Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Relais Antica Badia 5 stars

Corso Italia, 115 -121, 97100 Ragusa, Italy

#11 of 22 hotels in Ragusa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 225 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 66

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location. We thought the apartment was very unique, nicely appointed, full of history, spacious, had great storage, cute kitchen and we loved the location. We will definitely stay there again if we go back to Verona.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking a bit tight. Street parking possible, but make sure you feed the meter. If you do get a fine, go to the meter, and pay it before midnight, and the fine is eliminated. The hotel staff did not inform me of this option, and I had to pay the steep fine.

    Our room was very interesting. Curved ceiling. Small window. Creatively decorated. It's an old building that was modernized. We likely got one of the lower priced rooms, as we booked last minute. The view from other rooms seem like they would be better. The breakfast was excellent. It's a great walk to the old town, involving 300 steps.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite del Barone
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was horrible and mattress definitely needed to be replaced. The linens and blankets just were old and worn and hotel is very dingy and old feeling, especially for the money. Wasn’t the cleanest place.

    Room was sufficient size and staff was generally friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Wi-Fi was a little quirky, but in an old stone building like this perhaps that's to be expected. It did do what I needed it to.

    Overall the hotel is lovely. The bed was comfortable, breakfast was good, the shower was great. But the most special thing was the staff. Everyone I encountered was so genuinely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building itself is beautiful beyond imagination - but it's managed and designed on a really low level. The interior designer of the rooms mixed up styles in such a helpless way, that you simply can't help wondering all the time about his/her bad taste. The shower is a plastic container from the 1980's and it's not only old and ugly, it doesn't really work as well. Everything inside your room is from IKEA, like the bed, cupboard, ... You can feel as well, that the staff hasn't a well-meaning, good management either. The truffle bistro serves dishes that all taste like a cheap copy from some high-class menu. The wellness area is a joke. It's really strange: the place could be the most wonderful hotel in Ragusa and the marketing gives you the idea of very high ambitions - but then, it's very clear, that the management didn't have any classy ambitions at all. Everything is cheap and cheesy. What a sad experience and what a shame for this beautiful building 😞 In the end, we left one day earlier, although we paid for the whole stay. Of course no one cared to offer us to refund the last night. We didn't expect it anyway after this experience and just wanted to get away from here.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was more of a modern renovation instead of the plush luxurious rooms in the palazzo which I had wanted.

    We were unlucky as they were doing road work in front of the hotel when we were there. That meant we could not have the room we reserved and were given a suite but it was not in the "fancy"part of the hotel. We imagine the staff changed our room because the front rooms would have been noisy due to the road work. The suite was huge and quiet but not at all what I had expected and what is shown in the pictures of the rooms. I only realized that the next day as we had 11 different hotel rooms booked on this trip. I really wish we would have had the palazzo type room. The breakfast room and the rest of the hotel are in the palazzo part and there one gets the feeling of stepping back in history. the staff was really great and incredibly friendly and helpful. The parking is down the street and we could not pull up to the hotel to drop the bags due to the construction. But the staff helped with bags.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    It was lovely, the room, the breakfast, the ease of finding it, the parking, the glass of Prosecco for my husband's birthday, the staff and the 350 steps to the old town and then back up again, good exercise before sleeping

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Driving into the hotel and parking was very awkward. The concierge was not bad but did not have good English and was not well trained. The rooms were just not up to any expectations. Our room was so dark and small that we demanded to move to a ‘suite’ but still had to pay extra. The ‘suite’ was not finished well - no main light, switches in weird places, a poor shower, the water pressure and temperature would change every 20seconds from strong to weak and hot to cold and back, the blower drier didn’t work. There was no iron or ironing board and the hotel were very confused when we asked for one. When we got an iron (no board) there was no suitable socket to use it with. The decor throughout was always a bit off and a bit naff. The price and star rating indicate a luxury hotel experience but this was far, far from it. Luckily we only stayed two nights. Funnily enough, a few days later we met another couple who were booked to stay there for two night just after us. They only lasted one night before leaving and finding another hotel. The restaurant that is associated with the hotel however was actually very nice! It turns out that they aren’t run by the same people, even if they are part of the same group.

    Not much.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Additional shower massage sprays didn't work. (Bit of a novelty, but annoying all the same) Aircon was a bit iffy. It wasn't too hot though.

    Excellent staff that made us feel very welcome. Breakfast was outstanding! Location was great. Right in the centre of the proper town by bars, restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner- Wifi

    Staff members was very friendly and willing to help at all the time . We love the place close to all faculties . We are highly recommended

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lacking in services. No actual bar in the hotel, it's situated on a side-street. Breakfast was minimal. Room was misleadingly small, no space to leave suitcases out and for the money we paid - we have had better/bigger elsewhere. You are paying to look at the ceilings and chandeliers at this hotel. Nothing else.

    Staff were friendly, helpful. Location good being near bars, restaurants etc. Beautiful building.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a room located above over the reception and we could hear the conversations taking place all night... It was noisy and we did not have a great sleep at all. The bed mattress is quite hard too. Not the quality of a 5-star hotel. It was really not a highlight of the trip. Plus the hotel is not in the old part of town.

    Nice breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very helpfull hotel people , good parking, excellent restaurant like beef tartare with white caviar and a truly original caponata with small chocolate pieces.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor for a 5 star hotel. Free parking advertised online but 15 euros per night. Our room was very noise you could hear everything.

    Staff was really friendly and nice hotel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast service was beautiful, however, the staff could have given more attentive; the eggs and bacon need to be kept and served hot.

    Please resend survey in English!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast did not include a hot entree. Basically only sweets. This is a 5 star hotel? Internet did not work at all!!! No shower in room((we had a suite). Only a bathtub!

    Comfortable bed. Well appointed room. Air conditioning worked well. Secure parking(with a $15.00)fee.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were absolutely amazing, nothing was too much trouble and the hotel was fabulous too. Quirky and interresting. Will definitely stay again if in the Ragusa area. Awesome.!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This is an Italian boutique 5*, not an international 5* so some usual facilities (gym, swimming pool, late night bar and restaurant) are missing. Our "superior" double rooms were small. It is still an excellent hotel, probably the best in the area, but in a miniature. Also if arranging airport transfers via hotel make sure to ask for air conditioned car or you will end up with open windows for cooling.

    Cleanliness, warm friendly staff, excellent Italian style breakfast. Perfect location. Very reasonable laundry and mini bar charges.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is a bit poor for international guests.

    An amazing house, great rooms, overall a fantastic hotel. The spa is nice and the breakfast is very Italian. This is very luxuary.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real area for relaxation out side the hotel This is not a five star hotel Language difficulties but that was our problem

    Location Interesting building We thouroughly enjoyed ourselves The staff were great

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit cramped and poor lighting for reading.

    Very helpful staff, good parking and outstanding restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a bit difficult to find!!!

    Friendly staff, unique style and amazing breakfast!!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stass really nice and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful interior. Tasty breakfasts. Close to city center. 30 minutes walk from the old town.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view is to the parking lot

    The hotel is beautiful and great location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing to not like!

    Such a beautiful hotel - and with fabulous staff! Would recommend this gorgeous hotel to anybody visiting Ragusa.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entire Ragusa was closed and there was nothing to do but I was only there for 1 night on a Saturday.

    Marina de Ragusa was very nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor WIFI-Internet-Connection.

    Beautiful building, very friendly staff and good location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfortable bed, very pleasant staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very attentive staff and excellent breakfast. Lots of ambiance!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Welcoming staff fab location great hotel

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Correità staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were exceptional, breakfast was lovely, great location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great historic hotel in a great location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would enjoy a pool on the roof for the summer months.

    Amazing bed. Great room size.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous location, excellent hospitality

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great boutique hotel!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A bigger sign outside. The trafiic was heavy, the numbers were inconsistent and we drove straight past.

    Breakfast was possibly the best we have had in Sicily - the eggs are phenomenal. Very pleasant and helpful staff who would not even allow us to carry our own bags.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A restaurant would have good. We failed to find the one recommended and had a very poor meal in not very good surroundings. The first one we tried were not interested in serving us and we left after 25 minutes without even bread and water.

    The staff were very nice and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My wife and I stayed one night to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary in a 5-star, 9.2 rating 'fabulous' hotel. Our welcome on arrival by Vanessa was excellent. We were awoken early morning by swarms of tiny biting ants which were everywhere including the bathroom. Boxed and wrapped cakes we had bought for presents were infested and ruined. A call to reception meant 2 visits by the cleaning lady who was instructed to transfer us to another room. Only after a further call complaining that the room was very cold did the manager appear to supervise. There was no apology. We were allowed to keep our luggage in this room till we left. Due to the time lost over our predicament we were unable to take advantage of the hotel's sauna or spa. On our departure a manageress was in attendance. She finally apologised, gave us a discount of 4 Euros, did not charge for welcoming drinks and offered compensation of a future night's stay at the hotel. We left the hotel on good terms. However since then the compensation was changed to a free stay only after booking 3 nights. Following a challenge to this, 2 nights booking was stated. After a further challenge The original compensation of a I night stay was reinstated. By this time our patience had run out and our further email of over a week ago remains unacknowledged and unanswered. In it we complained that we no longer wished to stay at the hotel and asked for full return of our payment. Please help us! Copies of email communication with the hotel will be forwarded shortly Thank you. Hugh & Susana Andrews PS your feedback did not allow full rating. You gave our rating as 10.........!

    Position, tasteful furnishings and ambiance. Excellent breakfast and dining rooms. Very good welcoming reception.

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    can't really think of anything...

    Friendly staff, lots of recommendations for places to go and eat. Rooms were cute. Hotel was in ragusa superiore which I initially thought might be somewhat inpractical but in fact was great to walk down to ibla and get the view from top. Took a bus back up on the way back...

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No tea/coffee making facilities in room.

    Stunning décor. Large room with huge bed. Quiet except for church bells. Helpful reception. Incredible space age shower!

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's always difficult creating a hotel from an old building. It is a bit of a maze of rooms and we couldn't work out how to walk to the ground floor in case of fire, so potentially a safety issue. Our room only had a bath, not a shower. It was huge, which was great, however it looked like it hadn't been vacuumed for a while!

    Good location in the "new" part of Ragusa - close to some great bars and restaurants

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ragusa.

    Well I wouldn't have booked this hotel unless there was an 86% discount on the normal rate. I find it very very hard to believe anyone would pay over €700 per night to stay in Ragusa let alone this lovely hotel.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    On our second day, a surprising lack of bread variety in an otherwise good breakfast buffet.

    Great location in the center of Ragusa Alta, a few minutes by car from Ragusa Ibla. Classic elegance with modern design and comfort.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved the relaxed and welcoming atmosphere of the hotel. The staff were extremely helpful.The location was great.Would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was sooo friendly from the second we arrived till we left. Mickaele was anticipating our every need + gave us a tour of the magnificent historical house, advise of what to do & see locally as well as where to eat. They there so kind to us. We where also able to make the most of Turkish bath at convenient times for us. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Helpful staff, parking, rococo decoration, breakfast This is in the "new town" beside the Duomo, old town on the other side of the ravine.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bathroom was rather small in our room, but shower was nice. Wish the bathroom had more space. That was our only inconvenience. Otherwise we loved our stay!

    Location, staff and rooms

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast selection was not replenished very well, and had limited savoury options.

    The location was great, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the coffee at breakfast was good, the pressure in the shower was good, the minibar we well stocked

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was perfect for our needs. This would be my first choice for the Ragusa area.Stay away from Hotel Eremo Giubiliana!

    We came to Antica Badia Ralais Hotel following a horrible hotel experience (Eremo Giubiliana). This hotel was just what the other wasn't: clean, spacious, well-situated, and staffed by professional hospitality people who enjoy what they do. We left wishing we had all of our time in the area at this Hotel. Michele and Margarita were wonderful. We look forward to returning when we are back in Sicily.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing not to like

    Such an interesting building, which has been transformed into a wonderful hotel. The staff were extremely welcoming and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The spa is overplayed in their marketing.

    Staff were extremely helpful

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was predominately cakes but fruit was provided when staff were asked

    Room was very comfortable

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small room

    Very helpful personal

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was most uncomfortable.The spa bath should be removed and replaced by a shower.

    The location is good and staff very pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast not quite living up to expectations

    very elegant place, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    staff very helpful

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    great location, excellent breakfast, wonderful settings

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No Restaurant - it was advertised

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very convenient staring point to explore Pompeji - just meters away from the gate. Free parking nearby.

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No complaints at all

    Everything was first class

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Miguel at the front desk The hotel is divine

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Out of season not many places to eat at in vicinity

    Excellent location, wonderful public rooms

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 66

Browse Relais Antica Badia traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: