Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Antica Locanda Sturion Residenza d'Epoca 3 stars

Calle Del Sturion 679, San Polo, 30125 Venice, Italy

#142 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 863 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.9
    It was an amazing vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The never ending stairs but the view made up for it 😍

    The location is perfect ! Very close to Rialto bridge and restaurants are all close to the hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    The hotel was close to everything, easy walking to all the landmarks we had a wonderful time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We like to get our exercise in and the steep three flights of stairs to get to reception was great for that, we didn’t mind it at all, if you can’t climb stairs this hotel is not for you, although the staff will help you with your luggage. The hotel entry was a bit hard to find at first 20 meters from the Grand Canal in a lane way.

    We loved Venice the room was spacious clean and comfortable sitting having breakfast and looking over the Grand Canal was a highlight and the Hotel is close to all the attractions.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location on a quiet side street seconds away from...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only issue was the WiFi was very weak, but that’s not a huge issue when you have the whole of Venice to explore anyway!

    Perfect location on a quiet side street seconds away from busy Rialto bridge! We originally booked a twin room but when we needed an extra bed for my friend for 1 night they upgraded us to apartment B for the same price! The apartment was incredible! Very clean and made our stay very comfortable. The staff were very helpful, even stopping us from bringing our cases up 3 flights of stairs when they realised we were in apartment B next door - very much appreciated! The breakfast was standard continental but great and located in a very cute tea room with a lovely view of the Grande Canal!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Great location, great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs to the hotel are really long so please be aware!

    Gorgeous view at breakfast, great location, really accommodating staff. Lovely and clean and nice touches to your stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.8
    I like it. We have a nice , quiet, private apartment! That was awes!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception / office is in the 4th floor, you to walk up there for check in , breakfast and check out!

    Since we have a lot of luggage as there was no elevator in the property, they gave us an apartment instead - which is located in the second floor with private entrance , for no extra charge!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    5.0
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had old furniture, no water pressure. No working internet, no coffee or tea pot. Shower extremely small as well as the bathroom, a/c didn't work.

    Cheap

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.8
    Lovely!!! Will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floor in room had hair.

    Location on the Grand canal is amazing!! And easy to get to from public transport Staff very friendly. Room very comfortable. Beautiful view down the street at back

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Nice short stay. Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room didn't have a good view of the grant canal. I guess they only have a few room with the canal view.

    The breakfast was very fresh. I smelled the bread being baked in the morning when I woke up.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    A very memorable trip to Venice and this hotel’s charm added to the experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 60 plus steps up to the hotel were exhausting but I am probably not very fit 😁

    Loved the Venetian style decor of the hotel. All staff extremely friendly and helpful and gave excellent advise on how to use transport and and things to do. Great breakfast and facilities. This hotel is in an excellent position right beside the Rialto bridge and was so easy to find. It is only a 10 min walk fro San Marco Square and the streets are lined with shops and restaurants. Lovely views of the Grand Canal from the breakfast room. Highly recommended!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.6
    A little Gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door to the bedroom, that opens out into the breakfast room, (although typically and beautifully Venetian) could be updated in some way so that there isn’t a gap at the bottom & at the sides, as felt we couldn’t talk without someone hearing.

    The view...It was fantastic from our room and the breakfast room. The staff were so friendly and the breakfast was good with lots of choice. The bed was very comfy too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Excellent location and great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location and very nice staff. The view to the water was fantastic! Morning breakfast was good and overall amenities exceeded our expectations. Definitely will return to this beautiful hotel!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    4.2
    Sleepless in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t usually leave negative reviews if I’m unhappy with a business but I wish I was forewarned that Antica Sturion rooms share the alleyway with the kitchens and stock rooms for the waterfront restaurants. If this wasn’t bad enough the street vendors warehouse was just below us! Each night was worst then the last. If it wasn’t the kitchen help dragging trash bags, slamming dishes or dumping wine bottles into tubs at 1 am it was the street vendors at all hours of the night yelling their orders to the guy sitting at the door of the ground floor warehouse unit. We had a four night reservation but left on our third night after finding a proper hotel. This was not the Venice experience we were hoping for. Next time we will spend a little more money and stay at a proper hotel.

    Staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.8
    Great stay in a classic 14th century hotel. One of its kind..... worth the flight of stairs :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staircase!! I think everyone who stayed in the hotel had the same comment. Each time you go out you need to face the 3 flight of staircase twice. Going down was not that bad but coming up can be a little bit of torture but can still survive :)

    Love the classical layout of the room. Feels like living in the 14th century. View from the breakfast room was breathtaking. Breakfast spread was okay with choices of bread, cheese, fresh fruits, fruit juices etc Everywhere in Venice is within walking distance. This hotel is just 2-minutes walk to the rialto bridge and 10-minutes walk to piazza st marco. Since it is located near to the public transport stop, you will not lost your way on your first day in Venice with all your luggages :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    confortable, very good location, nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were upgraded to a small apartment nearby which is very quiet and comfortable! We've loved it! The breakfast is very good with plenty of choice and served in a room with canal view. The staff was very nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    9.2
    Will come back and recommending to others too!!! Pictures include view from our breakfast table.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 66 (yes we counted) steps up the hotel... But that’s so Venice so, you win some you lose some... (This is the only “lose” though in my opinion...) Coffee wasn’t great but that’s our fault: YOU COULD REQUEST THE WAITER FOR DRINK ALL YOU CAN (and gooood) CAPPUCCINO... we didn’t see the sign until our last breakfast so we contended with the self-serve coffee... It would be nice to be asked or offered this option by the waiter rather than hit and miss the sign...

    Ambience: Hey you’re in Venice, you’ve got to have that old world feel and this hotel just hit it right on the head... it’s right on the Rialto bridge area close to all and even if you want to get lost in Venice which is kinda what you should do, you’ll always find your way back here at the end of the day cuz it’s just central to all... right outside is the ONLY 24-hour resto/bar, view of the Rialto bridge and the Grand Canal... Plus there are a lot of home-in-the-wall pizzerias, the Rialto public market just around the corner... love love love the location (without the $$$$) and recommending to all!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    Couldn't fault a thing. Loved every minute of it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with a proper toaster to make toast in morning. Yes there is a lot of stairs but you know this before you book so can't complainew.

    Breakfast delicious. Staff couldn't do more to help, even answering all my questions before arriving via email. Location was first class and would stay here again. Definitely recommend.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.1
    Good, but disappointed with the lack of privacy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with Grand Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom door opened out into the breakfast room. This was very uncomfortable when exiting the room for breakfast or to go out. Noise from the breakfast room woke us up early. Felt that the room lacked privacy. A secondary door should be fitted to give more privacy and the table outside the room should be reserved for that particular room. See photo of bedroom door opened and breakfast table right outside.

    Excellent location close to Rialto Bridge. Good breakfast, friendly staff. Lovely big room. (Junior Suite).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    6.7
    Good location, but disappointing room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The double room we were given (room 11) was very small and the bathroom was very shabby. The shower head was dirty - should be given a good scrub to remove the accumulated limescale.

    Very good location and good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    10
    Everything was just amazing! 😁
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was beautiful with priceless view, the rooms clean, comfortable and perfectly decorated, for the stuff, so positive, polite, helpful, in one word they are lovely ! For sure you should visit this place 👌

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.2
    Central location right next to the Rialto Bridge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The stairs...

    Central location right next to the Rialto Bridge. Really convenient. Everything can be reached on foot easily. If you arrive with lots of luggage be aware that the hotel does not have an elevator. You carry your stuff up 4 floors. Overall a pleasant experience with good value for money during the winter season.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    8.3
    Great location to explore an historic city from.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although there were several flights of stairs to go up (the hotel is located on the top floor of the building), there was a porter to assist with this both on arrival and departure. Obviously with a heritage precinct such as Venice, there are limitations as to how much modernization that can be done to an old building, both inside and out. the décor therefore was reflective of the era with fabric on the walls to match the curtains and lampshades. we specifically chose an older hotel because we do appreciate old buildings but this one requires some updating. the requirement to hand in your room key each time you left the hotel was a bit disconcerting.

    The location was good. Breakfast overlooking the cannel great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    It was just perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I cant think of anything negative

    It was just perfect....friendly and very helpful staff, perfect location, -central and easy to find, beautiful canal view, delicious breakfast in a lovely sunny space with canal view. I really can't think of anything negative.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    9.6
    Amazing location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is a huge staircase that could be problematic for some guests, however this was no issue for us!

    Fantastic location close to the Rialto bridge and the Grand canal. Staff were lovely and very helpful. Rooms are very comfortable and clean. Breakfast is yummy and two tables overlook the canal and Rialto Bridge - such an amazing view! We would stay there again and recommend to our friends.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    8.8
    Breakfast hall was with great view if you can catch 2...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast items should be improved.

    Breakfast hall was with great view if you can catch 2 windows by tables. decoration was historical. Staff was more than great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Magically pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no complains.

    Lovely place to stay. Cute little bedroom with the magical Venezian Style. Nice staff. Good breakfast with awesome view. Recommended.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    8.8
    Great location and large room. Staff was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was supposed to have a balcony but only had 2 windows facing the canal that I had to lean out of to see Rialto. Pretty disappointing.

    Location couldn’t have been better.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    They warn about the stairs in every possible way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect.

    They warn about the stairs in every possible way. The panorama is well worth the climb! When we arrived at 9 a.m. they offered us a coffee. As our room was still occupied, they offered us an appartement 3 doors away at no extra cost where we could move in immediately. Every member of the staff is smiling and helpful. We will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    3.8
    Will not stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are 68 stairs to get to the lobby, which was not mentioned. We were forced to leave our room key at the lobby when we went out to have a drink. Room was not similar to what was advertised. Breakfast was ordinary as to another hotel. Was not as wonderful as mentioned in the comments. Staff was noisy in the morning. Was not worth the money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    We LOVED this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was nice. We stayed in room 11 at the foot of the 52 steps leading to the breakfast room and desk. We liked the location of our room because we could come and go throughout the day without the climb (although we really didn't object to the climb--it prepared us for climbing cathedrals and domes in Florence and Rome). The room was traditional Venetian and comfortable (maybe a little bit cramped--one-way traffic only around the bed) and the bathtub was a little bit small (we like to shower together) but we would request this room again.

    The location was excellent--close enough to the Rialto Bridge to enjoy the amazing view (and there were signs everywhere pointing us back to Rialto Bridge) but far enough away to NOT be bothered by the noise. The staff was so helpful and nice--they went out of their way to make our stay better than we expected. The food was very good with lots of gluten-free options. We LOVED sitting in the window off the breakfast room in the evening watching the action along the Grand Canal and enjoying a glass of wine--we had it all to ourselves. Overall, it was perfect and we will stay here again WHEN (fingers crossed) we return to Venice. Sorry the pictures are side-ways (couldn't figure out how to rotate them)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful Venetian Corner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Be warned there is a big flight of stairs, however, the front desk is super helpful and will get your bags.

    The location and view are WORTH IT! all properties in Venice are pricey, this one was middle range. The beds are big, the breakfast was good. The internet was fine too. The whole place keeps a traditional look with XVIII century looking keys - great touch!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    8.8
    Great place if you can afford it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The evening desk clerk agreed to extend our stay two additional nights at the same rate. The morning desk manager refused to allow us to stay the two additional nights, claiming the room was already booked and the rate would be 300% more than we paid for the first night! They found us another hotel but it was a difficult and time consuming move.

    The views from the dining area were spectacular.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    Great stay in a beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had the appartment and its noisey at night if you need to sleep with the window open for fresh air , the room has air con but we dont like it.

    The authenticity and decor

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.1
    A budget stay, with great location to Rialto and easy to access water buses to any of Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can't really say I disliked the stairs but they were a "killer" to climb, but we knew about this when we booked. 79 I believe! Our room was rather disappointingly small, although that said we had one large double and one single in an adjacent room. The adjacent room also had the door to the bathroom. This room had the only wardrobe in. Only one chair to sit on. Lighting in the both rooms was poor and mirrors badly placed. The bathroom wasn't the best of rooms, the tiles needed scrubbing in parts as did some parts of the cubicle tray. Cleaner only appeared to straighten towels and make the bed daily during our stay. Bathroom bin was left un-emptied. Plug in sink didnt "pop up" when handle used. Some of the rooms enter directly off from the dining room, so doesn't leave you much privacy. We didn't make a direct complaint to the hotel. We were delayed considerably to our hotel due to fog at airport, tired and wanting to get out and explore. We only used our room as a place to sleep and change. I have stayed in better hotels in Venice., nicer rooms and better breakfast.

    Staff were friendly and polite, great views from the dining room over the canal. Some parts of the hotel were tastefully decorated in traditionally Venetian style. Breakfast was ok for an continental breakfast. Breads, cheeses, hams, eggs, fruit, yogurt, juices teas and coffees. The location of the hotel is ideal for anywhere in Venice. Not much noise in evenings and morning, despite being close to the Rialto bridge and market.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Five floors without elevator. We arrived late at night and I had to carry 3 heavy suitcases all the way up. Before you book - make sure there is someone available to help with your luggage at the time of arrival.

    Very good location with wonderful view of the grand-canal. Room was comfortable and staff was nice and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.1
    Good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You can here everything in this hotel. Its very small. So the noice from reception or next door wasn't nice.If you are lucky you have nice view at small dining room. There are just two table with the view. No lift and its in third floor.

    Hotel is in the small street close to the canal. Close to St. Marco square. Small family hotel. Nice breakfast. Not so much food but nice and fresh. Staff were friendly and kind.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.8
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Grand Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only drawback - four flights of stairs to climb with your luggage.

    Stayed here with my sons and found it clean, staff very friendly. Great location overlooking the Rialto. The reception staff are extremely helpful and willing to look after bags until your evening flight. ll in all, to be highly recommended and very good value given its prime location opposite a vaporetto stop on the Grand Canal! Breakfast was varied with an excellent selection. There is no restaraunt for dinner - so short review of the best restaraunts at Rialto Bridge region: 1. Al Paradiso - don't trust TripAdvisor!! - this is really the best. Good menu, reasonably priced 2. Ristorante Canal Grande - best view!. 3. Ristorante Al Carbon - for the oysters - really the best 4. I'm very doubt about Madonna restaraunt - but locals love it So we had a wonderful holiday. Definitely I'll be back to the "Antica Locanda Sturion" Residenza d'Epoca.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.6
    Live like a Venetian!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked it all, the rooms decor was very dated but when we went into the palace on st marks square (which I would recommend visiting) I realised the wall paper and furnishings were to match a room in the palace which was cool.

    We arrived by ferry from rovinj, it was easy to catch the #2 vaporetto to the Rialto then walk over bridge and find the hotel which is located on a nice quiet lane just off the grand canal. We enjoyed knowing whenever lost that we Could just follow signs to the ponte de Rialto and that would take us back to our hotel. We left Venice by train which again was an easy 2 stops away on the vaporetto. There is an excellent pizza take away place just 2 mins walk in the lane behind hotel and only 3euro per slice. We had the apartment which was very spacious with a view out to our lane and washing lines outside window it felt like we were living like venetians. The wifi and aircon worked well!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.5
    Great location - beware the stairs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Guests with mobility issues should not stay here. There are three flights of steep stairs to climb to reach the hotel and you have to carry all luggage up the stairs. There was some building/renovation work taking place during our stay and this was not mentioned prior to booking or during check-in. There was intermittent drilling in the room next to ours for the whole time we were trying to rest in the afternoon (~2 hours). No comment or apologies were made for this. We didn't pay extra for the rooms with the view of the canal. If you do, be aware that your door opens straight onto the breakfast room so you're likely to be met with a roomful of inquisitive faces when you head out in the morning. I'm not sure how well sound-proofed those rooms are either.

    We arrived hot and sticky into an air-conditioned paradise where we immediately offered complimentary chilled lemonade and iced tea. The receptionist who booked us in was very friendly and helpful, her colleagues less so, some were even rude. The room was small but fine for a short stay. Located very near to the Rialto bridge, we were able to pop back to the room to refresh and rest as often as necessary. The breakfast buffet was small but everything was fresh and the fresh coffee/cappuccino was good. Instant coffee is available all day either in the room or in the breakfast room. Small, sweet snacks were provided free of charge from around 4pm.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Grand Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sofa bed is too soft to lie in

    the position is perfect and staffs are all friendly. The breakfast is pretty good and ice tea and cookies are always ready for travellers

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.9
    Our stay in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small but the location made up for it

    The location is excellent, the breakfast is nice, the only drawback is the flight of stairs with luggage!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.3
    All in all, it was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lobby in 4th floor but no lift. Hard work to carry up our heavy laggage to there.

    Good location near Rialto bridge! Closest to the very nice restraint Trattoria alla Madonna.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.3
    View from our room was very nice and location was good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Grand Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit better air conditioning in the room as it often was not cold enough. Stairs can be a challenge for some people. A bit pricey for my family

    View from our room was very nice and location was good although at times I found it a bit too loud. However because it is in the main part of Venice that is understood. Staff were very kind, friendly and accommodating which was appreciated. Breakfast offered a good assortment of food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    We loved our stay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was extremely friendly and the breakfast was wonderful!! This hotel is in the perfect location that is close to the Rialto Bridge as well as within walking distance of everything you could want to see. Many, many great restaurants nearby as well!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    8.3
    Very nice and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The walls were like paper, we could hear everything. A lot is going on in the morning so if you want a lie in, use earplugs.

    Very nice and helpful staff. Good sized, clean, lovely, room; very good location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    8.8
    Great small hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is great! Right near restaurants and the Rialto Bridge. The breakfast room has a view of the grand canal and the rooms are decorated a beautiful Venetian style. We would recommend staying here! But not if you need wheelchair access, because there is a lot of stairs as the hotel is located on the top floor.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.2
    Excellent Staff and good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are more 50 stair cases. So people need to be strong on their feet and knees.

    Staff are very friendly and cooperative. Apartment like stay is excellent. I love that.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful view of the bridge from room No1 & 2, and good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Junior Suite with Grand Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel with history, I think the neatness of mattress and bathroom still has the opportunity to be improved. But still a wonderful hotel !

    Wonderful view of the bridge from room No1 & 2, and good location. Great stuff and helpful! Free ice tea and cookies always in the dining room really comfort our hearts! Really a good hotel with valuable price!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.2
    great location, breakfast, staff and historical building with well appointed rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs! But they do warn you and you are fitter by the end of your stay and the view is worth it.

    Upgraded to roomier room for our last 3 nights. Nice of them to offer. Lovely staff moved our luggage for us.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    5.4
    Location and view of Grand Canal from room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Grand Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows uncomfortable. Family rooms too small for a family. Did not make it clear that one of the beds would be a fold out couch which was terribly uncomfortable. Night staff not friendly.

    Location and view of Grand Canal from room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Stay was awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There 68 stairs that you have climb every time you get out or get in the hotel.

    The view was magnificient!!! The room was clean. Breakfast didn't have a lot of variety but it was enough. And the coffee was so good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    8.3
    Stay for it's location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One has to climb 70 steps to reach the hotel so if you have a weak heart or a knee problem this hotel is a nightmare.

    The rooms were big and clean and nicely done up. The staff was friendly. It is very close to the Rialto bridge and in the midst of the most happening place in Venice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    7.5
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have been over charged the cost of the stay was €280 and there was an extra €140 taken from my account, the hotel says Booking.com has taken it?

    The location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    6.7
    The entrance was challenging!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance was challenging! 4 flights of stairs and no staff available to assist after 5pm. My poor husband had to haul our 2 suitcases up all these stairs and was in pain the next day to tour in Venice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    10
    The Best Stay in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Be aware that there are many steps to climb, but it's worth it!

    Lovely Breakfast room overlooking the Grand Canal. The two front rooms overlook the Grand Canal as well. The hotel feels like classic Venice though very nicely updated.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    10
    Beautiful room and view on the Grand Canal!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This B&B is beautiful! We had a room overlooking the Grand Canal. Cookies and tea are always out and breakfast was delicious! We loved our room so much that we wanted to stay in the room more than explore. It was so much fun watching all the boats go by from our top floor view.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.6
    Good value accomodation in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Those with limited mobility should avoid due to steps but didn't bother us.

    Great location near the Rialto bridge which is very handy and easy to get to from railway station. Breakfast served in a lovely room with great view of canal. Very nice for a three star hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    7.1
    Decent hotel in great location ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Climbing three flights of stairs twice a day ! Room 4 very small and directly off reception and breakfast lounge, so was quite noisy early morning.

    Great location on grand canal, clean property, and good decor. Breakfast ok, but the same few choices each day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs ... After travelling a long day and walking .. Was tough but we laugh about it now . It's all just part of the experience !

    The location was great and our view was amazing . The staff was courteous and friendly . The stairs were a killer lol but a good work out . The room was small but adequate . The breakfast staff were very accommodating .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    This must be the coolest hotel room in Venice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Almost everyone complains about the four flights of stairs which must be scaled to reach the hotel floors in this building, but seriously, climbing stairs is all part of getting around Venice.

    Please note I got myself a triple room all to myself because this was the only room left at this hotel, and I'd already found some other hotels recommended by my guide book completely booked up. That said, I was absolutely thrilled with this room! The windows look out directly over the Canal Grande, and the location is practically right at the foot of the Rialto bridge. The room decor is opulent, and the bathroom actually has a shower curtain (a simple means of preventing the bathroom from getting flooded that every other Italian hotel I've been to can't seem to comprehend). With the mild temperatures at night, I loved just sleeping with the windows open so the sounds of the city could drift in. Staff was uniformly friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    8.3
    Amazing view and great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Grand Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillows were thin and not very comfortable even with 2.

    the breakfast was very good and the staff was very helpful and friendly. The rooms with views are beautiful!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    5.0
    Great location. Below average room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was like sleeping on concrete. The room is at the top of a very vertigo inducing 4 flights of stairs - 3 of those are in a row. No lift. Shampoo was in a packet. Couldn't keep the windows open because of the smell from the alley ways below.

    The location near the Rialto Bridge.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    10
    Superb!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Basic rooms are small but still OK and comfortable.

    The location is perfect and the staff is very friendly. They let you left your baggage there if your flight is in the evening and you want to visit the town. Good connection via orange line of Alilaguna to/from Airport. You can make a tea/coffee in the room on your own.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    9.2
    Location, location, location......
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Grand Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, but some might find the steps to reception a challenge. (Approx 3 Floors)

    Great location which was really appreciated at the end of a long day exploring, continental breakfast was very adequate, and well presented with regular top ups as needed. We stayed in room 1 which had amazing views of the Rialto Bridge and Canal Grande (See Photo's). The Hotel & room was very clean and staff very friendly, the décor was not modern but had its own charm, overall very pleasant and would definitely visit again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    6.7
    Good hotel, certain aspects could be improved
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The first night was awful, too much noise from the reception desk, with mobile phone ringing loud. Breakfast was served from 8 am, which I found a bit late for someone who likes waking up early to stroll on the streets. Definitely more towels needed in the bathroom, but the staff gave me some extra upon request.

    I enjoyed being so close to the Rialto Bridge. The bathroom had a bathtub, so that for me was a plus.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    7.5
    Feel the spirit of Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel description tells potential guests there is no lift but when you stand at the base of the stairs and look up you appreciate what that warning means! Fortunately during regular hours a porter will bring bags up the long staircase to the rooms 3 floors up. The room is small but accurately described, but remember the age and style of building and go elsewhere if you want more room and a lift.

    The Hotel is in a building with roots going back 7 centuries and is close to the Rialto Bridge. Two water bus stops are just a short walk away, as are various restaurants and cafes. The breakfast room looks out on to the Grand Canal - wow! Staff were always friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    7.1
    Great location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Long staircase. I was aware of the staircase due to reading previous reviews, however the long straight nature of the staircase was fatiguing after a long day exploring.

    Staff were friendly with good english. Location was a great base for exploring what Venice has to offer.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    10
    Wonderful location! Wonderful staff! Wonderful holiday!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had no problems with this place. I know some people didn't like the stairs on other reviews but they DO mention this on their website and I found them fine.

    The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. They answered all my questions with a smile and put me at ease right away.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    8.3
    Small comfortable hotel in good location close to the Rialto Bridge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The steps up to reception were a bit of a climb, but we knew about them before arriving so we were prepared. After 3 days you felt a bit fitter for tackling them.

    It was very close to the water buses, so it was very easy for transport, but we did walk to most places as Venice is fairly small. The area around the hotel was very attractive. The staff were very helpful. Good breakfast with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    5.4
    Not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was TINY..I mean really TINY. The toilet was so small that i had to squeeze in. The hotel is on the 3rd floor of the building so you need to buckle up to climb up the stairs with the luggage.

    The location. The staff was courteous

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    7.5
    Really good location, central and easy to get to from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The walls are paper thin so you are easily woken up by staff walking around the corridors early morning. And you can hear all conversations. Breakfast was basic.

    Really good location, central and easy to get to from airport. Staff were friendly and room was very nice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel- Cant beat the location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurants just outside of the hotel have very rude staff and food isn't great. Although nice restaurants are a 10 min walk away so don't let that deter you. Just avoid them.

    Perfect location, couldn't be better. I read moaning reviews before I arrived about the stairs. They really are not as bad as people on here have made out. If you want a room with a view you must accept that there will be stairs to climb. However there really isn't that many! Staff were wonderful and breakfast and rooms were lovely! Small rooms, but how big do you really need your room to be for a city trip. Beautifully decorated. Located by Rialto bridge so wonderful location. 15 min walk to main square and a 10 min walk to Accademia (Where we found nicer people and restaurants.) Is a 20 min walk from where the coach will bring you in from the airport. Try not to get stung by the boat buses flogging a 24 hour pass for 20 euro- as this hotel is so well located you wont have to use it. Opt for a 1 way if you want direct dropping to the bridge from where the coach drops you. Although they will tell you its a 40 min walk to the hotel- it isn't.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    10
    The hotel staff was super friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs to the hotel were expected but lengthy.

    The hotel staff was super friendly. Breakfast was delicious and the location of the hotel was perfect.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely small hotel overlooking Grand Canal and Rialto bridge. The staff were very friendly and the room, facilities and breakfast were excellent. Overall faultless! The only comment is that there are about 70 steps to climb to get to the rooms (and there is no elevator), so not for people who can't manage the climb.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    5.8
    Great location but poor quality of rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad very small room proposed first, smelling kitchen very strongly. Finally appartment next to the hotel proposed as an alternative. But bathroom not cleaned well and lot of perfum to hide. Very quite.

    Central location Breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    8.3
    Great locations and good exercise! Lol.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Think we counted 86 steps, which are tiring after a big day walking and shopping. Enjoy them!

    Great location. Close to Rialto bridge and the shopping. Staff were also friendly and helped with any queries and questions.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Antica Locanda Sturion Residenza d'Epoca traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: