Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Antica Dogana

Via Della Ricevitoria, 30010 Cavallino-Treporti, Italy

#2 of 5 B&Bs and Inns in Cavallino-Treporti

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 221 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 34

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.3
    Haute-cusine in Venice lagoon
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You will find delicious food and best wine in the Antica Dogana restaurant. Worth to come for a dinner, enjoy beautiful view over lagoon and then stay a night after. Located right at the waterbus station Treporti from where you can go to Venice or Burrano or Burrano next morning... Or leave to the airport.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Only good things to say about this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place is wonderful, the welcome from our hostess, the lovely location and nice views over the water, and the ease of catching a ferry over to the other islands and Venice. The meals were nice too. Our hostess was particularly friendly and helpful as we were collecting someone who was delayed coming in.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Thank you for making our stay unforgettable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a bit far away from Venice but the trip to Venice on the vaporetto is part of the joy of visiting the area and the canals

    Amazing hotel with really cute and comfortable rooms! The view of the sea was stunning; nothing compares to waking up to the sound of waves. Really really friendly and polite staff. Exceptionally good breakfast. The restaurant and the dishes it serves are the best we tried in Venice. Gracias-ευχαριστούμε :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    I would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing I can think of.

    Location is the best. It's right in front of the ferry station of "Treporti", just 1 min walking. The ocean view from the room is stunning. Hostess was very helpful to explain everything about Venice to us which is our first time there so she helped us out with everything. Room is clean and comfortable, bathroom was spacious and I quite like the decoration. Free parking is a big bonus if you drive by car.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    10
    Can't fault it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were so friendly and accommodating with our late arrival. Perfect location with parking included, which is a huge bonus! Excellent restaurant also - definitely better than we perhaps expected. Can't fault the place really!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Wonderful location . It has it all. Best place to stay if your visiting Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Easy access to ferries just outside the hotel. Made getting to Venice / lido and other islands effortless. Shops and cafe/bar at your door step. Great breakfast. Great location. Nice rooms with views of the harbour and lagoons. Very peaceful yet so much happening. Recommend Antica Dogana.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    10
    The hosts are charming and gracious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hosts are charming and gracious. They made my in-laws feel like celebrities. The view, location (literally next to the ferry to Venice, Burano and Murano), and food in the seafront restaurant were all spectacular.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    9.6
    Good food and views by the lagoon
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The quiet location next to the jetty. Boats every half hour to Venice, Lido and Burano. Excellent breakfast and friendly service. The lift was useful for heavy luggage and makes the accommodation accessible for all, unlike many places inside the city.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    On the water road to Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ideal point to visit Venice via sea bus with returning in deep night

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Friendly knowledgeable and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly knowledgeable and helpful staff. Excellent location for all the islands.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Outstanding excellent service and dinner!
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host and hostes were very welcoming and serviceminded. This, added to the location of the hotel, is a place you will to visit again and again!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    would highly recomend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    excellent stunning settting and nice atmosphere

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Absolutely fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.6
    Super location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.6
    What a fabulous place to visit venice from
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel did not have a sitting area or lounge so during siesta time we had to sit in our room

    Restaurant was outstanding . Water ferry 30 meters away

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Stunning view of the lagoon, friendly manager and staff, delicious food, clean and comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, excellent food, easy to get to and from other attractions

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    9.2
    Really great hotel, especially breakfast and dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really great hotel, especially breakfast and dinner. Definitely a good choice for traveling Venice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    9.6
    Romantic place close to Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Storage for bikes may look better:-)

    I liked everything.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    10
    Quiet stay with an easy access to Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in room could be brighter

    The excellent restaurant and the ferry stop next to the hotel

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    8.3
    the location is very nice as it is away from all the hustle...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wifi is not in the rooms. There is no lobby where you can sit and use the internet. You either sit in the restaurant and use it or stand outside which is quite unusual in todays time. The key is also very large.

    the location is very nice as it is away from all the hustle bustle of venice. The hotel is approx. 50 -60 mins from venice and is located on the port of Triporti. from there its just a 2 min walk. The staff is very nice and helpful the breakfast is also amazing.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    8.8
    Good location, Burano, Murano 15 min by ship, Venice also...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Good location, Burano, Murano 15 min by ship, Venice also around 45-50 min. Excellent breakfast, rooms are perfect for sleeping after a day in Venice Despite the hotel is right next to the shipyard, from where the ships goes late in the evenings and early in the mornings, we always had a good night.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    10
    Everything noted above
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I go to Italy because I want to be in Italy, not in an Austro-German outpost. If I want that, I travel to those countries. The hotel was almost too perfect,too Germanic.

    Everything noted above

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    9.6
    The staff was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi is only on the bottom level, can't use in room. The hotel is located all the way at the end of a 2 lane road that was packed due to it being holiday. But otherwise excellent location for our purpose of traveling to Venice and leaving our car parked at hotel.

    The staff was wonderful. Great location for traveling to Venice by ferry. Beautiful water view. Wonderful, huge breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    6.3
    Location is very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small room. Ckeckout and checkin not always possible. Parking very small. Not what we expected. Enormous room key, other key for entrance. What is wrong with a card system?

    Location is very nice. You can take the boat to Venice every hour.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    8.3
    The location of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Basically all was very nice, nothing to complain

    The location of the hotel. The hotel itself, a very beautiful house with a lot of flair and style. The people in the hotel are very helpful and very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2015

    8.3
    No hurry place to relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dinner was served too late in the evening for us so we had to find a sandwich shop next door to tide us over.

    No hurry place to relax. Area to sit out in the cool breeze.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    10
    Good location, just next to the boat stop going to Venice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi only on ground floor.

    Good location, just next to the boat stop going to Venice and islands. Well maintained room. Authentical design. Friendly owners. Tasty food. Highly recommend!

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    10
    Great location!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The restaurant was closed in the evening and every place in Treporti closed pretty early.

    Great location! Beautiful view and fantastic feeling of being in Venice, but not in the noisy part of the town.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2015

    10
    Hello.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There is nothing I didn't like. I advice you to stay here, whether you need a romantic get -away, or a nice family vacation :)

    Hello. I visited Venice twice and each time I stayed at Antica Dogana. This small Vila in the port of Cavallino - Treporti is absolutely amazing. I think this should be part of your Venice experience. It is comfy, friendly, very clean, romantic and relaxing, weather you visit it during summer, or spring. To reach Venice you can take the boat in front of the Vila, thus even though it is not in the "heart" of Venice, the almost 1 hour travel by boat is beautiful and it's worth it :). The owners are extremely friendly and helpful. I wouldn't stay anywhere else, should I ever visit Venice. To get there quick, from airport, call at the Vila, prior to the departure and the staff will provide you the directions to get there.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    4.6
    Nice for seeing Sunset in the laguna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not cool : Antica Dogana is closed before 19:00...take care for arrival ! The restaurant was closed for the two days of our stay... then : help yourself

    Nice for seeing Sunset in the laguna. Vaporeto service is good and easy (3/4 hour for going to Venice)

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    10
    Location, location, location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Coming home

    Location, location, location! So east to hop on a boat and head into Venice, great location for dinner by the lagoon, breakfast was also excellent, the owners are so helpful, very good information for the traveller

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    9.6
    beatifull view, perfect servis, great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wifi doesn´t work in rooms

    beatifull view, perfect servis, great food

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    9.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately we were not informed that restaurant was closed on Monday and Tuesday.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2015

    9.2
    nice view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nice view!

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34

Browse Antica Dogana traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: