Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Antico Borgo 4 stars

Via A. Diaz 15, 38066 Riva del Garda, Italy

#37 of 59 hotels in Riva del Garda

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 240 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    5.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 30

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Wifi in rooms, this is ridiculous in a hotel that has been refurbished and is owned by a large chain. Breakfast poor, ran out of pastries, no fresh fruit, overcooked scrambled egg. Bathroom too small, the bidet is not needed and takes up valuable space. Not sure how this is a 4 star hotel. No extra niceties in room such as pictures, tissues, dressing gown or slippers. You get the feeling everything is being done to cut corners on a budget.

    Comfortable bed, good location in the heart of the old town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location to see and adventure all around Riva del Garda! The rooms are very modern, comfortable, and the bathroom was great with a normal hair dryer. Breakfast was included in my booking and it was wonderful. Loved the coffee! Everyone that worked here was friendly and helpful. This is the 2nd time I have stayed here and I would definitely chose to stay here again when I come back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Hotel is comfortable but the room air conditioning is on a timer which is extremely inconvenient. Having no kettle in the room for tea/coffee so a visit to the bar for a hot drink in the room is inconvenient & more cost. The main problem is car parking, it is some 300 mars walk from the nearest car park, & that charges €14 per day so a 7 day stay adds up to extra cost.

    Magic location in the centre of the old town, surrounded by narrow streets full of clothes, leather shops etc & restaurants & cafes. The Hotel Antico Borgo is a excellent hotel which exceeded our expectations. Breakfast is good continental. All the staff are superb, the receptionists are all very helpful at all times, the barman Eric is welcoming to all the family & excellent at recommending & mixing cocktails making the visit memorable as we enjoyed every cocktail Eric recommended. Room service was without fault, very friendly, helpful & proficient service maids. Overall our stay was so good we have decided to return to Hotel Antico Borgo to continue our exploring the lovely Lake Garda.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Single Use
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi is only available in lobby. Very inconvenient to go sit in the lobby to check email, make travel plans, or get a little work done. Hotel staff answered questions but I would not consider them helpful or friendly. Bed was hard.

    Breakfast was really good! Great variety. Good location although not near the lake. Room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bed was incredibly hard with lumpy springs and I had terrible back pain that got worse daily. Not the luxury one expects of a 4 star. The pillows were also very thin and cheap as was the bedding. The curtains do not block out the light as they do not sit flat against the wall and do not extend enough over the window. The lack of decor - very basic considering the 4 stars. Bland creamy/peach with fake leather, no decorative elements and a small room for a suite. However this is in the old part of town which may explain it's size. The selection at breakfast was very limited considering the 4 stars. Never seen less at such an establishment. The quality was not great either but the coffee was very good. The brioche was awful. Limited facilities considering it's rating.

    The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and also let me check out a couple of hours later. The receptionists and manager were all excellent. The room was very clean as was the hotel. The balcony was quite big as opposed to other 4 star hotels locally. If you want to be in the centre it's a good location and is quiet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Food was under expectation, you hadn't too much choices for breakfast. Dinner was extremely salty (maybe because you need to pay extra to order drinks). Also taste was average...Stairs everywhere and also poor connection to internet (only in lobby) no in the rooms - it did not work for 3 days.

    Location - you are in the heart of the old town. Personnel was very friendly. They helped us with our luggage.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Single Use
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Free Wifi should be Hotel wide not just Reception. Breakfast selection below average but quality of coffee made up for that.

    Bed and room very clean and staff great

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was uncomfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi only in the foyer. Overpriced for what you get.

    Location good, but difficult to find, as situated in the pedestrian area

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The air conditioning in the room was not very effective, given the high temperatures of the resort.

    Hotel had a very good central location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    transport

    location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not for a longer stay - maximum 2 to 3 nights

    definitely good value for money

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Single Use
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no lift at 1/f.

    good location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi doesn't work at all in rooms.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a hotel for family holidays

    Central location with decent food

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking too far. A bit hard to find. Noisy room located above the Hotel entrance heard the sliding door all night open and close

    Hotel was clean and well located. Staff was pleasant. Problem is parking costed 12 Euros per day and was far if you had luggage to bring. However the location was totally awesome.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of tea/coffee facilities in room, but this was a small price to pay for a very good hotel.

    Hotel location was superb, close to all shops, bars and lake.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experience, except as above

    The disappointment was absence of kettle/tea/coffee making facilities in the bedroom and the bed was two single beds beside each other and not very comfortable to sleep on

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room A/C - worked, but very slowly WiFi was a mistake - you can't access it from the room (!!!), in the lobby you have 6 hours of WiFi (for free) but you can use it only at once. So basicly it means, that you have only one day of WiFi free of charge and that is unthinkable for 4* hotel There was no complimentary bottled water provided in the room - and this should be a standard for that kind of hotel

    Great location - in the very center of Riva Breakfast - tasteful and varied Room view! - 4th floor, very charming balcony

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    4* hotel without wifi in the rooms, and in lobby just 6 hours of free wifi, no parking without charge, no balcony in standard rooms, noisy aircon,

    Breakfast, stuff politeness, cleanness

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No tea/coffee making facilities. Two plastic cups instead of glasses. No good for toothbrushes etc and insufficient for 4 people sharing. Wi fi was expensive and rubbish. 4 star hotel should have these absolute basics. The cheapest budget accommodation the world over has tea/coffee making facilities.

    Hotel is perfectly located in the town. Lovely staff who were very helpful. Hotel was spotless.

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The Wi-Fi situation is shameful, payment is required to be able to sit in the lobby, with lots of other people that use their phones and computers, no privacy, simply put, a disgrace. To have to pay for Wi-fi, in this day and age is in itself a disgrace, but if at least it would be available in the privacy of your room it would be acceptable. Like this it is nothing but a disgrace.

    The Manager was helpful, for the rest we did our business and left, no further thoughts.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel is very basic, not what I would expect from a 4* hotel. No tea/coffee making facilities in the room. We had to buy bottles of water for the room which we had to drink from two flimsy PLASTIC cups that were in the room on arrival... for our entire stay, these cups were never replaced! We asked at reception to borrow an iron as we had taken shirts, etc. that had gotten creased. They don't have any ironing facilities in the hotel. There was no wifi in the rooms, the only place you could access the wifi was the reception area but you had to pay for the luxury. Double bed wasn't actually a double bed, it was 2 singles pushed together which kept coming apart. We had one very thin pillow each and a single spare extra thick pillow in the wardrobe which we had to share. on arrival it transpired that although we had requested a large double room, it was somehow only booked it for one person!! This resulted in us paying an additional £100 on arrival for the privilege of both of us staying in the double room that we'd already paid for. air-con was less than adequate, didn't keep the room cool enough in high temperatures. although a balcony room was requested we were given a room with a small window that was overlooked by three blocks of apartments.

    Location was good, about 10 mins from the lake but parking was just over a 5 min walk away - which is fine so long as you don't have too many bags to lug about in 35c heat. nice bathroom facilities. Beautiful town!

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    6 hours of wifi free but in one go then it had to be paid for. I found this, in these times, very annoying and the sitting area downstairs was usually busy so no privacy to use my phone or i pad. A big let down for us. The room wasn't very soundproof, you could hear next door through the wall.

    The hotel room was lovely and spacious and the little shelves in the bathroom were very useful. Breakfast was excellent with a huge choice and the staff were so friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Exellent , will be back

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A perfect place to stay in the centre of Riva. Pleasant staff, good bar and breakfast,

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beds are to hard!

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    No Wifi in Rooms. only 6 hrs free otherwise you have to pay and only useable in Reception.

    Best location - centre of town.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Limited WiFi

    Location, View, Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    small rooms, no elevator in one part of hotel

    location - old town, breakfast, clean rooms, friendly staff

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 30

Guests also reviewed these properties: