Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Andromaco Palace Hotel 3 stars

Via Gaetano Martino snc, 98039 Taormina, Italy

#69 of 71 hotels in Taormina

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 146 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 22

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.5
    Nice stay friendly staff and a car park
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you're elderly the are lots of steps to the bedrooms breakfast room and swimming pool and it's about 15minutes walk to the town centre but up hill going back. Not great if you're elderly. We didn't mind the walk

    Swimming pool friendly staff car parking location ok

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    5.4
    The owners and staff seem to have given up.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired decor. Piles of old building debris and paint tins hidden round every corner. Locking the front door at 10.30pm. Checkout by 10am. Air-conditioning not working. No extractor fan so bathroom smells damp. Long,hot walk from town centre. Pool bar closed. Breakfast very poor, only start serving at 7.4am and stop at 9.45. Mostly food out of packets. Reception often unmanned. Broken fencing. Broken atrium glass roof. They insist you pay n advance as many guests leave after one night. No way is this three star as claimed.

    Good croissants. Reasonable pool. Quiet area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.9
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The breakfast was very basic and we had to endure one morning of several Italian guests expressing their displeasure. The Air Conditioning unit in our room was quite old and noisy and with limited impact although it still functioned. The swimming pool was extremely deep and I could only touch the bottom on tip toes at one end (I am 5ft 4) so my son spent most of the time in the little pool, again which was also quite deep. When we asked about the laundry service we were directed to a business the other side of the town.

    We always received a friendly welcome and helpful advice. Parking is secure although down the hill away from the hotel. The room was spacious and kept very clean by the lady who cleaned each day. It was within walking distance of Taormina Centre (15 mins on a hot day).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    5.0
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long walk to city center do that 2or3 times a day it's tiring, no restaurant ,16 inch TV, needs lots of care,they lock the door around 10 pm they buzz you in that's annoying

    The owner & staff great

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    9.2
    Lovely family run hotel in a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Tea and coffee making facilities in the room would have been nice.

    Lovely family run hotel in a perfect location. We had 2 small children with us aged 5 and 8 and we walked into town every day, it is a 15 minute walk with small children. We requested an early book in and they were more than happy to provide this. The best way to get to the hotel from Catania airport is via the airport terminal bus , tickets are 7.50 Euro per adult at the airport terminal exit on your right, the bus is clearly marked Taormina. The bus takes about an hour and brings you to the main bus terminal in Taormina, from there a taxi is 10 euro. A taxi to or from the airport is around 90 euro. The owners are very nice and helped us with taxis, excursions and local advice - they even packed our children a take away breakfast bag on check out as we had an early flight that left before breakfast. Restaurants in general are expensive and some take advantage of the fact they can rely on the constant flow of tourists. I highly recommend the restaurant Shelter in the main town - for a family this will cost you about about 20 euro more than some of the other very average tourist traps but it is well worth it. I can also recommend restaurant Etna, it is one of the closest restaurants when walking into town and it is a very convenient, friendly, good value for money family restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    5.4
    Ok to stay but not the best service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the rooms (we were with a group of 10) didn't have warm water and the staff told us it was normal (' 22 degrees should be enough'), eventhough the other rooms did have hot water. Also the parking space is really small and when we had to leave for the aiport at 4.30 in the morning, our car was blocked by another parked car. Then took almost half an hour to find someone to help us (they don't have a night reception, you have to call someone, the man who showed up was helpful but didn't speak any English so it took a while before he understood the problem), kind of stressful when you have to catch a plane.

    Good location, a little outside the center but within walking distance. Nice view if you have a room on the outside of the hotel. Rooms are fine, breakfast is fine.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    9.2
    Lovely quiet stay in November
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All of the staff members didn't speak english which might be an issue for those who don't speak any italian.

    Small family-run hotel situated in local residental area. Lovely staff, really made me feel like home. Room with sea view was amazing, and cleaned every day. Will return.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    7.5
    Good location, comfy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Hotel could be updated in some areas and smelt a little fusty, but good value and we only had it as a base. Was difficult to find though even with the signs!

    The hotel is about a 15 minute walk to the town (up hill at times), but an enjoyable walk. The hotel was a little dated, but large rooms, clean and beds comfortable. We didn't have breakfast so cannot comment on that. The area was fairly quiet at night too.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.6
    Great location, Friendly staff, clean and pleasant hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 12 nights

    only left soap and shower gel on first day. Stayed two weeks and it was not replenished.

    Great location, Friendly staff and the pool is excellent. Parking was available and secure.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    8.3
    Near to the Sicilians
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No safe, no fridge, inefficient, loud AC. If you come by car, traffic, and parking is little bit complicated, everything is very narrow, however this is the nature of an old town...

    Very kind, helpful staff. 5 minutes pleasant walk from center.Nice building, good view, excellent pool. Breakfast is not bad, but must be early there, because if they run out items they do not fill up. If you want to have close impressions, how ordinary Sicilians are living, best place, because it is not a hotel, but more a residential area.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.8
    Stunning view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stunning view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.6
    Very good location, very clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good location, very clean room. Amazing views. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    5.8
    the pillows, toooooo hard
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the pillows, toooooo hard

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    8.8
    Good views, friendly staff, great pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was not easy to find by car.

    Good views, friendly staff, great pool. Taormina centre not far to walk. Car park.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    7.5
    The rooms are a little out dated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The rooms are a little out dated

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    10
    Very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location. Very clean. Very good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    7.1
    Nice hotel with the swimming pool and nice view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hard to get there.

    Nice hotel with the swimming pool and nice view. Parking- it is very important if you travel by car to Taormina.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    4.2
    rooms and bathroom were good size for Italy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No air conditioning . We had to ask and ask for it to be looked at, someone came, never was fixed. we had to go on the balcony to cool off, at least in the 44 degree heat outside there was air movement. We even asked for a fan, and received nothing, the owners however had a nice fan for themselves in their office. Very rude lunch lady, horrible packaged breakfast. I really wanted to have a comfortable relaxed vacation here, we felt very unwanted and a bother. I can't imagine how non Italian speaking guest must feel?

    rooms and bathroom were good size for Italy

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    7.5
    Room was comfortable and cleaned every day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Parking was difficult..the area is very narrow for driving and parking which is not the hotels fault. The staff could have been friendlier. The pool area was lovely but the bar for drinks and snacks wasn't always open.

    Room was comfortable and cleaned every day. Location was close to the centre (about a 10 minute walk) Breakfast was good (just a shame food wasn't topped up regularly as you had to keep asking for things)

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    9.6
    The swimming pool was amazing for the heat, staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It was a slight walk to the town but it is only about 10 minutes.

    The swimming pool was amazing for the heat, staff were lovely and helpful, room was very clean. Breakfast was good. Lovely view.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    5.8
    Clean room with good views to the coast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Given it was a good 15min walk to the nearest shop/restaurant I would have expected the hotel to have some sort of vending machine.

    Clean room with good views to the coast.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    7.9
    No aircondition
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No aircondition

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 22

Browse Andromaco Palace Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: