Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Antico Borgo Di Tabiano Castello - Relais de Charme

Via Tabiano Castello 4, 43030 Tabiano, Italy

#2 of 23 hotels in Tabiano

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 588 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beauty and the tranquility of the property was only surpassed by the level of attention by the staff. The food was delicious and we were continuously awed by the backdrop of the castle. We experienced a truly special and magical vacation.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had ambivalent feelings about the hotel restaurant: The food was of good quality though not cheep, the staff should work on coordination and kindness. ("a smile helps always"). Also the buffet-breakfast could be better considering the international guests.

    Nice location and view. Very nice staff, they also helped with the luggage. Unfortunately we did not find the first room suitable but could swap easily and quickly. Our second choice was spatially better, the bathroom was big enough. Too bad that we found no appropriate place for the suitcases, the rooms are arranged with historic furniture.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi was not very strong

    A beautiful setting with a friendly staff and really nice dog. You get the feeling of living in a castle with all the modern conveniences.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only one jacuzzi tub in the middle of the room and no shower in the bathroom. Not recommended for two friends. Also, there was a single double bed instead of two single ones as requested in the booking

    Breath-taking location, staff very friendly and flexible. Great hotel for a couple on a romantic runaway

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit of a drive to get to off the A1. Fortress only open half the week. Stairs could be an issue for some.

    Received a room upgrade. Large room, nicely appointed. Attractive property and gardens. Lovely restaurant with views. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dining room experience we rated very high and is comparable with a first class restaurant. Oscar’s cafe was great wholesome comfort food. The decor of our room was authentic and extremely comfortable. The staff were extremely professional and went out of their way to assist us.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only bathtub in the room and no shower, but it wasn't a real issue

    Beautiful hotel with nice individually decorated rooms, bed was comfortable, staff was very friendly, breakfast was amazing, restaurant (the one belonging to the hotel) was perfect and great service - we only stayed one night, so couldn't try the other restaurant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I felt that the room was somewhat overpriced and could do with updating a little. It wasn't quite the luxury I was expecting and have found in the past at other similar hotels in Italy.

    We took a suite in the ancient castle tower. Very evocative. Superb views. Lovely open fireplace with free firewood. We ate dinner at the caseificio and it was delicious. A small but tasty selection of vegetarian dishes. Dinner was good value. Very friendly staff. Very tranquil and unusual spot.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was confusion over which restaurant we had booked in. This was not clear and embarrassing.

    It's a beautiful hotel in a stunning environment. The staff went above and beyond to help me sort out a problem with another service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nowhere comfortable in room to lounge, bath very tricky to get out because high off the ground, restaurant not open until 7.30pm and nowhere comfortable and inside to sit and have a pre-dinner drink. Outdoor seating was limited, would be lovely to have benches placed against walls around the property so you could sit in the sun without having to go up to the pool area.

    Beautiful buildings and position on top of a ridge, excellent staff, lovely big room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Everything. Fantastic location on top of hill in the countryside with fabolous view. The restaurant is excellent and food was outstanding. Very nice pool so make sure you arrive early and on a sunny day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed that the restaurant was closed all the time we were there. We didn't learn this until 2 days before we were due to arrive. Room was v hot as AC not powerful enough.

    The location, breakfast and restaurant room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Quite a few stairs up to the castle rooms but there is a guy who will carry the luggage. beware the SatNav tries to take you Off Roading !

    Such a beautiful Castle ! Lovely views lovely rooms.... friendly helpful staff, just having breakfast on the roof terrace is wonderful. Nice Pool and a Spa doing all sorts... perfect location for Pisa 2hrs away Florence and Venice if you ok with 2 to 3 hours travel only and hour from Garda too ! Parma and Bologna very near and worth visiting.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was over 40 degrees Centigrade, (103 F), and the air conditioning could not keep up. We had it on the lowest temp and the fan blowing at the top speed. The room did not cool below 30 degrees Centigrade but it was not humid so sleeping was possible. This was my only complaint.

    This is an amazing property. Staff are wonderful. Rooms are fantastic. What a great atmosphere below the castle on this rustic, yet luxurious property. Room was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was hard to take a shower, as there was always a risk of flooding the bathroom floor. The lunches and drinks at the pool bar were too expensive.

    The breakfast was good, especially, by Italian standards. The dinners delicious. The general atmosphere was very special.The staff was friendly. The massages are great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location and views. Wonderful friendly manager and staff. It is an out of the way location so best accessed by car and not suitable for people with mobility issues due to stairs and steps to get to everything

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Charming stay with a wonderful background location. The rooms could be better in terms of furnishing, but the ambience an the history make up for it. The restaurant is espectacular, the food, the service and the views are fantastic. This is a place that i will definitely recommend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The on-site restaurant served delicious food with great service and an incredible view! Overall a pleasant pit-stop on our drive from Tuscany to Milan airport.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was quite difficult to find the reception. The location was not correctly stated in Google Maps (so we changed it). Now it should be easy to find. The staff was very nice, although the woman in the spa (there was a spa center where you could get massages) didn't understand a word of English.

    We got an upgrade to a better room which was very nice. The pool area and surroundings of the venue were very nice. A lot of fruit and vegetables (they even said we were welcome to try the fruit from the garden).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Please have more flexibility regarding the check in time (max 20:00), we wanted to arrive late but we couldn't. The food in the restaurant is not that good (could be much better).

    Dreamy location, an old castle in the mountains, sunset, dinner with a fantastic view, great room, it was like a fairytale. It's THE experience. Well done to the hosts.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You may incur in the ghost of the castle, but is very gentle ...

    Is difficult to express in few words the wonder of staying in a Medieval village with related XI century castle (to be visited !) built in a special location to control the underlying flat land. You may enjoy the place just considering it an hotel but, if you like the appeal of historical manor, this is a place you have to be. A special thanks to the very kind staff and to the Corazza family, that gives the chance to live very special moments in their property.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would be nice to receive a free bottle of water in the room each day.

    Excellent hotel, charming place. Places like these are hard to come across. Bed was a amazing, food at the restaurant fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Friendly staff, beautiful setting, atmosphere of a castle that's a 1000 years old but which has been refurbished with great style, wellness centre, excellent restaurant...

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a shame we could not visit the castle, as we arrived on a day ( out of season) when it was closed.

    Dinner in the restaurant was exceptional, using locally sourced ingredients cooked to perfection.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The GPS did not take us to the right place with the address on line. The staff however did every thing they could to make sure this didn't happen however I did not receive the e-mail on time as we were travelling

    All good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool too small for the volume of guests and a little in need of attention. Too few sun beds and many on a slope .

    Amazing setting . Beautiful countryside location. Romantic and enchanting if both day and night. Fabulous breakfast buffet and location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many kids around, there should be an age limit.

    Breakfast is excellent and the swimming pool has a breathtaking view, plus the location in general is a little insulated but perfect for whom want to take a break and go off the grid for a couple of days.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The restaurant tries too much to be "fine dining" but fails in it. They should concentrate on performing well the marvellous local basics and not try too fancy - we are in the countryside anyway.

    Nicely renovated old premises, every room seems to be a bit different from others, for instance ours had a huge fireplace - although that was not needed in July heat :) But after stayed over the years in so many lovely Italian family run hotels and other accommodation, Tabiano Castello Hotel lacks the "soul and heart" we are used to experience - the staff is nice and place is ok too, but the "wow" feeling is missing. Might be more suitable for a 1-2 night stay, our 4 nights was too long.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Thin walls - heard the guests next door discussing toilet visits. Primitive bathrooms - the steps to the three levels were neck-breakers. Do not go to the restaurant with an allergy - they have nothing except the ingredients for the days' menu.

    Hmm... View of the countryside?

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were quite dark, not much space to sit and relax

    Excellent restaurant on site, wonderful spa area and lovely location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from other rooms

    Beautiful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath in bedroom

    Candles lighting the outside on arrival Breakfast room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner at restaurant was poor quality for the price

    Location under the castle is very nice

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Medieval castle setting. Excellent Restaurant & Wellness Centre. Petra, the manager & staff were sooo friendly & welcoming.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautifull location and castle great swimmingpool

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely retreat and super service with great food to boot!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unique location, special place

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The castle was awesome with amazing vistas. A two-night resting stop before Lake Como. Would recommend as a wonderful experience!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Guided tour at the castle The restaurant Da Oscar -an experience well worth a visit The extra ordinary site

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything.

    Home grown veg and herbs. Excellent dinner and breakfast. Interesting place to wander around.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food (Dinner) was just average, a pity for this location and the price

    Nice views, good location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was excellent in parts but less good all round

    The place and the views

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautifull place and views, beautifull old building ; nice staff; cozy restaurant. Good breakfest.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in room and slightly musty smell in the bathroom.

    Amazing location and friendly staff. Fabulous homemade breakfast buffet and great coffee!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location to Parma

    Very good breakfast, wide variety, coffee a bit bitter. A bit isolated for our needs

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited choice menu for a pescetarian.

    Fantastic setting and outlook.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is very friendly and the restaurant is really good

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You hear everything your neighbor does - loud and clear :(

    Nice location and rooms. Excellent food!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Colazione, vista, camera, piscina,

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing, except we couldn't use the pool because it was too cold!!

    We love the location of the hotel with beautiful views of the surrounding countryside. All the hotel buildings are rustic and charming and the spa facilities are great. We like the spa booking system as you are given a 2 hour slot to use the facilities 'privately'. Breakfast and dinner were great too. We'd booked the Junior Suite for 2 with an extra bed but were given 2 double rooms with no extra charge. It was my husband's birthday and they've brought out a small cake with a candle at dinner which was a lovely gesture.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    At the "caseificio" (bar and restaurant) we asked a croissant, they brought us 3 croissants and, obviously, put on charge: so, be extremely careful. Beware: at the check out they put on charge local tax and it's not specified on their web site. But it's not all: paying by cash and not having the staff the exact change, they asked us to "allow them a reduction": never seen before, as should be quite the opposite

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is a spectacular hotel with a fantastic staff, loved every minute of our two day stay. The food was over the top. We especially liked the spa/grotto--my wife had a massage and said it was excellent. Also enjoyed having the working fireplace in the room, well stocked with dry wood, kindling and starters and was restocked the next morning. Special thanks to Petra, the manager!

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything! We booked 4 nights and had an unforgettable experience. The spa, the accomodation, breakfast dinner, breath taking view and not to mention the amazing staff. 5 stars to all!

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Worse beds of all hotels during our 2-week trip in italy (totaly 7 hotels). Extremely hard. I had made up a deal with the hotel that they would put a letter for my wife on the bed at arrival. There was no letter there to my dissapointment. The resturant was not more then okay. Not worth the money compared to other resturants.

    The views are just as amazing as the hotel building. Pool area great. Wifi everywhere.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air Con could do with an upgrade.

    Excellent staff - very friendly and professional. Lovely accommodation in beautiful setting. Highly recommended for couples.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We had no bad experiences but it is worth bearing in mind that the hotel comprises of several rustic buildings below a privately owned Castello. The building where our rooms were situated had no lift but our cases were carried up 2 flights of stairs for us on arrival. Mosquitoes could be an issue if you are prone to bites.

    The hotel is located in beautiful countryside but within easy reach of Parma and the many castles in the area. The hotel restaurant was very good and Petra (the manager) and all her staff were very friendly and helpful. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed 2 nights from Saturday to Monday. We have been told that breakfast ends at 10:30 and when we arrived on Monday around 10:15, the restaurant was closed and quite aggressive been told by older lady that on Monday it is closed at 10 (we were not informed) and if we want to eat this will be charged extra. Finally after the argument we had been offered the breakfast, however unfortunately prior departure mood was a little bit unpleasant. Its a pity as we love this place and we hope that restaurant service will be improved.

    It has been second time we stayed in this wonderful peaceful place! The area is beautiful and relaxing. We were happy to stay in the same room as last year with a little kitchen and amazing view!

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was like being in a heavenly dream!

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very warm and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too many flights of stairs on foot

    Great location and stunning historic building

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location was peaceful and the rooms had rough rock walls and made it feel very romantic.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A suite in the tower to which we got the upgrade was simply amazing. The breakfast with home cakes and variety of choice were splendid.

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Guests also reviewed these properties: