Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Antica Casa Carettoni 3 stars

Lista di Spagna, 130, Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy

#240 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 258 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 63

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Location was perfect, free breakfast was a great bonus (just pastries/coffee/meat/bread), room was large and spacious. Staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very kind, friendly and forthcoming for any necessity. The hotel is comfortable tidy and clean amd excellently positioned close to the train station and the bridge. Excellent breakfast too!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The website pictures don't reflect the room that was provided to me.

    The breakfast was not what I expected, it was pretty poor compared to what I had in my Rome and Florence hotels. The shower was broken. The furniture was old and the bed sheets were really old.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was extremely scarce, basically only sweet pastry and coffee. Shower cabin was so small, that one could only stand there without any moving at all

    The room was clean and cozy, kind of antic Venetian style. Location was great - near the railway station, close enough to walk with the luggage.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist on duty when I arrived was rather cold but the other staff were pleasant. The entrance is a little hidden - a single glass door between 2 buildings. If you reach the lovely chocolate shop on your way from the station then you've gone too far!

    I wanted a cheap hotel near the station in Venice and that's what I got. Location is great, room was small but had everything- small bathroom but everything worked. Furniture was dated but room was clean. For this price in Venice I wasn't disappointed. Breakfast was fine - good coffee and croissants, other pastries and cereal available. There is no lift.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is by far the worst hotel experience. The staff just has no sense of good customer service ( to be more specific, it was a young lady at the reception that seemed to be giving very bad service. To me it seemed as though she did not want to work there or was rather forced to be there). Firstly, I understand that there might just be female stuff working at the hotel, but it would be a good thing if they hired a male stuff to assist the guests with bags. I had to carry my own bags up the stairs while the lady that worked there just stood and watched me. Secondly, the female receptionist has a very bad attitude. At first I thought it was a racial issue, but after reading the previous reviews I realised that that's just how she is as a person. So if you plan on staying there after reading this review, don't be surprised when getting a bad attitude from stuff. Thirdly, City Tax. When I arrived at the hotel at night, I was told by the female receptionist that I had to pay City Tax of €7 in cash. Despite having arrived there late and having to carry my bags up the stairs, she insisted that I pay the city tax there and then. I pleaded with her if I could pay it first thing in the morning as I was there for two nights and I had just arrived in Venice and was very much unfamiliar with the place. She simply said no and that there are ATMS in the city and I should go find one. After which I went to find an ATM and returned to the hotel only to find that her shift had ended and that there was a man on duty who now said that city tax is €4 and not €7. This caused confusion and made me wonder as to whether these "city taxes" are just random amounts that they decide on at the spot. I would suggest that they add city tax to their room rates from the get go, to avoid the hustle of having to come to the hotel with cash on hand to pay the city tax. Or they should simply just get a card machine. Fourthly, the safe in the room.

    The only good thing about this place is the location and nothing more.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The tariff was too exorbitant when compared to the size of the room. The breakfast was certainly not up to the expectation.

    Its walk-able distance from the Venezia Santa Lucia railway station. Also just near the ferry station. Its situated on the main street so restaurants and grocery shops are easily accessible.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stairs from the street to the hotel and from the lobby to your room, there are no elevators. Shower too small and the bed hard. Breakfast too simple.

    The location and the size of the room. Lots of warm water for the shower.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast menu was very limited and the staff were not particularly nice to deal with. We paid $520 for one night and did not get the service we paid for. The property has no lift and did not help with carrying out luggage up multiple sets of stairs

    The hotel was close to the train station. The room smelt like white king which probably means it was cleaned well

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was tiny - the smallest shower cubical I have ever tried to use. Breakfast fare was poor quality

    The location was brilliant for transport links in and out of Venice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The overall qualities of the facilities, it felt like a dorm.

    The proximity to the train/ bus station was good. However, for the price, it was a little disappointing. I got to my room and there was a leaking toilet. The staff were friendly enough and changed me to a bigger room at a sister hotel at a lower category... which wasn't as nice. Stay was efficient but I would return if I was looking for a true Venetian experience.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walls are super thin, you can hear the people next door to you talking on the phone. Wifi was decent, I am a solo female traveler so when I have access to wifi I am praying that it is at least decent.

    Location! Right outside on the train station (but you couldnt hear anything). Located along the canal with numerous resteraunts and shops (right outside the front steps). Staff was great and rooms are well equiped.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quality of breakfast was not good - staff could be friendlier - room was very very small

    The interior of the hotel was quite nice with a good old style of furniture and very nice floors with kind of marble. The location was easy to reach from the parking place near the railway station.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot meals for breakfast would help. Room too small but fit for day travelers.

    Best location if getting to marco polo airport in the morning. Hotel is steps away (plus a climb up a steep but modern bridge) to airport buses (platform No. 5). For city tours, steps away from vaporetto ferrovia station. Lady receptionist allowed me to check-in a full 2 hours before 2 pm! Wow! And at no extra charge. Guy receptionist made my coffee (twice!) since coffemaker was not working (they kinda multitask a bit). :)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is quite small and the sound from outside is too lound but I accept this because of the location. In cae you have a large luggage, there is no lift at the hotel.

    The location was great, just 3 minute walk from Venezia station. Some of staff is friendly but some is not.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    need to walk few stairs before arrive the room and hotel

    Very convenient! Near the train station and the water bus station! The staffs are nice. The shower system is good! Although the furniture are old, is comfortable!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was tiny...ugly back yard....poor lighting. Extremely noisy....I could hear everything from the neighbouring rooms

    i didn't have breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't really complaint everything was OK.

    Nice enough hotel, good value for money comparing to others hotels in the area. Very well located, staff really nice and helpful. The facilities were cleaned and in good conditions.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location made it difficult to sleep at night due to all the loud noise until 2:00 am

    The location was easy to get to from the train station. The bed was comfortable and great for the price.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    STAFF: shocking experience: during checking in I have asked why the city tax is higher here than in another hotel in Venice (last night), I got the "quiet" answer: "It depends on how many stars has hotel, but IF YOU DON'T WANT TO PAY I WILL CALL THE POLICE." From the beginning this lady had a hostile attitude. I understand that everybody can have a bad day but saying something like that to the guests during check-in especially when I just asked for information is extremely rude and very unprofessional, I would highly recommend to find a nicer place.. Shower cabin was very small and uncomfortable.

    Location: very close to train station. Very clean in rooms.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to be very attentive to find the hotel, You will get NO recommendations where to eat/go because they don't care, Very noisy, because you can hear everyone walking in/out of nearest rooms, No elevator so if there is a heavy luggage, noone helps you, Maybe you won't be able to close the shower - the smallest I've ever seen.

    -

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better, shower too little and tight, bed not that comfortable. I accidentally left a brand new dress in the closet but when I called lost and found, they were no help at all. It was in there for sure. Someone scored a nice dress that day!!!

    Great location, fast Wi-Fi

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very convenient location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower was small for a guy and breakfast was very basic.

    Location was fantastic in the heart of Venice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    proximity to railway station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little bit small

    Everything was fantastic

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small and not very nice

    The location was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very clean, well located, breakfast was enough

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Early check-in was available for free! Great location!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to tell...for me all is good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Little bit expensive.

    Location is good. Close with main street and trail/bus station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very small shower

    room's view of the Streets - noisy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is perfect. You're a 4 minute walk from the train station and water taxis. So many restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small shower

    Didn't eat the breakfast but the room wnd location was nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not as the pictures, breakfast is nothing more than a coffee and bread

    Location ok

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not good at all

    Every things except breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast not included in the standard price.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lifts for big and heavy bags

    Proximity to public transportation, pharmacy, restaurants.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No soap in the bathroom. No shampoo in the bathroom.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small, uncomfortable mattress

    Great location, and friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Terrible breakfast

    Great location, very clean and comfortable. I would stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small, noisey and basic

    The location is great, for exploring the town and accessing the train station

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms very small, hard bed, and the staff seemed unaccomidating because I was American.

    I liked that I was only there for one night

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    G breakfasts is very good

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, poor quality and choice.

    The room was clean and spacious, very good matress. Close to train station.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fridge in the room was not working. Breakfast is very poor. E.g. there was colored water instead of juice. definitely not 3 stars hotel.

    Close to Santa Lucia Train station

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Service was extremely poor and rude staff. Internet facilities absolutely horrific and worthless. Breakfast was an excuse - poor - broken plates and cups and stale food.

    Location to Venezia Santa Lucia Station. Nothing else

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Price was quite high and there was nothing above basic stuff apart from TV. Room itself was quite loud, which was caused by both people inside and outside of the hotel. Breakfast was far away from something special.

    Reasonably cutish room.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only thing is that they can do a little better with the breakfast

    The location was excellent. The girl at the reception was very nice and helpful.even the other receptionists were helpful.

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast is veryyyyy verrryyyyyy poor! wifi only works from reception!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! staff was not so warm and had not that nice attitude! don't know why!

    being near the train station it gives you easy access to travel. It's just one minute walk from the station.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The price is too high for the facilities: room too old and the shower is a joke. The smallest shower I've seen! There was a large group of young travelers and the hotel didn't keep it organized during breakfast...my second morning I couldn't eat because there were 20+ kids lined up for food, so no room for others...completely disorganized.

    For the purpose of my trip, the location was good as I was looking for something near the train station.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was good. No complaints.

    Clean. Good breakfast icluding fresh scrambled eggs. Good location if traveling by train, very neear the train station.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Close to everything

    Internet not so powerful

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No air conditioning, noise, stairs and a poor breakfast

    Location.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No lift

    Location

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very Poor breakfast and no wifi in the room. The towel was dirty and very noisey in the night.

    Near train station.only things I remember.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great experience. Huge room which is more than worth of the money.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The strong internet and much more breakfast items .

    The internet not working in room . The breakfast very very bad .only cake and coffee .

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom facility maintenance is not good

    Very near to the termini

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a thing

    The staff, hotel was excellent and great location

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The shower is not draining well

    Very close to the train station.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff very caring and the facilities were nice and bright and clean. Appeared to be relatively newly renovated.

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 63

Browse Antica Casa Carettoni traveller photo gallery