Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Antica Torre 3 stars

Via di Fieravecchia 7, 53100 Siena, Italy

#42 of 51 hotels in Siena

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 259 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 49

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    5.4
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking indicated that the room had a city view and breakfast included. Neither of these things were available when we got to the place. Combined with very basic facilities made this poor value. Would not recommend or stay here again.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.6
    Very nice place to stay in the heart of Siena.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Though installing a lift would not be practical in this building, older and more infirm guests will find it difficult climbing the narrow staircase if they aren't staying on the ground floor. The front desk closes at 7pm, but this wasn't an issue for me.

    The hotel is in the old medieval city and is only a few minutes walk from the major sites. The building has a lot of character. Staying on the top floor I had a magnificent view of Siena and the Tuscan countryside. The hosts were friendly and the breakfast enjoyable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    4.6
    they promised breakfast but it's nowhere to be found at the property. extra charge for nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    staff was not professional. NO COLD WATER! yes only hot water. wi-fi was terrible in my room. came back to rest around 4pm and the reception lady was talking to her friend loudly i could not rest. also went down to ask for a bottle opener first day, the other reception lady was on the phone with her husband for over 15 minutes and didn't care that I was there waiting.

    close to the center.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Historic portion of Siena walking, taking in everything, an adventure fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike

    Patriczia was exceptionally helpful, and appreciated.Our room was very clean, the bed comfortable, loads of hot water in shower, hospitality far exceeded our expectations The building, being older then Columbus was worth the stay,sorry unable to share great picture.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.1
    Clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Aircon really was not effective when it would turn on... mind you it was a heat wave and it was hot hot hot The establishment overall was not what one would call a hotel... more like intimate B&B which is Ok except the website description is misleading

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Location was great close to centre of town and exit gate

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.8
    Holiday right in the heart of old Siena
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was pretty dark going up and down stairs and there was no lift. But it's a very old building so that was part of its charm. Not great for those with poor eyesight or not fit enough to carry their luggage up and down the staircase. No washing facilities.

    The owner was pleasant and helpful. The room was lovely, with a/c and a TV with Italian channels. The bathroom was a bit cramped and the towels were thin but there was plenty of hot water. The breakfast was good. It was possible to walk everywhere, even to the station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.3
    Ancient room in Siena
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No mini fridge for wine/water. Unfortunately, neighbors next door were young and drove a motorcycle. So - we were awaked when they came home late. C'est la vie. Shower was OK for us - but larger people might have had issues.

    Great location in a 300+ year-old building a short stroll to the main square. Comfortable bed and clean room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    5.8
    The bed was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to carry luggage up to the second floor. The air conditioning was broken and we melted in the night!

    The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was fine.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    6.3
    Quirky building close to the centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A trek from the train station - don't walk it! Breakfast served in the basement (no windows) which smelled of damp. I was given a room on the ground floor (which were 2 single beds pushed together), behind reception (although they did offer to move me upstairs to the 4th floor - no lift - after the first night), which was very dark, lacked natural light and had a poor wifi connection. Hairdryer in bathroom very annoying/old-fashioned. Not good value for money, but Siena is expensive generally, so this was one of the cheapest places I could find.

    Patrizia and her staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was OK but it was a set amount brought out to you (no buffet). Great location for tourist stuff - only 10 minutes walk to Piazza del Campo, and close to lots of nice restaurants and shops. Quiet, safe and relaxed area of town. Luggage storage at reception after check-out, for as long as you need. Supermarket 5 minutes away for cheap essentials (eg water).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    8.8
    Location was close to everything and was very quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was close to everything and was very quiet. Room was small but very nice with clean bathroom. Breakfast was perfect and staff very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    7.1
    Interesting history and nice accommodations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast wasn't that great, very few options. The younger woman who worked the front desk was not at all helpful or pleasant and borderline rude!

    The hotel was in a decent location and our room was very nice. The woman who checked us in was very pleasant and even though she didn't speak much English, she was very helpful and gave us perfect directions to park our car for free! The stairs could be a little challenge with large suitcases, but again she was helpful!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    2.9
    Do not stay here!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We've travelled Europe and so have no problem with old small and no lift. But the parking is horrid here, a good 1000m up hill with no easy access to the hotel. The room itself was not clean, dust balls in every corner and the bathroom smelled moldy. Beds were a joke and he closet also smelled musty. We were on the 5th floor with no view and had to ask that the AC be turned on (end of September). Staff grudgingly gave us the the AC remote to turn it on when the booking clearly said AC included. We stayed out in the town and got in late... 10 am the next morning the phone rings with the staff telling us we need to leave the room so they can clean. We politely told them we were staying in the room a little later and promptly had the phone hung up on us. We packed our bags, left the room, and checked out a day early although having prepaid. Terrible experience. We drove another 60 mins the next day and stayed in Cortona for the night at hotel San Luca. Cheaper. 4 stars. Amazing view. Breakfast included. No regrets.

    Not much...

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    9.6
    Simple accommodation but good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about.

    The room was simple but comfortable. The greeting from Patrizia was very friendly and the location was great, just a short walk to the Campo and Duomo. I would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    9.2
    A quaint place that's worth a stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was limited due to the poor facilities that I imagine we're due to the eccentricities and the subterranean nature of the breakfast room and age of the building. But that didn't matter as there are great places around for breakfast

    The bed was so comfortable and the bedding and towels were beautiful. The staff especially Monica, were really helpful. The bedroom , the bed , the view and the staff made it worth a visit. I' d recommend it.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.7
    Lokacion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt get room wich I booket...single bed room with the wieu.

    Lokacion...room iz nice...sealing iz interesting...old element iz nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.3
    Location excellent, breakfast very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location excellent, breakfast very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Great location, lovely staff, really atmospheric and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It isn't a hotel for people with hip or knee problems

    Great location, lovely staff, really atmospheric and delightful rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    6.3
    Good location - disappointing hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a limited choice and was served in a small basement.

    Good central location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.9
    Charming historic building, 4th floor had great view of town...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charming historic building, 4th floor had great view of town skyline, clean, comfortable medieval room, good value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.3
    Friendly B&B in the centre of Siena
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location in Siena in quiet street not far from the campo. Friendly staff and nice room. B&B atmosphere.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    2.5
    Breakfast is hugly
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is hugly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.6
    Very nice staff, small hotel: 6 rooms, and in the city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Very nice staff, small hotel: 6 rooms, and in the city centre !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    6.7
    Overall it was okay but would stay in Airbnb next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The daughter of the owner is rude and should not be working there, the mother however is super lovely

    The location was perfect The bed was comfy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    4.6
    Bathroom was small and a little tired, in need of an update.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was small and a little tired, in need of an update.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    6.7
    the owner is warmly ,but the light and breakfast are not comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast in the basement with some smell the loght in the room is not comfortable

    the reception is quite warmly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    10
    Waking up to panoramic view with a 3min walk to piazza campo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The panoramic view and waking up to the sun rise sight from the bedroom's window.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    6.7
    Good choice basic and carach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic but clean, quiet, tidy and well located. Nice attentive staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    7.9
    Charming hotel in quiet part of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mattress could be better

    Linen towels and sheets; Spotless bathroom.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    8.3
    Lovely medieval building updated very well, with an actual...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was buns and yogurt, with the tiniest bits of cheese and salami you'll ever see.

    Lovely medieval building updated very well, with an actual designer bathroom (Pierre Cardin). The owner was consistently helpful, and the housekeeping was good. The neighborhood was interesting, with a good Conad supermarket close by.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    9.6
    Place of the stay and specific climate of old building and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice breakfast (cheese, salami and sweets) but each day same set.

    Place of the stay and specific climate of old building and old town was unforgettable. One of two ladies from reception is amazing. Thank you very much for big jug of tea in the evening and room with superb view from the window (and working fridge) :-)

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    9.6
    Near to the centre and local restaurants, friendly helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad comments, as it is an old building there is no lift, and you need to carry your own bags upstairs, as mentioned on other reviews.

    Near to the centre and local restaurants, friendly helpful staff, old building with lots of original features. Clean and tidy, charming.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    9.2
    Great staff, nice location about 5 minutes from Campo, Room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had the top room of the tower on a pair of very hot days and the Air Conditioning couldn't keep up very well. Not a complaint, just be aware.

    Great staff, nice location about 5 minutes from Campo, Room 128 at the top has a fantastic view. Will definitely stay here again when I am back in Siena.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    9.2
    Thank you so much for this wonderful stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Thank you so much for this wonderful stay! We felt very welcome and the staff is super friendly and helpful with advices! What a charming little place (old tower) so close to the center!

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    8.8
    Patrizia was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    With all the fresh produce in Tuscany, at this time of year, it would have been nice to have fresh fruit options for breakfast.

    Patrizia was great. She was very helpful, kind and considerate. She made some great restaurant suggestions. This is a beautiful heritage building, dating from before Columbus discovered North America. Given the historical considerations of this structure, our room was very comfortable. As our room was near the top of the tower, the view of the countryside was stunning.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    8.3
    The friendly owner was a lovely lady and very helpful;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hairdryer was difficult to use and the we would have preferred fluffy towels not the flat type. No fruit for breakfast.

    The friendly owner was a lovely lady and very helpful; nothing was too much trouble. Good quiet location but only 10mins from the Campo. Everything was spotlessly clean.

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    4.2
    It was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The skeleton key did not work easily and I was left out in the hall for several minutes trying to open the door. No lift (I knew that and my reservation was for the 2nd floor until I got there and was put on the 3rd floor). Breakfast not included. When you walk into the lobby, there's a distinct musty odor. No shelves in the bathroom to put your things on. Very thin towels to dry off with. Mini-fridge did not work so I couldn't even bring water in to keep it cold. Room was very small - no room to walk around.

    It was clean. Decent water pressure.

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    8.8
    Only stayed one night, but the "old tower" was a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Only stayed one night, but the "old tower" was a very unique place. Front desk people very nice and helpful. Would definitely return for another stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    9.6
    Very friendly hosts ans also helpfull.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Very friendly hosts ans also helpfull. The setting in an ancient medieval torre is superb (if you like this) and the style of the bedroom is classical. ..

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    8.3
    Small friendly comfortable hotel in E part of city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Restricted space in bathroom with only fixed showerhead. Lack of electric sockets. A bit overpriced for a small room with no view, I thought

    Small friendly comfortable hotel in E part of city centre. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location. Staff was friendly. Wonderful view outside our window.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    8.3
    Amazing views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No shampoo, conditioner

    Amazing views! And very special, full of character, building

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great location.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    8.8
    Perfect location, short walk to Siena centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Perfect location, short walk to Siena centre.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    9.6
    We truly enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We truly enjoyed our stay. Beautiful hotel and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    7.5
    No elevator was not great but we managed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No elevator was not great but we managed.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    8.3
    Location excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The noisy uni students until midnight!

    Location excellent.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    8.3
    sleeping one night in a place of 700 years age
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    sleeping one night in a place of 700 years age

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    7.5
    View from room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    View from room

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2015

    7.1
    location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast could have been much better very simple- much better breakfasts in at hotels in Florence and Venice. In Venice- outstanding

    location

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 49

Browse Hotel Antica Torre traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: