Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of L'Ancora

Via Colombo 111, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy

#23 of 43 B&Bs and Inns in Riomaggiore

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 179 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is awful, the owner helped with a parking space. Best ring in advance for where to park. Official Riomaggiore parking is 35 a day

    Location is great, rooms are fairly small but well equipped, great bathroom, discounted parking from the owner

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great room in a central location. Easy check in with friendly receptionist who helped carry my bag up a steep street. The room was clean, comfortable and well equipped for our 3 night stay. There is a kitchen for use with a fridge stocked with juice and yoghurt and a coffee machine all free. Would recommend this property to others.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee machine didn’t work.

    Very nice rooms with everything you need. We had the room at the top with our own rooftop witch was amazing. Good cleaning and nice location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee machine not working to full capacity.

    Private Parking available for a fee at top of town. Rooftop terrace had an amazing view. Breakfast was just yogurt and packaged sweets left in fridge. Auto coffe machine was not working properly. Easy checking and check out

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs. The road to the apartment is pretty steep.

    We had the top apartment which meant we had the roof terrace BUT meant we had the most stairs to climb- steep, smallish and spiral.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was non existent which is a big let down for us as we require connectivity for work purposes. No facilities to sit and have a cup of tea or decent coffee in the room. Loved Rio

    The check in was efficient and the lady helped us find a kettle which was nice of her. Location was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little tricky to find as the area to check In is about a block away from the hotel,and the sign is kind of small. Once we found the hotel the lady checking us in met us where we were at and walked us to our room (so we could drop our stuff) and then down the street to the check in area.

    Cute room and amazing rooftop terrace from our room. A lot of stairs, so be prepared for that.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC and the WiFi didn't work. The have both, so I'm sure they normally work, just not for us. We didn't mind, but you should be aware the room was up two flights of narrow, winding stairs (welcome to the cinque terre).

    Great location. Clean. Excellent view from the rooftop terrace. Great bathroom. Fridge, sink, and a small TV. They even left us a small bottle of prosecco. Also let us store our bags in the office after checkout.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioning didn't actually blow into the room - we had to jerry-rig something to make it remotely effective. Glad we didn't bring heavy suitcases as the room was up 3 flights of spiral staircase - not a problem for us, but would be helpful to know in advance!

    We loved the rooftop terrace and location of the hotel/room. Enjoyed the complimentary prosecco and coffee.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely room in the middle of Riomaggiore. We were lucky and got the higher floor with a large roof terrace. I just love that place. Would go back amytime. Peaceful, great view, a coffee machine downstairs.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I could feel the springs in my mattress. The church bells went off at 7 am Sunday morning -- very loud.

    Easy parking, 15 euros a day. Just call the property owner and ask her to reserve a spot for you. We got there very early and she held our luggage for free. Bathroom and room were modern and very well decorated. Free mini bottle of prosecco which was nice. Allows pets - no charge.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The kitchen area was smelling a bit and the coffee was really bad. The location was rather noisy and a guy walked in without knocking to check something with the AC.

    Central location, room was clean

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exactly as described on web site. Good location. Although detail said parking not available on web site we were offered parking close to hotel but we had already parked on street and walked down in to Riomaggiore. Maybe could phone ahead to ask if parking available?

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Spiral staircase to room was wide but a bit difficult with suitcases. Fortunately we were on first floor, see clothes line photo. Bathroom was on a level three steps up in apartment which needed care at night.

    Property was just outside the restaurant area so was quieter at night. Enjoyed the bells ringing in the nearby church which were not invasive. Laundry and small grocer across street very convenient. Traditional rope clothes line outside window made drying clothes easy. Small fridge. Easy access down the street to the railway station tunnel. Self serve coffee machine and breakfast snacks available downstairs, always replenished. Staff available nearby to help with area and any problems.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shampoo or lotion...you had to ask for everything...glasses, wine opener, spoons. Location way uphill and then flights of stairs....

    Modern bathroom,refrigerator

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to ask for almost anything you want large cups, wine bottle opener..... shampoo and conditioner not available....lovely modern bathroom..very hard beds

    Refrigerator

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to complain

    The room on third floor is amazing with the terrace on top...The room is nicely decorated and all the fittings are new and very well maintained. The terrace is great to relax or have breakfast in the morning. The room also has a small kitchen area. The value for money was great!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Need to claim up a 400meter slope. It's very very difficult to clamp up a narrow stair with heavy luggage.

    Close to railway station, a small open room for drink and food.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Stairs in our room were dangerous. My wife turned from the wardrobe and missed her footing and fell down the 4 stairs flat onto her face on the wooden floor.

    Close enough to the action but far enough away from the noise of the night life.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Climbing the circular stairway with cases. The plastic roof terrace furniture has been sun bleached to the point of breaking, needs replacing. Great little kitchenette but no pans/pots etc.

    Very tasteful,quality designed place to stay. We had the advantage of the lovely roof terrace with its great views. Great spot, convenient for everything. Free juice/coffee/croissants available.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wish we could have had the room with the rooftop terrace, but it was still nice.

    Great location, very clean and beautifully decorated. Prosecco when you get there is a nice touch.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Coffee machine and mini bottle of sparkling wine were nice touches

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the roof terace, great place to evening relax.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very narrow beds

    Location. Roof top terrace. Cleanliness. Breakfast supplies.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Narrow 3 floor spiral stair for access, difficult with luggage. Plumbing broke during the stay but was repaired promptly.

    Rooftop sitting area

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was charming

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was impressively disinterested

    Good location above the noise of town

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice room, clean and tidy bathroom. Building on the main road, but quiet. Very helpful luggage service and the possibility of a paid parking place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hard beds, thin walls - you heard everything from the rooms above.

    Good location in Riomaggiore.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Coffee machine need servicing, but was the day we left.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location on the main strip. Host was easily contactable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was really unconfortable!

    Location was really good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower did not drain very well

    The location was great and the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress was not very comfortable, and the street is quite noisy,so the sleep was not great

    Good location and nice room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved that they had yogurt for us in the morning. Th staff was fantastic! I will recommend this place to anyone.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful room and facilities. Great location within walking distance to everything. Manager warm and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep climb to apartment then steep spiral staircase to the room

    Bed hard but pl

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kettle in the kitchen

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    interior design of the rooms

    the staff is super nice and helpful! great location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing sea view bedroom.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location, friendly staff, easy access to train stations, restaurants, and bars. We really loved our time here.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lots of stairs up to our apartment, but then it is to be expected in the Cinque Terre!

    Our own private terrace with a nice view.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Rooftop terrace

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lot of stairs to the apartment.

    Spacious room, a terrace, modern bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Service was a little cold. Didn't feel particularly welcome but it was only 5 mins at check in and 1 minute at checkout so didn't impact our holiday at all. Just surprised us! As its on a Main Street (great location) I was woken at 7am everyday by general street noise.

    Great location. A pretty 3 bed hotel we took it over with 2 other couples. Small but laid out/decorated beautifully. Lovely bathroom. Modern.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The reservation desk doesn't open very early but I just left my key card.

    The room was very nice as well as the bathroom, nice to have some free snacks and a coffee maker.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Thin walls, could here the noise from the street as well as other neighbours

    Good location, about 10mins from the train station however to get to the apartments the hill is quiet steep, but all apartments are about the smae

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A couple of negative things are the ceiling mould that is in the shower area that should be addressed and their wifi code did not work. Other than that, the stay was comfortable.

    Hotel room very clean with great AC. Staff very accommodating with leaving your luggage in their office for a few hours if you need to and with making bed arrangement changes.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I knew going in the it was uphill to the unit. But that could be a challenge for some. Tight spiral staircase up the the room. No soap in the room.

    Excellent AC, best in Italy that I have experienced. Good WIFI. Very nice unit.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Noisy rooms; can't be helped because the apartment is along the street

    Staff - we were late for the check in and the receptionist kindly waited for us past the check in time. Apartment - we were group of 6 so we had the whole apartment to ourselves. Terrace was nice and the apartment was clean and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom was moderniand trendy but poor ventilation created some mould above the shower but no big deal. For some the climb to the third floor could be a problem but typical of most accomodation.

    A decent climb up the hill to the room but typical of all accomodation in the area, unavoidable. Very surprised with a smallish but very comfortable room full of character. We were on the third floor so need to carry luggage but was ok. Aircon was great. Windows let fresh air in. Needed to close them at night due to a bit of noise but nothing unbearable. Would have been happy to stay longer but only one night.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The address they provide is actually the address for reception and the rooms are actually located further up the hill. We were located on the 3rd floor having the travel up 3 sets of stairs in a spiral staircase. It was really hard with 2 girls to get our suitcases up and down however we did manage.

    I would recommend requesting the 3rd floor as it has a terrace on the roof we're it is nice to relax. They provided freeyoghurt and juices in the common area on the bottom floor. The free bottle of presecco was also really nice :) riomarggioe is a really cute town and I would 100% recommend staying in this town

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very clean comfortable and modern. Good aircon. Shower small but all are like that. close to very good resturants and facilities. A short uphill walk from marina and station. We think best town to stay in of the five

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Struggled with wifi in the rooms but we managed as we were not there to sit inside on tablets :)

    The rooms were clean comfortable and one small set of stairs beyond the busy part of town. Our party of 6 had three rooms and the third floor rm had access to a rooftop patio where we sat and chated. No breakfast but automtic coffee machine (yum) and pkgd pastries.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location. Staff was very nice. If you don't like stairs, you might want to look into another property. It doesn't bother me, so everything was great, except for the bed was a bit hard.

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only Laundromat in town was insufficient, but that shouldn't reflect badly on L'Ancora. And remember the town is a hill.

    Such a cute place and close to everything. Even thought I rated the breakfast only good, the coffee was available when we wanted it and not bad at all. The town is a hill: good exercise!

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Large glass shower door doesn't close all the way. Steps extremely slippery when wet.

    Staff friendly and helpful. Charged my iPhone, made copies of train reservation, kept luggage, etc. Lovely room w modern bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room is very clean and tidy though it is slightly small. The decoration is very simple but you would like it. Seems to be newly renovated as the bathroom is very new and clean. Perhaps it is the water supply issue that the shower is not very strong.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Bottle water was promised but not provided. Prosecco was promised, but only one small was there on the first night -- nothing else for the rest of the stay. Shower was broken and never repaired in spite of two reports. Given the amount of walking and climbing you have to do in the area, showers are important!!! (There was no tub.)

    Location was great and decor was attractive.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great Location and the room is special and comfy. Just need to take note reception opens at 8.30am, if you want to drop your bags in hotel before that, you will need to plan ahead....

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    N/A

    Location is great, comfortable bed, nice staff

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Kitchen morning coffee Many excellent close restaurants

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is middle in the town, Kitchen is very clean

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Stairs up not much fun. A few things did not work, lights, fans.

    Very cute place once you got there.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very helpful with or late arrival. Helpfu with other info .. Room great.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    good

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    walking up the spiral staircase with luggage. also our front door didn't lock.

    location

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Would definitely stay here again. Friendly staff, nice clean rooms. Able to leave bags at the office after check out which was very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The amazing staff.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A little bit expensive

    Wifi very good. Location not hard to find . Staff is nice but it would be better if they speak English fluently

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not much to the breakfast

    Nice room and bathroom, very clean, great wifi. Complimentary bottle of Prosecco was a nice touch in the room.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Next time I would ask for a room with a balcony.

    Room was very comfortable. Central location. We had everything we needed.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bigger than I thought it would be, coffee machine (espresso, americano, latte) and yogurts in the shared kitchenette. Really good value.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is excellent. Quite a steep climb, but that is unavoidable in riomaggiore

There are also 32 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse L'Ancora traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: