acceptable business practice to put me in a much smaller and shabbier room that looked nothing like what they advertise for their hotel. For the second day, they did offer a room in another of their annexes in a third of their buildings, across a canal.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.2
    Romantic short break for my birthday and first wedding anniversary.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite expensive - but all of Venice seems to be.

    Really nice breakfast with lots of lovely choices and fantastic coffee and hot chocolate. We were given some prosecco for our anniversary... really sweet touch.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel, but don't buy Murano glass where the free boat ride takes you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The free boat ride to the glass 'factory' brings you to a facility offering glass products at exorbitant prices, 3-4 times higher than elsewhere. Upsetting for the uninitiated.

    Air conditioning and service and convenient yet quiet location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.6
    A brilliant location in a beautiful quiet part of Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location of the Hotel is excellent - the water taxi dropped us directly at the door. The staff could not have been more helpful - excellent dinner suggestions, excellent service and assistance. Our family loved the luxury feel of the hotel and the breakast buffet was wonderful. We would definitely stay here again should we ever be so lucky to return to Venice. Highly recommend!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location, away from the hustle and bustle but only...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location, away from the hustle and bustle but only a short walk into everything. It's 3 or 4 minutes from the nearest bridge over the canal, about 10-15 minutes from St Mark's Square and about 20 minutes from the Rialto Bridge crossing. Hotel was clean, we payed a premium to have a canal side room. Would I pay to do it again, depends on how big the other rooms were as I believe by having the canal room, we had a larger room but could be wrong. Definitely lovely to have the canal view, just not sure if it was worth the amount of money. But room was lovely, had all the facilities, bed was a little hard but prefer this to too soft. Breakfast area good, very continental in terms of breakfast supply. I would absolutely recommend the private water taxi straight from airport to front door of the hotel. We paid €107 which is far more than public transport but was worth every bit. So much so that we did the same to get back to the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    Perfect...10!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is small and some rooms are not connected to the elevator.

    The location is terrific in a quiet neighborhood on a canal between the Academia and Guggenheim museums. Small hotel with a boat dock and comfortable lodging. Our room was beautiful with Italian wall coverings and a balcony with chairs on the canal.The staff was fabulous.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    7.9
    quiet nice gem in quiet, still central location in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WiFi was out, then OK, but did not allow outgoing mails, really frustrating ! Rooms are small-ish, as is the bathroom, really narrow shower

    Nicely renovated, updated property Excellent location right by academia bridge and P. Guggenheim, real central Quiet location with lots of nice, casual break-fast/ drinks/ dinner places Friendly, helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    9.2
    Stayed in more modern "Annex" room - Wonderful Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check In
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Again, the only thing that threw me off was that we were put in one of the "Annex" rooms which was very modern, and I had expected to stay in one of the more classic, Venetian, styled rooms. I'm the kind of person that would be thrown off by that kinda thing, which I was, but I soon got over it after I realized how awesome our room actually was. If it matters to you, I would suggest asking the hotel which type of room you are getting.

    We were put in one of the "Annex" rooms which are the upgraded, modern rooms in the adjacent building. I was expecting something different, but once we got settled, I could see how fabulous this rooms was! Huge comfortable bed, very clean, modern, awesome bathroom, and we even had a bit of canal view from our bed. The location is awesome as well. Venice is all so walkable that it seems that any location is central, but this hotel is very close to one of the major bridges that cross over the grand canal, and there are many restaurants, shops, and other sites along the way. I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    Absolutely no disappointments! Fabulous hotel, amazing staff, beautiful rooms and terrace areas!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Terrace was beautiful, staff was excellent, location was perfect for us. Breakfast was so yummy every day! Could not have been anymore wonderful! We loved everything about it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.5
    Clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced for a room without a view, Wifi a bit slow at times

    The property was in a great location, breakfast was good and staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel in a convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The canal view balcony was only big enough to fit one person - so no good if you like to have a cosy glass of prosecco together before heading out for dinner.

    Great location on a side canal just off the Grand Canal. Lots of shops, cafes and restaurants within easy reach. The 'Academy' bridge is a short (5 min) stroll to either cross the Grand Canal or to catch a boat or gondola. 15 minute walk to St Marks Square. Booked a superior room with canal view, the bed was huge and extremely comfortable. The breakfast is good and breakfast hours run from 7.30 to 10.30, so great if you want a lie-in! The staff were all lovely - very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    10
    Wonderful. Excellent hotel with an excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having never been to Venice I was unsure if this was a good location but the location of this hotel is excellent. There is a canal bridge very close by and it is also convenient to the water bus station. The location makes it an easy walk to areas to visit (such as San Marco's square) yet the street it is on is quiet and not busy. This was nice to come back to at the end of the day! The hotel is very clean and bright. The staff very helpful, friendly, & knowledgeable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful hotel for family of 3
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed here two days post-cruise. The HAD was lovely and comfortable, and every member of the staff was outstanding and helpful. They went out of their way to be friendly and engaging, and fulfilled requests at all hours. Our room for 3 had a real bed for the third person, hard to find in Italy. We had room 302, which is pictured in the hotel's brochure, and is exactly as pictured. It was easy to get to the hotel by Alilaguna from the cruise terminal, without having to lug bags over stairs (there was one bridge, but it had a ramp.) And, there is a private landing if you prefer a water taxi. A great location, with plenty of good restaurants nearby, and easy walks to major sites, but tucked away and quiet. Breakfast was fairly typical European buffet, but well-presented, fresh, and tasty, with many drink selections for whatever your morning preference may be. There was also a small cash bar in the evening, and complimentary bottles of water provided in our room. The front desk provided us with an excellent map of the city, and could have arranged a variety of tours if we had desired.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel in a perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The down side of having a room overlooking the canal was that it was quite noisy, particularly during the early hours of the morning when rubbish was being collected and deliveries made by boat, but this was a price worth paying for the delight of sitting on one's balcony watching the world go by.

    Friendly & helpful staff. Excellent location. Very comfortable room & delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay and see Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No complaints about the hotel

    The rooms were decent size, and the staff was very helpful Great view of the Canal from our room. Breakfast was fresh and filling. Bathroom were nice and clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    2.5
    hotel of crooks, beware
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room Selected at Check In
    • Stayed 2 nights

    this hotel provides misleading pictures, i got a small room with a shower almost my hight and with no lighting. internet service is available but does NOT work.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    10
    Picture-perfect quiet hotel in Venice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location, the friendly and helpful staff, enjoying a drink on my balcony overlooking the canal after a long afternoon exploring Venezia on foot, oh...and the sounds of the Venetians going about their daily work (boats, conversations, accents, children heading to school) when balcony doors open. Perfect setting in beautiful bustling Venice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    10
    Girls Trip to Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything negative enough to mention. The whole stay was faultless.

    The staff were amazing and wanted to accommodate your every need which they did! Nothing was too much trouble and the experience felt personal. The breakfast which was included in the stay was lovely, with a good selection of hot and cold food, cereals, pastries, fruit and much more. I travelled with my Mum and Aunty for a girls trip which was nothing short of fabulous. The triple superior room was gorgeous, and the views from the balcony were unreal. We felt very lucky to have such a good view of the Grand Canal from where we were. The location was perfect for us, there were bars and restaurants along the water front near the hotel facing Guidecca which were great, seafood and Aperol spritz' are in abundance! It was also only a 5 minute walk from Accademia bridge which leads you over to San Marco and the main tourist attractions. The area is well linked, with boat taxis being available from just about everywhere, to places such as Murano, Lido and the airport. The hotel arranged for us to take a complimentary private boat taxi over to Murano to watch a glass blowing demonstration and learn about the history of the art which was a nice touch. We would definitely stay at the Hotel American Dinesen again!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    9.2
    Very good value hotel in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little cold at times but there was an extra blanket in the wardrobe which helped!

    The location. Close to water taxis but away from noisy crowds Tea & coffee making facilities in the room, which is unusual in many European hotels.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    Fabulous hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved everything!

    The property was fabulous! The staff was superb as was the location. If we return to Venice we will definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    10
    Excellent stay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing actually

    The hotel and service was excellent!! They have an outstanding knowledge and service level. The hotel is located 20 minutes walk from St Marco square. They had a wide selection breakfast with high quality included in the price of the room. I would stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    9.6
    A perfect hideaway in Venice for a romantic getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could be modinised slightly.

    The view was to die for and the room was stylish. Very clean. Breakfast was good quality and plenty. Perfect quiet location yet accessible. Staff were polite and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    10
    Fantastic!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our stay at Hotel American-Dinesen was amazing, the staff were beyond helpful. They recommended a restaurant even night and reserved a table, if we needed it. Also, they arranged a bottle of prosecco in our room for my 21st birthday, which was lovely. The rooms are nicely decorated, well sized and paying extra for the canal view was definitely worth it. The breakfast was great, lots of choice. The hotel is approx 15 minute walk to Piazza San Marco, with lots of shops, restaurants and beautiful views on the way. Would recommend this hotel to anyone, the staff went above and beyond for us and made it a very special break.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    10
    A proposal in Venice with the perfect Help (Hotel American Denisen)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. I don't think that anything could have been improved on the world class service we received. The Wifi was slightly temperamental but hey that's it!

    Everyone morning we were treated to the most wonderful, authentic Italian style breakfast with a huge spread and a lovely bloke who would take our orders of hot chocolate and a cappuccino. All the staff were incredibly friendly throughout our stay and went further than the extra mile to ensure that not only our stay, but I had arranged some bits as I was proposing to my now fiancée and throughout they couldn't have been better. The room was exceptionally clean, staff knowledgable and helpful even coming to our aid at the élèventh hour bringing us a gluten free sandwich to the room! Thank you so much HAD I personally couldn't have done this without you!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel near the Accademia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We visited during the low season and benefited from a middle-of-the-week deal - full price would have been a bit high in our opinion.

    My wife and I had a wonderful stay at the hotel, it was quiet, comfortable and very well located - the main tourist areas are close enough to be easily reached by foot, while far enough from the busy crowds to have a peacful stay. The staff was very helpful and our stay easy and flawless, breakfast was also excellent. We willl definitely return.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    10
    Wonderful small hotel in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great locaction in Venice. One block from Accademia Bridge, Accademia Museum, Peggy Guggenheim Museum and 3 nice mom-and-pop resuaurants. Also on a canal and within easy walking distance to St. Mark's Square. What else could you ask for?

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel American-Dinesen traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: