Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Antica Residenza Del Gallo

Via Del Gallo 25, 55100 Lucca, Italy

#43 of 230 Holiday rentals in Lucca

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 251 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like all properties on the old town, noise as restaurants closed could be an irritant but the blinds and shutters did a good job keeping noise out

    Fantastic central location, historic building, immaculately clean and really helpful, friendly staff. A lovely place to stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walk to the city is a little long but worth the effort to be able to enjoy the peace and luxury of this property.

    Beautiful Tuscan Villa in nice grounds Lovely room with a balcony Super breakfast Wonderful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    Though it was written in BOOKING.COM that there is complimentary BREAKFAST- there was none( fallacy) - Booking.com need to correct themselves. Noisy location till 1.30am

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Loved this hotel. Had a warm friendly greeting at reception, made us feel at home. Large size room, clean, lovely old style furnishings, the bonus was the little sachets of facials creams in the bathroom. Had a good sleep, so good we slept in and had to run for the train. Lucca is an amazing place, wish we stayed longer to explore it more.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking may be an issue, though no more than any other small inner-city hotel in Italy. We found an inexpensive parking area at the railway station just outside the Lucca town wall. However, you are able to drive into the hotel street to drop off and collect your luggage.

    Right in the heart of Lucca and well located to see everything in this fascinating city. Ironically that meant it was difficult for us to find among the city's very narrow streets and the GPS directions did not cope well with the complexity of Lucca's layout. Problem solved when the hotel manager came and found us on her bicycle and led us home! The hotel is small but stylishly presented and the room was especially comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Manager was a little hard to catch -- seemed to be in an out. We had to leave for our train without checking out or settling our bill. We followed up by email and found out they charged it to the card we used for our reservation. That was fine, but we just felt bad leaving without knowing, but had to catch the train.

    Room was beautiful and spacious. An easy walk to shops and restaurants, and from the train station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was meant to be wifi but it didn't work at all and I picked the hotel because it said they had parking but they forgot to mention the parking was nowhere near the hotel and when you are travelling with kids the last thing you need is to walk in the aweful heat with heavy bags and complaining kids. Apart from that the staff were lovely and it was a pleasant stay.

    It was really lovely overall.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The kitchen area had a nice refrigerator -- even a freezer! -- and a microwave. Oddly, there was no sink in the "cooking" area. A counter-top toaster/oven would have been more useful than the microwave oven. But a full refrigerator with a freezer was a rare, and welcome, amenity.

    The location is excellent. The person at the front desk was very helpful. She gave excellent directions about where to park the car after we had unloaded our luggage. She apologized for her English, but it was quite good -- among the best for staff members of properties we stayed at during our month in Italy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast, no staff after evening is available

    Otel location is very central but coming by car is problematic. Otel is old and so small but it is okay with that rate. No breakfast, no staff after evening. If you would like to leave hotel early morning, you may not find staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    not a thing

    It is a small scale Florence...slower...quieter...great food...fabulous city walls...narrow streets filled with lots to see and shop... One of our favorite stops in Tuscany. Don't miss Pizzeria da Felice and the Puccini home. Spend 3 or 4 days enjoying it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to not like.

    The apartment my adult daughter & I occupied is called Boeheme. One bedroom and a sleeping loft. Each had a king-sized bed. Lovely linens. Updated bathroom. Many electrical outlets throughout. Efficiency kitchen in which we only made coffee;used the fridge for restaurant leftovers. Manuela was a gracious and genial concierge. Great location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Best Location, inside the wall around Lucca Old-Town. Beautiful small streets and cafés and also nice boutiques, typical Italian backeries and gourmet stores.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen facilities a little sparse - only tea and coffee making equipment and small microwave, however it is so reasonable to eat out most nights so no complaints!!

    Superb location enabling you to meander through the streets of this beautiful city.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No Lift but the manager help with my luggage

    The manager was very help full and answered all my question with a smile, she also helped me with my luggage (I have a neck problem) there was no lift. Its a very old building so it should be expected that there would be no lift.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite nice but a self catering apartment it needed more utensils and a kitchen sink ( we used the bathroom sink) but not ideal and no cleaning gear, like cloths and washing up liquid. The air conditioning units were useless, one didn't work and the other blew but not very cool. Don't get me wrong it was a nice place to stay.

    Great position and nice and Clean with freindly fab staff, comfy bed with nice fresh linen lots of atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got a free upgrade to a better room/apartment because ours wasn't ready when we arrived. So value for money was especially good in this case.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a really hot day and the air conditioning did not work. There were street lights shining in the bedroom windows and no way to darken the room.

    The staff was very welcoming and spoke our language.Really nice historic hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great

    Great location, great place to stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was very nice and convenient to shops and restaurants

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location in the centre of town. Would stay there again good night's sleep.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    tried to charge us for smoking in the room which we did not tried to charge us because key broke in door

    location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very helpfull host. We brought bikes, and she allowed for them to stay overnight inside at the reception.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi

    Perfect location,close to everything.Beautiful old building.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb and helpful staff. Top notch attention to detail. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room felt a little oppressive.

    The receptionist, Simone, was very helpful and knowledgeable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very comfortable and clean, with a fabulous location. Manuela was very helpful and very pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is really beautiful in the heart of Lucca

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful bathroom, very lovely place. Would definitely return.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderfull place to stay in!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff, a perfect location and a nice bathroom

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice¡ Confort¡ well located

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good location, clean rooms, helpful staff, free wi-fi...

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location in the old town, perfect spot! Spacey rooms are very clean and comfy.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfeast and no proper parking possibilities.

    Room was big and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The character, the location and the welcome.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Centrally located. Easy walk from train station.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was not sufficient. The coffee maker did not work and there was no kettle to boil water to make tea. The breakfast croissants were not available until after 7.45am. Too hard for an early start. Also there are steep stairs so you need to be very sure on your feet.

    The location was great, the room was very clean and the reception helpful and we'll run.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A few things would move our review from very good to excellent: The beds are on the hard side but when a double bed is formed from two singles they should be made to stay together and a double mattress topper used. Also the pillows were very hard, flat and poor. Better pillows are a must and really not that expensive! Breakfast here is an issue. The Italians may not be big on breakfast but.... Breakfast is in your room as no separate communal rooms which is fine but... It consisted of two small boxes of cornflakes, some packaged crisp breads, carton of milk, two yogurts left in your room and then 2 croissants came each morning. To improve upon this at least a small bowl of fruit would be welcomed.

    Staff could not have been better. They were lovely: helpful, polite, welcoming; and keen to make your stay as good as possible. Location in a building more than a thousand years old was fantastic. We were moved to Butterfly Suite due to a couple of problems with our first room. Rooms have a rustic feel that is really in keeping with Lucca as an old town. Lucca is a fantastic place.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We understood self-catering would include a small stovetop (as experienced in other accommodation in Italy) not just a microwave, so we were unable to cook.

    Great location. Attractively decorated large and comfortable rooms. Staff very friendly and helpful. Lucca is a beautiful city with lots to see and do, and the grassed walls are great for exercise. Particularly enjoyed the atmosphere eating out at night in the grand piazzas.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They say there's staff at the place from 3 to 11 pm, the days that we stayed there there was never anybody at the reception, we had to call many times whenever we needed something and then they came to the hotel. Breakfast is not so good, no cheese or ham, just one cup of coffee per person and butter or jam for the bread. If you like a nice abundant breakfast then this is not the best place.

    Location is great, cleanliness is excellent, the place is spotless and very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    steep stairs because we had a heavy luggage

    nice location and super helpful staff. Rooms have got a character in them but at the same time is all new and clean.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very low ceiling

    Good location well kept studio/appartment

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff went out of their way to make us comfortable on that rainy day in Lucca. Room was tastefully decorated and spacious.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly host and superb facility

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Couple

    Very basic breakfast in packets.

    Excellent location.Very roomy.

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Variable phone reception

    Friendly helpful staff lovely room

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The ladies were sweet! They are studying tourism and are great at explaining and recommending where to go.

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47