Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Antica Locanda al Gambero 3 stars

Calle dei Fabbri, 4687, San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy

#135 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1803 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    6.7
    Probably would not stay again, its clean, good breakfast, they is better out there for same money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were not very happy people, everything felt like an effort, they would not print off 3 pieces of paper that we needed - to hard. Beds really not comfortable, especially after walking 20kms during the days

    location was great, close to a bunch of places to eat, if you are catching the train into Venice it is 35 minute walk to get to the place. clean hotel - breakfast is good - they held our bags while we went to the theatre in the morning we left

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    3.3
    What a disappointment...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Old hotel, nothing to do with the charm of pictures. Blank, unhelpful, unsmiling staff. For the price of 250 euros per night and location, you would expect at least a warm welcome, a nice room, a minimum of an experience.. this is the proper tourist trap. Stay here to overpay and regret it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.2
    A little jewel in the centre of Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No lift, and I was on the top floor, but porterage was available on arrival.

    Although the room was quite small, it was well-appointed. At first, I thought there was no window, until I found that I actually had a little private terrace! This was an unexpected extra. The air conditioning worked well and the shower was great. The staff were all very helpful. Above all, it was in an excellent location, a short walk to either Rialto or St Mark's Square, and the breakfast was of a very good quality.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    5.8
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and the bathroom were extremely small. I even didn't have space to dry myself inside the bathroom. I booked a room with bath as was saying in the facilities of the room and as was shown in the pictures, furthermore, I email the hotel saying I wsnt a room with bath and a she replied me saying all room had bath, her name is Vlada. Totally disappointed with this hotel. I would never suggest to anyone. Breakfast is poor.

    The location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.5
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator. The stairs were not convenient with luggage. Price can be cheaper.

    Location is great. Rooms are clean. Breakfast is good. Staff is kind.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Wonderful staff, great room, real value for money :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stayed here as a part of our honeymoon. Staff were wonderful throughout the whole stay. Recommended a lovely little seafood restaurant that we would have never found on our own. Great knowledge of Venice. Clean room with a little balcony :) Breakfast was great. Walk though available on our Insta - @manoliandhanna

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.3
    It was a very nice stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no elevator.

    The breakfast was very good. The coffee was average, though. Our room was on the third floor, and a porter was available to help us with our bags. There were good restarants and shops closeby.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.6
    Centrally located, within a five minute walk to everything...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As with most properties in Venice, the buildings do not typically have lifts/elevators so be prepared to walk up the narrow stairways with your luggage.

    Centrally located, within a five minute walk to everything,and an excellent breakfast that was included in the price. Room had been upgraded and included dual plug in the the bathroom for both 110 and 220 appliances. Right above the bedside table was a built in USB port for charging your electronics. Breakfast included eggs, bacon, sausages, juices, capachino, coffee, breads, pastries, fruit, pancakes, yogurt, etc. Staff in the breakfast area were fast, efficient and friendly. A great place to stay and highly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.2
    Venice is charming and so is Antica Locanda Al Gambero
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.I can't say lack of elevator because elevators in Venice is not actually the norm. I particularly liked where my room was even though it was on the top floor because I had a little balcony to myself.

    Location was perfect for me,a first timer in Venice.It's between Rialto and San Marco square.It was easy to find and located in a safe neighbourhood with lots of shops and eateries nearby. Bed was comfortable and room was clean. Breakfast buffet had plenty of selection with friendly Filipina staff who looked after their guests well. Receptionists were fast and efficient. And they have strong/reliable wifi, aircon , bar fridge ( must have during summer in Venice ).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.6
    Great Stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff just polite. Not too nice.

    The decoration, location, very close to piazza San Marco, the view from the room, very clean and new, mini bar, free biscuits <3 The air conditioner was working great! So nice coming back from the hot day to this chilling room. Breakfast was amazing, so many things to pick from. Pretty dining room. Fancy restaurant downstairs the hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    6.3
    Great location and if you get the right room you’ll enjoy you stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms looked great in the pictures but we were put up in an attic type room up 4 levels (no elevator) and had very low roof and extreme heat with poor air conditioning. Not overly pleasant.

    Very cute rooms with traditional Venetian decor was fantastic. Breakfast was also really good and the hotel was in a great location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    I had such a lovely breakfast here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing just wish I had more time!

    I had such a lovely breakfast here. Loads of croissants, different types of cereal, juices, cheeses and salami, fruit salad tea and coffee. The room was very comfortable and everything needed. The hotel is 100m from St. Marks Square so I could hear the orchestras playing with my window open...loved that!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous location and enjoyable accommodation overlooking a canal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stairs, had to climb 3 floors to our room as no elevators available, however we were in Venice so space is limited.

    Great location in Venice and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.6
    Great location and convenient, about a ten minute walk from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Narrow steep steps within hotel, but that just adds to authenticity.

    Great location and convenient, about a ten minute walk from San Marco water is stop.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    2.9
    nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything: - no AC and the weather is hot - no elevator and the room in the 4th floor - the room is horible very small, smelly and dirty and lots of fly’s - the breakfat place is unbelivable very small no space to seat - the price

    nothing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no lift in the hotel, the stuff will help you carry your luggage, but it's still not very convenient if you have many luggage.

    Superb location, walking 5 mins to San Marco square. The stuff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.5
    A charming , comfortable beautifully situatedhotel with no lift and a lot of difficult stairs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not that good for older people. I had not realised that there is NO LIFT. Reception is on First floor up narrow, steep, winding staircase, straight off the street , up which I had to drag myself and two bags, very very difficult and no way to ask for help until reaching Reception. I am 76 and I had been allocated a room on 4th floor. I couldn’t face it so they kindly gave me room on 3rd floor but I still had to go up three flights of the really awkward, narrow steep staircase each time. I felt insecure when taking a shower; the shower was good but there was absolutely nothing to hold on to and the Bath was a bit slippy. When I closed my eyes to stop the soap getting in I had to brace myself between the wall and the fixed shower panel by pressing one elbow against each side. It just needs a bar to grip on one side. The fan in the A/C blew directly onto the pillow. Exactly the same tape for breakfast the second day, “Ode to Joy” comes with the cereal. I did not actually dislike the old fashioned, fussy, traditional decoration of the room but I do not understand who they think they are appealing to. I can’t imagine that younger people want it and older people (like me) are less likely to see it because there is NO LIFT.

    Very central. You can get to the Vaporetto stop in 3 minutes and without going over a bridge, most important in Venice. Very good breakfast. Quiet classical tape at breakfast on first day. All the staff charming and helpful. Good bed. Well equipped bathroom had 2 showers in the bath, one overhead fixed and one lower flexible BUT (see below)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.3
    Location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is very little space inside the hotel and a lot of stairs ;) Bring only light and small luggage. Breakfast very busy and was out of glass, dishes and some of the food.

    Location is good. Comfy beds and cute lovely room. Room with canal view. The restaurant at the location is highly recommended!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    A compact little hotel with excellent front desk service and surprisingly spacious rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. Lots of stairs but hey, it is Venice!!

    The hotel was so convenient to everything. All the staff were pleasant and helpful. The room overlooked the canal (as I requested) and the room was really spacious especially for Venice. It was a bonus to have breakfast included with children. I would recommend and definitely stay again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    Really well located!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really well located!!!! If you’re traveling with large bags, you don’t even need to keep them in the airport storage: the hotel is located 5’ from the Rialto river station and you can walk there with all your belonging. The staff (which is really friendly) offers to carry your bags to the room in the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.5
    Location is excellent, walking around most of the times we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room that was assigned to us. It was on the 4th floor (without elevator), the access was not very friendly.

    Location is excellent, walking around most of the times we ended arriving to the hotel... very centrally located. 200 meters from Rialto Bridge where the boat arrives and to Piazza San Marco. Staff is very friendly and breakfast very complete.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.8
    Venetian style hotel in a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room turned out to be much smaller than on any pictures, the toiletry set was on a poor side - just a soap and small bottle of gel.

    Location is amazing, just between Rialto bridge and San Marco square. Extremely friendly staff, very good airconditioning, nice view over canal.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.8
    The hotel itself was located centrally which made it easy to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downfall was there was no elevator BUT in saying that the staff were more than accomodating taking bags and such

    The hotel itself was located centrally which made it easy to get too and made exploring Venice a lot easier. The staff were amazing with 24/7 service. The hotel room although on the smaller side was perfect for a guest staying alone. We also had a double room which catered perfectly to multiple people. There’s a fantastic restaurant below also and the gondola services are 2 minutes away. Would recommend and would love to stay again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is typical for Venice hotels but Very small room. If you have a big size luggage forget about it. You cannot open it in the room. Bathroom needs refurbishment.

    Location was perfect. Stff was helpful. Good enough breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel with brilliant location in the heart of Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Brilliant location, very close to St Mark's Basilica and on a canal. Friendly, very helpful staff. Room and bathroom was clean with all facilities, though not spacious, as can be expected in the heart of Venice. Excellent breakfast. Very good restaurant right below the hotel. Hotel always cool and a welcoming oasis in the heat! We had a room overlooking the canal and across the rooftops which was lovely.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.3
    right in the centre of Venice, short walking distances to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    air condition could be improved in the room, it was directly under the roof and during night to warm for sleeping

    right in the centre of Venice, short walking distances to main attractions, beautiful flavour of old Venice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.5
    People difficult to talk but how it happened I have to alert you !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked four rooms from July 19-21, two for my family and two for my friend's family. On our last day (in the morning), when returning from a tour of the Rialto, when he entered the room he saw that the lights were on (he left them off), he thought it strange and commented with his wife but he continued. Then when he tried to open the safe to get the money, (because he had to checkout), his password did not unlock the safe. He went to the front desk and reported the problem in the safe to the receptionist. Immediately he requested that he wait in the room, that the messenger would solve the problem. Within minutes the messenger arrived and with a keyring that looked like a magnet, he leaned against the safe, the password was canceled, and he opened the door immediately. With the door of the safe open he went to check the money and gave for lack of 300 euros. The receptionist asked if everything was okay and he informed the incident, the lack of money. As we had no way to prove who it was, the receptionist also offered no solution and we had scheduled check in to Rome, we left the hotel annoyed. We believe that the hotel has no part in this, but someone who has that "key" that opens safe and also the key to the rooms, is taking advantage of the sense of security that we tourists have when leaving our goods in the room safe .. . Please take some action to restore the loss and so that other guests will not be injured in your hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.0
    Small cosy hotel in an exellent place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I booked a single room. That was clean and nice, but very Small - expecially the bathroom.

    Absolutely great location between Rialto and San Marco, easy to find. Relaxing atmosphere with classical music playing. Friendly staff at the breakfast room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    What you see is what you get. Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The prices need to be updated in the mini bar booklet. Small bottle of water was 1.50 euros in the booklet and I was informed to pay 2 euros when we checked out.

    Great location! Beautiful room!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    4.2
    Nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very VERY uncomfortable bed. Could barely sleep. No elevator so had to carry our 23kg luggage through a lot of stairs. Do yourselves a favour and do NOT go there.

    Nothing. Just well located but not worthy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.9
    Best location and well priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was on the smaller side, but manageable. You can hear a lot in the room from what's going on outside in the hallway.

    Staff were very friendly. Located in a fantastic location close to the Grand Canal and San Marco's Square. It's a busy thoroughfare to many places so there always people around. Our room had a balcony over the canal and so we got to experience a lot of singing in the passing gondola's. The hotel also has a restaurant downstairs that whilst is not connected with them, is very good. The hotel has no elevators. We enjoy stairs. We'd return to this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.5
    Location of the hotel is quite central, midway between...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Price for the room was on the higher end of scale (room was booked by family member not myself)

    Location of the hotel is quite central, midway between Rialto Bridge and S. Marco, therefore most attractions are easy walking distance from the hotel. I suggest to get off ferry at Rialto station and walk through narrow alleyway all the way to hotel. Building itself is XV century-no elevator -steep and narrow staircase. Rooms and bathroom are small. Our room had minibar, safety box, kettle, tv, welcome drinks in bottles and tiny balcony. Breakfast was good. Cappuccino is made by staff and served to table a much appreciated way. NOTE: there is very good restaurant on the ground floor, excellent dishes, creative chef, very professional waiters, all in all great choice for foodies and prices are not to high plus guests of the hotel get 10% discount.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location, 5 min till Piazza San Marco.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No slippers in the room, periodically some noise from bathroom, unstaedy bed (very easily can be moved from side to side)

    Perfect location, 5 min till Piazza San Marco. Small room but wt all necessary facilities. Very nice staff, ready to help wt all questions

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    All in all: TOP
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi could be better

    Great location, clean, friendly staff, the room is furnished simply Italian style, but there is not more needed. Would recommend it anytime and come back as well. Also the mention the breakfast. All your heart desires. Thanks to the great and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.8
    Typical middle budget hotel near San Marco but my room was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As many hotels in Venice, this tries to simulate a “Venetian décor” but the result sounds fake if the hotel is not high-level enough. It is a question of esthetic judgment however.

    Typical middle budget hotel near San Marco but my room was not tiny, breakfast was good and acoustic insulation was OK. Air conditioning and wi-fi worked well. Helpful staff. I will go back if the price remains in the range I paied.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Venetian stay in heart of Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Flat pillows

    Beautiful spacious rooms with everything you need for a city break. Free to use safe, tea and coffee making facilities, aircon, Wifi and English speaking channels on the TV! Right in the centre of venice, 5 mins to St Marco and Rialto Bridge! Breakfast was SUPER with a fresh selection of fruits and pastries as well as hot food such as bacon egg and sausage. Very friendly staff. And an added bonus was discount to eat in the restaurant below. Wonderful stay highly recommended!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    6.3
    Great location between Rialto and San Marco. Restaurant below very expensive for a just ok meal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendliness of reception staff - with exception of the one who did evenings, he was everything you would expect.

    Room small but comfortable, which was to be expected. Staff not the friendliest with the exception of the lady looking after breakfasts. She couldn't do enough for everyone and was extremely efficient at looking after a lot of guests in a small space.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location, great breakfasts, tea available in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a slight mission to get to the room itself, and this was the one major issue we had. You had to go up a flight of stairs to reception to get the room key (as the hotel keep it when you go out) then go up another two flights of stairs, down the corridor to another part of the hotel, down a flight of stairs through to a lounge type area in order to get to our room. Hotel is also very dated and our water bottles weren’t refreshed. The bed was also very hard.

    Excellent location, great breakfasts, tea available in the room and a very clean hotel. The cakes available for breakfast were delicious, and the Chinese lady/waitress serving at breakfast was delightful! She was very helpful, attentive and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel! Great breakfast and location with helpful and friendly staff. Highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great.

    The breakfast was fantastic. The staff was very helpful and friendly. My wife is pregnant and the staff took every precaution to make sure she was comfortable with the accommodation. The room was great and the location is excellent. If you are looking for a great place to stay, search no further.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic location and excellent hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Loved everything.

    Location couldn’t have been any better. The staff fully catered for my dairy and gluten intolerances at breakfast and the bed was exceptionally comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    Mid-way to Piazza San Marco and Rialto bridge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was not a problem for us but please note that the hotel has no elevator.

    The hotel offers great value for money. I will recommend it to all my friends planning a stay in Venice. It’s located within a short walk both from Piazza del Marco as well as the Rialto. There’s a restaurant right downstairs and you can jump on a gondola right behind the corner.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Great!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only minor is that it doesnt have a lift and we stayed on the 3rd floor but is not too bad

    The location was absolutely magnificent! (5 mins from San Marco or Rialto) very easy to find Very clean, Very friendly and Helpful staff confident in English. We loved the breakfast and the coffee. The free biscuits, tea/coffee and Bellini in the room were a nice bonus. The room was very clean and had sufficient space for two, the towels were regularly changed and the room tightened up.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    A very romantic experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No elevators, very difficult when you have heavy luggage to carry.

    The location is perfect, close to San Marco Square, a few minutes walk to Rialto bridge, and other main attractions. Our room is very clean, bed very comfortable. Our room opens to the canal, everyday we get serenaded by the Gondolier and enjoyed watching the gondolas. The 2 receptionist, I felt bad I didn't get their names, They were fantastic. Very helpful and accommodating. Every morning, my husband and I look forward to having our breakfast, those 2 lovely ladies serving our coffee's are very pleasant, they welcome each guest with such beautiful radiating smiles. The owners are lucky to have such wonderful staff. Highly recommended. Will comeback and stay here again. Bonus...the Veranda overlooking the Campanile di San Marco is just breath taking. My husband and I enjoying our glass of Prosecco, listening to the sound of the bell was just heavenly. Very romantic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Perfect location for a short stay in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is perfect as it is very close to San Marco Square. Very easy to access when arriving for the first time as the hotel will send you accurate and easy to follow information on how to get there. Good breakfast and very friendly staff at the reception.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is very beautiful adjacent to the quiet expensive restaurant and at the back side with the small canal view with the bridge. I requested the room with canal view and they granted it. I saw the gondolas many times of the day with or without song making my room very special, especially it was my birthday. Many people asking me for this hotel recommendation after I uploaded the romantic scene videos of gondolas in the FB, who doesn't want this kind of room in Venice? The location is top notch, close to many attractions place. The room is clean and beautiful. Fast wifi. Nice breakfast every morning. All the staff were very kind and helpful. I also able to keep my luggage there after the check out and heading to the airport later. I would like to stay here again on my next visit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.9
    Grand canal voyager
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Comfortable small hotel I had a single room but with double bed small but comfortable with shuttered windows and double glazing so quiet at night.The hotel is located in one of the many Alley ways in Venice great location just a few minutes to saint Marco or the Rialto Buffet breakfast with good choice including scramble egg and bacon Plenty of nearby restaurants you can get a pizza and beer for 16 euros but be aware in some restaurants you choose a main course but it doesn’t include vegetables or anything and then The bill can easily rack up ridiculously

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    They rescued my vacation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You most climb stairs

    They rescued my vacation. While checking out I left my cellphone on the front desk. They raced down to the water taxi and caught up to us as we weee pulling away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was hard could have benefitted from a matress topper.

    Location was excellent half way between the Rialto bridge and St Marks square. Breakfast excellent plenty of variety, croissant , cooked eggs and bacon, fresh fruit and cereals. Plenty of reasonable cafes and trattorias to eat in nearby. Book a canal room worth the extra. Would recommend staying there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice petite clean hotel in a very close proximity to San Marco and Grand canale
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Locatin, cleanness, breakfast and the wide variaties, but room was toward a small Canal and there was a loud voices of boat drivers and Gondola singers interupting the sleep

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.8
    Fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really - a very good hotel.

    Great hotel - in fact the best I have stayed in for Venice (this was about my 8th visit). The location and comfort of the hotel was just right. Staff really friendly & helpful. very nice breakfast as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small room with a funky smell. Need major upgrade on the bed and night stands. Not satisfied with the cleanliness because I got bug bite after one night stay at the property.

    Breakfast was nice. Pretty close to the boat Station Rialto and 5 min walk to S. Marco Square. Location-wise is very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.8
    the location was more than great .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the bathroom small and the water supply was not strong enough .. there is no AC in the rooms

    the location was more than great ... easy to reach from airport .. in the middle if rialto area where there is an important market ... and few steps away from San Maarco yard ... amazing location save too much time .. very good cleaning and good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.3
    Beautiful location but with room to
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom has mould on the walls. For the price I paid, I expected a spotless bathroom. That’s was a very let down for me. I didn’t like the breakfast, very poor and bad quality.

    Location is super, easy access to the Canal Grande and Piazza San Marco (walking distance under 10 minutes away)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.5
    I would recommend it to people who need exellent location near San Marko and near Rialto.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Too small room and no lift (but you can ask stuff to help with your bag).

    Excellent location (very close tp San Marco and very close to Rialto), very good breakfast, clean and refurbished room and very good stuff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    So good we wish we could stay longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Delicious breakfast, friendly staff, great location between Piazza San Marco and the Rialto Bridge. Close to a number of authentic Italian restaurants. We were really spoilt for choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    Very clean room, all facilities are in good condition,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is tiny, narrow staircase, no lift, but that’s not a big problem.

    Very clean room, all facilities are in good condition, kettle, tea/coffee set, small balcony, bathroom is modern

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    Very nice location, friendly/helpful staff, great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was small

    Very nice location, friendly/helpful staff, great breakfast, everything very well organized, rooms very quiet, even though in the middle of the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was perfect. Very clean nice room-decorated in Venetian style. Helpful friendly staff. Well located near to lots tourist attractions and restaurants. Tasty breakfast to start the day. We were very satisfied.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    Nice weekend trip to Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small. The neighbourhood is little noisy, but I guess it is normal everywhere in central Venice. No elevator.

    The staff were very friendly and polite. The breakfast was good. We arrived very early and our room was already ready. The bathroom was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing against the property, but there was considerable noise from the family next to my room.

    Excellent location. Friendly, helpful staff. Wonderful breakfast in nice seated area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.9
    Very pleasant although clostrophobic. .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More likes than dislikes. The room was too small. The shower / tub area too small. In fact the bathroom was a tripping hazard. Only complaint really was the small size of bedroom, bathroom and the inefficiency of the shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pictures are not accurate! Uncomfortable bed, small room, Internet downloaded well but uploading was impossible (please be careful if you need to get some work done!), and the worst thing was that they didn't let me know in advance that the room was on the FORTH FLOOR WITHOUT A LIFT. Please make them specify this before you book. Amazingly unprofessional of them, I have a health issue, and they didn't offer another room. Other hotels with better prices in the same area are way more convenient. Please consider other options.

    Bathroom services worked perfectly. Location's great. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.6
    Great value for money in a super location between Realto Nridge & St Mark’s Square
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs! After walking all day up and over countless bridges climbing up 2 floors to go down one to our room became harder as the week wore on!

    Great location, staff always very friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.2
    Anniversary heaven in our favourite city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was as hard as a board. We were on the 4th floor, and there’s no lift. But that can be a good thing. It gets rid of all those extra calories you’ll be eating.

    It was almost exactly halfway between Rialto and St Mark’s Square. There was a small roof terrace next door to our room, which was lovely. A kettle in the room, with a fridge big enough for milk. Careful of the prices for the drinks already in the fridge. They aren’t cheap.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.3
    Location. Location. Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would say got smaller room compared to what was booked. A bed wasn't large double bed for sure... Too dark in the room. Lighting could be better. Super slow wi-fi - upload speed is a nightmare.

    Excellent location. Good breakfast. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    This is a great hotel if you are looking for affordable acccommodation in central San Marco.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in an excellent location. 5 minutes walk to Piazza San Marco, the Rialto gondola stop (which goes to the airport and train station) and the main shopping streets. There are no bridges between Rialto and the hotel which is a big help if you have lots of luggage and/or children. Also a cot was provided for our baby along with a kettle. There was a high chair at breakfast. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff did not inform us about the aqua alta. Would have been nice of them to let us know so we could be prepared. Nothing else to complain about though

    Excellent location. Clean rooms which have a venetian charm.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    The two ladies at the breakfast were excellent, nice, polite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The two ladies at the breakfast were excellent, nice, polite, really over the top. They were amazingly nice. All respect for them. The guy at the check in was nice as well. The beds are amazing, the hotel is super close to the St Mark Square. Would definately return, thanks a lot!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    Everything about the hotel was great , including the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More storage space

    Everything about the hotel was great , including the staff who very helpful. The location was less than 5 min walk to St Marcus Square and the Rialto Bridge

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.2
    Really pleasant and helpful staff.
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Just one thing , the heavy smell from kitchen while preparing breakfast (fried bacon) filled our room every early morning.

    Really pleasant and helpful staff. Great location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed the stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location to discover Venice, easy to walk to, fantastic breakfast, really good croissants indeed. We loved the interior of our room, was quite spacious and cosy. Lively, bustling area around, lots of places to eat and do shopping.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    Give it a try. Amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very close to San Marco square. Easy to reach from Rialto vapporetto station. Amazing view at the canal and at the bridge below, with windows on two sides of the room. We stayed at the 4th floor and the wiew was exquisite. The room was clean and decorations on furniture and all in venetian style. Oh...and those windows at the canal... The breakfast was ok, not a big variety of food, but well cooked. It was our second stay in Venice and by far the best.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    8.3
    Nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little difficult to find the hotel

    Staffs are very friendly. We need to go to Cortina and he helped us to find info on transportation. He even packed breakfast for us because we need to leave early in the morning before daily breakfast starts. Room is nice. Breakfast is good too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.8
    Though small, the bedroom was nicely decorated and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bear in mind that there is no elevator in this hotel. Even the reception is in the first floor. So if you have heavy luggage or you have bad knees, that would be an issue.

    Though small, the bedroom was nicely decorated and clean. Breakfast was fine. The place is strategically located between the Rialto bridge and St. Mark's Square.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    6.7
    Good location, friendly staff and good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The laundry soap is so strong ...the bed sheets etc gave me a headache. I put some bedding outside to air out, so that was good to have the little terrace from r that

    Liked the terrace that came with the room. Location is great and easy to find. Good breakfast and very friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Antica Locanda al Gambero traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: